Fulton County, Indiana
From The Rochester News-Sentinel
Selected, copied and indexed by Wendell C. Tombaugh
Special thanks to Jack K. Overmyer for suggesting the Title.
= = = = = = = = = = =
First in Fulton County
The Sentinel, Jan. 3. 1961
As was the case of all fontiers, the newspaperman was not far behind the surveyors when Rochester and Fulton county came into being.
In 1850, barely 15 years after Alex Chamberlain and Lot Bozarth commissioned the future site of Rochester to be laid out in brand-new Fulton county, the first printing press arrived in this city.
It came from Wabash and it was owned by John Q. Howell, later a prominent physician and druggist of Kewanna. Howell set up his press in a Courthouse room which he rented for $18 a year and in December, 1850 he published the first issue of The Rochester Star.
In the ensuing 110 years, there have been no less than 13 other newspapers published for the citizens of this community. All were started with little more than a rickety press and a stick of type. Most of them flared briefly on the local scene and then went to merciful financial deaths.
All contributed their share, however, to the vibrant, sometimes brawling newspaper history of this county seat. Today, The Rochester Sentinel alone survives and The Sentinel proudly assures the heritage of all - for each contributed to its way to the county’s progress.
The newspapers of that day were the public’s sole means of communication with the distant reaches of this fast-developing nation. Roads were poor and unreliable, so one didn’t travel unless he had a serious purpose. The telegraph was becoming more common but its use was not yet fully explord. People had their hands full earning a living, so their newspaper was their primer, their encyclopedia, their almanac, their library and political; exercise and most of all, their link with their state and country.
It was in this era that The Rochester Sentinel was founded.
The Sentinel came upon the scene sometime in October, 1858.
The date cannot accurately be pinpointed because the first issues of the paper are not extant. But the earliest surviving copies (1862) indicate that Volume 1, Number 1 must have come off the press somewhere between Oct. 15-20, 1858.
It is known, however, that The Sentinel grew out of the interest of a group of Rochester citizens in having a newspaper which would express the principles of the Democratic party. All newspapers of that age were blatantly partizan. A century of experience has proved the wisdom of The Sentinel’s present policy of being independent of any political party pressure.
Nevertheless, these citizens formed a stock company and issued the first copy of The Rochester Sentinel. The effort proved too great, however, and a year later one Archie McDonald of Logansport took over as editor and publisher, with conspicuous success. He continued until the Civil War broke out, thereupon giving up the pen for the sword.
James Chapin, William Osgood, Isaiah Walker, John Nafe, Carter Hathaway, Al Pugh, Charles Caffyn, Patrick O’Brien, J.C. Loveland, Platt McDonald and A.T. Metcalf were the men who then published The Sentnel for various lengths of time during the next decade. Briefly during this period, the paper’s name was changed, once to the Standard and again to The City Times. Then in 1870 McDonald restored title and it has remained evident since.
In 1872, A.T. Bitters purchased the paper and for the next 14 years gave it a solidarity that frequent changes of ownership had seemed likely to shatter. In 1886, Bitters accepted appontment as Rochester postmaster.
In May of that year The Sentinel passed into the hands of the county surveyor, Henry A. Barnhart. By his own admission, this 28-year-old Cass county native had been casting about for a life’s work when the opportunity to become a publisher was opened to him.
He searched no more. Henry Barnhart made The Sentinel a potent force in the community’s development during 38 years of ownership. He established a daily Sentinel in 1895 and Rochester became one of the few small towns in the state to boast of a six-day a week paper. After 22 active years in the editor’s chair, he capped his journalistic and political career with election to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1908. He served contnuously until 1919.
Before going to Washington, Henry Barnhart leased The Sentinel to two younger men who had learned the printing and editorial business under him. They were Harold and Floyd (Pete) Van Trump. With Harold (Hurd) in the editorial chair and Pete as
superintendent the paper followed a progressive pattern during the next four years. The brothers then decided to go in business for themselves and set up a printing plant on East Eighth Street in 1913 and began publishing The Fulton County Sun.
When the Van Trumps left The Sentinel, the congressman’s older son, Dean, resigned his reporter’s job on The South Bend News-Times and headed The Sentinel for the next seven years. At the end of World War 1 he moved to Goshen where he assumed publication of The Goshen Democrat. At the same time, Hugh Barnhart, present publisher came here from two years’ service in the Army to become publisher and editor. Later he purchased the paper from his father.
Following a party fight, a group of Rochester citizens formed a stock company and in 1922 purchased The Sun, making it a Republican organ. With The Sentinel, Republican and Sun, the community had three daily and two weekly newspapers. But the financial strain was too great and in 1923 the Van Trumps repurchased The Sun. A year later they acquired The Rochester Republican, then owned by Albert Bitters and Marguerite Miller. The new paper was named The Daily News. Now there were two dailies and two weekly newspapers still in existence, as the Sentinel and The News each published both.
Meanwhile Hugh Barnhart had watched closely this unique period in the city’s journalistic history. He saw that only a merger would bring one strong newspaper out of impending disaster for all. On Dec. 1, 1924, The Sentinel and The Daily News were consolidated and The News-Sentinel was born. Hugh Barnhart and Floyd Van Trump were owners and co-publishers. The latter died in 1956 and his family interest in the corporation was purchased last September by Jack K. Overmyer, the present editor of this newspaper.
This is The Sentinel’s lineage.
There has been but passing mention here of some of Rochester’s other newspapers. Besides The Star, this city also has seen issues of The Gazette, The Flag, The Sentinel, The Chronicle, The Union Spy, The Republican, The Independent, The Exponent, The Tribune, The Fulton County Sun, The Daily News and The News-Sentinel = and now The Sentinel again. The list appears to be complete.
The Sentinel’s longevity is approached only by The Republican, published just 44 years until absorbed, and by The News-Sentinel, of 36 years’ duration.
This city has had its share of erudite and inclusive newspapermen. The names of A.T. Bitters, Henry Barnhart, Major Bitters, A.W. Bitters and Harold Van Trump evoke memories of a day
when personal journalism was at the creative peak. Their kind will not come again soon.
But there are other names - of a more recent generation. Hugh Barnhart, Dean Barnhart, Carl Van Trump, Earl Sisson, Marguerite Miller, Earle Miller and Bernard Clayton are of the breed of journalist whose examples still are inspiring others to follow.
Rochester, in fact, has an impressive record of putting its sons into the newspaper profession. The Sentinel hopes to continue to provide that inspiration.
The Town Moves Ahead
The Sentinel, Jan. 4. 1961
With four incorporated communities within the boundaris of Fulton county, odds that Fulton would be the fastest growing over the last 10 years would start at four-to-one - yet a bet aginst that fact would lose.
Fulton boasts 410 persons within its boundaries, according to the 1960 census. The town picked up 44 persons over the 1950 census figure, thus incresing in size by more than 12 percent. It is a trend whch well coiuld continue.
As big a source of pride as is the growth factor, however, it is only indicative of a larger one. Residents of Fulton like to point out that within the last 12 months they’ve made more progress than the town had made in the last 50 years.
The opening of the Fulton Branch Bank of the First National Bank of Rochester is only the latest in a series of events which have given Fulton’s citizens every right to be proud.
Also opening recently have been the Midwest Coach Manufacturing company; a laundromat; the Clover Farm super market; two restaurants; a remodeled oil company, a recreation room, a hog purchasing business and other service businesses.
Most amazingly, perhaps, is the fact that Fulton’s progress has come about practically spontaneously. In a day when most people’s first reaction to any problem is to run to a governmental unit for solutions. Fulton’s residents have been able to whip their problems wthout seeking township, couny, state or federal aid.
As a matter of fact, Fulton’s tax rate for 1961, one of only three in the county to drop from the 1960 ratem fekk 38 cents, to $5.48 per $100 of assessed valuation. It is the lowest of the county’s four incorporated communities and the only one to drop rather than increase.
Fulton likewise has eschewed the services of a Chamber of Commerce or other business-getting organization. Its residents have helped each other in the spirit of Friendliness which always has characterized the town, but they do it individually rather than collectively.
Fulton’s main business block is somewhat longer than one would generally associate with a town of 410 persons. It stretches from the Dice Oil company some 400 or 500 yards north of the city limits to the Chesapeake and Ohio raiload on the south, a distance of nearly a mile. Most of the business places are on the west side of the street, but they were built there apparntly without thought of grouping them all on the same side of Main.
The corporation is just 60 years old. It was the third Fulton county community to be incorporated - Rochester was the first and Kewanna the second - its citizens presenting a petition to the Board of County Commssioners on March 12, 1900, for incorporation.
An election was conducted April 3, 1900, between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. at F.H. Graham’s tin shop on Main street, and 33 qualified voters approved incorporation - as compared to 17 who voted against it. The commioners thus issued an order on May 7, 1900, incorporating the town.
The town itself goes back to 1850, when a plank road was proposed from Logansport to Rochester. In the course of building the road, a sawmill was built a the location of what is now Fulton becuse the site was handy to both ends of the road.
Later in the same year, Judge John W. Wright, Logansport, sent a stock of merchandise to the location in charge of Robert Aitken. Aitken took the merchandise in September, watched over it and sold it.
In 1851, Judge Wright and George W. Davis laid out, divided and named the town, but historians of the county regard Aitken as Fulton’s first citizen because of his tenure there in 1850.
David C. Buchanan moved in to Fulton in either 1852 or 1853 but moved out again several years after that.
Besides Aitken’s duties regardng Judge Wright’s merchandise, he also found time to become the town’s first postmaster. A post office was built at about the time he arrived with Judge Wright’s goods, and Aitken was named to serve as postmaster. He held that office, except for a few months during the 1865-68 administration of Prsident Andrew Johnson until 1881.
Judge Wright, without whom the town might have had a very difficult time getting started, built the town’s first school at his own expense.
The first church in town was the home of Robert Calvert, a Methodist Episcopalian. Elder Babcock of the Baptist church conducted the town’s first religious services in the sawmill which had been built for the Logansport-Rochester road. These rites were conducted soon after the mill was built.
Liberty township, in which Fulton is centrally located, has historial ties back to 1835. In that year, John Burrows laid out and started working a farm south of what is now Fulton. Other settlers who moved into the township in the same year were Andrew Louderback and Andrew Oliver, both of whom located north of the present site of Fulton, and Silas Lee.
Minor Ally moved into the township in 1838 but moved on again a few years later, and Samuel Collins and Buris Butler both moved into Liberty township in 1840.
Besides the sawmill which was Fulton’s first manufacturing venture, and Judge Wright’s stock of general merchandise which moved in to become the town’s early commercial ventures flourished
John Hazlett built a tannery about 1851, and Benjamin Ziegler built another a year or two later.
In 1856, the ubiquitous Judge Wright established a grist mill, an important piece of machinery to a town in the 19th century. The mill was torn down a number of years later and the machinery therein moved to Rochester, but a steam flouring mill went up in the town in 1873. Frederick Peterson and Theodore White were responsible for the flouring mill..
The town, however, contnued to reflect the principal business of the township and to a lesser extent, the county. That business, as it still is today, was farming.
For example, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Meyer, long time Fulton resdents, recall that in 1901 the block wherein are located the town’s brand new laundromat, Emerson Felder’s appliance store, the Rouch drug store, two restaurants and the supermarket, was a garden patch. Mrs. Meyer, the town’s librarian, remembers corn growing in that location.
The town continued to grow slowly, along with the township and county, and passed several milestones which contributed to its progress. The railroad at the south edge of town was built in 1902, and A.D. Toner built a grain elevator about the time the railroad was finished.
The block which houses the appliance concern,, drugstore and other businesses was built in 1905. The building where the branch bank has reopened was built in 1914, electric lights were installed in 1915
and the Baptist church built in 1918.
A newspaper, The Fulton Leader, was started in 1900 by D.O. Hoffman. He ran it until 1909, then sold it to J.H. Moore, who died about 1922. Mr. Moore’s widow then took over.the Republican paper, and various owners ran it until it was suspended Feb. 8, 1945.
The Fulton State Bank was organized Aug. 10, 1907, and the first offcers were A.C. Copeland, president; George Rentschler, vice-president, and O.B. Smith, cashier. It and the postoffice formerly were housed in the building which now contains the Carrithers laundromat.
Now the community boasts 38 business and professional services, certainly a high ratio of such concerns in a community of 410 persons. Comprising the current town board are Emerson Felder, Dwight Rouch and Francis Carrithers, while Ralph Ditmire is the board’s clerk.
Many of the current concerns have their roots in Fulton’s
history - but it is one of the town’s best talking points that just as many, if not more, have been started and continue to run through the efforts and work of those who have confidence in the town’s future, as well as pride in its past.
Together, as any Fultonian will boast at the drop of a compliment, the two make a combination that’s hard to beat.
FIRST NATIONAL BANK
Soon Will Be 95 Years.
The Sentinel, Jan. 4. 1961
The First National Bank of Rochester, parent bank of the Fulton branch, is one of Fulton county’s oldest business institutions.
The First National was founded on July 23, 1866, which means that it soon will observe its 95th annversary. Such a span of existence has given the bank a reputation of dependability which is well deserved. So, too, is its present day record of keeping pace with the banking times.
Although twice renamed in its long history, the First National Bank’s familial descent of ownership has remained intact. Today Mrs. Jane Smith Foellinger carries on this linage as chairman of the board of directors, after both her father and her husband occupied the president’s chair before each was fatally stricken by heart attacks.
The founder of the First National was Arthur C. Copeland, who came to Rochester from Ohio and established the bank as a private instiution on the July date in 1866. It then was known as the Rochester bank and it was located in a frame building near where Hubert’s Shoe Store is situated.
Six years later - in 1872 - the bank was converted to a national bank through granting of a federal charter and became known as the First National bank for the first time. A.C. Copeland still was president, with his brother, Earl Percy Copeland, as cashier. Not long afterward, however, the bank changed its name back to the Rochester Bank.
About 1887, the bank bought the two-story building where the Seaboard Fnance office now operates. It remained there until 1914, when the present building at the northwest corner of Main and Eighth streets was built.
However, Pesident A.C. Copeland, a bachelor, had died in 1905. That same year, the bank took for the last time the title of the First National Bank.
With the passing of A.C. Copeland, his nephew, A.P. Copeland assumed the presidency. The cashier at that time was Omar B. Smith, whose wife, Leila Copeland, was a niece of the founder and a daughter of E.P. Copeland.
Omar Smith became president of the bank in 1916 upon the
resignation of A.C. Copeland. He remained at that post for the next 13 years, yielding the job to his son Percy Smith a year before his death. Omar Smith had, in 1910, served as Rochester’s first mayor after its incorporation as a city.
Percy Smith, father of the present board chairman, Mrs. Foellingr, headed the First National for 29 years until his sudden death on July 10, 1958.
Robert Foellinger, who had been associated with the bank in various capacities for 12 years previous, succeeded his father-in-law as president. Foellinger died of a heart attack at the age of 41 years on Oct. 31, 1960.
Thus the widows of the First National’s last three presidents all have survived them, Mrs. Foellinger serves as board chairman. Her mother, Mrs. Percy Smith, now resides in Indianapolis while her grandmother, Mrs. Omar B. Smith, is 93 years of age and lives in Miami, Fla. The latter’s daughter, Mrs. Genevieve Smith LaLiberte Low, also resides at Miami and another granddaughter, Marie LaLiberte, lives in Paris. Mrs. Foellinger has two sons, Robert, 12, and David, 8.
The present First National president is Charles Sheridan, native of Rochester and a member of the bank’s staff for 33 years. He was cashier for nine years, executive vice-president three years and vice president two years before his elevation to the presidency. Sheridan’s father, the late Michael Sheridan, was the bank’s cashier and associated with it 50 years before his death.
Other executive personnel of the bank today are Wildon H. Scholl, vice-president; Ernest Bonine, cashier, and Miss Belva Miller, assistant cashier. Members of the board of directors, besides Mrs. Foellnger, are Sheridan, Bonine, Dr. E.V. Herendeen, O.M. Hendrickson and Harold Groninger, Akron.
The First National has undergone extensive modernization in the past decade, the Fulton branch establishment being the latest in a series of programs begun in 1950 by Percy Smith.
Foellinger, during two years as president before his death, completed extensive exterior and interior remodeling and modern-ization of the bank’s facilities. It was Foellinger who also initiated efforts which led to the inauguration of the Fulton branch and he also increased the bank’s capitalization to provide additional lending capacity. The First National today not only is one of northern Indiana’s oldest banks but also is among its most modern in services. All bookkeeping is done by electronic machines, personal checks being cleared automatically through these dianetic marvels.
ROUCH COAL & FEED
Pur William Hartzler
The Sentinel, Jan. 10. 1961
William Hartzler, Fulton trucking firm operator, has purchased the Rouch Coal and Feed company in the west end of Fultonj. Hartzler took possession today.
Lawrence Rouch, former Liberty township trustee and operator of the company for many years, is retiring.
Hartzler will continue to operate the business as usual, although he is planning some additions to it in the future.
The change in ownership of the firm is the latest in a series of business changes in Fulton within the last year and one-half. The most recent was the opening of the Fulton Branch of The First National Bank of Rochester last month.
The Sentinel, March 15, 1961
Fulton is getting a new postoffice.
The new structure will be located on Ind. 25 near the center of town, just north of the First National Bank branch on the west side of the street.
Built of brick, it will be a 28 foot by 43 foot structure. The Fulton Lumber Co., has the contract. - - - - -
ROCH LBR CO
The Sentinel, March 17, 1961
The Rochester Lumber Co., at 227 East Seventh street will go out oif business following an auction scheduled for Saturday, March 25, owner Max Haworth said today.
Haworth, who has operated the firm since 1933, added that future use of the property has not been determined definitely. However, all items except for the buildings will be sold a the auction.
- - - - - -
ROCH BLDG SVC
The Sentinel, April 4, 1961
Harley E. McGee and O.B. Putterbaugh, co-owners of the Rochester Building Service and the Peru Building Service, have transferred their interests in each business to make separate ownerships.
McGee now is sole owner of the Rocheter Building Service, 416 East Ninth street, while Putterbaugh has taken over the Peru Building Service. Robert McGee, son of Harley and who has been working with the Peru firm, has joined his father in the operation of the Rochester business.
McGee and Putterbaugh opened the Rochester building firm 13 years ago and started a similar operation in Peru in 1955. Putterbaugh has resided in Peru for the past year.
There will be no change in Personnel at the Rochester office as a result of the ownership revision, said McGee.
Pur James L. Miller
The Sentinel, April 5, 1961
Walter and Florence Smith announced today that they have sold The Sport Spot at Main and Ninth streets to James L. Miller, 1100 Elm street.
Miller will take possession of the sporting goods business Saturday, April 15. His wife, the former Joan Campbell, will be associated with him in the operation of the firm.
Miller, a native of Rocheter and a graduate of Rochester high school, is the son of Mrs. Jacob Miller and the late Jacob Miller. He had been employed as an electrician for W;W. Clark Corporation, electrical contractors of Toledo, O., and Pittsburgh, Pa.
Miller formerly worked as a watch repairman at Snyder’s
Jewelry Store here for five years and said today that he will offer watch repair service at The Sport Spot. Otherwise, the business will continue to handle the same lines of sporting merchandise and provide the same service which were provided by the Smiths.
Miller and his wife are the parents of two sons, 11 and 7 years of age.
Although his future plans are indefinite, Smith said that he and his wife will maintain their residence at 1314 Jefferson boulevard. Smith, who purchased the local business in 1954 from Bill Ellis, also will contnue as an associate with the Key West Shrimp House in Indianapolis.
Smith presently is the at-large member of the Rochester City Council and indicated that he would resign from that position.
FASHION SHOE STORE
The Sentinel, April 7, 1961
Bill O’Blenis, manager of the Fashion Shoe Store, at 804 Main street, announced today that he has resigned that post effective Saturday.
O’Blenis will join the plumbing and heating firm owned by his father-in-law, Earl Cloud,in Marion. O’Blenis said that he will continue to reside in Rochester.
He has been manager oif the shoe firm here for the past four years. O’Blenis is a director of the Rochester Chamber of Commerce and said that he would have to resign that position.
New Street Lights
The Sentinel, June 7, 1961
The town of Fulton takes another stride in community progress Saturday when its new business district street lights are switched on for the first time.
The 22 new fluorescent fixtures will be put into operation at a special public ceremony Saturday at 9 p.m. in front of the town buildng. Town officials will throw the switch that activates the lights; the public is urged to attend the brief rites.
Fulton’s new lighting system puts it in the forefront of communities in this respect. Each of the 22 new fixtures contains two 10,000 lumen fluorecent bulbs. There are five light standards in each of the four blocks of the business district plus two additional at the north side of the C&O railroad crossing.
The 22 new light fixtures replace five incandescent overhead lights, each using only 6,000 lumens.
The Public Service Company of Indiana’s Rochester district has been at work on the installaion of the new lights and poles for the last eight weeks. The PSCI owns and maintains the lights.
Cost of the improvement will be $2,325.84 per year, or $105.72 yearly per fixture. Prevously, the five incandescent lights had cost the town $34.56 each or $172.80 yearly.
Members of the town board are Dwight Rouch, president; Francis (Hass) Carrithers and Emerson Felder, Clerk-treasurer of the town is Ralph Ditmire.
Dedication of New Bldg
The Sentinel, June 26, 1961
Rochester Baptist dedicated their new church building Sunday as the formal climax in almost four years of planning and construction. Some 440 persons turned out for the morning service, 325 attended the afternoon dedication services and 225 were at a carry-in inner in the new Fellowship Hall at noon.
The Rev. James Niven of Fort Lauderdale, Fla., who was minister at the church from 1918-28 spoke at both the morning and afternoon services. The Rev. James Rhoads, church pastor, presided.
The Youth Choir sang at the morning service under direction f Mrs. Rhoads. Mrs. Charles Long was organist. The Sanctuary Choir sang at the dedication servicce, also directed by Mrs. Rhoads. Mrs. Everett Kestler was organist.
The board of deacons and deaconesses were hosts at the noon dinner, which was planned to honor members of the building committees which supervsed plans, construction and financing of the new church. Richard Misenhimer, chairman of the deacons, and Mrs. Gene Thompson, deaconess, spoke words of thanks at the dinner, as did Walter Eldridge oif New Paris, general contractor, and Paul Immel, job superintendent.
The Rev. Harry Bailey of Indianapolis and a former church pastor here, read New Testament scriptures at the dedication service.
The old Baptist building, erected in 1889, now is being torn downj to make way for landscaping of the approach to the new church.
Does a Tough One
The Sentinel, July 6, 1961
To preserve the style, to duplicate it in every way, became the assignment of Hart Schaffner & Marx when the Chicago Historical Society asked the firm to duplicate the suit worn by George Washington at his second inauguration on March 4, 1793, the original being the property of the Society.
John W. Meineke, associate designer for Hart Schaffner & Marx, was given this challenging assignment.
Tattered and frayed with age, the historic suit was handled with great care while sketches and the most accurate measurements were made. Every tiny detail was traed through, to the type of hand stitching, the peculiarly handled pockets and the 72 buttons of various sizes which were used on the suit.
Textile manufacturers went to great pains to provide the closest possible duplications of fabrics. With the tiniest snip of velvet from the original suit, it was discovered that this material had been made in France. From the high color selvedge, the firm of William Skinner & Sons was able to trace the silk velvet to a French manufacturer. The original fabrics had been 19-1/2 inches wide. The French firm duplicated it exactly, to the same width and with the same high color selvedge. William Skinner & Sons donated the 11 yards of velvet needed for the work.
Silk was purchased from England to duplicate the original lining. Belgian linen canvas and Irish linen Holland were obtained to reinforce the coat and breeches and to make the pockets.
“Much of the tailoring of the original suit,” said Meineke, “was quite ingenious, but in spots it was rather crude. Underneath the velvet coat flap was a woolen flaop with unfinished edges. The vest back was wool, also with unfinished edges.
The original suit and today’s meticulous copy -together with Mineke’s carfully worked out patterns, are now the property of the Chicago Historcal Society; one a treasure of the country’s beginning, the other a salute to present day research, ingenuity and “know-how.”
Presidents of the United States have quite frequently influenced styles in American men’s wear. Thomas Jefferson is usually credited with the introducton of long trousers as the acceptable dress wear, so replacing the breeches and white stocking of European influence. Very likely this was the first truly American style still vogue to the present day. Hat styles, as set by Theodore Roosevelt and Dwight D. Eisenhower were avidly followed.
Pleasant Valley Park
The Sentinel, July 6, 1961
The Taylor reunion was held recently at Pleasant Valley park near Michigan City. Among the perons in attendance were: Mr. & Mrs. Howard Taylor and children, Sharon and Russell, Mr. & Mrs. Everett Taylor and son Terry, Mrs. Charles Taylor, Mr. & Mrs. Jesse Church, Mr. & Mrs. Francis Jones and family and Mr. & Mrs. Orville Gilliland, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Howard Gilliland of Kewanna, Mr. & Mrs. Wilbur Harter and Mr. & Mrs. Edward Niles and daughter, Joanie, all of Akron.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Cecil Taylor and daughters, of Mt. Sterling, Ohio, Arthur Taylor of Granger, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Conoway and children, Kay and Philip, Mr. & Mrs. Edward Pawlick and daughter, Judy, and Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Surface and children, Debbie and David, all of Michigan City; Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Largen of South Bend; and Mrs. Ethel Surface and Denny Dalessandro of Chicago.
After the dinner at noon Mrs. Ethel Surface offered prayer and the group was entertained with music by Howard Gilliland.
The Sentinel, July 13, 1961
The 32nd annual reunion of former Rochester Normal university students was held at the Fulton County Conservation clubhouse Sunday with 54 registered for a delicious dinner at 1 p.m. Estil Ginn said grace before dinner.
Mrs. Eula Berrier presided in place of the president, Jesse Tombajgh, who could not serve because of illness. A rousing vote of thanks was extended to the club hosts and helpers for the excellent dinner and service.
The afternoon program was opened by community singing led by V.L. Barker with Mrs. Ray Myers at the piano. Prayer was offered by V.L. Barker. Everyone enjoyed the delightful dances and songs by Pam and David Leavell. They proved themselves proficient performers. Dick and Sabra Rice, grandchildren of Mrs. Lula Kraft of Logansport, sang three beautiful songs. Mrs. Kraft read “I Am Not Dead Yet.”
The Secretary’s report was read and approved. Letters from Merritt Partrdge and Hubert Mogle were read. Many cards with greetings and best wishes from friends who could not be present were read.
Mr. & Mrs. John Cessna and Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McVay recently visited with Mrs. Gertrude Wiltshire Macy. She was an instructor at the college from 1907-09 and now lives near Fairmount.
The nominating committee announced the following officers for the coming year: Charles Lucas, president; Mrs. John Cessna, vice-president; Mrs. Raymond McVay, secretary-treasurer. Mrs. Lucille Leonard was appointed custodian of the Rochester College mementoes.
Those who have passed away since the last meeting are Cleon Nafe, Lee Beehler, Prof. Hoar, John Bookwalter and Mr. Brugh.
The Rev. Harley Davis had charge of the discussion of the Memorial to Miss Flo Delp. It was decided to name this “Rochester College Memoral Foundation nn Honor of Flo Delp, Prof. Banta and Others.”
A Board of Directors was nominated for this Memorial Foundation. More information will be published when details are worked out by the board.
The meetng was adjourned after singing “God Be With You Till We Met Again.” The next meeting will be Sunday, July 8, 1962, at the Fulton County Conservation clubhouse.
Guests for dinner from Rochester were Pete Adamson, Mrs. Minnie Alexander, Mrs. Eula Berrier, Mr. & Mrs. Dow Haimbaugh, Mrs. Pearl Hiland, Mrs. Lucille Leonard, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McVay, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Myers, Mrs. Bertha Stahl, Miss Edna Sheets, Mrs. Ada Sherbondy, Mrs. Grace Stinson, Mr. & Mrs. Clyde Walters, Mrs. Edith Bryant, Miss Emily von Ehrenstein, Mr. & Mrs. Claude Alspach; from Fulton, V.L. Barker and sister; from North Manchester, Mrs. Edna Burns; from Hot Springs, Ark.; the Rev. Harley Davis from Richmond, Mr. & Mrs. Fred Deardorff; from Culver, Mrs. Eva Heiser.
Also, from Peru, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Gasaway, Mrs. Mary Harrison and Mrs. Lula Petty; from Marion, Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn; from Knox, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Lucas; from Indianapolis, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Mackey; from South Bend, Mr. & Mrs. W.R. Mc Clary and Mr. & Mrs. Weldon Sigrist and guests; from, Kewanna, Mrs. Golda Polen; from Macy, Mr. & Mrs. Russell Smith and Mr. & Mrs. John Savage; from Mishawaka, Mrs. Tessa Stayton and from Logansport, Mrs. Lula Kroft and Saybra and Dick Rice.
Afternoon guests were Mr. & Mrs. Don McLean of South Bend, Erret Carvey of Converse, Mr. & Mrs. John Cessna of Rochester and Blaine Hurst, Macy.
New Store Opens
The Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1961
Rochester’s newest business - Truitt Shoes - will open its doors Friday, Aug. 25, at 726 Main street in the quarters formerly occupied by the Miller-Jones shoe store.
Owner of the new firm is Robert Truitt of Peru, who will be assisted by his wife, Dorothy, in the store’s operation. The Truitts presently are redecorating the entire business room preparatory to arrival of merchandise.
Truitt Shoes will carry complete lines of men’s, women’s and children’s shoes as well as rubber footwear, hosiery for men, women and children, and handbags for women. Brands to be stocked include Jarman and Cedar Crest for men, Aerobats and Old Pals for children, Belview arch shoes and Charm Step dress, sport and casual shoes for women and Goodrich P.F. and Tyer Rubber tennis shoes.
Truitt, a native of Peru, has resigned as a district supervisor of Miller-Jones shoe stores including this city’s to open his own business here. He had been with the company 15 years, eight as manager of its Peru outlet and the last seven as supervisor.
Truitt is a Navy veteran of World War 11. He and his wife are the parents of two daughters, Bobbie Jean, 15, and Sharron, 11. The family will move to Rochester.
Destroys Two Stores
The Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1961
Early-morning flames attacked a two-story, cement block business building in Fulton Sunday, destroying two stores and causing damage to two next-door businesses.
While the ruins still smoldered and erupted at times in small spot fires, Fulton Fire Chief Ralph Mullins this morning estimated damage at well over $40,000.
Housed in the building were the Rouch drug store, owned by George (Bud) Rouch, and the A. and R. Club, owned by Al and Ronnie Gundrum.
Next door to the north, the Knotty Pine Restaurant, owned by Leonard Felts, sustained heavy fire, smoke and water damage.
Across an alley to the south, the Clover Farm grocery store, owned by Ed Drapalik, received serious loss when its north wall was caved in by the whiplash of a chain that snapped or slipped during clean-up operations.
Nick Nevo of Chicago, who owns property in Fulton and was in the town for the week-end, was the first to notice the fire about 3:15 a.m. Sunday. Mullins said his department received the call at 3:18 o’clock.
Rochester, Grass Creek, Kewanna and Lucerne firemen responded quickly to calls for aid.
Fulton’s two pumper and a tank truck, Rochester’s new pumper, a pumper and a tanker from Lucerne, the same from Grass Creek and Kewanna’s tanker soon were stationed in front and back of the flaming building and at Mill creek to the south along the railroad tracks.
Even though the rain-swollen creek providd considerable water, Fulton firemen rapidy decided there was no chance to extinguish the flames that were consuming the business building.
They and the assisting firefighters developed a plan for saving the nearby buildings by preventing the fire from spreading.
“All the trucks arrived with full loads of water and when the tankers had exhausted their supply, they were filled from the creek,” Mulln said. A Fulton pumper was at the creek to draw the water and 1,000 feet of 2-1/2 inch hose was laid under the railroad tracks between the ties to the scene of the blaze.
For a time, while a ring of spectators watched the spectacular fire, the safety of Felts was in doubt, since he lived in an apartment above the drug store. Later, it was learned he was not in his residence when the fire erupted.
A fire wall between the one-story Knotty Pines restaurant and the drug store next door south prevented the fire from spreading laterally. But a large section of the business building roof fell to the north on top of the restaurant and broke through.
Firemen had to turn their hoses on the restaurant then, and considerable water and smoke ensued.
About five hours after firemen arrived, the south wall of the business building still was standing, but threatened to topple. Workmen attempted to pull the wall down, but the chain they were using snapped or slipped. It whipped against the grocery store, knocking in part of the north wall and damagng contents of the store. The store had escaped damage until that time.
A pickup truck owned by the General Telephone company, which was parked in back of the A and R club, was charred but could be driven away.
Mullins estimated damage at $10,000 to the business building, $15,000 to the contents of the drug store, $5,000 to the A and R club
contents, $6,000 to the grocery store buildng and contents and $5,000 to the restaurant.
The Rochester fire ruck narrowly averted a head-on collision while speeding to the scene on Ind. 25. An oncoming car, with only one headlight burning, headed straight for the truck in the wrong lane. The firetruck managed to swerve to the right to avoid a crash.
Mrs. Bud Braman and Mrs. John Richards, wives of Rochster firemen, brewed coffee at the Rochester station and took it to the firemen at Fulton.
Rochester police and the sheriff’s office handled traffic and crowd control at the scene.
Vern Wharton Res
The Sentinel, Aug. 18, 1961
The 16th annual reunion of the Wharton family was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs.. Vern Wharton in Elkhart. A bountiful carry-in dinner was served at noon. Grace for the meal was given by Mrs. Ruth Bulger. In the afternoon a short meeting was held. The remainder of the day was spent in visiting, taking pictures and looking at old family pictures and papers. Letters written during the Civil war by William B. and Horrace Wharton, grandfather and uncle of Porter, Vern and Gladus Wharton were read. Also the marriage license issued to Milton Wharton and Nettie E. Thompson in 1871 was shown.
Those present were: Robert Wharton, San Francisco, Cal.; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Christman and sons Claude and Tommy of Gary; Mrs. Thelma Wharton and Mr. & Mrs. Edward Hoffman and daughters Kathy and Michele of Claypool; Mrs. Patrick Kronewhiler, daughter Kathy and son Joe of South Bend; Porter Wharton of Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. Don Ackles and children Connie, Jimmie, Janet and Nancy of Niles, Mich.; Mrs. Harvey Turner and daughter Susan, Mrs. Ruth Bulger, Gladus Wharton and Frank Van Duyne of Kewanna, and the hosts, Mr. & Mrs. Vern Wharton.
Mgr. King Ford
The Sentinel, Sept. 26, 1961
The Sportsman’s Landing which opened under the new management of its owner, King Ford, Monday morning, will have its grand opening Friday night. Ford replaces Dick Miller former manager of the establishment which is located at the southwest side of Lake Manitou.
The interior of the building has been completely redecorated and new tables and chairs have been installed. The kitchen has been repainted and rearanged to take on an impressive modern appearance.
Ford said that snacks and meals will be available starting Friday. The rental of boats and the selling of bait is also expected to be started on the grand opening date. Ford has built a new pier for the docking of his rowboats on the lakefront.
Ford will operate the business in the daytime and Glen Daulton will be employed at night. This is the first time Ford has entered such a business. Before, he has been a farmer and has worked for the state department.
Ford originally built the building eight years ago and leased the operation to Miller. The business will retain its name of Sportsman’s Landing.
Burger’s Dairy Store
Pur Forrest Skidmore
The Sentinel, Oct. 2, 1961
Forrest (Frosty) Skidmore, a former Rochester resident, announced today that he has purchased Burger’s Dairy Store 618 East Ninth street, from Harold Henderson. Skidmore took over operation of the establishment today.
Henderson opened the store three years ago.
Skidmore, with his brother Henry, operated the Phillips 66 service station at 918 Main street for nine years until 1956.
In September of 1956, Skidmore moved to Chesterton and was employed as an attendant on the Indiana toll road until February of 1960.
Skidmore plans no immediate changes in the operation of the store. Skidmore and his wife will reside at 622 East Ninth street.
DEEDS EQUIPT CO.
Pur Burgener & Picrce
The Sentinel, Oct. 25, 1961
Dennis Deeds, Lake Manitou, announced today that he has sold the remaining part of his interest in the Deeds Equipment company to Vern Bergener of Indianapolis and Bill Pierce of Lafayete.
Contents of the firm’s local office at 913-915 Main street, will be moved to the company’s Indianapolis headquarters at Lawrence, said Deeds. The business will retain the name of Deeds Equipment company.
Deeds said that he will not be able to announce plans for future
use of the local building for two weeks.
The Deeds Equipment company, which deals in sale of road construction machinery, was started by Deeds in 1946. He entered the field in 1930 as saleman for the Caterpillar company and in 1939 joined the Indiana Equipment company in the same capacity.
pur Dick Miller
The Sentinel, Oct. 26, 1961
Dick Miller announced today that he has assumed full control of Miller-Thompson Auto Parts, Inc., 625 Main street, after purchasing the interest of partner Don Thompson.
Thompson said that he sold his ownership in the firm to accept post as sales representative for Duo-Tint Bulb and Battery company of Chicago. The Thompsons, who reside at 1104 Main street, will continue to live in Rochester.
Miller has been associated with the auto parts store since 1945. The business originally known as Miller Brothers Auto Parts, was started by Dick’s father, Otto, and his uncle, Hugh Miller. Both elder Millers have retired.
Thompson, former employee of Sealed Power Corporation, purchased his interest in the business 18 months ago.
BAXTER DRUG STORE
Remodeling & Enlargement
The Sentinel, Oct. 27, 1961
An extensive enlargement and remodeling project is underway at Baxter’s drug store, 724 Main street, that when completed will increase the stores sales space by 50 percent.
A new concrete block extension now is being built at the rear to increase the total building length to 140 feet. The addition is 80 feet in length and replaces an old 60-foot extension which was torn down.
An 80-foot long basement also is being dug under the entire building. This will be utilized for storage and equipment.
The building addition is expected to be completed about Dec. 1. Interior remodeling will not begin until sometime in January. The new building will feature two skydomes five by eight feet in size.
A complete interior remodeling is scheduled for the drug store. This will include new lighting, new wall shelving and a complete rearrangement of merchandise for self-selection of goods.
Current plans call for enlargement of the fountain and lunch facilities, as well. (20)
Robert Waltz of Rochester is general contractor for the project, J. Oden Barger doing the plumbing and heating work. Meland and Bowman of Logansport are arhitects. The remodeling is expected to be complete by early spring.
Baxter’s was purchased in 1941 by Ernest Baxter and is operated by Baxter, his wife and their son, Parke. The building has been the site of a drug store for over 70 years.
The Baxters also operate Peopls Pharmacy at the corner of Main and Eighth streets. They plan to close this store when the modernization of Baxter’s is omplete.
42nd Anniversay Sale
The Sentinel, Nov. 22, 1961
The 42nd annivesay sale of Hubert’s Shoes, 706 Main Street, actually marks the Rochester retail service record of the store’s owner and general manager, Hubert Taylor.
It was in November 1919, that Taylor entered the shoe business as a clerk in the store operated by his grandfather, Sylvester Alspach, in the room which now is the north side of Camblin’s Furniture Store.
This store had the modern-sounding name of the Serve-Yourself Shoe Store. It was, in fact, the second store in Indiana to sell shoes on a serve-yourselff basis, being modeled after one in Brazil, Ind.
Hubert has been serving the public at he present location under the name of Brinkman’s until 1946, when he changed the title to Hubert’s. He is vice-president of Hubert’s Shoes Inc., of which Mrs. Judy Brinkman Hodges, Buffalo, N.Y., is president; Mrs. Ray Glass, Rochester, secretary, and John Vernon also of Rochester, treasurer.
Mrs. Glass also has been a regular employee of the store for 19 years, along with Mrs. John Richards, who has worked there for 13 years. Mrs. Ellen Newell is regular part-time help.
Taylor graduated from Rochester high school in 1915 and studied at Wabash college for a year before illness forced him to return homm. He worked for his grandfather three years until the Serve Yourelf Store was purchased by his uncle, Guy Alspach, and the stock moved to the latter’s Hub Shoe Store. Hubert went along in the new venture, joining brother Orbra Taylor in the Hub operation until moving to Brinkman’s 14 year later.
Taylor’s remeniscences of his early career in the selling of shoes reveals the tremendous strides made in customer service over the intervening years.
Forty years ago, Hubert recalls only one width of shoe was
available to a person. Length was determined by measjuring a foot with a twig, then sticking the twig into a new shoe. If there was a half-inch clearance or so, the fit was made.
The combination of these two informal, inefficient measuring methods of the early days is the reason many older peersons have had difficulties with bunions, Taylor believes.
Today, Hubert’s stocks nine different widths of women’s shoes, five each in men’s and children’s.
Taylor remembers that the boots of those days were copper-toed and the soles fastened to the uppers with wooden pegs. They came packed in a grease solution and had to be cleaned thoroughly before put on display.
Gone, too, is the winter habit of men wearing high shoes during the winter. Fred Ruh, local druggist now deceased, was the first Rochester man to keep his oxfords on during the winter, Taylor recalls. “People thought he was endangering his health,” said Taylor. Now, of course, such style is common. Mr. & Mrs. Taylor reside at 609 Jefferson street. Their two sons have followed their father into the retail business. John is manager of the Sears Roebuck store in Springfield, O. David is assistant manager of Elkhart’s Sears store. Both graduated from Indiana university.
Hilltop Beauty Shop
Opens at Leiters Ford
The Sentinel, Dec. 6, 1961
A new business has been launched in the Leiters Ford vicinity. The Hilltop beauty shop has been opened and is operated by Mrs. Roy Mishler in her home. Mrs. Mishler recently graduated from the Vogue Beauty College in South Bend and has received her state license. The official opening of the shop was Nov 27. - - - - -
RUSSELL SEE TAXI
pur William Bussert
The Sentinel, Jan. 5 1962
Russell See announced today that he has sold his taxi business to William Bussert of Rochester, who took possession this week. Bussert also is employed at the Enco service station, Main and Fourth streets.
See said that he had no immediate plans for the future. He started the taxi concern, which has its headquarters at 117 West Seventh street, in 1941. He resides on the north shore of Lake Manitou.
Go-Gay Beauty Salon
Opens at Leiters Ford
The Sentinel, Feb. 8 1962
Another business has been launched in Leiters Ford. We are happy to welcome Miss Betty Zechiel and her Go-Gay beauty salon to our community. Miss Zechiel is the daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Farris Zechiel of Culver and graduated from the Vogue Beauty college in South Bend in November.
The Go-Gay beauty salon opened Feb. 5 in the back of Overmyer’s store.
Robert Royer Pool
The Sentinel, March 1 1962
Indiana University will officially dedicate its Robert Royer Pool Saturday night as part of the program for the 52nd Big Ten swimming championships.
The pool, with 75-foot racing tank, separate diving pool and 1,500 capacity, was named in honor of the late coach who tutored I.U. Swimmers for 26 years. Royer was a native of Akron, graduated from high school there and taught at Akron high school before joining the I.U. Staff.
Recognized as one of the nation’s top coaches, Royer developed two Olympic swimmers during his coaching career. He headed for years the NCAA”s influential rules committee, and was a member of the U.S. Olympic swimming committee and an advisory coach on the 1956 team. He was an alumnus of I.U.
Participating in the ceremony will be President Herman B. Wells, who will describe Royer’s services to the university.; Athletic director Bill Orwig, Royer as a coach, and Dean Arthur S. Daniels of the school of health, physical edcation and recreation, the teaching attributes of the late swimming coach.
Special guests will be Mrs. Royer and her daughter, Janet. Mrs. Royer is secretary to the president of the university.
The dedicatory program will be staged mid-way of the evening’s championship finalls. The three-day meet opened today.
The Sentinel, March 8 1962
Wayne Hollansbe, assistant manager of Schultz Brothers variety store here for the last four years, has been promoted to manager of the Schultz store in Hoopton, Ill., a community of about 6,600 population.
Hollansbe took over his new duties Tuesday. His wife, Charlotte, and their four children will join him in Hoopston as soon as housing is located.
Joe Gutknecht, manager of the Rochester store, said a successor to Hollansbe will be assigned in the near future.
Hollansbe had trained for a year in Columbia City before being transferred to Rochester.
Talma Plant Adds Workers
The Sentinel, April 5, 1962
The Talma plant of Kabo, Inc., of Chicago, which employs 35 women on three manufacturing lines for producing brassieres, soon will add another line and about 20 more employees, Mrs. Mildred Kramer, plant manager, announced today.
The building housing the plant also will be enlarged, Mrs. Kramer said.
Word was received Wednesday from the Chicago office of Kabo of definite plans for enlarging the work force and the building, Mrs. Kramer said. She said the plans had been made tentative earlier and that she already has hired 10 extra women to work on the new line.
Parts for the new line of sewing machines are due from Georgia this week, she said, and other parts from Chicago are expected next week. Constrution of the addition to the building will begin as soon as possible, Mrs. Kramer was informed.
Kabo established its Talma plant in 1957 in quarters formerly occupied by the Freeman Manufacturing Co. Manufacturing orders have increased steadily since then. In 1959, a 32 by 36 cement block addition was built, connecting to the frame building and adjoining cement block structure the Freeman company occupied.
The work force at the plant also has increased frequently. Before the 1959 addition was built, 22 women were employed by Kabo.
AYERS REAL ESTATE
The Sentinel, June 2, 1962
Robert Ayers, Logansport realtor, today opened a Rochester real estate office at 803 East Ninth street, next to the Lakeside Cleaners.
Ayers, who has been in the real estate business at Logansport for the past 17 years, will continue to operate his firm in that city. Associated with him in the Rochester office will be Allen Rice of Culver. special agemt for the California Life Insurance company, and Ralph Stepp of Rochester, who will work as real estate salesman on weekends.
Ayers is a member of the National Association of Real Estate Boards. Besides real estate, his firm handles appraisals, property management, builder for Paragon Homes and FILA, GI and farm loans.
Closed In Akron
The Sentinel, June 7, 1962
The Kroger store in Akron has been closed after being in operation for 35 years.
Joseph Minear of the Kroger advertising department in Fort Wayne said this is part of Kroger’s plan to operate stores only in shopping ceneters and county seat communities.
The employees of the Akron store were offered similar jobs or high positions in other Kroger stores.
Kroger’s lease on the Akron store will not expire until August. The building is owned by the Gearhart brothers, all of whom are employed in the grocery business.
GROCERY, at LEITERS
Pur Frank Rawles
The Sentinel, June 8, 1962
Framl Rawles of South Bend, took over ownership and management of the former Hott IGA grocery in Leiters Ford Thursday.
Omer Hott, owner and operator for the past six years, did not announce his future plans.
Rawles, who worked for the Blue Ribbon Pie company in South Bend for the past 23 years, will move into an apartment above the store with his family. He has four daughters, one in 4th grade.
Pur Loren & Ann Sheetz
The Sentinel, June 15, 1962
The Akron News, weekly newspaper founded 72 years ago, will have a change in ownership Sept. 1 when Loren and Elizabeth Ann Sheetz of Akron become publishers of the paper. The announcement of the sale was made in this week’s issue by Claude and Esther Billings, who have owned and published Tne News for the last 30 years.
Mr. & Mrs. Sheetz both graduated from Akron High School in 1952 and he recently resigned his position with Bahney Chevrolet Sales to learn the mechanical operations of the newspaper plant. She studied journalism at Indiana university and lived in Germany with her husband while he was in the armed forces. A son, Todd, was born there. She is employed at the First National Bank in Rochester.
The Billingses purchased The News from Garland Kline June 14, 1932 and both were active in newspaper and job printing work. He was active in politics, having been president of the Indiana Republican Editorial Association and secretary of the Republican State Central Committee for over two years. He was a charter member of the Famous Akron Jonah club, one of the organizers of the Lions Club chapter and a past Master of the Akron Masonic lodge.
Mrs. Billings was president of the Fulton County Federation of Clubs, vice president of the Indiana Federation of Clubs and was editor-business manager of the Indiana Clubwoiman magazine.
The Billingses will continue to publish the weekly until Sept 1 when Mr. & Mrs. Sheetz will assume ownership. Mr. Billings intends to resume his teaching career at Turkey Run high school. They will continue living at their home in Montezuma.
New Curbs & Sidewalks
The Sentinel, June 18, 1962
All new curbing and sidewalks have been completed on the south side of the main street in Macy and also in front of Dr. W.K. Sennett’s office.
Work soon will begin on the sidewalk in front and at the side of Harry Karn’s grocery.
The town board is urging all property owners to clean up and repair all property.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, June 23, 1962
The annual reunion of the Metzger family was held Sunday at the Rochester city park. A basket dinner was served at noon, and in the afternoon ice cream and cake was served.
Officers for 1963 are: president, Fred Brugle, Mishawaka; vice-president, Warren Gillespie, Kewanna, and secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Ruth Hughes, South Bend.
Those attending were: Mr. & Mrs. Art Straube and Henry Metzger of Harvey, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Lafayette Smith of Huntertown; Mrs. Robert Renkenberger and son, Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Homer Graffis, North Manchester; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Brugle and Mr. & Mrs. Leo Milkey, Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. William Metzger and son, Mr. & Mrs. David Leiberman and family, Mrs. Dorothy Phillips and family, Mrs. Ruth Hughes and Miaa Hazel Metzger, all of South Bend; also Mr. & Mrs. G.E. Metzger, Mr. & Mrs. Warren Gillespie and Mr. & Mrs. David Metzger, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Graffis, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Foor and Mr. & Mrs. Don Metzger, all of Rochester.
The reunion for 1963 will be at the same place on the third Sunday in June.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, June 29, 1962
The reunion of the Tucker family was held Sunday, June 24 at the Rochester City Park. A basket dinner was served at noon and in the afternoon icecream and cake was served.
Those attending were: Mrs. J.M. Tucker, Downey, Cal.; Dr. Frank Tucker, Mrs. Ida Huffer, Lena Igo, Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Smalley and family, Mr. & Mrs. Ivan Tucker and Miss Mirabel Tucker, all of Claypool; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Rader and family, Mr. & Mrs. Maynard Summe and Mrs. Effie Summe of Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Victor Kitchel, Mrs. Mary Kitchel and Larry Kitchel of Logansport.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Dearl Tucker, Kim and Pam Coleman, Darlene Igo, Mr. & Mrs. Terry Tucker, Mr. & Mrs. Rex Tucker and family and Mr. & Mrs. Frank Smith all of Mentone; Mr. & Mrs. Lloyd Summe and Mr. & Mrs. Eddred Paulus and family of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Bof Boggs and family of Warsaw; and Mr. & Mrs. Glenn Clauss and family of Bourbon.
The Sentinel, July 7, 1962
The annual Evans reunion was held recently at Centennial Park, Plymouth, with 81 present. The present officers were re-elected: Arthur Evans, Dowagiac, Mich., president; Mrs. Darlene Evans, Beaver Dam, Mich., secretary-treasurer and Mrs. Aletha Archer, chairwoman of entertainment committee.
Grace was given by Mrs. Ida Mullins of Kewanna before the carry-in dinner.
Entertainment was provided by Alyce and Paty Edwards who played a clarinet duet. Ray Miller played several selections on the accordion. Games were played by both children and adults and prizes were given the winners.
The family traveling the farthest to attend the reunion was Mr. & Mrs. Edward Evans and daughters from Beaver Dam, Mich.
The reunion is held in honor of Benson West Evans, born May 23, 1865. He was unable to attend this year. Evans is the father of 10 living children. He has forty-nine grandchildren, 106 great-grandchildren and two great-great-grandchildren.
A letter of congratulations was received by Evans for his 97th birth anniversary from Senator Harry Litowich of the seventh district of Michigan.
The following letter was sent to Evans, who lives in the Christenen Nursing Home at Coloma, Mich.: We all missed you father and hope that you live to celebrate your 100th anniversary. Your children and grandchildren all wish you continued good health and may God bless your and keep you while we are absent one from the other.
Mrs. Marvin (Marie) Rife, Mrs. Charles (Ida) Mullins, Mrs. Mary Rocco and Lee Evans, all of Kewanna, are children of Benson Evans and attended the reunion.
Mt. Zion School Reun
Van Duyne Gravel Pit
The Sentinel, July 9, 1962
The fifth annual reunion of the pupils of the old Mt. Zion, one room school was held July 4 at the Van Duyne Block & Gravel Co. Grounds with 74 present.
A community dinner was served at noon. Leroy Garner gave Grace before the meal. Mrs. Josephine Swihart, president, presided during the business meeting. The present officers were re-elected for
the coming year. They are: Mrs. Swihart, president; Mrs. Fred Van Duyne, secretary-treasurer.
Joe and Robert Van Duyne were extended a vote of thanks for preparing their place of business for the reunion. Pencils were presented to each person commemerating the 5th anniversary of the reunion. The afternoon was spent visiting and ice cream was served.
Those present from a distance were Joe E. Dixon, Groveland, Fla.; Frank Webb, Tampa, Fla.; John Vandervoort, Dayton, O.; Mrs. Martha Puls,, Franklin, O.; Mr. & Mrs. Henry Dixon, Auburn; Mr. & Mrs. Virgil Van Duyne, Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Deardorff, Richmond; Mrs. Myrtle Erwin and daughter, Marjorie, Mr. & Mrs. Bob Shelton and Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn, all of Marion, Mr. & Mrs. Walter Aughinbaugh, Walkerton; Mr. & Mrs. Lester Goodyear, Churubusco; Mrs. Josephine Swihart and John Dixon, Elkhart.
Local people attending were: Mr. & Mrs. Robert M. Zeller, Mr. & Mrs. LeRoy Garner, Mr. & Mrs. Albert Wood, Mrs. L. Pearl Moore, Maxine Zube, Mrs. Carrie Jones, Mrs. Mabel Severns, Guy McMillen, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Shelton, Dean Mow, Mr. & Mrs. Howard King, Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Graffis, Mrs. Robert B. Zimmerman, Cathy and Joey Zimmerman, Susan Crill, Carl Rose, Candy Johnson, Mrs. Lucille Macy, Robert Macy and Carl McCrosky.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Beaudoin, Mrs. Art Fansler, Mrs. Chester Overmyer, Joan Overmyer, Mr. & Mrs. Roscoe Conrad, Mary Masteller, Edith Maddux, Claude Butler, Mr. & Mrs. Lloyd Pickens, Mr. & Mrs. Frank Davis, Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Weaver, Mrs. Alice Wagoner, Mrs. Della Pontius, Mrs. Emma Weaver, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Joe Van Duyne and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne.
The Sentinel, July 12, 1962
Although closed for 50 years, Rochester Normal University still is active in the minds of its former students. About 70 of them attended the 33rd annual reunion at the Fulton County Conservation clubhouse Sunday. Of that number, 62 came to enjoy a delicious dinner at 1 p.m., served by the club.
Charles Lucas, president, was in charge of the program and business session. A vote of thanks was extended to the hosts and helpers who served the dinner.
The afternoon program was opened by prayer and community singing, led by V.L. Barker with Ada Sherbondy at the piano. The
secretary-treasurer reports were read and approved.
Mrs. Lucille Leonard read the names of those who have passed away since last year’s reunion and read a beautiful poem in commemoration. The deceased members were: Fern Biggs Armfield, Claude Bainter, Faye Phoenix Swihart, John Felder, Otto McMahan, Robert Shafer and Arthur Shore.
Many letters and cards were received by those present to send to Mrs. Garnet (Carvey) Tombaugh and Mrs. Florence (Meiser) Ginther who are ill.
Roll call was answered by giving former name, address, present name and address and when each had attended Rochester college.
Mr. Barker surprised the crowd with several numbers played on a “music box” over 100 years old. Miss Julia McCrosky then entertained with several delightful numbers on the modern “music box,” the accordian.
Charles Lucas” granddaughters, Sharon and Kathy Holub gave wonderful performances of baton twirling which showed marvelous professional ability for eight and ten-year olds.
The nominating committee announced the following officers for the coming year: Dr. Dow Haimbaugh, president; John Savage, vice-president; Reba Shore, secretary-treasurer.
A move was made and seconded by Pete Adamson and Mrs. Petty to return to V.L. Barker the money he had paid into the treasury toward the Memorial Fund.
Some time was spent reminiscing. Many humorous and serious incidents were told reminding all of the great influence that the associations with one another and with the wonderful instructors had provided.
The meeting was adjourned after more community singing. The next meeting will be Sunday, July 14, 1903, at the Fulton County Conservation clubhouse.
Dinner guests were: Pete Adamson, Mrs. Minnie Alexander, Mr. & Mrs. Otto Babcock, V.L. Barker, Mrs. Eula Berrier, Mrs. Norabelle Bryant, Mr. & Mrs. John Cessna, Mr. & Mrs. Fred Deardorff, Mr. & Mrs. Jesse Dickey, Talmadge Dillon, Mr. & Mrs. Roy Gassaway, Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn, Mrs. Mary Harrison, Mrs. Pearl Hiland, Mrs. Lula Kroft, Miss Sabra Rice, Mrs. Lucille Leonard, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Lucas, Mrs. Carmeen Holob and daughters Sharon and Kathy; Mr. & Mrs. W.R. McClary, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McVay and grandchildren, Frances and Herbert; Miss Belva Miller, Mrs. Petty, Mr. & Mrs. Breneman, Mr. & Mrs. John Savage, Miss Edna Sheets, Mrs. Ada Sherbondy, Mrs. Reba Shore, Mr. & Mrs. Russell Smith, Mr &
Mrs. Neal Stauffer, Mrs. Tessa Stayton, Miss Emily Von Ehrenstein, Mrs. Rae Wildermuth, Mrs. Jessie Ritchie, Hugh McMahan, Mrs. Sylvia Jewell, Mrs. Bertha Stahl, Bert Kent, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Olmsted, Mrs. Elva Hutchinson, Mrs. Gladys Maple, Miss Julia McCroskey.
Afternoon visitors were Mr. & Mrs. Florence Hendrickson, Mr. & Mrs. Claude Alspach, Errett Carvey, Mr. & Mrs. Don McLean.
The Sentinel, July 14, 1962
The annual Castleman reunion was held at Bruce Lake over the Fourth of July.
Those present were: Mr. & Mrs. Hugh Stamm and son, Mr. & Mrs. Vernon Castleman, Mr. & Mrs. Clyde Castleman, Mr. & Mrs. Oren Castleman, Mr. & Mrs. Ronnie Overmyer and son Stevie, Mr. & Mrs. Glen Cleland and family, Mr. & Mrs. Bertha Bailey, South Bend; Mrs. Ruth Castleman and Paul Dulmatch, South Bend.
The Sentinel, July 17, 1962
The annual reunion of the family of the late David Hunter and Lillie M. (Good) Hunter was held recently at the Plymouth Centennial Park with 50 members present.
Present were: Mrs. Lillie Hunter, Mr. & Mrs. Melvin Hunter and children and Mr. & Mrs. Richard Shanabarger and daughter, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Clarion Hunter, Silver Lake; Mr. & Mrs. Clarion L.Hunter and children, North Manchester; Mr. & Mrs. Sam Woodard and children, Kokomo; Mr. & Mrs. Loyle Karns and sons, Urbana; Mr. & Mrs. Chester Hunter and son, North Liberty; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Harrell and daughters, and Mr. & Mrs. Donald Hunter and son, LaPorte.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Clural Hunter and children, Mr. & Mrs. Paul Garver and children and Mr. & Mrs. Steve Rude and son, all of Kewanna.
Those unable to attend were: Mrs. William Hunter and daughters, Cedarburg, Wis.; Mr. & Mrs. John Hunter and daughters, Roann; Mr. & Mrs. Paul Marshall and child and Mrs. Paul Marshall and child and Mrs Howard Hoffman, Bloomington.
Clarion L. Hunter was elected president and Mrs. Richard Harrell was elected secretary-treasurer. The reunion will be held at the Winamac park next year.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 19, 1962
The first reunion of the George A. Burns family was held at the Rochester City Park Sunday with 45 present for the meal at noon.
Present were: Mr. & Mrs. Max Burns, Holgate, O.,; Mr. & Mrs. Lonny Burns and children, Wabash; Mr. & Mrs. Ivan Burns Jr., and children, Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Lewis Clark and children, Marion; Mr. & Mrs. Richard O’Dell and son and Mr. & Mrs. Vernon Burns, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Burkett and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Peney and children, Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Claude Burns, Gilead; Mr. & Mrs. Delbert Haupert and children, North Manchester; Mr. & Mrs. Dean Burns and family, Macy; and Cecil and Goldie Burns, Athens.
Cecil Burns, 75, was the oldest member present and Jimmie Lee Burns, 5-1/2-months-old son of Mr. & Mrs. Ivan Burns Jr., was the youngest member present.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 23, 1962
The 38th annual reunion of the late Stephen Conrad and William Bray families was held at Rochester City Park recently with 77 members present.
A basket dinner was served at noon. During a short business meeting conducted after the meal the group voted Edgar Conrad president and reelected Thelma McKinley secretary-treasurer.
Attending were: Mrs. Thelma Conrad and Mr. & Mrs. Marvin Conrad, all of Kiowa, Kan.; Mr. & Mrs. Jack Young and Mr. & Mrs. Claude Wells, all of Tucson, Ariz.; Stephen Dodson, Hollywood, Cal.; Mr. & Mrs. Edgar Conrad, Russel Conrad and Mr. & Mrs. Harry Conrad, all of Metea; Mr. & Mrs. Luther Sheetz, Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Showley and family, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Leo Sheetz and family, Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Deyeo and family, Flora.
Also, Mrs. Edith Benson, Dale Ferguson, Mr. & Mrs. Jack Hines, Mr. & Mrs. Burl Winegardner and family, Mr. & Mrs. Melvin Winegardner and family, Mr. & Mrs. Gordan Winegardner, Jean, Jan and Michael Crippen and friends, all of Logansport; Thurle Alber and family; Mr. & Mrs. Norvanah Alber and family, Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Alber and family, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Russel Cauffman and family, New Carlisle, Mr. & Mrs. George Conrad and family, and Mr. & Mrs. Harold McKinley, Winamac.
At Macy Farm
The Sentinel, July 27, 1962
The Stinson family held its reunion Sunday at their farm home northeast of Macy.
Those present were: Mr. & Mrs. J.M. Stinson and son Dick, Mr. & Mrs. R.D. Cook and daughters, Kim and Jill, of Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. S.A. Sisulak, Mr. & Mrs. O.O. Fredrickson, Linda and Paul, Des Plaines, Ill., Mrs. Scott Stinson Jr., Scott, Ill.; Nancy and Gary, Barbara Kolh.
Also Mr. & Mrs. Art Stinson and Gene and Kenny Williams, Milwaukee, Wis.; Mr. & Mrs. Steve Sisulak, Jr. and daughter, Karen, John Sisulak and Dorothy Miller of Carbondale, Ill.; Mrs. Amy Walton, Indianapolis, sister of Mrs. Scott Stinson; Mr. & Mrs. Omar Koffel, Rochester, cousins of the hostess. One son and Capt and Mrs. Minter were unable to attend.
The Sentinel, July 27, 1962
Kewanna’s newest business plans to be in operation by Aug. 1. It will be a new restaurant in the bulding formerly the Calvin Place. The building has undergone extensive remodeling and a new 32-foot long room has been built on the rear of the present building. The room will be used as the kitchen and store room
The tile floor will be used for the dining area and all-new equipment will be used through the restaurant.
Mr. & Mrs. Marvin Rife of Kewanna and Mr. & Mrs. Paul Crill of Leiters Ford will be the proprietors and it will be under the management of Mrs. Rife (Marie) and Mrs. Crill (Lois) and the name will be The Mar-Lo cafe.
Air conditioning will be installed..
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, Aug. 10, 1962
The 40th annual Zartman reunion was held Sunday at the City Park with 57 present.
Prizes were awarded to the following: Mr. & Mrs. List of New York for traveling the farthest distance to be present. Ben Dawald as the oldest man prsent and Mrs. Minnie as the oldest woman present.
Charles Olmstead was elected president for the next year.
Lawrence Zartman of Mentone was re-elected secretary. Estil Quinn is the outgoing president.
R. Coplen Country Res.
The Sentinel, Aug. 13, 1962
Mr. & Mrs. Richard Coplen entertained 88 members of the Coplen relatives Sunday at their country home northwest of Akron. The following guests were present: Mr. & Mrs. Richard Waldo and family, Miss Martha Coplen, Miss Ellen Hoffman, Mrs. John Chandler and children, all of Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Craig and children of Petersburg; Mr. & Mrs. William Ireland, Mr. & Mrs. Dick Ireland of Kokomo; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Good, Mr. & Mrs. Herman Alderfer and family, Mr. & Mrs. Russell Lee Alderfer, all of Argos; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Freed and family of Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. Bob Coplen and family and Miss Nancy Coplen of Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Coplen and family, Mr. & Mrs. Dean Coplen and family, and Mr. & Mrs. Stanley Locke, all of Warsaw; Mr. & Mrs. Gaylord Matney of Huntington, Mr. & Mrs. Gaston Coplen, Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Mikesell and family, Mr. & Mrs. Dale Gordon, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Coplen and daughters of Silver Lake; Mrs. Cora Coplen, Mr. & Mrs. Dale Coplen and family, Mr. & Mrs. George Brown, Mr. & Mrs. Maurice Coplen and family, Mr. & Mrs. Gary Brown, M. Perk Smith, Wayne Coplen and son Ronnie, all of Akron.
Hiland-Van Duyne Reun
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, Aug. 15 1962
The 39th annual Hiland-Van Duyne reunion was held at City Park Sunday with 32 people present for dinner. An abundant basket dinner was enjoyed by everyone after prayer by Ray Marshall.
After the dinner, a short devotional service was given with Ray Marshall reading a chapter from the Bible and Mrs. Wade Green giving the Lord’s Prayer with a Biblical explanation of each sentence. A hostess gift was given to the one who had the lucky napkin. Eddie Cauffman was the winner.
Most of the guests enjoyed playing bingo and an exchange of a nice collection of gifts.
Those present were: Mr. & Mrs. Edwin Olson, Mrs. Allen Olson and Mr. Johnson, all of Winamac; Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Reiff of Larwill and Debby Reiff of Columbia City; Mr. & Mrs. Wade Green of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Rex Day of Flora; Mrs. Nettie Haschel of
Winamac; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Marshall and three sons of Bremen; Mr. & Mrs. Frank Hiland of Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Cauffman and family of New Carlisle; Ginger & Gregory Alber of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber and son, Phillip, Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Alber of Rochester; and Mr. & Mrs. Jim Hiland of Kewanna.
The 1963 reunion will be held at the same place and same table, but on the second Sunday in August. The same president and secretary-treasurer were elected again.
Ira Smith Home
The Sentinel, Aug. 15 1962
The Newell Day family met at Lake Nyona for a reunion at the Ira Smith home, Lakeview Farm. Day is the son of the late Ira and Myrtle Smith, longtime residents of this area. Mrs. Day was reared in Elwood, attended Marion Normal Institute and there met her future husband. They were wed in Kokomo Feb. 15, 1921.
Mr. & Mrs. Day reside in Bettendorf, Ia., where he is general agent of the Davenport agency of the Equitable Life Insurance Company of Iowa.
Four of the Days’ five children and their families attended the weekend get-together. Coming the farthest distance were Lt. & Mrs. John Day of Shreveport, La., and their three children, Douglas, David and Lisa.
Attending from Sioux City, Ia., were Mr. & Mrs. Harold Soper Jr. (Joaime Day) and their children, Jody and Harland.
Mr. & Mrs. G.E. Clock (Mary Alice Day) of Midland, Mich.; were present with their five children, David, Stephen, Craig, Anna and Catherine. Also present were Mr. & Mrs. Roy Fisher Jr. (Joyce Day) and their six children, Joy, Susan, Carol, Becky, Molly and Lucy, Davenport, Ia.; while David Day and family of Harlingen, Texas, were unable to attend.
Other reunion visitors were Mrs. D.A. Crawford, Peru; Mrs. Maud Fisher, Peru; Mr. & Mrs. J.W. Coleman and Tanya Ebert, Noblsville; Miss Velma Osmun, Elwood; Mr. & Mrs. W.W. Hostetler and Mr. & Mrs. McGovern, Converse.
Chas. Wagoner Res.
The Sentinel, Aug. 16 1962
The 22nd annual Waggoner-Wagoner-Wagner reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Charles Wagoner, southeast of Rochester.
Following the dinner a business meeting was conducted by the president, Dennis Wagoner of Plymouth. The secretary’s report was given by Mrs. Fay McQuinn of Lake Cicott.
The oldest person present was Alfred Waggoner of Fremont, O. He also traveled the farthest distance to come to the meeting. The youngest was Steve Curtis, son of Mrs. Peggy Curtis, Rochester.
The election for the officers of 1963 was held with the following chosen for 1963: president, William Wagoner, RR 2, Rochester; vice-[resident, Dennis Wagoner, Plymouth; secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Bette McQueen.
Attending were: Mr. & Mrs. Omer Wagoner, Kokomo; Mr. & Mrs. Melvin Wagoner and son Kenny, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Jack Musser, Plymouth, at whose gardens the flowers which enhansed the banquet tables were grown; Dennis Wagoner, Miss Barbara Wagoner, both of Plymouth; Miss Becky Russell, Argos; Mrs. Hulda Wagoner, Miss Anna Wagoner, Mrs. Lightfoot, a guest, all of Rochester; Alfred Waggoner, Fremont, O.; Mr. & Mrs. William Wagoner and daughter, Beverly, Rochester; snd grandsons, Jeff, Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Fay McQuinn and three children of Lake Cicott; Mrs. Peggy Curtis and three children and Mr. & Mrs. Robert J. Wagoner and children, Melanie, Nancy, Bobby and Timmy, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Tobey and children Debbie and Lee Ann, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Wagoner, Rochester.
Next year’s reunion will be at Plymouth at the home of Jack & Christine Musser.
Harvey Turner Res
The Sentinel, Aug. 16 1962
The annual Wharton reunion was held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Harvey E. Turner and daughters. At noon a carry-in dinner was served after grace was given by Sandra Turner.
After the meal time was spent in visiting, croquet and picture taking. A short business session was held. The report of the last reunion was read by Susan Turner. It was voted to retain the same officers for another year.
The officers are: president, Gladys Wharton, vice-president, Vern Wharton and secretary-treasurer, Susan Turner. The oldest one present was Porter E. Wharton of Elkhart and the youngest was nine months old, Sheryl Lynn Zehender of South Bend. The one coming the farthest was Robert V. Wharton of San Francisco.
Those present were: the Turner family, Mrs. Tina Wharton, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Lothaire Lake, North Judson; Mr. & Mrs. Don Ackles and Connie, Janet, Nancy and Jim, Niles, Mich.; Mrs. Patrick Kronewitter and son Joe and Mr. & Mrs. Bud Zehender, Shirley and Sheryl, South Bend; Robert J. Wharton, Great Lakes, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Vern Wharton, Porter E. Wharton and Mrs. Joseph Erskine, Elkhart.
Also, Mrs. Thelma Wharton and Mr. & Mrs. Edward Hoffman, Kathy and Michelle, Claypool; Robert V. Wharton, San Francisco; Mr. & Mrs. Harlan Wharton, Mishawaka, and Mrs. Ruth Bulger, Gladus Wharton and Frank Van Duyne, of Kewanna.
Mr. & Mrs. Hoffman of Claypool extended an invitation to meet with them in 1963, and the invitation was accepted. It will be on the second Sunday in August.
Mr. & Mrs. Vern Wharton took their son Robert V. Wharton to Indiana university where he will take a two weeks graduate course. He is president of the Bay View Federal Savings & Loan Association in San Francisco.
The Sentinel, Aug. 16 1962
The Bahney-Paul family reunion was held at Long Lake, east of Akron, recently.
The group elected Joseph Bahney, Akron, president; Robert Bahney, Macy, vice-president; and Mrs. Roma VanLue, Akron, secretary-treasurer.
An announcement was made that the 1963 reunion will be held at the same place the first Sunday in August.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, Aug. 16 1962
The 46th annual reunion of the Putman family was held at the Rochester City Park Sunday. A pot-luck dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour.
The business meeting was in charge of the vice-president, Joe Kroft. New officers elected for 1963 year were Joe Kroft, president;
Russell Bacon, vice-president; and Mrs. Hilda Davis, secretary-treasurer.
Mrs. Velda Penrod gave a short talk of the past. The oldest person attending was Alvan Putman, of Plymouth. The youngest attending were Nancy and Jimmy Webber, two-week-old twins, Rochester.
Jesse Pickens Cottage
The Sentinel, Aug. 22 1962
The newly organized Pickens reunion met Sunday at the Tippecanoe river cottage of Jesse and Dorothy (Murray) Pickens. A carry-in dinner was served at noon and the afternoon was spent in visiting and electing officers for the coming year.
New officers are Ray Pickens, president; Fay McQuinn, vice-president; Marjorie Pickens, secretary.
There were 34 adults and 27 children present.
The Sentinel, Aug. 30 1962
A change in ownership of Lockridge Studio Inc., 720 Main street, was revealed today.
William K. Downs resigned from the firm earlier this week. He had been stockholder, director and treasurer of the corporation and active in the operation of the photographic business.
Robert DeBruler, Rochester, and Mrs. Georgianne McCormick of Grand Rapids, Mich., retain ownership. DeBruler said today he will continue the operation of the business, which was founded by Mrs. McCormick’s late husband, Charles Lockridge.
Downs, who had been with the firm 15 years, said today he will operate his own business of school photography under the name of The Downs Studio. He will continue to reside in Rochester.
The Sentinel, Sept. 12 1962
The Arlington Hotel, a Rochester landmark for over 70 years, will be closed Thursday, owner Hugh McMahan announced today.
McMahan said that the upper floors of the three-story building at Main and Seventh streets, containing 50 hotel rooms, are to be closed to the public.
However the lobby will remain open for the convenience of Indiana Motor Bus patrons although it no longer will be operated on a 24-hour basis.
The building has been made available for sale, said McMahan.
McMahan has owned and operated the Arlington since 1930, when he purchased it from John Barrett. The latter had changed the name from Arlington to Barrett hotel, but McMahan reverted it to the original title when he assumed ownership.
Constructed in 1889 by the late Abner J. Barrett, the Arlington was a showpiece of the day and until well into this century was a social center of the city. A dining room was operated in connection with the hotel until 1931.
Built at the same time as the Arlington was the other portion of the half-block, that by the late Lyman Brackett Sr. Fire destroyed the Brackett portion on Jan 24, 1956 and it later was rebuilt for Wile’s department store.
McMahan said he would continue to maintain his apartment residence in the hotel building.
The Sentinel, Sept. 15 1962
The Foster reunion was conducted Sunday at the Fulton County Conservation Club grounds.
Attending were: Mr. & Mrs. Herbert Foster and daughter and Mr. & Mrs. Jim Cocker, Milwaukee; Mrs. Edith Foster, Mr. & Mrs. Jack Bick and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. Marvin Holloway, Rochester; Lewis Foster and son, Ronnie, Waukegon, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Kistler and Mr. & Mrs. Jim Campbell, Leiters Ford; Mr. & Mrs. Roger Kent, Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. Jim Bridges, Royal Center; Mr. & Mrs. Lee Moore and son, Jack, Mr. & Mrs. George Barnett and family and Mrs. Ethel Kirkpatrick, Loyal.
The Sentinel, Sept. 17 1962
Thirty-five karts competed Sunday at the Macy Go-Kart Raceway. Two special events were conducted, the pie race with eight entries and the scramble race with 14 participants.
The winners: A class - Terry Foreman, Macy; Lewis Cole, Denver; Ed Mercer, Rochester; A Super class - Gary Cole, Denver; Elwood Donathan, Peru; Dennis Barnhisell, Gilead. B Class - James
Frank, Bunker Hill Air Force Base; Rex Sims, Rochester, George Coe, Denver; C Class - Fred Foreman, Macy; Gerry Gwinn, Denver; Wesley Molencupp, Denver; Pie Race - Ed Mercer, Rochester; Bud Day, Macy; Scramble race - Lewis Cole, Denver; Floydy Stapleton, Peru.
The West Bend trophy went to Ronnie Vice, Macy.
Races will be conducted next Sunday at the Macy Raceway.
J.M. Jordon Res
The Sentinel, Oct. 3 1962
The Jordon family reunion was held Sunday at the home of Dr. J.M. Jordon, south of Plymouth.
Present were: Mr. & Mrs. Elgin F. Hilker, Mrs. Hilker is a daughter of Dr.Jordon, and Mr. & Mrs. Elmer Jordon, all of Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Willis E. Jordon, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Watson and Mr. & Mrs. Lonnie Watson, all of Goldsmith, Ind.
Also Mr. & Mrs. Lyndall Jordon and children, Jeffery and Dena, and Mr. & Mrs. M.E. Woodard, all of Kokomo; and Mrs. Leola Burger, Plymouth.
Dr. Jordon was the oldest member present, and Dena Lorie Jordon, four months, the youngest.
The next reunion will be held the last Sunday of Oct. (Not readable) - - - -.
SHORE CLOTHING CO
Pur by Brunt’s
The Sentinel, Oct. 5 1962
The sale of the Shore Clothing company at 718 Main street was announced today by Mrs. Reba L. Shore, owner,
The men’s wear business, which has been in operation here for 50 years, was purchased by Richard Brunt and R. James Leech of Marion. They presently operate four men’s stores under the name of Brunt’s, two located in Marion, one in Lebanon and another in Gas City. The new owners have taken possession and closed the store for inventory. They said that their plans for the business would be announced next week.
Mrs. Shore, who resides at 525 Pontiac street, retains ownership of the buildng.
The Shore men’s store was founded here by the late A.B. Shore in 1912. He died last April 22 and his widow has been operating the business since that time.
Removal of the Shore name from the Rochester business
district with this sale ends a local merchandising history that goes back to 1833.
It was in that year that Michael Shore emigrated from Virginia to establish a trading post on the newly-built Michigan road (now U.S. 31)_ His store was bult just south of the present Marshall-Fulton county line.
At the time there were but three white families living on the trail between the small trading post of Plymouth and Rochester.
The first Shore in Rochester was Talbert, son of Michael who opened a grocery here about 1861. His son, Perry M. Shore, started a general store and grocery here in 1875 and two years later erected the Shore building in the 500 block of Main street. He continued in business until 1905 when he retired.
A.B. Shore, son of Perry, opened a clothing store in the same block in 1912 and moved into the newly-built structure at 718 Main street in 1922. He was active in the business throughout the ensing 50 years.
Earl Shore, brother of A.B., took over the operation of his father’s grocery and general store in 1905. He now is retired and in ill health. The store was closed several years ago by Earl’s successor and son-in-law, Ned Hart.
FOREST FARMS PROD
Pur Crystal Dairy Prod
The Sentinel, Nov. 2, 1962
Forest Farms Prod, 168 Fulton avenue, has been sold to Crystal Dairy Products, Inc., it was announced today by Mrs. Arabelle V. Moore, owner, and widow of the firm’s founder, Robert P. Moore.
The transaction became effective Thursday and includes the buildings and land at the Fulton avenue address.
Forest Farms, established by the late Mr. Moore here in 1946, is the state’s largest distributor of milk by-products for use as animal feel. It also deals in the wholesale and retail sale of fertilizers, seeds, weed sprays and other farm supplies and equipment.
Crystal Dairy, which operates a cheese processing plant in Rochester, has its home office in Watseka, Ill. The purchase of Forest Farms was concluded with Crystal’s president, Karl K. Kilsmeier, and secretary Miss Meta K. Kielsmeier. Both of Watseka.
Crystal Dairy products also operates processing plants in Watseka, and Momence, Ill., and Remington, Lebanon, Summervillle, Deep River, Peru and Flora, Ind..
Kielsmeier said that Forest Farms would continue to be operated
under the same name and that its business would be expanded into additional lines of animal feeds.
Bill Wisely, who has managed Crystal’s Rochester plant since it opened here in 1957, will move to Forest Farms as general manager. His replacement at the Crystal Dairy plant has not yet been announced. Wisely, RR 1, Rochester, has been with Crystal for 10 years and has a wide background of farm experience.
The present Forest Farms staff will be retained, Kleismeier added. They are Mrs. Lois Kennedy, secretary; Norman Cumberland, sales representative, and John Kuyn and Ronald Keele.
Mrs. Moore will continue to reside at her home on the north shore of Lake Manitou.
Forest Farms actually had its beginning when the late Mr. Moore erected and operated the Fulton County Community sale barn here. The business first was operated under that name, however, after he sold the Sale Barn to Carl Newcomb and opened Forest Farms Products on the site now occpied by Heislers Pharmay. It moved in 1949 to remodeled headquarters at Third and Main streets. The present location is the former Rochester Canning company plant. It was remodeled and occupied by Forest Farms in 1957.
Manitou Farm Equip
Pur William J. Kurz
The Sentinel, Nov. 5, 1962
The Manitou Farm Equipment company, 1419 Main street, has been purchased from Clay M. Smith by William J. Kurz of Rochester, it was nnounced today.
Kurz took possession of the business today. Manitou Farm Equipment is the authorized Ford tractor dealerhip for Fulton county and offers lines of associated farm equipment as well as complete service and parts.
Kurz, the new owner, has lived in Rochester the past six years and for that length of time was general manager of the Sealed Power Corporation plant here. He is a native of Chicago and has worked in a supervisory capacity in industry for the past 20 years.
His experience includes past employment with Minneapolis-Honeywell at Chicago, the Brunswick company, Muskegon, Mich.; Curtis Wright corporation and American Machine and Foundry, both at Buffalo, N.Y.
Kurz resides at 520 West Ninth stret, with his wife, Dorothy, and two children, Barbara and Junior of Rochester high school, and Keith, an eighth grade student.
Kurz said that the business would continue to be operated under the same name.
Smith will contine on part time basis with the firm as sales representative and also will be available to the new owner in an advisory capacity during the transition of ownership.
Smith founded Manitou Farm Equipment in 1951. He will continue to operate his own real estate business and Smith’s Sunoco ervice station at 16th and Main streets, managed by his son, Joe.
Smith has been associated with the Ford Motor company for 23 years, first working with its automotive division in Indianapolis in 1939. He also was employed by Ford’s aircraft division at Detroit and was Ford’s representative in the Air Force for three years, traveling the entire nation.
He was with Ford’s tractor division at Indianapolis seven years until opening the agency here.
Harold Remy Retires
The Sentinel, Nov. 27, 1962
Harold Remy, manager of the Kroger Supermarket in Rochester, will retire Saturday after 34 years’ service with the Kroger company - all in this city.
Remy joined Kroger as a clerk in July 1928, and six months later was named grocery manager. He has been store manager since 1952.
During his tenure, Kroger’s local grocery has been in three locations. From 1928-1945 it was situated in the building now ocupied by Zimmerman Pastries. For the next 12 years it was located in the IOOF building at Ninth and Main streets,moving to larger quarters a half block south last June.
A native of Ottowa, Ill, Remy grew up in Warsaw and graduated from high school there. Before coming to Rochester he was foreman and superintendment of the Milford Furniture Manufacturing company at Milford for seven years.
He is a member of the First Christian church, IOOF lodge, Kiwanis club and a former director of the Chamber of Commerce. He and his wife reside at 1023 Hill street. Remy has no immediate retirement plans. The Remys are parents of a daughter, Mrs. Paul (Wanda) Zimmer, Coldwater, Mich., and a son. Duane (Spud), Kokomo.
Remy’s successor as Kroger manager is Larry Robison, who
joined Kroger in February, 1961, as a trainee. He was named a co-manager last April and has been manager with Remy of the new local store since it opened last June.
A native of South Bend, Robison and his wife and family reside at 1501 Sunset drive.
CRYSTAL DAIRY PROD
James Vrana, Manager
The Sentinel, Dec. 1, 1962
The appointment of James Vrana as manager of Crystal Dairy Products” Rochester plant was announced Friday by Karl Kielsmeier, president. Vrana scceeds Bill Wisley, who has taken over managership of Forest Farms Products here, now a division of Crystal Dairy.
Crystal purchased its Rochester plant from Armour and Company five years ago. Eighty persons now are employed there in the manufacture of cheese products, and the processing of butter oil.
Vrana is 39 years of age and a native of Abbotsford, Wisc. He is a Navy veteran of Word War 11 and graduated from the University of Wisconsin in 1948.
He joined Armour that same year at Sullivan, Ill., and was transferred to the Rochester plant in 1949.
Vrana was supervisor of production of quality control for Armour and continued in that capacity after the purchase of the local plant by Crystal. For the past three months, he has supervised the newly installed Crystal operation that processes government-owned butter into butter oil. The product is exported through relief agencies to underdeveloped counries abroad.
A mmber of the St. John Lutheran curch here, Vrana has served it as chairman, secretary and finance board member.
He and his wife, the former June Barts of Rochester, reside a mile south of the city on U.S. 31 with their twin children, Jack and Jill, seven years of age.
SINCLAIR SVC STA
The Sentinel, Dec. 28, 1962
Ralph Shelton announced today that he has sold his interest in the Shelton and Gaumer Sinclair service station to partner Floyd Gaumer and will retire Saturday night.
Shelton, 66, has been in ownership of the service station at 401 Main street since 1935. Gaumer has been associated there for 24 years and as a part-owner since 1955. The station will be operated under the
name of Gaumer Sinclair and will employ Bernie Holloway as full-time assistant.
Shelton and Leo Long opened the station in 1935 on its present site as Long and Shelton Sinclair. Shelton purchased Long’s interest in 1939 and ran the firm under the name of Shelton Sinclair until Gaumer joined in ownership.
Shelton, a native of Fulton county, has lived in Rochester since 1934. He and his wife, Gail, reside at 420 Main street. A member of the IOOF lodge and American Legion, Shelkton said that he has no immediate plans for his retirement.
Bill Sowers Retires
The Sentinel, Dec. 28, 1962
Over 45 years service with Rochester utilities will come to an end Monday noon for Bill Sowers when he leaves his desk at the Northern Indiana Public Service Company office, 617 Main street to enter retirement.
It will be his last day on the job as local representative of NIPSCO, which provides gas service to over 1,600 customers in Rochester and surrounding area.
Sowers, who will be 67 years old Jan. 5, is making his third bid at retirement. Twice before he was prevailed upon by company officials to delay the move for a year. The third time was the charm, though, and there is to be no hitch now.
Although his official retirement date is not until Feb. 1, Bill will take his accumulated vacation time in advance and actually start leisure life Jan. 1.
He has no immediate plans except to spend the winter in Florida with his wife, the former Hope Bowell of Rochester. The Sowerses, who reside at 1230 Main street, have reason to go South. Their married daughter, Mrs. William (Mary Jo) Barnett, and three grandchildren live at North Palm Beach.
A son, Captain Richard Sowers, is with the U.S. Air Force as navigator aboard a B-58 Hustler bomber, stationed at Bunker Hill Air Force Base. He and his wife, the former Yvonne Watson of Rochester and three children now are in Montgomery, Ala, while Capt. Sowers attends an Air Force training school.
Sowers’ local utility experience spans four companies as well as over four decades. He entered the field Sept 7, 1917 with the Northern Indiana Power company. It was succeeded by the Public Service Company of Indiana. Later, the Indiana Gas and Water
company took over the gas phase of utility services and in 1951, the Northern Indiana Public Service Company assumed the gas utility.
Sowers has been local representative for the gas company since 1945. Although most of his experience has been in the service of natural gas for heating and domestic uss, he also has been involved at various times in his career with electricity, water and steam heat.
Indiana Gas and Water at one time served the town of Bourbon in Marshall county with water from its Rochester office. Northern Indiana Power company operated steam heating plant from boilers in the northern-most building on Madison street, nowused as warehouse by PSCI.
Over 100 customers were provided with steam heating from the central plant, including public buildings, particully all Main street businss houses and some residences. The service was disbanded during World War 11.
In 1945, when the gas utility moved to its present offices, there were 975 customers. Seventeen years later there are over 1,600 and the addition of more gas lines each year keeps edging that number upward.
A native of Chili, Sowers moved here when a fifth-grade student. He attended Rochester high school and several short courses at Purdue university. He has been active in the Kiwanis club, is a charter member of the American Legion and belongs to the Elks lodge.
His only time away from the utility field since 1917 came during World War 1, when he served with a signal corps detachment of the Third Division. Sgt. Sowers was on the front lines along the Marne River front for a year, overseas 18 months. - - - - -
SKOGMO DEPT STORE
The Sentinel, Feb. 8, 1963
The newest addition to Rochester’s shopping facilities, the Skogmo department store, will open for business Friday morning, Feb. 15, in the IOOF building at (NW Corner) Ninth and Main streets, formerly occupied by the Kroger store.
Lucein M. (Lu) Easterday of Nappanee, formerly a controller for a manufacturing firm and a public accountant, will manage the store with the assistance of his wife, Evelyn.
The Skogmo store will be part of a chain of 2,200 Gamble-Skogmo stores located from Ohio westward to North and South Dakota. The Gamble stores are the hardware and appliance portions
of the corporation while the Skogmo stores sell the firm’s softlines.
Remodeling of the interior of the new store’s quarters here have been going on for several weeks and display counters now are being arranged and merchandise being placed.
The store will carry ready-to-wear garments for the entire family, yard goods, sewing and household articles and accessories and shoes. There will be - special departments for infants’ and children’s clothes ad for men’s and boy’s clothng.
Among the national lines of merchandise to be seen will be Blue Bell sportswear, E-Z children’s wear, Cannon sheets and bedding, B.V.D. Men’s and boy’s clothing and Beacon blankets. In addition, the store will feature its own private brands, including Red Hammer work clothes, Scott Craig men’s and boy’s wear and Solita hosiery.
Skogmo stores in Indiana are at Walkerton, Warren, Butler and Bremen. All are locally owned. There are 30 Skogmo stores in Michigan.
Easterday has been controller of the Nappanee Milling company for the last 2-1/2 years. Before that, he was in the public accounting field in Kokomo and Kiwanis clubs lieutenant governor of the fifth district. He is a member of the Methodist church, the Masons, Scottish Rite, Elks and Kiwanis club.
Started as Lincoln
The Sentinel, Feb. 20, 1963
(Editor’s Note. The following article details the history behind the naming f the town of Macy. It was written by Wayne Guthrie of the Indianapolis News and appeared in his daily column, “Ringside in Hoosierland.”)
If the founders of Macy had had their way, that Miami County town would be known as Lincoln today.
That’s the way it started and continued for several years.. Then its inhabitants came face to face with circumstances that made a change in name not only advisable but practically necessary.
In June, 1860, George and Anderson Wilkinson laid out the village in 20 lots practically in the center of the county’s extreme northwest township - Allen - and named the place Lincoln.
As often is the case, history fails to reveal their reason for picking that name. Could it be they were honoring Abraham Lincoln? Sounds plausible. Although he was not president yet, nevertheless his name was much in the public eye. That was the year he, as the Republican standard bearer, was elected to his first term as president.
All went well for some time. Apparently the founders chose well when they pickd that site because the hamlet grew rapidly. In fact, in 1869 80 lots were added.
Then events that led to the present name began to happen. First, 1869 saw removal to Lincoln of the post office that had had a sporadic existence at Five Corners. It had been established in 1855 and had several discontinuances and revivals.
The post office brought a new problem to Lincoln. There already was a Lincoln post office - established in 1855 - in adjoining Cass County. Think of the mail confusion that would result from two Lincolns in the same state.
Hence the Miami County Lincoln folks adopted for their office the name of Allen, same as their township.
Incidentally, the Cass County Lincoln was laid out in the early 1850s. However, it was not named for Abraham Lincoln but, instead, for Theodore Lincoln, pioneer surveyor who platted that town for its original proprietors, Williamson Wright and Andrew Howard.
Meanwhile the Miami County town of Lincoln retained the name. But, eventually, confusion in shipping and deliveries prompted the folks to seek another. They picked Macy in honor of David Macy, president of the Indianapolis, Peru & Chicago Railroad passing through the village. It now is a branch of the New York Central.
Then, for a time, the post office was known as Allen and the town as Macy. But uniformity came when the post office’s name was changed from Allen to May.
Five Corners never was platted. Its name was derived from the fact that roads led out from it in five directions.
One history explains it once gave promise of a bright future but that those anticipations were checked efectively by the coming of the railroad to what is now Macy and the latter’s growth.
It also adds that after the postoffice was moved from Five Corners and trade was divered to the railroad town of Lincoln now Macy, about all that soon remained of Five Points was a church and a few dwellings.
Five Corners does not appear on the current state highway map nor that of Miami County contained in an 1876 Indiana atlas. However, both Lincolns - Cass and Miami Counties - appear on the latter map while current maps show Macy and the Cass County Lincoln.
The Sentinel, March. 11, 1963
The latest addition to Rochester’s retail shopping district, the handsome new Mode O’Day store, will be unveiled Friday at 718 Main street and conduct its grand opening sale Friday and Saturday.
The store is owned and will be operated by Mrs. Robert (Carolyn) Rhodes, RR 6, Rochester, a native of this city and a resident of Fulton county all her life. She and her husband, who is employed as electrician with McMahan Constrction company, are the parents of three children.
Mode O’Day is located in the quarters formerly occupied by the A.B. Shore clothng compny. The building has been extensively remodeled for the new operation. An entirely new front, featuring ceramic tile facia and new display windows, has been installed. The interior has been completely redecorated, new lighting and store fixtures ercted, new tile floor laid and the entire area readied for air conditioning,
During the grand opening day, every woman visitor in the store will be presented with an orchid and there also will be favors for children.
Mode O’Day features styles in women’s clothing designed and manufacturd exclusively by Mode O’Day for its 700 stores from coast to coast, Hawaii and Alaska. The Rochester operation is the fifth to be opened in Indiana.
Each store recceives weekly shipments of merchandise from Mode O’Day’s nine modern plants throughout the country.
The store handles new fashions in junior, misses and half-sizes at low prices. Also included in the merchandise line are nurses and work uniforms, skirts, blouses, lingerie, costume jewelry and handbags.
The fashions featured in the Mode O’Day line are California-designed. The company has gathered a national reputation for quality and top value.
TALMA HIGH SCHOOL
Will Close Next Sept.
The Sentinel, March. 13, 1963
Talma high school will go out of existence next September.
What has been in the discussion stage for some time became fact Friday when Newcastle Township (Trustee) George Craig and his advisory board of Earl Zent, Jim Rogers and Alvin Finney signed a contract with the Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation to transfer
Talma high school pupils to the Corporation’s schools at Mentone and Akron. Talma will continue to operate classes at its building in grades one through eight.
The contract is for five years and will take effect with the beginning of the 1963-64 school term. It is renewable at the end of the five-year period at the option of either of the parties.- - - - -
Nwcastle township expects to have about 50 high school pupils next school term. - - - - -
ROCH HIGH SCHOOL
Site Surveying Begins
The Sentinel, March. 14, 1963
Surveying of the site for Rochester’s new community high school building was begun Wednesday by architects from the firm of Everett L. Brown, Indianapols, which will plan the structure.
The 45-1/2 acre tract is situated in the southwest corner of the city, bounded on the north by City Park and on the south by Ind. 14.
- - - - - -
AUBBEE AND CULVER
The Sentinel, March. 14, 1963
High schools at Leiters Ford of Fulton county and Culver of Marshall county will be consolidated into one operation at Culver starting with the 1964-65 school term, the Culver Community Schools board of trustees has decided.
Aubbeenaubbee township high school at Leiters Ford will continue in operation for one more term - 1963-64 - then high school pupils from that township will join those from North Bend township of Starke county and Union township (Culver) of Marshall county in the Culver building. - - - - -
FULTON CO HIST SOC
The Sentinel, March. 20, 1963
Formal organization of a Fulton County Histoical Society was underway today, leading within another month to election of Society officers, adoption of a cnstitution for the group’s opration and approval of a program of action. - - - - -
The Sentinel, April 19, 1963
Morris Grocery, the last of Rochester’s small downtown food stores, is going out of business - the victim of supermarket competition and the changed buying habits of the public.
Don King, owner of the grocery, said this morning that he intends to have the closing-out sale completed by May 30.
The move apparently brings to an end almost 100 years’ occupancy of the 723 Main street site by a grocery store. The firm’s present name stems from a former owner, the late Arley Morris. He operated the business for 37 years until his death in 1955. King succeeded to ownership at that time, having been with the business from 1948.
Prior to Morris, others had operated a grocery in the same location, among them Charles Kilmer, P.D. Bennett and Kline Shore.
King had been employed at Wynn’s Grocery, now Day’s Food Market, for 10 years before joining the Morris firm. He said that he has no immediate plans. Don O’Dell, meat manager, will begin work Monday in the meat department at Owen’s Supermarket. Other store employees are Bill and Cora King and Erma O’Dell.
King said that the store has been unable to compete in the food price market here and that its lack of parking facilities and its limited mrchandise, “has made our type of small downtown store obsolete.”
FULTON CO HIST SOC
The Sentinel, May 1, 1963
The Fulton County Historical Society was an established fact today, following a meeting Tuesday night in the Edison room attended by 31 persons.
At that meeting, a constitution for the Society was adopted, 22 persons paid $2yearly dues as the Society’s first charter members and four ofiers were elected to conduct Society activities.
It is the first such historical group to be formed here on a coumty-wide basis.
Elected president was Jack K. Overmyer, editor and publisher of The Sentinel, vice-president was Waldo Adams, Rochester high school teacher; secretary is Mrs. Shirley Holmes, high school teacher, and treasurer is Theodore Lewis of Akron, distributor of paint products.
Tuesday’s meeting was conducted by members of an executive
committee that was formd a month ago to plan an orderly organization
of the Society. Members of that committee were Overmyer, chairman, Mrs. Lamoin Hand, secretary, Adams, Mrs. Ray Engle, Mrs. Elmer Overmyer, Mrs. Holmes, Lewis, Robert Kent and Mrs. Barbara Allen.
According to the constitution Tuesday, the Society’s purposes are “to collect and prserve the materials of our county’s history, to secure and document the rcollections of those having taken part in the growth of the county, to see that public records and archival materials are properly cared for, to mark historical sites within the county, to receive bequests to further the work of the Society, and to kindle interest and foster pride in the historic achievements in Fulton county.
The Constituton also opens Society membership to anyone interested, sets dues at $2 per year payable in advance each May 1, forbids assessment of members without majority approval and provides for annual meeting with election of officers each April. Committees for Society projects are to be appointed by the president.
Each person at the meeting was asked to denote the particular area of local history in which he is interested. Officers plan to place each membe on a committee of personal interest.
Society officers are expected soon to appoint committees for Society projects and to plan for the Society’s first general meeting, which are to be held on a quarterly basis.
The officers will have as a guide the recmmendations for projects presented Tuesday by the executive committee. The following committees were suggested as being feasible for the Society’s first months of activity.
Indian life and artifacts, with location of important sites and display of collections; old mills, resulting in display of location map; documents and old pictures, with collection for public use; Civil War, documenting county’s part in the conflict; historical sites, with placing of markers throughout county; tape recording, obtaining personal reminiscenses of older residents on magnetic tape for future use by historians; education, with distribution of local historical subjects to county school children; genealogy, researching old cemetry markers; antiques, for receipt of valuable items; publications and research.
The committee rcommended that no deadlines be placed upon the work of the committees and that each report its results to Society officers, who would determine means of public use of the data.
Ultimate aim of the society was set as establishment of a county historical museum. It was recommended, however, that this project not be started until the Society was strong enough to make such a
museum practical and permanent.
Charter memberships still are available at the $2 annual fee.
DON’S SHOE CARE
Opened by Bennett
The Sentinel, May 2, 1963
Donald Bennett, Rochester’s newest businessman, is making his first start in the world of “own your own business” with his Don’s Shoe Care shop at 113 East Seventh street.
The 33-year-old native of near Atwood opend his shoe repair business last week in the quarters formerly occupied by Foley’s jewelers.
Sewing machine repair, scissors sharpening and sale oif shoe polish, shoe laces and related items also are parts of Bennett’s business services.
Formerly a salesman for Smith-Alsop paints, Bennett lives southwest of Warsaw in Kosciusko county with his wife, Carolyn, and four children - Stephen, 12; Michael, 9; Don, 2-1/2; and Ellen Star, 1. They plan to move to Rochester soon.
Green Belt Chem Co
East of Fulton
The Sentinel, May 7, 1963
Ground has been broken for a new chemical fertilizer manufacturing plant on a 4-1/2 acre site a half-mile east of Fulton, along the west side of the Chesapeake and Oho railroad tracks.
The Green Belt Chemical Co, with headquarters in St. Paris, O., is constructing the plant, with expectations of opening it this fall.
It will employ about eight men during normal production periods and up to 15 in the peak months of March, April and May. Most of the employees will be hired locally.
A 140 by 114-foot steel and wood building for manufacturing and storage will be constructed at the south edge of the site, close to a C&O spur line that is to be extended to the plant. Three big storage tanks for liquid ammonia and nirogen will be installed, also.
Green Belt now has plants at St. Paris, Kenton, New Bremen and South Solin, O., and at Bryant, Fairmount and Lynn, Ind.
The plant will manufacture ammoniated fertilizer from liquid nitrogen, phosphate and potash. The potash will be delivered on the spur line from Canada and New Mexico and the nirogen soliution and sulphuric acid from various points.
Retail sales will be handled from the plant by two salesmen within a radius of some 40 miles of the site. Sales will be in both bulk and bag with nitrogen applicators and bulk spreaders available, too.
William Leonhard, who has been a sales representative in this
area for chemical fertilizer firms for some 10 years, will be in charge of Green Belt’s Fulton plant. He has been with Green Belt 3-1/2 years.
Now a resident of Portland, Ind., Leonhard expects to move soon to the Fulton area with his wife, Martha, and 18-year-old daughter, Shirley.
He said the foundation for the manufacturing and storage building will be laid shortly and that the structure itself will begin to take shape next month.
Leonhard is working with Bob Leavell, owner of the Fulton Mill, who has been a dealer and has provided warehouse facilities for Green Belt for three years. Bob’s brother, Howard, also is a dealer for the firm at Tiosa.
Dan Leininger & Sons
The Sentinel, May 8, 1963
STATEMENTS BY THE OWNERS
After 81 years this store is quitting business forever due to the recent illness of the present owners, we cannot carry on.
Of course, we could have sold our store to a stock buyer, but he would bring in a lot of inferior goods and sell it as ours. We would have none of that, we are going to sell-out direct to the public. The people made this store and are entitled to its benefits.
We ask all our friends and customers to come in and buy all you need - - - and buy with confidence.
DAN LEININGER & SONS
The Sentinel, May 9, 1963
The gray Bookmobile with brightly colored trim that operates as part of the Rochester-Fulton county library, is seen on many a country road 11 months of the year. Mrs. Ann Zartman and Mrs. Betty Ewen make up the Bookmobile staff.
Following a prearranged schedule the Bookmobile makes one stop every four weeks at schools at Talma, Richland Center, North Caston, and Aubbeenaubbee Township stops for the adult patrons are made at the Aubbeenaubbee school building and the Delong store in Aubbeenaubbee township; at the D.T. Rose farm and the Tiosa store in Richland township, and at the Grass Creek EUB church in Wayne
township. Liberty township is served by the Fulton branch library.
This summer, however, a stop will be added at Nyona Lake. Much interest in Bookmobile service has been shown by people in that area. If this proves successful during the summer months, the Bookmobile will continue Nyona Lake service during the winter for the adult readers.
The Bookmobile staff works from a room in the basement of the main library. Here is kept the Bookmobile’s own supply of books, duplicates of many in the library collection. Keeping in mind the interests and needs of the patrons to be reached each run, the staff stocks the Bookmobile from the county collection.
Any book housed in the main library is available to the Bookmobile patron, as are the resources of the State Library in Indianapolis. The Bookmobile staff will deliver the desired book on the next scheduled stop.
Individual attention is given to those patrons who request it. Depending on their knowledge of an individual’s reading intrest, selections are made from the Bookmobile collection by the staff and delivered to the patron at a sheduled stop.
Each registered patron of the Bookmobile receives a printed schedule of Bookmobile stops through the mail each September. The schedule is changed again in January and June and the patrons are again given a printed schedule showing these changes. Schedules are published each week in The Sentinel, also.
The four county schools are serviced by the Bookmoble once every four weeks. Given reading lists submitted by English teachers at each school, the staff then fills out the supply to take to each particular school. In addition to these books for required reading, the Bookmobile also is stocked with all types of books for supplemental reading by the students.
Another service offered students is that of furnshing reference material. The student places a request for information for the preparation of term papers and reports on specific subjects; the staff finds the books in the county collection with the necessary information, and returns them to the student the next month.
The Bookmobile does not operate during August. This time is spent by the staff in the county room of the main library to mend the books and sort the collection. Also,, the time is needed for repairs to the Bookmobile. Preparations are made for the new school year since school material is not carried on the Bookmobile during the summer months.
The Library hopes to increase service offered to the county by
the Bookmobile; the staff is anxious to promote service to the adult reader. Anyone in the county who would like Bookmobile service and can get enough other people interested in their community should let this interest be known to the Bookmobile staff.
The Sentinel, May 13, 1963
One of the last general stores in Fulton county, the Overmyer store in Leiters Ford, will be closed at the end of a going-out-of-business sale that began today, owner Paul (Red) Davidson announced.
Leiters Ford landmark for 65 years, the store was opened by Dr. and Mrs. B.F. Overmyer, pioneer residents of the Aubbeenaubbee township community, in 1898.
Davidson, a nephew of the Overmyers, became a partner in the business in 1946 and sole owner in 1954.
In April of 1961, Davidson was appointed acting postmaster of Leiters Ford and his wife, Rosemary, operated the store. Recently, Davidson was nominated by President Kennedy as permanent postmaster.
Davidson said his duties in the Post Office, requiring him to be absent from the store, prompted the decision to close the store.
He said the store’s quarters 40 by 90 feet, will be for rent or lease.
Si Zentner Band
The Sentinel, May 27, 1963
The Si Zentner orchestra, newest of the “big name” bands and one of the most successful in the record-selling business, will play a one-night stand at the Colonial hotel ballroom Friday, June 7, from 8 p.m., to midnight.
The dance is being unerwritten by interested local men and the Chamber of Commerce as a benefit for the Rochester high school band. Proceeds of the dance above expenses will go to the RHS band fund.
Zentner was chosen as the top recording band of the nation the past two years and the group also won the “Grammy Award” for big-band excellence in 1962.
The band played last week for the Tech high school prom in Indianapolis.
L.F. LBR YARD
Bldg Torn Down
The Sentinel, June 7, 1963
Willis Cripe, owner of the Leiters Ford Elevator and Lumber yard, announced that he will tear down the old lumber yard building Saturday.
Cripe said that the 200-by-200 foot frame building would be bulldozed down and then burned. This is being done to enlarge the company’s service area.
The company moved to its new location - the north side of the Erie-Lackawanna railroad tracks - last year. The old yard was on the south side of the tracks.
The old building is no longer needed and is beond repair, Cripe said.
Aubb Twp Strawberry Fest.
The Sentinel, June 18, 1963
Spacemen may orbit, racial strife may explode and taxes may be constitutional or not, but once a year at Leiters Ford, all thoughts turn to just one big event - the Aubbeenaubbee Township Strawberry Festival.
That’s when a normaly quiet and sedate community of several hundred residents suddenly burgeons into a mecca for thousands of persons looking for - and finding - fun, food, entertainment, fellowship and strawberries in every size and shape imaginable.
This year’s Strawberry Festival - the 10th annual - will be Thursday and officials quite frankly are wondering just how many persons will show up at the school athletic field where the Festival takes place.
They were flabbergasted two years ago when 3,500 men, women and children attended. They were astounded last year at the turnout of 4,500.
The Festival will begin officialy at 5 p.m. when the food stands open, geared to serve quickly and efficiently as many persons as take advantage of this portion of the event. They’ll stay open as long as the plentiful supply of food lasts.
Games and rides also will go into operation at 5 o’clock at the field and will hold forth until the close of the Festival.
The Festival parade is the biggest annual event of its kind in Fulton county. It will begin at 7:30 p.m. and will include at least 20 units. It will be both fun and profitable for four of the participants, for
prizes of $50, $25, $15 and $10 for first through fourth place floats will be awarded.
The parade will form at the Leiters Ford Methodist church west of the town and meander through the community to the athletic field.
The formal program will begin shortly after the parade has reached the field - probably about 8:30 p.m. - and will include entertainment, awarding of prizes and crowning of the 1963 Queen.
Eight Aubbeenaubbee township girls have been campaigning for enough one-cent votes to qualify as successor to Melinda Jones, the 1962 Queen. The candidates are Barbara Hunneshagen, Christine Nelson, Ursula Szponar, Judy Roe, Nancy Crill, Dani Masters, Jeanie Cripe and Sandy Bubp.
An added highlight in the crowning of the Queen will be the appearance of Julia Jane Flaningan of Lebanon, “Miss Indiana” of 1962. She will present the crown to the Festival’s new Queen.
Also participating in the program will be the Manitous and the pep band from Rochester high school; two numbers by students of the Pamela and Louise dance studio of Rochester; the Outlanders, a musical combo composed of Aubbee and Kewanna youth; Cindy Teel, Rochester, and Carol Overmyer, Culver, vocal solos; Randy Brugh, Rochester, trumpet solo, and the Argos drill team.
James Zimmerman of Rochester will be master of ceremonies.
Another feature of the Festival will be square dancing in the calling and music of Dewey Anderson of Knox in the school gymnasium. Dancing will begin abot 9 p.m.
The Fulton County Amateur Radio club will have a booth at the Festival at which persons can send messages to any spot in the U.S. and its possession free of charge. The public also will be able to hear and see the messages being handled.
The purpose of the Festival is two-fold: To raise funds for equipping the Aubbeenaubbee township volunter fire department and to unite residents of the township in a common activity. Both purposes have been fulfilled in each of the previous nine Festivals.
This year, officials hope to accumulate enough money to purchase an ambulance for the fire department. Emergency equipment, such as a resuscitator, has been purchased in the past. Firemen also hope to be able to buy a portable water pump for use on grass fires.
The Sentinel, June 18, 1963
Editor’s Note: Floyd (Jack) Mattice was a young man who lived at Lake Manitou in 1913 when the great flood smashed into Peru. He played a leading part in the rescue of hundrds of Peruvians by Rochester residents. He now resides at 1101 Madison street. Here is another in The Sentinel’s series of first-hand accounts of the flood that happened 50 years ago.
BY FLOYD (JACK) MATTICE
The Wabash river was over its banks at Wabash, Peru and Logansport in March, 1913. The mayor of Peru called Omar B. Smith, Mayor of Rochester, asking for boats and men to handle them. The mayor put me in charge.
All of Rochester’s drays were pressed into service and a couple boxcar loads of row boats were hauled in from the lake. Men were recruited to man them. Charles Knight, et al.
I decided to take my canoe, figuring a canoe could be better handled in the swift current. Not having time to secure an experienced canoist, I met up with Maurice C. Shelton, of the Progress Wholesale grocery. Maurice had never been in a canoe before, but he paddled. I coached him on what things not to do and we got along fine.
The Lake Erie pushed the cars containing the boats down through Hiner’s cut and to the water’s edge near the then Peru Canning company plant. Our orders were to report to the sheriff of Miami county at the courthouse, who deputized each of us as deputy sheriffs. It said so right on a shipping tag tied into our coat lapels.
In East Peru that afternoon and night water was up to the porch roofs and the residents were in the second stories of their homes. Forty of 50 people were taken out of second story windows and transported to the courthouse before dark.
By that time most of the row boats, also the motor launch from Winona Lake, were swamped and out of commission. Whenever any craft came broadside against a pole or building, the upstairs side went down, and water poured in over that side.
Maurice and I continued all that night, bringing people from their homes to the court house. Coming in Sixth street, or whatever street it was with a street car line, the water was up to withn about three feet of the trolley wire and supporting cables. We became expert in ducking in under those wires.
Though it was dark, lights in various houses shining out across the water enabled us to make our way.
By daybreak the next day, orders were not to bring any more people to the courthouse. By that time the county building was a mess. Sewers were stopped up, there was no water available for any purpose, and the officials feared an outbrak of disease.
A merchant policeman who lived in a brick house next door to the Wallace theatre hailed us that morning and asked if we were hungry. That we were, and we landed in his kitchen. His lower floor was above water, he had a fire in his kitchen stove, had a water well and a goodly supply of food.
Maurice and I enjoyed ham and eggs. etc., then acquiring two large milk cans, filled them with water from this officer’s well and began touring the city, dishing out about a gallon of water to each family. Hardly anyone could reach his pump and all were very thirsty. We spent most all day delivering water.
Then we had a happy thought. Across the street from the courthouse was the Mercer bakery. Paddling down the alley, we found the double back doors of the bake shop unlocked. Pushing them open, we paddled inside and, making a number of trips, we hauled cases of eggs, big boxes of bread, gallons of milk, pounds of butter, plus pies and cakes to the courthouse.
There was a gas plate in the basement and soon, those residing there were having eggs, toast and coffee.
Many times during that first afternoon we passed along the side of Ben Wallace’s home. We saw him pacing up and down on his porch. The next day while we were hauling drinking water, Mr. Wallace hailed us. We paddled over his iron fence and up alongside his porch.
He said, “I see you can make headway against the current and go most everywhere in your canoe. I am woried about conditions up at the winter quarters. No telephone, no word from there. I see you are busy but, if and when you have time, wonder if you would go up and bring me some word.”
Later in the day we did go up to the circus winter quarters, found everything in good shape and so reported to Mr. Wallace.
Ben Wallace had a nephew, Bernie, who sold tickets in the ticket wagon of the circus. He had the reputation of being the world’s fastst ticket seller. The water in the street in front of the courthouse was only about two feet deep and there, right smack in the middle of the street, stood Bernie’s stripped down sports car, but no sign of the owner.
One lesson learned at Peru that time was that row boats are not of much use when there is a strong current and the men found it most
difficult to row up stream against the current.
In our canoe we had no difficulty with the current. If it was a bit strong, we would get over between the trees and fence lines where the current was not so swift. A row boat could not be operated there because there was not sufficient room to swing the oars.
A canoe, in swift or in still water, can go places where a row boat cannot.
PERU THANKS ROCH
For Help During Flood
The Sentinel, June 19, 1963
Editor’s Note: In his second article about activities related to the great Peru Flood of 1913, Hugh A. Barnhart of Lake Manitoiu, former editor and publisher of The Rochester Sentinel, gives a first-hand account of “Peru Day” in Rochester. Mr. Barnhart now is president of The Sentinl Corporation.
BY HUGH A. BARNHART
The disastrous flood at Peru on March 24-28, 1913, had faded into the background by the following spring but not in the minds of those persons in Peru who had been rescued, taken into Rochester homes, or fed and cared for while trapped in their own houses.
The Peru Newspapers, when they resumed publication, were loud in their praise of the untiring efforts of Rochester citizens for their organization and efficiency in doing more than was expected of human beings.
The Peru press gave the lion’s share of the credit for saving lives to Rochester men and women. They carried stories about how more than two freight cars, loaded with food, water, provisions, blankets and medical supplies sent from here were received by the stricken city. More than 60 boats from Lake Manitou, including launches, row boats and canoes, all manned by local men, did heroic work for four days up and down the flooded streets. Charles and “Tid” Knight, the only men to row across the Wabash river during the crest of the flood, were recommended for Carnegie medals for heroism.
Yes, Rochester citizenry stood high in the hearts and minds of their neighboring population. And this change took place followed half a century of ill feeling between the two cities.
No, all this was not forgotten by the people along the Wabash and from them came a suggestion that Rochester hold a “Peru Day” so they could come here and express their appreciation in person.
A committee of Peru’s leading citizens came to Rochester early in the month and after a lengthy meeting with Rochester officials and
businessmen, the day was set for June 17. The program was worked out and an announcement followed that the “Wedding of the Two Cities” would take place with a big celebration. It occurred 50 years ago Monday. The committees were appointed whose members estimated there might be 8,000 or 10,000 people in town for the big celebration. When the last event was over iit was agreed by those in charge that Rochester entertained over 20,000 visitors throughout the day and night.
Those who did not bring their own picnic lunches were fed in the churches, restaurants, hotels and at Lake Manitou eating places.
The Sentinel and the Republican, in reporting the events, pointed with pride to the fact that no accidents were reported; there were two cases of heat prostration and only two arrests. It also was mentioned there were nmerous fights but it was stated these all occrred among visitors.
The crowd began pouring into town early, coming by horse and buggy, wagons, bicycles, automobiles and on foot. When the first of five special trains arrived from Peru over the Lake Erie & Western RR they found the town alread crowded. A Peru automobile caravan that ended up with more than 300 cars came by way of Mexico, Denver, Perrysburg and Deedsville, picking up additional auto loads from Macy, Wagoners Station and Green Oak on the way.
By actual count, the trains brought 6,000 Peru citizens while no count could be obtained of those finding other means of transportation.
People were here also from South Bend, Warsaw, Plymouth, Huntington, Kokomo, Akron, Kewanna, Fulton and all county communities.
At 10 a.m. more than 300 automobiles formed a parade up and down Main street, which was gaily decorated for the big occasion. Motion pictures were taken of this colorful spectacle and all events following. This was the start of a big all-day program.
The main parade of the day, general in character, started at 11 o’clock. The marchers, most of them on foot, assembled in four divisions on streets east of Main. The grand marshalls were Hugh McCaffrey, Peru, and Jack Chamberlain, Rochester.
Six bamds played lively marching tunes for the walkers. The organizations were: Third Regiment band, Peru; Citizems band. Rochester; Manitou band, Rochester; Brown Commercial Car band, Peru; Akron band; J. Ross Woodrings Renowned Gazook band. The newspapers all praised the Gazooks, with their unusual bright costumes, their hot-time music and their marching formations. Tjere were ,more than 1,000 persons in the parade.
All officials of both cities and counties were prominent in the parade, as were visiting dignitaries. Floats were numerous while many Peru citizens carried signs expressing appreciation for the help given them during the flood. A boy held high a large Hatchet, uniquely painted and decorated with ribbons, plus a sign which read “This is The Hatchet We Bury Today.”
The gigantic crowd next gathered around a stand in the Courthouse yard to hear Mayor Omar B. Smith welcome all the visitors here for the celebration. He ended by presenting the keys of the city to Mayor Kreutzer of Peru and it was gallantly accepted. The Rev. Harry Nyce made the main address of the day and spoke at some length covering the events of the flood and thanking the people who helped them through the disaster. Other officials spoke briefly. The orators had difficulty being hard above the din (loud speaker systems had not been dreamed of in 1913).
Visitors and local persons alike then began to look skyward for the big thrill of the day. At 2:10 p.m. aviator Beech took his bi-plane aloft from a field east of the city (where Manitou Heights is now located).
The newspapers stated he circled the field five times but left the great majority of people greatly disappointed in that he did not fly over the city as advertised. Later, his manager explained that he forbid the city flight as there would be no landing place for the plane if something went wrong while it was over the buildings.
However, all ended well. By 4 p.m., the air was perfectly still and Beech proceeded to pilot his plane over the center of town and finished his flight by a daredevil circle of the Courthouse tower.
Sometime durng the afternoon, and it escaped general attention but I aw it; delegations from Rochester and Peru gathered on the Courthouse lawn bearing the big hatchet. With due ceremony and apropriate words, a hole was dug and the hatchet was buried - with the handle sticking out of the ground.
The long program came to an official end with a gigantic and spectacular fireworks display put on by a Chicago firm. It started off with a flaming message going aloft reading “Welcome Peru.” Other numbers featured the flood and praised the rescuers. It was a fitting finish to a day of good fellowship and one which cemented a friendly spirit between peoples that has not changed.
Throughout the day, visitors flocked to Lake Manitou and the roads were jammed with hacks, autos, buggies and pedestrians.
It was claimed that over 8,000 persons were on shore and on the waters. Every row boat was rented and in use all day and far into the
night, many occupied by persons who knew little about handling them. As a result, the gasoline launcher which plied the lake with sightseers had considerable difficulty getting about without running down amateur boatmen. (Outboard motors and speed boats were yet to be develped) The hotels and eating places were jammed and most of them ended the, “eaten out of house and home.”
The newspaper recorded that several people fell into the lake during the afternoon. At one place, two men and two women shoved off with all of them in the back end of the rowboat. They becakme panic stricken and one man jumped out and found he could not swim. Tom Hoover was standing on shore when this happened. He jumped into the lake and pulled the man out. Meanwhile, a woman had fallen in and gone down once. Hoover swam out, caught her by her waist and brought her in.
At another landing a woman, weighing 250 pounds, missed the launch on stepping off the pier. It took four men to haul her out of six feet of water.
Yes, it was a big occasion and not half the story has been told. It was a day of fun and celebration and everyone made the most of the occasion. It was a day long to be remembered.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, June 22, 1963
The annual Metzger family reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park. After the carry-in dinner a business meeting was held.
Officers for 1964 are Mrs. Demetres Metzger, Columbia City, president; and Mrs. William Metzger, South Bend, secretary-treasurer. The 1964 reunion will be held at the same place on the third Sunday in June.
Those present were: Mrs. Ruth Hughs and daughter and family and Mr. & Mrs. William Metzger and family all of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Leo Milkey and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Bruegel, Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Lafe Smith, Huntertown; Mr. & Mrs. Homer Graffis and son, North Manchester; Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Graffis, Mrs. Lorene Fore and Mrs. Wilma Allred and children, all of Rochester; Mrs. Demetres Metzger, Columbia City; Mrs. Mabel Gifford, Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Warren Gillespie, Mr. & Mrs. Grover Metzger and Mr. & Mrs. David W. Metzger, all of Kewanna; and Mr. & Mrs. Don Metzger, Goshen.
34th Reun Set
The Sentinel, July 8, 1963
Alumni of the former Rochester Normal university and Rochester college will meet for their 34th annual reunion Sunday, July 14, at 12:30 p.m. in the clubhouse of the Fulton County Conservation club on the Tippecanoe river, three miles northwest of Rochester.
The college operated in Rochester for 17 years, from 1895 to 1912. Any person who ever attended the institution is welcome to the reunion. Reservations should be called to Dow Haimbaugh, president of the RNU Alumni Association or Mrs. Arthur Shore, secretary-treasurer.
Rochester Normal was founded in 1895 by Professor W.H. Banta and Professor George Suman. The school was made possible through the efforts of Dr. W.S. Shafer of Rochester, who bought a plot of ground in southeast Rochester from Horace Mackey. He divided the ground into lots, sold them to local residents and thus financed construction of the building housing the college.
The structure was three stories of brick and stone with basement. On the first floor was a chapel, library, ofice and one recitation room. On the second floor were four recitation rooms and on the top floor was the busness department and science room.
The school first was known as Rochester Normal university and then became known as Rochester college. At the beginning it was a small affair of only five teachers and a handful of pupils. It grew rapidly, however, until it became an accredited high school and later a college known in every state. Its credits were accepted wherever presented by graduates.
Most of the teachers were graduates of the University of Chicago and among the best then in the profession.
The college building was located at the south end of College avenue, at 18th street. Near the school was a medium-sized house used as a home for students.
Most of the pupils boarded in Rochester and paid the enormous sum of $2.50 per week for room and meals. Some students boarded themselves for much less.
At one time the college had 200 paying students. Prospects for the future seemed bright until the building of the new Rochester city and township high school. This eliminated support of the college by township funds, so the college had to close its doors in the summer of 1912. The building later was dismantled.
Records of all college students, along with their grades, can be
found at the Rochester library for the years 1899-1912.
The college offered high school work, teaching courses, college studies, special instruction in speech, Latin, science, German, mathematics, literature or philosophy; lessons in instrumental or vocal music and business courses.
Mt. Zion School
The Sentinel, July 8, 1963
The sixth annual reunion of the pupils of the old one-room school at Mount Zion was held at the Van Duyne Block and Gravel company grounds on July 4th with 63 in attendance.
Leroy Garner gave the blessing before the meal. The meal was thoroughly enjoyed as usual.
Josephine Swihart, the president, presided durng the business meeting which followed. During the meeting, Joe and Robert Van Duyne were given a vote of thanks for having the reunion at their place of business. The same officers were reelected, and it was decided to hold the reunion again next year at the same place of the 4th.
Effie Hayward won the prize for being the oldest present at the age of 92 years.
Prizes were won by Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn, Ed Gilliland, Mrs. Emma Weaver, Mrs. Roy Garner, Roy Hoot and Mrs. Howard King.
John Divon showed moving pictures in the afternoon, and the rest of the time was spent socialy.
Those present from a distance were Joe E. Dixson, Groveland, Fla.; Mr. & Mrs. Henry Dixson, Auburn; Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn, Marion; Mr. & Mrs. Roy Hoot, South Bend; Dean Ford, Kokomo; Mr. & Mrs. Harry J. Macy, Wabash; Mr. & Mrs. Elaes Holdread and son and Joan Webb of Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. Randy Masterson and daughter, Fort Wayne, and Frank Davis of Macy.
Local people present were: Mr. & Mrs. Roy Garner, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Zeller, Sr., Mr. & Mrs. Ray Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Guy McMillen, Mrs. Effie Hayward, Mrs. Herman Wagoner, Mrs. Lucile Macy, Ray Macy, Robert Macy, Carol McCroskey, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Beaudoin, Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Baggerley, Mr. & Mrs. Albert Wood, Mrs. Ethel Fishback, Mrs. Scott Sroufe, Mr. & Mrs. Howard King; Carol King, Ed Gilliland, Mrs. Lloyd Pickens, Mr. & Mrs. A.T. Butler and children, Marjorie and Jerry, Mrs. L. Pearl Moore, Clarice Moore, Maxine Zerbe, Mrs. Emma Weaver, Mr. & Mrs. Joe Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Van Duyne, and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne.
Sears Catalog Sales Ofc.
Opening Here Soon
The Sentinel, July 10, 1963
Sears Roebuck & Company announced today from Chicago that it plans to open a modern catalog sales office late this summer in Rochester.
The nationally-known mail order and retail firm said that it has leased the room formerly occupied by Baldwin Motors at 528 Main street. - - - - -
The Sentinel, July 15, 1963
Although closed for 51 years, Rochester college still is active in the minds of its former students. About 70 of them attended the 34th annual reunion at the Fulton County Conservation clubhouse on the Tippecanoe river Sunday. Sixty-two came to enjoy dinner at 1 p.m., served by the club. Several came in the afternoon.
Doc Haimbaugh, president, was in chage of the program and business session. A vote of thanks was extended to the hosts and helpers who served the dinner.
The afternoon program was opened with a welcome by Ray Myers, who spoke of the city of Rochester and Lake Manitou as it was in college days, and the progress during the past 50 years.
The Secretary and treasurer report were read by Mrs. Arthur B. Shore. Letters and cards were read from absent members.
Miss Edna Sheets read the names of those who had died since the last reunion and read a poem in commemoration of the deceased members.
Garnet (Carvey) Tombaugh, Mrs. Una Wilson, Chas. Babcock, Frank Leslie Stubbs, Mrs. Geneva (Stinson) Wiley, Milo Mehling, Talmadge Dillon, Mrs. Olive Alspach, Florance Hendrickson, Alonzo Guise, and Rev. Earl Riddle.
Chera and Mikki Chamberlain entertaind with dance acts, with Mrs. Lucille DuBois at the piano.
Roll call was answered by each person giving his former name, where he first went to school and who was his first teacher.
Several selections on the piano were played by Mrs. Grace Stinson and Mrs. Ada Sherbondy.
Group singing was led by V.L. Barker with Mrs. Ray Myers at the piano.
The nominating committee announced the following officers
for the coming year: John Savage, president; Blaine Hurst, vice president; Mrs. Arthur B. Shore, secretary and treasurer.
Some time was spent reminiscing, many humerous and serious incidents were told, reminding all of the great influence that the associations with one another and with the wonderful instructors had provided.
The meeting was adourned after more group singing. The next meeting will be Sunday July 12, 1964 at the Fulton County Conservation club house.
Dinner guests from Rochester were: Miss Edna Sheets, Mrs. Reba L. Shore, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McVay, Hugh McMahan, O.M. Miller, the Rev. & Mrs. Clyde R. Walters, Emily Von Ehrenstein, Ada Sherbondy, Pearl M. Hiland, Belva Miller, Ethel B. Snapp, Lucile Holman Leonard, Mrs. Bertha Stahl, Mr. & Mrs. Dee Berrier, Mrs. E.M. Wagoner, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Myers, Mr. & Mrs. Dow Haimbaugh, Clarence Adamson, Mr. & Mrs. M.P. Bair and Mr. & Mrs. John Cessna.
Other guests were: Mr. & Mrs. Roy Koffel, Mrs. John E. Kroft and Dick Rice, Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Russel H. Smith, Mr. & Mrs. John C. Savage, Mr. & Mrs. Blaine Hurst, Macy; Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn, Marion; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Lucas, Knox; Errett C. Carvey, Converse; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Deardorff, Richmond; Floyd R. Neff, Ft. Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. W.R. McClary, Tessa Stayton, South Bend; Mrs. R.C. Harrison, Mr. & Mrs. Roy Gassway, Peru; Rae Wildermuth, Mrs. May Day, Akron; Mrs. A.E. (Grace) Stinson, Mrs. Lola Brown, Athens; Mrs. Edith B. Wolfe, Robert M. Wolfe, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Otto Babcock, Mrs. Gladeys Maple, Waterman, Ill; Mr. & Mrs. U.L. Parker, Huntington, W. Va.; Mrs. Flossie E. Bailey, Fulton.
Jack Pickens Res
The Sentinel, July 19, 1963
The annual Taylor reunion was held Sunday in the country home of Mr. & Mrs. Jack Pickens, northeast of Rochester.
After the dinner Mrs. Ralph Conaway, the president, conducted a short business meeting with Mrs. Wayne Largen acting as secretary-treasurer.
Attending were: Mr. & Mrs. Orville Gilliland, Mrs. Jesse Church, Mr. & Mrs. Howard Taylor and son, Russell, Mr. & Mrs. Everett Taylor and son, Terry, Mr. & Mrs. Jack Pickens and children, all of Rochester.
Out of town guests were: Mr. & Mrs. Wilbur Harter, Akron;
Mrs. Joseph Harter and children Webster Grove, Mo.; Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Largen, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Howard Gilliland and children, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Conaway and children, Phil and Kay, Mr. & Mrs. Edward Pawlick and daughter, Judy, and Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Surface and children, all of Michigan City.
Mr. & Mrs. Orville Gilliland, Mr. & Mrs. Everett Taylor, Mrs. Jesse Church and Mr. & Mrs. Howard Taylor were chosen for the committee to serve for next year.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 24, 1963
The Smith and Parman reunion was held at the Rochester City park July 21 with a picnic dinner at noon.
A total of 76 members and four guests were present. Games were played by age groups. Winning in the children’s group were Penny Parman, Cedar Lake, Teresa Martin, Kokomo, and Cindy Smith, Rochester. In the adult group Dixie Parman and Cecil Smith won the prizes in the egg throwing contest.
During the business session the secretary, Mrs. Martha Smith, read the minutes of the last meeting. The treasurer’s report was read by Mrs. Wilma Martin.
New officers elected are: Cecil Smith, president; Mrs. Long, treasurer; Vernon Parman, entertainment.
Opens New Sales Bldg
The Sentinel, July 25, 1963
Bud Hartman Motors today occupied its new and larger building east of the city, on the northwest corner of Ind. 25 and 14 intersection.
The local Cadillac, Oldsmobile and Pontiac agency has been operating at 1702 Main since March, 1958. Plans for the continud use of that building still are not definite, according to owner John Sawyer of Rochester.
The new Hartman agency building is on a 7-1/2 acre tract and is of steel construction, 120 by 120 feet in size. Drives have been blacktopped, as has a used car area west of the building.
Included in the structure is a large, glassed auto showroom, administrative office, parts storage and a service area the entire width of the building to the rear.
The front is of stone and the building is decorated in a tan and blue color motif.
Denton Electric company of Rochester had the contracts for plumbing, heating, electrical and air conditioning in the building. General contractor was Norco Engineering of Winamac. - - - -
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 29, 1963
The 39th annual reunion of the descendants of the Stephen Conrad and William Bray was held July 21 at the Rochester City Park with 69 present.
Attending were: Edgar Conrad and son, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Conrad, Mr. & Mrs. Russell Conrad and son, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Conrad and son, George Conrad, Mr. & Mrs. Dale Ferguson, Mr. & Mrs. Everett Bolton, Mr. & Mrs. Melvin Winegardner and family, Mr. & Mrs. Deyo Sheetz and family, Mr. & Mrs. Luther Sheetz, Mrs. Victor Winegardner and family, Mr. & Mrs. Russell Cauffman and family.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Thurle Alber and family, Mr. & Mrs. Herman Alber and family, Mr. & Mrs. Manford Alber, Mr. & Mrs. Novanah Alber and family, Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Alber and family, Mr. & Mrs. Ramon Alber and family, Mr. & Mrs. Risser Simpson, Mrs. Ed Hughes and family, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Showley and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. Harold McKinley, Raymond Seibert and Yvonne Hensell.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 31, 1963
Rochester City park was the scene for the first reunion of the Sims family, July 13, with 68 members attending.
Mrs. William H. Collins, of Rochester, was hostess and in charge of the food. She was assisted by her daughter, Mrs. Garland Eshelman of Logansportl.
The three surviving members of the Sims family are Newton Sims, Hammond; Mrs. Lillie Benard, Mt. Vernon, Ill.; and Mrs. Nora Smith, Bailey, Mich.
Attending for the Newton Sims family were Mr. & Mrs. Thomas Sims and three children, South Bend.
Attending for Mrs. Smith’s family were: Mrs. Carl Munson and daughter, Laura, Shelby, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Wenguist and children, Cedar Springs, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Donald Gordon, Leland, Mich.; Gordon is Republican congressman from Michigan; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Loughmiller and children, Cadillac, Mich.
Attending for Mrs. Benard were: Mr. & Mrs. Phillip Matthews, and thee daughters, Cleveland, O.; Mrs. Clma (sic) Osborne and son, Lin; Ralph Benard, James Benard and children, Mrs. Angie Benard and children, Mr. & Mrs. Joseph Owaglia, Mr. & Mrs. Jsssie Chaver and five children, all of Chicago; Mr. & Mrs. Bob Sledge and two children, Mt. Vernon, Ill.; Mrs. Juliette Sargent and daughter, Mira,, Dix, Ill.; John E. Collins, Affton, Mo.; William H. Collins, Jr. and Miss Jeannine Daugherty, both of Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Garland Eshelman, Logansport, Mr. & Mrs. William H. Collins and Diane, Rochester, Francs Collins, Rochester, was a guest.
Mrs. Carl Munson was the corresponding secretary for the group. Everyone wore name tags made by Sharon and Linda Matthews. John Collins took the attendance.
After the meal the largest part of the afternon was spent socially getting acquainted as many of the persons had never met. A reunion is being plannd for next year.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, August 1, 1963
A family reunion was held Sunday, in honor of the fifty-third wedding anniversary of Mr. & Mrs. Wilbur Craig and also the birthday anniversary of Mr. Craig and Lloyd Craig. The event was held at the city park.
Those present for the occassion were: Mr. & Mrs. Wilbur Craig, Mr. & Mrs. Lloyd Craig and daughter; Mr. & Mrs. Alan Craig and family and Dennis Thompson, all of Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Randy Mow and daughter, Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Don Summers and son, Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Raymond Craig and Susan; Mr. & Mrs. Delmar Shepherd and family, North Manchester.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Merrel Wagoner, Mr. & Mrs. Adrian Egbert and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Hassenplug and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Larry Zellers and family, Marion; Mr. & Mrs. Albert Bowen and family, Mr. & Mrs. Paul Holloway and son, Mr. & Mrs. Russel Wagoner and grandson, Mrs. Roger Wagoner and Mr. & Mrs. Dale Rhodes and family.
The Sentinel, August 2, 1963
Lynn Smith, of Akron, was elected president of the annual reunion of the Hiers family Sunday. Other officers are Richard Hiers,
Akron, vice-president, and Mrs. James Sutton, Peru, secretary-treasurer.
Mrs. Flossie Hiers and Mrs. Gilbert Bradshaw are members of the program committee for next year and Mrs. Joseph Shanabarger’s the reporter.
More than 35 persons attended the reunion at Lukens Lake. The group voted to hold next year’s reunion at Lukens Lake the first Sunday in July.
Moonshower, Top Position
The Sentinel, August 3, 1963
J. Marvin Moonshower, assistant to vice president of Erie-Lackawanna railroad and formerly of Rochester, has been appointed to the newly-created position of general superintendent with headquarters in Cleveland, G.W. Maxwell vice-president for operations, said today.
Moonshower, a second generation railroader, was born in Athens, graduated from Rochestter high school in 1929, and graduated from Northwestern university. His father, the late Lou Moonshower, was station agent on the Marion division before retirement with 52 years of service. His mother resides at 602 Madison street.
In his new capacity Moonshower will have jurisdiction over the transportation department and all division superintendents on the enitre system between New York and Chicago, as well as the marine and lighterage departments in New York Harbor.
Since 1934, when he started with the former Erie railroad as an operator at Huntington, Moonshower progressed steadily and was named trainmaster there in 1949.
He moved to Salamanca, N.Y., as trainmaster in 1951, was assistant superintendent at Chicago in 1953 and superintendent at Buffalo, N.Y., in 1955. He was appointed assistant general manager of the western district at Youngstown, O., in 1956, and became assistant to vice-president in Cleveland earlier this year.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, August 3, 1963
The annual Stephen Fansler reunion was held July 28 at Rochester City park. All of the sons and daughters and their families were present.
Attending were: Mr. & Mrs. William Fansler and family, Royal Center; Mr. & Mrs. Art Fansler, Mr. & Mrs. Earl Fansler and family, all of Rochester; Gilbert Fansler, Milwaukee; Lester Fansler, Gary; Mrs. Viola Clawson and family, Medaryville; Mrs. Mary Chambers and
family and Mrs. Emma Fansler and family, all of Logansport; Mrs. Bertha Zeider and family, Niles, Mich.; Mrs. Amy Crabb and son, Kewanna; and othr nieces, nephews and guests.
Approximately 50 persons enjoyed a basket dinner at noon.
ROCH TEL CO
Mary Gould Inman
The Sentinel, August 6, 1963
BY HORTENSE MYERS
United Press International
When Mary Gould Inman went to work 56 years ago for the Rochester Telephone Company, the chief operator had been employed by the utility 13 years.
“I said then that I’d never be here that long,” Mrs. Inman laughed. “Belle Bernetha, the chief operator, went on to stay for 44 yars, and now I am retiring after 56 years.”
The 56th anniversary date comes Aug. 17 and her formal retirement, Aug. 31. Then Mrs. Inman will begin a new career as a housewife. She was married about four months ago to John Inman, Rochester barber.
“I suppose I will get one of those Kennedy rocking chairs and take it easy,” Mrs. Inman predicted of her coming retirement, but in the next breath said “I couldn’t stand taking it easy for long. It would get tiresome.”
Mrs. Inman is a native of Rochester and has watched it and the telephone industry grow during the more than half a century she has had her finger on the city’s communications pulse.
The day she went to work the utility had only four operators who used a magneto-type board in an upstairs room over the Dawson drug store, now Lords. Today, there are some 25 operators and the company occupies a sizeable building at 117 West Seventh street.
During the years she has served in several capacities with the company but the job of personal bill collecting is one she hasn’t had for some time.
Part of her job in the early years was to go to the homes of telephone customers and collect door-to-door because that was the casual way things were done.
I pedaled a bicycle on my collection rounds,” she recalled.
Her beginning salary was $2.50 a week.
“There are times when I think $2.50 goes further then than my present pay,” Mrs. Inman commented. “There wasn’t very much to
pay out then.”
Mrs. Inman and her new husband are longtime friends so she does not anticipate too many adjustments in her new career as a homemaker.
“I’ve had a house of my own for a long time and do my own cooking” she explained. “I won’t say I am a very good cook, but at least I won’t need to take lessons.”
Hiland-Van Duyne Reun
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, August 15, 1963
The 40th annual Hiland-Van Duyne reunion was held Sunday at the City Park with 23 present. A basket dinner was served at noon. Mrs. Wade Green gave the dinner prayer.
After the meal a short business session was held. The group voted to retain the following officers for another year: president, N.M. Alber; secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Marie Alber. The secretary read the minutes of the 1962 meeting and also reported on buying flowers for the reunion and for the late Mrs. Nora Dye.
The remainder of the afternoon was spent socially visiting and playing bingo.
Present were: Mr. & Mrs. Russell Cauffman and Nancy Smith, all of New Carlisle; Mr. & Mrs. Wade Green, Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Rex Day, Flora; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Marshall and sons, Bremen; Mrs. Nettie Haschel, Winamac; Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber and son, Phil, and Ricky Alber, all of Rocheste. Mr. & Mrs. Russell Overmyer were afternoon callers.
M.J. Miller Res
The Sentinel, August 15, 1963
The Ahlfeld reunion was held at the Mark J. Miller home, RR 4, Peru, August 11,
The following were present: Mr. & Mrs. F.W. Ahfeld, Gary; and Jack, Clawson, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Ahfeld., The Otterbein home, Lebanon, O.; Mr. & Mrs. Ernest Ahfeld, Gridley, Ill.; George Ahfeld, North Manchester; The Rev. & Mrs. Wayne Johnson, Steve, Janet and Barbara and Mr. & Mrs. Jerry Johnson, Claypool.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Bill Moon, Mrs. Don Alber, Mr. & Mrs. Joseph McCombs and Donnie, Mr. & Mrs. Gene Ahfeld, Kim, Kraig
and Steve, Johnson Nordman, and Mr. William Ahfeld, all of Wabash; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Johnsonbaugh, Idaville; Mr. & Mrs. V.R. Sharp,
Robert Ahlfeld, Mr. & Mrs. Byron Raber and Sharon and Mr. & Mrs. Miller and family, all of Peru.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, August 16, 1963
The annual Wharton family reunion was held Aug. 11 at the Rochester City Park. A picnic was served at noon. Thanks for the meal was given by Sandra Turner.
After the meal a business meeting was held. The report of the 1962 meeting was read by the secretary, Susan Van Duyne. During the meeting several short talks were given. Robert Wharton, vice-president of the Bay View Federal Savings in San Francisco showed pictures of the new building. Sanders Turner who had just returned from a trip to the United Nations, Washington, Gettysburg and other points of interest gave an interesting account of her trip. Congratulations were extended to Mr. & Mrs. Vernon Wharton who observed their golden wedding nniversary recently.
It was decided to retain the present officers for another year. They are: president, Gladys Wharton, Kewanna; vice-president, Vernon Wharton, Elkhart; and secretary, Susan Turner, Fort Wayne. The oldest person was Porter Wharton, Elkhart; and the youngest was Brian Van Duyne, Fort Wayne.
Present were: Robert Wharton, San Francisco; Mr. & Mrs. Harlan Wharton, Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Frank Van Duyne and son, Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Vern Wharton, Porter Wharton and daughter, Mrs. Joseph Erskine, all of Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. Lothaire Lake, North Judson; Mrs. Tina Wharton, Mr. & Mrs. Harvey Turner and Sandra and Carl Rose, Rochester.
Also, Mrs. Ruth Bulger, Winamac; Mr. & Mrs. Edward Hoffman and daughters, Mrs. Thelma Wharton of Claypool; Mr. & Mrs. Don Akles and children, Niles, Mich., and Gladus Wharton, Kewanna.
After the meeting the Vernon Whartons took their son, Robert, to Indiana university where he will take a two week’s graduate course. He will return to his parents’ home at Elkhart before returning to California.
The Sentinel, August 22, 1963
Hal Hammel announced today that he will open a dealership for Chrysler Corporation automobiles in Rochester Sept. 10.
The new local agency will be located at the south end of Main street in the building formerly occupied by Bud Hartman Motors. Imperial, Chrysler, Plymouth and Valiant cars will be sold, said Hammel.
Grand opening of the agency is set for Sept. 20
Hammel, who resides with his wife and family just north of the city limits on U.S. 31, is signal maintenance foreman for the Erie-Lackawanna railroad from Huntington to Chicago. He has 26 years’ service with the railroad.
For the past two years, Hammel has been in car sales work on a part-time basis for Bahney Chevrolet of Akron and Gates-Calhoun Chevrolet of Argos.
Personnel of the new agency now are being hired, said Hammel. He added that equipment of the former Madeford Chrysler Sales at Akron had been purchased and will be moved to the new quarters.
Rochester has been without a Chrysler agency for the past eight years.
The Sentinel, August 22, 1963
The annual W.C. Pickens family reunion was held Aug. 18 at the river cottage of Dorothy and Jess Murray at Adams Grove. A picnic dinner was served at noon. A bouquet of gladioli was donated by Mr. & Mrs. Jack Musser for the dinner table and later was presented to Mrs. W.C. Pickens who is a patient at the Pontious nursing home.
After the meal a business meeting was held and Mr. & Mrs. Ross Pickens were elected president and secretary for the coming year. The afternoon spent swimming, taking pictures and playing horseshoes and cards.
Present were: Mr. & Mrs. Walter Pickens and family, Niles, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Ross Pickens, Michigan City; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Pickens and family, South Bend; Lloyd Pickens, Mrs. Nomia Tyler and Mona Lou, Mr. & Mrs. Billy Tyler and family, Mr. & Mrs. Jack Saygers and family, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Kuhn and Mrs. Lee Carpenter, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Lawrence McLean and family, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Kenny Pickens and family, Mr. & Mrs. David
Pickens and family and Mr. & Mrs. Buddy Pickens, all of Niles, Mich.; Mrs. Connie Yonker and family, Dowagiac, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Fay McQuinn and family, Mr. & Mrs. Jess Murray, Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Jack Musser and family, Plymouth; William C. Pickens, Kewanna; and Mr. & Mrs. George Richardson, Rochester.
Melita Snyder Res
The Sentinel, August 23, 1963
The descendants of James Wright, pre-Civil War settler in Fulton County, gathered for a family reunion Sunday at the home of Mrs. Melita Snyder in Rochester.
James Wright was born in Eaton county, O., in 1815 and had 12 brothers and sisters. His father, Samuel Wright, came to America from Belfast, North Ireland, in 1780, having been loaned $200 by his brother Robert, who remained in the old country. Samuel met and married Jane Taylor in New York state and later the couple moved to Preble county, O., where they prospered as farmers and raised a large family.
On their beautiful farm homestead in the rolling hills of Preble county, James spent a happy boyhood along with his sisters, Sarah, Tabitha (Tabby), Jane and his brothers, John, Robert, Assenath and others.
About the year 1836, James moved to Fulton county where he married Margaret Reid, a member of an illusrious New England family who also followed the trek to the land of the Tippecanoe, Eel and Wabash after the defeat of the Indian Confederancy at Fallen Timbers. Members of the Reid family fought in the Revolution.
James Wright established his farm on land he purchased near Rochester, aided by his inheritance from the estate at Eaton, prbated in the year 1867. This lovely farm and neat little farmhouse is now owned by his great-granddaughter, Melita.
To James and Margaret were born three children, Jane, Samuel and William. William died as a youth. Jane married George Perschbacher, also of Fulton county. Her brother, Dr. Sam, married Harriett Cool, daughter of the famous Baptist missionary to the Miami Indians. The Rev. Wm. Cool and Mariah Warner Cool.
The grandchildren and great-grandchildren of Jane and Samuel, all cousins, joined in a grand reunion at the home of Melita Snyder, member of the DAR and a teacher in the third grade in Argos.
Present were the following: Mrs. Melita Snyder and son and daughter-in-law, Mr. & Mrs. George Snyder and children, Mr. & Mrs. Miles Perschbacher and son Stephen, Plymouth; Dr. & Mrs. Dow
Haimbaugh, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Stephen E. Wright, Collinsville, Ill.,
Mrs Fred Wright. Collinsville, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Harold Haskett, Elmhurst, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Kesler and daughtre, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Wright, Bedford, O.; Mr. & Mrs. Ernest Bonine and daughter, Rochester; Mrs. Edna Carey, Mrs. Harriet Bonine, Mr. & Mrs. Mahlon Bair, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Hartman, Warsaw.
The assemblage was addressed by Dr. Haimbaugh, who told of boyhood experiences including one where Fred Wright, who spent many a pleasant summer day at Haimbaugh and Perschbacher farms, tied srings to turtles in the farm pond, while the grownups were attending church. On returning home the family was amaze to see small boats being towed around the pond by the submerged turtlss.
A short history of the Wright family was given by Steve Wright. Plans were made to repeat the reunion in 1964 and make it known to numerous relatives who did not learn of it in time to arrange attendance this year. Tentative date has been set for the third week in August, 1964, in Rochester.
The Sentinel, August 30, 1963
The Kewanna Hardware, owned and operated by Mr. & Mrs. Max Fair, moved into their new location in Kewanna, Saturday. The hardware formerly was located in the west end of the busines section of Kewanna, where it had been for many years.
The store, which has been modernized and enlarged, is now located in the east part of the business section next to the Farmers and Merchants bank.
Now Bulk Operation
The Sentinel, August 31, 1963
The double-handled milk cans that are a trademark on so many dairy farms may be relegated to being containers for mail box posts and potted plants in Fulton county because of a new operation by a local cheese producing plant.
The Crystal Dairy Products plant in Rochester has become the first Indiana manufacturer of cheese products to switch from canned to bulk Grade B milk and the operation appears to be successful.
William Wisley, former Crystal plant manager and now head of Crystal’s Forest Farms Products division here, said about 125 of the 600 farmers now selling milk to the local plant have switched to the
Wisley said the reasons for changing to bulk are to provide a better quality of Grade B milk which in turn induces a better market for the milk products. - - - -
At present, Crystal Dairy sells exclusively to Kraft Foods, since that firm is the only one in this area capable of using the entire production of Crystal plants here, in Peru and at Summitville.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, Sept 13, 1963
The sixth annual Reese family reunion was held at City Park with a carry-in dinner and home made ice cream for dessert. Maynard Reese returned thanks.
Mrs. Wayne Baker of Mentone. President, conducted a short busines session and there wa a unanimous vote to retain present officer another year. Readings were given by Maynart Reese, Mrs. Harold Reese and Miss Clara Reese.
Dale Fish was in charge of recreation of gams and contests with prizes for old and young. Men topped it off with a round of horseshoes.
Youngest in attendance was Barry, 5-1/2 month-ol son of Mr. & Mrs. Tom Parkhurst of Rochester. Mr. & Mrs. Chet Davis and Miss Clara Reese of Fairmont, Ill., traveled the longest to attend the affair. Miss Reese passed a news clipping of interest concerning Floyd Reece of Danville. He was presented recently with a 50-year membership in the Anchor Masonic lodge of Danville.
The group agreed to have another reunion the second Sunday of September in 1964 at City Park.
To High Court Bar
The Sentinel, Oct. 28, 1963
Wendell Tombaugh, Rochester attorney, was admitted to practice before the U.S. Supreme Court this morning in a ceremony at which Chief Justice Earl Warren presided.
Tombaugh’s admittance to the high court bar was sponsored by the office of Solicitor General Archibald Cox, at the request of Congressman Charles A. Halleck of Indiana.
Tombaugh is remodeling the former Tombaugh department store at 913 East Ninth street into offices and will devote full time to the practice of law there.
ROCH TEL CO
Sikas R, Weber Retires
The Sentinel, Oct. 29, 1963
Silas R. Weber, wire chief of the Rochester Telephone company, will retire Friday after 19 years’ service. He began work at the utility Jan. 1, 1944, later became combination man and then was promoted to the top position in the equipmnt room.
He and Mrs. Weber, after visiting their children, wlll move to North Port Charlotte, Fla., where they have purchased a home and will llive permanently.,
Weber began work for the Bell Telephone company when 15 years of age and later was manager for three exchanges in Colorado. They have three daughters and eight grandchildren. Weber was given a farewell luncheon and presented a complete fishing outfit by the company.
The Sentinel, Nov. 29, 1963
Ten-feet long posts now are being installed to hold the markers identifying Fulton county roads, the local chapter of the Purdue Ag Alumni association learned at a meeting this week.
The Purdue Ag group campaigned successfully for installation of the signs.
County Commissioner Carl M. Herrold showed one of the new county road maps, prepared in the office of the county surveyor, which list the new road markings. The maps will go on sale next Jan. 1. - - - -
Opens Law Office
The Sentinel, Dec. 10, 1963
Edward H. Snaman, former Rochester resident, announced today that he will open an office for the practice of law at 111 West Eighth street about Jan. 2.
Snaman returned to Rochester last July from Tucson, Ariz., where he had been employed in the claims and auditing departments of the Industrial Commission of Arizona for 15 years. He and his wife, Alice, reside at 608 Madison street.
Snaman practiced law in his own firm at Fort Wayne 15 years. During that time he lived in New Haven, where he was city attorney 12 years. He holds LLB degree from the Benjamin Harrison law school (that later merged with Indiana law school at Indianapolis).
In 1951-52 he returned to Indinapolis as a deputy attorney general under the late Emert McManaman, then Indiana attorney general.
Snaman and his wife were editors and publshers of the former Fulton Leader and Kewanna Herald, weekly newspapers, from 1942-44. He also served four years as a state conservation officer.
He is a member of the Royal Arch, Blue Lodge and Scottish Rite, Eagles Lodge, a World War 1 veteran and member of the American Legion 45 consecutive years.
JONES CANDY CO
Pur McConnell & Son
The Sentinel, Dec. 31, 1963
The George S. Jones Candy company, 624 West Sixth street, will close its warehose here Thursday. The business has been sold to McConnell and Son Candy distributors of Decatur, Ind.
Jones began the business in Rochester 16 years ago, when he moved here from Michigan.
Jones said he will continue to sell candy in this area as a salesman for McConnell and Son.
Jones lives at 201 West Ninth street with his wife, Hazel, and five children - Harry, 15; Dewey, 14; Richard, 9, and twins John and Janet, 7. He will continue to reside here.
Opens Law Offices
The Sentinel, Jan. 6, 1964
Wendell C. Tombaugh announced today that he has re-opened his law office for the general practice of law in new quarters at 913 East Ninth street. The offices are located in the building formerly occupied by Tombaugh’s Store, owned and operated by Tombaugh and his wife, Jean.
A graduate of Rochester high school, Tombaugh received his B.S. Degree in business administration from Indiana university in 1936 and an LLB degree from the Indana Law School, Indianapolis, in 1940. He was admitted to the Indiana Bar April 8, 1940 and last October was admitted to practice before the U.S. Supreme Court.
Tombaugh practiced law here for three years, serving a year as county attorney, in 1943 and 1944 he was a special agent with the FBI with assignments in Washington D.C., North Carolina and Florida. During 1944 and 1945 he was in the U.S. Navy, studying and teaching radar operation.
Tombaugh attends the Presbyterian church, is a director of the Fulton County Association for Mental Health, belongs to Toastmasters club, is past commander of the American Legion Post, and a member of Chamber of Commerce, Fulton County and NACCA bar associations and of the Society of Former Agents of the FBI.
He and his wife are the parents of one son, John, 22, Logansport.
The Sentinel, Feb. 15, 1964
Zimmerman’s Pastries, a Rochester business for 12 years, will open Monday morning in new quarters at 723 Main street which the secretary of the Indiana Bakers Association calls “the finest equipped bakery store in Indana for a city the size of Rochester.”
Mrs. Harrison Halterman, wife of Rochester’s mayor, will cut the ribbon at 8 o’clock Monday to officially open the bakery in the store formerly occupied by Morris grocery. Free coffee will be served during the day.
In addition to moving to enlarged quarters, owners Mr. & Mrs.. Elmer Zimmerman have installed all new equipment in the air conditioned store.
This includes the latest in design of aluminum show cases, which have glass fronts with stainless steel bottoms, formica-lined display wndows, aluminum and stainless steel wall cases, a new freezer and new cabinets. The front part of the store, has tiled floor, the baking shop portion having hardwood white maple floor. The ceiling of the store has been lowered, also.
A new feature of the business will be a coffee nook, and new tables and chairs have been set up in this area. The Zimmermans have obtained a new coffee maker for the coffee nook.
Zimmerman’s Pastries employs five persons.
TOMBAUGH, JEAN C.
Talk On Family Research
The Sentinel, Feb. 24, 1964
The Manitou Chapter of the DAR met in the home of Mrs. Fred Hodel. - - - - -
Mrs. Wendell Tombaugh gave a most interesting talk entitled “Climbing The Family Tree”, relating her many years of research in tracing the history of her ancestors. She gave many bits of information, which could be very helpful to persons interested in
learning more about their ancestors.
One important item stressed was that one should work backwards, year by year, generation by generation, in their search for information about their family.
Research could start with the family Bible, search of the county Court House records of all sorts, durng the years of the ancestor’s residence in an area.
Mrs. Tombaugh found that it is important and helpful to keep in mind the locality where one’s family lived, and its history. From what earlier state or county was it settled. What successive groups of settlers came in, were settlers predominantly members of a certain church. Seldome did a family migrate alone to a new home, but went with a group to a locality where there were friends from their home town.
In her personal research, Mrs. Tombaugh also found that certain sections of Ohio were settled primarily from Connecticut, while other sections were settled primarily from Virginia, and still others from Pennsylvania. Certain portions of the “panhandle” of West Virginia were settled, not from Pennsylvania, as might be expected, but from Virginia. There were areas in what is now West Virginia that had a heavy migration from New Jersey soon after the Revolutionary War. In the north, there was a definite movement from Rhode Island to Vermont during and immediately after the Revolution. In many cases the settlers came by following an established route of travel. It is important to know the route of migration to a new area from the older settlements.
By checking birth, marriage, death certificates, census and family records, one can usually get an ancestor placed in the locality where he or she lived prior to 1830, and as early as 1800.
Mrs. Tombaugh stated in her persnal research she found when she had completed tracing her family’s history, she knew much more about history in general than she thought possible. - - - -
DU DROP IN CAFE
Pur Mary Lemler
The Sentinel, Feb. 26, 1964
Mary Lemler, RR 3, Rochester, has purchased the Du Drop Inn cafe on East Ninth street from Jack Utter, 328 East Ninth street.
Mrs. Emler formerly owned the Riverside Inn cafe on the east side of U.S. 31 north of Rochester at the Tippecanoe river bridge, and the Curve Inn Cafe on U.S. 31 near Plymouth.
Mrs. Lemler has one daughter, Terri, a junior at Rochester high school.
MODERN DAIRY BAR
Pur Larry Calhoun
The Sentinel, March 12, 1964
The Modern Dairy Bar, drive-in restaurant at the south edge of the city, has been purchased by Mr. & Mrs. Larry Calhoun, RR 2, Rochester, from Mr. & Mrs. A.C. Johnson, also of RR 2.
The Calhouns have taken possession of the business, which henceforth is to be known by its former and popular name of The Streamliner
Calhoun has been associated in the business for the past six years, and has been the manager three years. Mrs. Calhoun is the former SteveAnn Smith of Rochester.
At University of Utah
The Sentinel, March 12, 1964
A mastodon skeleton, excavated on the farm of James O. Wells west of Rochester in 1960 by scientists from Earlham college, soon will find its way to the University of Utah in exchange for the skeleton of an allosaurus.
The story began when Wells, a 1951 graduate of Earlham, discovered unusual bones on his farm. He notified James Cope, director of the Joseph Moore Museum at Earlham, who supervised the excavation and identified the bones as belonging to a mastodon that had roamed northern Indiana at the end of the Ice Age some 10,000 years ago.
Although the bones were considered a good find, it happened that Earlham already had a mastodon on display in the museum. So Cope arranged to exchange the extra mastodon for a surplus allosaurus skeleton from Utah.
The allosaurus skeleton is complete except for the skull, but Cope is negotiating with Princeton university for an extra skull. The allosaurus, which lived during the age of dinosaurs millions of years before the development of mammals, is similar to the larger tryannosaurus rex.
Both were giant lizards which had small forelegs and walked on their large hnd legs, balancing thmselves with their huge tails.
Cope, with the help of an Earlham student and a truck driver, will deliver the mastodon and pick up the allosaurus skeleton during the break between winter and spring terms at Earlham. The experts to be back at the Richmond campus for the start of the spring term March 23.
PERU PRODN CREDIT
In New Building
The Sentinel, March 28, 1964
The Rochester office of Peru Production Credit Association Monday will be operating from its gleaming new building at 1001 Main street.
The Association moved from its former headquarters at 116-1/2 East Eighth street today. The Federal Land Bank and the Jefferies real estate and insurance agency also will occupy offices in the new building.
Peru Credit has had a Fulton county office in Rochester since 1934 and has been at the East Eighth street address for eight years. This is the fourth Association-owned office building in the firm’s seven counties.
Otto Cessna of Rochester is president of the Association, Don Pressel is manager of the office here, Mrs. Mary Berry the field office secretary. - - - - -
Opens Office Here
The Sentinel, April 15, 1964
Dr. William H. Fish has opened offices for the general practice of osteopathic medicine at 418 East Ninth street. He has been in practice at Culver since 1960 and expects to move his wife and four children to this city in the near future.
Mrs. Ellen Teach of Culver is Dr. Fish’s office assistant.
A native of Illinois, Dr. Fish earned his A.B. Degree from James Millikin university, Decatur, Ill.; his M.S. Degree from Pittsburg (Kan) State Teachers college and his O.D. Degree from the Chicago College of Osteopathy in 1956.
He interned at the Chicago Osteopathic hospital and had two years surgical training at South Bend Osteopathic hospital. A World War 11 veteran, he spent a month as a prisoner of war.
Pur Wm. H. Carpenter
The Sentinel, April 16, 1964
William H. Carpenter, 1230 Jackson Blvd., today announced that he has purchased Rochester Laundry and Dry Cleaning Inc., 722 Monroe street, from Mr. & Mrs. Francis A. Bergman, Lake Manitou.
The new owner took possession of the business Wednesday. No changes in the operation are contemplated, said Carpenter. There are
15 persons now employed at the plant.
The Bergmans have owned the laundry here since 1946. Prior to that Bergman was in a similar business at Plymouth. He entered the field as a tailor in 1915 at the latter city.
Carpenter has been associated with the business two years, previously employed in a sales capacity for other firms since 1945. He is a native of South Bend and has resided in Rochester since 1958.
He and his wife, the former Mary Katherine Bergman, are the parents of two children.
Opens Next Week
The Sentinel, April 25, 1964
Webster’s Florists, owned by Mr. & Mrs. Berton W. Webster and their son, Jerry, will have its grand opening next Saturday and Sunday on the north side of South Mud lake.
South Mud lake is south of Speck’s Corner and west of U.S. 31 in Liberty township.
The Websters are busy preparing their store for its grand opening, and said they will have cut flowers next Friday.
Mr. & Mrs. Webster have lived at South Mud lake for six years, moving there from Peru. Berton Webster is a die cast die maker at the Chrysler plant in Kokomo. Jerry Webster will have complete mnagement of the new business.
Opens in Talma
The Sentinel, May 1, 1964
Mr. & Mrs. Rollin Gross have opened a new appliance store in Talma. They will sell Gibson and Maytag appliances.
Percy Haggerman Res
The Sentinel, May 13, 1964
A carry-in dinner and family reunion was held on Mother’s Day at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Percy Haggerman in honor of Mrs. Edward Sweaney. Mrs. Sweaney will celebrate her 82nd birth anniversary this month. There were five generations represented.
After the dinner a social hour and election of officers for the comng year was held. Officers elected were president, Mr. Woodie McGlothin; secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Melvin Sweaney.
Plans were made for the 1965 reunion. There were 40 present
including the guest of honor.
Present from Rochester were: Mr. & Mrs. Douglas Sweaney and sons, Ronnie and John, Mr. & Mrs. Dean Shepard and children, Loyd and Darlene, Mr. & Mrs. Walter Easterday and son, Paul, Mr. & Mrs. David Fernival, Mr. & Mrs. Loyd Reddinger, Mr. & Mrs. Earl Deeds, Mr. & Mrs. Haggerman, Mr. & Mrs. Melvin Sweaney and sons, Dennis and David and the honored guest, Mrs. Sweaney.
Out of town guests were: Mr. & Mrs. A.F. Plothow Jr., and son, Steve, Peru; Mr. & Mrs. A.F. Plothow 111 and daughter, Karen, Chicago; Mr. & Mrs. Woodie McGlothin and daughters, Vicky and Betty, Leiters Ford; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Smicker and sons, Richie and Bill, and Miss Nancy Ecker, all of Winamac, and Mr. & Mrs. Bud Gates, Kokomo.
pur Albert Talbott
The Sentinel, May 28, 1964
The Foglesong Paint and Wallpaper store, the oldest business establishment in Kewanna, has been sold to Mr. & Mrs. Albert Talbott.
The store, in business for the past 60 years, was formerly owned by the Foglesong brothers - Ralph and Harry.
Harry Foglesong died a few years ago and the business was run by Ralph Foglesong and his son, the late Elroy Foglesong.
The store has had three locations, all in Kewanna. It has been at its present site for the past 11 years.
Ralph Foglesong sold the store because of poor health.
The Talbotts have taken charge of the business.
Visits Lake Manitou
The Sentinel, June 4, 1964
Billy Crooks, who sang with the Amos Otstott band that featured teenager Marilyn Maxwell as vocalist at the Colonial Hotel and Terrace Gardens in the 1930s, has returned to Lake Manitou “to get his batteries recharged.”
Now free-lance sports broadcaster and photographer, Crooks is spending a few days fishing at the lake after working at the Indianapolis “500” during the Memorial Day weekend.
He’ll leave Friday for Milwaukee to cover a 100-mile race.
Crooks appeared with Otstott’s band at the Colonial in 1937, when Miss Maxwell, accompanied by her mother, was with the organization. She went on to fame as a movie actress and entertainer.
Some time ago, Crooks and Miss Maxwell met for the first time in several years while she was on locaton for a movie. He mentioned he planned to attend the 500-Mile Race at Indianapolis and she said, “If you happen to get up to Rochester, please remember me to all my friends there.”
The appeal of Lake Manitou kept Crooks in this area after Otstott’s band left. He remained to work for Colonial owner A.C. Bradlay for about a year.
He moved on and subsequently learned the broadcasting and photography business. He lives in Encino, Cal., but travels widely throughout the U.S. to major sports events.
At the Indianapolis “500” he worked with the Studebaker-Novi crew and his red 1964 Pontiac convertible is distinguished by several STP decals.
DEAN MILK CO
Thomas Rose, Promoted
The Sentinel, June 9, 1964
Thomas Rose, 404 Clay street, took over new duties as plant superintendent at Dean Milk company here Monday, Bill Paasch, plant manager, announced today
Plant foreman since 1960, Rose replaces Richard Miller, who resigned to accept other employment.
Rose and his wife, Nancy, have four children. He is a 1954 graduate of Rochester high school and has been with Dean Milk since December of 1954.
School Door Canteen
To Be a Parking Lot
The Sentinel, June 10, 1964
Plans for a free off-street parking lot near the downtown district of Rochester moved ahead today following their approval by the board of trustees of the Rochester Community schools.
The board, at its regular meeting Tuesday noon, agreed to the use of the former School Door Canteen property at Seventh and Jefferson streets for the parking lot. This is located one block west of Main street.
School board and city officials had met earlier to discuss joint efforts to bring about the parking facilities.
School trustees agreed Tuesday to tear down the brick building now on the site. It originally was a private residence, later was used as a school Door Canteen and last as kindergarten quarters before the
new elementary schools were built here.
The building is in no further use to the school corporation. Erstwhile plans to utilize it as an administration center came to naught because estimates of its remodeling proved prohibitive.
Superintendent John Davisson will contact persons concerning the cost of immediately razing of the building. The board’s only stipulation in making the decision was that the lot be put into use this year.
Mayor Harrison Halterman said today that the city intends to see that this is done, yet this summer. He emphasized that there would be no meters on the lot, which can park at least 35 cars. The city will fill the building excavation, level the area, blacktop it and place entrance and exit off Jefferson street. The Mayor said that no tax funds will be used, enough money being available in the off-street parking fund to pay for the improvements.
Lease arrangements are to be worked out between the school and city. School authorities will retain ownership, since future school-hour use of the area might become necessary.,
In such case, Davisson said, there would be no interference with normal parking utilization of the lot during business hours.
This will give the city a fourth off-street parking lot. One is located off Main at Seventh street and is metered, another is in use for free off Madison street under the city water tower and a second free lot is on the east side of the Courthouse. - - - - -
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, June 11, 1964
The annual Alber reunion was held Sunday at Rochester City Park. The group enjoyed the basket dinner after prayer by Calvin Alber.
After the dinner a business meeting was held with the president L.G. Alber in charge. The secretary Mrs. Marjorie Cauffman, read the report of last year’s reunion. Two dollars were presented Mrs. Trella Dague for being the oldest one present and Sally Cauffman received the one dollar gift given to the youngest. The officers were retained for another year. They are: L.G. Alber, president and Mrs. Marjorie Cauffman as secretary and treasurer.
Those present were Mr. & Mrs. L.G. Alber and Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Alber and family of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Cauffman and family of New Carlisle; Mrs. Trella Dague, Mr. & Mrs. Ivan Dague, Mr. & Mrs. Joe Dague and Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Alber, all of near
Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs.Calvin Alber of Walton; Mr. & Mrs. Ramon Alber and daughters of Leesburg, Mr. & Mrs. Addison Alber and family of Tempe, Arizona, also Philip Alber, who has just returned from Tempe and Larry Alber, who recently returned home after being in Newfoundland for 18 months and has completed four years Air Force service; Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber and Mr. & Mrs. Dick Alber and family of Rochester.
The reunion will be held at the same place next year and at the same time, the first Sunday in June.
Bert Gillespie Res
The Sentinel, June 19, 1964
Cliff McKee at Royal Center was elected president and Mrs. Joe Ball of Michigan City, secretary, at the annual McKee reunion which was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Bert Gillespie in Kewanna.
A beautiful carry-in dinner was served at noon. After the business meeting several games of horse shoe were played.
Those attending were Mr. & Mrs. Plech and children, Mrs. Donis Byers and Mr. & Mrs. Robert McKee and children, all of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Joe Ball and Vivin Geiger, Michigan City; Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Kistler and son, Greentown; Mr. & Mrs. Cliff McKee and Lewis McKee, Royal Center; Mr. & Mrs. Bill Owen, Winamac; Mr. & Mrs. Lee Sommers and Mr. & Mrs. Ed Sayers, Star City; Mrs. Hattie McKee, Mr. & Mrs. Oscar Monesmith and Mrs. Maude O’Mara, all of Rochester; and Mr. & Mrs. Richard Sommers and sons and Mr. & Mrs. Guy Smith of Kewanna.
Mr. & Mrs. Robert Gillespie of Madison, Wis., called Tuesday in the homes of his uncles, Bert, Warren and Van Gillespie. They were enroute to their home after being in Indianapolis to attend the 25th wedding anniversary of his brother and wife, Dr. & Mrs. Charles F. Gillespie. They also visited his mother, Mrs. Lillie Gillespie, while in Indianapolis.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, June 23, 1964
The annual MacLain family reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park.
Those present were: Mr. & Mrs. Otto MacLain, Mr. & Mrs. Cal MacLain, Mrs. Mattie Rainey, Mr. & Mrs. Gary Edwards and
son, Mr. & Mrs.. Paul Rainey and son, Mr. & Mrs. Lawrence MacLain and family and Mr. & Mrs. Harold Clevenger and family, all of Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Cecil Hines and family, Mr. & Mrs. Bill Hatch and family, all of Royal Center; Mr. & Mrs. Jonas Stutzman and family of Plymouth.
Also, Mrs. Lee Fry and family, Mrs. Jack Waltz and family and Mr. & Mrs. Loren Fry and family, all of Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. Harold Sutton and family of Grass Creek; Mr. & Mrs. Robert J. Wagoner and daughter of Rochester; Orren Siders of Fletchers Lake, and Mr. & Mrs. Jack Shubat and daughter of Oak Park, Ill.
There were nine of Mr. & Mrs. MacLain’s 13 children prsent along with 34 of their 56 grandchildren and eight of the 15 great-grandchildren. In the afternoon one granddaughter and four great-grandchildren of Ott MacLain were present.
CHALK & CUE
Delp, Sole Owner
The Sentinel, July 3, 1964
Robert Delp has purchased the interests of his partners - Fred Brown, Joe Quick and Dick Newell - in The Chalk & Cue recreation center, 806 Main street, Delp announced today.
The center, at which pocket billiards and table tennis are played, will retain the same name.
Delp said future plans call for establishing pocket billiards and table tennis leagues for men, women, boys and girls, “date nights” and “father and son nights” and an appearance by a woman professional pocket billiards player.
Nellie Charters Res
The Sentinel, July 6, 1964
The fourth Adam Zartman Sr., reunion was held recently at the home of Mrs. Nellie Charters, RR 2, Rochester.
A total of 36 members and guests enjoyed a carry-in dinner on the lawn.
Present were: The fourth Adam Zartman Sr., Vernon, Mich.; Marvin Perigrine, Niles, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Zartman and family, Mr. & Mrs. Michael Zartman and family, Mr. & Mrs. Victor Zartman and family, Joe Hecktor and Mr. & Mrs. Richard Green and family, all of Rochester.
Also, Mrs. Mary Zartman, Mentone; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Calhoun and daughter and Mr. & Mrs. Dean Zartman, all of Plymouth;
Mr. & Mrs. Garland Maxwell and sons, Akron; and Mr. & Mrs. Adam Zartman and Shirley, Kewanna, and the hostess.
Games of badmitton, volley ball, cards and horseshoes were played.
The Sentinel, July 7, 1964
Chris Schenkel, one of the nation’s leading television sports commentators, is vacationing with his family the remainder of this week at Lake Manitou.
Schenkel, his wife, Fran, and children, Tina, 8; Ted, 6; and John, six months, are residing at the Willard Redman cottage on Country Club drive.
Schenkel is a free-lance broadcaster who provides TV commentary at most of the nation’s largest sporting events for the Columbia Brodcasting System. He also appears in numerous television commercials. His next assignment is to cover the PGA golf tournament at Columbus, O., next week.
He is a native of Bippus, in Huntington county, and visited Lake Manitou occasionally in his youth. His brother, Philip, is on the administrative staff of the Indiana Metal Products here.
The Schenkels reside in New York City.
Jesse Thompson Res
The Sentinel, July 7, 1964
A family reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Jesse Thompson at Akron. This was the first time in 20 years the entire family had been together.
Present were: Mr. & Mrs. Earl Thompson and family, Adelphia, Md.; Mr. & Mrs. Edward Leininger and son, Venice, Cal.; Mr. & Mrs. Jesse Thompson Jr. and son, Mr. & Mrs, Donald Kilmer, all of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Denny Hoover and son, Rantoul, Ill.;
Also, Mr. & Mrs. Glen Hoover and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Max Shultz and daughters, Kenton Hoover and Sharron Kindig, all of Rochester.
Afternoon callers were: Mr. & Mrs. Floyd Burbu, Toledo, O. Mr. & Mrs Clarion Hunter, Silver Lake; Mrs. David Hunter, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Norman Thompson, Roann; and Mrs. Lester Hartzler and granddaughter, Disko.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 9, 1964
The Taylor reunion was held recently at the City Park with two families from the opposite sides of the U.S. present. The Herbert Gillilands from Alaska, and Mrs. Edward Nils and family from Florida.
Others present were: Mr. & Mrs. Joe Harter and family of St. Louis; Mr. & Mrs. Cecil Taylor, Mt. Sterling, O.; Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Surface, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Conaway, Mr. & Mrs. Edward Pawlick and Miss Diane Turek, all of Michigan City.
Also, Howard Gilliland and family, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Wilbur Harter, Akron, and Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Largen, South Bend.
MT. ZION REUN
Van Duyne Co.
The Sentinel, July 9, 1964
The seventh annual reunion of the pupils and teachers of the old Mt. Zion one-room school was held at the Van Duyne Block and Gravel company grounds July 4 with 54 in attendance.
A community dinner was served at noon. Leroy Garner gave Grace before the meal.
The regular business meeting was conducted by the president, Mrs. Josephine Swihart.
The same officers were elected and the afternoon was spent visiting and enjoying pictures of former reunions shown by John Dixon of Elkhart.
Prizes were presented to the six former teachers present. They were Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn, Fred Deardoff, Ray Shelton, Darle Pfeiffer and Fred Van Duyne. The youngest pupil, Mrs. Edna Wood Goodyear of Churubusco, was also awarded a prize.
Ice cream was served during the afternoon.
Those present from a distance were: Mrs. Doris Flynn, Helena, Mont.; Joe E. Dixon and Jimmy Boyd, Groveland, Fla.; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Deardorff, Richmond; Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn, Marion; Mr. & Mrs. Darle W. Pfeiffer and Mrs. Myrtle Terry, all of New Carlislle; Mr. & Mrs. Henry Dixon, Auburn; Mrs. Josephine Swihart and John Dixon, Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. Leston Goodyear, Churubusco; Mrs. Randy Masterson and daughters, Noblesville; and Mrs. Elston Holdread and son, Plymouth.
Local persons attending were: Marie Weaver, Pearl Moore and daughter, Clarice, Mrs. Ed Fishback, Mrs. Ethel Sroufe, Mrs. Mary Braden, Mr. & Mrs. Joe Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Shelton, Mr. &
Mrs. Ralph Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. V. Leroy Garner, Mr. & Mrs. Robert M. Zeller, Mr. & Mrs. Roscoe Conrad, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Van Duyne, Lucille Macy, Susan Crill, Mrs. Harold Beaudoin, Mr. & Mrs. Howard King, Carol King, Mrs. Della Pontius, Mrs. Lloyd Pickens, Mr. & Mrs. Lon Zimmerman, Mrs. Emma Weaver and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne.
The Sentinel, July 15, 1964
Although it has been closed for 52 years, the Rochester college still has an emotional hold on its alumni. Sunday, 64 school mates of 50 years and more ago renewed acquaintances and old friends met once again.
There was much rejoicing, many “do you remember this or that” and “were you there when the boy climbed the gresed flagpole to take down the Rochester high school flag which was above the American Flag?”
Dinner was served on long tables with baskets of blue, containing blue and old gold flowers, the Rochester college colors.
The Rev. Clyde R. Walters said grace before the dinner and during the dinner hour band music was played by four members of the Rochester high school band.
John Savage, president of the alumni group, presided. The program was opened by singing of “America the Beautiful” led by V.L. Barker with Mrs. Ray Myers at the organ. Prayer was by Mr. Barker.
Charles Lucas of Knox gave the welcoming talk. A vote of thanks was extended to the Fulton County Conservation club hosts and co-workers for the delicious dinner and efficient service.
Mrs. Dee Berrier read a poem reminding the group of younger days and also of the declining years. The secretary and treasurer reports were read by Mrs. Arhur B. Shore. Letters, cards and telegrams were read from absent members. Roll was answered by giving maiden name, present name and address and incidents of “ye old college days.”
Mrs. Eula Berrier read the names of alumni members who passed away since the last reunion and read a poem in commemoration of the deceased members.
Mrs. Myers played on the organ “As the Sun Goes Down.” Members deceased since the last meeting: Mr. & Mrs. Estil Bryant, Elmer Norris, Mrs. Elmer Gordon, Adda Sanders, Earl Troutman,
Clara Burkett, Mrs. Geneva Wylie, Dr. Harry Mackey, Walter T. Meyer of Everett, Wash.
The following officers were reelected: John Savage, president; Blaine Hurst, vice-president; Mrs. Arthur B. Shore, secretary and treasurer, and Miss Edna Sheets, vice secretary and treasurer.
The meeting was adjourned after singing “Auld Lang Syne” and “God Be With You Till We Meet Again.” Prayer was by the Rev. Walters.
The next meeting will be July 13, 1965, at the Conservation clubhouse on the Tippecanoe river.
Those attending: From Rochester - Rev. & Mrs. Clyde R. Walters, Ray & Arlene Myers, Mrs. Charles Stahl, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McVay, Belva T. Miller, Mrs. Ada Sherbondy, Miss Edna Sheets, Clarence Adamson, Mrs. Eula Berrier, Mr. & Mrs. Hugh McMahan, Mrs. Pearl Hiland, Mrs. Fred Alexander, Lucille Leonard, Blanche King, Emily Von Ehrenstein, Mr. & Mrs. John Cessna, Mr. & Mrs. Mahlon Bair, Mr. & Mrs. George Gould, Dow Haimbaugh, Mrs. Arthur B. Shore. Sulvia Jewell.
Mr. & Mrs. John Savage, Mr. & Mrs. Russell H. Smith, all of Macy; Mr. & Mrs. Roy Gasaway and Mrs. R.C. Harrison, all of Peru; Mrs. Edna Burns, North Manchester; Mrs. Golden Pollen, Kewanna; Drs. Roy and Olea Koffel and Mrs. John Kroft, all of Logansport; Mrs. Mae Day, Mrs. Lola Brown, Mrs. Rae Wildermuth, all of Akron; Mrs. Grace Stinson, Athens; Dessa Busenburg, Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. Wallace Knapp and Mr. & Mrs. W.R. McClary, South Bend.
V.L. Barker, Huntington, W. Va.; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Lucas, Knox; Ray Mow, Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Earl Hicks, Kokomo; Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn, Marion; and Mr. & Mrs. E.C. Carvey, Converse.
The Sentinel, July 28, 1964
Dr. & Mrs. John Guttman and family, Wakarusa, were hosts to the Metzger families at a carry-in dinner Sunday.
Attending were: Mr. & Mrs. Tom Allred and family, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Harvey Gifford and family, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Renkenberger and son, Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. G.E. Metzger, Mr. & Mrs. David Metzger, Fred Byer and Sam Woods, all of Kewanna.
Also, Mrs. Ana Allen, Winamac; Mrs. Robert Metzger and family, Monticello; Mrs. Bertha Urbin, Robert Urbin and Sue Brink, Walkerton; Mrs. Ruth Hughes, Mr. & Mrs. Dick Nyrges and family, Mr. & Mrs. Bill Metzger and son, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Phillips and
family and Mr. & Mrs. Dave Lieberman and family, all of South Bend; Mrs. D’Maris Metzger, Columbia City and Mr. & Mrs. George Metzger and family, Minneapolis, Minn.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 29, 1964
Members of the Stephen Fansler family gathered at the Rochester City Park July 26 for the annual reunion. There were 56 present.
Families were present from Logansport, Hammond, Royal Center, Gary, Medaryville, Rochester and Niles, Mich.
A carry-in dinner was served at noon and the afternoon was spent socially.
FANSLER LBR CO
Pur Brubaker & Miller
The Sentinel, July 30, 1964
Purchase of the Fansler Lumber Company Inc., west of the Rochester airport, was announced today by Claude Brubaker Jr. and Dick A. Miller.
There will be no change in operation of the firm and it will continue under the same name.
Brubaker, 923 Jackson Blvd., has been office manager of the company 18 years. Miller, who has been yard manager 10 years, has been associated with the lumber company 17 years. Miller resides on RR 2, Rochester.
Former owners of the company are Arthur and Dorothy Fansler, who founded it in 1940. The Fanslers also developed the Manitou Heights subdivision and will continue to be associated with the development of the addition.
Brubaker is a native of Rochester, graduate of Rochester high school and of the Chicago College of Commerce. He and his wife, Kathryn, have one daughter, Cathy. Miller, a graduate of Kewanna high school, has lived in Rochester since 1945. He and his wife, Irene, have a son, Terry, and daughter, Deborah.
Akron City Park
The Sentinel, July 31, 1964
The ninth annual Arter family reunion was held Sunday in the Akron City Park. A bounteous dinner was served at noon.
During the afternoon Fred Barr, the president, conducted a business meeting. Mr. & Mrs. Dewey Merely were elected president and secretary.
After the business session ice cream and cake were served to the following: Ila Basler and Berta Weaver, Clinton, O.; Mr. & Mrs. James Johnson, Francis Dittmer and Pearl Sense, all of Canal Fulton, O.; Mr. & Mrs. Darrel Rice and daughter, Hartford City; Mr. & Mrs. Phil McCarter and family, Converse; Mr. & Mrs. Charles L. Miller, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Paul Shafer and family, Warsaw; Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Chapman and family, Laketon.
Also, Mrs. William Barr and children, Hammond; Mr. & Mrs. Esta Studebaker, North Manchester; Mrs. Lois Huff, Mr. & Mrs. Frederick Hubbard and family, Mr. & Mrs. Fred Barr, Mrs. Gail McCarter, Mrs. Castle hire, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. John Eads, Atwood; Mr. & Mrs. Bob Kindig, Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. Ed Gray, Phil Gray, Martha Kirkendall, Mr. & Mrs. Verl Rager and family and Mr. & Mrs. Dewey Merley, all of Akron.
Pur For Free Parking Lot
The Sentinel, August 5, 1964
The City and Chamber of Commerce are moving toward joint purchase of Hertha’s Place, rooming and boarding house at 716 Madison street, for the location of a free parking lot.
Don Cook, City Council representative on the Chamber’s off-street parking committee said Tuesday that heirs of the late Hertha Graeber have accepted the city-Chamber offer of $5,500 for the property. Tenants already have been given notice to move and possession is to be granted Sept. 1.
The dwelling house is to be demolished and the area asphalted. Free parking for 14 to 18 cars can be obtained, he said.
The property is separated by an alley from another city parking lot, underneath the downtown water tower.
TALMA FASTENER CO
The Sentinel, August 12, 1964
Harry Wink, 1504 Monroe street, today announced his resignation as assistant to the general manager of Indiana Metal Products plant, north of the city on U.S. 31.
Wink said that he will assume similar duties at a new Fulton county plant which is to be started soon. It will be known as the Talma Fastener Corporation and will be operated in the Rochester Machinery and Supply building at Talma. - - - - -
Wink had been with Indiana Metal 16 years, moving to Rochester eight years ago from Tippecanoe. He and his wife are the parents of two married daughters and a son, Michael, at home.
Owners Discount Corp
Opening Office Here
The Sentinel, August 12, 1964
Owners Discount Corporation of Elkhart today announced that it will open a small loan and finance office in Rochester about Sept. 15 at 122 East Eighth street.
Remodeling work now is in process at the location, which formerly was occupied by Doering Radio and Television.
Among the improvements to be made are the installation of new building fronts for the Owners Discount office at 120 East Eighth street. The latter is occupied by Spohn insurance agency and Credit Bureau of Fulton County Inc. Owner of the building is C.H. Haskett.
Owners Discount’s home office is at Elkhart. The firm has other branches at South Bend, Warsaw, Wabash, Columbia City, Nappanee, Goshen, and next month also will open one at North Manchester.
SUPER DOLLAR MKT
Pur Snyder’s Mkt Inc
The Sentinel, August 15, 1964
The purchase of the Super Dollar Market, 1120 East Ninth street, by Snyder’s Market Inc., of North Manchester was announced today by Paul Snyder, president of the latter firm.
The Snyder family owns and operates a new supermarket in North Manchester and has been active in the retail food business for three generations.
The Rochester store is to remain a member of the Super Dollar food organization which has joined with many other large supermarkets in a strong progress to bring shopper better values and
service. - - - - -
Patrick Snyder, treasurer of the North Manchester organization, will becme resident owner of the store and plans to move his family to Rochester. All personnel at the store will remain, said Snyder, and no changes are contemplated in the foreseeable future.
Hiland-Van Duyne Reun
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, August 17, 1964
The 41st Hiland-Van Duyne reunion was held at Rochester City Park. There was a small attendance to enjoy a basket dinner after prayer by Ray Marshall.
A business meeting was held after the dinner. It was voted to have the same officers for 1965: N.M. Alber, president; and Marie Alber, secretary-treasurer. The president engaged the same table, No. 7, for next year.
Those present were: Mrs. Gertie Hiland of Kewanna; Mrs. Nettie Haschell and Mr. & Mrs. Edwin Olson of Winamac; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Marshall and sons, Steven and David of Bremen; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Cauffman and family of New Carlisle with their son, Jon, home for hs first leave from San Diego, Cal., naval base; Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Alber and son, Greg, of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber of Rochester.
Afternoon guests were Mr. & Mrs. Ramon Alber of Leesburg; Mr. & Mrs. Wilson Holderman of Plymouth and Mr. & Mrs. Glen Holderman of South Bend. - - - - -
PRESTON, MR. & MRS.
Enjoying Home Life
The Sentinel, August 17, 1964
Actor Robert Preston may never sign another screen contract, he says. He likes his home too much.
He and his wife, Catherine, really live it up at their home in Rye, N.Y., particularly in the summer. This is something he culdn’t do if he were at the beck and call of studios, he points out.
Mrs. Preston is the former Catherine Feltus of Bloomington, who is well-known by many Rochester persons. She spent many of her childhood summers at the home of her aunt, Mrs. Judson Buchanan, on the east shore of Lake Manitou.
The two met when they were fellow students at Pasadena Playhouse and will celebrate their 24th wedding anniversary this year.
“I love all the work of a house, mowing lawns, pruning trees,
carrying logs, filling up holes, patching sheds, and it’s not easy for an actor to have that kind of hard life. You’ve got to plan it,” he says, laughing.
A tremendously popular fellow with a booming voice, Preston has the kind of ruggedness that needs an earthy background. He is one of the most virile looking actors on stage or screen.
His home, a carriage house on part of an old estate in Rye, is on a mill pond where “about 250 ducks migrate,” he says, about 45 minutes from New York.
He recently wound up a Broadway run in “Nobody Loves an Albatrss” and is preparing for a title role in the musical, “Ben Franklin In Paris.”
“Bob plays energetic roles like this one all the time,” says his wife. “This house gives him the kind of outlet he needs, and he loves four seasons, something we didn’t have in California.”
Even when he’s been on location making a picture, he’s just happy to know the house “will be there when I get back,” he says.
“Once a week I have one whole glorious day to do whatever I like around the place. It’s something special for Catherine and me. Everyone leaves us alone and we stay free of all social commitments. Our hours are too different to conform to a community pattern,” he explains.
But when the Prestons extend an invitation, they are sticklers for punctuality.
“When I invite people for 7 o’clock, I like them to show up at 7,” he says. “I like candles lit, fire lit in winter, everything on time, and not too many cocktails before dinner. I want everyone to enjoy what Catherine has prepared,” he says.
In California, an invitation meant “be an hour late,” he says, and they startled one well-known actress by actually being on time. “She was flabbergasted.”
They don’t have a maid in their seven-room house because they decided “we wanted privacy more than help,” he says.
Catherine cooks and is so good, “all the restaurant men we know try to steal her recipes,” he says proudly. He does the outdoor barbecues - steaks or chicken with garlic and butter sauce.
“I learned to cook when I helped my father sell a line of cookware at home parties. We’d cook a whole meal for 14 to 18 people. I liked that, but not the cleaning up I had to do as the swamper,” he says.
A do-it-yourselfer, Preston is building some chairs in the old cow barn used as a tool shed.
Unlike California where they had a swimming pool, he takes a shower by hanging the hose over an apple tree. “There’s a lot of privacy when leaves are on the trees,” he explains.
Catherine has a green thumb and even her pumpkins are monsters. Last year she pollinated the seeds by going from flower to flower with a little brush becase the “bees seemed to be ignoring the seeds,” she says.
Preston may be sour on movie contracts but he likes to do occasional movies. His current, “All the Way Home,” is a portrayal of the life of the father of James Agee, who wrote the Pulitzer Prize autobiographical novel.
He began his Broadway career in 1951 but has had time for a few films in recent years, although he played in “The Music Man” on Broadway and in the films.
IND METAL PRODS
James L. Holland, Mgr.
The Sentinel, August 18, 1964
The appointment of James L. Holland as general manager of Indiana Metal Products plant, north of Rochester, was announced today by Ray H. Carlson, vice president of Camcar Screw and Manufacturing company at Rockford Ill. The Indiana Metal plant is a subsidiary of Camcar and a division of Textron Industries. - - - -
Holland, also today, announced that Ronald L. Garland has been named plant manager of Indiana Metal and has assumed his dties here. \- - - - -
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, August 18, 1964
The 19th annual reunion of the Fultz family was held Sunday at City Park. Descendents of Daniel and Indiana Fultz gathered for a basket dinner at noon, after which a business meeting and social hour were held.
In the afternoon, the family was pleased to have Anna Van Lue Vandegrift and husband, Harold, arrived from Saum, Minn., for the social hour. Mr. & Mrs. Charles Culp, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Edward Fultz and family, Mr. & Mrs. Nyle Jurezwsky and family, Mr. & Mrs. Donald Bruick and family, Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Falls Jr. and family, Mr. & Mrs. Herbert Fultz and son, Daniel, all of Fort Wayne also were present.
Families on hand from Rochester included Mrs. Emma Weaver,
Mrs. Mary E. Fultz, Mrs. Dessa A. Fultz, Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Braman and family, Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Dea Fultz, making a total of 51 present.
Burl Eber Res
The Sentinel, August 19, 1964
The Letha Eber family reunion was held at the Burl Eber home west of Rochester. A picnic dinner was held along with home made ice cream.
Guests were: Mr. & Mrs. Wilbur Steininger and four children, Madison, Tenn.; Mrs. Doris Edwards and two children, Battle Creek, Mich.; The Rev. & Mrs. Leonard Steininger of Colon, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Wallace and daughters, Westville; Larry Brooks, Owasso, Mich.; Miss Nancy Guy, Walton; Mr. & Mrs. Oren Mathias and Mrs. Letha Eber, Rochester.
Clyde Collins Res
The Sentinel, August 20, 1964
Sixty members of the Felder family held a reunion Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Clyde Collins at Kewanna.
Guests were present from: Vancouver, Wash.; Greenville S.C.; Berrien Springs, Mich.; Peru, Logansport, South Bend, Miamisburg, O.; Rensselaer, Fulton and Rochester.
Mrs. Ella Felder, Rochester, at 82 was the oldest present and Janet Sue Zellers of Rochester was the youngest.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, August 20, 1964
The Zellers family reunion was held Sunday at City Park with 60 present. The oldest present was Viron Zellers of Crown Point and the youngest was Lisa Williams, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Dick Williams of Kewanna.
The Dudeck family was all present, as well. Mrs. Dudeck is the former Marjorie Zellers.
Out-of-state guests were: Mr. & Mrs. Lois Zellers, Portland, Ore.; Mr. & Mrs. Phillip Zellers, Vancouver, Wash.; and Mr. & Mrs. George Miller and son of Greenville, S.C.
Edward Hoffman Res
The Sentinel, August 21, 1964
The annual reunion of the Wharton family was held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Edward Hoffman and daughters at Claypool.
At noon a basket dinner was served, grace before the meal being said by Gladys Wharton. In the afternoon a short business meeting was held. The report of the secretary, Susan Turner, was read.
Also in the afternoon a short impromptu program was given which included organ hymns by Ruth Bulger, steel guitar number by Edward Hoffman accompanied by Mrs. Hoffman and selections by Kathy Hoffman. Each number was recorded.
Those present were: Mr. & Mrs. Don Ackles and family, Niles, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Vern Wharton and Porter Wharton, Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. Harlan Wharton, Mishawaka; Mrs. Tina Wharton, Mr. & Mrs. Harvey Turner and Sandra.
Also Steve Stinson, Mr. & Mrs. Frank Van Duyne and sons of Rochester; Mrs. Ruth Bulger, Winamac; Mr. & Mrs. Lothaire Lake, North Judson; Robert V. Wharton San Francisco, and Robert J. Wharton, Norfolk, Va.; Mrs. Thelma Wharton, Claypool, and Gladys Wharton, Kewanna.
The 1965 reunion will be at the home of Gladys Wharton in Kewanna.
After the dismissal Mr. & Mrs. Vern Wharton took their son, Robert Wharton, to Bloomington where for the next two weeks he will attend graduate school of savings and loans. He will return to Elkhart to spend the next weekend with his parents before flying back to California. Robert Wharton was home on furlough from the East where he is stationed with the Navy.
Melita Snyder Res
The Sentinel, Sept. 2, 1964
It was a pleasant Sunday afternoon Aug. 16, as 30 descendents of James Wright, Fulton county pioneer, gathered at the home of Mrs. Melita Snyder, 403 West Ninth street, for the second yearly reunion of the Wright family. A greater number of those present represented the Jane Wright Perschbacher branch of the family.
Jane, the daughter of James, was the first white child born in Fulton county. A beautiful young lady, she married George Perschbacher April 2, 1857, and died Feb. 2, 1887. They were the parents of five daughters and one son. Her brother, Dr. Samuel M.
Wright, practiced medicine in Denver and Peru. He was born in 1847 and died in 1926. His wife was Harriet Warner Cool of Miami County, daughter of Rev. William Cool, missionary to the Miami Indians who was born in 1840 and died in 1920. They were the parents of three daughters and three sons.
A Sunday afternoon buffet dinner was served at Mrs. Snyder’s home. Following this each of the cousins present told of their childhood experiences in Indiana and commented on the family heritage. Plans were made by co-chairman, Mrs. Melita Snyder and Steve Wright, to hold the 1965 reunion the third Sunday in August at the City Park.
Present at the reunion were: Mr. & Mrs. Robert Wright, Bedford, O.; Mr. & Mrs. Delbert Myers of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Dow Haimbaugh of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Harold Haskett of Elmhurst, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Merrill Waltz, Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. Bob Kesler and children, Susan, Steve and Nancy, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Stephen Wright of Collinsville, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Miles Perschbacher of Plymouth; Mrs. Blanche E. Wright and Franklin Miles Wright of Collinsville, Ill.; Mrs. Glen Shively of Peru; Mr. & Mrs. Ernest Bonine and daughter, Harriet, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Mahlon Bair, Rochester; Mrs. Wreathyl Perschbacher Bonfield, Winona Lake; Mrs. Edna Carey, Mentone; Mrs. Melita K. Snyder, Rochester.
Celebrate Golden Wedding
The Sentinel, Sept. 4, 1964
Mr. & Mrs. Herbert E. Belding of Pico Rivers, Cal., were honored recently on their 50th wedding anniversary at a reception given by their three children. The reception was held at the home of their daughter and her husband, Mr. & Mrs. William Shively at Whittier, Cal.
Approximately 75 guests offered congratulations to the couple. Hosts at the affair were Mrs. Eleanor Shively, Donald Belding of Whittier, and Mrs. Florence Soule of Burbank, and their families including the six grandchildrn of the pair.
Mr. & Mrs. Belding, who have lived in Whittier since 1941, were married Augutt 13, 1914 in Macy, Ind., where they owned a restaurant before going to California. During the second world war Belding was employed at Norris Thermador where he worked until his retirement eight years ago.
He is a member of the Masonic Lodge, and Mrs. Belding is a member of Eastern Star. At the reception entertainment was provided
by a barbershop quartet singing songs from the past 50 years and other appropriate numbers.
Among the guests at the reception were Mrs. Florence Rossie, Belding’s sister of Poughkeepsie, N.Y., his brother, Frank Belding of Orlando, Fla., and Mrs. Belding’s sister, Mrs. Florence DuBois of Macy and her granddaughter, Miss Becky Roberts of Rensselaer.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, Sept. 9, 1964
A total of 38 relatives gathered at the Rochester City Park Aug. 30 for the Van Duyne-Shelton Reunion. After enjoying a delicious dinner, the afternoon was spent socially. They hope to meet again at the same place, the last Sunday in August next year.
Those persons present were: Mr. & Mrs. Max Burch, North Manchester; Mrs. Fannie Sturgeon and daughter Jane, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Donald Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Fisher and children, Mr. & Mrs. Frank Van Duyne and children, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Van Duyne, Mrs. Lucile Macy, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Dean Macy, Mr. & Mrs. Elston Holdread and son, Mrs. Mary Zimmerman and children, Carl Rose, Mr. & Mrs. Tom Rose and family, and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne.
OWNERS DISCOUNT CO
The Sentinel, Sept. 24, 1964
Joe Bostian has assumed his duties as manager of the Rochester office of Owners Discount Corporation, which has opened for business in remodled offices at 122 East Eighth street.
Home office of the firm is Elkhart and this is the eighth branch office to be opened in Northern Indiana. The company deals in commercial, and personal loans, auto financing and leasing and FHA improvement loans.
Bostian, a native of Elkhart, has been with Owners Discount two years. He and his wife, Lois, and two sons reside on the west shore of Lake Manitou.
Clay Floor Covering
The Sentinel, Oct. 14, 1964
Clay Floor Covering, 820 Main street, will have its grand opening Thursday, Friday and Saturday in remodeled quarters formerly occupied by Sara’s Tot Shop.
The business is owned by Max and Joyce Clay, who purchased the carpeting, rug, floor tile and linoleum business of Camblin’s furniture store in July, 1963. They operated the business in Camblin’s basement until last Aug. 1, when they occupied their present store quarters.
The 20 by 130 feet store has a basement so that a considerable amount of stock is kept on hand.
Clay was employed at Camblin’s for five years and at Stewart’s Supply company here for 11 years before going into business.
Working with the Clays are his brother-in-law, Dick Alber, who installs tile; Clay’s step-father, Orval Ritter, and his sister, Mrs. Margaret Burkett.
NICKEL PLATE R.R.
To Be Dissolved
The Sentinel, Oct. 14, 1964
The Nickel Plate railroad will be dissolved Friday in a merger which will combine three major railroads and three minor roads.
The Nickel Plate, which has operated with headquarters at Cleveland since 1882, will become the Nickel Plate region of the Norfolk & Western. N&W directors will elect a vice-president to head this region.
Included in the merger are the N&W, Nickel Plate and Wabash, along with the Akron, Canton & Youngstown, the Pittsburgh & West Virginia and the Sandusky Line.
The roads comprise 7,900 miles of track and have assets of $1.9 billion. The roads operate in 14 states and Ontario. The unified properties extend from Buffalo and Norfolk in the East to Cleveland, Chicago, St. Louis and Omaha.
Herman H. Pevler, president of the N&W, will be chief executive officer of the entire new system and will operate from his present hadquarters at Roanoke, Va.
By Waldo Adams
The Sentinel, Oct. 30, 1964
Cincinnatus Heiner (Joaquin) Miller, the noted California poet, was born in Indiana and spent his boyhood there until he was 13 years of age. His boyhood years may be grouped into four divisions around the four places he and his family lived in that state.
The first period concerns his birth and babyhood near Liberty, Ind. He stated that he was born in 1841, but evidence (1) proved the date to be March 10, 1839. He lived there until late in 1840. The second period is concerned with his home in Randolph county from 1840 to sometime in 1842. The third period of his life was spent in Grant county and covers the years from 1842 to 1848. The fourth and last period of his life was spent in Fulton County, Ind., and covers the years 1848 to 1852.
On March 17, 1852, the family left Fulton county to begin the great trek to Oregon and the Far West where Joaquin was to make much of his reputation as an author and poet.
Several reasons may be advanced for the presence of the Miller family in Fulton county. The one usually given by students is that the Millers were already on the road to the West and passed through Fulton County because of the location there of that great artery of transportation through Northern Indiana - the Michigan Road. One author (2) says they were on the way to Chicago when they passed through Fulton county.
There is considerable merit in this belief, because the Michigan Road did end at Michigan City, Ind., a city which still is only 50 miles east of Chicago, one of the great Jumping-off places for the Great West. The fact that the Millers actually left for St. Louis, Mo., when they did go in 1852 may indicate some change in their plans while passing through Fulton county. This raises some question about Chicago being their objective when they left Grant county in 1848.
The road taken by the Millers to Fulton county from Grant county was that one which is still in use from Peru, the old South Mississinewa River Road. From Peru they came up the old Peru road to Rochester. These northwest-running roads were traveled by pioneer settlers from central Indiana to the north and northwest parts of the state after the Indian lands were opened for purchase and settlement following the removal of the Indians forcibly in 1832 - a date much later than that for the removal of the Indians from Central Indiana.
Joaquin’s father, Hulings Miller, had come to Grant county in 1842 and purchased 160 acres of former Indian lands there from the
United States for one and fourth dollars per acre. This land formed a part of the old Mississinewa Indian Reserve which had been opened for settlement. (3) The tract purchased was in Grant county near Jalapa. (4) The only town then was Marion. Hulings taught a school in Pipe Creek, worked in a sawmill near his cabin, and was a Justice of the Peace. (5)
Another reason for their being in Fulton county may be hazarded. When Hulings Miller came to Fulton county he immediately purchased former Indian lands which had been opened for settlement only a few years earlier. It is reasonable to suppose that Hulings was intrested in purchasing former Indian lands because he had made a handsome profit (6) when he sold (7) that kind of land in Grant county. The land he had owned earlier in Randolph county, was likewise former Indian lands. When the Millers left Grant county it was common knowledge that there was good Indian land to be obtained for $1.25 per acre in the Tippecanoe country.
A further reason for the Millers coming to Fulton county may have been the state of education in that county. Hulings Miller was the best educated person in the settlement in Grant county. He taught school there as he had formerly in Randolph county. He was also a Justice of the Peace there. The title of Squire was to stay with him for the rest of his life.
Fulton county did not have public schools in 1848 but it did have small one-room subscription schools. Teaching school offered a little cash income to an educated man. There is some evidence (8) that Miller learned of a school in Fulton county that lacked a teacher. This fact probably influenced him to locate in Newcastle township, about seven miles north-east of Rochester. There is no doubt of his passing through Rochester on his way to the new home. Coming from Peru he would have had to come through the little village of Rochester, two miles south of the bridge across the Tippecanoe river. The school was on the north side of this river.
When the Millers came the river was in flood stage and the only bridge for miles in each direction was that on the Old Michigan Road. This bridge was a part of its construction which was completed in 1837. (8a)
The Miller family was not a poor one when it came to Fulton county. Hulings had made a profit of nearly $1,000 from the sale of his land in Grant county. (9) He had also received an indemnity payment of $200 for the destruction of his sheep by Indian dogs through the influence of Hugh McCullogh, an Indian trader. (10) To these sums he added smaller amounts of hard cash from his work as a
teacher and as Justice of the Peace.
The mother and three boys were also very industrious and earned a little cash from the sale of maple sugar and from spinning and weaving of cloth. (11) The father seemed to do some selling, for there is a story of his dealing in clocks, a venture which was not profitable. It can be stated fairly that Hulings Miller ranked rather high in comparison with his neighbors when the family came to Fulton county.
Hulings Miller secired the teaching position in Newcastle township and was able to make the home close-by. He purchased 40 acres of the Culvers (12) located in the northwest one-fourth of section 15. The farm included a cabin for the family and the land (13) was planted in corn.. (14) Probably some livestock was kept, such as sheep, cattle and a horse or two. He also grew melons on the sandy loam of the farm. The melons provided the admission price to a circus (15) then showing in Rochester.
Those days on the Fulton county farm are recalled in several of Joaquin Miller’s poems which he wrote at a later date in California. One of thse poems, entitled “When Little Sister Came,” recalls the birth of his sister.
WHEN LITTLE SISTER CAME (16)
We dwelt in the woods of the Tippecanoe
In a lone lost cabin with never a view
Of the full day’s sun for a whole year through
Then with strange half-hints through the russet corn
We three were hurried one night. Next morn
There was frost on the trees and a sprinkle of snow
And tracks on the ground. We burst through the door -
A girl baby cried - and then we were four.
The circus experience referred to above is recalled in the following paragraph by Joaquin Miller at a much later date. (17)
What a whirl! What a rush and roar! The shrill
music, melody surely, over and above all the clamor.
And how the tumblers tumbled, the spotted horses cir-
cled and the painted clowns kept the center, and the
impressive ringmaster cracked his whip savagely around
and over all thngs.
I had never dreamed that there was anything waiting along the road of my coming years so grand and so glorious as this! How we did talk to mother and sister that night.
The farming operations seemed to be fairly successful for there was surplus corn. It was hauled to Logansport, (18) a distance of 30
miles. A cash corn market there was the only one for many miles around. Miller also employed several hired hands to help him and his three sons with the farm work.
Hulings Miller seemed never to have finished paying for the farm (19) which he had bought on a contract basis from the Culvers. For this reason no record of the purchase could be found in the Fulton county courthouse deed and mortgage records.
The school taught by Hulings Miller and attended by his son, Cincinnatus H. (Joaquiin) was lnown as the Wright school. Its. Location was determined with considerable accuracy because of its peculiar situation. A schoolmate stated it was located in the southeast quarter of Section 15, (20) and the farm purchased by Miller was in the northwst quarter of Section 15.
The schoolhouse was described by the schoolmate as being located across the road from the farm residence but in the southeast quarter of land owned at the time by the Wrights. Since a public road also forms the boundary and central point between the two diagonal sections, the schoiol grounds can only be at a very definite spot.
No exact date can be determined for its erection. The closest estimate seems to center around the years 1840 to 1845. It is known that it was erected before the present Wright farmstead buildings, which were built in 1852. (21)
The building was rectangular shaped and covered with sawed weather boards. It was not built of logs. It had no belfry or bells. The teacher probably had a hand bell which served the purpose of calling the pupils from play. No one could recall of a well being there. Water was probably carried from the farm homs nearby.
Mrs. Bonine (21) recalled that her father, Gorge Perschbacher, moved the school building to the Wright farmstead which he then owned, and converted it into a storage for grain. It was originally floored, having joists and foundation stones beneath. It did not have punceon floors.
She recalled the building, when used as a school, had a long wood-burning stove capable of burnng the long lengths of wood cut in those days. The building was standing and used as a storage as late as 1930. (22) Mrs. Bonine (23) confirmed the original location as described earlier by Mrs. Swanger. (19)
Mrs. Snyder, the present owner of the old Wright Farm, recalled that the second location of the building was somewhat in front of the farm home, much to her mother’s annoyance. (24) Mrs. Kiler was the daughter of Mr. Perschbacher and the mother of Mrs. Snyder.
The building was torn down in the 1930s and the materials
were used to construct a garage which still stands near the Wright farm home. Ralph Hatfield (25) of Talma recalls the old schoolhouse setting very near the old Wright home during the 1930s.
The Wright farm, now owned by Mrs. Snyder, presently is occupied by the Calvin Mikesell family. It is north of the Tippecanoe river from the Sheward bridge crossing. The Wright school was located at this T-road intersection north of the Mikesell residence, which is the intersection of County Road 375E with 550N. The Hulings Miller homestead now is the Mrs. Lloyd Ritchey farm, north of the T-intersection.
At the time the Millers came to Fulton county Joaquin was a lad of nine years. Schoolmates say he seemed eager to earn. The schools were of the subscription type and boys that age had little or no cash to pay the tuition.
George Perschbacher, (27), a schoolmate, recalled he, himself, had traded a fine fir cap the teacher, John Dawson, took a liking for in return for six weeks of schooling.
Joaquin attended the school taught by his father. Joaquin had learned to write in 1845 shortly before he had come to Fulton county. (28) His father had taught him to write in Grant county. (28) When it is recalled that “lickin and learnin” customarily went together in those early subscription schools it is no surprise to learn that Joaquin received at least one severe trashing at the hands of his father. Mrs. Swanger remembered this incident. (29)
The subjects studied by the pupils were the three Rs with spelling and geograpy taught less frequently. Saturday night spelling bees were common. Joaquin recalled that his brother, John D., was frequently a winner. (30) This could not be said for Joaquin who either could not spell or affected a phonetic type in his mature years. Slates were in common use for practice exercises but quill pens and oak-gall ink were reserved for practice exercises but quill pens and Oak-gall ink were reserved for the writing exercises. The ability to make a writing pen out of a large feather was one of the requirements for a schoolmaster of these years. The quill pen used by Joaquin is said to be located in his museum home overlooking San Francisco Bay in Oakland, Cal. (28)
His double slate was given to a schoolmate when the Miller family left for the West. The schoolmate (29) presented it to the Rochester high schoiol Library for safe-keeping. However, a fire which damaged the library in 1950 also destroyed the slate (33) It was a double type with binding aroiund the wooden frame and hinged so that the two writing surfaces could be closed like a book. (30)
Some reading materials current at that date were in the Miller home. Joaquin recalled later how his father’s reading of the experiences of John C. Fremont filled him with admiration. (16) It is true that Fremont did become his idol and ideal. A large painting of Fremont is located in the Miller Museum near Oakland, Cal.
While the Millers were living in Fulton county the War with Mexico ended and gold was discovered at Sutter’s Mill. News of these events were discussed in the Miller home, and fed the latent desire to go West, where free land was available. The news of the Whitman Indian Massacre in Oregon was also known by the Millers and is thought by some biographers (32) to have caused some postponement of the plans to trek West. Visitors to the Miller farm were excited by the tales of the gold discoveries. Joaquin recalled one of these visitors in the following sketch.. (36)
A tall dark man in buckskin came to where papa and I were splitting rails and setting the butt of his long rifle heavily on the ground and throwing his right fist away toward the West with a sweep. Shouted out “Gold! Gold! Gold! Squire they have found gold by the Wagon load in California; by the cart load by Gum. The ground is full of gold in Californy and I’m going to Californy.”
He hastened out to where the boys were plowing and followed them up in the furrow talking and gesticulating wildly as he went. At dinner we could talk, think, and eat nothing but “Californy.”
However, the fever to go West grew higher and higher. Finally Hulings Miller and his family made final preparations to go West in the spring of 1852. (37) Everything that could be turned into cash was sold and purchases were made for the long trek. Two large prairie schoioner type wagons were secured and loaded. Each wagon was pulled by four ox teams. Four horses were purchasd, two pulling a buggy or carriage in which Mother Miller and her daughter rode, one for Hulings, and the fourth was to be shared by the Miller boys and two young men helpers. (38)
A farewell party (38) was held for the Millers, and friends for miles around came to see them off, with parting gifts, goodbyes and best wishes. It was March 17, 1852, almost exactly 112 years ago as this is being written. The thrill of these days was never to be forgotten by the young Joaquin, now a boy of 13 and large for his age.
The road taken West from the little farm and school was that still in use, one mile south and west and three miles straight West to the Michigan Road. There they certainly turned souh passing through Rochester on the way to Logansport. There a road led toward Illinois. Thus the Miller family left Indiana. Their dstination was St. Louis, Mo.,
the great “jumping-off” place for the West. Joaquin later dscribed the start for the Great West in a poem called “Exodus for Oregon.” (40)
EXODUS FOR OREGON
A tale half told and hardly understood
The talk of bearded men that chanced to meet
That leaned on long quaint rifles in the wood
That looked on fellow faces spoke discreet
And low as half in doubt and in defeat
Of hope; a tale was lands and gold
That lay below the sun. Wildwinged and fleet
It spread among the swift Missouri’s bold
Unbridled men, and reached to where Ohio rolled.
The long chained lines of yoked and patient steers
Then long white trains that pointed toward the West
Beyond the savage west, the hopes and fears
Of blunt untutord men who hardly guessed
Their course, the brave and silent women dressed
In lovely attire, the boys in bands
The cheery babes that laughed at all and blesses
The doubting hearts, with laughing lifted hands!
What exodus for far untraversed lands!
The plains! The shouting drivers at the wheel
The crash of leather whips; the crush and roll
Of wheels; the groan of yokes and grinding steel
And iron chains and low! At last the whole
Vast line that reached as if to touch the goal
Began to stretch and stream away and wind
Toward the West, as if one control
Then hope loomed fair and home lay far behind
Before the boundless plain, and fiercest of their kind.
A proposal to place a suitable marker at the site of the old Wright school is under considraton by the Fulton County Historical Society. Two other Indiana counties have already erected markers.
Union county has placed a marker and named a highway for joaquin Miller. There is also a marker in Grant county near Jalapa where the Millers lived just beore coming to Fulton county.
Joaqune Miller’s home and schoiol in Fulton county probably deserve this recognition. He writes more recollections about his home along the Tippecanoe than he did about the other homes in Indiana.
He is the most illustrious poet and writer ever to have lived and received an education in Fulton county, Ind.
In Miller’s later life, he wrote an article in defense of the Mexican bandit, Joaquin Murietta, and when he published his first book he took Joaquin as a pen name. Miller is best remembered today for the poem, “Columbus.”
He ran away from home in Oregon at the age of 17 and lived in various mining camps and with the Indians in California. An Indian tribe adopted him and he married a chief’s daughter. After she was killed in an accident, Miller returned to Oregon and became a lawyer, but spent his time writing.
In 1871 he visited England, where he published his first notable collection of poems, “Songs of the Sierras.” His verses were filled with a love of the West and its romantic spirit. The poet’s picturesque Western dress, wide-brimmed hat, soft shirt and trousers tucked into high boots added to his popularity in London.
Miller worked on newspapers in New York City and Washington, D.C., upon his return to the U.S. He lived in California from 1887 until his death in 1913. His works include “Songs of the Sunlands,” “Songs of the Mxican Seas” and a novel, “The Danites.”
NOTES AND SOURCES
1. Peterson, Martin P., JOAQUIN MILLER, LITERARY
FRONTIERSMAN, p. 10
2. Peterson, Op cit p. 17
3. Peterson, Ov cit p. 14
4. Marberry, Maron W., SPLENDID POSEUR-JOAQUIN
MILLER, p. 7.
5. Peterson, Op cit p. 12.
6. Peterson, Op Cit p. 14 - 16
7. Miller Jaunita J. MY FATHER, p. 14
8. Peterson, Op cit p. 18
9. Peterson, Op cit p. 14
10 Marberry, Op cit p. 7
11 Peterson, Op cit p. 11
12 Peterson, Op cit p. 18
13 Marberry, Op cit p. 7
14 Peterson, Op cit p. 19
15 Peterson, Op cit p. 19
16 Peterson, quote Op cit p. 19
17 Peterson, quote Op cit p. 17
18 Peterson, Op cit p. 18
19 Miss Lucinda Swanger Recollections
20 Miss Swanger Recollections
21 Mrs. Harriet Bonine Recollections
22 Mrs. Meleta Snyder Recollections
23 Mrs. Bonine
24 Mrs. Snyder
25 Mr. Ralph Hatfield Recollections
26 Mrs. Snyder
27 Mr. George Perschbacher in ‘HOME FOLKS” by Marguerite Miller, p. 108
28 Bebe, Beatice, “Letters of Joaquin Miller” Frontier Magazine
X11, Jan. 1932, p. 121.
29 Miss Swanger Rcollections
30 Peterson, Op cit p. 17
31 Peterson. Op cit p. 16
32 Miss Swanger
33 Miss Rena Wright Recollections
34 Peterson, Op cit p. 16
35 Peterson, Op cit p. 17
36 Peterson, Op ci p. 18
37 Peterson, Op cit p. 7
38 Marberry, Op cit p. 8
39 Peterson, Op cit p. 21
40 Sherman, Op cit p. 166
BARR, JOHN A.
Dean, Northwestern U.
The Sentinel, Dec. 7, 1964
John A. Barr, native of Akron, has been appointed dean of the school of business at Northwestern university, Evanston, Ill.
Barr. 56, is former president of Montgomery Ward & Company and currently is serving as chairman of the board for the mail order firm.
In his new post, Barr will hold the rank of professor of business administration. J. Roscoe Miller, president of the university, said that Barr will succeed Richard Donham in the post June 1. Donham has resigned to return to teaching.
Barr has been a member of Northwestern’s board of trustees since 1957. He was an honor graduate of the Indiana university law school and practiced law at Gary before joining Ward.
Revitalized by John A. Barr
The Sentinel, Dec. 8, 1964
Akron’s John A. Barr, who assumed control of the vast Montgomery Ward & Company at a time when the merchandising firm was in deep trouble, leaves it revitalized and in an excellent competitive position.
It was announced over the weekend that Barr will relinquish the chairmanship of Montgomery Ward on June 1 to become dean of Northwestern university’s school of business.
His departure will leave Robert E. Brooker, president, as the sole chief executive officer. Brooker was one of the top men turned up by Barr in an executive search program inaugurated shortly after he took control. He and Brooker have been sharing top executive duties.
Brooker said Monday that “Mr. Barr has fulfilled his trust to stockholders and to employees as a director for 15 years and as chairman of the board for 10 years. He is leaving us at a time when employees and management have a new spirit of vitality, and at a time when the company is ably staffed in our merchandising department as well as in both our retail and catalog field organizations. We expect to accelerate the rate of improvement in our sales, earnings and services to our customers.
When the Akron-born Barr took over the huge retail and mail-order firm in 1955, no such statement as the foregoing could have been made.
In 1955, Barr was secretary of the company when a group led by Louis Wolfson, eastern industrialist, waged a proxy fight for control of Montgomery Ward. Barr stepped into the fight when Sewell Avery, aging Ward president, proved unable to do battle because of his health.
Barr stepped in as presiding officer, brought order out of chaois and stood off the company’s beseigers. Shortly thereafter, he was made chairman and chief executive officer. He went on to rebuild executive and merchandising staffs and set the company on an expansion and improvement course unknown in its history. At that time Montgomery Ward had not built a new store in 14 years.
In moving to Northwestern, Barr is opening a third career at the age of 56. Before beginning 35 years with Ward he was a lawyer in Gary. Now he takes over the N.U. School of business that has a full-time faculty of 72, with an undergraduate school on the Evanston campus and a graduate school in downtown Chicago.
He also will hold the rank of professor of business adminis- tration, with considerable practical experience to back up this title.
Dr. J. Roscoe Miller, Northwestern president, said that “Northwestern is singularly fortunate in obtainng the services of such a distinguished business leader, one who has deep and abiding academic interests.”
Barr, who has been an N.U. Trustee for seven years, said he is “looking forward to the challenge of helping one of the nation’s great universities fulfill its mission of providing ever-better academic training for the large numbers of young people who are seeking more and better education.”
Barr is a graduate of Akron high school, DePauw university and of the Indiana university schoiol of law. His mother, Mrs. Bertha Barr, resides in Akron and is visited frequently by her son. His father, Earl Barr, is deceased.
He was the guest of honor and featured speaker at the Akron high school alumni association banquet May 12, 1962. Barr and his wife reside in Winnetka, Ill. They have four children, George, a banker in Chicago, Robert, a lawyer in Evanston, Richard, with the Peace Corps in Uruguay, and Barbara, a high school student.
FULTON CO. SUN
The Sentinel, Dec. 14, 1964
The Fulton County Sun, morning daily newspaper published in Rochester, ceased publication with today’s issue. The paper, of half-tabloid size, had been published since July 24 of this year.
Lack of county support and of capital funds were given as reasons for the failure of the newspaper. Richard McKee was president of the publication and also succeeded M.L. Whittenberger as editor and publisher when the latter left the firm five weeks after its start.
FULTON CO. FAIR
The Sentinel, Dec. 14, 1964
In this fast moving age thrills come to tenagers and young people when they see the President, obtain an autograph of a movie, tv, baseball, football or basketball star, or perhaps the biggest of all, when they see and hear the Beatles.
But to those of us old enough to remember, none of these compared to the thrills which came to youngsters and their parents when the Fulton County Fair rolled around each September. That
really was an event which no one missed or ever forgot.
Memories of those exciting days came back on our perusing the
Official Catalogue of the Fulton County Fair, Sept. 28-29-30, Oct 1, 1898. It listed the event as the 27th annual exhibition, which establishes 1871 as the date of the first fair in Rochester. The red covered booklet, printed by The Rochester Daily Republican press on rag paper, looks as good as new today. It was brought to light by Mrs. Earl Sisson.
The introductory page was the work of Val Zimmerman, secretary, and stated, “With a great deal of pride and pleasure the Officers and Members of the Fulton County Agricultural and Mechanical Society submit this large and beautiful catalog of the 27th Exhibition which we promise shall be the largest and grandest in the history of the Association. No pains, time or money shall be spared in bringing about that end. Special attractions, amusements and exhibitions with prizes will merit your time and energy in competition. To that end let us all work together and when the gates are closed all can say that this fair outshone all previous exhibitions as the “sun excels the rays of the moon.”
All gambling, including thimble-rig, monte bank, chuch-a-luck, shell games and faro was excluded and “nothing will be tolerated which need offend the morals of any person. On Saturday there will be a grand parade of all stock receiving premiums preceded by a band of music.” Family season tickets were $1, single admissions 25 cents.
Officers were John W. Black, president; George Perschbacher, vice-president; Val Zimmerman, secretary; A.C. Copeland, treasurer; Henry F. Mow, marshal. Directors in addition included George W. Miller, Arch Stinson, A.J. Haimbaugh, John H. Wilson, S.V. Gordon, J.J. King, Fred Agster and Milton McCaughey.
The Horse Races furnished the main excitement each afternoon and the rules of the speed department were lengthy and strict. Today those who visit City Park on the west limits of Rochester can see remains of the track.
A high board fence surrounded the grounds and exhibitors were scattered over the area in the heavy grove of oak trees. In fact, those who sat in the grandstand near the southwest turn could witness only the start and finish of each race on the home stretch as the back side of the track was hidden by the trees. But despite this the trotting and pacing events brought the crowds to the rails to watch the horses with drivers on rubber tired carts speed by. All purses were “guaranteed” while the “Free-For All Pace” and the “Free-For-All Trot” had total prize monies of $125 which were divided among the first four winners
on a 50-25-15-10 percent basis. Smaller purses offered were $100 and & 75.
The list of premiums was lengthy with first prize money for horses being $6. Thoroiuth-bred cattle winners also received $6, the top sheep won $4 and best hogs received the same amount. Chicken fanciers could not count on big money as the winner was awarded 75 cents and second prize was 40 cents. In the agriculture department fruit, vegetables, seed and grain had first awards of $1 or 50 cents. Flowers and plants brought the exhibitors $2 while certain varieties gave them 50 cents or 25 cents. Prizes for the best bread, canned fruit, preserves, jellies and fruit butter were worth $1.00 down to 25 cents.
In the mechanical department dealers who exhibited farm implements received no cash but were given diplomas. Carriage harness display winners were paid $3 while wagon harness “firsters” took home $2. The carriage judged to be the best shown won $4 while a one horse wagon winner pocketed $3. Prizes for embroidery, needle work, quilts, robes, socks, comforts, ladies underwear and infant outfits won $1, 50 cents or 25 cents for the exhibition. Many merchants offered special merchandise prizes for the best fruit cake, watermelon, blackberry wine, butter, cabbage, roosters and potatoes.
Rochester stores advertisd in the premiums list with appeals that seem strange in the present day.
The Blue Drug Store offered drugs, tobaccos, soaps, paints, bicycles, fishing tackle, ammunition, baseball goods and “the best soda water”. The Erie railroad published “elegant vestibule trains on the Lake Chautauqua Route”. W.F. Kirkendall, practical dentist, let it be known he would extract teeth with gas or local anesthsis and guaranteed all work to be first class.
John Shryer, practical horse shoer, stated he gave special attention to shoeing roadsters, overreaching, stumbling, tender and contracted feet. P.M. Shore, from the North End Drug Store, offered one box of Shore’s Tar Cndy for coiughs, colds and sore throat for 5 cents. Karn and Conner claimed they had the only Up-To-Date Meat Market in the city and their telephone number was 17.
Miss Minta Hisey, the Fashionable Dress Maker, guaranteed perfect fitting for style, cutting neatness of hand or machine stitching. The Studebaker Wagon was featured by John R. Barr while M.J. Beach offered horse collars, whips, robes, dusters, fly nets and sweat pads.
The Emrick & Metcalf “Fashionable Millinery Emporium” boasted of the “latest designs of Paris and American styles.” J.G. Hill advertised a complete line in carriages, wagons, harness and repairing along with horse shoeing and ended his ad by stating, “Remember the
Chas. W. Brackett, “the fashionable liveryman” kept first class rigs ready at all hours while special attention was given to boarding and feeding horses. If you paid “Spot Cash” for your groceries at Chas. A. Kilmer’s store you enjoyed “rock bottom prices.” The Lake Erie & Western railroad, not to be outdone, claimed to be “The Only Natural Gas Route” and boasted of parlor and sleeping cars. Merchant tailoring was emphasized by William Brinkman with suits made to order from $16 up.
Finally the Cigar Makers Union No. 379 had a full page appeal for all fair minded men “to assist us in the supprssion of the sale of scab cigars and stogies. Shrink from them as you would the most venomous reptile and assist in the maintenace of good old honest American wages.”
Yes, the Fulton County Fair was the one time of the year when the good people of Fulton county drove into town and out to the grounds for a day of seing the exhibits, watching the races, taking in the shows, passing on gossip or news and visiting with old and new friends. The children lived from one year to the next to attend the fair. It was a time before the automobile, the flying machine, electricity on the farm, paved roads, washing machines, radio, television, motion pictures and when few people traveled far from home.
You understand why the fair had much to offer young and old and that it promoted progress in those good old days of rugged individualism. . . . H.A.B.
KERN’S XMAS TREES
Article in American Forests
The Sentinel, Dec. 18, 1964
[The following appears as the lead article in the December issue of American Forests, nationally-distributed magazine of the American Forestry Association and the top publication in its field. It gives nationwide recognition to the Christmas tree business of Bob Kern of this city.]
Fulton county, Ind., is mostly corn and hog country. That is, except for Bob Kern Christmas Trees.
In the business since he got out of the Navy in 1947, Bob today owns 400 acres planted to upwards of 500,000 Eastern white and Scotch pines and some spruces and firs. Other Kern lands are in soy beans, which help control weads and will one day be planted in more Christmas trees.
It’s Christmas the year around at the Kerns, for Christmas-tree
growing to a professional is no hit or miss proposition. It is in late October and November when the Kern enterprizes go into high gear and work seven days a week.
Forest fires due to drought on land adjacent to Kern property created an exta source of concern this season.
As usual, November found Bob’s 1964 crop sold out. His trees go mostly to satisfied customers in nearby states and as far away as Phoenix, Ariz. Four big truck loads, 800 trees each, started for the sunshine of Arizona in November.
Kern’s trees are beautifully symmetrical and bushy and this doesn’t just happen by accident.
Each summer, boys and girls home from high school and college go to work shearing the Kern plantations. Sharp knives are preferred today; the cutter’s right leg (left leg if left-handed) is protected by leg guards. The knives are more efficient than the old pruning shears, Kern says.
Another new Kern wrinkle is spraying trees with colorant in late summer or early fall. This costs 15 cents a tree but makes the tree look fresher and greener. The idea was first developed for lawns and for “off-color” trees in the South; it was picked up by some Christmas tree growers. Next year Kern expects to add green color to all of his trees.
Today, the race goes to the swift in the Christmas tree business. Foresters and others oversold the business after World War 11, Kern thinks. Too many people were unable to give the tree grooming the attention required.
But the secret of succest is really an old story. Give the customr a good product is the first requirement. Sale-creating marketing ideas are also a must (Kern was one of the first to put “windows” in packaged Christmas trees.).
How does it feel to know that thousands of children delight in his trees every Christmas?
“Just great,” says Bob enthusiastically. “But it’s a competitive business and getting more so. The man with the best product comes out ahead.”
New Nitrogen Terminal
The Sentinel, Dec. 28, 1964
The Southern Nitrogen company is constructing a large storage terminal in Fulton.
The terminal will cover ten acres and, when completed, will be
capable of storing 15,000 tons of 37 percent low pressure type nitrogen solution and 10,000 tons of 28 or 32 percent non-presssure type nitrogn solution. The terminal will have the most modern of truck and rail loading facilities.
Construction is being done by the Phillips Getschow company, Chicago, and should be completed about March 15.
Officials of Southern Nitrogen voiced strong confidence in this area and its future growth, stating that Fulton was selected as the terminal site due to its favorable loation to the area to be served.
The Fulton terminal will serve Indiana, lower Michigan, northwest Ohio and northern Illinois.
The company officials said the growing demand for nitrogen solutions by agriculture in the Midwest created a need for a storage terminal in the Fulton area in order to assure the farmers throughout the area a reliable source of supply.
The Fulton terminal will be filled prior to the need of its customers and will operate on a 24 hours-a-day, seven days-a-week basis during the season.
The Fulton terminal is part of Southern Nitrogen company’s latest expansion program in the Midwest area. The expansion involves the onstruction of a complex of three storage terminals in the Midwest and a main plant which is being built in Cincinnati, O.
PAUL’S CITIES SVC
Pur Adamson & Miller
The Sentinel, Dec. 28, 1964
The Paul’s Cities Service gasoline station on East Ninth street has been purchased by Richard L. Adamson and Devon Miller, both of near Akron.
Paul Adamson, present owner, bought the station from Dean Utter of Athens in 1951 and has operated it since.
Richard Adamson, son of Paul, has worked for his father at the station part time for a number of years. He is married to the former Shirley Luckenbill. Miller is not married.
Paul Adamson said he has no plans for the future at the present time. The new owners will take over operation of the station Friday.
Clover Farms Grocery
Pur Larry Gearhart
The Sentinel, Jan. 15, 1965
Larry Gearhart of Akron has purchased the Clover Farms Supermarket in Fulton from Ed and Mary Drapalik and will continue
operation of the store under the name of Gearhart’s Supermarket.
Gearhart sold his interest in Gearhart Supermarket at Akron to his brother and partner, Harold. The latter will assume full ownership of that store.
Larry Gearhart and his wife and three children plan to move to Fulton in the spring. The Drapaliks made no announcement of their immediate plans.
Four Gearhart brothers now own and operate grocery stores. Besides Larry and Harold, the others are Roger, at Royal Center, and Dick, at Winamac.
Fulton Co Playhouse
The Sentinel, Jan. 22, 1965
Formation of a civic theatre group in Fulton county started suspiciously Thursday night when 48 persons attended a public organizational meeting at the Times Theatre.
A committee was appointed to nominate a board of directors in time for another public meeting within two weeks. Committee members are Parke Baxter, chairman, and James Shultz, H.C. Herkless, Mrs. Fred Mitchell, Jr., John Delworth, Bob Traeger and Joe Jacob, all of Rochester.
The board of directors prsumably also will choose a name for the organization. Fulton County Playhouse has been suggested.
Thursday’s meeting was called by Shultz, who acted as temporary chairman. He introduced Mrs. Everett Pippen, president of the Nappanee Civic Theatre, and Mr. & Mrs. James McDonald, of the Nappanee group.
They told their experiences in starting the Nappanee Civic Theatre six years ago, offered advice and answered questions from the audience.
Local persons were heartened about the attendance at Thursday’s meeting when they were told only 15 persons showed up for Nappanee’s organizational meeting. This group grew to a membership of 400 members during the first year, however.
The Nappanee Civic Theatre has become one of the biggest adult recreation activities in the community, Mrs. Pippen said, because people discovered talent in themselves, they never knew they had.
After two productions, Nappanee began using high school and grade school pupils in the casts, also, and now there is great competition among the young folks for parts. However, only above-average pupils, academically, are used.
Pupils also are used as ushers and usherettes and great prestige comes with selection for these duties. National Honor Society members are used exclusively.
Mrs. McDonald had two main pieces of advice for the local persons:
1. Include as many persons as possible in the many activities connected with staging a production.
2. Enlist the aid of responsible persons who will work to get other persons to help too.
The Nappanee representatives stressed one of the bonus benefits of a civic theatre as getting to know a lot of persons of the community who were strangers before.
Although it is expected that the 600-seat auditorium of the new Rochester high school will be available for productionjs here when the building is completed next fall, McDonald said, “It’s not the facilities that makes a good production - it’s your determination and imagination.
He also said the board of directors must consider the moral and cultural standards of its community when choosing the plays to be presented. He said musical comedies are the best attended, but added that variety in the form of drama and non-musical comedies also should be provided.
Except for the first production, Nappanee never has had a director with experience. Local persons with directing talent always have been found. There are different directors for each production at Nappanee.
The visitors emphasized the importance of getting as many persons as possible to try out for parts in plays and in changing cast personnel from one play to another.
At Nappanee, it usually is nine weeks from casting to production. Cast members can expect to be required to devote up to three hours a night, three nights a week for six weeks for rehearsals. On the week of the play, rehearsals are conducted on Sunday afternoon and Monday, Tuesday and Thursday nights.
The play director is appointed by the board of directors. A reading committee of three persons recommends plays, with the final decision resting with the board. The play director chooses the cast, but a casting commitee can be of great help by having special knowledge of individuals.
The Nappanee Civic Theatre stages two productions a year, each running two or three nights. The group has 300 paid up members now, but “Sound of Music” played to over 1,000 persons during its
thre-night run last year.
As a final word, the Nappanee residents said, “Everyone buys tickets to the plays. No one gets in free, even if he has worked for many hours in staging the production.”
The Sentinel, Jan. 28, 1965
The U.S. Fish hatchery here, only federal installation of its kind in Indiana, will be closed sometime within the fiscal year beginning July 1. - - - - - The office of U.S. Senator Birch Bayh learned of the department’s plans and made the announcement Wenesday in Washington. - - - - -
Biddinger-Dye Music Ctr
The Sentinel, Feb. 6, 1965
The press of business and shortage of qualified personnel has caused Trib Biddinger and Herb Dye to decide to close the Biddinger and Dye Music Center at 915 East Ninth street. The store will close after next Saturday’s business day.
Although their Rochester store has showed a profit since opening last March 2, Biddinger and Dye said their stores at Warsaw and Peru occupy too much of their time for them to operate the store here, also.
When the Rochester store opened, Howard Amell was its manager. Amell left in July however, to open his own music store in Lafayette.
Mrs. Mary Deniston of Rochester has been receptionist at the local store since its opening, and has demonstrated organs and pianos. The store also sold guitars, stereos, string, woodwind and reed instruments, drums, amplifiers, tape recorders and sheet music.
Pur Alden Knapp
The Sentinel, Feb. 17, 1965
The three-story IOOF building at Main and Ninth streets, home of the Rochester Odd Fellows lodge for 90 years, has been sold by the oranization to Alden (Torchy) Knapp of this city.
Knapp, new owner of the IOOF building, said that he had no immediate announcement of plans for the structure.
A downtown landmark of the city for almost a century, the
IOOF building was erected in 1875 and purchased and dedicated by the lodge Aug. 12, 1875. Contractors for the 42x100 feet building were Levi Mercer and Andrew Shepherd.
Lodge quarters are located on the top two floors. There are offices on the second floor while the Main street level is occupied by Barnett’s Discount Store.
The IOOF lodge has over 200 members curently on its rolls. Chartered in 1847, it is one of the oldest of its kind in Indiana.
The main street floor of the building has contained numerous businesses over the past 90 years. Most recently, it was occupied by Kroger Supermarket. Among other past tenants were Earle Nickelodeon theatre, McClure and Wilson hardware, McMahan Brothers grocery, Kirkendall and Mackey millinery store, Martin Batt dry goods store, Fristoe 10-cent store and Evergreen cafe. Until Kroger moved to the site, the ground level consisted of two business rooms.
HS&M ROCH. PLANT
The Sentinel, Feb. 25, 1965
Employment at the Rochester plant of Hart Schaffner & Marx has passed the 500 mark, Manager Mario Molinaro announced today.
Molinaro said that 515 women now are working at the firm’s Wabash avenue plant in the manufacture of men’s trousers for the HS&M line. The company is this area’s largest employer.
Hart Schaffner & Marx established its only plant outside the Chicago area in this city in 1959. Current production of trousers is at 2,800 pairs a day, said Molinaro, and plans are to push this to 3,000 pairs.
Open Fertilizer Plant
The Sentinel, March 16, 1965
Garland Masterson of Kewanna Grain company and Richard Misenhimer of Agricultural Chemical Enterprises today announced the completion of their fertilisr plant in Kewanna.
The warehouse has capacity for 750 tons of bulk materials and 700 tons of bagged goods along with 12,000 gallons of nitrogen storage.
Modern, efficient equipment has been installed so that plant-food formulations in a wide range of analyses can be blended accurately and quickly. Rugged and well-maintained spreaders of the latest design
with up to four tons load capacity are available for dry materials, as are applicaors for anhydrous ammonia.
In addition to fertilizer, a complete line of agricultural chemicals will be available at the warehouse. - - - -
Have Their Own Club
The Sentinel, March 18, 1965
The MacLain Sisters have their own club.
It’s not that the women are snooty. It’s that there are so many of them that a club seems the only way they can get together.
There are 10 sisters - daughters of Mr. & Mrs. Cal MacLain of Kewanna. They live in Kewanna, Grass Creek, Fulton, Royal Center, Plymouth and Inwood.
Being members of a big family was great, but the trouble was that by the time the younger daughter came along, the older ones had married and moved away from home. They hardly had time to get to know one another.
For most women, few things are as sacred as the monthly club meeting. So the daughters hit upon the idea of forming their own club that would meet once a month. That way, they’d get together regularly.
The obvious name of “The MacLain Sisters” was chosen for the organization. It was decided to enlarge the membership to include wives of the brothers of the MacLain sisters and there is one such sister-in-law as a member.
The club meets at the home of one of the sisters each month. If a sister has a birthdate that month (which is quite likely), she is the guest of honor and each of the club members brings her a $1 gift.
The club members are Mrs. Dorcie (Mattie) Raney, Kewanna; Mrs. Loren (Roxie) Fry and Mrs. Lee (Merle) Fry, both of Fulton; Mrs. Cecil (Jessie) Hines and Mrs. Bill (FloraBelle) Hatch, both of Royal Center; Mrs. Harold (Ruth) Clevenger, Inwood; Mrs. Joni (Gladys) Stutzman and Mrs. Allen (Marilyn) Brauer, both of Plymouth); Mrs. Harold (Emily) Sutton, Grass Creek; and Mrs. Lawrence (Mabel) MacLain of Kewanna. The latter is the sister-in-law member.
This month’s meeting was featured by “Guest Night.” Each sister chose a guest whom she would have chosen for a sister if she had been given a choice.
The guests were Mable Swanson, Rochester; Jane Rentschler, Fulton; Helen Woolington and Shirley Zartman, both of Kewanna; Mary Hite, Betty Engel and Jean Hessler, all of Plymouth; Donna
Kaufman and Annabel Schmeltz, Royal Center, and Marcie Dilts, Burnettsville.
Coach of State Champs
The Sentinel, March 22, 1965
Rochester savored its first Indiana high school basketball championship today, even if it is only by association.
A native son, Jerry Oliver, reached the peak of coaching ambition Saturday night at Butler fieldhouse in Indianapolis, and all of Rochester basked in his reflected glory.
Oliver’s Washington high school team of Indianapolis overcame a seven-point deficit at halftime to defeat Fort Wayne North Side, 64-57, in the finale of the 55th annual state tournament. Washington had eliminated Princeton in the afternoon round, 88-76. - - - - -
SAVINGS & LOAN ASSN
The Sentinel, June 3, 1965
A hearing has been set for Thursday, June 24, in Washington on the application of seven men for permission to organze a federal savings and loan association in Rochester.
The Federal Home Loan Bank Board will conduct the hearing at 2 p.m. at the Letter Carriers bulding in the capital.
Proposed organizers of the savings and loan firm are Richard Belcher, Jesse Brown, Jay Heyde, Dr. Dean Stinson and John Howkinson, all of Rochester; Garland Masterson, Kewanna, and Joseph Hasler, New Paris, Ill.
The savings and loan association would locate offices in Rochester and serve Fulton county, said Belcher, spokesman for the proposed organizers. This county never has hasd such a financial institution, although most of the state’s counties do include either a state or federal savings and loan group, Belcher said.
If the Washington approval is forthcomng organization of the association will proceed as rapidly as possible. The group hopes to have it in operation next autumn.
Administration of the association would be by a board of direcors. It will be a federally-chartered saving and loan instituton, primarily to make long-term home loans.
Should no persons indicate their intentions to appear at the scheduled hearing on June 24, it will not be held and approval to organize will be granted.
The Sentinel, June 3, 1965
The Riverside Danceland and Drive-In, featring dancing, curb service and inside dining facilities, will have its grand opening Friday, Saturday and Sunday on Ind. 110 just west of Ind 25 near the Tippecanoe river.
The new business is owned and operated by Mr. & Mrs. Ed Souther of near Argos, who own a 60-acre tract of land on which the building is located.
“Live” band music will be featured each night of the grand opening. The Playboys will be featured Friday evening and The Nomads on Saturday. The Sunday night band has not been announced. Dancing will be from 7-10 p.m. - - - - -
The Southers have had considerable experience in business ventures, includng 11 years operating service stations. Mrs. Souther operated a beauty shop at one time and they oiwn two apartment houss in the Chicago area. Souther was a crane operator in the steel mills at Gary for 28 years before moving to near Argos. He also farmed for a few years before retiring last year.
The Sentinel, June 5, 1965
BY DAVE AULT, The Sentinel; Staff Writer
“There’s nothing to write - I’m not news.”
These were the opening words of Irvin Steininger, who, before the turn of the century, was the pride of Fulton county and a prominent person at the age of five-and-one-half. He was known then as “The Hoosier Boy Orator,” and before he was seven years old had a reputation as a brilliant speaker throughout northern Indiana and lower Michigan.
Young Irvin made his first professional speaking engagement at the Academy of Music in Rochester in the spring of 1890 before he was six years old. The Academy was the scene of the county oratorical contest for school students.
Howard Steininger, Irvin’s father, wanted to enter his son in the contest, but the local school board in the Whippoorwill cmmunity, where the Steiningers resided wouldn’t allow theboy to enter beause he wasn’t in school yet.
So Irvin entered school in the spring of 1890 so he would eligible to compete in the contest. But when he tried to enter again,
the county school board wouldn’t let him, saying he was too young and had just started school.
But the board finally conceded to let Irvin present his speech after the contest. A true showman, he didn’t have a trace of stage fright and, in his own words, he “stole the show.”
Following are excerpts from the account of Irvin’s first appearance as published in The Rochester Sentinel on April 9. 1890.
“The appearance of little five year old Irvin Steininger, the Hoosier Boy Orator, at the Academy of Music Friday evening under the management of Dr. Shafer was a howling success.
“Irvin Steininger won profuse laurls and much fame by his wonderful performance on the stage. His recitation, which was in the nature of a lecture to parents on the proper training and education of their children, delivered in two parts, was a marvel both in approperiateness and delivery.
“Every gesture of the little speaker is grace, Every sentence is nicely rounded in emphasis and articulation, and then those bright eyes and chubby face and form captivates the entire audience of 600 people.”
Irvin’s parents first began to notice that their son had an excepional memory when they saw him preaching to a flock of chickens, repeating verbatm from the minister’s previous Sunday sermon. Irvin’s father thought this ability should be developed and first tried ot his son’s speaking skill at Christmas in 1899, when Irvin gave a speech composed ny his father at the Old Grandview Church in the Whippootwill community.
During the summer of 1890, the Steinheisers moved to Rochester and Irvin’s father started publicizing his son’s oratorical ability. Soon they were traveling all over northern Indiana, to Elkhart, Wakarusa, Culver, Plymouth, Nappanee and many other towns, as well as in southern Michigan.
All the while, Irvin’s father was studying for the ministry and saw to it that his son did a lot of reading. Now, Steininger says that “Books and reading have meant more to me in my life than anything else.”
About 1893 the Steiningers moved to Berne, and Irvin’s speaking career came to an end there. His father had to make a decision on his son’s schooling as well as think of his own career in the ministry.
Irvin entered school again at the age of eight. In gradeschool he was conscious of his reputation and was shy about speaking. But he remembers that when called upon to recite, he was fluent and displayed an above aberage vocabulary.
Ievin’s next residence was in Defiance, O., where his father was assigned to another pulpit. At a Sunday school picnic, the members of the congregation insisted that Irvin make a speech. At first he refused, but at his father’s insistence, he gave in.
As he stepped up on the platform, he said to himself, “This is the last time,” and it was. Youing Irvin deeeply resented being singled out as different and being made a spectacle. He was determined to not have it happen again.
Later on, in high school, Irvin’s speaking ability helped him, for he wasn’t quite so reticent as a teenager.
Irvin finished high school at Logansport and was married there. He was born in 1884 in Labett county in Kansas, lived in Arkansas for about one year and moved to the Whippoorwill community when he was five. After leaving Defiance, the Steiningers lived in Huntington and later his father became manager of Oakwood Park, the present Evangelical United Brethren conference center.
After being married, Irvin worked for the old Vandalia railroad, which later became a part of the Pennsylvania network, for about 14 years. He and his wife, Ruby, moved to Butler, where he was an interchange car inspector with the railroad, and then to Auburn where he went into the electrical business.
Later he was employed by the Auburn automobile company. After it went out of business, he returned to Whipporwill and began farming. Then he got a job as janitor of a grade schoiol in Lydick and held that job up until his retirement about 10 years ago.
He and his wife reside in Lydick now, but during the summer he makes his home on the banks of the Tippecanoe river, about four miles west of the Indiana Metal Products company plant. He lives alone in a small trailer and has been spending his summers in this manner for the past six or seven years.
He has always been interested in wildlife, especially birds, and considers himself an authority on them. His statement, “When life begins to run out on you, you begin to appreciate it,” explains his interest and appreciation for the wildlife along the riverbank.
He states his philosophy simply, yet with reverent sincerity [ “To me, all life is sacred now. God and nature are synonomous - I can’t separate the two.”
Although he lives with as little contact with civilization as possible - he says he’s getting to be a recluse - he keeps up on current events and does a lot of reading. He has several dozen volumes of Readers Digest condensed books, from which he does most of his contemporary reading, but he enjoys reading the classics, too.
He feels that today’s schools don’s place enough emphasis on the classics and says “To us older people, today’s kids are ignorant to the things we prized.”
Two walls of his trailer are lined with books, but he says his greatest interest still is life - natural life. “My first love is birds, then other plant and animal life.”
To Be Four-Story
The Sentinel, June 17, 1965
The three-story building, a Rochester landmark for 90 years, is in the midst of a transformation that will make it a mdern four-story office building.
The building, at the northwest corner of Main and Ninth streets, was purchased in February by Alden (Torchy) Knapp of Rochester. He announced th remodeling plans today.
Stone & Swartzbaugh Inc., Toledo, O., are designers and contractors of the modernization and work is underway.
The exterior of the building is to be covered with a new facade of charcoal and cream colors in vertical patterns. This is being installed from second floor upward at this time, with the ground floor to be completed later.
The facade is of aliuminm and glassweld construction, the latter a new product of asbestos fibreboard.
The third floor of the building, formerly the IOOF lodgeroom, is being entirely cleared. Two floors will be made of thie one, thus adding a fourth story to the building.- - - -
Barnett’s Discount Store occupies the Main street front of the building. Otherwise it is vacant.
The IOOF lodge purchased the Rochester Nazarene church at 231 East Eighth street for its new quarters and will occupy it as soon as the church completes construction of its new building south of the city on U.S. 31.
The Sentinel, June 23, 1965
Groundbreaking plans for the $600,000 United Presbyterian conference and camp center north of Rochester in Richland township were announed today by the Rev. Paul E. Chalfant of South Bend, chairman of the development committee for the Rochester site.
A groundbreaking ceremony will be conducted at 4 p.m. Friday at the 200-acre site on the west side of U.S. 31 in the Glaze Hill area.- - - - - - -
The Conference and camp will replace the present facilities at Lake Winona near Warsaw and is planned for year-round use.
It will have a large central building, a summer camping area with cabins, swimming pool and other recreational facilities. Presbyterians from throughout the Indiana area will use the center.
It is expected to be ready for use next year.
HIRSCH DEPT. STORES
Will Open Store Here
The Sentinel, June 25, 1965
P.N. Hirsch and Company department store chain headquartered in St. Louis, Mo., will occupy quarters vacated by Camblin’s furniture store at 806 Main street.
A signed, 10-year lease on the store, owned by Dr. T.F. Kalb of Goshen, was received today from P.N. Hirsch, owner of the chain, by William Biggs, local realtor who handled the transaction.
It is hoped to open the new store by Aug. 1, Biggs said.
The Hirsch firm operates 180 stores in the Midwest and South, including outlets in Warsaw, Wabash and North Manchester. The stores sell a variety of items, including dry goods, bolt goods and ready-to-wear merchandise. - -- -
The store has been vacant since Milton Camblin closed his furniture operation there last summer.
The Sentinel, July 1, 1965
The U.S. Fish Hatchery in Rochester, occupying 100 acres north of East Ninth street and fronting Lake Manitou, officially closed Wednesday after 30 years of operation here.
Roch & Richland Twp
The Sentinel, July 1, 1965
The school corporations of Rochester and Richland township officially became one this afternoon, when a merger agreed upon last July came into legal existence.
The enlarged school system consists of Rochester city and township and Richland township. It signals the end of Richland Center
high school, for beginning in September those pupils will attend the new Rochester Community high school. Richland’s junior high students also will attend here.
Schools operated by the new corporation include the new high school, Rochester Community junior high school, Riddle and Columbia elementary schools in the city and Richland center elementary school in Richland township.
Ernest (Bud) Walters, Richland trustee, officially joined the board of trustees of the Rochester Community School Corporation with today’s final consolidation acts. This makes the board a six-member body. The city is represented by H.C. Herkless and Mrs. Ed Boswell, Rochester township by Charles Helt and Herrold Lease, all appointive. Robert Kern, Rochester township trustee and Walters are members by virtue of office. - - - - -
ISLAND PARK CAFE
Pur Myron Jennings
The Sentinel, July 6, 1965
Myron Jennings, native of Kewanna, today took possession of the Island Park cafe, north of the city on U.S. 31 at the Tippecanoe river bridge.
Jennings purchased the restaurant from Mrs. W.C. Borneman. It had been operated under lease by Wayne Hittle, owner of the Island Park Bargain Center and of the Hittle Oil company here.
Jennings is the son of W.H. Jennings of Kewanna, where he was born and graduated from high school. He left the county in 1927 and has been in the restaurant business 12 years. He and his wife presently operate the Jennings restaurant in Mishawaka.
No change in the operation of the Island Park cafe is anticipated, said Jennings.
MT. ZION SCHOOL
Van Duyne Block
The Sentinel, July 8, 1965
The eighth annual reunion of the former pupils and teachers of the old one room Mt. Zion school was held Sunday at the Van Duyne Block and Gravel company grounds with 68 in attendance.
A basket dinner was enjoyed at noon with Josephine Swihart saying grace.
The same officers were reelected. The secretary’s report was read and approved and bill allowed.
Prizes were awarded as follows: Former teachers present, Ray
Shelton, Mrs. Robert Connor and Fred Van Duyne; having most children present, Mrs. L. Pearl Moore; oldest former pupil present, Mrs. Emma Weaver; traveling the farthest distance (1200 miles), Joe Dixon.
The president presented Mildred Van Duyne, the secretary, with a corsage.
Hugh McMahan gave a talk of community affairs of the past.
Robert Van Duyne gave a financial report on the Mr. Zion cemetery and asked for permission to conduct some business for the cemetery. Fred Van Duyne declared it an official meeting of the cemetery board and nominated John Dixon and Mrs. Art Fansler as trustees of the board. They were duly elected.
The president and secretary were presented token gifts of appreciation for their work at the close of the afternoon.
The remainder of the afternoon was spent socially and viewing films taken at former reunions and of scenic spots of Wyoming and Montana.
All showed appreciation to Joe and Robert Van Duyne for preparing their place of business for the reunion each year.
Out of town persons present were: Joe Dixon, Fred and Mark Douglas, all of Groverland, Fla.; Mr. & Mrs. Archie Timbers, Madison, Wis.; Ernest V. Hoover, South Bend; Herschel E. Snyder, Peru; Mr. & Mrs. Lester Goodyear and granddaughter, Churubusco; Mrs. Randy Masterson and children, Robin and Angela, and Mr. & Mrs. W.H. King, all of Fort Wayne; John Dixon and Josephine Swihart, both of Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. Henry Dixon, Auburn; Mrs. Robert Conner, Macy; Mr.& Mrs. Elson Holdred and son, David, Plymouth; and Mrs. Madge Snyder, Akron.
Present from Rochester were: Mr. & Mrs. Ray Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Hugh McMahan, Mr. & Mrs. Roscoe Conrad, Mr. & Mrs. Donald King, Janet, Carol and Bill King, Diane Welty, Mr. & Mrs. Howard King, Mr. & Mrs. Lester King, Mr. & Mrs. John Cessna; Mrs. James Charters, Mrs. Mary Braden, Mrs. Marie Weaver, Mrs. Ed Fishback.
Also, Mr. & Mrs. O.L. Gilliland, Mrs. Deloise Severns, Mrs. L. Pearl Moore, Miss Clarice Moore, Mrs. Maxine Zerbe and niece, Debbie Moore, Susan Crill, Kathy Zimmerman, Mrs. Mary Fultz, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Beaudoin, Mrs. Elizabeth Felix, Mr. & Mrs. Joe Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Van Duyne, Mrs. Emma Weaver and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 14, 1965
The descendants of Edward Francis Stubbs held their 34th reunion at City Park Sunday attended by 40 relatives and one guest, Betty Collins of Knox.
A basket dinner was served at noon following grace given by Mattice McIntire of Delong. The president, Arnold Murray, called a short business session. Inez Murray, secretary-treasurer, gave the secretary’s report and financial statement.
The collection was taken amounting to $19. The family annually gives a donation of $5 to Moon and Schaeffer cemeteries to help in maintenance.
Marlene, Janet and William Stubbs and Mr. & Mrs. Ronald L. Murray served on the entertainment committee which provided contests, games, and ice cream.
Relations attended from LaPorte, South Bend, Mishawaka, Culver, Delong, Monterey, and Rochester.
Mattie McIntire, 84, daughter of Edward Francis Stubbs, was the oldest person present and Joe Allan Murray, 21 months, the great-great-grandson of Edward Stubbs, was the youngest present.
The same officers and committee members were retained for the coming year, at which time the gathering will be in Akron City Park.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 15, 1965
The 26th annual Israel Overmyer reunion was held Sunday at City Park. Forty relatives were served a basket dinner after prayer by the Rev. Harley Zumbaugh. The afternoon was spent socially.
It was voted to hold the reunion at the City Park on the second Sunday in July next year. Lester Overmyer was elected president and Marie Alber was elected secretary-treasurer for next year.
Those present were: Mr. & Mrs. John Reinholt, Mr. & Mrs. Marion Clark, Mr. & Mrs. Paul Hettinger and family, Mrs. Anna Trapp, Mrs. Ida Herschel and the Misses Vera Mae and Mary Lou Hettinger, all of Winamac; the Rev. & Mrs. Harley Zumbaugh, Mr. & Mrs. Orval Long, Mrs. Otto Kath, and Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Reiff and four grandchildren, RR 2, Larwill, Ind.; Mr. & Mrs. Cecil Lewis, Rensselaer; Mr. & Mrs. Glen Wilson and Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Ludwig, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Karl Deck and Lester Overmyer, of South Bend; and Mr. & Mrs. John
Reinholt, RR 1, Culver.
Afternoon callers were: Mr. & Mrs. Fred Yelton of Delong; and Mrs. Warren Miller of Rochester; Mrs. Anna Trapp, 90, was the oldest member present at the reunion.
The Sentinel, July 16, 1965
The walls of the Rochester college (1895-1912) have tumbled down. All trace of the large brick building, located at the south end of College avenue, that once housed an accredited educational institution is no more. The learning that it inspired in the students is shown by the men and women who have climbed to success. These friendships still have an emotional hold on its alumni, as was shown Sunday by 71 schoolmates of 53 years ago who renewed acquaintances and met old friends again.
The dinner was at the Colonial hotel, Lake Manitou, where the meal was served on long tables decorated with baskets of garden flowers. Grace was offered by the Rev. Clyde Walters.
John Savage, president of the Alumni group, presided. The program opened by singing “God Bless America” led by M.E. Hicks, Kokomo, with Mrs. Hicks at the piano. The Lord’s Prayer was prayed in unison.
Dow Haimbaugh welcomed the many members with much enthusiasm for being loyal to the memories for the Rochester college since it has been out of existence for many years. The friendship that was created long ago grows stronger as is shown by the interested attendance each year.
The secretary and treasurer reports were read by Mrs. Arthur B. Shore.
Roll call was answered by giving maiden name, married name, address, year attended, and incidents of “ye old college days.”
Mrs. Raymond McVay gave the names of the alumni members deceased since the last reunion and read the poem “Crossing the Bar” by Tennyson.
The only living professor who taught at Rochester college is Prof. Marion Hall of Lansing, Mich.
The Nominating committee announced the following officers for 1966: President, Ray Myers; vice-president, Russell Smith; secretary and treasurer, Mrs. Raymond McVay; vice-secretary and treasurer, Miss Edna Sheets.
The 1966 meeting will be held the second Sunday in July, with
the place to be announced later.
M.E. Hicks led the group in singing the songs of yesteryears. Mrs. Hicks presided at the piano. The meeting was adjourned after singing “God be With You Till We Meet Again”. Closing prayer was given by Clyde Walters, presiding minister.
Those attending from Rochester were: Clarence Adamson, Ray Myers, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McVay, Mrs. Bertha Stahl, Norabelle Bryant, Mrs. Dee Berrier, Grace Ewing, Mrs. Ethel Snapp, Mrs. Eunice Coplen, Belva T. Miller, Mrs. Zella Wagoner, Miss Edna Sheets, Mrs. Reba Shore, Rev. & Mrs. Clyde Walters, Mr. & Mrs. George Gould, Mr. & Mrs. Guy Shadel, Sylvia Jewell, Emily Von Ehrenstein, Mrs. George Felder, Mr. & Mrs. Hugh McMahan, Mr. & Mrs. John Cessna, Pearl Hiland, Howard Mutchler, Minnie Alexander, Mr. & Mrs. Dow Haimbaugh, Lucille H. Leonard.
Those who came from afar: V.L. Barker, Huntington, W. Va.; Mr. & Mrs. H.E. Hicks, Kokomo; Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn, Marion; Mrs. Clara Jones, Greencastle; Tessa Cooper Stayton, Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Don O. Nafe, Ypsilanti, Mich.; Mrs. John E. Kroft and 2 grand-children, Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Otto Babcock and grandson, Waterman, Ill.; Mrs. Gladys Maple, Waterman, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Lucas, Knox; H.E. Conn, Newcastle; Mr. & Mrs. W.L. Knapp, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. W.R. McClary, South Bend; Edith B.. Wolfe, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. John Savage, Macy; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Smith, Macy; Mrs. John Bookwalter, Macy; Mrs. Golden Polen, Kewanna; Dr. B.R. Kent, Fulton; Mrs. Dale Wildermuth, Akron; Edith Glen Merley, Akron; Mrs. Mae Day, Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Harley Rogers, Akron; Mrs. Grace Stinson, Athens.
The Sentinel, July 20, 1965
Funeral services will be held at 10 a.m. Thursday at the Church of The Hills in Forest Lawn Memorial Park in the Hollywoo Hills.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 21, 1965
The descendants of the George Burns family met on July 18 at City Park for annual reunion. Robert Ihnen offered the prayer of thanks before the basket dinner. The afternoon was spent socially watching a baseball game at the park.
Next year’s reunion will be held on the third Sunday in July at
Those present were: Mr. & Mrs. Claude Burns, Roann; Estil Burns, Mr. & Mrs. Lonny Burns, Dwayne, Terry and Linda, Wabash; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Ihnen and grandson, David Ihnen, North Manchester; Mr. & Mrs. Delbert Haupert, Diane, Kathy and Shirley, North Manchster; Mr. & Mrs. Dean Burns, Jeffrey, Joyce and Brian, Macy; Miss Goldie Burns and Carol Sue, Akron.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 21, 1965
The 41st Conrad-Bray reunion was held July 18 at the Rochester City Park with 74 members present. A basket dinner was served at noon following grace by Marie Alber.
A short business meeting was called to order by the president, Edgar Conrad. The secretary’s and treasurer’s reports were read by Florence Hibbs. The present officrs were elected to serve another year.
Mrs. Thurman Conrad from Kansas received a gift for being the oldest member prsent and Tommy Winegardner, Logansport, was the youngest member present. The meeting was adjourned and the afternoon was spent socially with refreshments served.
Those present were from Kiowa, Kansas, Evanston, Ill., Niles, Mich, White Pigeon, Mich., Logansport, Fort Wayne, South Bend, Twelve Mile, Bruce Lake, Lucerne, Macy, Royal Center, Winamac, Fulton, Denver, and Rochester.
FIRST FED S & L
Gets Organizing O.K.
The Sentinel, July 22, 1965
Permission to organize the county’s first federal savings and loan association has been given by the Federal Home Loan Bank Board.
The next step is the granting of a federal charter for operation whih will follow securing of pledges for no less than $300,000 in saving acounts from at least than 250 local residents. (sic)
The association will operate in Rochester under the name of First Federal Savings and Loan of Fulton County.
The seven men who petitioned for permission to organize have elected temporary oficers to conduct further efforts leading to charter.
These are Richard Belcher, chairman Jay Heyde, vice-chairman, and Jesse Brown, attorney, secretary. All are from Rochester. The remaining members of the committee are Dr. Dean Stinson and John Howkinson, both of Rochester; Garfield Masterson, Kewanna, and
Joseph Hasler, New Paris, Ill.
Permission to organize the association was received from the Bank Board’s secretary, Harry Caulsen, last weekend. A hearing on the application had been set in Washington June 24 but was cancelled when no persons indicated intentions to appear against it.
Application for a charter will be made after the minimum of $300,000 in savings account pledges is raised. Target date for completion is Jan. 1 and, said Belcher, opening of the savings and loan office here would follow soon after.
The pledge campaign now is underway, added Belcher. He said that the money would not be called for until after Jan. 1.
Administration of the association would be by a board of directors and its prime purpose will be to make long-term home loans.
Banquet & Dedication
The Sentinel, July 22, 1965
A banquet and dedication of the new dining room at the Wil-Wood cafe in Leiters Ford, was held Saturday night. Fifty-five members of the Businessmen’s association, former Aubbee basketball teams and Aubbee school faculty attended.- - - -
Mr. & Mrs. Woodie McGlothin, who have owned and operated the cafe for the past ten years, have been staunch fans and supporters of the teams during that time. In appreiation of that support, the McGlothins were presented with a picture of each team through those years. - - - -
Rocky Gap, Benton Harbor
The Sentinel, July 28, 1965
The annual Grossenbacher family reunion was held Sunday at Rocky Gap, Benton Harbor, Mich.
Local persons attending were Mr. & Mrs. Fay Bathrick and family, Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Bathrick, Mr. & Mrs. Keith Bathrick and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Forrest Hounshell and daughter, all of Rochester, and Mr. & Mrs. William Adams and son, of Athens.
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, July 29, 1965
The Taylor family reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park. After the dinner at noon a business session was conducted
during which Mrs. Jack Pickens was re-elected president and Phillip Conoway was re-elected secretary-treasurer, Mr. & Mrs. Howard Gilliland, Mr. & Mrs. Howard Taylor and Mr. & Mrs. Jack Pickens were chosen on a committee for making arrangements for the reunion for next year.
Attending were: Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Conaway, Mr. & Mrs. Phillip Conoway, Mrs. Kenneth Surface and children and Mr. & Mrs. Edward Pawlick and daughter, Judy, all of Michigan City; Miss Kay Conoway of Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Rudolph Bretzman and daughters of Circle Pines, Minn.; Mr. & Mrs. Cecil Taylor and daughter, Mt. Sterling, O.; Mr. & Mrs. Joe Harter and family, Webster Grove, Mo.; Mr. & Mrs. Edward Niles and children, Palotka, Fla.; Seven and Mark Cleaver, Rantoul, Ill.;
Also, Mrs. Wilbur Harter, Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Howard Gilliland, Kewanna, and Mr. & Mrs. Howard Taylor and son, Russell, Mr. & Mrs. Jack Pickens and children, Mrs. Jesse Church, Mrs. Everett Taylor and son, Terry, Candy and Christy Jones and Mr. & Mrs. Orville Gilliland, all of Rochester.
Guests were Mrs. George Conaway and Mrs. May Fugate. Afternoon callers were Mrs. Joan Michaels and daughter, Judy, and Mr. & Mrs. Arel Frantz and daughter, all of Wabash.
SMITH & DOWNS
The Sentinel, August 3, 1965
Clay Smith has purchased the interest of Morton and Helen Downs in the Smith & Downs Realtors firm, 111 West Eighth street, it was announced today. There will be no change in the operation of the business, however, and the Downses will continue to be assoiated with it as brokers and sales representatives.
The name of the firm will be changed to Clay Smith and Associates and will maintain offices at the same location. Mrs. Downs said that she will spend more time on her duties as an officer in the Indiana Women’s Realtors Association.
Smith and his wife, the former Helen Phillips of Culver, have purchased the home of Mr. & Mrs. Cleon Ginn on the east shore of Lake Manitou and will move to the city soon.
Hiland-Van Duyne Reun
Wayne Alber Res
The Sentinel, August 11, 1965
The 42nd annual Hiland-Van Duyne reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Alber across from the City Park with 21 present.
A basket dinner was served at noon. Mrs. Wade Green said Grace before the meal.
During the short business following the dinner the group voted to retain the 1965 officers for another year. They are: N.M. Alber, president, and Marie Alber, secretary-treaurer.
The remainder of the afternoon was spent visiting and playing bingo.
Present were: Mrs. Nettie Haschell and Mr. & Mrs. Edwin Olsen and grandson, Timmy Olsen, all of Winamac; Mr. & Mrs. Wade Green, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Caufman and family, New Carlisle; Jon Cauffman, San Diego, Cal.; Miss Linda Kline, Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber and son, Larry and Don Hart, all of Rochester.
Dam Landing, Starkey’s
Pur Richard Sherbondy
The Sentinel, August 19, 1965
Mr. & Mrs. Richard Sherbondy of Lake Manitou have purchased Starkey’s Dam Landing on the west side of the lake from Mrs. Annie Starkey.
Mrs. Starkey will move to her new residence in Sebastian, Fla. (RR 1, Box A 181) soon.
Mrs. Starkey and her late husband had operated the landing and hotel since 1942.
ADLER’S DRESS SHOP
Mgr., Mary Jo Lewis
The Sentinel, August 21, 1965
Mrs. J. Ernest (Mary Jo) Lewis of Lebanon assumed management of Adler’s Dress Shop, 812 Main street, Friday following the resignation of Mrs. Russell (Bess) Bartholomew.
Mrs. Bartholomew had been manager since it was opened 17 years ago. The store is owned by Phil Adler of Lebanon. - - - -
Mrs. Bartholomew said she has no definite plans for the future.
Mrs. Lewis had been with The LeMar Shop in Lebanon 25 years before coming here. For ten years she was manager of LeMar’s boys shop at Lebanon. Her husband is design and development
engineer for Dewey Shepard boiler firm in Peru.
The Lewises have moved to the Manitou Manor apartments here.
Wayne Reese Res
The Sentinel, August 28, 1965
The family of Charles Kindig formerly of Rochester and Akron communities, now of North Liberty, gathered at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Reese and family at Akron with 90 people present.
Present were: Mrs. Emory Kindig and family, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Kindig and children, Mr. & Mrs. Melvin Bach and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Jim Kindig and children, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Kindig and family, Mr. & Mrs. Warren Kindig and children, Mr. & Mrs. Patrick Greenlaw and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Gordon Kindig and children and Mr. & Mrs. Nelson Kindig, all of LaPoret.
Also, Mrs. Meadie Warstler and Mr. & Mrs. Dick Meyers and children, Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. Ivo Hagenbush, Mr. & Mrs. Alva Thompson and family, Mr. & Mrs. Mark Thacker and children, Mrs. James Thacker and son, and Eldon Thompson and family, all of Argos; Mrs. Terry Lloyd and children, Cleveland, O.; Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Lawmaster and children, Mr. & Mrs. Larry Lawmaster and son, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Thompson and children, all of Bourbon.
Also, Mrs. Paul Ellinger and son, Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. Reese and children, Calvin and Lester Kindig, all of Akron; and the honored guest, Charles Kindig of North Liberty.
The next meeting will be at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Albert Curless at Michigan City.
Shelton-Van Duyne Reun
Roch City Park
The Sentinel, August 31, 1965
A total of 44 members of the Shelton-Van Duyne family met at the Shelter house at the City Park Sunday.
A basket dinner was served at noon and the afternoon was spent socially.
Present from a distance were Mr. & Mrs. Randy Masterson and daughters, Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Harry Teems, Huntington; Mr. & Mrs. Max Burch, North Manchester; and Mr. & Mrs. Elson Holdread and son, Plymouth.
Present from Rochester were: Mr. & Mrs. Earl Graham, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Shelton, Ray Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Crill and
daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Byron Zimmerman and family, Carl Rose, Mr. & Mrs. Joe Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Tom Rose and family, Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Braman and family and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne.
The group plans to meet the last Sunday in August next year in the same place.
Edith Overmyer Res.
The Sentinel, Sept. 1, 1965
The first annual reunion of the family of Charles and Media Walters, RR 5, Rochester, was held Sunday, Aug. 29, at the home of Mrs. Edith Overmyer. There were 44 present.
A carry-in dinner was enjoyed at noon. The afternoon was spent playing games, visiting, and taking pictures. Entertainment was also provided by the “Kingston 5” from Culver, an instrumental group of which Denny DeMarco is a member.
Charles Walters, 82, and Mrs. Walters, 79, both enjoy fairly good health. They have six children, 13 grandchildren, two sstep-grand-children, and 17 great-grandchildren.
They have spent most of their lives in the Rochester area.
Those present were: Mr. & Mrs. Charles Walters, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Walters, Mr. & Mrs. Ernest Walters, Mr. & Mrs. Elmer Walters, Mrs. Bernice Mow, Jim Cummings, Mrs. Edith Overmyer, Mrs. Ann DeMarco and Barbara, Denny and Morry, Harry Ewing, Mr. & Mrs. Jim Walters and Chad and Becky, Mr. & Mrs. Ron Walters and Rhonda and Brian, Mr. & Mrs. Mick Walters, Mr. & Mrs. Lloyd Walters and Diane, Herschel Walters and Todd and Tim, Mrs. Steve Hartzler and Stephania, Mark, and Melinda, Mr. & Mrs. Jim Marker, Mr. & Mrs. Randy Mow and Christy and Gregg, and Little Miss Julie Deaton.
The Sentinel, Sept. 3, 1965
The decendents of George and Agnes Harrison Hendrickson were entertained by Mr. & Mrs. C. Wineland and children Leslie, Charles, Ardis, David and Jennifer at their home in Monticello, Aug. 22. Dinner was served by the Winelands at the noon hour.
Those attending were: Mr. & Mrs. John Hummer and children, Jon and Laurie of Cedar Knolls, New Jersey; Laurence Hendrickson, Dana and Carl Ault of Fulton, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Hendrickson and
daughter, Marci of Elkhart; Mrs. Don Harner and daughter, Diane, of Kingsbury; Mrs. Thomas Graffis, Minden Hendrickson and Mr.& Mrs. George Hendrickson and son, Charles, all of Kewanna.
FULTON CO HOME
Closing Jan. 1, 1966
The Sentinel, Sept. 8, 1965
The 95-year-old Fulton County Home will be closed as of Jan. 1, 1966, and its seven patients will be removed to nursing homes or similar institutions. - - - - -
Mgr., Bob Heuer
The Sentinel, Oct. 12, 1965
Bob Heuer of Richmond is the new manager of the P.N. Hirsch and Cmpany store, 806 Main street, succeeding Lloyd Mecey, who has retired beaause of health reasons.
Heuer, a native of Connersville, has been with the Hirsch firm for 1-1/2 years and was assistant manager of the Connersville store immediately prior to becoming manager here.
Heuer has been in the retail business for 15 years. He is a member of the Elks club and of the Masons. He and his wife, Dorothy, also are boating enthusiasts and own a 17-foot outboard.
The Heuers have one son, Jay, who will be 16 years old Oct. 24. He is a sophomore at Richmond high school. The family residence is at Richmond, where Mrs. Heuer is assistant chief operator for the General Telephone company.
The family will move to Rochster when housing has been found.
The Hirsch firm occupies the former Camblin’s store quarters. It opened for business a month ago and is planning its grand opening sale for next weekend.
Mgr Zelpha N. Smith
The Sentinel, Nov. 16, 1965
Mrs. Zelpha N. Smith, RR 2, Rochester, is the new manager of the Rochester Lord’s store at 800 Main street. She succeeds Mrs. Novella Terrell, who has resigned.
Mrs. Smith has been a saleswoman at the local store since November of 1962. The store opened a month before that.
She has lived in Rochester since 1959.
In New Building
The Sentinel, Nov. 23, 1965
The Whippoorwill Community church now is holding all church services in the new church building. The location is one-half mile north of the intersection of roads 200 West and 450 North. - - - -
Snyder’s Super Dollar
Pur Wilt’s Food Center
The Sentinel, Dec. 4, 1965
Wilt’s Food Center Inc., Elkhart, has purchased the Snyder’s Super Dollar supermarket at Nnth street and Rochester boulevard effective Dec. 12. Pat Snyder, manager of the local store, announced today.
Snyder is treasurer of Snyder’s Market Inc., of North Manchester, present owner of the store here. Snyder’s bought the store in August of 1964 from the original owner, Food Marketing corporation of Fort Wayne.
Snyder said he and his family will move from Rochester back to North Manchster to rejoin the staff of the Snyder’s store there.
The Wilt’s Grocery chain operates stores mainly in Northern Indiana communities, including South Bend, Mishawaka and Elkhart. The company has not announced the name of the man who will manage the Rochester store.
Super Dollar store here was opened in February of 1963 by Food Marketing. At
present, the store has 12 full-time employees and six part-time workers.
Snyder said said he understands Wilt’s plans no change in personnel other than
naming a new manager.
Wabash River 59
ADLER’S DRESS SHOP
Mgr., Mary Jo Lewis 142
M.J. Miller Res 74
Pur Loren & Ann Sheetz 26
Roch City Park 89
Opens in Talma 86
Closes Rooms 38
Akron City Park 97
Aubb Twp Strawberry Fest
10th Annual 57
AUBBEE AND CULVER
Schools Consolidated 50
AYERS REAL ESTATE
Opens Today 25
Long Lake 37
Dedication of New Bldg 12
BARR, JOHN A.
Dean, Northwestern U 115
BAXTER DRUG STORE
Remodeling & Enlargement 20
Biddinger-Dye Music Ctr
Burger’s Dairy Store
Pur Forrest Skidmore 19
Roch City Park 32, 138
Bruce Lake 31
CHALK & CUE
Delp, Sole Owner 91
Hal Hammel 76
Clay Floor Covering
Grand Opening 106
Clover Farms Grocery
Pur Larry Gearhart 122
Si Zentner Band 56
Roch City Park 32, 70, 139
R. Coplen Country Res 34
Roch City Park 71
Visits Lake Manitou 87
Now Bulk Operation 78
CRYSTAL DAIRY PROD
James Vrana, Manager 44
Dam Landing, Starkey’s
Pur Richard Sherbondy 142
Dan Leininger & Sons
Closing Out 54
Ira Smith Home 35
DEAN MILK CO
Thomas Rose, Promoted 88
DEEDS EQUIPT CO.
Pur Burgener & Picrce 19
DON’S SHOE CARE
Opened by Bennett 53
DU DROP IN CAFE
Pur Mary Lemler 83
Burl Eber Res 102
Moonshower, Top Position 72
Plymouth Park 28
Celebrate Golden Wedding 104
FANSLER LBR CO
Pur Brubaker & Miller 96
Roch City Park 72, 96
FASHION SHOE STORE
Manager Quits 11
Clyde Collin Res 102
FIRST FED S & L
Gets Organizing O.K. 139
FIRST NATIONAL BANK
Soon Will Be 95 Years. 7
Officially Closed 133
Will Close 125
pur Albert Talbott 87
FOREST FARMS PROD
Pur Crystal Dairy Prod 41
Concervation Club 39
New Nitrogen Terminal 121
New Street Lights 11
The Town Moves Ahead 4
FULTON CO HIST SOC
Established Tuesday 51
FULTON CO HOME
Closing Jan. 1, 1966 145
Fulton Co Playhouse
FULTON CO. FAIR
“Considred Comment” 117
FULTON CO. SUN
Ceased Publication 117
Destroys Two Stores 16
Roch City Park 101
Go-Gay Beauty Salon
Opens at Leiters Ford 23
Green Belt Chem Co
East of Fulton 53
GROCERY, at LEITERS
Pur Frank Rawles 25
Rocky Gap, Benton Harbor 140
Opens New Sales Bldg 69
Wineland Res 144
Pur For Free Parking Lot 97
Lukens Lake 71
Hiland-Van Duyne Reun
Roch City Park 34, 74, 99
Wayne Alber Res 142
Hilltop Beauty Shop
Opens at Leiters Ford 22
HIRSCH DEPT. STORES
Will Open Store Here 133
Mgr., Bob Heuer 145
Does a Tough One 13
HS&M ROCH. PLANT
Employs 515 126
42nd Anniversay Sale 21
Plymouth Park 31
Pur Alden Knapp 125
IND METAL PRODS
James L. Holland, Mgr. 101
Robert Royer Pool 23
To Be Four-Story 132
ISLAND PARK CAFE
Pur Myron Jennings 134
By Waldo Adams 107
JONES CANDY CO
Pur McConnell & Son 81
J.M. Jordon Res 40
Talma Plant Adds Workers 24
KERN’S XMAS TREES
Article in American Forests 120
New Location 78
Wayne Reese Res 143
Harold Remy Retires 43
Closed In Akron 25
L.F. LBR YARD
Bldg Torn Down 57
Downs Resigns 38
Mgr Zelpha N. Smith 145
Roch City Park 90
Have Their Own Club 127
GoKart Raceway 39
New Curbs & Sidewalks 26
Started as Lincoln 47
Manitou Farm Equip
Pur William J. Kurz 42
Opens Soon 33
Open Fertilizer Plant 126
At University of Utah 84
Bert Gillespie Res 90
Dr. Guttman 95
Roch City Park 27, 64
pur Dick Miller 20
Opening Friday 49
MODERN DAIRY BAR
Pur Larry Calhoun 84
Revitalized by John A. Barr 116
Closing Out 51
MT. ZION REUN
Van Duyne Co. 93
Mt. Zion School
6th Reun 66
MT. ZION SCHOOL
Van Duyne Block 134
Mt. Zion School Reun
Van Duyne Gravel Pit 28
First in Fulton County 1
NICKEL PLATE R.R.
To Be Dissolved 106
Bill Sowers Retires 45
Coach of State Champs 128
Opens Office Here 85
Roch City Park 136
Closing Down 56
OWNERS DISCOUNT CO
Owners Discount Corp
Opening Office Here 98
PAUL’S CITIES SVC
Pur Adamson & Miller 122
PERU PRODN CREDIT
In New Building 85
PERU THANKS ROCH
For Help During Flood 61
Adams Grove 76
Jesse Pickens Cottage 38
At Fulton 9
Groundbreaking Plans 132
PRESTON, MR. & MRS
Enjoying Home Life 99
Roch City Park 37
Roch City Park 79
And Drive-In 129
34th Reun 67
34th Reun Set 65
Colonial Hotel 137
Concervation Club 94
Instalding Posts 80
ROCH BLDG SVC
Partners Switch 10
ROCH HIGH SCHOOL
Site Surveying Begins 50
Pur Wm. H. Carpenter 85
ROCH LBR CO
Selling Out 10
ROCH TEL CO
Mary Gould Inman 73
Sikas R, Weber Retires 80
ROUCH COAL & FEED
Pur William Hartzler 9
RUSSELL SEE TAXI
pur William Bussert 22
SAVINGS & LOAN ASSN
Application Hearing 128
Vacations Here 92
School Door Canteen
To Be a Parking Lot 88
Roch & Richland Twp 133
Hollansbe Promoted 24
Sears Catalog Sales Ofc
Opening Here Soon 67
Shelton-Van Duyne Reun
Roch City Park 143
SHORE CLOTHING CO
Pur by Brunt’s 40
Roch City Park 70
SINCLAIR SVC STA
Shelton Retires 44
SKOGMO DEPT STORE
Opening Friday 46
SMITH & DOWNS
Roch City Park 69
Opens Law Office 80
Snyder’s Super Dollar
Pur Wilts Food Center 146
Pur James L. Miller 10
Mgr. King Ford 18
Ex-Boy Orator 129
At Macy Farm 33
Roch City Park 136
SUPER DOLLAR MKT
Pur Snyder’s Mkt Inc 98
Percy Haggerman Res 86
TALMA FASTENER CO
New Firm 98
TALMA HIGH SCHOOL
Will Close Next Sept 49
Jack Pickens Res 68
Pleasant Valley Park 14
Roch City Park 93, 140
Jesse Thompson Res 92
TOMBAUGH, JEAN C.
Talk On Family Research 82
Opens Law Offices 81
To High Court Bar 79
New Store Opens 16
Roch City Park 27
Roch City Park 105
Chas. Wagoner Res 36
Edith Overmyer Res 144
Opens Next Week 86
Edward Hoffman Res 103
Harvey Turner Res 36
Roch City Park 75
Vern Wharton Res 18
In New Building 146
Banquet & Dedication 140
Melita Snyder Res 77, 103
Nellie Charters Res 91
Roch City Park 33
Roch City Park 102
New Location 82
FULTON COUNTY INDIANA
Special Thanks to Jack K. Overmyer for suggesting the title.
Wendell C. Tombaugh
700 Pontiac Street
Rochester, Indiana 46975
This book, and all other Tombaugh books, are available at no charge on
//www.fulco.lib.in.us/ (Fulton County Public Library website)