Fulton County, Indiana


From The Rochester News-Sentinel


Selected, copied and indexed by Wendell C. Tombaugh

Special thanks to Jack K. Overmyer for suggesting the Title..

=        =        =        =        =        =        =        =        =        =        =



Changes Mgr

News-Sentinel Jan. 5, 1956

          Vern Jennings announced this morning that the Jennings Motors firm here has been reorganized and the firm name changed to Jennings Motors Corp. with Kenneth Nelson as the new manager.

          Nelson, formerly of Logansport, has been associated with the automobile business for many years and already has assumed his duties with the Rochester Ford agency.

          Jennings said he would no longer be actively engaged in the business but that he and his wife would continue to maintain their Lake Manitou residence.  No other future plans were announced.

          Nelson, father of three children, plans to move to Rochester with his wife, Charlisle Raye, and children, Shirl, 9, Richard, 7, and Thomas, 19 months, as soon as housing is available.

          Nelson is a member of the Masonic Blue Lodge, Kokomo; Scottish Rite, Indianapolis; the Logansport Shrine and Elks, and of the Logansport Christian church.



Pur Baxter Drugs Inc.

News-Sentinel Jan. 24, 1956

          One of the city’s oldest business buildings at 724 Main street, which for over 50 years was known as the Blue Drug Store building, has been sold to Baxter Drugs Inc., of this city.

          The purchase was made from Mrs. Edith B. Ruh, former resident of this city, who now resides in Hollywood, Calif.

          Baxter Drugs Inc., which was formed in the summer of 1954, is comprised of Mr. & Mrs. Ernest O. Baxter and their son, Parke, all of this city.  The Baxters came to Rochester in October, 1941, at which time Baxter purchased the Blue Drug Store, contents and business from Mrs. Ruh.


          A few years ago Parke Baxter assumed the management of the business at 724 Main street and his father purchased the Rexall drug store, corner of Main and Eighth street, from Gene Coplen and Reid Erdmann.  The store is now known as the Peoples Pharmacy.

          The building at 724 Main is a two-story brick structure.  The entire first floor is occupied by the drug store while the upper floor has two apartments and a room which is used as storage by the drug store.

          Prior to 1941, the drug store had been owned and operated by members of the Ruh family since the late 1880s.  The late Alex Ruh was the first owner of the old Blue Drug Store.



$200,000 loss

News-Sentinel Jan. 25, 1956

          Built in 1889 by L.M. Brackett and A.J. Barrett and now owned by Lyman Brackett, stood in ruin.

          The valiant efforts of the firefighters did, however, save from conflagation the north half of the block, occupied by the Arlington Hotel and rooms above, plus the Sta-Curl Beauty Shop, O.K. Barber Shop and Peoples Cafe.  The two buildings are separated by a two-foot firewall, upon which firemen constantly sprayed three streams of water.

          Hugh McMahan, owner of the hotel building, said this morning that damage there was not completely ascertaned.  However, rooms next to the firewall were damaged by water and the third floor suffered much smoke damage.  Firemen did have to chop one hole in the roof to put out a small fire.- - - - - - -



Roch’s Newest Industry

News-Sentinel Jan. 30, 1956

          Rochester’s newest manufacturing concern, a tool and die corporation that could blossom into a business with several hundred thousand dollars a year in gross revenue, now is operating at the site of the old Rochester Canning Co on North Fulton street.

          Manufacturing two new products and doing sub-contract work for other businesses is Service Machine and Engineering Co which had operated since 1951 on the banks of the Eel river near Mexico, Ind.

- - - - - - - -








Social Center is Gone

News-Sentinel Feb. 21, 1956

                   BY CARL VAN TRUMP

          The last vestige of one of Rochester’s foremost social centers of the Gay Nineties to the Mid-Twenties was wiped out by the Braclett Building fire during the night of Jan. 24.

          This was the Knights of Pythias dance hall and spacious lodge room, located on the top floor of the what is now known as the Brackett building.  It was here that all of the city’s formost and informal dances and banquets were held - many times with considerable pomp and gusto.

          The hall was the scene of RHS Alumni dances, the K of P Annual banquet and dances always held on or near the anniversary date of the order - Feb. 19 and for various clubs and promotional dances.

          Musicians in the earlier days of these affairs were the William Williamson orchestra, Vena Shanks, pianist; Edgar Wallace, Billie True, Jimmie MacArthur, drummers, Miss Amelia Langendorf, Miss Bessie Bowers, Jack Bohnstadt, pianists, the H. Ross Franklin orchestra and others.

          In recalling the names of those who for a number of years were present at most of the high school alumni and K of P anniversary affairs, the following were mentioned:

          Val Zimmerman, Bess Emrick, Rose Meyer, Isabelle and Adell Turner, Edith Cowgill, Kate Killen, William Howard, Earl Shore, Ed Feiser, Harry Linkenhelt, Jack Stahl, Clyde Entsminger, Dr. M.O. King, Mr. & Mrs. L.M. Brackett, Dr. & Mrs. Charles Gould, Lucille and Grace Helman, Claude Crockett, James Ryan, Newt Good, D.L. Reiter, John Taylor, J. Floyd Mattice, Max Mattice, Charlotte Killen, A.L. Deniston, Mr. & Mrs.Robert Rannells, Miss Ada Rannells, Harley Montgomery, Pearl Barr, Earl Barr, Pete Van Trump, Mina Levi, Anna Plank, George and Fred Sanger.

          Also Robert Shafer, Louis Hoover, Hugh A. Barnhart, Harry and Fred Foglesong, Robert Lowry, Harry Norris, Carl Van Trump, Charles Burns, Roy Love, Charles Davis, Lyman Brackett, Charles Brackett, Clark Cunningham, Lucius Mackey, Curly Louderback, Harry Otto, Carl Jessen, Bill Ward, Ike, Lee and Art Wile, Byron Killen, Mervin Hammel, Cy Werts, Charles Rees, Dean L. Barnhart, Lester Allman, Del Ward, Sam Reiter, Fred Ruh, Guy R. Barr, Lyman Gould, Hugh Miller.

          Also Abbie Wheadon., Lenora Condon, Fay Biggard, Glen








Barnhart, Roxie and Ruth Terry, Mary and Bernice Brackett, Edith and Marjory Williams, Fay Hulse, Lena Ott, Emma King, Ruth Elliot, Gale Alexander, Margaret Plank, Raye Miller, Blanche and Fern Thalman, Margaret Bailey, Katie Daniels, Clara Phillips, Grace Phillips, Frank Jeffries, Rose and Blanche Wile, Evangeline Bankson, Grace McGaw, Lucille Helm, Edith Ault, May Morningstar, Alice Feiser, Mary Dawson.

          In those earlier days such events as fancy dress and masquerade balls, RHS Alumni and K of P anniversary banquets and dances were the top bracket social billings of the year.

          Formals were in evidence for both the beau brummel and milady fair.  The young “bloods”, with consideable jingle in their pockets, took their gals to the hall in horse-drawn cabs.  The supply of cabs from the town’s two livery stables was limited.  Often couples were forced to wait an hour or over before the cabbie would arrive. Liveries in operation at that time were those of Onstott & Clary and Del Ward & Son.

          After the dance many of the couples would go to the Mitchell or Karn restaurants which were located within a stones throw of the dance hall and enjoy lunches.  Festivities usually broke up around

3 a.m.

          A section of the H. Ross Franklin orchestra played a series of club dances at the hall during the period just previous to World War 1. Franklin, a Fort Wayne product, had been popularized on the first of the lake resort dancing places, Waco at Wawasee.  This spot is now transformed into a skating rink.

          Franklin, a long-time friend of Dean L. Barnhart, was brought here upon the latter’s recommendation, and this could have been the inspiration which later inspired the Fairview and Colonial pavilions at Lake Manitou.

          Rental on the dance hall proper usually was available for $15 and should the event be a really big affair the lodge hall also was secured and this cost another $15.  Admission for the usual dances was 50c per head and on special occasions the price mounted to $1.50 per individual.

          Several dancing clubs were organized around the turn of the century and later - perhaps the first of these was Beaumont club.  Organizers of the Beaumont were Herman Metzler and Newt Good.  Another club known as the Riverside was organzed by Ella McQueeny, of the Kentucky Stock Farm.  Another was the Manitou Club and the Enstminger dance school club.

          Louis Hoover, Lyman Brackett, Charles Burns, Clyde








Enstminger and Bernard Jessen promoted many special dances at the hall, as well as a few of the annual affairs.  The attendance was usually exceptionally good.  In later years the hotels at Lake Manitou began making improvements to accommodate the dancers and the popularity of the K of P hall waned and finally faded out completely.

          The future of the K of P lodge since the destruction of its home,. now hangs in the balance.  Officers of the lodge are awaiting final advices from the Grand Lodge at Indianapolis relative to the establishment of new quarters here.  The lodge at one time was the leading fraternal organization in the city, with a membership of 565.

          Among the charter members were Charles L. Sisson, Joe Seigfreid, Joe and Meier Levi, Adolph Biccard., James Stinson, Fred Heilbrun, Clem V. Miller and others.



Pur Lyman Baker

News-Sentinel Feb. 27, 1956

          Through a transaction completed late Saturday, Lyman Baker, of the Baker Plumbing & Heating company, of this city, became owner of the Loyd Rouch Hardware on East 8th street.

          Baker took possession of the business Monday morning.  In an interview today he stated he was retaining the full personnel with Don Rans continuing as manager of the hardware.

          The new owner stated that during the coming months he plans to add numerous supplies to the hardware stock, such as plumbing equipment, pumps in all sizes, farm apparatus and other supplies.


RinderKnecht Motors

Pur Jack F. Slagle

News-Sentinel March 13, 1956

          The sale of RinderKnecht Motors, Rochester Oldsmobile dealership at 528 Main street, was announced today by A.G. RinderKnecht.

          The new owner is Jack F. Slagle of Goshen, who will operate the business under the name of Slagle Motors.  Slagle, a native of Goshen, has been sales manager for the Riverside Motor Sales, Olds agency in that city, for the past 18 months.  He has five years experience in the auto business and is a veteran of Marine Corps duty.

          Slagle and his wife and son, 2-1/2, will reside in the Oakwood apartments.

          RinderKnecht, who has operated the local auto agency since November 1951, said that he will remain in Rochester and will




continue to operate the RinderKnecht Shell service station at 516 Main street.  His further plans are not fully decided upon.

          A native of Dayton, O., RinderKnecht spent 15 years with General Motors before coming to Rochester.


Manitou Music Co.

Opening Saturday

News-Sentinel March 17, 1956

          A new business, the Manitou Music Company, will be opened Saturday at 923 East Ninth street by William T. (Trib) Biddinger and Howard Amel, both of this city.

          The store, located in the building formerly occupied by the A.L. Martin shoe repair shop, will carry a complete line of electric organs, pianos, band instruments, records and sheet music.

          Both of the owners are well known throughout northern Indiana and southern Michigan as members of the Amel orchestra.  This band has been booked an average of six nights per week for various types of unusual entertainment.

          Amel is an instructor in all types of woodwind instruments.  He and his family reside at 1704 Monroe street.

          Biddinger, who was born and raised in Rochester, is the son of Mrs. Norman Stoner of this city.  For the past five years he has been associated with the Marcomb Buick Sales at Plymouth.  He resides at 1500 College avenue.



Under Construction

News-Sentinel March 22, 1956

          Construction is underway on 50 by 40 foot frame building at the junction of Roads 25 and 14 at the southern edge of the city which will house the Guy Ault Grocery and Market.

          The Aults, for the past five years, have operated a grocery store at 222 East 13th street.

          It is expected the new building will be ready for occupancy by midsummer.  Mr. & Mrs. Ault’s residence is directly west of the new building.












Buys Warehouse

News-Sentinel March 22, 1956

          The Bussert service station and warehouse at the rear of 420 Madison street has been purchased by Ancil R. Beall, it was announced today.

          Beall, owner of the Beall Tire Shop at 608 Main street, will make use of the warehouse only, to consolidate storage that now uses four separate quarters.  The purchase was made from Mrs. Palmer Bussert.

          Bill Bussert, who has been operating the service station, will vacate the building April 1.  It is possible, Beall said, that the station may be sublet later.



Purchase Home Studio

News-Sentinel April 11, 1956

          The Lockridge Studio of Rochester announced this morning the purchase of the Home Studio, in Winamac from the widow of Orvile Crim, who had operated it until his death recently.

          The transaction included the buying of the building, land and equipment.  Business offices will be maintained as a studio and camera shop in Winamac, and will be opened May 1.

          The local studio will be operated on the same schedule as usual.  Local partners in the firm are William Downs, Robert DeBruler and Margaret Musselman.



Herman Boone, Mgr.

News-Sentinel April 25, 1956

          Herman Boone, 34, 418 Jefferson street, head of the meat department of the local A & P store for the last five years, this week took over as manager of the store, replacing temporary manager Bud McVicker.

          Taking Boones position as head of the meat department is Bill Ross, 24, Hoopston, Ill.

          McVicker became temporary manager of the store on April 10, replacing Harry Hahn, who was transferred to Lafayette, and he has now gone back to the store in Hoopston.

          Boone, who has been employed by A & P for almost 10 years, came to the Rochester store from Monticello.  He nd wife, Mary, have two children, Ralph, 9, and Patricia, 7

          Ross has been employed by A & P for three years and also






comes from Hoopston, where he was a meatcutter.  He and his wife, Sally, have two children, Wendell Glen, 3, and Debra Jo, 2.  His family has not yet joined him in Rochester.



800 Expected

News-Sentinel May 11, 1956

          Mrs. Ray Riley, ticket chairman for the Akron Kappa Delta Phi’s second Old Grad’s Reunion for Akron high school Saturday night, stated today that at least 800 are expected to attend the affair.

          Out-of-state reservations include:   Patricia Merley Talbett, ‘44, Metamora, Ill.; Rev. Joy Hammond, ‘20, Stanton, Mich.; Doris Arter Osborn, 29, Ithica, N.Y.; Mabel and Richard Moore, ‘29, Coldwater, Mich.; Elizabeth Waechter Miller, ‘33, Petersburg, Fla. Frank Helvey, ‘39, Benton Harbor, Mich.; Charlotte Rowe Johnson, ‘44, Elmhurst, Ill.; Paul Nye, ‘45, Piedmont, S.C. and a number from Chicago.

          A corsage will be given to the graduate coming the greatest distance.



Pur Lee Sharpe

News-Sentinel May 19, 1956

          The sale of Larry’s Furniture and Appliance store at the (NW) corner of Eighth and Madison streets to Lee Sharpe, was announced this morning.

          Sharpe took over management of the business from Larry Williams today.  The firm will continue to handle the same line of furniture and appliances with the possible future addition of other items.  A grand opening sale is planned within the next two weeks, it was announced.

          Sharpe, who has been in the furniture business here for the past 25 years, will have as his associates in the new venture Byron Shore and Milton Camblin of this city.  The latter is owner of Camblin’s furniture store.

          The new owner has been associated with Williams in the business since the latter took it over in 1949.  Prior to that, Sharpe had been employed in the Val Zimmerman furniture store, located where the American Legion Post now is situated, and with the late Carl Thacker in an appliance business at the Eighth and Madison location.

          Sharpe and his wife and daughter, Annette, reside at 209 West Eighth street.

          Williams said this mornng that his future plans are incomplete at







present, but that he hopes to be able to make an announcement concernng them within a week.

          Don Brower will continue to be associated with the Larry’s firm, which will operate under the same name for the present, as radio and television repairing.



Denny Smith Home

News-Sentinel June 1, 1956

          On Sunday the home of Mr. & Mrs. Denny A. Smith at Millark was the scene of a happy occasion, when Mrs. Mae Smith and her five children gathered for a family reunion.

          Those present were:   Mrs. Mae Smith, Chillicothe, Mo.; Mr. & Mrs. Denny A. Smith, Mr. & Mrs. Sylvan Smith, Turlock, Cal.; Mr. & Mrs. Elmer Smith, Detroit, Mich.; Mable Smith, Kansas City, Mo.; and Mrs. Roy Byrd, Dawn, Mo.

          Additional guests were:   Mr. & Mrs. Charles Smith and family, Mr. & Mrs. James Monroe and family and Miss Judy Smith, all of Detroit, Mich.; and George Smith of Technical Engineering College, Fort Wayne.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel June 7, 1956

          The seventy annual Alber reunion was held in the Rochester City Park Sunday with 20 present.  A bounteous dinner was held at the noon hour and Calvin Alber offered prayer.

          After the dinner the business meeting was opened by the vice-president, Charles Johnson of Chicago in the absence of the president, Mrs. Marjorie Cauffman.  The report of last years reunion was read by the secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Marie Alber.

          The officers will hold over for another year as follows: Marjorie Cauffman, president; Charles Jackson, vice president; Marie Alber, secretary-treasurer.

          The reunion will be held at the same place at the same time next year it was announced.  There were several births reported:   Mr. & Mrs. Don Childs, a son, Lansing, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Clyde Alber, a son, Navy Base, Kingsville, Texas; Mr. & Mrs. Dick Alber, a son, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Addison Alber, a son, Tempe, Ariz.; Mr. & Mrs. Ramon Alber, a daughter, Leesburg.

          Mrs. Margaret Alber of Fulton received a gift for being the oldest one present and Mr. & Mrs. Jim Nickels of Lansing received the





gift for having the youngest child present.  A collection of $11.75 was taken.

          The relatives present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Charles Johnson, Chicago; Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber and son, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Fasnacht, Arcanum, O.; Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Alber, Walton; Mr. & Mrs. Paul Dean Alber and daughters, Canton, O.; Mr. & Mrs. James Mayhill, Logansport; Miss Faith Alber, Tucson, Ariz.; Mrs. Margaret Alber, Fulton; Mrs. Exie Schuler, Carpenterville, Ill.; Mr.& Mrs. Andrew Duger, Chicago; Mr. & Mrs. H. McClellan, Carpenterville, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Jim Nichols, Logansport; Mrs. E.W. Alber and granson, Geme Alber of Logansport.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel June 22, 1956

          The Metzger family held their annual reunion at the City Park at Rochester, Sunday.

          Members present were:    Mrs. Robert Renkenberger and son, Logansport; Mrs. DeMaris Metzger, Columbia City; Hazel Metzger, South Bend; Mrs. Bertha Urbin, Walkerton; Mrs. Anna Allen, Winamac; Mrs. John Huntington and son, Bremen; Mr. & Mrs. John Metzger, Angola; Mr. & Mrs. Lafe Smith, Hunterstown; Mr. & Mrs. Homer Graffis and son, North Manchester; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Brugel and Mr. & Mrs. Leo Milkey, Mishawaka; Mr. David Metzger Jr., Mr. & Mrs. Dave Metzger, Mr. & Mrs. Warren Gillespie and Mr. & Mrs. G.E. Metzger, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Graffis and Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Foor and sons, Rochester.

          The following elections were held:   Mrs. Mary Renkenberger, Logansport, president; Homer Graffis, vice-president; Bertha Urbin, secretary-treasurer.

          The 1957 reunion will be held at the same place the third Sunday in June.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel June 26, 1956

          The first annual reunion of the Philip and Phoebe Arter family was held Sunday at the Rochester city park.

          Mrs. John Eads of Urbana and Mrs. Fred Barr of Talma made the necessary arrangements.  Everybody thought it a good idea and elected same ones as president and secretary for another year.

          Those present were:   Mrs. John Arter, Mrs. Robert Walsh, Mrs.






Bertha Withrow, Canal Fulton, O., Mr. & Mrs. Arter, Baldwin, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Shakton, Mrs. John Arter, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Judd, Mr. & Mrs. Bob Kindig and family, Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. Sam Arter, Mr. & Mrs. Dale Chapman and family, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Arter, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Arter, Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Harry McCarter, Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. Ben Wiltshire, Macy; Mr. & Mrs. Earl Arter, Mrs. Harvey Arter, Mrs. William Arter, Mrs. Bill Merley and family, Mr. & Mrs. Verl Rager and family, Mr. & Mrs. Paul Shafer and son, Mrs. Neva Kindig, Mr. & Mrs. Dewey Merley, Akron; Mr. & Mrs. George Black and son, Claypool; Susan Chapman, North Manchester; Mr. & Mrs. John Eads, Urbana; Mrs. Roy Hubbard, Mr. & Mrs. Fred Hubbard, and family, Mrs. Frank Arter, Mr. & Mrs. Dick Green and son and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Barr, all of Rochester.



Nyona Lake

News-Sentinel June 27, 1956

          The Ambuhl family of Indanapolis held its first reunion at the Nyona Lake farm home of Mr. & Mrs. William Ehrhardt, Sunday.

          Mrs. Ehrhardt’s father, the late John F. Ambuhl came to this country from near Bern, Switzerland at the age of 19.  He worked on his cousin’s farm near Covington until he could speak the American language.  Then he was employed by the Indianapolis Street Railway Company to shoe mules for the city transportation.  He married Anna Schort, daughter of one of the executives of the company.  Her father designed and built the first street car built in Indianapolis.  Mr. Ambuhl died in 1931 and Mrs. Ambuhl died last July.

          To this union, there were seven children, all living:   John E. Ambuhl, former Indianapolis, chief, Ernest Ambuhl, Internal Revenue officer, Theodore Ambuhl, Eli Lilly employee, Mrs. Marie Johnson, Mrs. Marguerite McMullen, Miss Edith Ambuhl all of Indianapolis and Mrs. Helen Ehrhardt of Nyona Lake.  All were present Sunday.  There are ten grandchildren, seven of whom were present Sunday.  There are 25 great-grandchildren, with 17 present.

          The day was spent in visiting, contests, games and swimming.  The dinner was served on the lawn from tables containing delcious food.  Upon arriving, Sunday, each adult was tagged with a duty which he was to perform, such as traffic director, childrens’ counselor, etc.

          Mrs. E.E. McMullen was appointed secretary for the group.  Miss Edith Ambuhl acted as chairman during a short meeting.  Robert McMullen, an instructor in the Indianapolis Public Schools, played a number of selections on the organ.






          Besides those named above, attending were:   Mrs. John E. Ambuhl, Mrs. Ernest Ambuhl of Lake Freeman and Indianapolis; Mrs. Theodore Ambuhl, Sr.,, Murray Johnson, Everett McMullen, Mrs. Edward Borchers, Miss Irene Borchers, Mr. & Mrs. Stanley Trusty and children, Scott, Margo and Janice; Mr. & Mrs. Gil Washburn and chldren, Gary and Linda, Mr. & Mrs. Edward De Hoff and girls, Margaret, Ruth and Vicky, Mrs. June Lacy and children., Terry, Stevie and Susie, Mr. & Mrs. Robert McMullen and children, Randy and Andrea. Mr. & Mrs. Theodore Ambuhl, Jr., and girls, Marcia and Ann, and Dr. & Mrs. Russell Whitmore and children, Christine and Rusty.

          The grandchildren not able to attend were John C. Ambuhl of Pulaski, Tenn.., Donald Ambuhl of Detroit, Mich., and Mrs. Joan Deering of Tallahassee, Fla.



Carl Van Trump, Retires

News-Sentinel June 30, 1956

          In 1907, Rochester proudly boasted of a population of 4.009 souls.  The Racket, located then where the Farmers & Merchants Bank is today, was advertising men’s suits from $7.50 to $15.

          For a thin dime, you could see “polite vaudevile, new illustrated songs and up-to-date moving pictures” at the Manitou theatre, located at 120-122 East Eighth street.  You were able to get a free office examination from Dr. C.A. Camp, osteopath, and the five-cent cigar was a glut on the market at local tobacco stands.

          Rochester still was a town, being governed by Trustee B.F. Sheward, W.H. Taylor and Joel Stockberger.  A fellow named Rezin Reagan was principal of Rochester high school, while petite Fay Hultz was teaching fifth grade students at Columbia school.

          Two newspapers hit the town’s porches nightly.  The Republican being published by Albert W. Bitters and The Sentinel by Henry A. Barnhart.

          And it was in this year - 1907 - that Editor Barnhart hired a young fellow as a printer’s devil, which is a polite way of saying he had to do all the dirty work around the shop.

          The lad’s name was Carl Van Trump.  And from this humble beginning he has continued to embrace and master every phase of the newspaper and printing business.  From devil to a wizard of the mechanical linotype, from copy boy to editor and expert at the well-turned phrase - Carl has run the gamut.

          He is known throughout northern Indiana as a newspaperman of the old school who still manages to keep up with the younger, more





idealistic additions to the fraternity.

          And today, 49 years after the start of it all, Carl is editing his last story and has typed his last “This’n That” column.  He is retiring from a half-century of battling deadlines, jumping at every fire whistle and diplomatically soothing the most irate subscriber.

          From here on, Carl says, “I’ll try to confine my worrying to my golf game and that Siamese cat of ours.”

          It’s a long way back to the days of the dime movies and Carl’s apprenticeship (and $8 per week salaries).  In the years since, he has seen and been a part of tremendous advances in the printer’s art.

          When Carl first entered the business at The Sentinel, his brother Pete was foreman of the shop.  Carl was a quick learner and soon advanced to the postion of ad compositor and job printer.  When he got his promotion, incidentally, he enticed another youngster into the business to take his vacated job as “devil.” The boy was Russel Parker, now the News-Sentinel’s advertising manager.

          It wasn’t long until Carl had learned all the 5,000 parts of the linotype.  Then, in 1912, he took a job for awhile at the old Argus Bulletin in LaPorte, returning to Rochester to open a job printng plant over what now is Taylor’s Shoe Store.

          Later he returned to the newspaper business as a linotypist on The Fulton County Sun, operated then by his late brothers, Pete and Herd.  It was during this time that Carl serviced and erected linotype machines in cities all over northern Indiana, no mean feat in itself.

          When The News-Sentinel was formed in 1924 by the merger of The Sentnel with The News of brothers Pete and Herd, Carl came along as city editor.  In 1941, he became editor, a post he filled until 1952.  Since, he has been wire editor and an inexhaustable fountain of local facts and lore.

          Carl’s influence on the younger generation of the community ha been both endless and anonymous.  He provided the first instructions to such local-born newspapermen as Don Carlson, now managing editor of The Niles (Mich.) Star; Robert McKelvey, now oin the copy desk of The Detroit Free Press, and the present editor of The News-Sentinel, Jack K. Overmyer.

          “Tony”, as Carl has been known since his childhood days, was married to that fifth-grade teacher of 1907, Fay Hultz, and they reside at 214 West 11th street, from where he conducts an insurance business.

          He also has maintained a lively interest in athletics, being a former baseball shortstop of some repute and a referee in the old semi-pro basketball circuit known as the Rochester Athletic Association.  Carl’s rich baritone voice has in times past, been the mainstay of choirs





at both the Baptist and Presbyterian churches.

          As a newspaperman, he has covered many big stories.  The fires at Cole Brothers circus, Fairview and Colonial hotels and a murder or two throughout the past half-century were the most spectacular of these.

          He also has been the longtime author of the weekly “This’n That” column, a humorous and wry commenary on the passing scene.

          The News-Sentinel, for which he has been a good friend and loyal worker, would not have been the same without him these past 32 years.  And he will be badly mistaken if he thinks that he’ll not be missed a great deal.

          As for that golf game, we promise to print all his sub-par rounds and holes-in-one.  In large type, too.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel July 9, 1956

          A family reunion was held Sunday, July 1 at the City Park honoring Mrs. Mary Crites and daughter, Ann, of Portland, Ore., who have been visiting here the past week with relatives and friends.

          A delicious basket dinner was served during the noon hour to the following:   Mr. & Mrs. Milton Thacker and children, Detroit, Mich.; Mrs. Carol Azbell, Bunker Hill; Mr. & Mrs. Raymond Rogers; Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Peterson and son Robert; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Rauschke; Mr. & Mrs. A.J. Long; Mr. & Mrs. Maurice Peterson and son, Barry; Mr. & Mrs. Chloris Barkman and children; Mr. & Mrs. Maurice Coplen and daughters; Mr. & Mrs. Joe Peterson and son, Dick; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Bordon; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Long and son, Donnie; Mr. & Mrs. Alvin Finney and children; Walter Peterson; Mr. & Mrs. Ransford Peterson; Mr. & Mrs. Marjorie Wagoner and children.



Izaak Walton Clubhse

News-Sentinel July 11, 1956

          The RNU grads held its 27th reunion Sunday at the Izaak Walton Clubhouse.  The tables were decorated with the school colors, blue and gold, and garden flowers.  The president, Dow Haimbaugh, called on the Rev. Clyde Walters, 1926 class, to offer prayer.

          The group sang, “The More We Get Together” followed by a trio frm the Fulton County Chorus, Mrs. Robert Walters, Mrs. Ralph Burkett and Mrs. Walter Burkett, singing several songs.  Mrs. Rae Wildermuth favored the group with song entitled “Dearie” followed by






V.L. Barker rendering a solo.  Mrs. Robert Shafer accompanied the musical numbers.

          A musical contest was conducted by the president by selecting six ladies from the group and challenged them to name old songs as they were played by Mrs. Harriett Bonine.

          Dr. Harry Mackey, of Indianapolis, was then introduced to tell of his association with and to eulogize Dr. A.E. Stinson, who was the honored guest of the day having been the Doctor of the Year in Indiana in 1954.  Dr. & Mrs. Stinson were introduced and gave short talks.

          New officers are:   President, Robert Shafer; vice president, Mrs. Hattie Bonine; secretary-treasurer Rae Wildermuth.

          Those attending from a distance were:   Mr. & Mrs. Lee Beehler, Logansport; Dr. & Mrs. Harry Mackey, Indianapolis; Zella Gates Overholt and Mrs. Ambrose Burkett, Huntington; Mr. & Mrs. Talmage Dillon, Valparaiso; Glen McLemore, Joliet, Ill.; the Rev. & Mrs. Clyde Walters, Royal Center; Floyd Neff, Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Deardorf, Richmond; Mr. & Mrs. Mead Haimbaugh, Mr. & Mrs. Roy McClary, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. E.C. Carvey, Converse; Mrs. John Kraft and grandmothers, Sabra Rice, Logansport; and Cheryl Kraft, New York; Mrs. Bess Dingman, Peru; Misses Mae and Nell Falvey, San Pierre; Edith Wolf, South Bend; and George Haimbaugh, New York City.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel July 12, 1956

          The annual Williams reunion was held recently at the Rochester City Park.  There were 67 present.

          Relatives from out of state present were from Massena, N.Y., Oneonta, N.Y.; Battle Creek, Mich., Tampa, Fla., Albuquerque, N.M.

          Officers elected for the coming year were:  Everett Williams, president; Cretie Emery, secretary and treasurer.


W. Mason Abstracts

Pur by George Deamer

News-Sentinel July 13, 1956

          A Rochester firm of over 60 years’ continuous existence has disappeared from the local business scene, Walter Mason having sold his abstract concern to George Deamer.

          Mason’s quarters at 112 East Eighth street have been vacated and Deamer has absorbed the abstract firm with his own realty





business at 111 West Eighth street.

          Mason first joined the business in 1932, when it was operated by the late Peter Stingley.  Mason took over the business when Stingley died in 1936 and has operated it since.   Stingley first opened the firm in 1895.

          Mason, who resides at 920 Pontiac street, has no future plans oher than enoying his retirement.



South Bend Park

News-Sentinel July 13, 1956

          The annual Walters reunion was held Sunday at Potawatomie Park, Souh Bend with 25 members present.  Mr. & Mrs. Russell Walters, of Rochester, attended and Mr. Henry Walters, South Bend, age 87, was the oldest member present.

          Officers elected for the coming year were: President, Deloss Walters, South Bend; vice-president, Tura Regnier, Plymouth; secretary and treasurer, Everett Nimtz, South Bend.



Pur Acme Circus Op Co

News-Sentinel July 16, 1956

          The Clyde Beatty circus, owned by the famed wild animal trainer who once resided in Rochester, has been sold to a corporation headed by two former Ringling Brothers Barnum & Bailey circus managers.

          The Acme Circus Operating Company bought Beatty’s show which had to close because of financial difficulties, this week.  Price was not revealed.  Frank McClosky and Walter Kerman, former Ringling employees, head the company.

          The circus is in winter quarters at Deming, N.M., but will reopen in Albuquerque Aug. 30.   It will go into new winter quarters in Sarasota, Fla., in November.

          Beatty lived in Rochester while wintering the Cole Brothers circus about 15 years ago.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel July 17, 1956

          The sixth annual Isaac Brooker reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park.  A basket dinner was held at the noon hour with 75 relatives present.





          Mr. & Mrs. Walter Brooker were the oldest members present and Jeffery Michael Nist, son of Jean and Jerome Nist, was the youngest.

          A short business meeting was held in the afternoon with Dean Neff being elected president and Jean Ann Nist, secretary.  Arrangements were made for the 1957 reunion to be held at the same place and time.

          Relatives who came were from Argos, Plymouth, Fort Wayne, Kewanna, Walkerton, Logansport and Anderson.

          Guests were:   Mr. & Mrs. George Warner, Mr. & Mrs. Fred Scharf, Tom Bowersox and Pam and Sandra Amstein.  The remainder of the afternoon was spent socially.



Visits Fulton County

News-Sentinel July 17, 1956

          John Barr, president of Montgomery Ward & Company, and Mrs. Barr and daughter, Candy, were guests of Mr. & Mrs. Floyd Tipmore at their farm home northeast of Rochester over the week-end.  While here they called on friends at Lake Manitou on Sunday.  Mr. & Mrs. Ike Nooe, son Ike Jr., and daghter, Susan also were members of the party.  They all came here to visit Mr. Barr’s and Mrs. Nooe’s mother, Mrs. Bertha Barr of Akron.  Mr. Barr is a graduate of Akron high school and grew to manhood on his parents’ farm near the Tipmore place.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel July 18, 1956

          The 32nd annual Conrad-Bray reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park with 66 present.

          After prayer given by Edgar Conrad, a basket dinner was held at the noon hour.  Following the dinner the president, Richard Conrad called the family together and the secretary’s report was read by Mrs. Edgar Conrad.  Officers were elected for the coming year:   Richard Conrad, president; and Mrs. Richard Showley, secretary-treasurer.  It was voted to have dinner next year at 12:30 p.m., and Thurle Alber will see about the ice cream for next year.

          One dollar was given to the oldest present, Russell Conrad, of Twelve Mile and the youngest, Rickey Joe Alber, son of Mr. & Mrs. Dick Alber, of Rochester, Mr. & Mrs. Melvin Bray, of Niles, Mich., were unable to attend due to the illness of Mr. Bray.






          Those present were:   Mrs. Florence Hibbs, San Fernando, Cal.; Mrs. Edgar Dodson and children, Hollywood, Cal.; Mrs. Izola White, Tucson, Ariz.; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Showley and daughter, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Everett Bolton, Bunker Hill, Mr. & Mrs. Luther Sheetz, Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. Devoe Sheetz, Camden; Mr. & Mrs. Harry Conrad, Lucerne; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Conrad and son, Twelve Mile; Mr. & Mrs. George Conrad and daughter, Denver; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Conrad, Royal Center; Mr. & Mrs. Victor Winegardner, New Waverly; Mr. & Mrs. Harold Winegardner and daughter, Mr. & Mrs/ Edgar Conrad, Mrs. Thelma Crippen, Mr. & Mrs. Roscoe Hensell, Mr. & Mrs. M.L. Crippen and Mr. & Mrs. Jack Hines, all of Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Thurle Alber and family, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Hibbs and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber and sons, and Mr. & Mrs. Dick Alber and family, all of Rochester and Jon and Eddie Cauffman, New Carlisle.

          Those who attended in the afternoon were Mr. & Mrs. Herman Alber and daughters of Rochester, Mr. & Mrs. Manford Alber of Fulton, and Wayne Alber of Rochester.



Richard Maltby

News-Sentinel July 24, 1956

          Richard Maltby, who brings his popular orchestra to the Colonial Hotel at Lake Manitou Wednesday night from 9 p.m., to 1 a.m., not only is one of the most talented musicians of the day, but also is one of the most imaginative.  Within the space of a few months he has emerged with one of the top dance bands in the country. - - - -


Stephens-Fansler Reun

Trailes Inn Park

News-Sentinel Aug. 1, 1956

          A Stephens and Fansler reunion was held Sunday at the Tippecanoe River Trails Inn Park.

          A basket dinner was held at the noon hour with 35 members of the families present.



Fred Van Duyne Home

News-Sentinel Aug. 7, 1956

          A family get-together was held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne Sunday.  Following the commnity dinner the afternoon was spent socially.





          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Ray Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Shelton, Mrs. Grace Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Donald Van Duyne and son, Frank and granddaughter, Cynthia Fisher, Mr. & Mrs. Joe Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Virgil Van Duyne.

          Also Mrs. Harry Macy, Harry Joe, Margaret and Robert Dean Macy, Mr. & Mrs. Byron Zimmerman and family, Mr. & Mrs. Tom Rose and family, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Goudy, Gene Goudy, Mr. & Mrs. Adam Rentschler and family, Mrs. Harold Crill and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Fredrick Van Duyne and sons, Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Braman and family, Mr. & Mrs. Randy Masterson and daughter and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel Aug. 8, 1956

          The Henry Day Reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park.  A carry-in basket lunch was held with a business meeting following.

          Officers were elected as follows:   President, Albert McLochlin; vice-president, A.L. Rinker and Harold Day; secretary-treasurer, re-elect Mrs. Betty Lowman; reporter, Miss Marian Black; entertainment committee, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McCroskey and Mrs. Deloris Balder.

          Prizes were given to John Day, oldest man, Mrs. Eva McLochlin, oldest woman, Chas. Wagner, youngest, Mr. & Mrs. William Sinkovich coming the farthest and Mr. & Mrs. Harold Day with the largest family present.

          Games were played and prizes were won by Mrs. Betty Lameriand and Tom Day.

          Families that attended were:   Mr. & Mrs. Harold Day and family, and Mr. & Mrs. William Sinkovich and son, of Chicago; Mr. & Mrs. A.L. Rinker of Niles, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Garreth Lameriand and family, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Wagoner and sons and Mrs. Ann Hildebrandt and son, Jack, all of South Bend; Mrs. Dustin Lowman and sons, of Claypool; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Day, of Anderson; John Day, of Arcadia; Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McCroskey and daughter Donna, Mr. & Mrs. Albert McLochlin and Miss Marian Black, of Star City.

          In the evening the Harold Day, William Sinkovich, A.L. Rinker,Wagner, Garreth Lameriand, Mrs. Ann Hildebrandt and Raymond McCroskey families along with Mr. & Mrs. Marvin Balder and sons and Mr. & Mrs. William Dankirt and daughter, all of Star







City, enjoyed a weiner roast in the yard at the home of Mr. & Mrs. A.C. McLochlin, of Star City.


Hiland-Van Duyne Reun

Roch City Park

News-Sentinel Aug. 14, 1956

          The 22nd Hiland-Van Duyne Reunion was held at the Rochester city park Sunday with 28 members present.

          A basket dinner was held at the noon hour with Mrs. Bertha Hiland giving the invocation.  Following the dinner a business meeting was held with the vice-president, Ora McVay, Marion, in charge.  It was announced that the president, Charles Hiland, Rochester, passed away last November and he had been president of the reunion for 30 years.

          The afternoon was spent in Carlisle, gave a reading (sic) and each one had brought something for a white elephant sale to increase the money in the treasury and it was conducted by Ora McVay.

          Mr. McVay was elected president; Edwin Olson, vice-president; Mrs. Wade Green, South Bend, secretary and treasurer.  The reunion will be held at the same place at the same date next year.  A gift of $1 was given to the oldest present, Mrs. Bertha Hiland, Rochester and to the youngest one, Anna Darcel Miller, Marion.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Frank Hiland, Kewanna; Mrs. Nettie Haschel, and Mr. & Mrs. Edwin Olson, Winamac; Mr. & Mrs. Day, Flora; Harold McVay and Mr. & Mrs. Ora McVay, Marion; Mr. & Mrs. Wade Green, South Bend; Mrs. Bertha Hiland, Mrs. Sara Barnhart and Mr. & Mrs. Jon Cauffman, New Carlisle and Gene Alber, Logansport.

          Guests in the afternoon were Mr. & Mrs. Paul Miller and children, Marion; Mr. & Mrs. Francis Hiland, South Bend, John and Joe Hiland, Tempe, Ariz.



George Baker Home

News-Sentinel Aug. 14, 1956

          A family reunion of the Baker’s was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. George Baker, south of Green Oak.

          A carry-in dinner was held at he noon hour, with 65 present from:   South Bend, Indianapolis, Fulton, Mentone, Rochester and Macy.









Will Leiter Summer Res..

News-Sentinel Aug. 15, 1956

          Mr. & Mrs. Will Leiter, of Flora, entertained 75 relatives Sunday, at their summer home “Sandy Beach” at Lake Freeman.

          A community dinner was served at the noon hour.  The remainder of the afternoon was spent socially.  A business meeting was held and the same officers were elected for 1957:   Ralph Hunneshagen, president, and Mollie Leiter, secretary-treasurer.

          Guests were:   Mr. & Mrs. Clair Wilson and family, Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. E. Wilson and family, Argos; Mr. & Mrs. Bruce Stinson, Cortland, O.; Col. & Mrs. William F. Centner, Arlington, Va.; Mr. & Mrs. Harold Chloupek and family, Indianapolis; Ed Leiter, Bethlehem, Pa.; Mrs. Lenora Sullivan, Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Leiter and family, Flora; Mr. & Mrs. ClaudeWolfrom, South Bend; Mrs. Haywood, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Clemans, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Bob Truney, Indianapolis; and Mr. & Mrs. Randall Friedland, Chesterton, Ind.

          Those from Rochester attending were Mr. & Mrs. Hugh Hunneshagen, Jr., and family, Mr. & Mrs. Burdell Leiter and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Hugh V. Hunneshagen and family, Mrs. Dennis Taylor, Levi Leiter, Mrs. Blanch Miller, Mr. & Mrs. Toby Warner, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Hunneshagen and family, Mr. & Mrs. Oliver Wilson and Mollie Leiter.


Perschbaher Reun

Roch City Park

News-Sentinel Aug. 15, 1956

          The 46th annual Perschbacher reunion was held at the City Park Sunday with 35 in attendance with relatives from Canton, O., Chicago, Ann Arbor, Mich.; Mishawaka, Plymouth and Indianapolis.

          After the bountiful dinner the afternoon was spent with a short business session.  Election of officers for the next year resulted in retaining the same ones in office as follows:    President, Ernest D. Bonine; vice president, Freddie Perschbacher; secretary-treasurer Mrs. Ernest D. Bonine.













Roch City Park

News-Sentinel Aug. 15, 1956

          The Smiley reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park with 54 members attending from Monesnee, East Lynn, Milford, Ill., Fort Wayne, Attica and Rensselaer.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel Aug. 16, 1956

          The descendants of the late Mr. & Mrs. E.E. Schipper, formerly of North Manchester, held their 15th annual reunion Sunday at the Rochester City Park.  There were 51 members present.  Mrs. Frieda Schipper Freetag, of Oakwood Apartments, was the hostess.

          Following the basket dinner an election of officers was held with the following being elected:   Mrs. Grace Brown, Akron, president; Tony Thomsen, Fort Wayne, vice-president; Mrs. Ruth Schipper, South Whitley, secretary-treasurer.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. G.G. Kampen, North Manchester; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Gaute, North Manchester; Mr. & Mrs. Dewey Brown, North Manchester; Frieda Freetag, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Arnold Schipper, Plymouth; Fritz and Becky Martin, Columbia City; John Gaerte and family, Macy; Paul Martin and family, Silver Lake; John Schipper and family, South Whitley; Phillip Sciafoose and family, Huntington; Carl Betz and family, Huntington; Max Buffington and family, Columbia City; Roy Schipper and family, Akron, Miss Joan Schipper, Phoenix, Ariz.;Mr. & Mrs. Edward Thomsen and Mr. & Mrs. Tom Thomsen, Fort Wayne.

          The Thomsen families came from Germany recently and their admission as future citizens was sponsored by members of the Schipper family so that they might enjoy the blessings of the United States.

          Members from Louisiana, Arizona, Iowa and Illinois were absent.  Mrs. Mae Stengel was a guest.



Tully Pontious

News-Sentinel Aug. 18, 1956

          Tully Pontious was six years old when Alexander Graham Bell patented the first workable telephone and created a business which was to become the Fulton county native’s lifelong field of endeavor.

          Tully, who observed his 86th birthdate last March, first became




associated with the communications field 61 years ago while still a student at Rochester high school and today still is semi-active in the Rochester Telephone company.

          Pontious, who resides at 1018 Monroe street, was born on March 17. 1870, just south of Akron.  At the age of 15 he moved with his parents to Rochester to the old Dell Ward place on Fourth street near the Erie railroad crossing.

          This was in 1895 and the year he started his long, fruitful career in the telephone business.  His first job was with the late Dick Logan, cutting tamrack poles, a cedar type pole for the Rochester Telephone company.

          The local company, like hundreds of others, was organized in November, 1895, when Bell’s patent rights expired after a 20-year period.  Its organizers were Henry Barnhart, Lyman Brackett Sr., Joseph Myers, R.C. Stevenson and George W. Holman.

          The newly formed company actally started operations in February, 1896, in offices over what is now the Peoples Pharmacy.  Some 84 subscribers used the now almost extinct crank-type telephone.

          During this year of 1896 the local telephone company strung its first toll line - to Argos - and Tully Pontious was one of three linemen who worked with a two-horse team and a wagon to string the line over a snow-slush covered ground during February and March.  Lee Montgomery and John Peck completed the trio of linemen.

          Tully says, however, that Peck and Montgomery really were the linemen and he “did all the dirty work on the ground, wading through slush and snow drifts as high as four feet.”

          The Rochester Telephone company opened an office over the drug store on Decoration Day, 1896, and Bob White installed the first switchboard, a one-position magneto board, and Belle Bernetha became the first day operator.

          Tully, along with his usual day duties as a collector of telephone bills, repairman and installation worker, beame the company’s first night switchboard operator at a salary of $7 per week for the combined jobs.

          Pontious explained that these were full days, too.  “If we were workng on a line out in the country we were expected to be on the job at 7 a.m., six days each week.”

          “Still we never had trouble hiring linemen.  We could always get all the linemen we needed for 25 cents per hour.”

          By 1909 the company had grown rapidly and Tully still was building lines and acting as a trouble shooter but a student who was







later to become the head of Woodlawn hospital, was now serving as night operator.  He was Howard Shafer, later Dr. Shafer.

          It was during this year that the telephone service was modernized and the board, which had grown to four positions, was converted from magneto to a common battery operation.

          Later, during the same year, Dan Agnew took over the stock of the retiring Joe Myers.  Tully was given the additional responsibility of plant superintendent and the company now had 800 subscribers.  It also was during this year that Tully’s son, Roscoe, became a parttime lineman while still a high school student.

          Roscoe became a permanent employee in 1912 and today is a director and general manager of the local telephone company.  He acquired Agnew’s stock in 1921 and was voted the directorship that year.

          Tully became the company vice president in 1921 when George Holman sold his interest.  He was nominated for the post by the late Henry Barnhart, father of the company’s present president, Hugh A. Barnhart, who also is publisher of The News-Sentinel.

          The years of progress were not easy, however, Tully points out.

          “We used horses, a bicycle and later a motorccle for trouble shooting along the lines.

          “I bought my own driving horse and the company furnshed me with a wagon for use in maintaining service for the company’s subscribers.”

          It was in this manner that the Rochester Telephone company, with Tully Pontious as its all around man, provided its subscribers with the quickest form of commnication known to mankind.

          “We bought our first truck in 1920 and have kept pace with the

‘times’ until at present the company has a fleet of six vehicles to maintain its prsent total of 3,650 telephones serviced from a 12-position board.  Of course, seven are toll and five local.”

          Tully says some of the prblems he faced during the earlier days were rather complex.

          “We had youngsters shooting off our glass insulators with 22 calibre rifles as one of our many head-aches.”

          Another was the quality of wire used during those days.  The heat would stretch the wires each summer, allowing them to sag and causing the poles to lean.

          “Each fall we would have to go out and stretch the wires and realign the poles.

          “Then there was the ‘big’ sleet storm of 1908, which tore down most of our lines.  I guess we must have had as many as 50 linemen at





the office the next morning looking for jobs.”

          “We had an earlier sleet storm, this one in 1898 which tore down all of our lines and the repairing then took quite a spell.  We had to hire a team and sled to get much of the work done and the weather created even more of a problem.”

          Tully also tells of the depression of 1931 when the company lost 15 percent of its 1600 subscribers and it wasn’t until 1935 before it regained all of them.  The company showed a substantial increase by 1938 and the “real big” increase came in 1939, Tully adds.

          The Rochester Telephone company moved into its present modern building on West Eighth street in 1939, but Tully recalls that it hasn’t alwas been this nice.

          “I moved in from the country to the city in a house situated on the present telephone building site and paid $8 per month rent for several years.  The rent was later raised to $10 per month.

          “I lived there until plans were formulated for a new building on the site of the house and purchased my present home at 1018 Monroe street.  This was 23 years ago.

          “The original plans were never used, however, because the war (World War 1) forced them to be dropped.  Those plans were never used in connection with the present building.

          Tully, although today still an active director, tried to retire from actual work with the company in 1941, but each time trouble developed the first person to be summoned for help was Tully.

          He has been recalled several times in emergency situations.  The last time was in 1950 when once again a sleet storm hit the area causing considerable damage to overhead lines.

          Today, with his many years of service, Tully Pontious probably can lay claim to the title of “oldest active continous telephone emploee in the United States.”

          This is proved by logic.  Those persons active in the first 20 years of the telephone when Bell was covered by the patent long since have ceased to exist.  And Tully was in on the ground floor when the independent companies sprang up across the country.

          As Tully expresses it:

          “I’m fortunate to retain my physical good health and ability to be active in the company.   Don’t know of anyone in the business who has reached my age and is still active.”

          It’s a safe bet to say if thre are any the number is few.

          While active through the years, Tully has watched the company grow from its origin and 84 subscribers in 1885 to its present status of plans for a complete dial system by April 1957.



          The company, which expanded its building in 1953 started participating in direct distance toll dialing two weeks ago.  Now, more than 400 points may be reached through the local office by toll operators direct dialing.  And these points will be increased as time passes, Tully explained.

          Besides his son Roscoe, Tully has another son, Howard, who lives in Evanston, Ill., where he is personnel manager of a large Chicago store.

          His daughter and first wife are deceased.

          He has remarried and he and his wife, Lillian, occupy the Monroe street home.

          And Tully is right in the middle of plans to expand the telephone firm to an ultimate growth of 15 toll positions and 3,000 lines of equipment.  This would more than double the present toll positions.

          Tully, who hasn’t dropped the “o” from his last name as did Roscoe, dosn’t expect to have to string any of these lines but it is reasonable to assume that he’ll have a hand in the operation somewhere along the line.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel Aug. 18, 1956

          The Wharton family reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park.

          During the business meeting conducted by the chairman, Gladus Wharton, Susan Turner was elected secretary replacing Martha Lou Hoffman   Vern Wharton, of Elkhart, is vice president.

          Those present were Mr. & Mrs. Vern Wharton, Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. Harlan Wharton, and family, Mr. & Mrs. Don Akles and family and Mrs. Edith Wharton, all of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Lothaire Lake, North Judson, Mr. & Mrs. Harvey Turner and daughters, and Mrs. Tina Wharton, all of Rochester; and Gladus and Roy Wharton, Kewanna.

          The oldest person present was Roy Wharton and the youngest present was James Stephen Ackles.

          Host and hostess for 1957 are Mr. & Mrs. Don Ackles and Mr. & Mrs. Harlan Wharton.  Mrs. Fern Burns, Gary and Mr. & Mrs. Charles Miller were afternoon guests.












Charles Batz Home

News-Sentinel Aug. 22, 1956

          The Batz reunion was held Sunday at the home of Charles Batz, at Eagle Lake, Edwardsburg, Mich.  Fred Batz, RR 3, Rochester, attended.

          There were 45 relatives present.  The officers elected were: president, Fredrick Graeber; vice-president, Arthur Wise; secretary, Miss Mary Batz.



Bert Davos Home

News-Sentinel Aug. 23, 1956

          About 90 members of the George and Ellen Johnson family met for their annual reunion in the park at the Bert Davis home at Leiters Ford on Aug. 12.

          The honor of being the oldest guest present went to C.E. Wells, age 86, of Riverside, Cal., and the youngest guest present was Beth Ann Gause, age five months, of Fort Wayne.  Coming the greatest distance and the oldest married couple of 58 years was Mr. & Mrs. C.E. Wells.  The youngest married couple present was Mr. & Mrs. Fred Ditmire.

          The guest present with the largest family was Bert Davis.  All of them received a gift.

          Guests from Cal. were: Mr. & Mrs. Frank Timmons and sons Jack and Tom, Mr. & Mrs. C.E. Wells, and Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Defr (?) and son Mark.

          Among the guests from Sun Prairie Wis., were Ivan Davis.  Mr. Davis is a brother to Bert Davis and Mrs. Wells.  This is the first time they have seen each other in over eight years.

          The same officers were re-elected for next year as follows: Dale Davis, president; Bert Davis, vice-president, Eva Lebo, secretary-treasurer.  The 1957 reunion will be held the same place on Sunday, Aug. 2.

          Relatives were present from California, Wisconsin, Michigan, and Gary, Fort Wayne, Plymouth, Rochester, Culver, Leiters Ford, South Bend, Rensselaer and Monterey.















Fred Van Duyne Res.

News-Sentinel Aug. 24, 1956

          The 12th annual reunion of the Indiana Fultz family was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne.

          After a community dinner was served, a business meeting was conducted by the retiring president, Fred Van Duyne.  Harry Fultz of Fort Wayne, was the retirng secretary.

          During the business meeting, Dee Fultz was elected president and Charles Culp, of Elkhart, was elected secretary.

          Those present were as follows:   Mr. & Mrs. Herbert Fultz and son, Mr. & Mrs. Edward Fultz and family, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Fultz, all of Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Culp and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Dale Culp and son, Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. John Fultz, South Bend.

          Also Mrs. Dessie Fultz, Mr. & Mrs. Harley Fultz, Mr. & Mrs. Max Feece, Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Braman and family., Mr. & Mrs. Fredrick Van Duyne and family, Mr. & Mrs. Randy Masterson and daughter, Mrs. Emma Weaver and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne, all of Rochester.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel Aug. 25, 1956

          The 38th annual Holloway reunion was held recently at the Rochester City Park with 100 relatives present.

          Miss Linda Holloway was the youngest present.  Mr. & Mrs. Walter Holloway were the youngest maried couple and Cora McIntyre was the oldest mother and Merley Dawson was the oldest father; Mr. & Mrs. Glen Holloway had the largest family present.

          Election of officers was held with the following being elected:   president, Leo Morrow; vice-president Pat Overmyer; secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Dale Holloway.



Howard Weir Res

News-Sentinel Aug. 29, 1956

          The Jackson reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Howard Weir with five states being represented.

          Those attending were:   Mrs. Gwendlyn Butte, Mrs. L.M. Sapp, Jr., and Mrs. Charles Sapp, all of Miami, Fla.; Byron Jackson, Mrs. Ethel Rudolf and Mrs. Arthur Rudlf, all of Milwaukee, Wis.; Mr. & Mrs. Jim Hanson, Sumner, Ia., Mr. & Mrs. Fred Metzger, Aurora, Ill.,




Mrs. I.H.Woodruff, Mrs. Arthur Smithson, and Mr. & Mrs. Harrison Smithson, all of Tipton; Mr. & Mrs. George Metzger, Mrs. Lou Zehner and Mark Jackson, all of Rochester.

          A carry-in dinner was served at the noon hour and the afternoon was spent socially and taking pictures of the group.



Opens by Wayne Hittle

News-Sentinel Aug. 30, 1956

          Wayne Hittle, president of Island Park Gas Corp, officially announced today the opening of a Bonded service station at Fourth and Main streets in Rochester.

          Ronald Murray will manage the new staton which is the 305th of its kind serving the public in seven midwest states.

          The station has been completed, remodeled and painted and has been open to the public for the past several days.



Chas. Walters Home

News-Sentinel Sept. 4, 1956

          The 33rd annual Slife reunion was held Aug. 26 at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Charles Walters, Rochester.

          A bountiful basket dinner was held at noon and the tables were decorated with gladioli.  Mrs. Wherly of Fort Wayne gave the invocation.

          After the dinner, a business meeting was held with the vice-president, Mrs. Orville Slife, Claypool, presiding.  Officers for the coming year were elected.  The reunion will be held next year at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Overmyer of RR 5, Rochester, it was announced.

          Officers elected were:   president, Cleo Slife, Three Oaks, Mich.; secretary-treasurer, Harold Walters, Akron.

          The guests, Mr. & Mrs. Cleo Slife, Three Oaks, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. George Tucker and Mr. & Mrs. Wherly, Fort Wayne; Mrs. Myrtle Tucker, Laketon; Mr. & Mrs. Orville Slife, Claypool; Mr. & Mrs. Harold Van Dyke and sons, Claypool; Mr. & Mrs. Dale Miller, Lapaz; Mrs. Dale Holloway and children, Bourbon; Mr. & Mrs. Ronnie Holloway and sons, Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. Harold Walters and Mr. & Mrs. Herschel Walters, all of Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Merhly Dawson and Mrs. Joe Swango, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Alber, Lucerne; Mr. & Mrs. Virgil Harper and family, Burket; Mr. & Mrs. Raymond Walters and family, South Bend; Barbara Denny and Maury






DeMarco, Rochester; Mrs. Bill Mow and Randy, Speedway; Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Overmyer, Eddie and Jim Walters.

          The oldest guest was Allie Walters who is 88 years old and Kent Walters, South Bend, was a guest.



Kline & Baldwin

News-Sentinel Sept. 8, 1956

          A new electric contracting and engineering firm, Rochester Electric Company, has been formed here by L.J. Kline and Kenneth Baldwin and now is operating from quarters at 504 Main street.

          Kline, who had been in his own electrical business the last 10 years, formery worked out of the Main street address.  His partner in the new business left Rochester in 1921 after attending grade school in the city.

          Baldwin comes here from Roselle, N.J., where he was an electrical engineer with the Public Service Electric and Gas Company since 1937.  Active in civic affairs in Roselle, he is a former Boy Scout master, board of education member, past president and deputy district governor of the Lions Club and participated in several charitable oranization fund drives.

          Baldwin and his wife, Lorraine, reside at 1017 Fulton avenue.  Their daughter, Gail, is a junior at Rochester High School and a son, Kenneth, Jr., is a sereant with the Marine Corps at Camp LeJeune, N.C.



Vern Rush Home

News-Sentinel Sept. 12, 1956

          The 10th annual Rush reunion was held in the home of Vern Rush recently at Tippecanoe.  A bountiful dinner was served at noon with the following being present:

          Mr. & Mrs. Harvey Rush, Mr. & Mrs. Audra Bryant and family, Mrs. Ollie Breen, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Hoge and family, Mr. & Mrs. Donald Rush and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Oliver Bryant, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Rush and family and Mr. & Mrs. Lester Zeller and daughters, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Devain Bryant, Louisville, Ky.; Mr. & Mrs. Donald Long and daughter, Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Dean Meyers and family, Mentone; Mr. & Mrs. Vern Rush and daughter.










Thousand Res

News-Sentinel Oct. 4, 1956

          The Donley Reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. L.D. Thousand on RR 1, Rochester.  There were 36 relatives attending the basket dinner held at the noon hour.

          A business meeting was held in the afternoon with the president, Chauncey Grimm in charge.  Mrs. Kate Reed was the oldest member present and Billy Anderson was the youngest.

          An election of officers was held with the following being elected: President, Russell Feitham; vice-president, Don Knepp; secretary-tresurer and historian, Betty Thousand.  



Carl Miller Opens

News-Sentinel Oct. 22, 1956

          Mr. & Mrs. Carl Miller today officially opened the doors to the modern, 15-room Miller Nursing home at 719 Madison street after purchasing the property from Mr. & Mrs. Ralph D. McFarland last month.

          The Millers, who moved here from Wabash, will use five ground floor rooms on the north side of the building as a private residence, leaving 15 other rooms for patients. - - - - -

          Mrs. Miller is the former Helen DuBois, daughter of Mrs. Cora Yocum, 1017 Elm street, who has been helping to remodel the nursing home on Madison street.  The Millers have a son, Bill, nine year-old, and a daughter, Mrs. James Clark, of Wabash.

          Mrs. McFarland is now operating a nursing home service at 816 Jefferson street.



Pur Larry Evans

News-Sentinel Oct. 24, 1956

          Larry Evans, a graduate of Richland Center high school and the International Barber College at Indianapolis, has acquired the Roy Hill barber shop on East Ninth street and will open it for business on Thursday morning.

          Evans, who is married to the former Joan Ginn, of Rochester, resides at 930 Park street.  He was discharged from the army last April.

          Hill, who has also sold the house adjoining the barber shop, plans to move to Arizona in the near future.







Clarence Hill Resigns

News-Sentinel Nov. 1, 1956

          Clarence F. Hill, former Rochester mayor, resigned his position today with Safway Steel Products Inc., Milwaukee, Wis., and is returning to Rochester.

          As mayor of Rochester from 1945 to 1951, Hill interested Safway in opening a branch plant at 1400 Wabash avenue, Rochester, and became the general manager.  Under his direction, the plant manufactured bleachers, steel shores and scaffolding products.

          Hill recently was called to Safway’s home office to provide special engineering assistance, commuting between Rochester and Milwaukee each weekend.  He is returning to Rochester to spend more time with his wife, Irene, and his children, John, 20, and Betty, 16, at their home at 507 Fulton avenue.

          Prior to leaving Safway, Hill was honored at a testimonial dinner and presented with a memento of his services.  He will remain associatd with the firm until February in a consulting capacity.

          A chemical engineering graduate of Purdue University in 1920, Hill has been secretary and president of the Rochester Chamber of Commerce, a member of the Masonic Order, 32nd degree Mason and a Shriner.

          Hill said that his present plans are indefinite but that he expects to make an announcement soon.



Empl, Clarence Hill

News-Sentinel Nov. 12, 1956

          Norbert Schroeder, vice-president and general manager, today announced the association of Clarence Hill of Rochester with Indiana Metal Products Co., effective Thursday.

          Hill has been with Safway Steel Products Inc., for several years, most recently in its engineering department at Milwaukee, Wis.

          His acceptance of a position with Indiana Metal Products Co., as consultant in the engineering department was made after considerable negotiation, said Schroeder.

          Hill, former Rochester mayor, will be directly responsible to the general manager for research, development, new processes and methods, plant layout and field investigation of new equipment and products.









New Location Soon

News-Sentinel Nov. 13, 1956

          The Blue Products Co., which has been in operation here since 1940, will occupy the quarters being vacated by Larry’s Furniture store at Eithth and Madison streets soon after Jan. 1, it was announced today.

          Dea Fultz, manager of the firm since April, 1954, said that he expects to add to the company’s line of building maintenance and sanitation supplies at the new location.  Items for home use will be added for retail sale, said Fultz.  The company now serves industries mainly.

          Blue Products, located at 116 West Ninth street since it moved here from Cleveland 18 years ago, sells cleaning materials of all kinds as well as sanitary supplies.  The firm has salesmen in Pierceton, Knox and North Vernon.

          Fultz, who resides with his wife at 117 East 10th street, has been associated with the Boston Store and Camblin’s Furniture store before joining Bllue Products.

          Don Brower, who operates a radio repair shop at the rear of the Larry’s location, will remain there, said Fultz.



Pur Pete Terpstra

News-Sentinel Nov. 26, 1956

          Pete Terpstra, local contractor, announced this morning that he had purchased the Fulton County Lumber Co., Inc., business from brothers Fred and George Swisher, of Bluffton.

          Terpstra also announced that he had sold his stock in the Fulton Lumber, Inc., firm, Fulton, and would operate the Rochester business under the name Fulton County Lumber company.

          The Swisher brothers have operated the Fulton County Lumber Inc., firm here since 1945.

          The new owner stated that he would not make any changes in the firm’s present personnel but did plan to change several brand names of stock handled by the company.

          Terprsra, who lives with his wife, the former Marjorie Mikesell of Fulton and two children at 730 West Sixth street, said he would also continue as a building contractor, a trade he has pursued here for the past six years.










Pur Charles Stewart

News-Sentinel Dec. 17, 1956

          George May, Lake Manitou, today announced that he has disposed of his interest in Stewart’s Bakery here to Charles Stewart of Bremen.  Stewart has assumed May’s position as president of the firm.

          May, who bought controlling interest in the Bakery from Stewart in 1952, will remain in the Rochester community.  He said that an announcement of his plans will be forthcoming.

          Stewart will act as manager of the local plant, which serves customers within a 35-mile radius of Rochester.  The bakery was established here in 1938.



Charlie Davis Band

News-Sentinel Dec. 22, 1956

          Ever Heard of the Charlie Davis orchestra?  Chances are you haven’t if you’re under 40 years of age and don’t remember the Fairview Hotel and Gardens at Lake Manitou.

          But there are countless persons of that age and era who do remember the Davis orhestra which launched Lake Manitou on its wide reputation as the dance resort mecca of northern Indiana.

          Davis and his boys went from their start at the old Fairview, which was destroyed by fire in 1939, to greater fame in Indianapolis and New York City before disbanding 24 years ago.  Their popularity in Indiana never diminished.

          Today the younger generation is surfeited with entertainment through radio, television and recordings.  In the 1920s, however, the Davis Band brought something new and vital to the music business and originated it right at Lake Manitou.

          Rochester residents, who in an earlier day were ardent avid fans, remember distinctly a young singer getting his first start in the entertainment business with the Davis band.

          His name was Dick Powell.   And just as later the girls would shriek over Sinatra and Presley, so too did the feminine crowd of 1927 find something extremely romantic about the way young Powell sang “Tea for Two,” “A Pretty Girl is Like a Melody,” or “My Blue Heaven.”

          Powell, who proceeded to great fame in Hollywood, was the first “crooner” ever heard in this area.  His voice suffered little from the megaphone he used in lieu of a microphone (not yet in wide use) and his wavy hair and handsome face caused many a flutter in feminine





hearts hereabouts.  When he sang, couples crowded around the bandstand to watch, forgetting the dance.  Between sets, Powell was mobbed by autograph seekers.

          But back to the Davis Band.

          Davis first appeared on the local scene in 1920 when, a student at the University of Notre Dame, he brought his Notre Dame Five to Fairview.  During that year and the next, this group played on the porch of the hotel for dancers, the outside dance pavilion not yet built.

          In 1922, having interested some friends in Indianapolis in starting a cooperative band venture, the Charlie Davis orchestra returned to Fairview with 12 pieces for the 1922 dance seasonj.  That year, the late Harry Page, hotel owner, decided that dancing was becoming more popular and so that outdoor pavilion was built.

          And in that single season, Davis and his partners received such wild acclaim that they were convinced their venture would be successful.

          Harold Karn, Coffee Shop proprietor, who counted himself one of Davis’ top fans, remembers that the band’s music “was far ahead of its time.” Its arrangements were unique, he says, were made more mellifluous by the use of strings and “in all, would compare quite favorably to the top bands of today.”

          Others felt this way, too, because couples came from throughout northern Indiana cities to dance to the Davis music.  And this not only launched`` Davis, but also pushed Manitou off on a two-decade reign as the area’s leading dance resort.  With the addition of the Colonial Hotel to this recreation later, hardly a “name” band in the country missed stopping off here during pre-World War 11 summers.

          It was a gay time, when Davis and Manitou grew up together.  The sharp youth decked out in raccoon coats for dates, and girls were fighting a hemline battle that saw skirt lengths go from the floor to above the knees in six short years, from 1921 to 1927.

          Paul Whiteman and his huge concert orchestra were about to introduce George Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blu”.  Dances were a dime each at the Fairview and the Davis band got 40 or 50 of them squeezed into an evening.

          At Fairview, when you brought a date you might not see her again until the end of the evening.  It was the era of “trading” dances and if a fellow’s girl stayed with him all night it was a sure tipoff that she wasn’t popular.

          It was the days of bathtub gin and silent movies, the latter giving Davis and his boys a chance at steady employment in Indianapolis in 1924.  They moved into the orchestra pit at the Ohio theatre, playing






music while the movies were being shown.

          One of the tunes the band made up for these jobs was “Copenhagen,” a rather frantic-type tune that became quite popular and even was recorded by the band.

          The orchestra also played at the Severin Hotel roofhouse and at the Columbia Club, where soon another Hoosier musician by the name of Hoagy Carmichael would be appearing with his band.

          Davis didn’t return to Fairview Hotel until the 1927 season, when Carmichael was a regular weekend visitor and often “sat in” with the group.  By then Charlie’s band had grown to 18 members.  It was his last year here, but from all reports was a memorable one.  Not only was the music better than ever, but there was Powell as vocalist and bigger crowds than before.

          From then until disbanding in 1932 in New York City, the Davis orchestra went first into the Indiana theatre in Indianapolis and added a new vocalist in 1928.  He was Loren Griffith, a native of Prospect, O., who had been with Carmichael’s band at the Columbia Club in Indianapolis.  Griffith stayed with Davis until 1930, later graphy (sic) and three years ago came to Rochester for a vacation.  He has been here ever since, now operates his own photographic studio at 413 East 13th street.                               

          Davis now operates the Brown Davis furniture store in Oswego, N.Y.  Other band members who might be remembered locally were Fritz Morris, violin, now an Indianapolis dentist; Reagan Carey, saxophone, wholesale drug salesman in Indianapolis; Lee Ridgeway, drums, with Bell Telephone in Indianapolis.

          Others were Ed East, singer, now dead; Louis Lowe, singer, an Indianapolis attorney; Cy Milders, singer, laundry owner in Hamilton, O.; Ray Schoenfield, saxophonist, clothier in Muncie; Ralph Dumpke, in New York on stage and television; Harry Willfort, trumpet, still in Indianapolis in music.

          There also were Ralph Lillard, drummer, now with the Indianapolis symphony; Charlie Fach and Phil Davis, trombones, in New York television, and Kenneth Knott, pianist, an arranger in Oregon.

          East and Dumpke, incidentally, went from their association with Davis here into a duo singing and novelty act that was broadcast “Sisters of the Skillet.”

          The band left few records but plenty of glad hearts and fond memories during its 10 year’s existence.  And its impression on Lake Manitou history was indelible.









Pur Gary Firm

News-Sentinel Feb . 2, 1957

          Rochester Apartments Inc., a corporation which owns Oakwood Apartments, has been acquired by the Mid-City Investment Company of Gary, it was announced today.  Mid -City will manage the property with a local resident in charge.

          The former owner of the corporation was Elba Branigan, Franklin, who purchased the stock three years ago.

          The Gary firm acted as agents between FILA, the Teachers Annuity Company and the group of Rochester men when the building was erected.  Teachers Annuity holds the FILA loan on the apartment.



Guy Books, Retires

News-Sentinel Feb . 9, 1957

          Guy V. Books, 171 Pontiac, Rochester, Friday retired after 43 years of service as a signalman and signal maintenance helper for the Erie Railroad.

          Books, who has spent all but five years of his life in Rochester and those five in Delong, was honored by his fellow workers Friday with the presentation of a billfold containing $100 in cash.  The gift came from the men of the Marion Division in which Books worked his entire 43 years.

          The Rochester man has worked along the Erie from Marion to Hammond as a signalman but had to switch to signal helper after a back injury curtailed his activities.

          During a brief retirement ceremony Friday afternoon in Rochester, H.M. Hammel, signal maintenance foreman made the gift presentation on behalf of the Marion Division employees.  Hammel resides on RR 3 Rochester.

          Books says his future plans call for plenty of relaxation and “just taking it easy.”



First Game Here, 1897

News-Sentinel Feb . 12, 1957

          (The News-Sentinel is indebted to Bob Shafer, a good old sport himself, for making the information in the following account readily available.)

          In November of 1897 - about nine years before the initial Rochester high school basketball team made its appearance - the round







ball sport entered the Rochester scene in the Red Men’s hall of Rochester Normal university.

          About the best way to describe the first game of basketball ever recorded in this city is to quote from a newspaper account of that day.

          “A NEW GAME.  Some of the students of the North and South schools, under the direction of C.O. Phillips, have introduced a new game called basket ball.

          “The first game was played Wednesday evening in the Red Men’s hall at the north end and it proved quite a pleasant and exciting sport.  The game is played with a foot ball and the players line up on each side of a given line and try to land the ball in baskets hung at opposite ends of the court.

          “The ball is first tossed into the air, after which the players throw it from one to the other until an occasion is presented to make a sweep for the basket, at which time the success lay with the expert tosser at the mark.

          “While not as intensely exciting as football, there is plenty of amusement afforded.”

          Those were the days when Rochester was emerging from board walks to cement here and there.  There was a volunteer fire department equipped with hand pumps.  The livery stables were full of horses and rats.

          Everybody had a barn with a cow and a horse, there were no sewers and prople used coal oil lamps mostly, although a few had electricity.

          In Chicago, they were quoting prices like these: cattle, common to prime - $1.75 to $6.50; hogs, all grades - $2.20 to $3.50; sheep and lambs - $2.10 to $5.60.

          Around the local stores, merchants posted such prices as butter, eight cents; eggs, seven cents; potatoes, 20 cents, lard, six cents, corn, 19 cents, and wheat, 80 cents.

          The Lake Erie and Erie railroad was running three passenger trains daily each way.  One day, the LE&W trainmaster issued orders forbidding any trainman from indulging in flirtations with women along the tracks or on passenger trains.

          A newspaper of the day commented that “this would be a severe blow to Rochester girls who liked to wave hello and goodbye.”

          The University Extension Club, by resolution to the Rochester School Board, suggested that physical culture be taught in Rochester schools.

          Bill Brinkman’s tailor shop was robbed for the third time that year, prompting the owner to hang out a sign for robbers to call him








next time and would split 50-50 on cash.

          A mew baseball team, the Red Fellows, was organized that year and they finished their first season with 22 victories and seven defeats.

          Following the newspaper account of the first game played here, there is no record of basketball in Rochester until the Rochester Athletic Association was formed in the fall of 1904.

          Harry Bitters believes the game started soon after 1900, with some games played in the Armory and on the commons.  Roy Jones says the idea of organized basketball was hatched in McMahan’s grocery one summer evening in 1904.  Earle Miller says Jimmy Arthur, a baker, started the movement.

          Anyhow, initiative was taken by Ott, Tom and Bill McMahan, Jones, Miller and Bitters in getting a working organization started.  The first team was organized under the name of the Regulars.

          Some of the athletes of the community who were left off the Regulars then formed the Rackets and later the younger set got up the Manitaus.

          The games were played in the Armory Hall, with no heat, no seats and no window panes.  The teams wore football pants and turtle neck sweaters for sweatshirts.

          The Regulars consisted of those who formed the RAA in the first place.  On the Rackets were Floyd (Pete) Van Trump, Jim Arthur, Lucius Mackey, Howard Calloway and Willis Coplen with W.A. Guthrie as sponsor.

          The Manitaus included Earl Nellans, Jake Floy, Dean Barnhart, George Sperling, Ralph Richter and H. Norris.

          Interest in the sport grew to such an extent that by February of 1905 two girls teams were organized.

          Some of the girls involved were Charlotte Killen, Edith Williams, Carrie Kline, Ruth Terry, Mary Brackett, Bessie Bowers, Anna Plant, Effie Shafer, Maude Guthrie, Ruth Elliott, Nettie Ward and Edith Cowgill.

          In the fall of 1905 the RAA was reorganized with Miller, Van Trump and Ott McMahan as a committee to build a goallery on the west and south sides of the Armory.  One specification was that “all windows be enclosed to insure warmth.”

          There were three teams of seven members each - The Regulars, with Miller as captain; the Rackets, with Van Trump as captain, and the Rushers, with Charles Burns as captain.

          From 1905 to 1911 independent basketball was played with the Rushers becoming the outstanding team.  The Armory Hall was a busy place with one and two games a week for a number of years.  Some







players were hired, but mostly local boys and men were used.

          Finally, the first high school basketball team - the one that will be honored during the observance of the Golden Anniversray of the sport at RHS - was formed in the fall of 1906.



Roch High School

News-Sentinel Feb . 12, 1957

          After almost 50 years participation in basketball, Rochester high school can boast that it has won more games than it has lost - 656 victories to 457 defeats, not counting the current season.

          Rochester’s hey day in basketball began with the 1912-13 season, when it posted a 16-5 record, and ended (temporarily at least) with the 1942-43 campaign with a 23-7 reading.

          Up to that time, the locals had won 521 tilts and dropped 308, an average season of 13-8.

          The RHS squads were part of the “Sweet Sixteen” on 13 occasions, got to the final eight three times and to the final four of the state tournament three times during those years.

          Of those 13 times they were in the Sweet Sixteen, the Zebras never got to the championship game, but four times they lost to the evental champion and five times to the eventual runner-up.  Thus here were only four-times that RHS was knocked out of the tournament by a team that didn’t get into the final tilt.

          During that time, RHS had several players who gained statewide recognition by being placed on The Indianapolis News all-state team.  They were Joe Castle in 1915, Ray (Candy Ray) Miller in 1917, Harry (Rosy) Rosburg in 1920 and 1921 and Winston (Windy) Robbins in 1921.

          Miller and Robbins went on to star at Purdue University and both were named to all Big Ten teams.  Miller is one of the greatest all-around athletes to come out of the local high school.

          The best season ever posted by an RHS squad was in the 1936-37 season when the locals won 26 and lost only three.  It was one of the teams that got to the final four in Indianapolis before being sidelined from the state tournament.  The others were the 1916-17 and 1913-14 quintets.

          There are three sets of years during which the Zebras got to the state tourney games in Indianapolis two or more times in a row.  First was in 1913, 14 and 15, then came the golden era of the cage sport here in 1917, 18, 19, 20 nd 21.  The last time was in 1937, 38.    Rochester’s basketball fortunes began to tumble after 1942-43






season. In the 13 seasons since then, not counting the current campaign, the Zebras has won only 125 games while losing 143 for an average season of 10-12.  They’ve had only five winning seasons in that span and one even-Stephen campaign.

          The 1942-43 squad was the last one from Rochester to win a regional crown and the last time the Zebras got out of their own sectional was in 1949 when they beat Winamac.

          The last winning season chalked up by the locals was in 1953-54 with a 14-9 record.



John Russell, Meat

News-Sentinel Feb. 14, 1957

          John Russell, 43, Winamac, an employee of the A&P food market chain since 1941, has been assigned to the local A&P store as a meat cutter.  He took over his new duties Wednesday.

          Russell, his wife LaVonne, and their two daughters, Margaret, 11, and Helen 13, have lived in Winamac for the last five years.  He is commuting to Rochester until he finds a residence here.

          Russell already is acquainted with this city, having been married in the St. Paul’s EUB about 25 years ago.




News-Sentinel Feb. 28, 1957

          The Manitou Package Liquor Store, 627 Main street, owned by Eb Lichtenwalter and Ike Emmons, moved today to its new location at 904 Main street.

          The city administration proposes to tear down the building at 627 Main street and convert the lot at the corner of Seventh and Main street into a metered parking lot.



Dr. Hal P. Bybee

News-Sentinel March 1, 1957

          One of the highest awards for a petroleum geologist - honorary membership in the American Association of Petroleum Geologists - will be made in April to a native of Newcastle township.

          He is Dr. Hal P. Bybee, now University of Texas geology professor and consulting geologist to the University lands.

          Dr. Bybee is the son of the late W.J. and Marth Bybee and was born in Newcastle township graduating from Talma high school in



1906.  He still owns a 160-acre farm seven miles northeast of Rochester.  At one time he attended Rochester Normal University.

          Dr. Bybee presently is seriously ill at his home in Austin, Texas, suffering from a diabetic condition.

          According to an announcement from Theodore Lik, president of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, the award is in recognition of Bybee’s “high standards in ethics which he imparted to so many of his former students who are now leaders in the petroleum industry, and of Dr. Bybee’s great effort in building the University of Texas’ permanent endowment fund by developing oil and gas production on University Lands.”

          The Texas geologist received the A.B., A.M., and Ph.D., degrees from Indiana University.  He joined the University of Texas staff in 1914 as instructor in geology, and had advanced in the rank of associate professor in 1925 when he left the university to become district geologist at San Angelo for the Dixie Oil Company.

          Bybee returned to the university in 1929 as geologist in charge of university lands.  He became professor of geology and chairman of the geology department in 1936.


Fashion Beauty Salon

Pur Marie Foster

News-Sentinel March 6, 1957

          Paul Lavengood today announced that he has sold the Fashion Beauty Salon and property at 1008 Jefferson street to Mrs. Marie Foster, 1216 College avenue.  The sale became effective Monday and Mrs. Stella Grube currently is operating the business for Mrs. Foster.

          Lavengood, a native of Kewanna, opened the firm after remodeling last July.  His wife had operated the business at the same location for two years previously.

          Lavengood will leave this month with his wife and two children for Hollywood, Cal., where on March 20 he will enroll in a school in advanced hair styling.


Roch Canng Co Bldgs

pur Robert P. Moore

News-Sentinel March 7, 1957

          The buildings which formerly housed the Rochster Canning Company, located on Fulton avenue and bordering the Erie Railroad tracks, have been sold to Mr. & Mrs. Robert P. Moore of Rochester, it was announced today.

          The purchase was made from the co-owners of the property and





former operators of the canning firm - Robert Scheid, Ben Vernon and John Vernon, all of Rochester.

          Mr. & Mrs. Moore, who completed the transaction Wednesday, are owners of Forest Farm Products at 318-330 Main street.  Moore said the purchase of the canning company property was made to provide the expansion of his present business.  He will enlarge his service facilities and improve both the interior and exterior grounds of the property.  In time, Moore said, all operations of Forest Farms’ may be moved to the new location.

          The Moores opened the Forest Farms concern, which handles buttermilk and other farm feeds as well as seed in 1946.  It has been in its present location since 1949.

          The Rochester Canning Company shut down production in 1954 after 34 years of operation under the Scheid and Vernon families.  Reuben Scheid, who retired from the business in 1941, came on the local scene in 1923 in partnership with the late Lou Holtz.   Ben Vernon joined the firm in 1925, Robert Scheid in 1931 and John Vernon in 1941.  Both families originally hail from Eaton, O.  Since shutting down canning operations, the buildings had been occupied by Service Machine and Engineering, which also has ceased business.

          The main building is 90 by 120 feet in size and to the rear of it is a 60 by 80 foot warehouse.  The property occupies a half block in area.


Foley’s Watch Repair

Opens Shop at E. 7th

News-Sentinel March 8, 1957

          Rochester’s newest business is Foley’s Watch Repair shop at 113 East Seventh street where Dr. Howard C. Tate formerly had his dental office.

          Eugene Foley, who resides at 514 East Eighth street, set up his watch business at the office after Dr. Tate returned to Rockfield, Ind.

          Watch repairing is a new trade for Foley, although he has received considerable training in the business.  While working at the Studebaker plant in South Bend, Foley received private instruction in watch repairing.

          After being employed for 10 years at the Studebaker plant, Foley attended the Illinois Watchmaking School in Chicago, passed the Indiana state test for watch repairmen, then opened his business on Seventh street.










Foster Funeral Home

Pur Int J.D. Good

News-Sentinel March 11, 1957

          Mrs. Eda H. Foster, owner of the Foster Funeral Home here, announced today that J.D. Good has purchased an interest in the business which will now be known as the Foster and Good Funeral home.

          Good, the son of Mr. & Mrs. O’Dell Good, Leiters Ford, is a native of Fulton county and graduate of the Indiana College of mortuary science in Indianapolis.

          He has been assisted with the funeral home for the past several years, being employed first by the late Ora A. Foster.  He will serve as manager of the business.

          Good is a member of the Methodist church, the Masonic lodge, the Loyal Order of Moose, the Lions club and is Chaplain of the local American Legion post.

          He lives with his wife, the former Joyce Burkett, and daughter Jeri, in an apartment at the funeral home, 128 West 6th street.  He served for two years in the U.S. Army during the Korean conflict and was stationed for one year in Korea.

          The funeral home was established by the Fosters in 1928 and Mrs. Foster continued the business after the death of her husband in 1951.  She will continue in the management of the home with Good.


Fashion Beauty Salon


News-Sentinel March 27, 1957

          Marie Foster, owner of the Fashion Beauty Salon, has announced the moving of the shop from 1213 College avenue to 1008 Jefferson street, in the building where Paul Lavengood formerly operated a beauty shop.

          Mrs. Foster, a licensed beauty operator, also stated that Stella Grube would continue to work as a beauty operator at the new location.

          The Fashion Beauty Salon is now open for business in the new location.














Macy Students

News-Sentinel April 1, 1957

          Trustee Clarence Ellis and his advisory board of Allen township, Miami county, have voted unanimously to accept Rochester high school’s offer to accept Macy high school students on a tuition basis.

          Ellis reported this decision to Raymond Julian, city schools superintendent, this morning and officials will begin immediately to arrange for the enrollment of the Macy students within RHS for the 1957-58 school term.

          It is anticipated that there will be from 43-46 pupils from Macy, who will be transported to the local high school by the Allen township school corporation.

          Macy High school is being discontinued because of dwindling enrollment and rising costs.  The elementary grades will continue in operation.  At a mass meeting of township residents in Macy Thursday night, the crowd voted overwhelmingly in favor of accepting the Rochester school’s offer to accept the pupils.  Trustee Ellis had appeared before the Joint School Board here earlier this month to outline his school plight and request enrollment.

          An agreement is to be drawn up between the two school corporations providing for the enrollment of the Macy pupils for the next two years.  This covers the length of Ellis’ present term as trustee.  There will be a provision for renewal providing both corporations are in agreement to such a renewal.

          Superintendent Julian said that later this spring, before the close of the school term, the 1957-58 Macy high school student body will be received at a full day’s session at RHS to acquaint them with the building, the teachers and the curriculum.

          Julian also said that a similar orientation period will be set to provide the parents of Macy students an opportunity to become acquainted with the high school here.



Haworth Full Owner

News-Sentinel April 8, 1957

          Max Haworth today announced that he has purchased complete ownership of the Rochester Lumber Co., 217 East Seventh street.  Haworth has obtained the interests in the firm held by his sister, Mrs. James Carr, City Park road, and by the estate of his father, the late W.W. Haworth, Attica.

          Haworth has been associated with the business here as part







owner since 1933, when he moved to Rochester from Attica.  He said that he plans no changes in the policy of the firm.  James Carr, who had been employed at the company as office manager, has not announced his future plans.



Opened by Roy Hill

News-Sentinel April 11, 1957

          Roy Hill’s new shop is now open.  Four blocks west on State Road 14.  Completely modern, expert workmanship.



Pur Jerome Geise

News-Sentinel April 23, 1957

          Mr. & Mrs. Jerome Geise of Fort Wayne have purchased Overstreet’s Resort on the southwest shore of Lake Manitou, it was announced today by Realtor Lloyd Jefferies.

          The purchase was made from Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Overstreet and involves the resort and grocery building, the beach and the parking lot across the road.  The Overstreets have been associated with the lake business for the past 20 years.  Mr. & Mrs. Geise, who have been in the grocery business in Fort Wayne, will continue the resort operation.

          The Overstreets now reside in Noblesville, where he is a teacher in the public schools.  They plan to spend the summer at Manitou, however.

          Jefferies also said that three of Overstreet’s cottages, which he had operated as a part of the resort, have been sold.  Mr. & Msrs. Harry Stock of Kokomo have bought the “Amble Inn” while Mr. & Mrs. Louis Wolfe of Marion have purchased the “Eleanor” and the “Lucille.” Four other cottages remain out of the original resort group.



Fred Rhodes, Prof Emer.

News-Sentinel April 30, 1957

          Fred H. Rhodes, to whom Cornell University’s School of Chemical and Metalurgical Engineering owes its existence, will become a professor emeritus July 1.

          Rhodes, a native of Rochester and a graduate of Rochester high school, is a nephew of the late Dr. George Hoffman of this city.  He left the city to attend Wabash college almost 60 years ago.

          Thirty-five years ago Cornell’s chemical engineering was only an idea in the minds of “Dusty” Rhodes, then a professor of industrial




chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences at the Ithaca, N.Y. Institution.

          Step by step, and occasionally using mild chicanery, he got chemical engineering courses in the chemistry department curriculum, then a university degree in the field, next a separate school, and finally a building.

          Steadily although inconspicuously, Professer Rhodes has been a father confessor to his students, a financial help to many of them - from his own pocket and from a chemical engineering loan fund he started - and a one-man union getting good jobs at good pay for his graduates.

          All his students remember Professor Rhodes’ insistence on clear, concise, grammatical writing.  He taught English at Wabash college during his senior year there, and he has written a book on “Technical Report Writing,” as well as ones on “Elements of Patent Law” and “Patent Law for Chemists, Engineers and Executives.”

          Professor Rhodes, credited with inventing the 36-hour day, also holds a number of patents of refining coal-tar products.  Early in his career, during World War 1, he worked out a low-cost method of making phenol, badly needed for explosives.

          Rhodes graduated from Wabash in 1910 and went to Cornell for a Ph.D.  He taught chemistry for one year at the University of Montana, where the physicist Harold Urey was one of his students, and for two years at Cornell.

          He then spent three years with the Barrett Company, becoming director of research.  In this period he developed the divided-flow method for fractionating distilling columns, and designed the first continuous fractionating column with side-stream draw-off.

          Returning to Cornell in 1920, Professor Rhodes set upon his crusade for chemical engineering.   Entrusted with buying industral chemistry equipment for the university agreed to offer a chemical instance, he provided what seemed to be chemical engineering equipment.

          Early in the 1930’s the university agreed to offer a chemical engineering degree to chemistry graduates who took an extra year under Professor Rhodes’ direction.  This course included unit operations, lectures and laboratories, electrical engineering, plant design, mechanics and two mechanics laboratories.

          The School of Chemical Engineering, a division of the College of Engineering, was created in 1938.  Its faculty consisted of Prof. Rhodes and one assistant prof. With an occasional borrowed instructor.

          The next step, a separate building uncluttered by chemists, he reached in 1940.  The late Franklin W. Olin, president of Western







Cartridge Company and allied concerns, donated funds for the new building, the first in Cornell’s new engineering quadrangle.

          The building opened in May, 1942.  For three years, Prof. Rhoades had to tolerate many personnel, but observers felt that he had the situation in upper hand.

          In 1946 Prof. Rhodes helped to establish a new curriculum for a metallurgical engineering degree, and the school’s title was changed to include both courses.

          On the side, Prof. Rhodes has written some 50 articles, several books, and has been a consultant for copper companies, banks and investment firms.  For nearly 10 years he was a director of General Aniline and Film Corporation.

          Rhodes and Ethel M. Bundy of Ithaca were married in 1915.  Their daughter, Clara Helen, is now Mrs. Robert H. Roseveir of Toronto, Ont.




News-Sentinel May 14, 1957

          The Tom Thumb restaurant, which has been at 714 Main street for the last year and a half, is moving to the corner of Fifth and Main streets where the Thompson Shoe Repair shop formerly was located.

          Ora Hounshell, owner of the Tom Thumb, said today he hopes to be open for business at his new location by the end of this week.

          The Thompson Shoe Repair business, which has been in operation in Rochester for more than half a century, left the Fifth and Main street location last March when Owner Dallas Thompson, 59, suffered a heart attack.

          The business equipment has been set up in the garage at the Thompson residence, 329 Jefferson street, and Thompson hopes to reopen his business in six or seven months.

          Hounshell entered the restaurant business in this vicinity about four years ago when he opened the Indian Village near the Tippecanoe river bridge.  He sold that business and opened the Tom Thumb restaurant on Main street a year ago last October.

          The Thompson Shoe Repair business was begun by George Thompson and his sons, Dallas and Charles, in back of the Schultz 5 and 10 Store on Dec. 15, 1904.

          Dallas and another brother, Arthur, took over the business upon the death of their father and in 1954 Dallas became the owner and moved the shop to Fifth and Main streets.  He was released from Woodlawn hospital Monday and is resting at hom now.







Charlie Bowers

News-Sentinel May 27, 1957

          Maurice Coplen, co-owner and manager, said today that the resort’s entertainment schedule will begin this Saturday. - - - - Charlie Bowers and his orchester, of Indianapolis,will play for the opening dance this Saturday night. - - - -



Sgt. W.S. Gray

News-Sentinel June 1, 1957

          A diary kept by a sergeant in the Union Army during the Civil War shows that army life then and now have many similar features.

          The diary written by Sgt. W.S. Gray during the winter of 1862 during the campaign around Memphis shows that soldiers then, as now had to endure much boredom and idleness in camp but that once in action some rather interesting adventure can occur.

          The diary is now the property of Justice of the Peace Everett Gray of Fulton who turned it in to The News-Sentinel soon after his acquisition of the document from his sister.

          Sgt. Gray who was Justice Gray’s father recovered from the attack of typhoid that caused his medical discharge from the army and lived to within one month of his 100th birthday passing away in 1940.

          The 95-year-old diary was written when Sgt. Gray was 22 years of age serving with Company F of the 83rd Regiment Indiana.  In it he tells of his days in training camp in Indiana during which time the men did “nothing of any note.”

          He says that on Nov. 4, 1862 he “got up this morning cold as thunder took breakfast with John Roberts.  Had cake and pie.” Later that same day he was sent to Osgood, Ind. in search of a deserter.  He spent the day in town with friends, caught the evening train to camp and arrived just after supper.  He says “I had to take a cup of coffee and a cracker and went to my bunk.”

          On Nov. 7 the regiment entrained from Lawrenceburg bound for Matoon, Ill.  There they changed trains and went to Cairo boarding the river steamer “Dakota.”

          Despite shipboard rumors that they were bound for Helena, Ark., the regiment went ashore and pitched camp at Memphis, Tenn.  Wood for the cookhouse and more permanent buildings was obtained by tearing down the plank fence around the 10-acre campsite.

          On Nov. 26 the regiment, now part of the 4th Brigade left Camp Ben Spooner (named for the regiment’s colonel) and set up a




new camp 17 miles away in Germantown.  Sgt. Gray had contracted the prevalent typhoid fever by this time and was quite ill.

          The next day they marched on with “many of our men dropping out on the road” due to the fever.  Said the Sergeant, “I am in finer spirits and stand the march first rate.  Have plenty of fine grub crackers and meat.  Come to a halt to eat our dinners.  This is a beautiful country here it is so rolling and nice.  The weather is warm as it is in Indiana in August.  Peter Truitt is marching barefooted as his boots hurt his feet.”

          They stayed in that resting place for the rest of the day then marched out at dusk and went on until midnight.  They set up camp in an open cornfield.

          About this time some marauding rebels “captured our Major and took his horse and pistols and were taking him to Germantown to parade him when a company of our cavalry came up and rescued him and brought him back to camp.  He had been left one day behind he was about three miles back when he was captured.

          “We have nothing to eat but hardtack and raw meat.  We do not have time to cook it.”

          On Nov. 28 the brigade started in its active campaign.  “Left our camp and marched till 10 o’clock.  Stopped to rest some of our boys went out and got a hog that weighed about 300 pounds they cut it up and put it in their Knapsacks.  Just as they were through we were ordered to march.  The old general confiscated 24 Negres from an old sesesh.  Went on and burned all the barns and cotton gins that we found.  Did not march more than 12 miles marched till midnight ‘till we stopped.  We stopped on Pigeon Roost Creek.”

          On Dec. 1 the troops went out for skirmish drill.  They returned at dusk and got to bed at midnight.  At 3 a.m. “The gong was beat and we got up and was ordered to draw three days rations and click it.  Got ready and started on the march.

          “We intended to attack Price but when we got to the place he had skedadled.  There is about 2700 men in this camp here.”

          After a rest period during which the men cooked two days’ rations “We got ready and started and marched all day.  Our artillery shelled the woods all along routing 400 rebel cavalry.  We encamped in an open field.  It rained all night and we had no tents and had to take all the rain.”

          As he wrote these lines the regiment was building a bridge across the Tallahassee River.

          Always on the lookout for food Sgt. Gray went out in quest of chestnuts on Dec. 3.  “Did not get but one as it is too late for them.







Did get plenty of persimons.”

          The regiment was pressing at all times deeper into enemy territory coming upon deserted Confederate fortifications several times.  On Dec. 5 they camped in a woods that Price the Confederate commander they had been trailing had occupied three days before.

          After camp was set up the sergeant says that “John Case and me went out and captured a hog and returned to camp.  Some of the rest of the boys got four gal. of molasses and 20 pounds of sugar.”

          As soon as the bridge was completed the men left Camp Bowels and marched back to Pigeon Roost Creek.  Sgt. Gray had been acting as ordinance and orderly sergeant off and on as the occasion demanded but he was nearing the end of his service because his fever was getting worse.

          On Dec. 1 the men camped five miles from Memphis with one over a barrel of whiskey.  Just a week later on Dec. 19 he was taken to the hospital in Memphis where he remained until his discharge on Feb. 9, 1863.



Sells Animal Act

News-Sentinel June 3, 1957

          Jorgen M. Christiansen of Fulton, owner and trainer of an animal act which has played fairs and carnivals for a number of years, has sold his entire business to Christiani Brothers Circus, he has announced.  He will remain with the organization this summer and his “Story Book  Act” with various animals will be a special feature of the show.  They are now in Pennsylvania.

          Christiansen reports that “the circus is not dead but very much alive with three shows one day recently and good business generally”



Office Opened

News-Sentinel June 4, 1957

          Paul J. Bohm, native of Cass county, has opened an office in Rochester for the practice of veterinary medicine and surgery, located at 1514 Main street.  He comes here from West Bend, Wis., where he has been associated in a dairy and general veterinary practice with Drs. K.E. Lloyd and C.E. Ogl.

          A graduate of Logansport high school in 1942, he served aboard an LST with the Navy during World War 11, participating in the Normandy invasion.

          Following his discharge in 1946, he entered Purdue University








and then received a B.S. Degree in animal husbandry at Colorado

A&M college.  He taught agriculture in Colorado and Iowa for three years before earning a doctor of veterinary medicine degree at Iowa State college last June.

          He and his wife reside at the main street address.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel June 19, 1957

          ..The Metzger family reunion was held Sunday at the City Park.  Forty-two were present with a basket dinner held at noon and ice cream being served later in the afternoon.

          Election of officers was held with the following being elected: President, Homer Graffis, Gilead; secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Lake Smith, Fort Wayne; vice-president, Mrs. Fred Brugel, Mishawaka.  The retiring president is Mrs. Bob Renkenberger.  Also during the business meeting it was voted to give a donation of five dollars to the Shafer’s Cemetery in Kewanna.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Graffis, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Foor and Mr. & Mrs.. Don Metzger and family of Rochester, Mr. & Mrs. Fred Brugel and Mr. & Mrs. Leo Milkey, Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs.Bob Phillips and family and Korrine Liberman, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Bill Metzger, Chicago; Mrs. D’Maris Metzger, Columbia City.

          Others present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Grover Metzger, Mr. & Mrs. D.W. Metzger, Mr. & Mrs. Gillespie and David Metzger, Sr., Kewanna; Mrs. John Huntington and son, Bremen; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Renkenberger and son, Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Homer Graffis and son, Gilead; Mr. & Mrs. Lafe Smith, Fort Wayne; Mrs. Bertha Urbin, Walkerton; Anna Allen, Winamac; and Mr. & Mrs. Thomas Hughes and Miss Hazel Metzger, all of South Bend.



Marvin Heltzel Res

News-Sentinel June 20, 1957

          A family reunion of the Dawson family was held at the home of Marvin Heltzel, which is the original Dawson homestead.  The occasion was in honor of his aunt, Mrs. Gladys Dawson Chambers, and grand-daughter, Barbara Jean Smith, who are here on vacation from Corvallis, Ore.

          Guests were:   Mr. & Mrs. John Dawson and daughters, Ruth and Esther, Mr. & Mrs. Marshall Allman and sons, West Lafayette;







Mrs. Charles Miller, Mr. & Mrs. Dee Dawson, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Dawson, of Logansport; Miss Evelyn Sommers, Mr. & Mrs. Frank Sisulak and sons of Riverside, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Gordon Heltzel and son, Michael, Mr. & Mrs. Scott Stinson, Sr., Macy; Mr. & Mrs. Scott Stinson, Jr., and children, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Myers, Mrs. Ruth Carr, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Carr all of Argos; The Rev. & Mrs. E.E. Booker and children of Chicago; Dr. Dean K. Stinson, Rochester, and his mother Mrs. Grace Stinson, Athens.

          Afternoon callers were Mrs. Eli Gerig, Akron; Mrs. John Gerig and Mr. & Mrs. Howard Utter and children.



Bert Gillespie Res

News-Sentinel June 20, 1957

          The annual McKee reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Bert Gillespie in Kewanna.  Following the basket dinner at the noon hour a short business meeting was held during which Art Byer of Michigan City was elected president and Karole Coughenour of South Bend was chosen secretary.

          Those present were:   Jesse McKee, Piper City, Ill.; Mrs. Edith Coughenour and daughter, Karole, and Mr. & Mrs. Robert McKee and children, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Joe Ball and Mr. & Mrs. Art Byer, Jerry and Douglas, Michigan City; Mr. & Mrs. Rolland Lowery, Linda, Kent and Randy, Howard Owen and Mr. & Mrs. William Owen, all of Winamac; Mr. & Mrs. Clarence McKee, Earl Park, Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Kistler and son, Andy, Greentown.

          Others present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Lee Sommers and daughters, Carol and Mary, Star City; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Sommers and son, Davis, Grass Creek; Mr. & Mrs. Jack Yost and children, Larry, Diana, Susan and Steven, Kentland; Mr. & Mrs. Cliff McKee, Mrs. Bertha McKee, and Lewis McKee, all of Royal Center and Mrs. Edna Zellers and Mr. & Mrs. Bert Gillespie of Kewanna.

          The 1958 reunion will be held in the Gillespie home.



Pur Tom Baldwin

News-Sentinel June 26, 1957

          The sale of Slagle Motors, local Oldsmobile agency located at 528 Main street, to Tom Baldwin of Rochester was announced today by Jack Slagle, following final approval of the transaction by General Motors Corporation.

          Baldwin already has taken over direction of the business, now to






be known as Baldwin Motors.

          Slagle purchased the firm in March, 1956, from Art Rinder-Knecht after coming here from Goshen.  He presently is working wih Courtwright Motors in Kokomo and his family has returned to Goshen.

          The new owner is a native of Rochester and is a 1937 graduate of Rochester high school, where he was a star basketball player and was a member of the RHS team which went to the final four of the 1937 state tournament.

          Baldwin, a veteran of five years duty with the Army Air Corps in World War 11, has been in the automobile business in Rochester since 1951.  He began work with Rinder-Knecht and had continued with Slagle as sales manager.

          The new owner has employed Ed Richard as shop foreman and Jerry Barron as service department employee.  Baldwin and his wife, the former Marian Louise Roudebush of Winamac, reside at 437 West Eighth street.  They are the parents of three daughters.



To Open in Talma

News-Sentinel June 28, 1957

          A corset manufacturing company that may employ 100 local women will be moving to Talma as soon as 20 machine operators can be hired, Mrs. Mildred L. Kramer of Talma announced today.

          Mrs. Kramer, who was manager of the Freeman Manufacturing company which moved its operations from Talma to Puerto Rico last April 26, said that the Kabo Corset company soon will occupy the Walker Buildng in Talma that formerly housed the Freeman company.

          When the first 20 machine operators have been hired, the Kabo company will begin business at the Talma location, Mrs Kramer said.  Eventually 50-75 machine operators will be needed and total employment will reach about 100 persons, she said.

          All of the workers in the plant will be from the local area.  Mrs. Kramer will be the manager.

          Once operations have begun, they will be continued for a trial period of from three to six months.  If the operations are successful, the business will become permanent in Talma, Mrs. Kramer said.











Plymouth Park

News-Sentinel July 8, 1957

          The Baldwin reunion was held Sunday at the Plymouth Park with 56 present.

          During the afternoon election of officers was held with following being elected:   President, Joe Cleland; vice president, Frank Hurst; secretary-treasurer, Lena Cleland.

          The reunion will be held again next year on the first Sunday after the fourth of July.  It will be held at the Plymouth Park.



Boyscout Camp, Roch

News-Sentinel July 8, 1957

          Officrs were elected at the Steininger Family Reunion held July fourth at the Boyscout Camp near Rochester.  Sixty-four friends and relatives were present.

          Officers elected were as follows: President, Ernie Hiatt; vice-presidnt, Leonard Steininger; secretary and treasurer, Gladys Steininger; refreshments, Pat Hiatt, historian, Claude Steininger.

          The oldest person present was Milo Steininger at the age of 82.  The youngest baby was the daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Pat Hiatt, who is three months old.  The Rev. & Mrs. Leonard Steininger came the longest distance.

          The next reunion will be held at the same place.  Relatives attending were from Rochester, Lagro, Plymouth, Auburn, Monticello, Leiters Ford, Colon, Mich., and Three Rivers , Mich.



Isaac Walton Clubhouse

News-Sentinel July 9, 1957

          The 28th annual reunion of former Rochester College students was held at the Isaac Walton clubhouse Sunday with 46 present for the dinner and a number of afternoon guests.

          The tables were decorated with garden flowers and after prayer by Eula Berrier, a delicious ovensteak dinner was served by members of the club and their wives.  A vote of appreciation was later extended to the hosts for their excellent meal and fine service.

          The dinner was followed by a program opened by some inspiring remarks by the president, Robert Shafer, followed by a few moments of silent prayer.  Ray Myers then conducted the remainder of the program.  V.L. Barker led the group in singing with Margaret




Shafer at the piano.  A special guest in the afternoon was the college mother, Flo Delp.  Letters were read from Merritt Partridge of Los Angeles and Flo Delp, Mae Falvey, San Pierre, sent a donation.

          Lucile Leonard gave the high lights of her trip to the Hawaiian Islands in January.  Officers for the next year were elected with the following being elected:   President, Mrs. A.E. Stinson; vice president Mrs. Wylie Bonine, and secretary-treasurer, Mrs. George Felder.

          It was recommended that a quartet of old students be formed and be prepared to sing some of the songs of college days.

          Those present were:   Mrs. Glynn Schricker, North Judson; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Lucas, Knox; Mr. & Mrs. Roy McCary, South Bend; Mrs. John E. Kroft and granddaughter, Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn, Marion; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Smith, Macy; Mrs. Jennie Burgner, Bourbon; Bessie Dingman, Roy Gasaway, Peru; Mrs. Hazel Eby, Roann; Mrs. Lester Carvey, Macy; Mr. & Mrs. V.L. Barker, Dessa Busenburg, Fulton.

          Those from Rochester attending were:   Flo Delp, Raymond & Ann McVay, Lucile Holman Leonard, Mr. & Mrs. Ray E. Myers, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Shafer, Mrs. George Felder, Mrs. Grace Stinson, Mrs. Dessa Fultz, Mrs. Harriet Bonine, Mr. & Mrs. Jesse Tombaugh, Mr. & Mrs. John Cessna, Mr. & Mrs. Dow Haimbaugh, Charlotte M. Palmer, Adda Sanders, Eula Berrier, Carrie Sausaman, Mary Clifton, Clarence Adamson, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Woodcox, Mrs. Henry Moore, Emily Von Ehrenstein and Mrs. Rae Wildermuth, Mr. & Mrs. Glenn Smiley of Milford, Ill., were also present.



Pur Milk Plant Bldg

News-Sentinel July 10, 1957

          Irelan-Baum Company of Akron has bought the former milk plant building and ground east of the Irelan-Baum elevator in Akron.  Half of the brick structure is being razed to make room for a corn storage building.  The frame building at the extreme west of the milk plant was given to Lincoln Hunter to move across the street to his property for a garage.  The Pure Milk Association employees were moving out their equipment.

          The new corn storage building will be 144 x 50 and will store corn for the government.  It will be ready for use by Aug. 1.  Another corn storage building has been erected across the railroad from Irelan-Baum Company recently.









Mahler Home, Delong

News-Sentinel July 17, 1957

          The Joe Mahler reunion was held Sunday at the Mahler home near Delong.

          Those attending were:   Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Kelly and daughter, Karen, South Bend, and their grandson, Mike Kelly of Denver, Colo.; Mr. & Mrs. Elmer Mahler and family, Rochester, and their guest, Jim Eley, Monterey; Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Mahler and daughter, Patty, Kingsford Heights; Mr. & Mrs. Alvin Godd and Carol Mahler, Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Milo Mahler and family of Mishawaka and Mr. & Mrs. Richard Kruszewski. South Bend.

          Others attending were:   Mr. & Mrs. John Blesbrook, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Roy McCandlish and their two sets of twin daughters, Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Ernest Mahler and family, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Oscar Mahler, Monterey; Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Mahler and family, Monterey; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Hudkins and family, Walkerton; Bert Mahler, Argos; and his father, John, of Rochester, spent the afternoon there.  John Mahler is a brother to Joe Mahler.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel July 19, 1957

          The annual Williams reunion was held Sunday at the City Park with 56 present.

          The prayer at noon was offered by Mrs. Faye Wysong.  Relatives were present from New York and Tampa, Fla.  Everett Williams of Saginaw was retained as president and Mrs. Carl Emery as secretary-treasurer.  The program consisted of solos and readings.



South Bend Park

News-Sentinel July 20, 1957

          The annual Walters family reunion was held Sunday at Potawatomi Park in South Bend with an audience of 48.  Mr. & Mrs. Russell Walters and family and Robert M. Walters were the only Fulton county residents who attended. Mrs. Henry Walters, 88, of South Bend was the oldest one present.

          The 1958 reunion is to be held at the same location, the second Sunday in July.  Officers elected for the next year are Russell Walters, Rochester, president; Tura Regnier, Plymouth, secretary; Everett Nimits, South Bend, treasurer.






Roch City Park

News-Sentinel July 25, 1957

          The annual Conrad-Bray reunion was held in the Rochester City Park Sunday.  Following the prayer by Mrs. Marie Alber a picnic dinner was enjoyed.

          Following the dinner the business meeting was conducted by the president, Dick Conrad.  The report of last year’s reunion was read by the secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Arabelle Showley.  Two weddings were reported.  On Sept. 1, 1956, Wayne Alber and Mary Hart were wed and June 29, 1957 Mrs. Thelma Crippen and Harold McKinley, both of Logansport, were wed.  Several births were announced.  They were: Mr. & Mrs. Russell Cauffman of New Carlisle, a son, Rory Gene; Mr. & Mrs. Ramon Alber, Leesburg, a daughter, Mary Lee; Mr. & Mrs. Burl Winegardner, a son; Mr. & Mrs. Melvin Winegardnjer, a son, and Mr. & Mrs. Richard Showley, Kewanna, a daughter.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Harold McKinley, Mr. & Mrs. Jack Hines, Mrs. Edith Benson and son, Mr. & Mrs. Burl Winegardner, and son, Mr.& Mrs. Harold Winegardner, Mr. & Mrs. Melvin Winegardner and son, Jeff and Danny Winegardner, Mrs. Roscoe Hensell and Mr. & Mrs. Merrill Crippen and family, all of Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Conrad and son, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Conrad, of Metea; Mr. & Mrs. Dick Conrad and family of Royal Center; Mr. & Mrs. George Conrad and family, Chili; Mr. & Mrs. Luther Sheets, Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Showley and family, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber, Mr. & Mrs. Thurl Alber, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Hibbs and daughter and Frank Alber, Rochester.

          Mr. Russell received the gift for being the oldest one present and the daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Richard Showley, Cindty Lee, was the youngest one present.



On Radio and TV

News-Sentinel July 27, 1957

          Three’s a crowd, especially when the trio is The King’s Jesters of Chicago radio and television fame and the musical pride of their native city of Rochester.

          Individually, they are George Howard, who sings melody; John Ravencroft, baritone, and Fritz Bastow, tenor.

          Collectively, they are a mob of talent as heard for 14 years as George Watson’s sidekicks on the “Gold Coast Show” on Chicago Station WBBM, weekdays at 8:30 a.m., and 3:30 p.m., or as seen on





“Luncheon Show” weekdays at 12:15 p.m., on WBBM-TV.  George plays the drums and vibraharp, Fritz plays guitar and banjo and John mans the saxophone and Clarinet.  They’re also prominent as actors in “Gold Coast” skits.

          All three of the Jesters hail from Rochester, attended school and here they received their early musical training.  With this background they launched a career that still is robust.

          Ravencroft had the earliest professional experience.  His father, Ralph, and his mother were legitimate actors with the famed Holden shows and the family had a vaudeville act which included a quartet when John was nine or ten years old.  The act was called “Rube Ravencroft and His Comical Kids.”

          John and his wife, the former Frances Jones of Rochester, live in Skokie, Ill., with their children, Sandra, 24, and John, 19.  His brother, Ed Ravencroft, is assistant postmaster here.

          Bastow came from a musical family.  His father, the late Ira Bastow, played a guitar and fiddle, and his sister peformed at the piano.  Fritz’s wife was Frances Bryant, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Frank Bryant.  The Bastow family spend their summer weekends on Lake Manitou at their east shore cottage.  He also owns a farm just south of the Tippecanoe river on U.S. 31.  The Bastows’ winter home also is in Skokie.  They have two children, Jane, 24, and Susan, 19.

          The Howard family resides in Rochester the year-around at their lake home.  Mrs. Howard is a dancing instructor here and George “commutes” to his Chicago work.  They have two boys, Robert, 20, and William, 16.  George’s father was the late Bill Howard, longtime Rochester jeweler.

          George, incidentally, was the drummer of the earliest musical aggregation formed by the boys and his brother, Ayrton, was the organizer and arranger of the group.  They played at dances throughout northern Indiana and also played for local functions.

          The boys got their start in the entertainment business on a radio show called “The Nutty Club” over WBBM in 1930.  This was a big variety show presided over by Bobby Brown in which Harry Richman, Rudy Vallee and Ted Lewis would do guest appearances.  The music was provided by Paul Whiteman and his orchestra with the Jesters leading vocal renditions.

          In 1931, the boys took to the road with the Whiteman band and in early 1932 started free-lancing in radio.  During this period they changed names almost as often as they did clothes.  They were known variously as the “Pabstett Jesters,” “O-Cedar Melody Men,” “The Songfellows,” “The Milkmen,” “The Pennzoil Jesters,” “The







Gentlemen from Indiana,” and “The Pillsbury Besters.”

          Under the name of the “Songfellows,” the trio was the first to sing introductions to records.  They sang two bars and would imitate instruments using a trombone effect.  Such assignments were prvalent until 1933 when the rising popularity of soap operas forced the formation of a band.  The Jesters then based at Morrison hotel in Chicago for nine months, also doing free-lance work for CBS and Mutual networks.

          They also performed at the Bismarck and LaSalle hotels until 1938 when they went on a tour of the country with their then-enlarged band, a tour which also included appearances at Lake Manitou.

          While in South Bend on their tour, they auditioned for radio work and thus made their exit from the band business.  They have been at WBBM since June 1942, first starting with the network Ben Bernie Show.

          And they’re still going strong.  The fan mail attests to that fact.



H.J. Lease, Home

News-Sentinel, Aug. 3, 1957

          Mr. & Mrs. H.J. Lease and son, Jim, entertained the members of the Rannells family at a reunion dinner earlier this week.

          Those present were:   Mrs. James Anderson, Mrs. Ina Napier, Mr. & Mrs. Edward Anderson and sons of Willshire, O., Mrs. Henry Neirieter, Decatur, Mr. & Mrs. John Reinhard of Columbia City, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Gohn and family of Warsaw, Mr. & Mrs. Tim Gohn and family of South Bend, Mr. & Mrs. William DeWitt of Lafayette and Ben Noftsger, Frank Noftsger, Miss Janith Hinkle, Mrs. Dee Wallace and son, Mrs. Jeanette Gohn and Mr. & Mrs. Howard Lease and son, all of Rochester.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, Aug. 6, 1957

          The Sam Gordon Reunion was held recently at the Rochester City Park with 40 attending.  Gene Gordon offered prayer preceding the carry-on dinner.

          Those who attended were:   Mrs. Sophia Gordon, Mr. & Mrs. Gene Gordon and Francis, Paul Gordon, Mr. & Mrs. Lester Gordon, Deverl Hill, Mr. & Mrs. Verle Shafer and Caroil Ann and Patricia Rouch, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Warner and family, Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Gordon and Patty, Mr. & Mrs. William Gordon and Pam, all of








          Those attending from South Bend were:   Mr. & Mrs. Vernon Cranmer, Mr. & Mrs. Gene Cranmer and family, Mr. & Mrs. Dale Cranmer and family, Mr. & Mrs. Arthur L. Shafer and baby.  Russell Gordon and Carla and Bud of New Waverly and Mr. & Mrs. Howard Gordon of Peru also were in attendance.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, Aug. 10, 1957

          Mr. & Mrs. Lee Crispen and Mr. & Mrs. Jim Coplen attended the Henry Day Reunion at the Rochester City Park held earlier this week.  It was a carry-in dinner.  New officers were chosen with Cecil Day elected as president and Russell Day, vice-president; secretary-treasurer, Robert Rinker; reporter, Sandy Kratz and entertainment Jack Hildebrandt, Jim Rinker and Kenny Kratz.

          Thirty-six were present with two guests, Howard Hacker and Judy Von Goey, present.  Prizes were won by Mr. & Mrs. John Day being married the longest, 67 years.  Mr. & Mrs. Kenny Kratz won a prize for being the most recently married, three months.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, Aug. 13, 1957

          The 47th annual Persch Reunion was held Sunday at the City Park.  A carry-in dinner was held at noon.  The afternoon was spent socially and refreshments were served later.



Overmyer Home

News-Sentinel, Aug. 16, 1957

          The Warmbrod family reunion was held at the home of Loyd, Martha and Wayne Overmyer of near Monterey.  Those present were: John A. Newman and son, Charles, and Mr. & Mrs. Oscar Wesson and family, Culver; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Samuel and family, Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. Jesse Warmbrod, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Raymond Hittle and son, Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Harry Rock and son, James, Barbara Eastland, Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Warmbrod and family, Mr. & Mrs. Carl Warmbrod, Mr. & Mrs. Donald Rock and family, Mr. & Mrs. Virgil Sutton and family and Mr. & Mrs. Elmer Overmyer and family all of Rochester.

          Others present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Bud Clemens and family and






Mr. & Mrs. Frank Lepns of Peru; Mrs. Albert Rentschler of Buckeye, Ariz.; Mr. & Mrs. Ivan Rock, Bourbon; Miss Jeanne Griffin of Kokomo; Mr. & Mrs. Harry Overmyer, Leiters Ford; Mr. & Mrs. John Warmbrod, Mr. & Mrs. Walter Peters and daughter, Lula Belle, Mr. & Mrs. Willard Peters and family, Mr. & Mrs. Earl Masters and family and Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Masters, all of Winamac, and Mr. & Mrs. Herbert Newman and son and Mr. & Mrs. Francis Ruschau and family of Monterey.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, Aug. 16, 1957

          The Smiley Reunion was held at the City Park with the following in attendance:   Mr. & Mrs. Milton Smiley and Gladys and Mr. & Mrs. James Smiley of Pine Village; Mr. & Mrs. Jim Smiley and family, Rensselaer; Mr. & Mrs. Glen Smiley of Stockland, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Smiley, Mr. & Mrs. Earl Smiley and Terry, Mr. & Mrs. John Smiley and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. Don Smiley and Beth, Mr. & Mrs. Mr. & Mrs. Ray Smiley and children, Mr. & Mrs. Russell Smiley and Jane and Jerry, Mr. & Mrs. Frank Smiley and Ann and Sally, Mrs. Barbara Ogle and Deby and Terry, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Sybert and Mr. & Mrs. John Trudeau of Monomence, Ill., and Mrs. Jack Smiley and son, Rochester.



Moves Into New Bldg

News-Sentinel, Aug. 23, 1957

          The Akron News, for the fourth time in its 67-year history, will change location next week.

          Mr. & Mrs. Claude Billings, owners and publishers of the weekly newspaper, announced Thursday that The News next week will be published in the new steel and concrete building erected at the east edge of Akron.

          The News has been published since 1932 in the Akron Exchange Bank building.  When founded in 1889, it was printed above the present Akron theatre building, being moved in 1890 to Publisher S.N. Shesler’s home.

          From 1909 until 1932, the paper was published in a brick building now occupied by Doering’s radio-TV shop.











Jess Thompson Home

News-Sentinel, Aug. 28, 1957

          The Johnson Reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Jess Thompson.

          Those attending were:   Mr. & Mrs. Robert Shaw and family, Mrs. Alberta Kilmer and Francis Shaw, all of Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Sam Johnson and family, Mr. & Mrs. Junior Johnson and family of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Joe Brown and family and Truman Hammond of LaPorte and Mrs. Elsie Shaw of Mississippi.

          Others present were:   Mrs. Dorothy Smith, Tippecanoe; Mrs. Plyllis Richardson and children, Mr. & Mrs. Frazier Lowe and children and Mr. & Mrs. Virgil Johnson, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Dewey Norris of Arizona and Bert Bibler, father of Mrs. Jess Thompson.


Fenstermaker Reun

Ralph Helt Home

News-Sentinel, Aug. 30, 1957

          Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Helt were hosts Sunday when the Fenstermaker reunion was held at their home.  Forty-six were in attendance.  The afternoon was spent swimming and playing games.

          Those present were:    Mr. & Mrs. Fred Fenstermaker, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond Fenstermaker, Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Mote and family, Mr. & Mrs. Dewey Freeman and family, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Ray, Mr. & Mrs. Ival Freeman and Fred and Norman Fenstermaker, of Hammond, Mr. & Mrs. Walter Kohler, Munster, and Mr. & Mrs. Lester Janery, Chicago Heights.  Mr. & Mrs. Fred Moss of South Bend were also in attendance.

          Those attending from Rochester were:   Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Fletcher, Mr. & Mrs. John Helt and family, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Helt and family, Mr. & Mrs. John Weiler and family and Don Helt.



New Store Opens

News-Sentinel, Sept. 5, 1957

          Santa’s Toy Shop, owned by Wayne Wilson, 204-1/2 East Fourth street, and Dale Furnivall, 1000 Monroe Street, opened Tuesday at 504 Main street.

          The store, with Mrs. Wilson as saleswoman, features toys for children of all ages.

          Wilson, who operated a service station at 10th and Main streets for three years, is employed at the Sealed Power plant.  Furnivall is a





mechanic at Enyart Motor Sales.  The toy shop is their first business venture as partners.



Shop Opens

News-Sentinel, Sept. 5, 1957

          At 222 East 13th street, the Mitchell Shoe Repair shop opened Tuesday.  Owned by Adolph Mithell of Akron, the shop is the only shoe repair business in the southeast section of the city.

          Mitchell previously operated shoe repair shops in Akron and Mentone.  His wife, Miriam, has operated Miriam’s Beauty Shop in Akron for more than 20 years.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, Sept. 5, 1957

          The 48th annual reunion of descendants of Benneville Guise, a pioneer of this county, was held at the City Park Sunday.  There were 40 present and the youngest was Kimberly Ann Halterman, three week old daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Lessel Halterman of Macy.  The oldest one present was Mrs. Lizzi Tugdenrich, 93, of Kewanna.

          During the program the devotions were given by Earl Dean Kring of Argos which was followed with readings, talks and singing.  Guests present were from Cincinnati, Michigan, Denver, Akron, Culver, Argos, Kewanna and Hammond.



Automatic Dial

News-Sentinel, Sept. 7, 1957

          The Rochester Telephone Company will hold an Open House at its telephone building next Thursday and Friday to which all the people of Fulton county and the adjoining area are invited.  The two-day party is being held to celebrate 61 years of telephone service to the community and to let the public inspect the new automatic dial exchange. - - - - -



Million Dollar Firm

News-Sentinel, Sept. 7, 1957

          Telephone service having been a part of Rochester community life for 61 years it is taken today as a matter of course by the public generally.  People seldom stop to think of the faith, time and effort it




took to establish a telephone system here.  Those pioneers who built the utility waited many years before they received any return on their investment.  But through the years they and their successors built up the exchange and outside plant into the modern utility it is today.  So that subscribers and all others may have an overall picture of the company and its plant the following facts and figures are made public.

          If the entire telephone system, including buildings, contents, switchboard, cables, wires, poles, and automatic equipment, were destroyed today and had to be replaced it would cost more than $1,000,000.  That is the value placed upon it all by expert accountants and engineers who maintain our records.

          The company has two bond issues outstanding totaling $350,000 and pays $14,650 interest on these yearly.  The money from the bond sales was used to purchase and install the automatic and other equipment.

          County property taxes now total approximately $20,000 each year.

          There are 40 employees in the company today and the annual payroll amounts to $125,000.

          The corporation has 47 stockholders, mostly Fulton County residents who own 29,750 shares of common stock issued at various periods in past years.  This stock has a local value of $450,000.  The money secured from its sale was also used to expand the plant, buy new telephones, cable and wire.

          The company provides a sickness and health insurance policy for each employee.  A pension system with an accompanying life insurance policy is in effect with employees contributing part cost.

          There are 3,611 telephones in service today.

          The company owns and maintains 37 miles of overhead and underground lead cable enclosing 5,712 miles of telephone wires. Open wire totals 1,070 miles, while there are 197 miles of insulated wire.

          In the city the cables and wires are encased in five miles of tile conduit.

          There are 8,815 poles in service throughout the entire system.  If all pole lines were set in a straight row it would reach to Chicago and back.

          The Rochester company has a much larger number of rural phones than the average exchange, a total of 1,200 being in the country.  The subscriber farthest from the exchange lives 12 miles away and it takes 24 miles of wire to serve his home.

          The plant has 1,400 lines with layout space to expand the number to 3,000.  It has 3,600 terminals which provide facilities so that








when a subscriber moves within the local territory his number remains the same - it is not changed.  This terminal total can be increased to 8,000 when needed.

          The rural party line phones now are equipped so that long conversations are given a five minute buzz warnng and then the connection is automatically cut off a minute later.

          The Rochester exchange is a toll center for Akron, Fulton and Macy.  When subscribers in thos areas dial (O) they are answered by the Rochester long distance operator who handles their call - or gives information when requested.

          When a subscriber makes a station to station long distance call the Rochester operator can dial the home or oiffice number direct in many cities over the country.  In the same manner in those cities which have subscriber toll dialing equipment the caller can dail direct for numbers in Rochester, Akron and Fulton.  Toll operators in all cities can dial Rochester, Akron and Fulton numbers direct, without calling the local operator.

          The number of toll circuits connecting Rochester with neighbring towns and cities are as follows:   South Bend 17, Indianapolis 5, Peru 4, Logansport 6, Plymouth 6. Argos 2, Akron 8, Macy 5, Fulton 5, North Manchester, 2.

          Most of the long distance wires come into the local exchange through a large underground cable.  This leaded sheath runs west from the city about six miles, where it connects with a Bell Cable laid from Indianapolis to South Bend.  This connection assures long distance service at all times, despite sleet storms and local disasters.  It also provides toll lines for future circuits as needed.

          Included in the plant equipment are several “carriers” which provide extra circuits to neighboring exchanges.  These carriers are practically radio units and the wave lengths follow the metallic wires to each town.  In other words, it is controlled radio.  One set of wires can carry as many as16 additional circuits by means of these carriers.

          The telephone business must render service 24 hours a day, seven days a week.  Consequently the long distance operators and plant men work on shifts so that some of them are always on duty.  Operators are scheduled so there is sufficient personnel working to meet peak loads.

          A new garage was built on East Eighth Street in 1955 at a cost of $11,000.  All automotive equipment, materials and supplies are kept there.

          On April 28, 1957, the first day the automatic dial system was placed in opration the local calls made numbered over 25,000.  The








average number of local calls made daily now is 15,115.  Since conversion the average number of long distance calls has been from 1,000 to 1,200 daily.

          The busy periods when most long distance calls are made is from 8:30 to 12:00 noon and from 1:00 to 2:00 p.m., and from 3:30 to 8:00 p.m.



1896 with 149 Customers

News-Sentinel, Sept. 7, 1957

          The Rochester Telephone Co., Inc., which has furnished means of communication in Rochester and over a large part of Fulton county for t1 years, has had an interesting history during the span of time in which the utility has grown along with the city and community.  The firm began when the telephone business was practically unknown in the country areas and for years was operated for the benefit of a few businessmen, along with a continued faith in the future.

          It was on Nov. 26, 1895, that corporation papers were granted the newly organized company by the secretary of state of Indiana.  Five leading businessmen who had seen the need for voice communication in business and the home joined together and invested $10,000 in the company.  There were 100 shares of common stock.

          Those pioneers later met, became the board of directors and elected officers, who were:  Henry A. Barnhart, president; Lyman M. Brackett, vice-president; Rome C. Stephenson, superintendent; Joseph Myers, secretary-treasurer, and George Holman, general counsel.

          In the following year the switchboard was installed in the upstairs room of the Dawson Building, which now is occupied by the Peoples Pharmacy.  Wires were strung about Rochester beginning in February and on May 30 the new utility was ready to start giving service.  Meanwhile 149 subscribers had been signed up and it was with this number of phones that the company started in business.  One operator, Miss Belle Bernetha, was on duty.

          From the start, the directors decided to play safe and take in plenty of territory to be served.  They organized to operate not only in Fulton countty but in Marshall, Miami, Wabash, Kosciusko, Pulaski, Starke and Cass counties as well.  Once underway, lines were extended within the town and then in rapid order they were strung to Tiosa, Athens (then called Grant), Akron, Wagoner’s Station, Macy, Bearss and Kewanna.  A single telephone in each of these communities served everyone who cared to use them.

          In April, 1898, the first long distance connection was made when






exchange officials talked from a public pay station to Rochester to people in the Central Union Telephone office at Peru.  Long distance telephone history was made on that day.

          Tully Pontious came with the company in the beginning and was the first construction “crew”.  Later he became superintendent and today is vice president of the company.  Charles A. Davis took the position as the first night operator.  A Purdue graduate, he later became general manager of the power company which now is the Public Service Company of Indiana, Inc.  In August, 1902, Daniel Agnew succeeded Myers as secretary-treasurer and held that position until he resigned in 1917.  Myers was succeeded temporarily by Holman, who served while Barnhart was in Washington as Congressman from the old 13th Indiana District.  Upon the latter’s return home in 1919, he assumed the managersip along with his duties as president, which he held until his passing in March, 1934.  At that time, Hugh A. Barnhart, was elected to succeed him as president and Roscoe Pontius became general manager.

          Belle Bernetha continued to operate the switchboard as the number of subscribers increased and among the early operators she employed to assist her was Mary Gould.  Miss Bernetha became chief operator and continued in this capacity until 1941 when she retired.  She held the honor of having served longer than anyone as operator and being the oldest active operator on duty in the nation.  She served on the board of directors and was one of the builders of the company during her years of service until her death in 1948.

          Between 1896 and 1909, the company enjoyed a steady growth and all earnings were put back into the plant for expansion purposes. New switchboard units were installed and additional rooms were taken over in the second story location.  Eventually all of the upstairs rooms were occupied by the plant and office.

          Up until 1909, the telephones were of the hand-crank, magneto type.  Then the directors took another step forward and purchased new equipment which provided the coming battery type service.  The power, instead of being furnished by a magneto in each phone, was supplied by several large batteries in the exchange.  All a subscriber had to do to call central was to lift the receiver.  This service was available only to city subscribers at first, but gradually was extended to those in the country.  By 1925, all subscribers had common battery service.

          Between 1926 and 1930, the number of subscribers continued to increase on a slow but steady basis. One after another the small exchanges of Whipporwill, Talma, and Loyal were purchased and the







subscribers were served from Rochester.

          In 1931 the depression struck the country and along with all utilities the local company suffered loss of subscribers.  Its low was reached in 1934 when there were 1,400 telephones in the service.  Since then the number has moved steadily upward despite the slowing-up period through the World War 11 and Korean war years.

          The pioneers who formed the company were forward-looking men and in 1914 they purchased the lot at the rear of the Dawson building as a future location for the telephone plant.  But it was not until 1938 that continued growth and a disastrous fire that destroyed the three neighboring buildings to the south brought action.  Then a new brick and steel telephone building was constructed at 117 West Eighth street which was planned so that it could be enlarged as required.

          A new switchboard was installed and new equipment replaced much of the old.  There were now approximately 2,200 subscribers.  By 1949 the number was up to 3,000.  And still the damands for more service continued.  In 1954 it became necessary to enlarge the operating room as new units were necessary for the switchboard.  The building was then doubled in size with a new addition being built in the rear.  It was constructed so that it could house automatic dial equipment.  During all this period new lines were being built over the territory to serve new subscribers while additional under-ground and overhead cable was installed yearly.  Also every month new modern telephones were purchased to replace the older types still in use.

          The directors, looking ahead, saw that additional common battery equipment would be needed to serve the constantly growing list of subscribers and increased toll business.  At this time they began a study of the automatic dial system exchange.  Engineers visited the plant and made surveys and studies.  The stockholders were called together to get their reactions and after many months it was deciced early in 1956 to convert to a dial exchange.

          Financial problems had to be worked out, with the sale of bonds and common stock providing the money to purchase the equipment of the Stromberg-Carlson Company.    Installation started in November and on April 28, 1957, the “cut-over” was made.

          Today the system is working smoothly.












James Rhinehart Home

News-Sentinel, Sept. 9, 1957

          Mr. & Mrs. James Rhinehart and family of Nyona Lake were hosts Sunday to a gathering of the Charles Rhinehart family.

          There were 33 present.  Those attending were:   Mr. & Mrs. Charles Rhinehart and Mr. & Mrs. Robert Weltzin and sons of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Melvin Kilander and sons of Chesterton; Mr. & Mrs. Ronald Cook and family of Batavia, Ill.; Mrs. Samuel Cook of Rensselaer; Mr. & Mrs. Arnold Sommers and family of Grass Creek; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Hubeny and family of Kewanna; and Mr. & Mrs. Bill Owens and daughter of Lafayette;

          In the afternoon all members of the family talked via long distance telephone to Mrs. Miriam Blackburn and son at Miami, Fla., the only members unable to attend.



Oldest Ind Practicing Atty

News-Sentinel, Sept. 18, 1957

          Comfortably installed in his book-lined law office, Charles Campbell gazed at a bust of the Roman Philosopher Cicero and said:

          “I’m trying to do just what Cicero outlined in his treatise ‘Concerning Old Age,’ I’m trying to grow old gracefully.”

          The old Roman would be proud of his 20th century student, for there are few men today who are approaching their traditional four score and ten as gracefully as Rochester’s Charles Campbell.

          Now well into his 90th year of life, he has been in the practice of law for 61 years, all of them in Rochester.  The Indiana Bar Association agrees that Campbell is this state’s oldest practicing attorney.

          That’s some accomplishment in itself, but takes on more significance when one discovers how actively Campbell works at his profession.

          Charles is at his office above the First National Bank six days a week, walking three blocks from his home at 1002 Jefferson street and negotiating the 24 steps to the second floor with hardly an extra breath.  He works a normal day and never turns down an opportunity to appear in Fulton circuit court for a client.

          A rangy, ruddy-complectioned Scot, Campbell bears his name proudly.  He was born May 7, 1868, barely three years after the close of the Civil War, on his father’s 400-acre farm a mile south of Leiters Ford in Aubbeenaubbee township.

          Christopher and Rebecca Campbell, his parents, were pioneer




settlers of Fulton county and both were first-generation Americans. Christopher’s parents came from near Glasgow, Scotland, while his wife’s family originated in Switzerland.

          Charlie attended eight grades of school at Leiters Ford, then taught for two years before going to Ann Arbor, Mich., to enroll in the University of Michigan’s preparatory school.  After three years there, he went on to the university proper for five years, graduating in 1895 with a degree of bachelor of philosophy.

          Charles recalls that his decision to enroll at Michigan was prompted by the example set by Clyde Nafe, prominent Rochester township farmer who had attended school there.  The years weren’t easy.  He worked his way through as a boarding house manager during the winter and as a fruit harvest hand and farm worker during the summers.

          The Campbell family was a large one, Charlie having four brothers and three sisters.  He was the oldest.  Still living are two sisters, Mrs. Lucretta Van Kirk of Kentland and Mrs. Clara Leiter of Rochester.

          He returned to Rochester the year of his graduation and in 1896 was admitted to the bar, which in those days involved appearing before some local attorneys and answering several oral questions.  He first went into the office of Michael L. Essick, but a year later opened his own office.  Later he combined with Charles Emmons and the firm lasted until Emmons’ death.  Since then, his stepson, Murray McCarty, has been associated with him in the law practice.

          Campbell’s legal work has been confined mainly to civil cases.  His diligent attention to clients’ rights, his unique way with juries and his broad intellect have earned him a widespread reputation in his chosen profession.  Even today, at nearly 90, he turns down few cases.

          The clients represented by Campbell over six decades are without number, yet one case he remembers quite well.  It came early in the 20th century when he represented a man who had bought some land in Tulsa, Okla., before the oil rush days.  Charles recalls that one of the lots bought for $600 later sold for $45,000.

          Life hasn’t been all court and legal work for Campbell, however.  He has contributed much to his community.

          He is past president of the Rochester Kiwanis club, served for 10 years as president of the Fulton County Bar Association and long was active in Republican politics.  Although never an office holder except for a short term as city judge, Campbell served several times as a state convention delegate.

          He even had an adventure into the newspaper business, helping






in the early 1920s to form The Daily News with some other local Republicans.  The venture was short-lived.  The News being sold later to Harold and Pete Van Trump and after that merged with The Sentinel.

          As a civic leader, he was among the men instrumental in bringing the federal fish hatcheries here 20 years ago and worked long hours in pushing the project of a road around Lake Manitou, which, unfortunately, never has met success.

          In 1909, he built the second lake home erected in the Bestview addition on the southeast shore, a two-story dwelling he still owns.  The same year he built his city home at 1002 Jefferson street, a home remodeled in 1920 and yet home for the Campbells.

          He also was instrumental in the building of the Rochester country club and captained the club’s golf team several years.  Being a Scot, he was a fair hand at the game but hasn’t played in 30 years.

          At the age of 42, Charles was married to Grace E. Murray of Huntington, now 82 years of age and as hale as her husband.

          About the only change in Charlie Campbell’s routine these days is frequent sessions in front of the television set.  There was a time not so long ago when he would strike out on long walks, covering several miles and taking the entire day - regardless of the weather.  It’s one of his longevity secrets and a pastime he sorely misses.

          Eight years ago, Charlie was forced to spend 19 weeks in a cast, when he broke his hip in a fall at home.  It’s the only time he’s ever been sick, if you forget the measles and mumps.

          At 89, Charlie Campbell still is an active, useful citizen of his community.  One of its few remaining links with a graceful past, he at least does not intend to lose touch with the exciting present.  Or with the enticing future, for that matter.



Opens Law Office

News-Sentinel, Oct. 3, 1957

          Law offices at 802-1/2 Main street, above Security Loan office, will be opened Monday, Oct. 14, by John Delworth, Jr.

          A native of Valparaiso, Delworth graduated from high school there in 1944 and earned A.B. (1950) and LLB (1955) degrees from Valparaiso University.  He has been residing in Gary, being employed in the insurance business.

          Delworth has served twice in the Navy, from 1944-46 and in 1951-52 as a radar operator, the last time in the Mediterranean area.  He is married and he and his wife, Nora, have two daughters, one three




years old and the other two weeks of age.  The Delworths will reside at 1317 Monroe street.



“George M. Riddle”

News-Sentinel, Nov. 8, 1957

          When the keys to the new George M. Riddle elementary school building are presented to the school’s principal Sunday afernoon during dedication ceremonies, Rochester will be performing a unique honor.

          The principal, you see, is George M. Riddle himself.

          Rarely, if at all, in this nation’s current rush of new school construction has a building been named after a living man.  Such an honor usually is thought to be so great that one must have died to earn it.

          Not so in the case of Rochester or in George Riddle.  Two years ago when plans for the city’s two new elementary buildings were completed, the question of the name of the school at Third and Clay streets was raised.  Unlike the new Columbia school, whose old quarters are to be destroyed, this building would be an addition to the city’s number of school structures.

          Quickly and unanimously the name came: “George M. Riddle.” There was no discussion, no dissent and the community has reacted with a satisfied nod of approval. - - - - -



In New Buildings

News-Sentinel, Nov. 27, 1957

          A handsome new addition to the Rochester business district - the Ross-Senger building at 709-15 Main Street - will be opened officially Saturday morning at 9 o’clock with ribbon-cutting ceremonies presided over by Mayor William D. Jefferson.

          Almost completely rebuilt from the ruins of a disastrous fire in January, 1956, the former Brackett building now is one of the most modern of business structures.  It will house on the north, Wile’s department store, on the south, Harvey’s Dime Store.  Both are moving from other locations on Main    Sales quarters are located on both ground floors and downstairs at each location.

          Saturday’s opening will climax seven months of remodeling operations on the building.  During that time the building had its third floor removed and finally was stripped of everything but the outside walls.  What has been repaired is entirely new. - - - - -







          The new Harvey’s store, with triple the space of the other location, becomes the larger of owner Ralph Harvey’s 10 Indiana stores.  Harvey, of LaPorte, opened his smaller store here in 1953.

          Clyde Bick, native of Rochester, will manage the Harvey’s store, which has greatly expanded its stock of merchandise.  The downstairs area contains toys, housewares and electric goods. The ground floor the remainder of the merchandise. - - - -



Harvest Corn

News-Sentinel, Nov. 30, 1957

          “Good neighbors” of Robert Baker gathered at his farm this week to pick about 55 acres of corn.  Baker recently was returned home from the Bluffton clinic, where he was confined for eight weeks.

          Women of the community also were on hand to serve dinner for the workers, who were:   Ed Mathias, Ray Horton, Gordon Zartman, Robert Keim, Doyle Davis, Arnold Bell, Jud Hudkins, Roy Baker, Luther Keel, Jack Brubaker, Ray Baker, Devane Felts, Forest Calloway, Miller Ault, Calvin Braman, Bill Zimpleman, Lawrence Hendrickson, Robert Eytcheson, Fred Gottschalk, Robert Gottschalk, Allie Mikesell, Charles Harris, Fay Ross, Robert Ross, Robert Taylor, Richard Neff, Charles Runkle, Robert See, Jack Severns, Deloise Severns, Ira Baker, Voris Zartman, Bob Zartman, Fred Mercer, Clyde Ault, Don Baker and James Salkill.

          Women who helped with the dinner were:   Mrs. Neil Mathias, Mrs. Delores Hudkins, Mrs. Helen Gottschalk, Mrs. Sadie Baker, Mrs. Myrtle Keim, Mrs. Martha Ross, Mrs. Beulah Fouts and Mrs. Pat Eytcheson.



Pur Don Overmyer

News-Sentinel, Feb. 3, 1958

          The O.K. Barber shop at 705 Main street today was purchased by Don Overmyer, native of Kewanna, from Bruce Morrett and John Inman, who have operated the business here the past nine years.

          Overmyer is the son of the Rev. & Mrs. Lloyd Overmyer.  The father is pastor of the Prairie Grove and Olive Branch EUB churches.  Don is a graduate of International Barber College in Indianapolis and had been employed at the Wall Street shop here.  The new owner took possession today.

          Morrett and Inman, who have operated the shop at its present location, next to the Arlington hotel for 2-1/2 years, will continue to






work with the new owner.  Inman has been barbering since 1900, Morrett since 1901,



Floyd M. Christman

News-Sentinel, March 6, 1958

          Floyd M. Christman, 1300 Monroe street, agent for the Railway Express Agency in Rochester since 1917, Wednesday noon was presented with a 40-year service award by the company at ceremonies conducted during the regular meeting of the Kiwanis club in the Courthouse View cafe.

          Christman started his express career with Wells Fargo and Company, predecessor of Railway Express, at Toledo, O., in 1917.  The presentation of the 10-carat gold lapel pin for 40 years’ service is one of the few ever to be made in this district.

          It was given by M.S. Cogan, vice-president of Railway Express from Chicago, who cited Christman for his “interest in community affairs” and added that “you can be proud of your service to your company and it is proud of the representation you have given it.”

          On hand for the occasion were eight other Express officials.  They included J.H. Kuhns, Detroit superintendent; E.E. Marshall, Indianapolis, superintendent; A.L. Waite; South Bend, district supervisor; Ross Zimmerlee, former Huntington Express employee who has worked for Christman in the local office; W.B. Pitcher, Huntington agent; Ellsworth Hess, Delaware, O., agent; R.C. Craig, Warsaw agent; Don Miller, Columbia City agent; and Vernon Steen, Detroit office, traffic consultant.

          Hess and Miller both are Rochester natives who originally began work in the local office under Christman.

          Also present were Mayor W.D. Jefferson, Charles Quackenbush, Erie Railroad agent here; Doc Miller, city councilman and Erie section superintendent; M.O. Jeglum, executive director of the Indiana Society for Crippled Children, and Everett Plotner of Akron and Emmett Trambarger of Rochester. Both personal friends of Christman.

          Jeglum, in a surprise presentation gave Christman a certificate of appreciation for his long record of work in the Crippled Children Society.

          Christman has been treasurer of the Kiwanis club for the past 15 years and also is a director of the Crippled Children Society.  He is a member of the Masonic lodge, First Baptist church and secretary of the Rochester Plan Commission.  A veteran of World War 1, he also belongs to the American Legion.





          He came to Rochester from his post in Toledo in December, 1917, first delivering Express packages in horse-drawn wagons from a Main street office located where Seaboard Finance’s quarters now are situated.  The present Express quarters are in the Erie depot building.  Wells Fargo was taken over by Railway Express in 1918.



New Firm

News-Sentinel, March 28, 1958

          The property at 803 East Ninth street will house the business of a newly-formed Rochester firm, to be known as the Brown Oil Co.

          T.W. and Georgia Brown, 401 West Ninth street, are combining a bulk plant and service station at the new location.  Completion of onstruction is expected during the latter part of April.

          Brown has been associated with the Phillips Petroleum Co. 22 years, the past eight years as a distributor in Fulton county.

          The Brown Oil Co. will operate a service station on the front portion of the property and maintain a bulk plant on the south section. From the bulk plant, deliveries will be made throughout Fulton county of gasolines and burning oil.

          The property, located west of Heisler’s Pharmacy, formerly was the site of the Clay Sheetz home.  That building has been removed to a new site southward.


Jennings Motors Corp

Nelson Leaves Firm

News-Sentinel, Apr. 4, 1958

          Vern Jennings today announced that he has purchased the stock of Kenneth Nelson in the Jennings Motors Corp., Ford Agency here, and has returned to active management of the firm.

          Nelson, who took over the business in January, 1956, no longer is associated with it.  He said today that he has accepted a position with another automobile dealersip in a nearby city.  He does not plan to move his family from the city immediately.



Pur Sengers

News-Sentinel, May 1, 1958

          The purchase of the Phipps department store in Warsaw was announced today by Fred and Mark Senger of the Senger Dry Goods company in Peru.

          The store becomes third in this area owned by the Sengers.




They also operate Senger’s in Peru and Wile’s in Rochester.

          The Phipps store was owned by Joe Phipps, Batavia, Ill.  The Sengers will take possession by Sept. 1 and will operate the business under the name of Senger’s of Warsaw.



Pur Wallace DeMien

News-Sentinel, May 15, 1958

          The Metz Cigar Store, 117 East Seventh street, has been purchased by Wallace DeMien of Tippecanoe and now is being operated under the name of Wally’s Cigar Store.

          DeMien, who was in the grocery business at Tippecanoe, will reside in Rochster.  Marvin Metz, the former owner, has no immediate plans.  The store has been in its present location the past two years, formerly being located where Wile’s store now is situated on Main street.



Pur Arnold Norrises

News-Sentinel, May 19, 1958

          Mr. & Mrs. Arnold Norris today took over operation of the Peoples cafe, 707 Main street, after purchasing the business from Mr. & Mrs. Henry A. Cox.

          The Coxes, who reside in the Burton community, bought the restaurant three years ago from John Hoover.  Mrs. Cox, who has been managing the cafe, plans to return to her household duties and spend more time with her business of leather and copper tooling.  Mrs. Cox has spent 20 years iin the restaurant business, here and in California.  Her husband is employed as a carpenter.

          Mrs. Norris has been working as a waitress in the cafe the past five months.  She plans to manage the cafe while her husband continues his work as an electrician.  The Norrises reside five miles south of the city on Ind. 25.  Norris is a graduate of Fulton high school while his wife hails from Litchfield, Ill.



Duke Ellington

News-Sentinel, May 28, 1958

          Duke Ellington’s famous orchestra this year will open and close the biggest summer program of “name” band attractions in three years at the Colonial Hotel and Terrace Gardens on Lake Manitou.

          The Duke and his band will play for dancers on opening night





Decoration Day, Friday, May 30 and then will return for the final dance of the season, Monday, Sept. 1, Labor Day.

          A total of nine “name” dates today was announced for the Colonial ballroom’s 1958 season by Ken Morris, who this year will manage the ballroom for Colonial Owner, Maurice Coplen.

          Ellington will be followed at Colonial by Richard Malthy and his orchestra on Thursday, June19 and the July schedule will open on Tuesday, July 1, with the appearance of the new Tommy Dorsey band, now being led by Warren Covington and featuring the original book of music of the late great trombonist.

          The Four Freshmen will appear at Colonial on Saturday, July 26, and on Friday, Aug.1, the Dukes of Dixieland will make their local debut. - - - -

          Les Brown, long a favorite of area dancers will have his band on the Colonial stand, Thesday, Aug. 5, to be followed on Friday and Saturday, Aug. 15 and 16, by Pee Wee Hunt and his combo, also a favorite hereabouts.

          Stan Kenton will appear on Saturday, Aug. 23, followed by Ellington’s return on Labor Day. - - - - -



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, June 14, 1958

          The ‘Ninth’ annual Alber reunion was held Sunday in the Rochester City Park.  After prayer by Calvin Alber everyone enjoyed a bountiful basket dinner.

          A business session was in charge of Mrs. Marjorie Cauffman, the president, who gave the reports of last year’s reunion.  There were six births reported and two weddings.  These were Winifred Alber formerly of Fulton, and B.C. Chinwood, which took place on Dec. 24, at Alameda, Cal.  Also Charles Lee Alber, formerly of Talma, to Doris Y. Holts, May 5, at Phoenix, Ariz.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Jim Nickels, Lansing, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Dick Albr and children, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Sam Dague, and Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Alber, all of Lucerne.

          Also, Mrs. Mollie Alber and grandson, Gene Alber, Logansport; Mrs. Juanita Bowman of Long Branch, Cal..; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Cauffman and family of New Carlisle; Mrs. Margaret Alber, Fulton and Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber and sons, Rochester.

          Afternoon guests were John Alber and Mr. & Mrs. George Weidner, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Lee Alber, Mesa, Ariz.; Mrs. Wayne Alber and children, Rochester, and Mrs. Bernice Nickels and






children, Fulton.

          A gift of $2 was given to the oldest member present, who was Mrs. Margaret Alber, who will be 87 years old in November.  A gift of $1 was given to the youngest child, Ginger Lee, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Alber, who is eight months old.

          The same officers were held over for another year.



Conservn Club House

News-Sentinel, July 8, 1958

          The 29th annual reunion of former Rochester college students was held at the Fulton County Conservation club house Sunday with 53 registering for dinner and several afternoon guests, includig the “College Mother,” Miss Flo Delp.  Now in her 93rd year, Miss Delp still has a sparkle in her eyes and an alert mind, being able to recall something about most any student mentioned and remembering how many of the problems connected with her work in the college office were taken care of.

          In the absence of Mrs. Grace Stinson, the president, who is on a tour of Europe, Mrs. Harriet Bonine, vice-president presided and extended thanks to Ray Myers for his assistance, to Mr. & Mrs. Major Zimmerman and their coworkers for the excellent dinner and efficient service.

          Grace before the dinner was given by Estil Ginn and the hum of voices continued.

          The afternoon program opened with group singing of old songs led by Don Nafe with Mrs. Ray Myers at the piano.  Songs included “The Good Old Summertime,” It is no Secret,” “Let Me Call You Sweetheart,” “Love’s Old Sweet Song.”  One member recalled some variations of old song to “You Sweetheart,” “Good Love’s to fit the happenings in Rochester at that time.

          During the song period Nafe gave a brief sermonett on the theme, “God Care for us.”

          Ray Myers introduced three grandchildren of Mrs. Lulue Biggs Kroft who gave two vocal selections.  They were Cherol Kroft of Endicott, N.Y., and Dick and Sabra Rice of Logansport.  Their first number was “He’s Got the Whole World in his Hand,” in which each had a solo part.  A verse was added to include the college reunion.  Their second number was “O Lord My God.”

          Cards and letters from absent members were read.  Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Deamer are enjoying retirement at Cedar Rapids, Ia., after many years in educational work.  There were five present who taught







school in Fulton county when Deamer was superintendent of schools.  Mr. & Mrs. Merrit Partridge of Los Angeles, Cal. are sailing from New York in August for a tour of Europe with a group of retired teachers.  Mrs. Bess Young Cooley and several others sent greetings and regrets.

          Miss Delp gave an account of the first reunion 29 years ago and stated there were 302 present and gave other interesting information of that time.

          There were 15 present who had attended the first reunion and several who had missed only two or three.  There were 10 present who were attending for the first time.  Many comments were made on the spirit and enthusiasm continued in this group.

          On the topic of grandchildren, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Lucas topped the list with 32.    Several members boasted of great-grandchildren.

          A college yell led by V.L. Barker proved that old voices are still strong.

          The secretary’s report was read and approved and arrangements made for meeting at the same place the first Sumday in July, 1959.

          The nominating committee, Dr. Dow Haimbaugh, Mrs. Eula Berrier and Mrs. Mary Clifton announced the following officers for next year:   Mrs. Grace Stinson, president; Estil Ginn, vice-president; Mrs. Ada Sherbondy, secretary-treasurer.

          “A Perfect Day” was chosen as the group’s closing song, after which the children’s trio sang “The Lord’s Prayer.”

          Those Present Were:

          Rochester and vicinity --  Mr. & Mrs. Ray Woodcox, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Myers, Mrs. Bertha Stahl. Mrs. Fred Alexander, Mrs. Ada Sherbondy, Mrs. Lucile Leonard, Mr. & Mrs. Mary Clifton, Mrs. Harriet E. Bonine, Mrs. George Felder, Miss Emily Von Ehrenstein, Dr. & Mrs. Dow Haimbaugh, Clarence Adamson, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McVay, Mrs. Dee Berrier, Mr. & Mrs. O.E. Nye, Mr. Earl H. Adams, Mr. & Mrs. Otto Beery.

          Logansport -- Mrs. Gladys Wolf, Raymond Wolf, Mrs. John Kroft, Dick Rice, Sabra Rice, Lee Beehler.    Fulton -- Mr. & Mrs. V.L. Barker, C.C. Meyer.   Peru -- Mrs. Lulu Petty and daughter, Mrs. R.C. Hanisin, Mr. & Mrs. Roy Gasaway.    South Bend -- Mr. & Mrs. W.R. McClary, Mrs. Edith B. Wolf.

          Everett Wash. --Walter T. Meyer.

          Akron -- Mrs. Adda Sanders.   Milford, Ill. -- Glen Smiley

          Macy -- Mrs. Lester Carvey     Marion -- Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn.

          Knox -- Mr. & Mrs. Charles Lucas.

          LaPorte -- Mrs. Anna L. Shadel, A.B. Eherman.









Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1958

          The Conrad-Bray Reunion was held on Sunday in the Rochester City Park.  After prayer by Mrs. N.M. Alber a bountiful basket dinner was enjoyed by the following guests:   Mr. & Mrs. Thurl Alber and family, Mr. & Mrs. Roscoe Hensell and family, and Mr. & Mrs. Dick Alber and family.

          Also, Mr. & Mrs. Manford Alber and family, Mr. & Mrs. Herman Alber and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. L.G. Alber and Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber and son, Larry, all of Rochester; Charles O’Bryan of York, Pa.; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Conrad of Twelve Mile; Mr. & Mrs. Victor Winegardner and family, New Waverly; Mr. & Mrs. Edgar Conrad and family of Metea; and Mr. & Mrs. Richard Alber and family, Royal Center.

          Also, Mr. & Mrs. George Conrad and family, Denver; Mr. & Mrs. Melvin Conrad and family of Illinois; Mr. & Mrs. Marvin Conrad, Miss Sharon Myers all of Kiowa, Kan.; Miss Farabe Conrad of Guyman, Okla; Mr. & Mrs. Harry Conrad of Lucerne; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Showley and family, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Luther Sheets of Fulton.

          Also, Mr. & Mrs. Dee Rannells, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Merrill L. Crippen and family, Mr. & Mrs. Jack Hines and Mrs. Edith Benson and son, Ronnie, all of Logansport and Mr. & Mrs. Wallace Rannells and sons of South Bend.

          Everyone anjoyed plenty of ice-cold pop and ice cream which was in charge of Thurle Alber of Rochester.  The reunion will be held at the same place in 1959.  However, it will be held on the third Sunday in July.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, Aug. 6, 1958

          Rochester City Park was the scene of a reunion held on Sunday for the Henry Day family.

          Those present for the dinner and get-together were Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McCroskey and Shirley, Mr. & Mrs. Al McLochlin, Marian Black, Cecil Day, Mr. & Mrs. Dankert and family, all of Star City’ Mr. & Mrs. Gareth Lamirand and family, Mrs. Ann Hildebrandt and Fred Day, all of South Bend, Mr. & Mrs. Everett Coleman, Kalamazoo, Mich.; Harvey Coleman and Mr. & Mrs. James Coplen and family of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Bill Sinkovich of Mt. Prospect, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs.






Frank Landis, Arcadia, Ind.; Mr. & Mrs. Harold Day, Chicago, and Mr. & Mrs. Bliss Day, Lebanon.

          Prizes were awarded to the oldest person present, Frank Landis, persons traveling the greatest distance, Mr. & Mrs. Bill Sinkovich, and the first arrivals, Mr. & Mrs. Al McLochlin, the youngest present, the twin children of Mr. & Mrs. James Coplen.

          Election of officers for the coming year was held resulting as follows:   Harold Day, president; Frank Landis, vice-president; Mrs. Ruth Sinkovich, secretary-treasurer; and Mrs. Mary Coplen, reporter.

          Entertainment will be in charge of Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McCroskey and Marian Black.

          The afternoon was spent socially.



Pur Gustav Tatter

News-Sentinel, Aug. 12, 1958

          Gustav Tatter of Warsaw Monday purchased the Rochester Monument Works at 1500 Main street and took over active management of the business.

          The sale of the business and residence was made by John Hiatt, who with his wife left Rochester today for their new home in Fort Myers, Fla.  Hiatt has accepted a teaching post there, of the fifth grade in a new elementary school building.

          Tatter, who plans to move to the city soon, has owned and operated the Warsaw Monument Works for the past 15 years.  He is a native of Illinois and came to this state 25 years ago.  His son, Warren, will operate the Warsaw business.

          Mr. & Mrs. Tatter also have a married daughter in Indianapolis and another son, Milton, a sophomore in high school.

          Tatter said he plans no revision in the firm’s policies and will continue to handle the same high quality lines of monuments featured by Hiatt.

          Hiatt ends 21 years in the monument business here with the sale having taken over management in 1939 upon the death of his father-in-law, F.W. Launer.  The latter opened the business here in 1928.  Hiatt formerly was principal of Reiter school 6-1/2 years and also taught students at Richland township and Leiters Ford.

          The Hiatts are the parents of a son, William, now in Elgin, Ill., and a daughter, Charlotte, South Bend.









Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, Aug. 14, 1958

          A reunion was held for the Leiter family in Rochester City Park on Sunday with 45 relatives and friends attending.

          They all enjoyed a pleasant visit and a delicious dinner.

          After dinner a business meeting was conducted and the secretary’s report was read and new officers for the coming year were elected.  They are as follows:   Ralph Hunneshagen, president, and Miss Mollie Leiter, secretary-treasurer.  It was decided to have the 1959 reunion in the same place, the second Sunday in August.

          Those attending were:   Mr. & Mrs. William J. Leiter, Flora; Claude M. Wolfram, Mr. & Mrs. H.E. Quinn and Margie, and Mrs. Mildred Leiter Hauck and grandson, Bobby Huelinger, all of South Bend; Gladys Kishpaugh, Mr. & Mrs. Robert E. Leiter and Mrs. S.A. Busler, Battle Creek, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Oliver Wilson and Mr. & Mrs. Daniel E. Garbison, Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. Hugh H. Campbell and Mrs. Jesse Williams, Leiters Ford.

          Also, Edward L. Leiter, Bethlehem, Pa.; Mrs. Fay E. Geyer, Wabash; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Bauer, Culver; Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Hunneshagen, Dr. & Mrs. Claude Young, and Miss Mollie Leiter, all of Rochester.



Pur Don Norris

News-Sentinel, Aug. 26, 1958

          Don Norris announced today that he has purchased the Fansler, Dempsy, Norris Insurance and Real Estate agency and has taken possession of the business, locatd at 915 East Ninth street.

          Norris, who resides with his wife and family at 1109 Pontiac street, has been associated with the firm for the past year.  A native of Liberty township he returned here from Indianapolis where he had been associated with the Merchants Property Insuance company.  He is a licensed real estate broker.

          Norris said he would maintain the Don A. Norris Insurance Ageny offices at the present location.  The Fansler Realty company will continue to conduct operations at the same address, separate from the Norris agency.











Fenstermaker Reun

Ralph Helt Home

News-Sentinel, Aug. 27, 1958

          The Fenstermaker family reunion was held Sunday with Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Helt and son, Don, as host and hostess.

          A festive dinner was served on the lovely lawn with 38 relatives and guests in attendance.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Fred Fenstermaker, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond Fenstermaker, Mr. & Mrs. Tib Freeman and Mr. & Mrs. Duane Freeman, all of Hammond; Mr. & Mrs. William Mann and family, Gary; Mr. & Mrs. Walter Kohler, Munster; Mr. & Mrs. John Helt and family, Charles Helt and family, Miss Linda Carr, Mr. & Mrs. John Weller and family, Mrs. Sarah Blue, Miss Loretta Clemans and Tom Nickalaus, all of Rochester.

          Afternoon callers were Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Ross and family of South Bend.

          Happy Birthday was sung to several members of the family who were observing anniversaries.

          The game of croquet was played and several of the group went swimming in the pool.


Jack’s Sandwich Shop

Pur Ruth & Alice Tetzlaff

News-Sentinel, Aug. 28, 1958

          Ruth and Alice Tetzlaff 1026 Jackson boulevard, have taken over ownership and management of Jack’s Sandwich Shop, 614 Main street, from Jack Warner of Argos.

          The sisters, natives of Rochester first venture into restaurant ownership.  They said they plan to change the name of the business but have not decided yet what name they’ll use.



John Exaver, President

News-Sentinel, Sept. 17, 1958

          John Exaver of Monterey Tuesday was chosen president of the Rochester Farmers Mutual Insurance company at a meeting of the board of directors here.

          Exaver, a retired company agent, has been vice-president of the company.  He succeeds Sam Lebo of Winamac, who died last week after 15 years in the post.

          Carl March of Winamac was elevated to the vice-presidency and also will retain his position on the board.  Other officers are Loyd




Rouch, Rochester, secretary-treasurer, and Ray Smiley, Rochester, assistant secretary-treasurer.

          Members of the board are Willard Bible and George Westerhouse, White county; Elmer Shilling of Knox; Carl Brust of Winamac, E.E Gerig of Akron and Oscar Scott of Fulton county.  One vacancy, from Starke county, will be filled at a meeting in Ocober.



L.D. Thousand Home

News-Sentinel, Sept. 23, 1958

          The 11th reunion of the Donley family was held today in the home of Mr. & Mrs. L.D. Thousand and family.

          Fall flowers and leaves decorated the serving tables where bountiful carry-in dinner was served at noon to 40 guests attending from, Ky.; Rantoul, Ill.; Thomasboro, Ill.; River Forest, Ill.; Tolono, Ill.; Columbus, Ind.; South Bend and Rochester.

          A business meeting was held with Don Knepp of South Bend, vice-president, in charge.  Mrs. L.D. Thousand, secretary of the group presented her report and read communications from several members of the family who were unable to attend.  Mrs. Kate Reed of Danville, Ill.; the last member of the Donley family, is reported as being ill.

          Miss Ruth Hicks of Urbana, Ill., telephoned her regrets at not being able to be present.

          Election of officers was held, resulting as follows:   Don Knepp, president; H.W. Sherrard, Jr., vice-president; secretary-treasurer and historian; Mrs. L.D. Thousand.

          Next year the reunion will be held at Tolono, Ill., in the home of Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Hanke.

          For the program Janice and Jay Thousand presented two tap-dance routines followed by Ann Thousand and Debbie Sherrard dancing to the tune of “On the Good Ship Lollypop.” Then the four girls danced to “Yankee Doodle.” This was held in the recreation room of the Thousand home.  Trying their skills at the hula hoop were many of the youngsters and oldsters.

          Ice cream, cake and beverage was served to all later in the evening.



Closing Out

News-Sentinel, Sept. 29, 1958

          The Boston Store, a major Rochester retail outlet for over three decades, is going out of business, it was announced today by co-owners





Edward and Richard Zimmerman of Peru.

          Located at 806 Main street, the store closed its doors this morning until Friday, when it will reopen for a closeout sale, during which a $100,000 stock of merchandise will be sold on self-service basis.

          The closing of the Rochester Boston Store marks the final such move in seven central Indiana Store outlets.  The firm’s owners are planning to open larger retail outlets.  They already have The Giant store in Fort Wayne and are beginning a second store in that city and perhaps another in Ohio.

          Other Boston Stores either sold by the Zimmermans or now in the process of being closed out are at Peru, Wabash, Plymouth, Tipton, Kokomo and Nappanee.

          It is expected that the store will be entirely closed out by the end of the year.



54 Yrs a Dr. & a Friend

News-Sentinel, Oct. 2, 1958

          Fulton will honor Dr. F.C. Dielman on Saturday, Oct. 11 for his 54 years service to the community as physician and friend, in preparation for the ceremonies.  V.L. Barker, chairman of the historian committee for the event, has compiled and written the following personal history of Dr. Dielkman.

          Dr. Franklin C. Dielman was born in Perry township, Miami county, three miles south of Akron, on Sept. 20, 1879.  He attended grade school in Pleasant Hill, Gilead and Akron and went to high school in Akron.  Only two of his high school mates are living now, John Dawson and Frank Pyle.  The class originally had 12 members.

          After leaving Akron high school, Dr. Dielman entered the medical school of physicians and surgeons at the University of Illinois at Chicago, from which he graduated in June, 1904.  There were 215 in his graduating class all wearing caps and gowns on a very hot graduation day.  The medical course lasted four years then; now medical school takes eight years, plus two years internship.

          Dr. Dielman began his practice in his home community of Macy, where there were four other medical doctors, making it difficult for a young man to eke out a living.  After a stay at Macy of about six months, he pulled up stakes and, as Horace Greeley said, “Go West, Young Man,” he moved his office six miles west and came to Fulton.

          He established his office in the rear room of the Old Poorman barber shop in a building which still stands at the north end of Main





street.  He handled his business there for some time and later moved to his present location on the west side of Main street at the north end of Fulton.  He now has a joint office with Dr. J.A. Hafert, a dentist.

          There were other doctors in Fulton when Dr. Dielman first arrived.  They were Drs. Morris and Richards who were efficient in pulling teeth via the strong arm method.  Whether it hurt or not, however, the patients always had their teeth pulled.  Both doctors are now deceased.

          In 1905, Dr. Dielman married Miss Ida Jewell of Rochester and to this union were born two sons - Howard, now residing at Logansport, and Robert, who lives in Tucson, Ariz. - and one daughter, Mildred, now Mrs. William Downs, Sr. of Rochester.  Dr. Dielman has eight grandchildren and two great-grandchildren.  His wife, Ida, died in 1948 and in 1950 he married Mrs. Maude Downs.  They live in Rochester, although Dr. Dielman still maintains his office in Fulton where he also owns a home and farm northeast of the town.

          During his years of practice, he has been on the staff of Woodlawn hospital at Rochester under Drs. Howard Shafer and Milton Leckrone.  After the war, Dr. Victor Connel became associated with Dr. Dielman and they conducted a joint practice until Dr. Connel moved to Bourbon.

          From 1905 to 1912, it was really horse and buggy days and Dr. Dielman kept several horses and buggies in his barn.  Among his favorite horses was “Mollie,” which he purchased from Bill Gray, and in the quiet of these days the doctor often was heard driving in the country to the middle of the night urging Mollie to hurry him on to the sick and needy.

          His steel-tired buggy would travel over rough gravel and corduroy roads while the snow and rain blew in on his face.  Dressed in a heavy overcoat and mittens with a heated brick or lighted lantern under a robe to keep his feet warm, Dr. Dielman sometimes would have to don heavy overshoes or galoshes and trudge across snow-covered fields, leaving his horse tied to a tree.

          The automobile came to the scene later, but still the traveling was not always easy for the doctor.  One time, he was called to see a seriously ill patient southeast of Twelve Mile.  While driving his auto just east of Fulton, he came upon a very deep body of water across the road, so he removed his trousers, socks and shoes, waded across the almost hip-high water put his clothes back on and, with medicine grip under his arm, reached the patient’s house.

          It is often said of Dr. Dielman that he will go anytime, day or night, to care for patients while others sleep.  Often he has taken









potatoes, chicken and wood in payment.

          In his early practice, Dr. Dielman had no electric lights, but used coal oil lamps and lanterns.  The price of pills then was 15 cents and a call was one dollar.  His charges for delivering a baby in the home was five dollars.  Now it costs around $100 in a hospital.

          Epidemics were notably hard, especially on the country doctor, when the small pox of 1908 and the influenza of 1918 kept the doctor on the run.  Dr. Dielman often had to hire a livery rig and rest his own horse while he himself kept going.  Sometimes he traveled by sleigh, but with no sleigh bells to wake the people in the night; the slow mode of travel kept him away from home and office many hours.  But as time marched on, the steel-tired buggies and horses were replaced by automobiles and better roads.  He purchased a 1912 Ford car and thus was able to make faster calls and spend more time in the office.

          No actual count has been kept, but Dr. Dielman estimates he has delivered over 2,500 babies.  The first was a nine pound boy, Hiram Ford, who was born in a log house one block east of Dr. Dielman’s present office.

          The first girl delivered was Kathlene Rannels, now Mrs. Kathlene Carithers, who was born just across the road from the doctor’s present office.  The last baby delivered by Dr. Dielman, at this writing, was Robert Fellion, his great-grandson, who was born in Woodlawn hospital and now is being cared for by his mother in Racine, Wis.

          Dr. Dielman long has been employed by the Chesapeake and Ohio railroad as its company doctor and surgeon, a position he still holds.

          Many pictures of Dr. Dielman are being shown and many amusing stories could be told of him, especially about the time he wanted to go see his girl friend and had no buggy.  Henry Sommers, the veterinary doctor in Macy, loaned his horse and buggy to him.  Dr. Dielman never stole watermelons, but his pals left him sitting along the road one night holding the horse hitched to the buggy while they were sitting in the patch eating.  Someone fired a shotgun and the frightened horse ran away with him down the road.

          Then there was the time on a trip via train in Baltimore when he had his appetite all tuned to eating some large fried oysters.  But, on arrival, he noticed that bill of fare advertised liver and onions, which he ate while his friends ate the oysters.

          One time he went with Zeke, Irwin and Charles Rannels and William Gray to a shack at South Mud lake, where they landed many

a fish at night without hook, line or bait and the stories told around the fire were big ones.







          Dr. Dielman is a member of the Fulton EUB church, the Fulton County Medical Association, the Masonic Lodge and the Izaak Waltons League.  His hobby is fishing, but he still likes to eat peanuts and watermelons.



Barnhart Elected Pres.

News-Sentinel, Oct. 15, 1958

          Hugh A. Barnhart of Rochester today was elected president of the United States Independent Telephone Assn. at the first annual convention in the Conrad Hilton hotel at Chicago.

          Barnhart, president of the Rochester Telephone company, will serve as head of the nationwide organization until next October.

          His selection came at the concluding session of the board of directors to succeed Clive W. Hass, Big Timber, Mont., in the top USITA office.

          Other new officers elected were Foster B. McHenry, Jefferson City, Mo., vice-president; Clifford C. Pearce, Riceville, O., vice-president, Carl D. Brerein, Tampa, Fla., treasurer; George W. Richert, Washington, D.C., secretary, and Clyde S. Bailey, Washington, D.C., executive vice-president.

          The USITA membership includes 4,000 telephone companies, operating in more than half the geographical area of the nation and having a total of nearly 10 million telephones.  More than 3,000 representatives of the telephone industry attended the three-day Chicago convention.

          Upon taking office, Barnhart recalled that his father, Henry A. Barnhart, had served as president in 1904 of the Interstate Independent Telephone Association, which later became the USITA.

          The new president, who also is publisher of The News-Sentinel, has served as USITA vice-president for the past three years.  He has been active in the telephone organization, having served in the Department of Commerce as director of communication branch and spending considerable time in Washington during Congressional sessions.  He also has spoken at many state telephone conventions throughout the country.
















Pick Corn

News-Sentinel, Nov . 26, 1958

          A group of men in the Richland township community picked corn for N.M. Alber recently, inasmuch as he caught his hand in a corn picker and lost three fingers on his left hand.  He is now convalescing in his home.

          The women of the Tiosa Brethren church furnished pies and dinner was served to the men in the home of Mr. & Mrs. Alber.  Those helping Mrs. Alber were Mrs. Roy Hubbard, Mrs. Charles Walters, Mrs. Dick Alber and Mrs. Bess Hanna.

          The following men are responsible for the good neighbor deed: George Schwenk, Cal Kuhn, Joe Lewis, Paul Partridge, Murphy Rose, Basil Scott, Charles Riddle, Raymond Riddle, Vern Scott, Arthur Luty, Charles Walters, Dean Mow, V.D. Beck, Herman Weir, Howard Weir and Oren Conrad.

          Also, Bud Walters, Richard Bair, Donald Umbaugh, Clarence Wilson, George Conaway, Ross Overmyer, Richard Lewis, Bill Mow, Fred Van Duyne, Glen Schwenk, Walter Burkett, Charles Morgan, Ernest Hart, and Ed Eash.

          Also, Dick Alber, Keith Warner, Forest Benedict, Mahlon Bair, Jesse Waltz, Robert Lewis, Raymond Alber, Otto Smith and Kenny Baker.

          The young men who helped were Mike Partridge, David Evans, Jim Keele, Hugh Byron Lewis, Jim Lewis, Billy Lewis, Larry Alber, Phillip Alber, Jerry Lewis, Veril Scott and Ronnie Walters.



pur Bldg at Main & 4th

News-Sentinel, Dec. 22, 1958

          The purchase of the former Forest Farms Products at (NW cor) Main and Fourth streets was announced today by the Burton Plumbing and Heating company, 312 Main street.

          Bryce Burton, owner, said that he had bought the 165 by 165 foot lot, containing a two story brick building and warehouse and a six-room house, from Robert P. and Arrabelle V. Moore.  The land adjoins the Burton firm’s quarters to the south.  Burton did not immediately announce any plans for the area.

          The Moores purchased the land from Mrs. Belle Klein in 1949, remodeling and occupying the premises until last year, when Forest Farms was moved into the canning factory bldg., at 168 Fulton Ave.








Closing in Roch

News-Sentinel, Dec. 26, 1958

          Paul Conkle, owner of the Conkle Tot and Teen shop at 727 Main street, said today that the store will be closed about Jan. 14 and consolidated with the Warsaw outlet of the same name.

          Conkle, who with his wife, Ruby, owns and operates both stores, announced a closing-out sale for two weeks beginning Monday.

          The Conkles have been residing in Warsaw the past three years, since opening the business in that city.  Mrs. Conkle manages the Warsaw store, Conkle the local firm.

          They began their clothing business at 111 West Eighth street in 1949, expanding to the Main street location six years ago.  The Conkles are the parents of three daughters, Paula, Cindy and Lynn.



Pur George R. (Bud) Rouch

News-Sentinel, Dec. 26, 1958

          Mr. & Mrs. Emerson E. Felder today announced the sale of their sundry store in Fulton to George R. (Bud) Rouch.  The store has been in the Felder family over 57 years, being first started by L.W. Felder, father of Emerson, on Sept. 1, 1901.

          Rouch will take possession Jan. 1.

          The Rouchs live five miles northwest of Fulton and are the parents of three children, Patty Lou, Mark Richard and Cindy.

          Felder will continue the operation of his appliance business.



To Become Youth Camp

News-Sentinel, Jan. 2, 1959

          Timbercrest Camp Inc. has leased the property of the Colonial Hotel and Gardens Inc., on Lake Manitou, and will operate a youth camp at the resort next summer.

          Announcement of the establishment of the camp was made today by Gene Thompson, Indianapolis, and Maurice Coplen, Rochester, co-owners.  Coplen has been Colonial manager.  The camp director and his staff will be announced later.

          Thompson, a shoe merchant in Carmel, near Indianapolis, also is a breeder of Shetland ponies and show horses.

          The camp, which will enroll both boys and girls, will operate for an 11-week period from Sunday, June 14, until Saturday, Aug. 29.  It will have participants from throughout the midwest from the ages of



eight through 16 years.  A total of 150 youths can be accommodated.

          The Coloniial hotel itself, although closed to the public during the camping period, will continue to be available to private hotel and dining accommodations beginning May 1 until June 14 and after the camp closes until Oct. 1.

          Timbercrest campers will live in separate quarters for boys and girls in the hotel building and take their meals in the dining room.  A full staff of counselors will be obtained from older youths with previous camping experience; vacationing teachers will serve as supervisors.  Much of the staff will be recruited from local teaching personnel.

          Among the activities planned for the campers are:   Swimming, sailing and canoing at Lake Manitou; basketball and volleyball on a court to be set up on the hotel’s ballroom floor; tennis, shuffleboard, softball, golf, overnight camping trips, horseback riding lessons, as well as advanced instructions in show ring riding; indoor activities such as table tennis and handicraft, instructions.  Horses and ponies will be housed on the grounds.

          There also will be a program of dramatics and chapel services will be held on the grounds each Sunday.  Each day’s program will run from 7:45 a.m. to 10 p.m.

          The Colonial hotel has been a major resort attraction of Northern Indiana for the past 35 years.  The entire facilities of the resort will be turned over to the operation of the camp.

          Mrs. Thompson will assist in the direction of the girls’ camp and Mrs. Coplen will be in charge of food and housekeeping.



Long, Manager Again

News-Sentinel, Jan. 16, 1959

          Lowell Long, former general-manager of the Armour creameries plant in Rochester, today temporarily assumed those duties again.

          Now manager of all cheese operations for Armour in Chicago, Long said that his re-assignment here “Is brought about due to the many complicated changes in methods and procedures in the present-day cheese manufacturing process.”

          John Zink, who has been general manager, will devote full time to the manufacturing phase of the business in the local plant.  This is necessary, said Long, because of Zink’s many years of experience and expert knowledge in this field.

          Long will reside here during the week but return to his home in Western Springs, Ill., over the weekends as long as he continues the





general managership.  Long left the local post for the Chicago office three years ago.



CORPS Closed Down

News-Sentinel, Jan. 16, 1959

          The passing from the local scene of the Rochester Observer Corps should not go unnoticed.

          In what at times was a monotonous and unrewarding chore, the local GOC rallied to the call of America’s defense experts and manned the stations that helped fill gaps in the U.S. Radar network.  Their service at lonely outposts throughout the country brought official commendation and thanks from President Eisenhower himself.

          Now the Air Force has deactivated the Ground Observer Corps because of improved mechanical equipment being used in the air defense scheme.

          From the GOC tower north of the Sealed Power plant, local observers at times worked around the clock phoning in sightings of unidentified aircraft to Air Force headquarters where the information was sifted for importance.

          This was not an activity that caught the public’s fancy; apathy to dangers from without seems unhappily to be an idiosyncrosy of our democracy.  Yet the work of the GOC was vitally important, no less so in Rochester than in Yakima, Wash.

          We join the Air Force in congratulating these twentieth century minute men and women who answered their nation’s summons.  Who, after all, can tell what effect their nationwide presence may have had in the dark machinations of the Kremlin minds?



Pur Vere Calvin

News-Sentinel, Jan. 24, 1959

          Paul Myers, a member of the City Council, today announced that he has sold his interest in the Calvin & Myers Hardware, 626 Main street, to his partner Vere Calvin.  The transaction became effective this morning.

          Myers plans to purchase a hardware store in Fullerton, Cal., located about 30 miles southeast of Los Angeles.  His son, William, and wife also reside in Fullerton.  The son is employed as assistant manager of a Household Finance business in nearby Garden Grove.

          Myers said he will leave for California within the next two weeks.  His wife, Betty, will remain in Rochester until their three-






bedroom home at 503 Pontiac street is sold.

          Elected to the City Council in 1955, Myers is on the last year of a four-year term.  He said he plans to submit a formal resignation from the Council at or before the regular meeting of that group Tuesday night.  His post will be filled by appointment by the remaining Council members.

          Calvin & Myers have been in partnership at the local hardware since 1937, when they purchased the Miller Hardware from Lee Miller.  Calvin will operate the business himself and retain its present Name. Frances Blacketor and John McCarty will continue as clerks at the store.

          A native of Rochester, Myers is a graduate of Rochester High School and was the first manager of the Fulton County Farm Bureau Cooperative before entering the hardware business.  He is a member of the First Baptist church, where he has served on the building and finance committee.  He also is a past member of the board of directors of the Rochester Chamber of Commerce.



To Close Out

News-Sentinel, Feb. 5, 1959

          Karl Gast, owner of the Gast Furniture Center at 628 Main street, today announced that he will go out of business at the conclusion of a closeout sale beginning Friday.  The sale will extend an indefinite time, until a large inventory is reduced.

          Gast cited disagreement on lease as the reason for his decision.  Ed Fieser, RR 2, Rochester, owner of the building, said that he had no announcement to make at this time on the next occupants of the location.

          Gast, 71, has operated the furniture store at the present spot for 10 years, opening the business first in the Eagles building in 1946.  He and his wife will continue to reside at Lake Manitou and he will maintain his interest in the Karl Gast Company, Inc., of Akron, operated by his son, Tom, and his son-in-law, Joseph Boswell.  This firm handles mechanical contracting, appliances and paint.



Dean L. Barnhart, Dir.

News-Sentinel, Feb. 24, 1959

          Dean L. Barnhart of Indianapolis, Rochester native and former resident here, was elected to the board of directors of the Rochester Telephone Co. Monday at the annual meeting of stock-holders.





          Barnhart fills the board vacancy created by the death Jan. 9 of Tully Pontious, who also had been vice president of the company.

          Roscoe Pontius, son of Tully, was elected by the directors to the new position of executive vice president.  He has been secretary-treasurer and general manager.

          Reelected as president was Hugh A. Barnhart.

          Other members of the board are T.D. Dial of Indianapolis, Dr. C.L. Richardson, Carlton H. Haskett, and Byron Shore.  New officers elected were Arthur Brubaker, secretary, and Edwin W. Mercer, treasurer.  Neither is a board member, however.

          Stockholders and directors of the company adopted a resolution citing the late Mr. Pontious for his long service as plant superintendent and director and vice-president and paying a “tribute of gratitude and appreciation” to his memory.


U.S. 31

To Be DuaLLaned

News-Sentinel, March 3, 1959

          The Indiana Highway Department plans to make U.S. 31 a dual-lane road all the way from Indianapolis to South Bend.  This program, The News-Sentinel was told today, includes the construction of a bypass to the west of Rochester.

          The exact location of the highway’s swing to the west around this city has not been made.  It will not be exacly determined until this section of the U.S. 31 improvement is ready for construction, a date not yet set by the Highway Department.

          However, the proposed line for the bypass has been laid out by the Department’s consultant engineers and is contained in a detailed report which now is in the hands of the Highway Department right-of-way division, headed by J. Van Brown of Rochester.

          The report is dated Sept. 23, 1958, and was submitted by the consultants after an aerial reconnaissance of the area and a brief ground inspection.

          Rochester’s by-pass is a part of the Highway Department’s plan to make U.S. 31 a north-south thoroughfare of smoothtraffic flow “without creating bottlenecks for this traffic at cities.” The parts of U.S. 31 already dual-laned now bypass Westfield and Kokomo, soon to be consructed is a bypass to the east of Plymouth.

          There also will be bypasses to the west of Argos, Mexico and Peru when these sections of the highway are ready to be dual-laned.

          As presented on the Highway Department’s report, Rochester’s western bypass would run like this:




          Starting at a point about 1-1/2 miles south of Rochester, the by-pass would leave U.S. 31 and run in a northwesterly direction.  A diamoned-type interchange, or overpass, would be constructed for the road to pass over Ind. 25 south of the city.  The bypass then would begin a curve to the north and cross Ind. 14 with an on-grade crossing.  It then would proceed straight north and west of the city.  Bridges would be needed for the road to span both the Erie railroad and Mill Creek.

          The bypass would continue northward, according to the report, and cross the Tippecanoe river over a new bridge to be built to the west of the present one.  It would finally curve northeast to rejoin U.S. 31 at a point about 1.7 miles north of the present bridge at the Tippecanoe river, in the vicinity of Glaze hill.

          The entire projected route of the bypass is 7.6 miles in length.

          Although the Rochester bypass report shows the location of the road to be about a half-mile west of the city on the northward course, this is not necessarily the route which it will follow.

          Brown, the Right-of-Way chief, emphasized that “this is a common sense report only” and added that it is not intended to be the exact location of the bypass.  He pointed out that when the road is ready to be put under contract the route will be given to consultant engineers who will send teams of surveyors into the area for detailed mapping of terrain.

          The “center line,” or exact location of the highway, Brown said, then will be determined by the right-of-way division in consultation with engineers and other department experts and will be dependent upon terrain, housing location and other circumstances.  Alternate routes also will be suggested before the Highway Commission makes the final decision as to location.

          When will this come about?

          Nobody is prepared to give that answer now.  It depends on too many circumstances, all unforeseeable.  Brown said that the Commission’s plans have been to work on the U.S. 31 dual-laning and bypasses from both the South Bend and Indianapolis ends, in sections.  The middle section would be the last completed.

          Whether Rochester will be the final section to be put on the program is not known.  Brown did surmise, however, that it would be hooked on from the northern, or Argos end, rather than from the south.

          The dual-laning of U.S. 31 between bypasses will be done over the existing route, said Brown, and will involve the major relocation except for the straightening of some curves.






          Consideration also is being given to the repair and improvement of the present bridge over the Tippecanoe river, it was learned.

          Consultant engineers, said Brown, rejected the eastern side of the city for a bypass because of the proximity of Lake Manitou and a heavy concentration of residences.

          Work on U.S. 31 must be done with 90 percent state money and only 10 percent federal funds, since U.S. 31 from Indianapolis northward it is not a part of the federal interstate system, which roads are eligible for 50-50 matching federal money for improvements.

          Thus the availability of state funds will be a prime factor in the scheduling of the highway’s complete dual-laning.  Another factor is the makeup of the three-man Highway Commission.  This board, which administers the Highway Department, qutie likely will change members with the advent of a new governor in 1961.  A new board will reevaluate the Department’s road-building plans at that time in terms of necessity and financial ability.

          However, by 1961 all of U.S. 31 should be dual-laned except the 65-mile stretch between Plymouth and Kokomo.

          Plans already have been announced for the extension of the U.S. 31 dual-lane from the present northern end of U.S. 6 to 2-1/2 miles south of Plymouth, including an eastern bypass of the latter city.

          Five bridges will be needed for this bypass.  Brown said that, despite newspaper reports to the contrary, the land for these structures has not even been abstracted yet but would be purchased by October of this year.  The contract for the highway itself will not be let until sometime in 1960 with completion due sometime in 1961.

          From the south, the Department is making plans to extend the U.S. 31 dual-lane to the north side of Kokomo.  The dual-laning of the present Kokomo bypass already is under contract, said Brown.  He added that the division now is buying land for the first of three sections to make the road dual-lane all the way from Indianapolis to Kokomo.  Presently, the dual-lane ends about eight miles north of Westfield in Hamilton county.

          This new road also likely will not be in use until sometime in 1961.

          The decisions as to which part of the U.S. 31 would get attention after these two projects must await a change in administration, a look at the road building treasury and decisions as to which of the state’s highways most need this available money for improvements.









Letter From Doomed Jap

News-Sentinel, April 17, 1959

          It was March 25, 1948, and in Tokyo the trial of high-ranking Japanese civil and military officials for war crimes was in its 22nd month before an International Military Tribunal.

          On that day, General Seishiro Itagaki, at 56 years of age Japan’s leading military man, called for brush and ink so that he could write a letter to his American defense attorney.

          That attorney was Floyd (Jack) Mattice, then a member of the U.S. Attorney General’s staff who had been assigned to defend both Itagaki and General Livane Matsui at the war crimes trials. - - - - -

          - - - on March 25, 1948, Mattice had just finished his summation on behalf of Gen Itagaki before the Tribunal.  The general felt a debt of gratitude to his attorney that must be expressed.

          And so Itagaki, a man aware of his impending doom, brushed out in delicate Japanese characters a letter which probably revealed more of his thoughts than did his own testimony before the tribunal.

          The translation of the letter came to light again this week as Mattice was going through some old papers and he has consented to its publication for the first time here.

          Itagaki was not a contrite man for one standing accused of “crimes against humanity.” He felt a sense of responsibility, but only for the loss of the war.  He thought it “very natural that war criminals will be tried and punished,” although in the decade since his hanging there are indications that history will not consider it so.

          With the delicate and sensitive Japanese feeling for destiny, Itagaki had accepted his inevitable “sacrifice” for the nation’s good.  Yet he was surprised at his conquerors’ idea of legal justice in allowing him to “state .  .  .  Fully the truth and justice of the conduct of both the country and myself.” His pleasre at being given an attorney of Mattice’s calibre - instead of the “thousand deaths” he had anticipated - gave Itagaki feelings “suffocated with gratitude.”

          Whatever thoughts he may have had concerning his role in Japan’s try at world conquest he carried with him to the grave.

          But read his letter for yourself in full:

          “I beg to express my thanks on this occasion when the individual summation on my behalf has been made.

          “Since Japan accepted the terms of Potsdam declaration it is very natural that war criminals will be tried and punished, and as this trial is purported to establish peace in the future world and to re-construct Japan, an individual sacrifice is nothing to account for.




          “In spite of my shortcomings, I have been occupying the highest rank in the Japanese Army till the end of the war.  I am feeling great responsibility for the loss of the war and am prepared for thousand deaths since the war was ended.

          “At this International Military Tribunal, I never expected that I should be assisted by an able counsel like you and given an opportunity to state to the International Tribunal fully the truth and justness of the conducts of both the country and myself.

          “Indeed, what you have done is more than I hoped for and now I feel that I have done my last duty.  There is nothing more that I desire to be done.

          “As I reflect, this trial is an unprecedented one and the greatness of its scale and the complexity of its substance cannot be expressed in words or letters.

          “In spite of this, you have worked steadfastly, for two solid years, with the spirit of justice, beyond all racial prejudices and former enmity, and with your best ability all the time..

          “My feeling is suffocated with gratitude.

          “‘I hereby express my heartfelt thanks for your efforts and pay my deepest respect to you.

          “I wish your health and good luck forever.”

          On Dec. 23, 1948, Gen. Itagaki, Gen. Matsul, ex-Premier Hidaki Tojo and four other Japanese leaders were hanged.  Of the 19 other war crimes defendants to be convicted, one was given a 10-year prison term and the remaining 18 were sentenced to life in prison.



Pur Crystal Dairies

News-Sentinel, April 23, 1959

          The sale of Armour Creameries’ cheese processing plant on East Fourth street to Crystal Dairies of Watseka, Ill., was announced today.  The transaction will become effective Friday, May 1.

          Joint announcement of the sale was made by Lloyd Woodall, Armour and Company vice president and general manager of the dairy, poultry and margarine division, and by K.F. Kielsmeier, president of Crystal Dairies.

          Armour thus will end 41 years in Rochester, 37 years in the present three-story brick structure in the eastern part of the city.

          Crystal Dairies prodces a diversified line of dairy products for food processors and operates six other plants.  These are located at Remington, Deep River, Thorntown and Lebanon, all in Indiana, and at Watseka and Momence in Illinois.  The firm is expected to begin its





local operations with cheese processing but add diversified dairy products later.

          Milk pickup service provided by the Rochester plant will be continued by the new owners, it was announced.  Kielsmeier said that he expects to retain a large percentage of the present working staff of 75 persons.

          New manager of the Rochester plant for Crystal will be Bill Wisely, now manager of the plant at Momence, Ill.  Wisely will take over his duties next week and will move his wife and two children to the city as soon as the school term ends.

          Reorganization and realignment of its dairy and poultry procurement, production and distribution facilities, said Armour’s Woodall, have made it more economical for Armour to transfer Rochester production to its other plants.

          “As members of the Rochester community for more than 40 years,” said Woodall, “we in the Armour Creameries want to express our appreciation for the fine cooperation we always have received from the people of Rochester, our producer friends, our business and civic associates and our employees.  We wish Mr. Kielsmeier and his associates in Crystal Dairies a full measure of success in their new eneterprise.”

          Lowell Long, former local plant manager now in charge of cheese manufacture from Chicago, has been in remporary command of the Rochester operation for the past two months.  He will remain on the job for another two weeks.

          The same three field superintendents will continue in employment it was announced.

          Lorin Churchill, assistant plant manager, will be transferred to another Armour location sometime this summer.  He has been with the local firm 21 years.

          Armour supervisory personnel and haulers of milk were informed of the sale Wednesday and employees were notified today.

          Armour first came to Rochester in 1918 when it purchased the Beyer Brothers firm which dealt in poultry, butter and eggs.  At that time the plant was located on Madison street, south of where the Public Service Company’s plant now is housed.  The present building was erected in 1922 and was completely remodeled and expanded in 1940, more additions being put on in 1957.  Peak employment reached 120.

          The plant began the manufacture of Chedder cheese in 1931, beginning the production of different types of cheese in 1940.  From 1918-31, it had handled mostly poultry, butter and eggs.  The poultry dressing line was discontinued in 1931, churning of butter was stopped






in 1945 and the duck farm was sold in 1939.

          Beginning in 1955, the company had started upon a diversification program of cheese manfacture.  Milk is purchased from 12 counties.



Open Furniture Store

News-Sentinel, May 13, 1959

          Rochester’s newest business, Cook Brothers furniture store, will open its doors Friday morning in the building at (NW Corner) Main and Seventh streets formerly occupied by Gast Furniture center.

          Don Cook, a partner in the firm which also operates two stores in Plymouth, will manage the local store.  He expects to move his family here soon.

          An entirely new stock of merchandise has been installed in the store, including a complete line of early American pieces.

          Cook said that a grand opening celebration for the local store would begin next weekend and continue for the following week.



Opens Monday

News-Sentinel, May 28, 1959

          Another new business is scheduled to begin in Rochester Monday when Mrs. Charles Richardson, a Lake Manitou and Rochester resident, opens the Ruth D. Richardson Antique Shop at 923 East Ninth street.

          Mrs. Richardson, wife of the local physician, has been a student and collector of antiques for some 20 years.



Pur Lucille Mahoney

News-Sentinel, May 28, 1959

          Mrs. Lucille Mahoney of Kokomo has purchased the Nyona Lake beach and will operate it with assistance from her two sons, Danny and Mike, and her daughter, Judy.  The resort business includes cottages, bathhouse, concession stand and year-around grocery store.

          Mrs. Mahoney has cleaned the beach’s picnic area, added new tables and benches as well as installing new lights around the beach.  A new pier also is to be made.  Also new this year is an area for outdoor dancing.  Free movies are being planned for Sunday evenings.

          Mrs. Mahoney formerly was associated with Mutual of Omaha insurance company.  Her sons are enrolled in Fulton school and her





daughter is a student at St. Joseph academy, Tipton.  The Mahoneys will reside at the lake the entire year.



A Pioneer Departs

News-Sentinel, June 2, 1959

          Valentine Zimmerman 11, a resident, businessman and civic worker in Rochester for 86 years, has passed away.  Younger people do not know about Val since he was inactive in recent years and also spent some time in Florida.  But other citizens will recall his background, his work, his unselfishness and his progressive leadership during his lifetime.

          He is one of the few men left in Fulton county who began life here and remained until death.  Rochester was a typical Hoosier country town when he was born - with dirt streets, horse drawn vehicles, wooden sidewalks, oil lights and the center of a thriving agriculture community.  His father settled here years before and was a leading merchant.  After a high school and college education, Val followd in his footsteps.

          He had many interests outside his furniture and mortuary business.  A Boy Scout leader, a promoter in the commercial clubs of his day, a lover of theatricals and a booster for home talent and good stage shows, an able newspaper contributor, one of the men behind Woodlawn hospital at its founding, a World War 1 worker, a background helper in many church movements, a story teller and historian, and above all a good citizen.

          Val Zimmerman left his mark in Rochester as have many others like him.  His life, enthusiasm, self sacrifice for others and his optimistic outlook on the future of his home community will set a high example for others to follow for many years to come.



Pur Clifford Alderfer

News-Sentinel, June 6, 1959

          After 39 years of operating Shipley’s store in Athens for 12 to 13 hours a day, Mr. & Mrs. Russell Shipley have sold the store to Clifford Alderfer and plan to relax - a little bit, at least.

          The Shipleys opened their store on Ind. 14 in Athens in 1920 about four years after they were married.  Shipley, a native of Disko, had moved to Athens to teach at the old Athens school.

          Verna Shipley, who was born in Roann, has operated the store most of the time while her husband has pursued his vocation of school






teacher.  He currently teaches at Macy.  He was at the old Athens school for about 12 years.

          Shipley’s store has been at its present location since 1929.  For the first nine years of its operation, it was one door west of where it is now.

          Shipley said he and his wife hope to take “a little vacation soon.  We’ve never had a real vacation together,” he said.



Roch Agency to Close

News-Sentinel, June 10, 1959

          The Rochester office of the Railway Express Agency will close its doors Monday after a half-century of operation here, it was announced today by G.E. Loudenback of Detroit, assistant eastern sales manager for the Agency.

          Rochester is one of four Railway Express offices in this area which will be consolidated into one agency at Plymouth.  The other two are those at Culver and Knox.

          Loudenback said the local consolidation is part of a nationwide economic move by Railway Express to reduce operating expenses.  The agency is owned by the nation’s railroads, which have been battling revenues for several years.

          Local Railway Express service will remain the same as it is presently, Loudenback emphasized, since a truck will make deliveries and pickups each morning from the Plymouth office.  Shipment connections out of Plymouth also are better here, he added.

          The Plymouth office will be served by a truck line and train from Chicago in the morning.  There also will be a westbound train in the afternoon to pick up parcels and, if business warrants, a second outbound service will be added in the evening.

          Floyd Christman, who has been local agent for the firm 43 years, will be transferred to the Plymouth office.  He likely will retain the same local duties which he has been performing.

          Railway Express, or its predecessor companies, have operated from Rochester since the turn of the century.

          Loudenback said that a minimum of 30 shipments daily from an office was set as a basis for consolidation.  The Rochester office has averaged 16-18 shipments a day.

          Service calls will have to be made at Plymouth for the present, although arrangements can be made to have deliveries left at local business for pickup by rural residents.







Strawberry Festival

News-Sentinel, June 16, 1959

          The sixth annual Aubbeenaubbee township Strawberry Festival will be staged in Leiters Ford Thursday, starting with the opening of booths at 4 p.m. and ending sometime during the night at the conclusion of a home talent show.

          Strawberries in every shape and form of imagination, a 22-unit parade, crowning of the Strawberry Festival Queen and the talent show will highlight the return of the celebration after an absence of six years.

          Begun in 1949 to raise money for purchase of a fire truck and firefighting equipment for the township, this year’s event has as its object the raising of enough money to buy a resuscitator and two smoke packs for the township fire department.

          Officials are hoping that Thursday’s event will measure up to or even surpass the one that attracted more than 2,000 persons to Leiters Ford.

          From 4 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. Thursday, festival goers will have time to stroll around town and take advantage of several game stands and buy strawberries.  A concession stand also will be in operation.

          At 7:30 p.m., the grand parade will begin at the Methodist church at the west edge of town.  It will tour the town and wind up at the school field, where the home talent show is expected to get underway at 8:30 p.m.

          A contingent of state police will lead the parade and will be followed, in order, by the Richland Center high school band, the Aubbeenaubbee township fire department’s new truck, the same department’s old truck, the Macy fire department’s antique truck, Standard Oil company horse-drawn tank, Kewanna Saddle club, Winamac Antique Car club, Leiters Ford IOOF and Rebekah lodge float.

          Also, Rochester American Legion color guard, Queen’s float (furnished by the Pure Milk association), Aubbeenaubbee township high school band, Culver Lions club float, Culver town police, Pulaski county 4-H Saddle club, Maxinkuckee Stables horses, Aubbeenaubbee 4-H boys and girls float, Leiters Ford Boy Scouts, bicycles, tricycles, oddities and the Fulton county Sheriff’s office.

          Following a welcome by Master of Ceremonies Kenneth Olin and a number by the Aubbee band, the festival queen’s name will be revealed and she will be crowned by the former queen, Karen Lahman Russell, at the school field.







          Seven girls have entered the penny-a-vote queen contest: Susie Lahman, Connie Feltus, Pat McIntosh, Marjorie Ann Olin, Gloria Nichols, Roberta Frank and Becky Davis.

          The rest of the program at the school field lists the “kiddie awards,” exhibition by the Pulaski 4-H Saddle club, trumpet solo by Randy Brugh of Aubbee, baton twirling exhibition by Patsy Leap of Aubbee with accompaniment by the Aubbee band, vocal solo by Marjorie Ann Olin of Aubbee, piano solo by Jean Ann Cripe of Aubbee, vocal solo by Carl Doherty, music instructor of Argos schools, and western songs and guitar by Joe Holcomb of Aubbee.

          General chairman of the 1959 festival is Willis J. Cripe.  Sponsoring this year’s event are the WSCS groups of the Methodist churches at Leiters Ford, Mount Hope, Mount Zion and Delong, the Community Civic Circle, Leiters Ford Boy Scouts, Leiters Ford Businessmen’s association, the Aubbeenaubbee township Go-Getters

4-H club, the Aubbee band and the Aubbee fire department.



Fee Changes

News-Sentinel, June 17, 1959

          The board of school trustees for Rochester, in regular session Tuesday night at the high school, revised its policy of charges for the use of Whitmer gym by outside groups.

          The board agreed to reduce the fees during the summer months when school is not in session.  Under the new policy, there will be a $25 fee instead of $50 for the gym’s use during these months by adult organizations which charge admission.  The fee was cut from $30 to $15 during the summer for service clubs, churches and similar organizations.  The $5 fee for youth organizations remains the same.

          The revision of fee policy came as the result of requests by local groups who have objected to the pesent rate schedule. - - - - -



Shipped All Over U.S.A.

News-Sentinel, June 17, 1959

          One of the oldest bait operations at the lake is owned by Henry Owen.  Owen has converted an old barn into a bait house and specializes in red worms and crickets.  The bait house is located on the east side of the lake on Bessmer Park road.

          Owen has been working at the business for almost 10 years - ever since an accident which disabled him quite a bit.  He has built up the business until its present status where he is sending red worms and



crickets all over the United States.  He sells the bait to wholesalers and retailers in various resort towns and cities.

          Owen has in stock right now more than 50,000 full grown crickets and has crickets graduated in age levels to replenish his stock when the full grown ones are sold out.  In this way he has a never ending supply of the bait.- - - - -

          Owen has seven beds of worms in the back of his barn - - - - -.  The worms consume more than two tons of feed in one season.  He sends these worms to retailers and wholesalers all over the U.S. - - - -



Pur Earl Hizer

News-Sentinel, June 25, 1959

          Mr. & Mrs. Herbert Rhoades have sold their interest in Herbie’s Place, the restaurant on the northeast corner of Logan and Main streets in Kewanna, to Earl Hizer of Logansport.  Hizer will take possession July 1.

          The Rhoades have operated the restaurant for more than four years, establishing it in the building that formerly housed the Harris sewing factory.

          The Rhoades plan to retire to their farm west of Kewanna.



pur Mrs. Gerald Knauff

News-Sentinel, June 25, 1959

          The sale of the A&W Root Beer Drive-In, located at Lakeshore drive and Rochester Boulevard, was announced today by Kenneth Anness.

          Anness has sold the business to Mrs. Gerald Knauff, 1223 Lake-shore drive, who will operate it with her two sons, Larry and Jerry.  The transaction is effective Monday.

          Anness has owned and operated the business for the past five years.  He and his wife and son, King, 10, reside on the southeast shore of Lake Manitou.  They anticipate moving to Florida later this summer.



School Reun

News-Sentinel, July 7, 1959

          The second annual reunion of the pupils and teachers of the old one-room school at Mt. Zion was held on July 4 with approximately 100 adults and children in attendance.  This reunion was again held at the Van Duyne Block and Gravel company grounds, which is an







excellent meeting place, and the weather was ideal.

          A basket dinner was served at the noon hour with the Rev. Leroy Garner of Walkerton returning thanks.  Both hot and cold beverages were furnished.  After the delicious community dinner, a business meeting was conducted.

          Mrs. Josephine Swihart, president, was in charge and it was decided to continue this reunion as an annual affair, in the hopes that each year more old friends and teachers will be present.

          Officers who were elected are: Mrs. Swihart, president, and Mrs. Fred Van Duyne, secretary-treasurer.

          Former teachers present were:   Fred Deardorff of Richmond who taught at Mt. Zion 50 years ago this next school term; Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn, Marion, and Clifford Baggerley of RR 6, Rochester.  Each teacher gave a short talk.

          Prizes were awarded for oldest teacher: Fred Deardorff; latest teacher, Clifford Baggerley; oldest pupil: Frank Davis of Macy; youngest pupil: Mrs. Lester Goodyear, Churubusco, prize for traveling greatest distance: Joe E. Dixon, Groveland, Fla.

          The remainder of the day was spent taking pictures and reminiscing.  Ice cream was served in the afternoon.

          It was decided to meet in the same place next year on the 4th of July and the Van Duynes were given a vote of thanks for having the reunion at their place of business.

          Those present from a distance were:   Mr. & Mrs. Fred Deardorff, Richmond; Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn, Marion, Mr. & Mrs. Henry Dixon, Auburn; Joe E. Dixon, and Ronald Story, Groveland, Fla.; John Vandervoort, Dayton, O.; Mrs. Martha Puls, Franklin, O.; Mr. & Mrs. Lester Goodyear, Churubusco; the Rev. & Mrs. Leroy Garner and Mr. & Mrs. Walter Aughinbaugh, Walkerton; Mr. & Mrs. Harold Smith and daughter, Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Frank Davis, Macy; Mrs. Josephine Swihart and John Dixon of Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Wood, South Bend, and Mr. & Mrs. Rex Wood, Osceola.

          Also, Mr. & Mrs. Scott Sroufe, Macy; Mr. & Mrs. Benjamin Powell, Akron; Bill McGinnis of Flint, Mich.; and Mr. & Mrs. Lee Becker, Akron.

          Local people in attendance were: Mr. & Mrs. Orville Gilliland; Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Baggerley, Mr. & Mrs. Harold King, Mr. & Mrs. Lester King, Mr. & Mrs. Howard King, Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Graffis, Mrs. Agnes Quinn, Mr. & Mrs. Lloyd Craig and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Beaudoin, Mrs. William Marshall, Mr. & Mrs. Chester Overmyer, Mr. & Mrs. Joe Van Duyne, Mrs. Harry Macy and Family, Mr. & Mrs. Albert Wood and Mr. & Mrs. Harold Crill and daughter.







          Also, Mr. & Mrs. Adam Rentschler and family, Mr. & Mrs. Robert B. Zimmerman and children, Mrs. Herman Wagoner, Mr. & Mrs. Lloyd Pickens, Mrs. Ed Fishback, Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Weaver Sr., Mr. & Mrs. Robert Zeller, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Van Duyne, Mrs. Grace Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Henry Moore, Mrs. Maxine Zerbe, Mr. & Mrs. Harley Fultz, Claude Butler, Roscoe Conrad, Ed Gilliland, Mrs. Emma Weaver and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne.




News-Sentinel, July 8, 1959

          The 30th annual reunion of former Rochester College students was held at the Fulton County Conservation clubhouse on Sunday, with 46 registering for dinner and several afternoon guests.

          Mrs. Grace Stinson, the president, extended thanks to Ray Myers and the officers for their cooperation and assistance.  She announced that because of illness the musicians from Logansport were unable to be present.

          The blessing was said by Estil Ginn before the dinner was partaken.

          V.L. Barker of Fulton was in charge of the afternoon’s program and he extended a vote of thanks to the club hosts for the delectable dinner and efficient service.

          Community singing of “America” with Mrs. Ray Myers at the piano opened the program followed by prayer by Mr. Barker.  Songs included “Church in the Wildwood,” “On the Banks of the Wabash,” and “In the good Old Summertime”.

          Ray Myers introduced Miss Patti DuBois, a speech student at Rochester high school.  She entertained by giving a recitation entitled “Creation”, which every one enjoyed.

          The Secretary’s report was read and approved and arrangements were made for meeting next year on the first Sunday after July 4, at the Conservation Clubhouse.

          Correspondence and cards were read from absent members.  Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Deamer are in retirement at Cedar Rapids, Ia.  Mr. & Mrs. Mirritt Partridge of Los Angeles, Cal., took an extended tour of Europe last summer with a group of retired teachers.  He and Mae Falvey sent donations.  Many others sent greetings and regrets.

          Introductions were made by each member and Mrs. Raymond McVay who has taught school for 43 years had an interesting record to present.  Many others gave the highlight of their lives as teachers.   The nominating committee composed of Estil Ginn, J.L. Tombaugh, Ray






Woodcox, Mrs. Dee Berrier and Mrs. McVay announced the following slate of officers for next year: V.L. Barker, president, Ray Myers, vice-president, and Mrs. Ada Sherbondy, secretary-treasurer.

          A committee consisting of Mrs. Dee Berrier, Ray Myers and the Rev. Harley Davis was appointed to determine a memorial for Miss Flo Delp, “College Mother.” There was a lot of enthusiasm expressed to continue having reunions.

          Those present from Rochester and vicinity were:  Mrs. Grace Stinson, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Woodcox, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Myers, Mrs. Charles Stahl, Mrs. Ada Sherbondy, Mrs. Harriet E. Bonine, Mr. & Mrs. Dow Haimbaugh, Clarence Adamson, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McVay, Miss Emily Von Ehrenstein, Mrs. Dee Berrier, Mr. & Mrs. John Cessna, Mr. & Mrs. J.L. Tombaugh, George Tobey, and Mr. & Mrs. Mahlon Bair.

          Macy:   John C. Savage, Mrs. Eva May Fowler, Mr. & Mrs. B.J. Hurst; Akron: Mrs. May Day, Mrs. Rae Wildermuth, Mrs. Adda Sanders,   Fulton:   V.L. Barker and Mrs. Eva M. Barker.

          Also, Mr. & Mrs. Roy Gassaway, Peru; Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn, Marion; Dr. Harry S. Mackey, Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Deardorff, Richmond; Mr. & Mrs. W.R. McClary, South Bend; Glen Smiley, Milford, Ind.; Charles E. Lucas, Knox; Lee Beehler, Logansport; Mrs. Edna Taylor Burns, North Manchester; Mrs. Golda Tayler Polen, Kewanna; the Rev. Harley Davis, Hot Springs, Ark.; and Mr. & Mrs. Russell Smith.



Winamac State Park

News-Sentinel, July 17, 1959

          The Israel Overmyer reunion was held at the Winamac State Park with about 60 members and friends of the family attending.

          A delectable carry-in dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour with Mrs. Karl Deck of South Bend offering the blessing.

          A business meeting was held after the dinner at which time John Reinholt of Culver was elected president for next year and Mrs. Carmen Kath was re-elected secretary and treasurer.

          The group voted to have the reunion at the same place in 1960 and also on the second Sunday in July.  Everyone was sorry that Mrs. Della Smith of Rochester was unable to attend as she is honorary president of the reunion and she is the only survivor of the Israel Overmyer’s children.

          Those who attended were:   Mr. & Mrs. Fred Yelton of Delong; Mr. & Mrs. O.S. Goss, Plymouth; Charles Dunfee, LaPorte; Lewis






Reinholt, Monterey; Mr. & Mrs. John Reinholt, Culver; Mr. & Mrs. Karl Deck, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. John Young, Knox; Mrs. Erma Hettinger and daughtes of Star City; Mr. & Mrs. Joe Ross, Lucerne; Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber, Mr. & Mrs. Orval Long and Mr. & Mrs. Glen Wilson, all of Rochester.

          Also, Mrs. Anna Trapp, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Straw and children, Mrs. Ida Haschel, Mr. & Mrs. Carl Morrison, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Reinholt, Mr. & Mrs. John W. Reinholt, Mr. & Mrs. John Hinderlider, Mr. & Mrs. Sam Densmore, Mr. & Mrs. Garrett Postuma, John Reinholt Jr., Ted Morrison and Mr. & Mrs. Marion Clark, all of Winamac and vicinity.

          Mrs. Goss of Plymouth gave a recitation about her father that she had written.  She is the former Gladys Overmyer, who was a son (sic) of Israel Overmyer.  He was a brother to Henry Overmyer who was very known around Rochester and who had lived in Tiosa most of his maried life. - - - - -



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, July 17, 1959

          An enjoyable time was had on July 12 when relatives gathered at the Rochester City Park for a delicious carry-in dinner.

          The occasion was in honor of Mrs. Mary Crites and daughter, Ann of Portland, Ore., and Mr. & Mrs. Joe Boganwright and son, Stanley, of Dallas, Tex., who have been visiting relatives and friends the past few days.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Wendell Azbell and daughter of Peru; Mr. & Mrs. Donald Long and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Orval Long, Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Merle Long and family, Mr. & Mrs. Neil C. McCreary and family, Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Joe Peterson and son, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond Rogers of Mentone; Walter Peterson, Logansport, and Steve Thacker of Flint, Mich.

          Also, Mr. & Mrs. O.J. Long, Mr. & Mrs. Alvin Finney and family, Mr. & Mrs. Maurice Coplen and family, Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Peterson and son, Bob, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Bordon and son, Mr. & Mrs. C.R. Barkman and family, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Rauschke and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Ransford Peterson, Mr. & Mrs. Maurice Peterson and son Larry, Mrs. Boyd Peterson, Mrs. Marjorie Wagoner and family and Mr. & Mrs. Charles Long and son, all of Rochester, and the honored guests.

          A social time was enjoyed by all.











Pur Lester Caupp

News-Sentinel, July 18, 1959

          The Misses Ruth and Alice Tetzlaff, 1026 Jackson boulevard have sold their interest in the Ru-Al Snack Bar, 614 Main street after 11 months of operation of the downtown restaurant.

          The sisters plan to visit in Arizona during the winter.  After that, their plans are indefinite.

          Purchasers of the restaurant are Mr. & Mrs. Lester Caupp of Muncie, who will take over operation Monday.

          “We want to thank all the persons who patronized our restaurant.  It has been wonderful experiences for us,” the sisters said.



Henry Alspach Home

News-Sentinel, July 21 1959

          A birthday party and family reunion was held Sunday in the home of Mr. & Mrs. Henry Alspach.

          Thurman D. Smith of Plymouth, a former Rochester resident, was celebrating his 90th birth anniversary.  All of his six children were present with the exception of Mrs. Hazel Carter of Van Nuys, Cal.

          A community dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour and those present were:   Mrs. Blanche Bacon, Plymouth; Mrs. Grace Shimer and Mrs. Glen Merley, Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Smith, and Mr. & Mrs. Jerry Smith and four sons, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. James Moody and children, Akron; Mrs. Mary Hittle and children, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Clawson, all of Rochester, and Mr. & Mrs. Alton Perry and two children of Tippecanoe.    Also Mr. & Mrs. Henry Alspach.

          A decorated birthday cake highlighted with the letters “90” in gold, centered the table and about 20 members of the family were present.  A wrist watch was presented to the guest of honor by his children and grand-children.  There were several four generation families present.

          In the afternoon ice cream and cake was served.



Walter Peters Res

News-Sentinel, July 23 1959

          The third annual Warmbrod Reunion was held Sunday at the Walter Peters residence near Winamac with 81 members of the family present.

          Those attending were:   Mr. & Mrs. Jesse Warmbrod, Argos;





John Newman, Charles Newman and Mr. & Mrs. Oscar Wesson and daughter, Culver; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Samuelson and family, Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. Francis Ranschau and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. Lloyd Overmyer and daughter, Monterey; Mr. & Mrs. Harry Overmyer and family, Mr. & Mrs. Elmer Overmyer and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Rock, Mr. & Mrs. James Rock and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. John Warmbrod, and Mr. & Mrs. Carl Warmbrod and daughter, Rochester.

          Also Miss Martha Overmyer, Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Donald Rock and family, Macy; Mr. & Mrs. Ivan Rock and family, Bremen; Mr. & Mrs. Floyd Blackburn and family, Lafayette; Mr. & Mrs. DeVon Overmyer and family, Mr. & Mrs. Gene Horn and family, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Walter Peters, Mr. & Mrs. Willard Peters and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. Earl Master and family and Miss Lula Belle Peters, Winamac.



Everett Gardiner Res

News-Sentinel, July 27 1959

          A reunion of the Miller family was held on Sunday in Lafayette, at the home of Mr. & Mr. Everett Gardiner.

          A delectable carry-in dinner was served at the noon hour to 30 members of the family.

          In the afternoon an anniversary party was observed in honor of Mr. & Mrs. Gardiner Miller, who were celebrating their 25th wedding anniversary.  The Millers, former Rochester residents, now live in Ludington, Mich.  They have one daughter, Dalice, age 7.

          A beautiful Bible Book cake decorated for the special occasion was presented to them, besides many other lovely gifts.  Cake and refreshing punch was served in the afternoon.

          Guests present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Wildrick, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Gardiner Miller and Dalice, Ludington; Mr. & Mrs. Louis Trout and Mr. & Mrs. Francis Collard, all of South Bend; Mrs. Minnie Schraeder, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Bell and daughter, Barbara, LaPorte; Mr. & Mrs. Harry Miller, Mary Ann and Jimmie of Valparaiso; Mr. & Mrs. Donald Miller and children, Stevie, Brian and Susan, Chicago; Mr. & Mrs. Ike Booi, Kankakee, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Henry Beardsley, and Miss Marie Beardsley, Clifton, Ill.; Mrs. Eleanor Gardiner, Memphis, Tenn.; and Mr. & Mrs. Everett Gardiner, Lafayette.










Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, July 28 1959

          Members of the Stephen Fansler family gathered at the Rochester City Park on Sunday for their annual reunion.

          This year all 11 brothers and sisters were present.  They are: Mrs. Viola Clawson, Medaryville; William Fansler, Royal Center; Mrs. Mary Chambers, Logansport; Mrs. Bertha Zeider, Niles, Mich.; Arthur Fansler, Rochester; Gilbert Fansler, Milwaukee, Wis.; Earl Fansler, Rochester; Richard Fansler, Coldwater, Mich.; Lester Fansler, Gary; Emma Fansler, Logansport; and Mrs. Amy Crabb, Kewanna.

          Others attending were relatives of the family and several guests, totaling 41 in all.

          The group enjoyed a carry in dinner at the noon hour with Mrs. Earl Fansler offering Grace before the meal was partaken.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, Aug. 15, 1959

          The Leiter family reunion was held at the Rochester City Park Aug. 9 with 35 relatives and friends present.

          A delectable dinner was served at the noon hour and the afternoon was spent reminiscing and having a good time.

          Greetings were read from Col. & Mrs. William F. Centner of Arlington, Va., Mrs. Lucy Geyer of Wabash; Dr. & Mrs. Claude Young, Lafayette; and Florence Leiter now spending a vacation in England.

          A business meeting was held and new officers were elected.  They are:   Claude Wolfrom, South Bend, president; Ralph Hunneshagen, vice-president; Mary Ann Campbell, secretary-treasurer.

          It was announced that the 1960 reunion will be hed the second Sunday in August at the City Park.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, Sept. 1, 1959

          Some 42 members of the Mikesell family met recently at the Rochester City Park for their 51st annual reunion.  A basket dinner was served at the noon hour.  In the afternoon a business meeting was held at which time it was voted to keep the same officers for next year: Mrs. Goldie Coggins, president; Mrs. LaVon Mikesell, Vice President; Mrs Harold Mikesell, Secretary-treasurer.





          The reunion will be held at the same place next year, the fourth Sunday of August.

          The remainder of the afternoon was spent in visiting and recalling reunions of the past.

          Gifts were given to the youngest child present, - - - -  ,the oldest married couple, Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Mikesell, and oldest child, Coetta Shotts.

          Ice cream was served in the evening



Fred Van Duyne Home

News-Sentinel, Sept. 3, 1959

          Fifty-six members of the Eugene Shelton family gathered at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne Sunday, for a reunion.  A bountiful meal was served at the noon hour with Fred Van Duyne asking the blessing before the meal.  The afternoon was spent socially and by taking pictures.

          Those present were Mr. & Mrs. Randy Masterson and Robin, Muncie; Frederick Van Duyne and sons, Argos; Mr. & Mrs. Don Van Duyne and son and Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Fisher and family, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Shelton, Mrs. Grace Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Crill and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Adam Rentschler and family, Mr. & Mrs. Byron Zimmerman and family, Mrs. Harry Macy and family, Mr. & Mrs. Tom Rose and family, Mr. & Mrs. Joe Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Braman and family and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne, all of Rochester.



Pur Nickles Bakeries

News-Sentinel, Sept. 11, 1959

          Charles Stewart, owner of Stewart’s Bakery with offices in Rochester and Bremen, has sold the business to the Alfred Nickles Bakeries, Inc., of Elkhart.  General Manager William H. Hoppstetter of Bremen announced today.

          Hoppstetter said the new owners will retain all local personnel and employees.

          The Rochester office of the bakery has been a distribution center for 19 routes with no baking being done here for the last few years.  About 35 persons are employed here altogether.

          Stewart opened the Rochester branch several years ago after having operated in Bremen before that.  Later he sold the bakery to






George May of Rochester, then repurchased the business about two years ago.



Shidaker Bros. Res.

News-Sentinel, Sept. 11, 1959

          Descendents of the Milton Shidaker family, 58 in all, gathered at the home of the Shidaker brothers for a family reunion.  All remaining members of the family were present except Mrs. Bessie Young.

          Those attending were Mr. & Mrs. Charles Bitterling, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Jack Molter, Goodland; Mrs. Hettie Platz, Monette, Ark.; Joseph Shidaker, Brook; Mr. & Mrs. Jonas Shidaker, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Henry Sparks and family, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Bitterling and family, all of Winamac; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Evans and daughters, two daughters of Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Bitterling; Ronnie Werner, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Roy Molter and family of Goodland; Mr. & Mrs. Eugene Overmyer and son, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Manson Leap and family, Leiters Ford; Mr. & Mrs. Lester Shidaker and daughter, and Charles Woolington, all of Kewanna.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, Sept. 17, 1959

          The Reese family reunion was held Sunday at the City Park with approximately 40 members of the family present.

          Prizes were awarded Mrs. Ed Hagan for being the oldest member present, and Patty Baker for being the youngest.

          The dining hall was appropriately decorated with the name “Reese” in huge letters at one end of the hall, and colorful balloons dangled from the ceiling, which were later given as favors to all the children.

          A delicious carry-in dinner was served from the white cloth covered table decorated with a beautiful bouquet of fall flowers.  Harold Reese, president, returned thanks before the meal.

          A short business session was held and officers were elected for next year.  They are:   Maynard Reese, president; Leroy Eshelman, vice-president; and Buryl Reese, secretary-treasurer.

          Contests and games were conducted in the afternoon for the children with several prizes being distributed.

          The men enjoyed playing horseshoe with prizes awarded Wayne Baker and Leroy Eshelman.  At the close of the day homemade ice cream and cake were served to all.







Pur Russell Moore

News-Sentinel, Sept. 22, 1959

          Russell Moore, 1102 Madison street, manager of the Rochester Ice and Coal company at 411 Madison street for the last 11 years, Monday purchased the business and its outstanding accounts from the City Ice Service of South Bend.

          Moore said there will be no changes in personnel or service of the business.

          When Moore became manager, the business offered no coal service, only ice.  During his second year as managr, he instituted the coal delivery.

          During Moore’s first year of management, the business was moved from 612 Madison street, where there had been an ice concern for many years, to its present location.



Montgomery Ward Head

News-Sentinel, Oct. 24, 1959

          [Editor’s Note: John Barr, who was born, raised and attended school in Akron, now is chairman of the board of Montgomery Ward and company.  The sweeping changes which Barr has made in the gigantic mail order and retail merchandising business is attracting national attention.  The following article appeared in the Oct. 19 issue of Time magazine’s business section.]

          John Andrew Barr, 51, handsome Hoosier, is the best proof in U.S. Business that ugly ducklings do indeed turn into swans.  As a vice president, secretary and legal counsel for Montgomery Ward & Company, under depression-minded, penny-pinching Chairman Sewell Avery, Barr was as undistinguished as a duckling; his chief claim to fame was that he showed a rare ability to survive the purges and resignations that cost Ward’s five presidents and 30 vice presidents in 23 years.  Barr managed to stay by avoiding open conflict with Avery, kept quiet about things that he knew he could not change.  This led many an outsider to tab him as a yes man without an idea of his own.  But when Avery was forced to resign in 1955 and Barr took over, he dazzled the retail industry with the suddenness of his transformation.  As he spread his wings, he junked all of Avery’s policies, started Ward’s on one of the biggest expansion programs in U.S. Industry.

          For the last year, the company has been opening new department stores at a record rate.  In the last month alone Barr has overseen the opening of new stores in Richmond and Oakland, Cal.






and the company’s largest store in Detroit’s suburban Livonia shopping center; he plans to open stores in Abilene and Tyler, Tex. within the next months.  Ward’s sales reflect the growth: last week the company announced eight-month sales of $756,071,243, a 14 percent hike over last year.  By year’s end, Ward’s hopes to hit a record $1.25 billion.

          When Barr took over, Ward’s itself had an unpromising future.  Fearing a crash, Avery had piled up a huge reserve of 327 million in cash and government securities, but in every other way the company was sick.  Says a Ward’s executive: “Avery was actually liquidating the company, though he didn’t realize it.” Avery had hobbled the entire firm with his one man rule (he had to okay every expenditure oiver $100), and knocked employee morale to the bottom.  Net sales dropped from 11.1 billion in 1950 to $999 million in 1954.  Barr set out to sweep out gloom, bring on a boom.

          He brought in more than a dozen top executives, plucking them away from such firms as Revlon, Macy’s and Marshall Field with generous stock option plans, and he gave employee morale a quick boost by putting in a new pension plan.  He reorganized Ward’s management structure, bolstered confidence by delegating authority, scrapped Sewell Avery’s outlandish rules.  He began to change Ward’s cash hoard into merchandising strength in 1955, since then has redecorated nearly 376 of the company’s 566 stores, air-conditioned 73 of them, opened more than 296 new catalogue stores in growing areas.  To increase volume quickly, he bought control of four independent stores in the Chicago area, opened some 20 new modern retail stores in major shopping areas and equipped them with consumer-drawing features that would have shocked Sewell Avery: check-cashing booths, hunting and fishing license departments, gourmet and shoe repair shops.  By the end of 1958, Barr had reduced Ward’s cash hoard from $327 million to 94.7 million.  Says he: “By the end of 1959, we will have put all of our excess cash, previously invested in low-earning securities, to work in higher-earning merchandising assets.”

          Some stockholders grumble that Barr has spent so much on expansion that earnings have suffered (they dropped below 1957 in 1958.  But Barr argues that money spent now will bring benefits in higher profits later.  The rise has started.  Earnings in the first half this year jumped to $10.6 million from $8.6 million last year.  In the next five years, Barr plans to spend $500 million on expansion.  By 1963 he expects sales to be running at $1.8 or $2 billion a year.

          Trained in the law at Indiana University (‘30) Barr joined Ward’s









legal staff in 1933, proved his skill by helping to prepare the case that eventually voided President Roosevelt’s seizure of Ward’s during a 1944 labor dispute and masterminded the successful proxy battle against Raider Louis Wolfson in 1955.  Barr still admires his old boss, refuses to criticize him.  Says he: “He was one of the nation’s best merchandisers.  He grew old, that’s all.”

          Barr;s transformation has also wrought changes in his personal life.  He has less time to spend with his wife and four children, putter in his rose garden.  He spends evenings poring over work in the library of his twelve-room house in suburban Winnetka, Ill.  His life has become almost as self-centered as Avery’s on the contents of a secret closet in his Chicago office.  The closet contains charts of the company and the U.S. Economy.  In Avery’s time the projections all went down; now all the lines go sharply up.


Torrington Mfg. Co.

Joseph E. Jacob, Mgr.

News-Sentinel, Nov. 3, 1959

          Joseph E. Jacob, the newly appointed manager of Torrington Mfg. Company’s Rochester branch factory, returned to the City Monday to resume preparations for beginning local operations in temporary quarters on Main street.

          Jacob, a native of Torrington, Conn., and a graduate of the University of Notre Dame, was appointed to the manager’s post by Andrew Gagarin, president of Torrington Mfg. Co.

          Torrington’s new 25,000 square foot plant will be constructed east of Rochester at the intersection of the Erie railroad and Ind. 25.  Work will begin on the building next spring.  Meanwhile, the firm will start production on a small scale next month in the former Walburn Feed Store building at 419 Main street.

          About 25 persons are to be employed in the rented quarters.  Final plans for the new factory were completed last spring under the supervision of Marcel Breuer, architect.  The new plant will be replica of the new Torrington plant addition and the firm’s branch plant in Van Nuys, Cal.

          Torrington first purchased the 26-1/2 acre tract east of the city in 1956 but postponed construction plans temporarily because of the 1957 business recession.  Fan blades will be manufactured here.

          Jacob, the Rochester manager, joined Torrington in 1946 as a draftsman after a short time with Pan Americn World Airways.  He was promoted to personnel manager in 1956 after having served as assistant shop superintendent, night superintendent, mechanical






superintendent and engineer in charge of methods.

          He joined the firm’s machine division in 1958 as a sales engineer and recently was promoted to assistant production manager for the air impeller division.

          Jacob was chosen by the Torrington Junior Chamber of Commerce as “Outstanding Young Man of the Year” in 1956 and received the Jaycees’ distinguished Service Award.  He was a member of the YMCA board of directors, high school building committee and board of directors of the Community Chest in Torrington and was elected to the school board a week before accepting the Rochester post.

          Jacob and his wife, Jean, and their four children will move to Rochester as soon as adequate housing is obtained.

          Work is to get underway quickly on renovation of the Main street building.  Jacob will return in two weeks to supervise the installation of machinery.


Logansport Mach Bldg

Pur, Hart, Schaffner & Marx

News-Sentinel, Nov. 25, 1959

          Hart, Schaffner and Marx of Chicago - the world’s largest manufacturer of men’s quality clothing - today announced that it has purchased the former Logansport Machine building in Manitou Heights for its Rochester trouser factory.

          Sale of the handsome, three-year-old plant on Wabash avenue was revealed this morning by a joint announcement from William Robinson, president of Buckeye Molding company, and Harold Ellman, director of manufacturing for Hart, Schaffner and Marx.

          The 35,000-square foot building was purchased by Buckeye last December after its original owners moved their branch operation back to the home plant at Logansport.

          Ellman said that “Hart, Schaffner & Marx has agreed to purchase the property and we plan to start operations there in several weeks as soon as all legal technicalities of the purchase are resolved.”

          Ellman added that “we bought the building because we wanted to get our manufacturing operations in Rochester started sooner than was possible for us to do by erecting a new plant.  Our plans call for modifying the building for our specific needs and we will begin hiring employees during these modification procedures.”

          This hiring has already begun.  A group of six Hart’s officials came to the city Tuesday and remained today to plan revisions of the

building and also to hire the first women supervisors.  First of the




equipment to be used in the clothing manufacture was expected to arrive today.

          Supervisory personnel will begin work next week, said Ellman, and additional persons to be hired this week will start employment the following week.  Training procedures will be the first item of business.

          Further details regarding employment now are being worked out and will be announced as soon as completed.

          The decision of the clothing company to buy the building means a change in its original plan of erecting a new plant, but also assures an earlier beginning to full-scale employment and manufacture of trousers.

          Hart, Schaffner and Marx originally intended to build a new plant on a site at the corner of Ind. 14 and 25, east of the city.  However, a delay in architectural plans caused the company toi look for other means of getting into early production here.

          Robinson’s Buckeye firm, a plastics manufacturing company, never got into full production since moving into the plant and has occupied only a small porion of the space.

          Robinson said this morning that “consolidation plans for our company were delayed and so it was decided to dispose of the buildng to Hart, Schaffner and Marx.” He declined further comment concerning his plans for the local operation.

          The announcement that Hart’s will open a branch plant in the city ends five months of intensive negotiations with the company, which were carried on by officers and directors of the Rochester Chamber of Commerce.

          It comes as a result of a concentrated survey of potential women employees in the area which the Chamber conducted for Hart’s.  Almost 1,000 women either were interviewed by company officials or filled out application blanks during the past five months.

          The company originally informed Chamber officials that the prime consideration in the location of the plant would be the availabiliy of a female working force.  The splendid turnout of personnel here, many of them experienced in clothing manufactur, helped greatly in making the final decision of Rochester as the plant site.

          Rochester has emerged from over 50 cities in four midwestern states which Hart, Schaffner and Marx either investigated or surveyed in its search for a branch plant site.  The move by Hart’s from its Chicago base is the first such decentralization by any of the country’s major men’s clothing firms.

          Revision to be made in the Hart’s building will enable the company to employ more than 300 women for its trouser manufacture.  When this figure will be reached was not revealed by the






company at this time.

          The building, first was erected and occupied by the Logansport firm in mid-1956.  After a year’s operation, the branch was closed.  Robinson’s Buckeye company bought the building in December, 1958.  Buckeye also operates a plant in Greenville, Miss.

          Rochester thus embarks upon a season of intensive industrial activity that also includes the location here of a fan blade manufacturing plant by Torrington Manufacturing company,  Torrington, Conn. - - - -

          Hart’s projected plant site is south of the Torrington location.  The Chamber of Commerce had obtained an option on this land for the clothing company and now hopes to renew it for two additional years in case of industrial inquiry by other firms.


Hart, Schaffner & Marx

Executives to set up factory

News-Sentinel, Nov. 27, 1959

          Hart, Schaffner & Marx will have its leading manufacturing executives occupied for the next few months with establishing the world-famed clothing company’s new Rochester trouser factory.

          Harold R. Ellman, director of manufacturing for Hart Schaffner & Marx, is in overall charge of the inauguration of this first decentralization of the 87-year-old Chicago company’s operations.  It is, in fact, the first such move by any of the country’s major clothing manufacturers.

          Ellman emphasized, however, in a statement today that no members of the Chicago staff would be located permanently in Rochester.  Gustave Valerius, was hired specifically by the company for this task.  All supervisors, said Ellman, will be hired locally and trained here. - - - -

          Hart, Schaffner & Marx, began in 1874 as a retail store in Chicago, long has been among the world’s most famous clothing manufacturers.  Sold in every state and in counless foreign countries, the HS&M “Trumpeter” label outnumbers any other in the men’s clothing field.

          The company employs 4,800 workers in its manufacturing operations.  Two plants are located in Chicago, another is nearby Joliet.  The main factory in West Jackson street in Chicago is 13 floors high and has 350,000 square feet of floor space.  Another plant, on South Franklin street, also houses the administrative offices.










Reappears Here

News-Sentinel, Jan. 15, 1960

          The old fire wagon now resting at the fire station here - Rochester’s first piece of horse-drawn fire fighting equipment - might well be called the “phantom wagon” because of its mysterious disappearance and reappearance during the last three years.

          The wagon, which was drawn by two black geldings named Jerry and Don, first was used from 1910 to 1917 and three fire chiefs - Bill Morris, Joe Bibler and William Cook - drove it during their tenures.

          It looks rather decrepit now, but Fire Chief Bud Braman said his department plans to renovate it and display it as one of the city’s historical items.

          For awhile in 1957, however, it seemed that fate had other things in store for the wagon.  Early that year, it disappeared from the street department store room in back of the fire station.

          Later, it was noticed at the city dump where apparently it would just rot away.  But then it disappeared from the dump, too.

          Last Jan. 1 it turned up again - in the place it now occupies in the large truck bay of the fire station.

          Firemen promise it won’t disappear again.


Miller-Jones Shoe Store

Raymond DeFord Moved

News-Sentinel, Feb. 8, 1960

          Raymond DeFord, manager of the Miller-Jones shoe store here for the past 7-1/2 years, this week will tale over the managership of the firms store in Peru.  His replacement as local manager is Max Geiselman of Peru.

          DeFord, a native of Logansport, came to the city from the Peru store and has been with the Miller-Jones company 10 years.  Geiselman has been employed by the firm 2-1/2 years.  He and his wife are residing on the southwest shore of Lake Manitou.

          DeFord lives with his wife and daughter at 1700 Monroe street.  He will maintain his residence here for the present.












Gets Local Outlet

News-Sentinel, April 5, 1960

          Hart Schaffner & Marx, world famed manufacturer of men’s quality clothing which now is operating a plant in Rochester, today got a local outlet for its clothes.

          The Racket, 728 Main street, announced that it has added the Hart Schaffner & Marx line of men’s suits to its stock of merchandise.- - - - - - Currently, some 90 women are employed in the plant in the manufacture of men’s trousers. - - - -

          John D. Gray, executive vice-president of Hart Schaffner & Marx in Chicago, said in a letter this week that “it gives Hart Schaffner & Marx great pleasure to announce to the people of Rochester that The Racket has been selected to represent our company in your community.  We think it is particularly significant inasmuch as we are operating a plant in your city and employing many local people.  We are most pleased with the selection of Rocheste as the site of our plant and we hope for many years of cordial relationships with the community.



Construction Begins

News-Sentinel, April 6, 1960

          Work now is underway by the John T. Pugh Construction company of Rochester on the new seven-room addition to the Riddle elementary school.

          The Pugh firm, general contractor for the $131,000 project, has begun tearing out sidewalks and also excavating for the additions to each wing of the building, located at Third and Clay streets.

          The work will expand the Riddle school to 18 rooms, plus kinderarten and auxiliary activity room.  Three classrooms and the new activity room will be added to the primary, or west wing.  Three other classrooms will go on the intermediate, or south, wing.

          Burtonj Plumbing and Heating company of Rochester, pumbing - heating - ventilating contractor, and Delp Electric company of Bourbon, electrical contractor, will do the remainder of the work on the addition. It is hoped that the project can be completed in time for the opening of the September term of school.  It is the intent of the Rochester Community School Board to enroll in the new rooms the four classes of students who now are attending at the old Reiter building in Rochester township.  This will place all elementary pupils of

the Rochester Community Schools in modern buildings. - - - - -






Makers of Motors

News-Sentinel, April 9, 1960

          Looking back over his 77 years, it seems to Harry Johnson that life was at its best when he had new worlds to conquer with the gasoline engine that was his idol for so many years.

          And conquer worlds, he did!

          The engine - and its successors - that Harry and two of his brothers built ruled the air when man was in his infancy as a flier and mastered the water like nothing else of its day.

          The Johnson brothers’ motor powered the first monoplane that ever made a successful flight in the world.  Years later, the brothers turned to outboard boat motors and the Johnson duet became one of the best known best selling makes in history.

          Harry now lives with his wife Mildred on the northern banks of the Tippecanoe river just east of old Ind. 17 near Leiters Ford.  A half mile east lives Warren Conover, friend and business associate of the Johnsons for more than 40 years.  The two men moved to Fulton county from Waukegan, Ill., on Nov. 1 1935.

          Harry and his brothers, Louis, 79, and Julius, 75, always were handy with tools and their burning ambition from early life was to make the lightest gasoline motor that would be better than any other.  Harry was the dreamer of the bunch - he figured ways to use the motor.

          The boys were born in Effingham, Ill., where their father, Soren, was a blacksmith.  When the Pennsylvania railroad moved its shops to Terre Haute in the late 1890s, the Johnsons followed.

          In high school at Terre Haute, the boys whittled in wood the patterns for the castings of the motor they planned to build.  They built their first motor in 1903, an inboard type that weighed about 250 pounds and provided three horsepower action.  An almost immediate improvement cut the weight down to 65 pounds without sacrificing horsepower.

          There were five children at the Johnson home at this time - three “motor boys,” brother Clarence and sister Lutie.  A blacksmith’s wages didn’t go very far.  But Soren Johnson believed in his boys and their dreams.  He mortgaged his home to raise money for a small machine shop for production of the first line of Johnson motors.

          The machine shop was built in 1907 and from that year until 1910, the Johnsons produced inboard marine engines that were used mostly on launches.

          In 1910, the brothers switched production to a V-type engine with five-inch bore and four-inch stroke that had four cylinders.  They





also built some engines of six and 12 cylinders.  The engines were of dual-purpose - they could be used on speed boars or on bi-planes of the type the Wright Brothers had successfully tested at Kitty Hawk, N.C., in 1903.

          Harry Johnson, the dreamer, began to consider another use for the V-type engine.  It could be used, he thought, on a plane with only one set of wings.  But monoplanes had not proved successful as yet.

          That didn’t stop the Johnsons.  They decided to build their own monoplane so thay could test their engine in it.

          In 1910, the Johnson brothers built one - a wooden model which they managed to get above the ground by a few inches for a few mnutes at Terre Haute.  But it was too wobbly.  They junked it, saved the motor and began working on an all-metal plane.

          In 1911, they startled the residents of Terre Haute and nearby midwestern communities by putting their monoplane in the air and keeping it there.  Louis was the aviator and the only Johnson who ever flew the plane.  They had drawn lots to see which boy would do the flying.

          Louis flew the plane whenever the weather permitted.  Crowds gathered wherever the craft soared aloft and the curious ringed the plane when it alighted to see what the “iron bird” looked like.

          One of these was Ross Smith.    One day in 1911, Smith drew close to the plane and it caught him up in wave of excitement.  Thse were the horse and buggy days of flying and only the most daring of men would consider being an aviator.  Smith was one of these.

          He got into the plane, played with its controls, taxied it up and down the field for half an hour, then suddenly shot it upward into the air.  After 30 minutes of practicing, he was making his first solo flight.

          Ross Smith and the Johnson brothers’ monoplane went on to great acclaim in the next few years.  Smith and Julius Johnson displayed the craft at every opportuniy - at Fourth of July celebrations, festivals and most any other kind of gathering.

          The Johnsons started a flying school for young men and it turned into a lucrative business.  The monoplane and its fliers were invited to many exhibitions as sure-fire crowd-gatherers.  Among these was the Illinois State Fair, where the Johnsons received $2,200 for daily exhibitions of five minutes each for 14 days.

          As success came to the Johnsons, the Terre Haute Chamber of Commerce gave them financial baking for construction of a small factory building in 1911.  In it, both the inboard and the dual purpose V-type motors were produced.

          And then, calamity.





          In 1913, a tornado swept through Terre Haute and leveled the factory building, blowing away or wrecking patterns and castings, demolishing equipment.  All was lost.

          Back in their machne shop at home, the Johnsons began experimenting with a different kind of motor - a two-cylinder, air-cooled, opposed type that would produce two horse-power.  This small engine woiuld be used on motor bikes.  But in Terre Haute, the Johnsons could find no one who would give them the financial backing they needed for mass production of the new, smaller motor.

          After five years, Warren Ripple of South Bend, who owned the Action Ignition company and Hobart Marshall, an investor, financed the formation of the Johnson Motor Wheel company in quarters occupied in South Bend by Ripple’s ignition company.

          Between 1918 and 1920 th new Motor Wheel company mass produced the small bike motor the Johnsons had experimented with after the tornado in Terre Haute.  The company sold 17,000 of the motors in two years.

          Then Henry Ford came out with his Model T automobile that could be purchased for less money than a fender costs on some cars today.  That ended the bike motor business for the Johnsons.

          But the Johnsons once again demonstated an ability to bounce back from disaster.

          They changed the motor they had been building for bikes from an air-cooled, outboard type for boats.  In Warren Ripple’s old ignition company building, the Johnsons Outboard Motor company was born.

          The Johnson motor met instant success because it weighed only about 32 pounds while the other outboard types weighed about 100 pounds.  The Johnson motor had two horse-power and turned over at 2,250 evolutions per mnute.  It was the first outboard motor to exceed 800-900 RPMs successfully.

          Just before the Johnsons turned to the outboard boat motor, Julius left the company.  But Clarence, now 64, joined.  While Harry and Louis also now have retired, Clarence still is active with the company as head of the experimental department.

          In 1927, the entire cmpany was moved to Waukegan, Ill., where a new, modern factory had been built.  A few years later, the Johnson company consolidated with Outboard Marine.

          Back when the Johnsons still were in high school and their sister Lutie was at home, she attracted the attention of a young man named Warren Conover, a native of Terre Haute who was no mean hand with tools, himself.







          Conover spent many an hour with the Johnsons in their little machine shop, tinkering with machinery and tools.  When the Johnsons moved to South Bend and formed their Motor Wheel company, Conover went along as experimental engineer.

          Later, Conover became salesman and headed the service depatment.  In his last year with the company, 1934, he was quality control manager.  Conover’s son, W. Clay Conover, joined the Johnson firm in 1933 and now is chief engineer of the Outboard Marine firm.

          While the company was in South Bend, Conover had occason at times to go back to Terre Haute.  He would travel on the Pennsylvania Railroad.  One day on a return trip, the train stopped on the bridge over the Tippecanoe river near Delong.  Conover looked at the clear water of the Tippy and compared it to the dirtiness of the Wabash he had known in Terre Haute.  “This would be a good place to live,” he thought to himself.

          During the years before retirement, Conover and the Johnson boys vacationed frequently along the banks of the Tippy in Aubbeenaubbee township.  In 1924, Clarence Johnson and Conover fitted a small Johnson motor on a canoe, loaded it with provisions, put it into the Tippecanoe at the (old) U.S. 31 crossing north of Rocheter and traveled clear down to Terre Haute, joining the Wabash river north of Lafayette.

          In 1934, Harry Johnson and Conover, who had become fast friends during the years, retired from the company.  Remembering the enjoyment they’d had along the Tippy, moved to side-by-side properties on the north bank a few miles north and west of Leiters Ford and have lived there ever since.

          Some two years ago, the Smithsonian Institute in Washington, D.C., asked Harry and Julius Johnson to construct a scale model of the monoplane the brothers had built in Terre Haute.

          The two men spent almost two years in building a one-to-10 sized model n Harry’s garage.  It now is on display in the new National Air Museum, a part of the Smithsonian Institute in Washington.



James Rudd, Circ. Mgr.

News-Sentinel, May 2, 1960

          James G. Rudd today began his duties as circulation manager of The News-Sentine.  His employment was announced by Jack K. Overmyer, editor and business manager.  Rudd Succeeds Frank Harding, who has resigned.

          Rudd will be in charge of distributition and promotion of The







News-Sentinel.  He also will distribute The Indianapolis News locally.

          A resident of Rochester since 1945, Rudd graduated from Rochester high school in 1948.  He and his wife, the former Thelma Howard, reside three miles south of Rochester on Ind. 25 with their three children.  He has been employed in various sales capacities since graduation. - - - -



Pur Miller-Thompson

News-Sentinel, May 26, 1960

          The purchase of the Miller Brothers Auto Supply Inc., 625 Main street, was announced today by the new owners, Richard Miller and Donald Thompson of Rochester.

          The business will be operated under the name of Miller-Thompson Auto Parts Inc., beginning Wednesday.  It will occupy the same building as under the former owners, Otto and Hugh Miller.

          The Miller brothers thus will end a 40-year association with the business which they began as a repair shop Feb. 20, 1920, on the site now occupied by the fire station annex on East Seventh street.

          First known as Miller Brothers, the firm moved in 1925 to a building which was erected at 311 East Ninth sreet and which now is occupied by Neuhauser Hatcheries.  The business name was changed to Miller Brothers Auto Supply in 1930 and moved to the Main street address in 1945.

          Otto Miller resides at 1103 Jackson boulevard, Hugh Miller at 1201 Jefferson.  Neither has any immediate plans for the future.

          Richard Miller, one of the new co-owners, is the son of Mr. & Mrs. Otto Miller and has been associated with his father and uncle in the bsiness since his youth.  He and his wife, Sarah, reside at 1115 Wabash avenue.

          A graduate of Rochester high school,, Miller spent his years in the army during World War 11, four of those years overseas in the Caribbean and European theatres in ordinance duty.  He obtained his aircraft engine license from the National School of Aeronautics at Kansas City in 1941.

          Thompson, the other new co-owner, resides at 1104 Main sreet with hs wife, Marleah, and four children.  A native of Muskegon, Mich., he has lived in Rochester since 1948, moving here when the local plant of Sealed Power corporation opened.

          An employee of Sealed Power for the past 15 years, he was production manager of the Rochester plant until two years ago, when he became sales engineer for the firm.   He has resigned his post with







rhe corporation.

          Thompson is a member of the First Baptist church and serves on its building committee for a new church structure.

          The new owners said today that they intend to provde all service required in an auto parts store and will expand lines of merchandise at a later date.



A.E. Kitterman Res

News-Sentinel, June 3, 1960

          A family reunion was held recently in the home of Mr. & Mrs. A.E. Kitterman, who is the father of Mrs. Irene Simonin of Rochester, is 76 years old and has recently had a leg amputated.  However with the help of his two sons he is abe to operate his farm.

          Those attending were:   Mr. & Mrs. Basil Kitterman and family, Fowler; Jack Kitterman and family, Chalmers; Mrs. Michael McGraw and son, Brook, Mr. & Mrs. Edward Winelechter and family, Peru; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Maibauer and family, Mrs. Dale Carpenter and Mrs. Clarence Simonin and family, all of Rochester.

          The group also celebrated the birth anniversary of Mrs. Simonin.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, June 8, 1960

          Mrs. Mollie Alber, Logansport, who is 84 years old, received a gift as the oldest member of the Alber family in Indiana, present at the annual reunion.  A gift was also presented Gregory Allen, son of Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Alber, Rochester, who was the youngest member present.

          The 11th annual reunion was held in the Rochester City park, June 5.  Mrs. Marjorie Cauffman and Mrs. Marie Alber were re-elected president and secretary.  One death in the family, that of Sam Dague, was reported during the year.  Also one marriage, Ivan Dague and Thelma Marshall, Logansport.

          Those present were:   Mrs. Florence Hibbs, San Fernando Valley, Cal.; Debbie Hibbs, Talma; Mr. & Mrs. Ivan Dague, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Alber, Walton; Mrs. Mollie Alber, Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Johnson, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Johnson, Mrs. Charles Johnson, Jr., Miss Joan Johnson and Miss Gloria Komaniuk, all of Chicago; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Cauffman and family and James Glon, all of New Carlisle; Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Alber and family, Mrs. Shirley Alber and children, and Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber and family, all of Rochester.





Modernistic Beauty Salon

Closed by Ahlstroms

News-Sentinel, June 17, 1960

          Mr. & Mrs. Con Ahlstrom today announced the closing of their Modernistic Beauty Salon at 111 East Ninth street after 28 years because of Ahlstrom’s ill health.

          Ahlstrom has sustained several heart attacks in recent months and will not be able to resume work for an indefinite period.  The Ahlstroms plan to remain here at their home on east shore of Lake Manitou.

          One of the city’s first beauty shops, the Modernistic was opened in 1932 by Mrs. Ahlstrom, then Ilo Bastow of Rochester.  She was joined in the business by her husband after their marriage in August, 1933.  At that time, the shop was located at 110 East Eighth street in the building now occupied by the Rouch, Smiley and Clary Insurance Agency.

          The Ahlstroms bought the East Ninth street building in January, 1936, and moved the beauty shop to that location.

          Ahlstrom is a native of Sweden and came to the United States in 1918.  He received his training as beautician at the Marinellko Beauty School in Chicago, where Mrs. Ahlstrom also studied.

          The Ahlstroms plan to rent or to sell the building which their business occupied.




News-Sentinel, July 8, 1960

          The third annual reunion of the pupils and teachers of the old one-room scool at Mt. Zion was held on July 4 with 73 adults and children in attendance.  The reunion was held at the Van Duyne Block and Gravel company grounds.

          A basket dinner was served at the noon hour, with the Rev. Leroy Garner asking th blessing.

          After the bountiful community dinner the business meeting was conducted by the president, Mrs. Josephine Swihart.

          It was decided to continue to hold reunions on the 4th.

          Those who have deceased during the year are:   John Dawson, Henry Moore, Hazel Bower, Celia Shelton, Don Hoover and Grace Van Dunye.

          Officers were re-elected as follows:   Mrs. Josephine Swihart, prsident, Mrs. Fred Van Duyne, secretary-treasurer.

          Joe and Robert Van Duyne were given a note of thanks for







being hosts for the gathering.

          Former teachers present were: Fred Deardoff, Rich Gin, Marion; Ray Shelton, Rochester; and Von Mikesell, South Bend, who substituted for a month at one time.

          Prizes were awarded to Fred Deardoff, oldest teacher, Mrs. Emma Weaver, oldest pupil; Mrs. Lester Goodyear, formerly Edna Wood, the youngest pupil to attend Mt. Zion school.

          The president’s granddaughter, Louanna Flynn, Helena, Montana, was awarded the prize for coming the farthest, but wouldn’t accept the prize as she wasn’t a pupil at the school, so the prize went again to Joe Dixson, Graveland, Fla.

          Nancy Lee Noftsger, two months old daughter of Benny Dean Noftsger, was given the prize for being the youngest one present.

          Mr. Ginn received the door prize.

          Others in attendance from a distance were:   Mr. & Mrs. Fred Deardoff, Richmond; Mrs. Martha Peels, Franklin, O.; John Vanderwort,, Dayton, O.; William Dennis Combes, Polk City, Fla., Mr. & Mrs. Archie Timbers, Madison, Wis.; Mr. & Mrs. Henry Dixon, Auburn; Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Mikesell and son, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Leroy Garner and Mr. & Mrs. Walter Aughanbaugh, Walkerton; Mr. & Mrs. Rex Wood, Osceola; Josephnie Swihart and John Dixson, Elkhart; and Mr. & Mrs. Lester Goodyear of Churubusco.

          Local people present were:   Claude Butler, Mrs. Merble Chapman, Mrs. Ethel Smiley, Mrs. Lucile Macy and family, Mrs. Mabel Zimmerman, Mr. & Mrs. Chester Overmyer, Joan Overmyer, Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Weaver Sr., Mr. & Mrs. Robert Zellers Sr., Mrs. Arthur Fansler, Mrs. Dorothy Stong, Mrs. Benny Noftsgher and daughter, Mrs. Lois Holewiak and son, Jan, Ray Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Roscoe Conrad, Mr. & Mrs. Howard King, Mr. & Mrs. Donald King and children, Mr. & Mrs. William W. King, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Beaudoin, Mrs. Alice Wagoner, Mrs. Henry Moore and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. Joe Van Duyne, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Van Duyne, Mrs. Emma Weaver and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne.




News-Sentinel, July 13, 1960

          The 31st annual reunion of Former Rochester Normal University students was held at the clubhouse Sunday with 71 registered for dinner plus several afternoon guests.   The attendance was an increase of 2 over last year, proving that memories of the school and for old friends still are warm.






          The Rev. Harley Davis gave grace before the dinner.  Mayor Ray Myers gave the welcoming address.

          V.L. Barker of Fulton, president of the alumni group, presided.  A vote of thanks was extended to the club hosts and their co-workers for the delectable dinner and efficient service.

          The afternoon progam opened with group singing of “America,” led by Don Nafe with Mrs. Cleo Norris Ford at the piano.  Other songs were “Let Me Call You Sweetheart,” “I’ve Been Working on the Railroad,” and “In the Good Old Summertime.”

          Don Nafe sang “How Great Thou Art” with the group joining in on the chorus.  Prayer was offered by V.L. Barker.

          The secretary’s report was read and approved.  Cards from absent members were read.  All sent greetings and regrets.  E.A. Guise, president and owner of Tulsa Business College, sent the yearbook of his college.   A clever and amusing letter from Merritt Partridge was read.

          A beautiful clarinet duet was played by the Misses Julia Rose McCroskey and Marcia McDowell.

          V.L. Barker introduced David, 9, and Pam, 7, Leavell who completely captivated their audience with their delightful repertoire of singing and tap dancing in costume.

          The committee appointed last year to determine a memorial for “House Mother” Flo Delp gave its report.  It was recommended that a revolving scholarship fund be started for further educaion of youth.  The matter was tabled until the next meeting.

          A nominating committee consisting of Eula Berrier, Don Nafe and Robert Shafer announced the following officers for next year: J.L. Tombaugh, president; Clarence Adamson, vice-president, and Anna McVay, secretary-treasurer.

          Introductions were made by each former member.  Hugh McMahan gave a brief talk on senior citizens which was enlightening and entertaining.  Otto McMahan, E.L. Norris, Charles E. Lucas, Robert Shafer and several others talked briefly on timely subjects.

          To add a bit of humor, V.L. Barker gave a reading “Hunting A Bumblebee.”

          After singing “God Be With You Till We Meet Again,” the meeting was adjourned with all feeling that it was good to have been together.  The date for the next reunion will be announced later.

          Those present from Rochester and vicinity were:    Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McVay, Mr. & Mrs. Russel Smith, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Woodcox, Mrs. Reba Shore, Miss Belva Miller, Mrs. Eula Berrier, Mrs. Frank Bryant, Mrs. Minnie Cessna, Mrs. Lucille Leonard, Mrs. Charles




Stahl, Miss Emily Von Ehrenstein, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Myers, Mrs. Ada Sherbondy, Clarence Adamson, Sylvia Jewell, all of Rochester; V.L. Barker, Dessa Busenberg, Emma Becker, Dr. & Mrs. B.R. Kent, all of Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. Russel Smith, Mr. & Mrs. John E. Savage, B.J. and Edna Hurst, all of Macy; Mrs. R.C. Harrison, Mrs. Lula Clark Petty, Mr. & Mrs. Roy Gasoway, all of Peru; Lee Beehler, Sabra Rice, Mrs. John E. Croft, all of Logansport; Mrs. Golda Pollen, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Don Nafe, Ypselanti, Mich., Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn, Marion; Mrs. Cleo Ford, Claypool; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Deardorf and Mr. & Mrs. Harley Rogers, Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Lucas, Knox; Mr. & Mrs. Otto Babcock, Watterman, Ill.,; Ralph Miller, Kokomo; Dr. Mackey, Mr. & Mrs. Elmer Norris, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Babcock, Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. W.R. McClary, the Rev. Harley Davis, Hot Springs, Ark.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, July 29, 1960

          The tenth nnnual reunion of the Isaac Brooker family was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park.  Dinner was served to 60 members.

          After the dinner hour a business meeting was held.  Mrs. Grace Ruth of Burbank, Cal., was elected president; Mrs. Dean Neff, Rochester, vice-president, and Mrs. Nobelene Spencer, Rochester, secretary for the 1961 year.

          The oldest member present was Sam McKee, Argos, and the youngest was John William Snyder, son of Mr. & Mrs. Tom Snyder, Fort Wayne.

          It was decided to hold the next reunion on the 4th Sunday of August, 1961, at the Rochester park.

          The secretary’s report was given by Mrs. Sam McKee and the meeting was closed.  The afternoon was spent socially.



Fulton, Ind.

News-Sentinel, Aug. 1, 1960

          Fulton, recently a hubub of activity and growth, has added a new industry which will be in full operation within a month.

          The new company is the Midwest Coach and Manufacturing and Sales company.  It will operate in the old Bill Locke building in Fulton.

          President and owner of this company, which builds slide-in coaches for pickup trucks, is Jesse H. Melton of Lafayette.  Melton was a building contractor before starting his new business.







          The new company will feature custom-built coaches which will fit any pick-up truck.  A model coach is now being built to go on display to the purlic at its completion.

          At full production the company will turn out one coach every two days.

          The company hopes that it will eventually turn out a complete coach in one day’s time.

          The coaches will be made of pre-finished materials and are said to be ideal for a family or group which enjoys going on fishing, hunting or sight-seeing trips.  It has been called “a home away from home.”

          The coach features two bedrooms, full cooking facilities and polyfoam seats in the driver’s side.  It is equipped with six-volt, 12-volt and 110-volt lighting system.  The 6-foot 2 rising to 6-foot 8 ceiling gives the user a greater feeling of spaciousness.

          “The Settler,” the name of the model now under construction, is available in green, red, yellow, blue or white lifetime aluminium, with baked-on enamel on both sides of the exterior.

          It can be used the year around, and there are no traffic problems because the coach will go anywhere the truck will.  The user is also free of the worry of swaying on the highway, such as is experienced with a trailer.

          The coach may be easily removed from the truck when not in use.  It reportedly makes the ideal field office and also is said to be used for a canteen, guest home, and can be rented out for use.

          The only cost which the user experiences while on a trip is gasoline for the truck.  There is no worry about wide loads and special license plates for the coach, says the firm.

          The coach is seven feet wide and weighs approximately 900 pounds.  When production gets into full swing at the new Fulton factory, the coach will be available in various styles and price ranges.



Mrs. Ruth Bulger Res

News-Sentinel, Aug. 18, 1960

          Descendants of the late Milton and Nettie Thompson Wharton held their annual reunion Sunday at the home of Mrs. Ruth Bulger in Kewanna.  A carry-in dinner was served at the noon hour.  The blessing before the meal was asked by Susan Turner.

          During the afternoon a short business meeting was held.  Officers retained for1961 are:  president, Gladus Wharton, vice-president, Vern Wharton and secretary-treasurer, Susan Turner.  Letters wee read from Mrs. Mary Burch and Mrs. Edward Hoffman.





          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Robert Christman and sons, Claude and Tommy, Gary; Porter Wharton and Mr. & Mrs. Vern Wharton, Elkhart; Joe Kronwitter, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Lothaire Lake, North Judson; Mrs. Tina Wharton and Roy Wharton, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Harvey Turner and daughters, Susan and Sandra, Gladus Wharton and Frank Van Duyne, all of Kewanna.

          The 1961 reunion will be in the home of Mr. & Mrs. Vern Wharton of Elkhart.



REUN, Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, Aug. 18, 1960

          The 37th annual Hiland-Van Duyne reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park with 18 members present.  Mrs. Frank Hiland asked the blessing before the bounteous noon meal was served.

          The following officers were retained for another year:   president, N.M. Alber; Secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Alber.   Mrs. Nettie Haschel, the oldest member present, was voted honorary president.

          Mrs. Frank Van Duyne has passed away since in February and Larry Alber has joined the U.S. Air Force.

          Present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Reiff, Larwell; Mr. & Mrs. Rex Day, Flora; Mr.& Mrs. Russell Kauffman and children, Billy and Rory Gene, and Mr. & Mrs. Frank Hiland, Kewanna; Mrs. Dick Alber and Mr. & Mrs. Russell Overmyer, Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Edwin Olsen and Mrs. Haschel, Winamac; and Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber, Rochester.



Allen Keirn Res

News-Sentinel, Aug. 22, 1960

          Mr. & Mrs. Allen Keirn and family, Susan and Norris, entertained his family at a carry-in dinner and reunion, recently.

          Guests were:   Mrs. Jessie Keirn, Mr. & Mrs. Noel Keirn and son Eddie, Mr. & Mrs. Leo Sullivan, Mr. & Mrs. Grant Keirn, Mrs. Jerry Keirn and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. Max Keirn and children, all of Peru; Mr. & Mrs. Louie Smith and family, Chili; and Mr. & Mrs. Fritz Hauss and sons, Steve and Mike, Conga Park, Cal.










Richard Coplen Res

News-Sentinel, Aug. 22, 1960

          Mr. & Mrs. Richard Coplen and daughters entertained his family at their home Sunday for their annual reunion.

          Guests were Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Craig and family, Petersburg; Mr. & Mrs. Richard Waldo and family Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Dick Ireland and family, Mr. & Mrs. Bill Ireland and family, Kokomo; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Good, Mr. & Mrs. Herman Alderfer and family, all of Argos; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Freed and family, Plymouth; Mrs. Cora Coplen, Mr. & Mrs. Dale Coplen and family, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Coplen and daughter, Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Maurice Coplen and family, Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Coplen and family, Macy; Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Coplen and family, Mr. & Mrs. Dean Coplen and family, Warsaw; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Coplen and family, Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Gaston Coplen, Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Mikesell and family, Rochester; Perk Smith and Nancy Nichols.

          Lloyd Creakbaum of Claypool was an afternoon caller.



Pur DeBruler & Downs

News-Sentinel, Aug. 23, 1960

          Mrs. Marguerite Sirken announced today that she has sold her interest in Lockridge Studio Inc., to Robert DeBruler and William Downs and will join her husband, Dave Sirken, in the operation of their photographic distribution business here.

          The change will become effective early next month and will end 16 years’ association with the local professional photographic studio for Mrs. Sirken.  DeBruler and Downs now are co-owners of the business along with Mrs. Georgiana Lockridge McCormick of Grand Rapids, Mich.

          Mrs. Sirken and DeBruler purchased ownership in the business in 1951 following the death of the firm’s founder, Charles Lockridge.  Downs joined the business about a year later.

          Joan Fites of Akron has been employed as receptionist at the Sirkins’ office, 720 Main street.  The firm also operates a similar business in Winamac.

          Mrs. Sirken’s husband opened the distributive agency at 301 East Ninth street 18 months ago.  The firm distributes picture frames, Wedding photo albums and photo supplies and equipment over a five-state area.  Sirken and one salesman, Bob Waaland, call on accounts throughout the area.  Sirken spent 14 years in the photographic






business before openng the local firm.

          Mrs. Sirken will operate the local office, where Mrs. Gloria Ballenger and Benile Berry also are employed.



Gains Sculpting Fame

News-Sentinel, Aug. 29, 1960

          John Chamberlain, native of Rochester and the son of Claude (Toy) Chamberlain of this city, is a 33-year-old sculptor who has devised the ingenious use of steel and tin scraps for his work of art.

          His creations are gaining wide recognition among the abstractionists of the New York City area.  Earlier this year, the Rochester born artist and his work were fostered in a full-page layout in The New York Sunday News.

          John, who affects a Bohemian manner of dress, was shown in the attic of his home at Pomona, N.Y., assembling one of his smaller pieces of sculpture out of coffee cans and other tin scraps.

          Some of the artist’s works, valued at $2,500, were on display at the Martha Jackson gallery, 32 East 69th street.

          The news article stated that Chamberlain “subscribes to the theory that beauty is in the eyes of the beholder .  .  .  . He can look at a wrecked auto and discern the makings of a piece of sculpture.  Others are similarly impressed with his notions of art, and for three years now he’s been making a living out of scraps of steel and tin.  Chamberlain buys most of his art supplies at the local junk yard.”

          Dore Ashton, art critic of The New York Times, also commented upon Chamberlain’s work on the occasion of his show at the Jackson Gallery.  Ashton’s review included the following remarks.

          “Chamberlain was an art student at a time when American painting was in active, much-publicised ferment, when conventions were being tossed to the winds with alacrity, when a nucleus of avant garde painters shared a conviction that a new era was dawning.  The post war American painters needed to call a spade a spade and get rid of artifice.  And in this rvolutionary need the younger men rallied.

          Mr. Chamberlain in his manipulations of automoble wreckage undoubtedly benefitted from earlier college experiments in sculpture and by the revelation or unorthadox materials as ‘possible’, even in art.  But, he, too, has picked and chosen his stimult and emerged with a compelling style.  His work would be recognized even if it weren’t composed of bent, twisted and beaten elements retrieved from automobile graveyards.

          “It would be recognized by the peculiar, personal way he has of





grouping elements.  Mr. Chamberlain takes that which is virtually fragmented (as do many contemporary artists) and he puts it together again so that it becomes a convincing new entity.  A fender or exhaust pipe here or there, lacquered in elegant colors, is only secondary.  It is the new thing Mr. Chamberlain creates with them that strikes the viewer first.

          “His compositions are complex like shops.  They are robust, well scaled, generous in their contrasts.  A group of planes (large, skillfully shaped plates of steel), ranged close together and going deep into the center where there is a void, create mass.  But Mr. Chamberlain knows how to counterpoint this labyrinthine massing.  It is characteristic of almost all his sculptures that there is a flare of line arching out into space, establishing a compelling tension between the packs of heavy steel and the air about it.”

          Chamberlain formerly was art professor at Rocky Mount college in North Carolina and has been in the New York are for the past 10 years.  He attended high school in Chicago.



Paul Wheadon Res

News-Sentinel, Aug. 30, 1960

          The Lozier family reunion was held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Paul Wheadon, RR 5, Rochester, Sunday, with 30 in attendance, from Bourbon, Bremen, Rochester, Talma and Tippecanoe.  Officers elected for next year were:   Durward Fretz. president; Don Redman, vice-presedent; and Carol Lemler secretary-treasurer, all of the Bourbon area.



Van Trump Interestss Sold

News-Sentinel, Sept. 6, 1960

          The first break in the family ownership of The Barnhart Van Trump Company Inc., which has published The News-Sentinel since 1924, occurred Sept. 1 when Mrs. Elizabeth Van Trump, vice president, and daughter Mrs. Everett Lichtenwalter, sold their interests to Jack K. Overmyer and to the B-VT corporation.

          The controlling interest in the publishing firm now is held by Overmyer and Hugh A. Barnhart, president.  The announcement of the transaction was made today by Barnhart.

          Overmyer, who has been editor of The News-Sentinel since he joined the staff in 1952, has a contract to purchase additional shares of stock which in time will assure him of sole ownership.  He now is






treasurer of the corporation and will continue to serve in that capacity until an early reorganization meetng of the board of directors of the corporation.

          Mrs. Van Trump and Mrs. Lichtenwalter resigned as directors at a board meeting last Friday.  The other board members are Harry Jilbert, secretary, Mrs. Hugh Barnhart, Overmyer and Barnhart.

          Jilbert will continue as an officer of the organization and also as plant superintendent, a position he has held for the past eight years.  He will emphasize sakes promotion and production in the commerdial printing department.  Overmyer will continue as general manager of the business.

          The Barnhart-Ven Trump Company Inc., was born Dec. 1, 1924, with the consolidation of The Sentinel and The Daily News, the latter having been formed a year earlier out of a merger of The Republican and The Fulton County Sun.  Barnhart and Floyd Van Trump became owners of the new firm with the latter as superintendent and vice presidrnt.  Upon Van Trump’s death in 1956, his wife succeeded hm on the board of directors and in the vice presidency.

          Overmyer has been operating head of the firm as well as editor of The News-Sentinel since shortly after his return here in 1952.  Along with Jilbert, he has pomoted and carried out numerous mechanicl improvements in the plant.  He organzed a news staff and plant force resulting in a steadily improved daily newspaper and a top job printing department.  While active in civic affairs of the community, he has made The Sentinel an influential organ in civic progress.

          Overmyer is a native of Rochester and the son of Charles S. Overmyer, RR 2, Rochester.  He graduated from Rochester high school in 1941 and from Indiana University in 1946.  His newspaper career began on The News-Sentinel as a high school junior and contnued during his college career as sports editor of The Daily Student, campus newspaper, and as athletic publicity director for Indiana University’s news bureau.

          After leaving I.U., he spent six years as college sports reporter and continued for The Indianapolis Star before returnng to Rochester in 1952.  He is a past president of the Rochester Chamber of Commerce and a past president of the Kiwanis Club.

          He is a member of Sigma Delta Chi, national professional journalism fraternity, and has been active in the work of the Hoosier State Press Association.  He and his wife, Margery, reside at 701 Madison street with their four daughters.

          Barnhart will remain active in the publishing of the newspaper and promotion of the job printing department.  He now maintains his







office in the telephone building, 117 West Eighth street.

          His father, Henry A. Barnhart, purchased The Sentinel, then a weekly, in 1886 and made it a daily in 1896.   Floyd Van Trump learned the printing business under the elder Barnhart.  In 1913, Floyd and his brother, Harold, established their own priniing plant, later publishing both weekly and daily newspapers.  The consolidation took place after a lengthy newspaper war which at one period saw three weeklies and two dailies in Rochester.



Editorial by H.A.B.

News-Sentinel, Sept. 6, 1960

          For 36 years, The News-Sentinel has been published under the ownership of two families.  Consequently it is with sentmental feeling on the part of all concerned that such a close relationship comes to an end.  But time moves on, old faces disappear and new ones take over - which tells the story why this change has come about.

          Floyd Van Trump and the writer considaleted the newspapers of Rochester in another era and fathered it, along with a commercial printing department, through the depression and during years of ups and downs.  With Floyd’s passing, his wife, Elizabeth, carried on with whole-hearted effort and cooperation.  So ends a third of a century of working together without a disagreement or misunderstanding.  It is not easy to sever such ties.

          But a newspaper must look ahead and plan accordingly.  That is why Jack K. Overmyer came back to Rochester eight years ago and gradually assumed responsibilities both in editorship and in the business side of The Barnhart-Van Trump Company Inc.  Ably assosted by Harry Jilbert, superintendent, these two young men directed the corporation in modernizing the plant, purchasing the building and remodeling it.  At the same time they brought in active young men and women to the news staff and an able plant and office force.  We believe that The News-Sentinel is the best manned as well as the most progressive today than at any time in its history.

          Under this new ownership we know our newspaper will continue to improve.  We expect it more and more to assert leadership in community affairs and to join with all other progressive groups in helping Fulton county and the Rochester community grow bigger and better in every way.

          Looking ahead after all these years we believe that our future policy can best be stated as it was in our first issue, Dec. 1, 1924, when we said:








          “Politically, The News-Sentinel will be Independent.  By this it means that all political and other news rgardles of party or individuals will be printed in story form exactly as the reporters get it, giving both sides to every case.  Editorially politics will not be indulged in.  Rather the aim of the publishers will be to give constructive criticism to the city and county in a way which will help the entire community.  A newspaper which does away with factional fights, keeps its columns clean and avoids personalities surely can play an important part in making a clan and progressive city.”

          We part with old business associates with regret but with appreciative memories of working closely together for many years.  We look forward to our new association, which will gradually assume all responsibilties, with new hopes, new plans, new ideas and new approaches that will result in ever continued progress.




Plans New Business

News-Sentinel, Sept. 14, 1960

          Francis (Hass) Carrithers, former supermarket owner in Fulton, currently is remodeling two buildings for business use there.

          The former telephone office will house a coin operated laundromat, Carrithers said.  Workmen are now at work on the building, and Carrithers plans to open the business the first part of next month.

          The second building is adjacent to the Clover Farms market, and has had much of the remodeling work done on it.  Carrithers said he has had “three or four” chances to rent the latter building but plans to wait until he opens his new business before making a final decision about it.

          Carrithers said his laundromat will have 24 washers and eight dryers and will be open 24 hours a day.

          Several other new or revamped businesses have opened in Fulton wthin recent months, with a branch of the First National Bank of Rochester due to open there in the near future as well.



Geo. Townsend Res

News-Sentinel, Sept. 15, 1960

          The third annual Musselman reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. George Townsend and family.  A baslet dinnerr was served at noon followed by contests and games led by Mrs. Ethel






Rhoades and Mrs. Pauline Musselman.

          A short business meeting was conducted by president, Wayne Musselman.  The secretary-treasurer’s report was given by Mrs. Wayne Musselman.  Offcers for the coming year are:   president, Lee Ehlinger and secretary, Mrs. Lee Ehlinger.

          Those attending were Mrs. Tressie Towne, Mr. & Mrs. John Musselman and sons, Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Musselman and sons, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Musselman sons of Twelve Mile; Mr. & Mrs. Roy Musselman and family, Mr. & Mrs. Lee Ehliinger, Mr. & Mrs. Byron Townes and family, Mr. & Mrs. Donald Rush and family, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Rush and family, Mrs. Flossi Rush and Guy Books of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Arlo Rhoades, Norman Rhoades and Carol; Steelemyre of Logansport; and Mr. & Mrs. Dale Warren and family of Argos.

          The 1961 reunion will be at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Donald Rush.



Roch City Park

News-Sentinel, Sept. 28 1960

          Officers elected for the coming year at the Reese reunion in the Rochester City Park were:   president, Leroy Eshelman; vice-president Buryl Reese and secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Wayne Baker.

          A carry-in dinner was served at noon and in the afternoon games and contests were conducted.  Prizes were won by Mr. & Mrs. Mike Carlson and Mr.& Mrs. Harold Smith.  Miss Elane Reese read stories to the small children.

          Those attending were:   Mr. & Mrs. Buryl Reese. Mr. & Mrs. Harold Reese and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Albert Eshelman, Mr. & Mrs. Leroy Eshelman and daughtre, Mrs. John Eshelman and sons, Mr. & Mrs. Gene Reese and family, Mr. & Mrs. Dale Fish and family, and Mrs. Fred Reese, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Dick Reese and family and Mr. & Mrs. Lloyd Rese, Macy; Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Reese and family, Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Maynard Reese and son, Argos; Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Baker and family, Mentone; Mr. & Mrs. Harold Smith, Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Don Walker and daughters, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Myron Carlson and sons, Valparaiso; Mr. & Mrs. Forest Guiselman Jr., and son, Culver; and Mr. & Mrs. Don Hagan, Mishawaka.












Clifford McCroskey Res

News-Sentinel, Oct. 7, 1960

          The annual reunion of the McCroskey family was held in thecountry home of Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Mc Croskey with 35 present.

          Those attending were:   Mr. & Mrs. Lester McCroskey, Knox; Mr. & Mrs. Paul Rouch and family, Peru; Mrs. Alta Crabbs, Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Lorning McKenzie, Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Cecil McCroskey, Mr. & Mrs. Harley McCroskey; Mr. & Mrs. Carl McCroskey, Mr. & Mrs. Gerald McCroskey and family and Mr. & Mrs. Dean McCroskey and family, all of Rochester, and Mr. & Mrs. Randall McCroskey and family, Bertha McCroskey, Sarah McCroskey, Bessie Michael and Mattie Keel, all of Fulton.



Arthur Shafer, Mgr.

News-Sentinel, Oct. 8, 1960

          Arthur Shafer, son of Mr. & Mrs. Verl Shafer of Liberty township, will be the manager of the new Fulton branch of the First National Bank of Rochester, President Robert Foellinger said today.

          Shafer, a graduate of Fulton high school, has been employed for the past seven years at the First Bank and Trust company in South Bend.

          Foellinger also said that Ralph Johnston of Union township, former county clerk, also is to be employedf at the Fulton branch.  Johnston presently is teaching school at Grass Creek.

          Shafer presently is on the staff at the local bank until the Fulton buildng is ready for ccupancy.  Foellinger said that remodeling work now is under way there.


Manitou Beauty Shop

Half-Interest Purchased

News-Sentinel, Oct. 10, 1960

          Helen Gaumer, owner of the Manitou Beauty Shop at 712 Main street, announced today that she has sold haf-interest in the firm to Mrs. Belle Raymer Bailey.  The change of ownership in the business, which is the city’s oldest beauty shop, becomes effective next Monday.

          Mrs. Bailey, wife of E.M. (Bill) Bailey, RR 2, Rochester, has been associated with the shop at various periods since Miss Gaumer purchased it in 1937.  She has been employed there the past four years, since returning to Rochester from Lafayette.  She had operated her own shop in the latter city and also worked in the Marinello shop





of the Hotel Fowler there.

          The Manitou shop first was opened 30 years ago in its present location, below Bailey’s hardware.  Mrs. Bailey and Miss Gaumer were classmates in the same beauty school at Logansport.

          Mrs. James Kirby of Rochester also is an operator at the shop.


Ditmire Funeral Home

R.L. Davdson, Partner

News-Sentinel, Nov. 1, 1960

          Richard L. Davidson, former Rochester resident, announced today that he has purchased an interest in the Ditmire Funeral Home at Fulton.

          The name of the firm will be changed to Ditmire and Davidson funeral home.  Ralph Ditmire will be an active partner with Davidson.  Mrs. Marie Ditmire, widow of Gene Ditmire, will contine to reside at the home and assist in running the business.

          Davidson, 28, is a graduate of Rochester high school and the Indiana College of Mortuary Science at Indianapolis.  He has been employed at the Larrison funeral home in Converse.  Davidson is a licensed embalmer and funeral director.

          A veteran of two years’ Army duty, Davidson is a member of the Rochester Masonic lodge and the Converse Methodist church.  He and his wife, the former Phyllis Neff of Rochester, are the parents of one daughter, Judith Ann, 5.

          The Davidsons will move to Fulton as soon as housing is obtained.    



Moves to New Building

News-Sentinel, Nov. 25, 1960

          The Torrington Manufacturing Company was to move into its new plant at the east edge of the city this mornng.

          Manager Joe Jacobs said that the long awaited transferral of operations from temporary quarters at 419 Main street would be made without interruption of manufacturng. - - - -


Oakwood Apartments

Pur Phil C. Meltzer

News-Sentinel, Dec. 1, 1960

          The Oakwood Apartment building on East Ninth street has been purchased at public auction by Phil C. Meltzer, 2611 Lincoln Avenue, Chicago.  This announcement was made here today by Don Norris,





who has been resident manager of the building.

          Meltzer was among 10 persons who made bids for the property at an auction conducted by the Federal Housing Administration in Indianapolis Nov. 18.  All of the bidders were from outide Rochester, said Norris.

          Meltzer said that he plans to open Oakwood for rentals after the transaction is finalized, which likely will be sometime in February.

          The 15-unit apartment bulding was erected in 1948 by a group of local businessmen who obtained FHA assistance to raise the required funds.  It had been owned by a series of persons afterward until last June 30, when the FHA took possession of the property from the Mid-City Investment company of Gary.

          FHA had announced at the time that it would dispose of the building by auction sale.  Oakwood has been closed for the last five months pending its disposition at auction.


Kewanna Metal Splties

New Company

News-Sentinel, Dec. 2, 1960

          Kewanna Metal Specialties Inc., has been organized to manufacture metal stampings and wire forms of all types at Kewanna.

          Announcement of the firm’s addition to the town’s industries was made Thursday by Garland Masterson, secretary of the Kewanna Progressive Association.

          Incorporators of the new firm are Robert Harmon, toolmaker and former plant manager at Logansport; Carl Saunders, Logansport insurance man, and Wayne Strasser, Winamac mail carrier.  Harman will be plant manager and will move to Kewanna soon.  The other two men will be associated with the company on a part-time basis.

          The firm is expected to start operation withn a week at the Shull welding shop building. - - - - -



Reopening Roch Plant

News-Sentinel, Dec. 22, 1960

          Topps Manufacturing company will re-open its Rochester plant at Main and Fifth streets on Monday, Jan. 9, it was announced today by Seymour Elin, executive vice-president in charge of prodction.

          The garment firm will begin interviews with prospective women employees on Tuesday.   Elin said that about 40 workers would be hired. - -- - Topps is returning to the Rochester plant after a 3-year absence at Edmonton, Ky. - - - -











Herman Boone, Mgr  7


John Russell, Meat   41


pur Mrs. Gerald Knauff  106


800 Expected  8


Moves Into New Bldg  62


Roch City Park  9, 78, 129


Nyona Lake  11


Opens Monday  101


Long, Manager Again  92


Pur Crystal Dairies  99


Roch City Park  10


Under Construction  6


Shipped All Over U.S.A.  105


George Baker Home  20


Plymouth Park  55


Opened by Roy Hill  46

Pur Larry Evans  31


Visits Fulton County  17


Montgomery Ward Head  116


First Game Here, 1897  37

Roch High School  40


Charles Batz Home  27


Buys Warehouse  7


Pur Acme Circus Op Co  16


Pur Baxter Drugs Inc.  1


New Location Soon  33


Opens by Wayne Hittle  29


Closing Out  85


$200,000 loss  2

Social Center is Gone  3


Roch City Park  16, 133


New Firm  76


pur Bldg at Main & 4th  90


Pur Vere Calvin  93


Oldest Ind Practicing Atty  70


Gains Sculpting Fame  137


Sells Animal Act  51


Sgt. W.S. Gray  49

Clifford McCroskey Res

News-Sentinel, Oct. 7, 1960  143


Conservn Club House  79


Charlie Bowers  49

Duke Ellington  77

Richard Maltby  18

To Become Youth Camp  91


Roch City Park  17, 58, 81


Open Furniture Store  101


Richard Coplen Res  136


Fred Rhodes, Prof Emer.  46


Marvin Heltzel Res  52


Roch City Park  19, 61, 81


Opens Law Office  72


54 Yrs a Dr. & a Friend  86

Ditmire Funeral Home

R.L. Davdson, Partner  144


L.D. Thousand Home  85

Thousand Res  31


Guy Books, Retires  37


Charlie Davis Band  34


Roch City Park  113

Fashion Beauty Salon

Moved  44

Pur Marie Foster  42


Pur George R. (Bud) Rouch  91

Fenstermaker Reun

Ralph Helt Home  63, 84


Reappears Here  122


Arthur Shafer, Mgr  143

Foley’s Watch Repair

Opens Shop at E. 7th  43

Foster Funeral Home

Pur Int J.D. Good  44


John Exaver, President  84


Pur Pete Terpstra  33


Plans New Business  141


Fred Van Duyne Res  28


To Close Out  94


Roch City Park  60


CORPS Closed Down  93


Roch City Park  64

Hart, Schaffner & Marx

Executives to set up factory  121


Pur Earl Hizer  106



REUN, Roch City Park  135

Hiland-Van Duyne Reun

Roch City Park  20


Roch City Park  28


Gets Local Outlet  123


Empl, Clarence Hill  32


Pur Milk Plant Bldg  56


Howard Weir Res  28

Jack’s Sandwich Shop

Pur Ruth & Alice Tetzlaff  84


Changes Mgr  1

Jennings Motors Corp

Nelson Leaves Firm  76


Makers of Motors  124


Bert Davos Home  27

Jess Thompson Home  63


To Open in Talma  54


Allen Keirn Res  135

Kewanna Metal Splties

New Company  145


On Radio and TV  58


A.E. Kitterman Res  129


Pur Lee Sharpe  8


Roch City Park  83, 113

Will Leiter Home  21

Will Leiter Summer Res.  21


Strawberry Festival  104


Pur DeBruler & Downs  136

Purchase Home Studio  7

Logansport Mach Bldg

Pur, Hart, Schaffner & Marx  119


Paul Wheadon Res  138


Mahler Home, Delong  57

Manitou Beauty Shop

Half-Interest Purchased  143

Manitou Music Co.

Opening Saturday  6


Moved  41


Letter From Doomed Jap  98


Clifford McCroskey Res  143


Bert Gillespie Res  53


Pur Wallace DeMien  77


Roch City Park  10, 52


Fulton, Ind.  133


Roch City Park  113


Pur Miller-Thompson  128


Everett Gardiner Res  112

Miller-Jones Shoe Store

Raymond DeFord Moved  122


Shop Opens  64

Modernistic Beauty Salon

Closed by Ahlstroms  130


School Reun  106


Reun  130


Geo. Townsend Res  141


Harvest Corn  74

Pick Corn  90


Carl Van Trump, Retires  12

Editorial by H.A.B.  140

James Rudd, Circ. Mgr  127

Van Trump Interestss Sold  138


Carl Miller Opens  31


Pur Lucille Mahoney  101


Pur Don Overmyer  74

Oakwood Apartments

Pur Phil C. Meltzer  144


Pur Gary Firm  37


Winamac State Park  109


Pur Jerome Geise  46


Pur Arnold Norrises  77


Roch City Park  61

Perschbaher Reun

Roch City Park  21


Roch City Park  14, 110


Pur Sengers  76


Macy Students  45


Floyd M. Christman  75

Roch Agency to Close  103


H.J. Lease, Home  60


Roch City Park  115, 142


James Rhinehart Home  70


“George M. Riddle”  73


Construction Begins  123

RinderKnecht Motors

Pur Jack F. Slagle  5


Izaak Walton Clubhse  14

Roch Canng Co Bldgs

pur Robert P. Moore  42


REUN  108


Clubhouse  131

Isaac Walton Clubhouse  55


Kline & Baldwin  30


Pur Russell Moore  116


Haworth Full Owner  45


Pur Gustav Tatter  82


Dr. Hal P. Bybee  41


1896 with 149 Customers  67

Automatic Dial  64

Dean L. Barnhart, Dir  94

Million Dollar Firm  64

Tully Pontious  22


Pur Lyman Baker  5


Vern Rush Home  30


Clarence Hill Resigns  32


New Store Opens  63


Roch City Park  22


Fred Van Duyne Home  114


Shidaker Bros. Res  115


Pur Clifford Alderfer  102


Pur Tom Baldwin  53


Chas. Walters Home  29


Roch City Park  22, 62


Denny Smith Home  9

Henry Alspach Home  111


Pur Lester Caupp  111


Boyscout Camp, Roch  55

Stephens-Fansler Reun

Trailes Inn Park  18


Pur Charles Stewart  34

Pur Nickles Bakeries  114


In New Buildings  73


Roch’s Newest Industry  2


Moving  48


Reopening Roch Plant  145


Moves to New Building  144

Torrington Mfg. Co.

Joseph E. Jacob, Mgr  118


Closing in Roch  91

U.S. 31

To Be DuaLLaned  95


Barnhart Elected Pres.  89


Fred Van Duyne Home  18


Office Opened  51

W. Mason Abstracts

Pur by George Deamer  15


South Bend Park  16, 57


Overmyer Home  61

Walter Peters Res  111


Mrs. Ruth Bulger Res  134

Roch City Park  26


Fee Changes  105


Roch City Park  15, 57


A Pioneer Departs  102




























Special Thanks to Jack K. Overmyer for suggesting the title.


Wendell C. Tombaugh












700 Pontiac Street

Rochester, Indiana 46975









This book, and all other Tombaugh books, are available at no charge on

//www.fulco.lib.in.us/      (Fulton County Public Library website)