Fulton County, Indiana


From The Rochester News-Sentinel


Selected, copied and indexed by Wendell C. Tombaugh

Special thanks to Jack K. Overmyer for suggesting the Title..

=       =       =       =       =       =       =       =       =       =       =



Pur. F. Johnson

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 3, 1951

          Ford Johnson has closed his restaurant in Akron and purchased the Main Tavern there from Everett Smith, it was announced today.  Possession has already been given.

          Mrs. Charles Lotz, who was employed at the Johnson restaurant, has accepted employment in the Eat Rite Cafe in Akron.



Truck Stop

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 10, 1951

          Sale of the Glory Inn Truck Stop, located north of Rochester on 31 by the Tippecanoe River bridge, to Mrs. Flossie Coop, formerly of Kokomo, was announced today.

          Mrs. Coop, who was a restaurant operator in Kokomo about 14 years ago, purchased the establishment from Mrs. Martha Alber.

          Alterations will include the name, which is to become, in the near future, Rainbow Inn. - - - -



Lee Beehler

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 13, 1951

          Lee Beehler, of Richland Center, is once again connected with the Engle Tractor Sales, Rochester, as a mechanic, it was announced today.

          Beehler has four years experience on John Bean wheel balancers, visualiners and frame straighteners and is one of the best operators in Indiana, company officials said.




Pur Howard Fred

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 15, 1951

          The Smokehouse, 711 Main street, was under new ownership today.

          The sale was made by Harold Lowe, Cities Service bulk manager here, to Howard Fred,, World War 11 veteran and former Kingsbuty policeman.

          Lowe, who has owned it since 1940, said the business was sold so that he could devote more time to Cities Service.

          No changes are planned, either to the name or the business, Fred announced.



Mrs. Ora Foster

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 17, 1951

          Mrs. Ora Foster today announces that the Foster Funeral Home, 128 West 6th street this city will continue in operation.  The business has been established here for a quarter of a century.  Mr. Foster, founder, passed away the forepart of last week. - - - -



New Factory Bldg

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 18, 1951

          - - - - This new building will house a spacious branch of the Joyner Corp. which already has modern factories in Bourbon and Warsaw, Ind.  This corp., which manufactures parts for both radio and television equipment, already has a branch factory in operation in the Kepler building, 120-22 East Eighth street, this city, where an average of 250 persons are given year around employment.  - - - -



E.R. Woodcox, Mgr.

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 19, 1951

          Rochester relatives today received news of the appointment of E.R. Woodcox, as manager of the Armour Creameries plant at Bismark, N.D.  Mr. Woodcox, a former employee of the Armour branch here in Rochester, is the son of Ray Woodcox, of this city.

          He began working for Armours here in 1937.  In 1944 he moved to Lincoln, Ill., where he was assistant manager of the firm’s


plant in that city and later accepted an assistant manager’s post with the company at Woodstock, Okla.  Mr. Woodcox is married and has two sons.



SHOP, Closes

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 24, 1951

          The Twin Beauty Shop, located at 824-1/2 Main street for the past nine years, is going out of business.

          Mrs. Robert Tirrell, operator, her husband, and their family have announced that they are moving to South Bend the latter part of this month, where he is employed.

          A similar shop may be opened there at a later date.



Covering & Drapes

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 31, 1951

          Rochester born Floyd Kindig, who started out 22 years ago as a stock boy for M. Wile & Sons, and later worked his way up to manager of the department store, has resigned that position to start his own firm.

          Kindig said today he would open a floor covering and drapery speialists concern at 109 E. Ninth Stret late nexr week.  The building, owned by Con Ahlstrom, formerly housed Kirk’s wallpaper and Paint Store.  - - - - -



Kewanna Branch

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 3, 1951

          Kewanna’s new branch of the Topps Mfg. Co., will start production Monday.

          For the first week, only three to six girls will be working at the garment factory but more employees are expected to be hired later, until the branch is on a full production basis.

          At present, there are 26 machines in the factory and more are scheduled to be added.  First garments to be manufactured will be white aprons.






Pur, Vernie Bowen

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 12, 1951

          Charles Wyland, proprietor of The Village Hardware and Supply Store of Leiters Ford, today announces the sale of this well-equipped hardware and sportsmen store to Vernie Bowen and his son, Richard.  The Bowens took over full control of the business at noon today.

          The elder Bowen, resides in East Chicago, Ind. where he is a teacher in the Washington H.S.  His son and family who have already taken up their residency in Leiters has been engaged in business in Crown Point, Ind. for several years.

          Vernie Bowen was born and reared in the Richland Center community and is well known to Fulton county residents.

          Mr. Wyland, who has operated the hardware business for the past five years has not announced his plans for the future.        



Partnership Formed

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 13, 1951

          George Chimes, owner of the Hawkins Cafe on Main street, announced today the forming of a partnership with Mrs. Goldie Hindel, former resident here.

          Mrs. Hindel was born in this county and owned the Hawkins Cafe in 1946.  She has been operating Goldie’s Grill in Plymouth.

          Mrs. Hindel said she would also cook and bake at the restaurant, which will keep its same name and continue service for both the Lions and Kiwanis clubs.

          Chimes bought the restaurant Jan. 2, 1950, from Walton Challman.



Hittle & Lamberti

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 15, 1951

          Two Rochester residents became American Citizens in the Fulton Circuit court today.

    They were:

          Mrs. Ada Alice Young Hittle, 517 Ohio Street, who came to the United States from the British Isles July 17, 1926, and Clara Lamberti an Austrian, who came to this country March 15, 1935, with the Ringling Bros. Circus. - - - -



Mgt., Floyd Grogg

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 16, 1951   

          Mrs. Ora Foster today announces that she has secured the service of Floyd Grogg, of Akron, to assist in the management of the Foster Funeral Home, this city.

          Mr. Grogg is a graduate of the Indiana School of Mortuary Science and is a licensed embalmer and funeral director.

          Mr. & Mrs. Grogg have taken up their residency in Rochester at 130 West 8th street.



Ft. Wayne Paper

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 16, 1951

          A former Rochester baseball and basketball star, Ray Mowe, was one of a group of former baseball stars who were featured in a picture carried in today’s edition of the Fort Wayne Journal Gazette.  The old-time baseball notables were honored guests at a Sports Night event sponsored by the Wayne Transportation Club, Wednesday evening.  Mr. Mowe played in both major and minor leagues in the East, a number of years ago.  His position was shortstop.



His Telegraphy

The News-Sentinel, March 7, 1951

          In the March edition of Railroad, a national magazine devoted to the interest of the railroad, appears an interesting article by Floyd J. Mattice, of Washington, D.C., a former resident of this city.

          The forepart of his featured story reviews Japanese railroading methods.  Mr. Mattice was stationed in Japan immediately following the end of World War 11, where he was a member of the International Tribunal for the Far East, at Tokyo, which tried the Japanese war criminals.

          The former local man was a railroader in his earlier days and also was telegraph dispatcher for several years.  In relating his experiences the article states:

          “ I learned telegraphy while clerk on the Lake Erie and Western R.R.  These were my first real jobs.  In those days telephones were few, he recalls.  Crews were called by a boy on a bicycle.  I worked at Lima, Ohio.  One night the first station to the northeast asked for help


to put out a big fire.  A special train was ordered to the town with the Lima fire fighting equipment.  The boss gave me this message to deliver verbally to each crew member I routed from a warm bed about 3 o’clock in the cold morning:

          “ ‘Jump in your clothes as quick as you can.  There’s a fire at Beaver Dam.’

          “ I learned telegraphy while I was playing with a line strung between the homes of several boys with no intention of ever working at it . . . .   One evening the LE&W chief dispatcher who lived next door to me beckoned me over to the fence and said he wanted me to go to Bluffton on No. 2 to relieve a sick operator.

          “ ‘Why, I couldn’t do that,’ I protested.   ‘I’ve never worked a telegraph job in my life.’

          “ But he persuaded me and I went . . . I got along fine until 1 a.m. when the dispatcher called me saying, ‘31 copy 3.’   It was a meet order for an eastbound and a westbound passenger train No. 3, on which my father was conductor, and my brother was brakeman.

          “ That gave the usual buck fever.  I could read the DS all right but couldn’t write it down.  He was very patient, however, and I finally got it down, repeated the order and received his OK.  I was proud of that order.  When my father came in to sign it, I asked him to keep his copy for me.  I still have it.

          “ During my high school days I worked as relief operator and station agent.  On one occasion I relieved the night Op at Red Key, Ind.  The day man didn’t show up so I handled the next 12 hour trick also, and even all of the second night, and the next day and far into the third night.

          “ By that time I was more than a little drowsy.  Noting there were no trains on schedule, I decided to grab a few hours sleep.  The Panhandle crossed the LE&W at that point.  I set our hand-operated target across our track, put out my red order board, lay down with my ears close to the sounder, and was soon sleeping.

          “ Finally, away off in the distaance, I heard the dispatcher calling RK, and I answered him.  He asked me what time Extra East engine 57 went by.  I saw someone had swung the target gate around off the Lake Erie track, and I knew somehing had gone through.  ‘It must have just gone by,’ I said to myself.  Guessing at the time, I Osed the extra by about five minutes previous to his call.

          “ The dispatcher then accused me of having been asleep, which of course I denied.  He then inquired how much of a train it was.  He


had me there; I hadn’t seen it.  When I said I hadn’t noticed he called me a liar, saying it was a light extra.  It had coasted down in front of the station using no steam, without waking me up.  Afterward the conductor told me that he had seen me asleep, had checked to see that there was nothing written on order blank forms 31 or 19, and had decided that I put the board out and set the target to get some shuteye.  So they swung the target and went on through.  Guess that episode was not reported to the super. . . .  On March 17. 1897, the night that Fitzsimmons won the heavy-weight crown by defeating Corbett in 14 rounds at Carson City, Nev., Western Union kept the public informed with a blow by blow account sent out over a special wire.  Among the subscribers to that was the Oak Saloon and Cafe at Lima, O.

          “ Mattice recalls: An operator stationed on the inside balcony was kept busy copying the bulletins on a typewriter.  Each bulletin ended with a statement as to who had won that round.   Knowing the Morse code, I knew who had won the round before the op pulled the sheet out of his mill.  I won all bets.  Then, laying money on the bar, I told them how it was a lead pipe cinch for me.  For just about the only time in my life I had been betting on a sure thing.



Implement Store  

The News-Sentinel, March 10, 1951

          Plans to expand the Charles Van Meter Implement Store in Kewanna were announced Friday afternoon.

          The new structure, covering an area of 2,400 square feet, is to be added to the east side of the present building on Main street there.

          It will house a modern machine shop for repairing, rebuilding and re-painting tractors and farm machinery.



Public Library

The News-Sentinel, March 13, 1951

          The story of the Rochester-Fulton County Library will be told throughout The United States this week by the Library Journal, a national magazine published twice monthly at New York City.

          The story, one of a series sponsored by a Rhode Island manufacturer of Buckrams for library re-binding, is accompanied by a photo of the building and a picture of Librarian Mrs. Walter Mason.

          Contents of the story that will be released this week is as follows:


          “The Rochester, Indiana Library was established in 1904 through the efforts of the Woman’s Club, the University Extension Club, and other interested citizens.

          “Books were first housed in the court house.  Later, a gift was secured from Andrew Carnegie and in 1907, the present building was dedicated.  The library served Rochester and Rochester Township until 1921, when, through the action of the Library Board and the County Commissioners, a county district was added and it became the Rochester-Fulton County Library.

          “A survey of the district was made by the librarian and it was decided that a branch library would be best for the town of Fulton and surrounding territory.

          “A bookmobile was purchased to visit the towns and schools of the remainder of the county district.  This bookmobile was one of the first in the United States to serve library patrons from shelves inside the body.  The third especially built bookmobile is now being used.

          “The population served is 11,442.  The book collection totals 28,078.  The circulation of books and magazines from 1950 was 128,952.  Noteworthy was the number of books borrowed from the bookmobile - 79,174.  Miss Ruth Sotherland and an assistant are in charge of the bookmobile and make all the trips.

          “Mrs. Walter Mason, Librarian since 1912, attended DePauw University and received her library training at the University of Wisconsin Library School.

          “She is a member of ALA, has been secretary of the Indiana Library Association, has served on various committees, and has spoken at state library meetings in Indiana and Ohio.

          “A County Library Survey by Mrs. Mason was published in a number of library periodicals and is included in the book ‘Countywide Library Service’ edited by Ethel M. Fair.”



L.H. Stewart, Mgr.

The News-Sentinel, March 13, 1951

          O.B. Putterbaugh, co-owner of the Rochester Building Service, announced today the appointment of Lewis H. Stewart as managr of the firm’s Rochester office and yards.

          Stewart was formerly connected with the Rochester Lumber Company and later owned his own lumber firm at the south edge of Rochester.



Tom Baldwin, Sales

The News-Sentinel, March 15, 1951

          John Sawyer of the Sawyer Motor Sales, this city today announces that he has employed Tom Baldwin, as head of the Dodge Sales department.

          Mr. Baldwin, World War 11 veteran and head of the American Legion Post, this city, formerly held managerial positions with the Larry Furniture and Gast Furniture stores in this city.

          He will be in charge of the sales division of both passenger autos and trucks as well as the used car department.  His territory will be all of Fulton county, it was stated.

          Mr. & Mrs. Baldwin and family reside in their own home on West 8th street, this city.



Art Kennedy, Cir

The News-Sentinel, March 15, 1951

          Arthur G. Kennedy, of Rochester, will assume a combination position of news reporter and circulation manager of The News-Sentinel it was announced today.  He has resigned his position as route man with the Modern Dairy and will take up his new work in about two weeks.  Kennedy who is a well-known softball and baseball player and basketball fan will write sports and general news.  He will be in charge of all carriers and motor route drivers for The News-Sentinel and Indianapolis News.

          Omar Torrence, who has been circulation manager of The News-Sentinel for more than a year, has accepted a positionj with the Gast Furniture Center and will start work there on the 21st.



T. Klapp, Mgr.

The News-Sentinel, March 19, 1951

          Karl Gast of the Gast Furniture Center, this city, today announces that Theodore Klapp, of Knox, Ind., has accepted a position as manager of the Gast Furniture Center.  He assumed his duties at the local furniture and appliances store Friday, March 16.

          Mr. Klapp served 13 years with the Foster Furniture Co., of Logansport, and for the past two years he was manager of the Knox Furniture Co., of Knox.  He has had nearly a score of years of


experience in all departments of the furniture and appliances business.

          Mr. & Mrs. Klapp are the parents of two girls and a boy.  The family plans to take up their permanent residency in this city just as soon as school is out at Knox.


Evening. Sentinel

April 5, 1902

The News-Sentinel, March 20, 1951

          A copy of The Evening Sentinel of April 5, 1902 was brought into The News-Sentinel oiffice recently by Russell and Rex Richards.  They had found the issue yellowed with age, among the belongings of their late father Charles J. Richards and the two men were of the opinion that it had been put away by their grandmother, Mrs. Leah Cravens.  Russell Richards is a resident of Georgia and Rex is in the upholstery business here in Rochester.

          The issue carried the story of the death of Major Bitters, editor of the Rochester Republican.  Along with the story was editorial comment by Henry A. Barnhart, editor of The Sentinel, and public opinion expressed by many of the leading citizens of that time.  These included H.L. Essick, W.A. Ward, C.C. Wolf, Jos. A. Myers, L. Conner, M. Wile, Enoch Myers, W.H. Banta, A.H. Robbins, and Val Zimmerman, Sr.

          In the news items was a story about the Holden Comedy Company coming to the Academy of Music the following week, of a fine concert given by the Citizen’s Band at the theatre, and of the bright outlook for Rochester Normal University which had an enrollment of over 200.

          In the personals were items telling that Dawson & Richter and Alex Ruh’s Drug Store had both openedf up their soda fountains for the summer season, that Ira Goss visited the Union Mills before returning to his studies at Wabash College, that Roy Deniston left for Wabash College, and the comment that two young Rochester fellows were refused a drink at a bar in Leiters Ford because of their smart talk.

          In the advertisements the Racket Clothing Store offered high grade suits at $7.50 to $15.00, Alex Ruh said he would keep his soda fountain open every day despite rain, snow, sleet, hot or coild.    Eggs were bringing 12c per dozen and butter 16c per pound, and a special sale at the South Side Clothing Store offered $2.50 men’s hats at $1.75 and $1.00 hats for 75c.



WBBM Radio Play

The News-Sentinel, March 24, 1951

          Linda Lou Lukens, the nine year old talented daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Rolland Lukens, northeast of Rochester, was one of the child stars in a radio play Sunday afternoon.

          The title of the play was “The Feeling of Power” and was a part of the “Today is Ours” program.  The show was on WBBM, and was broadcast over CBA from the studio in the Wrigley Building in Chicago.

          She played the part of Shirley, a little girl, who was being imposed upon by a boy.  According to critics she played her part without a flaw and needed no help from sponsors.  There were 15 persons in the cast.

          Linda Lue is on the call list of WBBM for future presentations over the air



Pur, Gene Winks

The News-Sentinel, March 30, 1951

          Gene Winks, Columbia City athletic official and sporting goods salesman for the past seven years, has purchased Jack’s Sport Spot, Ninth and Main streets.

          Jack Brubaker, 820 Jefferson St., who established the firm here several years ago, has accepted a position at the Kingsbury Ordinance Plant fire department, at LaPorte.

          He and his family will continue to live in Rochester however.

          Winks, who officiated at the Rochester sectional and other local games this year, has already taken possession of the sporting goods store and plans to open the firm Saturday.

          An employee of the Main Auto Supply, his sales territory included Fulton county.



Pur. Grant Felder

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 3, 1951

          Announcement has been made of the sale of the Kewanna Hardware Store, by Mrs. Helen Shine to Grant Feldr, a farmer of the same vicinity.  The transaction was made on March 22.

          Mrs. Shine will remain as an employee to assist for a while.



Pur. M. Sadowsky

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 5, 1951

          Mr. & Mrs. Maurice Sadowsky have purchased the Ventura Inn on the north shore of Lake Manitou, on route 14, from Mr. & Mrs. Joseph Ewing.

          Included in the sale of the Inn are nine lots of the Ventura Park addition.  Mr. & Mrs. Sadowsky are also the owners of the Ventura Apartments.

          Mr. Sadowsky announces he has leased the Inn to Alfred Thornburg, Marion, a caterer, for operation.



Bremen Iron & Metal

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 7, 1951

          A spokesman for the Bremen Iron & Metal Co., in Bremen, dislosed today they had purchased the old Budlong pickle factory located west of the Rochester Canning Co., along the Erie railroad and were planning to use it as a scrap iron collecting point.

          The land had formerly belonged to Mr. & Mrs. Charles Spohn and their son and daughter-in-law, formerly of here, now residing at Plymouth.

          The Bremen firm said today it would be some time before the property could be used for its new purpose.  It will be necessary to install some handling equipment, howver the buildings will be left intact according to present plans.



Pur. For Auto Sales

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 10, 1951

          J.H. Sullivan, San Pierre, and A. Norris, North Judson, have purchased the Hudkins building in Kewanna and plan to open a business to be known as the Kewanna Automotive Sales and Service.

          The new firm will do all types of repairs, including body work.  They will also do welding in the field and in the shop.  The families of the men plan to move to Kewanna when accommodations can be found.






F.L. Moore

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 11, 1951

          F.L. Moore, of Goodland, announced today he is opening a shoe repair shop in the Roy Crownover building at 115 E. 9th street.  Mr. Moore is married and has a family.

          A World War 11 veteran, he has been in the shoe repair business for the past five years.  All of his work is guaranteed.

          The family will move here as soon as suitable quarters can be found.



Aid E. Young fam.

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 11, 1951

          A large group of men and women, friends and neighbors of the Everett Young family, whose farm home was destroyed by fire a few days ago are assisting the Youngs in getting established in the Fred Hartle home near Mt. Hope, north of Leiters.

          The men are engaged in the cleaning up the debris from the fire at the Young homeplace while most of them members of the Mt. Hope church and Leiters Ford Methodist church WSCS are engaged in cleaning up and helping furnish the Hartle residence for the Youngs.  Today noon a community dinner was served to all of the voluntary workers by the members of two mentioned churches.

          The Youngs plan to rebuild at their homesite this spring.



Routes Based Here

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 12, 1951

          Officials of the Ward Baking Co., announced today that Rochester will be the starting point for all their route deliveries in this area.  The new plan is now in effect.

          Route supervisors, Dick Holsinger and Frank Stilp said today the company has procured new trucks which are being quartered at the John McLochlin garage for the routes.  The territory extends north to Argos, east to Columbia City, south to Logansport, west to Reynolds and northwest to San Pierre.

          The Ward garage was formerly at Logansport.  There will be seven new families seeking housing here in Rochester now.




Pur. Jennings Wade

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 13, 1951

          The Gilead store has been purchased by Mr. & Mrs. Jnnings Wade of that community from Mr. & Mrs. Cecil Silveus.  The exchange of their homes was also involved in the deal.  The Wades will take possession of the store May 9.



Pur. A. VonDeilingen

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 14, 1951

          Arthur Van Delingen, owner of the old Fulton Leader, prior to 1942, has purchased the Gas City Journal from Robert Cribb.

          Von Deilingen was business manager of the Journal two years prior to the purchase.



Pur. J.C. Metzger

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 23, 1951

          Joseph C. Metzger, of Silver Lake, has purchased the Rochester Poultry Co., located at 409 Main Street, from Mr. & Mrs. N.O. Nelson.  The new owner took possession today.

          Mr. Metzger has been in the poultry buying business at Silver Lake for the past seven years.  He will close his station there and consolidate all operations in the Rochester plant.

          Mr. & Mrs. Nelson have been residents of this city for 28 years, coming here from Warsaw.  They started their poultry buying station seven years ago.  Their plans for the immediate future are indefinite.

          Mr. Metzger will be assisted in the operation of the plant by his two sons.



Shop Moves

The News-Sentinel, May 2, 1951

          Reid Lough, pioneer barber of the city has moved his shop to a one story building situated at 119 E. 6th Street.  Reid, who has been barbering in Rochester for nearly a score of years, was formerly located over the Cownover Jewelry store.






The News-Sentinel, May 3, 1951

          A formal opening of Walter Kelsey’s cafe and tavern is to be held Friday evening at Monterey.  Mr. Kelsey has secured an orchestra for this event.

          His place of business was practically destroyed by fire a few months ago.  Those who have seen his new establishment state it is more elaborately furnished and decorated.  Mr. Kelsey was formerly a conservation officer for Fulton county.



For Sale

The News-Sentinel, May 9, 1951

          Omer Hott, proprietor of the Hott Grocery and Market is advertising an auction sale of his fixtures and stock.  The sale will begin 1:30 p.m. Wednesday, May 18th.  Kenneth Wyant, auctioneer, of Noblesville, Ind. will have charge of the sale.

          The Hotts came here from Kewanna about a year ago.  Their store is located on the southeast corner of E. Ninth and Monroe street and was formerly known as the Ewing grocery and market.



Buys Bldg

The News-Sentinel, May 10, 1951

          Announcement has been made of the sale of the building now housing “Richie’s Coffee Cup” restaurant at 114 East Eighth street, to the Rochester Farmers Mutual Insurance Co.  The sale was made by Robert Richardson, now of Fort Lauderdale, Fla.  It is leased to Mrs. Billie Mae Musselman, operator of the restaurant.

          According to insurance company officials, the building was purchased as an investment and with a view of perhaps in the future of using it in an enlargement program for the company.  Several months ago the company bought the Holman and Bernetha building west of the one purchased this week.

          The restaurant building just purchased has a frontage of 22 feet and depth of 61 feet.  It was the one-time publishing site of the old “Rochester Daily Republican” which was operated there for approximately 50 years.




To Be Sold

The News-Sentinel, May 10, 1951

          In a probate court action, Mary Emmons, as administratrix of the estate of the late Chester B. Emmons, has been granted permission to sell the State Road Cafe in Kewanna

          The sale was made, privately, to Dale Felts for the sum of $1,175.



In Akron Sold

The News-Sentinel, May 11, 1951

          Judge Kline Reed, Thursday, approved the sale of two town lots in Akron by Gwendolyn Harting, Helen Utter and Virginia Pike as executrixes of the estate of their parents, the late D.A. Pikes.  Lot 39 in the Northwood addition was sold to Guy and Mignon Bahney and Lot 36 in Citizen’s addition to Howard and Helen Utter.



Opens in Akron

The News-Sentinel, May 17, 1951

          A new shoe store was opened in Akron Wednesday,. Albert Barnes, who has conducted a shoe repairing shop for many years in Akron, has changed his shop considerably to accommodate a new supply of Bradley shoes.

          The repair shop equipment was moved to the rear of the room which is just north of the post office on North Mishawaka street in Akron.  New oak shelving was built on both sides of the walls to hold the shoe boxes.  Also new tan leather upholstered chairs were installed.

          Mr. Barnes stated that he will handle a complete line of shoes for every member of the family.  His supply arrived Wednesday and he is now open for business.



New Plant on Wed.

The News-Sentinel, May 18, 1951

          The Rochester branch plant of the Joyner Corp., of Bourbon will close down its east Eighth street factory at midnight tonight and immediately thereafter begin moving its equipment in the new factory building on South Wabash street in the Manitou Heights addition.


          James Leakey, of this city, one of the officials of the corporation, stated today that work in the new building would get underway at 7 a.m. DST, on Wednesday, May 23rd.  Approximately 100 employes are working at the Rochester factory which is operating two shifts. - - -



Van Hotel, Princeton

The News-Sentinel, May 21, 1951

          Mr. & Mrs. George J. Haldy, owners of the Karn Hotel, announced today that they had completed arrangements for the purhase of the Van Hotel, Princeton, Ind.

          Mrs. Haldy, who was Miss Etta Emmons prior to her marriage in 1948, had operated the Karn Hotel here since 1931, taking over from the Burza Jones, of Bloomington, Ill., making many major improvements in the service and accommodations. - - - -

          It is understood that the Karn is for sale, and Mrs. Haldy states that she will remain in Rochester to continue the business until a suitable purchaser is found. - -- -



pur. Hugh McMahan

The News-Sentinel, May 23, 1951

          The Karn hotel will change hands here today.  It was declared that Mr. & Mrs. Hugh McMahan, who have owned the Arlington Hotel for the past twenty years have completed details for the purchase of the Karn and will take possession today.  The McMhans will continue to operate both hotels.- - - -



“Tiny” Hill

The News-Sentinel, May 23, 1951

          Dave Shafer announced today that Colonial hotel, long a favorite retreat for Hoosiers on Lake Manitou, would stage its gala opening next Tuesday, May 29.

          “Tiny” Hill, who terms himself “the biggest leader in band business”, will start the season. - - - -






Pur. Parker & Smiti

The News-Sentinel, May 23, 1951

          Philip J. Parker, of route two, akron, and Clay Smith of this city, today announced they have purchased the Engle Tractor Sales agency on South Main street.  This firm is reprsentative for the Ford Tractor and Dearborn Farm Equipment machinery supplies.  The new name of the firm will be Manitou Farm Equipment Co.

          The transaction took place Tesday, May 22. - - - -




The News-Sentinel, June 8, 1951

          The Turner Sister millinery store which has been located over the Crownover Jewelry store on Main street for the past few years, will move into new quarters in the Dillon building on July 1st.

          The local milliners have leased the rooms formerly occupied by the Maleta Beauty Shop.  This new location will be directly over the Bailey Brothers Hardware in the 700 block Main street.




The News-Sentinel, June 12, 1951

          Joe Ewing today announced that he has leased his business building corner of E. 9th and Monroe street to Alvin (Shorty) Nuell for a period of five years.

          Nuell, who operates a tavern and lunch room a few doors east of this location in the Campbell building, will soon move the tavern to the corner location.

          The Ewing building is undergoing repairs and remodeling and will be ready for occupancy by Aug. 1.  It was formerly occupied by the Hott grocery and market.



E.G. Kennedy home

The News-Sentinel, June 13, 1951

          The Kennedy family reunion was held Sunday, June 10th, at the home of E.G. Kennedy, Route 5.

          This year 55 members and friends were present.  A basket dinner was served at the noon hour with games and visiting enjoyed by



          The 1952 reunion will be held at the summer home of Dr. Von L. Kennedy Eagle Lake, Edwardsburg, Michigan.



Johnny Long

The News-Sentinel, June 14, 1951

          With the appearance tonight of Johnny Long and his famed orchestra, the Colonial Hotel starts a series of dates featuring the nation’s top bands. - - - -



To Be Abandoned

The News-Sentinel, June 22, 1951

          The end of the Winona Railway Company, which in years gone by did a thriving passenger and freight business, is now only a question of days.  The interurban line once ran through the eastern part of Fulton county and served Akron patrons.  More recently it has been in use only from Warsaw to New Paris but now this will be abandoned by suthorization of the Interstate Commerce Commission in Washington.

          The original trolley road was built from Peru to Elkhart and had stations from Akron, Mentone, Warsaw, Goshen and to Elkhart.  The section from Peru to Warsaw was abandoned in 1947, and the rails torn up.  The section north of Warsaw was built in 1904 and south in 1910.

          A petition for abandonment was made a year ago but turned down by the ICC.   The system will end all freight service as soon as arrangements are made for other railroads to serve shippers.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, June 27, 1951

          The Harmon reunion was held Sunday at the city park.  A basket dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour followed by the business meeting.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Fred Harmon and family, Roann; Mr. & Mrs. Estel Harmon and son, Roann; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Harmon, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Willis Harmon and family, Mr. & Mrs. Allen Harmon and family, Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Earl Harmon, Gilead, Mr. & Mrs. John Harmon, of North Manchster; Mr. & Mrs.


Calvin Harmonj and family, Silver Lake; Mr. & Mrs. Oscar Harmon and family Wabash; Miss Icey Harmon, Akron; Mrs. Lowell Harmon, Peru; Mrs. Eda Carver, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Kercher, Marie and Marjorie, Gilead; Mr. & Mrs. Lemoine Kercher, Kay and Richard, Gilead; Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Kercher and Forest of Macy; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Hill and family, Rochester; Charles Grogg and family, Akronj; Mr & Mrs. Floyd Grogg and family, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Martin Kercher, Lafayette; Mr. & Mrs. George Klein and family, Gilead; Mr. & Mrs. Ellis Klein and Larry, Akron; Chester Morris and Arlene, Akron; and Mrs. Mary (Ferdinand) and husband, North Manchester.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, June 27, 1951

          The 31st annual McCay reunion was held in the city park Sunday, June 12.  A carry-in dinner was served at the noon hour after which games and contests were enjoyed by the young people.  Ice cream and lemonade was served by the president, Guy Smith of South Bend.

          During the business meeting Ora McCay of Indianapolis was elected president for the coming year, Hobart Wilson, vice president and Mrs. Floyd Van Meter, secretary and treasurer.

          There were 89 present from Indianapolis, Columbus, Forest, Kokomo, South Bend, Donaldson, Mishawaka, Phoenix, Ariz., and Rochester.



Am. Legion Home

The News-Sentinel, July 3, 1951

          The 22nd annual Rochester college reunion was held at the American Legion Home, Sunday July 1.

          Prayer was offered by Estil Ginn of Marion, Ind.

          A delicious ham dinner was then served by the ladies of the Auxiliary to 61 former students and friends.  The small tables were decorated with lovely garden flowers.

          After dinner Mrs. Carsn McGuire, at the piano, presented two of her vocal students, Miss Virginia Overmyer and Lynn Iler in a progam of solos and duets.  They showed decided talent and were enjoyed very much by those who were present.

          This was followed by Miss Carol Mitchell with her puppet show


and chalk talks, which proved highly entertaining and showed that this young lady really has something.  She was assisted by her brother, Bob.

          During short talks given by all present, tributes were paid to Dr. W.S. Shafer, founder of the college, and to Professors W.H. Banta and George Suman, who were the heads of the teaching staff.  Many of the speakers stressed the importance of the college in giving them opportunities for education which would otherwise not have been available.  Mrs. Eula Berrier read a clipping from a Redlands, Calif., paper, telling of the work and retirement of Henry O. Robinson, a former Rochester College student.  Mr. Robinson was a teacher in the Redlands Woodshop Junior High School for 30 years.  He is a brother of Mrs. Lulu Piper of route one, Rochester.

          Miss Flo Delp then read a number of cards and letters expressing regrets from those who could not be present.

          Officers for the next year are Err Biddinger, president; and Mrs. A.E. Stinson, secretary-treasurer.  This year’s officers were O.M. Miller, president and Mr. Dee Berrier, secretary-treasurer.

          It was decided to hold the next reunion the first Sunday in July, 1952, probably at the same place.

          Thanks were conveyed to the ladies oif the Auxiliary.

          The following is a list of those present for this very pleasant occasion.

          Logansport - Mr. & Mrs. Lee Beehler, Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Conrad, Mrs. John Kroft, Susan Rice and Junior Conrad.

          Rochester - Mrs. Dee Berrier, Mr. & Mrs. Err Biddinger, Mrs. Edith Bryant, Mrs. Clara Clemens, Mrs. Mary Clifton, Mrs. Eunice Coplen, Flo Delp, George Felder, Mrs. Eva Fore, Mr. & Mrs. Dow Haimbaugh, Mrs. Lucille Leonard, Mr. & Mrs. O.M. Miller, Mr. & Mrs. Bert Myers, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Myers, Miss Lucretia Rea, Mrs. Zoe Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Mr. & Mrs. A.B. Shore, Mr. & Mrs. J.L. Tombaugh, Mrs. John Cessna, Mr. & Mrs. Tom McMahan and Mr. & Mrs. Otto McMahan.

          New Castle - Mr. & Mrs. H.E. Conn.

          Richmond - Mr. & Mrs. Fred Deardorff.

          Fort Wayne - Mrs. Bertha Doty, Mr. & Mrs. Ray B. Mowe and Mr. & Mrs. Floyd Neff.

          Marion - Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn.

          Plymouth - Mrs. Jennie (Keen) Jones.

          Indianapolis - Mr. & Mrs. Harry Mackey.


          Joliet, Ill. - Mrs. Glen McLemore.

          Kewanna - Mrs. Vause Polen (Goldie Taylor)

          Ambia - Mr. & Mrs. Clyde Richardson.

          Akron - Mr. & Mrs. Amos Sanders.

          Athens - Dr. & Mrs. A.E. Stinson.

          Culver - Mr. & Mrs. Charles Lucas.

          Afternoon guests were Mrs. Emma Haimbaugh, Glen Smiley, Milford, Ill., Mrs. David Swihart and Mrs. Kermit Biddinger



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, July 3, 1951

          Sevemty-five descendants of Fletcher Ambler, of Macy, met together for a fried-chicken dinner Sunday at the Rochester City park.  After the dinner pictures were taken of various four-generation groups and of the five direct descendants.  The remainder of the afternoon was spent socially.

          Although this was the first time all the children and grandchildren of Mr. Ambler have been together, the group plans to make this reunion an annual affair, and will meet again next summer in Rochester.

          The five sisters and brothers who attended were Mrs. Nora Kennedy of Red Key; Mr. Charles Ambler, Rochester; Frank Ambler, Hammond; Mrs. Eva Ogden, Red Ky; and Pete Ambler, Rochester.  Other members of the family attended from Lafayette, Gary and Otterbein.



Visits Parents Here

The News-Sentinel, July 5, 1951

          Rev. Leslie Ross, who is enroute from Needles, Calif., to Nashville, Tenn., made a brief visit here Tuesday and Wednesday with his parents, Mr. & Mrs. Omer Ross.  Rev. Ross left at noon today for Nashville, where he will become field secretary for the Methodist General Board of Evangelism.

          His new work will carry him to all parts of the United States.  Mrs. Ross and their three boys, Lee, Stephen and Jonathan, will join him at Nashville.  Leslie is a graduate of RHS class of 1932.





Quackenbush Home

The News-Sentinel, July 6, 1951

          The Polley family reunion was held last Sunday, July 1, at the lake home of Mr. & Mrs. Charles Quackenbush, of Lake Manitou.

          A lovely lawn dinner was served at noon, and the afternoon was spent socially.



Pur., C.P. Casey

The News-Sentinel, July 7, 1951

          A new name has joined the Rochester business family:  C.P. Casey, formerly of Chicago and son-in-law of Dr. T.P. Cook, prominent Fulton county veterinarian, has purchased the Standard service station at Main street and Third.

          The station, operated by Luther Keel, will continue under the new owner next week.

          Keel has accepted a position with the Jones Candy Co. wholesale confectioners in this area.



Adams Grove

The News-Sentinel, July 7, 1951

          The 18th annual Steininger reunion was held July 4th at Adams Grove.  There were 76 members of the Steininger families present, and one guest, Mrs. Maine Stichler.

          After a delicious dinner served at the noon hour, a business meeting was cnducted by the president, George Steininger.  Officers elected for the coming year were Irwin Steininger, president; Clarence Hiatt, vice-president; and Mrs. Dwight Steininger, secretary-treasurer.         Two marriages and six births were reported in the family during the last year.  The oldest person present was William Steininger, age 81, and the youngest was David Leroy Culp, age 11 mo.  The family traveling the longest distance was the Rev. & Mrs. Vern Barker from Redmond, Oregon.  The group voted to hold the reunion at the same place next year.

          A short program was presented consisting of songs, recitations, and readings.  Ice cream was served to all at the close of the day.





Opening July 12

The News-Sentinel, July 10, 1951

          One of the finest roller skating rinks, the Roll-O-Waltz, located a mile and a quarter north of this city on U.S. 31 will open for business Thursday evening, July 12th.

          This new recreational business, situate on 28 acres of what was once known as the Waymire farm, is owned and managed by Mr. & Mrs. Robert Waltz, of this city.

          The building which is 140 by 60 feet is of concrete block and steel sructure, with an arched-type self supporting steel roof.  The skating floor is of beautiful maple hardwood and the decoration throughout the spacious structure is in cream tan and darker shades of brown. - - - - -



M. Carbiener home

The News-Sentinel, July 12, 1951

          The 35th annual Cook reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Marvin Carbiener near Bremen with Mrs. Anna Kaley as hostess.

          The forty-eight relatives present enjoyed a basket dinner at the noon hour.  Gerald Bernhard entertained with several violin solos.  The remainder of the afternoon was spent socially.

          The 1952 reunion will be held with the Muriel Cook family of Culver, Frank Cook, of LaPorte, and Josphine Adams, of Culver, were re-elected president and secretary-treasurer, respectively.

          Those present were Mr. & Mrs. W.E. Cook, Judy Cook, Mr. & Mrs. Walter Cook and family, Mrs. Anna Kaley, Mr. & Mrs. Earl Bernhard, Mrs. Charles Bernhard, of South Bend, Mr. & Mrs. Ed Durliat and daughter and John Durliat of Custer, Ohio, Mrs. Joe Amberg and daughter of Mishawaka, Mrs. Carl Sheafer and son, Mr. & Mrs. Ellsworth Hess and daughters of Plymouth, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Overmyer, Mr. & Mrs. Dan Cook, Mr. & Mrs. Edgar Haney and family, Mr. & Mrs. Eldrith Cook and family of Rochester, and Mr. & Mrs. Marvin Carbiener and sons of Bremen.







Roch. City Park

The News-Sentinel, July 14, 1951

          The 12th annual reunion of the Isreal Overmyer family was held recently at the Rochester City Park with 51 present.  A basket dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour and the day was spent socially.

          A short business meeting was held, and the following officers of this year’s reunion were elected for 1952:   Mrs. N.M. Alber, president; and Mr. Orville Long, Secretary-Treasurer.  The group also voted to hold the reunion next year at the Winamac city park.

          Three daughters and one son of Isreal Overmyer are living from a family of 13 children.  The son, Fred, of Denver, Colo. was unable to attend the reunion.   The three daughters were present:   Mrs. Harriet Young, aged 90, who resides with her daughter, Mrs. J  Reinholt of near Delong; Mrs.Della Smith, Rochester, and Mrs. Guy Smith, Tiosa.

          Other members of the family present were Mr. & Mrs. Cecil Lewis, Rensselaer; Mr. & Mrs. John Reinholt and Mrs. Harriet Young of Culver; Mr. & Mrs. Guy Smith, Mrs. Otto Kath, Mr. & Mrs. Orval Long, Mrs. Sarah Barnhart, Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber and sons, and Mrs. Dalla Smith, of Rochester Fred Young of Winamac; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Marshall and sons of Three Oaks, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Riff and sons of Larwill; Mr. & Mrs. Glen Reid and sons of Columbia City; Mr. & Mrs. Sheldon Leiter, Pierceton; Geo. Overmyer and Mr. & Mrs. Henry Overmyer, Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Raymond Overmyer, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Chas. Dunfee, Mr. & Mrs. Joe Dunfee and Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Wing of Stillwell, and Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Spier and family of LaPorte.



Begins Here July 23

The News-Sentinel, July 17 , 1951

          Announcement was made today from the offices of the Indiana Gas & Water Co., at Indianapolis, that natural gas would be turned into the main at Rochester on next Monday, July 23rd.  At the same time Argos, Plymouth, Warsaw and many other northern towns will be served with natural gas in keeping with the overall program for conversion now under way.

          The Northern Indiana Public Service Company has an agreement to purchase the property of the IG&W, when approval is given by the Indiana Public Service Commission, NIPSCO will furnish                                         (25)

the natural gas from its mains out of Lake County to South Bend via Plymouth and Argos.  At present they sell the gas to IG&W wholesale.

          The IG&W officials stated today they will have two crews, totaling 25 men, in Rochester next Monday morning to make the necessary changes on all appliances so that the natural gas can be used with the greatest efficiency.  They will also check all gas equipment in each house or business places and see that all is in good working condition.  This will be done by the IG&W and without cost to the gas customers.

          Gas users will be able to keep their appliances going with manufactured mixed or natural gas during the changeover.  The conversion work will be completed here in about a week.



Roch. City Park

The News-Sentinel, July 17 , 1951

          The fourth annual Shriver reunion was held July 15 at the Rochester city park, with 91 present.  A delicious dinner was served at the noon hour.

          In the afternoon ice cream was served, and a very interesting program was enjoyed.  Larry Blackburn, Kokomo, played his accordian and Orabelle Kotterman and Harry Dale Shriver sang.

          Officers for the coming year were elected:   president, Jessie Shriver; secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Ida Hartman.  Guests attended from Durand, Mich., Niles, Mich., Culver, Plymouth, Kokomo, Akron and Rochester.

          The reunion will be held next year at Rochester city park on the 3rd Sunday in July.



Being Remodeled

The News-Sentinel, July 18 , 1951

          One of the oldest mercantile establishments in this section of the state still under the same ownership, will set a new style mark soon.  The building of William Schoonover and Sons, Argos department store, is being remodeled and a new front installed.

          The store, in keeping with the tradition of more than a half century of community service, will be modeled along the classic lines of American colonial, with shutters at the second floor windows.

          William Schoonover purchased the building in 1883 to set up a


general merchandise business, and built the north portion at that time.  The south half was erected in 1865.  Mr. Schoonover and his three sons, Burwell, Alonzo and Charles operated the business until the death of the father.  The three sons took over the business until Burwell and Charles died.  Alonzo, now 88, remained active in the store until gradually failing strength forced his retirement a few years ago.  Lon, as he is better known in Argos, still keeps a watchful eye on the affairs of the firm, now operated by his niece Mrs. George Tate, the former Helen Schoonover, and nephew, Charles, Jr.

          The work will be completed in about three weeks.



Plymouth Park

The News-Sentinel, July 18 , 1951

          The 35th annual reunion of the Kimble family was held at Centennial Park in Plymouth, Sunday.  The following officers were elected:   president, Erma Kimble, South Bend; vice-president, Roy Kimble, Plymouth, and secretary-treasurer, Wanda Marrow, Rochester.  Out-going president is George Kimble, of Rochester.

          Mollie Rouch, 86, of Fulton, was the oldest person present at the reunion, and the youngest, Mickey Dean Holloway, nine months, of Rochester.   Nolen Kimble, Kewanna, traveled the farthest.



Ford Agency

The News-Sentinel, July 19, 1951

          Mr. & Mrs. Vern Jennings announced that they have completed the arrangements to purchase the two-story building at 602 N. Main street.  The building has been occupied by the Jennings Motors, local Ford agency, for a number of years.

          The former owner was Mrs. Bessie Bowers of Indianapolis.

          No sale price was made public.



Closing Down

The News-Sentinel, July 20, 1951

          Mrs. Billie Mae Musselman, owner of the Coffee Cup lunch room, 114 East 8th street, this city, today is advertising to sell the well-known restaurant.  Mrs. Musselman, who has been in ill health for the past several weeks is entering a clinic at Terre Haute, Monday, for


observation and treatment.

          The business will be closed down this coming Sunday for an indefinite period,, the owner stated in an interview today.  Mrs. Musselman has operated the cafe for a little over a year.



Reun, City Park

The News-Sentinel, July 20, 1951

          The 27th annual Conrad-Bray reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester city park.  A bountiful basket dinner was served at noon.

          A business meeting was held in the afternoon, with Melvin Bray as president, and Mrs. Florence Hibbs as secretary-treasurer.   It was voted to retain these officers for next year.

          Gifts were given to Mr. & Mrs. Jay Kingery of Elma, Washington for coming the longest distance; to Mrs. Dora Conrad, Logansport, for being the oldest; and to David Glen Winegardner, son of Mr. & Mrs. Victor Winegardner, of Logansport, as the youngest.  The remainder of the afternoon was spent socially, with plenty of ice cream and pop for all.

          Eighty-two were present for the reunion, including the following from Rochester:   Mr. & Mrs. Herman Alber and family, Mr. & Mrs. Thurle Alber and sons, Mr. & Mrs. John Alber, Mr. & Mrs. Norvanna Alber and sons, and Mr. & Mrs. Morris Hibbs; and Mr. & Mrs. Luther Sheets and Mr. & Mrs. Richard Showley and daughter, of Fulton.  Others were present from Kansas; Los Angeles, Calif., Logansport; Walton; Twelve Mile; Lucerne; Hammond; South Bend, and Niles, Mich.

          The group voted to hold the reunion next year at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Mel Bray, of Niles, Mich.



E. Haney Home

The News-Sentinel, July 20, 1951

          The 26th annual reunion of the Ezekiel Overmyer family was held July 15 at the home of Edgar Haneys, near Richland Center, with 58 present.  A delicious potluck dinner was served at the noon hour.

          The families present were Pat Overmyer, Alpha Overmyer, Harry Overmyer, Elmer Cook, Dan Cook, Eldrith Cook, Albert Cummings, Roy Reinhold, Howard Anderson, Harry Overmyer, Jr., and Judy Erickson, all of Rochester; Kenneth Cook of Kewanna; Ruth                                             (28)

Overmyer, Clarence Reinhold, Cliffton Kline, and Charles Overmyer of Monterey; Glenn Simmerman of Milwaukee; and Floyd Babcock, of Leiters Ford.

          Officers elected for the coming year were Della Cook, president; Eldrith Cook, vice-president, and Mary Overmyer, secretary.  The reunion will be held at the home of Floyd Babcock next year.



Barnhart VanTrump Co.

The News-Sentinel, July 23, 1951

          A real estate transaction was completed here Monday noon when the building occupied by the Kepler Motor Sales, 120-122 East Eighth Street, was sold by Orlen “Brick” Kepler to The Barnhart Van Trump Co.

          Possession of the building, which measures 40x90 feet will be given on November 1st.  The amount involved was not announced.

          Mr. Kepler is disposing of his Oldsmobile agency and service business and will move his family to Clearwater, Florida, within a month or two where they will make their future home.

          The Barnhart Van Trump Co., will occupy part of the building for its newsboys quarters and circulation department offices and will use the basement for newsprint and job stock storage.  The remainder of the building will be rented for stores or offices.      



Plymouth Park

The News-Sentinel, July 23, 1951

          Fifty-five members of the family of Isaac Brooker attended the Brooker reunion held Sunday in Centennial Park at Plymouth.

          One of the main features of the day was the celebration of the 50th wedding anniversary of the oldest member, Mr. & Mrs. Walter Brooker, of Rochester.

          New officers were elected as follows:   President, Lowell Masters, of Plymouth; vice-president, Gertrude McKee, Argos, and secretary-treasurer, Nobelene Spencer, Rochester.

          The oldest person present was Walter Brooker, age 81, Rochester.  Traveling the longest distance for the reunion was Mrs. Grace Ruth, of Los Angeles, Calif.




Roch. City Park

The News-Sentinel, July 24, 1951

          The annual Everett and Sarah Smith family reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park.  Approximately 50 members of the family enjoyed a delicious meal at the noon hour.

          Among those from a distance who attended were Mr. & Mrs. Jon Craig, Cleveland, Ohio; Mr. & Mrs. Esta Smith, Winchester; Mr. & Mrs Fred Smith, Mr. & Mrs. John Smith and family, and Mr. & Mrs. Reese Garrin and family, all of South Bend.



Stand Being Built

The News-Sentinel, July 26, 1951

          Bob Waltz, local contractor has started construction on a new 20 by 20 foot A & W root beer stand [east 9th street] just east of the Oakwood apartments.

          The new owner is H.E Peterson, of Kankakee, Ill., a former restaurant owner.  Mr. Peterson and his family plan to make residance in Rochester soon.  Mr. Waltz said he planned to have the building completed within a week to 10 days.



Parke Baxter, Phmst.

The News-Sentinel, July 27, 1951

          Park Baxter, who for over a year has been employed as a pharmacist at the Bartlet-Lische drug chain’s 4th street store in Lafayette has accepted a position as pharmacist in the Baxter drug store, this city, which is owned by his father, Ernest O. Baxter.

          Parke and his wife are planning to establish their residence here within the next few days.



D. Nutt Home

The News-Sentinel, July 27, 1951

          A family reunion was held recently at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Delbert Nutt.  A basket dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour, and the afternoon was spent socially.

          Those present were Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Hisey and daughters Connie and Linda, and Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Hisey, all of Hammond;


Mr. & Mrs. Francis Moore and son, Lee, of Chicago Heights, Ill., Mrs. Ella Dawson and Mr. & Mrs. Guy Moore, all of Peru; Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Putt and son, Kenny Lee, and Mrs. Ruth McLaughlin and sons Jack and Robert, all of Ft. Wayne; Miss Pearl Cox and James Snyder of Alexandria; Mr. & Mrs. Earl Bowers and Miss Mary Ault, all of Macy; and Mr. & Mrs. Delbert Nutt and Gloria Alspach, of Rochester.



Eddington Home

The News-Sentinel, July 31, 1951

          The Durkes reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Emory Eddington at Kewanna.  Those present were Mr. & Mrs. Elliott Young, Mr. & Mrs. Albert Gregory and son, all of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Harry Shidaker, of Bremen; Mr. & Mrs. Wm Reams, LaCrosse; Frank Durkes, Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Durkes and family, Mr. & Mrs. James Durkes and daughter, and Mr. & Mrs. Harry Reams, all of Rochester.



F. VanDuyne Home

The News-Sentinel, July 31, 1951

          The descendants of Daniel Conrad met Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Fred K. Van Duyne for a reunion.

          A community dinner was served at the noon hour, and the afternoon was spent socially.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. R.D. Brubaker and family, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Byron Conrad, Elkhart; John Conrad, Mr. & Mrs. Roscoe Conrad, Mr. & Mrs. Howard King and family, Mr. & Mrs. Donald King and children, Mr. & Mrs. Lloyd Craig and family, Mr. & Mrs. Claude Arven, Mr. & Mrs. Lora Nickels and family, Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Beaman and family, Mr. & Mrs. Fredrick R. Van Duyne and son, Mrs. Emma Weaver, Randy Masterson, and Miss Marilyn Van Duyne.



Says Chgo Tribune

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 1, 1951

          Ten lagoons in the parks of Chicago will soon be the home of fingerling bass which came from the federal fish hatchery here at Rochester.  A story in the Chicago Tribune of July 31st stated that


thousands of the bass from Rochester will be distributed soon in order to build up the fish population in the lagoons.  Fishing in the Chicago park waters was opened up for the first time this year.



To Build Plant Here

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 1, 1951

          Indianapolis , Ind., Aug. 1. (INS) - The Safway Steel Company of Milwaukee, manufacturers of steel scaffolding and steel bleachers announced today it is planning to build a plant at Rochester.

          Construction of the new plant should begin within about four or five weeks, acording to Ben D Christian, president of the company.  He explained that the company expects to work on government defense contracts at the proposed plant.

          It was understood in Rochester that a 40-acre tract of land beside the Nickle Plate Railroad tracks has been optioned by the Rochester Chamber of Commerce for the factory site.  Mayor Clarence Hill of Rochester journeyed to Milwaukee yesterday to help formulate plans.



Fansler Smr Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 1, 1951

          The Fansler annual reunion was held at the summer home of Mr. & Mrs. Art Fansler on the Tippecanoe river with 53 present.

          Tables were placed under the trees along the bank where members enjoyed a picnic and a social session.

          Those attending were:   Mr. & Mrs. Cecil Zeider, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Fansler, and daughters, Sandra and Mary Jane, Lester Fansler and son, Stephen, Mr. & Mrs. Earl Fansler, and Patsy, Edward and Bruce, Mr. & Mrs. William Fansler and Barbara and Charles, Mr. & Mrs. Alvah Crabb and Alvah, Jr., Mr. & Mrs. Blaine Clawson, Emma Fansler and Donald and Kenneth, Gilbert Fansler, Mr. & Mrs. Lawrence Chambers, and Mr. & Mrs. Art Fansler, Mr. & Mrs. Howard Clawson, Delores and Donnie, Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Clawson, and Calvin Joe, Mr. & Mrs. Deverle Clawson and Larry, Mr. & Mrs. Jacob Grauel, Mrs. Jennie Grauel and Sharon Ann, Mr. & Mrs. Bert Grauel, Mr. & Mrs. Ed Layman, and David, Mr. & Mrs. Harild Wilburn and Mr. & Mrs. Amil Zelmar.

          The reunion will be held on the last Sunday of July next year.



J.K. Lungren Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 1, 1951

          The first annual Smith reunion was held Sunday at the country home of Mr. & Mrs. J. Keith Lungren, south of the city.  Twenty-five members of the family were present from various parts of the state.

          The group enjoyed a picnic dinner at noon.  Plans were made for the second reunion to be held in 1952 on the second Sunday in July at Delphi.



Roch. City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 1, 1951

          The ninth reunion of the Wm. Milton and Nettie E. Wharton family was held Sunday in the Rochester city park.

          During the business meeting, Treva Erskine was re-elected president and Elsie Turner was re-elected secretary.  Each one present wrote a short note to Mrs. Susie Rogers, of Oakland, Calif., an aunt who celebrated her 94th birthday in January.  The 1952 meeting will be held at the home of Vern Wharton in Elkhart.  Plans were made to have perennials placed near the graves of the parents, and also for preparation of a family album to which each family will contribute.

          Those present were Mr. & Mrs. H.F Bulger, Gladys Wharton, Mr. & Mrs. Harvey Turner and daughters of Kewanna, Mrs. Tino Wharton and Roy Wharton, of Rochester, Mr. & Mrs. Lothaire Lake of North Judson; Mrs. Thelma Wharton and Mrs. Robert Jefferies of Claypool; Mr. & Mrs. Vern Wharton, Mr. & Mrs. Porter Wharton, Sr., Mr. & Mrs. Joe Erskine, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Christman and son, Mr. & Mrs. Porter Wharton, Jr., and Pete, of Elkhart; and Mr. & Mrs. Harlan Wharton and family and Kathleen Kronewitter of South Bend.

          Afternoon guests were Mr. & Mrs. Ancil Jefferies of Macy and Perry Jefferies, Rochester.



Xavier Cugat

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 1, 1951

          Xavier Cugat, the royal rajah of rumba and the king of the conga, bows into the Colonial Hotel, Thursday, Aug 9, for a one-nighter. - - - -




Bids for “Miss Indiana”

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 2, 1951

          Miss Carol Mitchell representing the city of Rochester, departed this morning for Lafayette to take part in a three day statewide program which will be climaxed Saturday night with the naming of “Miss Indiana”.  The event is being sponsored by the Lafayette Junior Chamber of Commerce and Miss Mitchell is being entered under the auspices of the Rochester Chamber of Commerce as “Miss Rochester”.  She is the daughter of Mr. & Mrs. E.L. Mitchell, 1328 Main street. - - - -     



IS “Miss Indiana”

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 6, 1951

          Royalty dwells in Rochester today.  Carol Mitchell, the lovely daughter of Mr. & Mrs. E.L. Mitchell, 1328 Main street is Indiana’s Queen of Beauty.

          The contest to decide the new queen at Lafayette last Friday and Saturday culminated in the selection of Miss Mitchell as “Miss Indiana.” The final judging took place at the Jefferson high school gymnasium Saturday evening before a capacity crowd as seven of the state’s most beautiful girls strove for the honor of representing Indiana at the national contest at Atlantic City Sept. 2.



Roch. City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 6, 1951

          The 41st annual Braman reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park, with 50 relatives and friends present.

          During the business meeting the old officers were re-elected, as follows:   President, Calvin Braman; vice-president, Mrs. Mabel Russler; and secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Calvin Braman.

          The oldest member present was Schuyler Braman, who is 89.  He had attended 40 out of 41 reunions held.  The remainder of the afternoon was spent socially.







Roch. City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 7, 1951

          The 37th annual Beehler reunion was held at the Rochester City Park Sunday with 70 in attendance.

          A bountiful dinner was served at noon after which a business meeting was held, and the following officers were elected for the coming year:   Ralph Overmyer, president; Clyde Beehler, vice-president, Ida Utter, secretary-treasurer, and Mrs. Lee Beehler, historian.

          A short program was enjoyed, followed by ice cream for all.



Moving Shop

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 8, 1951

          Guy E. Barger announced today that he had leased the room at 301 East Ninth street from Joe Ewing for the site of his plumbing, heating and electrical shop.

          Barger has operated his business in the room at 105 East Ninth street for the past 15 years, and plans to open his new location by September 1.  Barger will make alterations to the interior of the room at 301 East Ninth street which will include modern display sections for bathrooim, heating and electrical fixtures in addition to the repair and supply department.



Reun, J. Little Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 8, 1951

          The Warren-Emmons reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Joe Little, with 125 present.  A delicious community dinner was served at the noon hour, and the afternoon was spent socially.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Dwight Snyder and son of Kalamazoo, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Jim Curtis, Marcellus, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Jess Onstott, Edwardsburg, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. George Keel and family, Lansing, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Forrest Hamman and family, Leesburg; Mr. & Mrs. Lyle Regena and family, Mr. & Mrs. Sylvester Clark and son, Mr. & Mrs. Scottie Ervin and children, and John Emmons, of Warsaw; Mr. & Mrs. Pat Dale and family, Mr. & Mrs. George A. Warren and son, all of Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Dale Parker


of Kimmell, Mr. & Mrs. Claud Senom, Mr. & Mrs. John Iler, Murry Senom, Max Hatfield, and Billy Berger, of South Bend; Mrs. Jack Gallager, Michigan City; Mr. & Mrs. Frank Warren and family, Crown Point; Mr. & Mrs. Van Warren and family, Monterey; Mrs. Margaret Little and children, and Miss Arlene Little and friend of Donaldson; Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Little and Beverly and Mr. & Mrs. Jim Dickson and Bobby of Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Warren and children and Mr. & Mrs. Jess Warren, Mr. & Mrs. Orvin Fear and Mrs. Gertie Railsback and Don, of Argos; Mr. & Mrs. Virgil Little and Chad of Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. French Severns, Mr. & Mrs. Deloise Severns and Jack, Mr. & Mrs.. Leroy Grossman and family, and Mrs. Nancy Warren and nephew, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Wells, Mr. & Mrs. Frank Swartzlander and Ruth, Mr. & Mrs. Don Noyer, Mrs. Golda Hattery and Bobby, and Mrs. Harlie Secor, all of Akron.

          Visitors were:   Mr. & Mrs. Wm. Bower, Argos, Miss Nola Sims, South Bend, Miss Barbara Haines, Plymouth, Bill Kibley and Lon Walker, Talma, and Mr. & Mrs. Jessie Lynch, Silver Lake.



D.C. Rans Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 9, 1951

          The William & Mary Rans family reunion was held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Donald C. Rans on August 5.  A carry-in dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour.

          Members of the family present were:   the Roy Rans family, Edgar Rans, Lincoln Burton family, Helen Worel family, Johnni Agnew family, and the George Smith family of Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Charley Rans, and the Ralph Rans family, from Fulton; The DeVerl Becker family of Walton; the Everett Rans family and Mr. & Mrs. Harley Grimes of South Bend; the Raymond Stipp family, Raymond Rans family, George Wood family and the Fred Bell family of Valparaiso; Roy Rans, Jr., of Bowling Green, Ohio; Mr. & Mrs. Forest Rans and daughter of Culver; the George Rans family from Huckley, Ill., and Mrs. Etta Rans, the J.V King family, Oliver Grove family, and the Donald Rans family, all of Rochester.







Geo. Bowers, Mgr.

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 13, 1951

          George Bowers, pioneer meat market and groceryman, has accepted a position as meat market manager at the Morris grocery store, this city.  He succeeds Cecil Klein who has accepted a pastorate at a Tyner, Indiana, church.


Perschbacher Reun

Roch., City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 13, 1951

          The 42nd annual Perschbacher reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester city park.  A sumptuous dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour with approximately 50 present.  Members and guests from South Bend, Mishawaka, Indianapolis, Cincinnati, and Chicago were in attendance.

          Officers for 1952 were elected as follows:   President, Fred Swinehart, Mishawaka; vice-president, Dr. Dow Haimbaugh, Rochester, and secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Fred Swinehart, Mishawaka.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 13, 1951

          The annual Bryant reunion was held at the Rochester city park Sunday with a carry-in dinner which was enjoyed by approximately 80 persons.

          Members of the family attended from Battle Creek, Mich., Chicago, Elkhart, Wabash, South Whitley, Knox, South Bend, Mishawaka, and Lafayette, and in and around Rochester.  A musical program of solos, duets, and quartets was enjoyed in the afternoon.

          Officers were elected as follows:   Gene Bryant, president, and Mrs. Blanche Bryant, secretary-treasurer.  The two oldest members, the youngest, and those travelling the longest distances were given gifts by the group.








Shafer-Secrest Reun

Roch. City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 14, 1951

          The 45th annual Shafer and Secrist reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester city park.  Approximately 75 relatives enjoyed a bountiful dinner and a social time in the afternoon.

          The following officers were elected for the coming year:   Roscoe Shafer, Argos, president; Chester Shafer, Macy, vice-president; and Lona Shafer, Argos, secretary-treasurer.  It was decided to meet the second Sunday in August at the Rochester city park.

          A letter was read from Fred Norton of Txarkana, Texas.  Doris Shafer played several numbers on her accordian.  At the close of the afternoon the group enjoyed icecream.

          Relatives attended from South Bend, Elkhart Plymouth, Argos, Akron, Rochester, and other communities.



Leiter Homestead

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 14, 1951

          Levi Leiter and Mrs. Blanche Miller entertained forty-five relatives and guests at a carry-in dinner, Sunday, August 12, at the Leiter Homestead in the Loyal community.

          The children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren and great-great grandchildren of the late Jacob Leiter were in attendance.

          After the lovely dinner the host and hostess served ice cream.

          Officers for the coming year elected were:   Pres., Robert Leiter, Vice-Pres., Hugh V. Hunneshagen, Secy-Treas. Mrs. Fred Campbell.

          Those coming the greatest distance were Mrs. W.W. Williams, Easton, Pa. and Edward Leiter of Bethlehem, Pa.

          Others attending were Mrs. J.B. Stinson, Courtland, Ohio, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Leiter and Mrs. Gladys Kishpaugh of Battle Creek, Mich., Mrs. Lucy Geyer and Mrs. Marie Bott, Indianapolis, Mr. & Mrs. William Leiter, Flora, Ind., Mr. & Mrs. Claude Wolfrom, South Bend, Mr. & Mrs. Hugh Campbell and Miss Wilma Ball, Leiters Ford, Eugene Hunneshagen, Kewanna, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Hunneshagen and family, Monterey, Mr. & Mrs Fred Campbell, James and Mary Ann, Mrs. James Miller and son, Mr. & Mrs. Thomas Beck and granddaughter, Terry Ann Beck, and Mary Beth Leiter, Mr Robert Miller and daughter, Miss Mollie Leiter and Mr & Mrs. H.V. Hunneshagen and daughters Marilyn and Marcia of Rochester.



Leas Cities Svc Sta

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 15, 1951

          Glen Vanscoyk, fleet supervisor, and Paul Adamson, supervisor, both employees for Stewarts Bakery this city, for the last 15 years, announced today that they have leased the Cities Service station on East 9th Street operated by Dean Utter.

          Adamson and Vanscoyk stated they will be open for business Sunday, August 19th.  Dean Utter has accepted a position as a salesman with the Bowes Sealfast Products Company.



Roch. City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 16, 1951

          The 11th annual Wagoner reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester city park.  Approximately 45 relatives enjoyed the social time.   Ice Cream was served in the afternoon.

          The following officers were elected for the coming year:   president, Robert Wagoner, Rochester, and vice-president, Harry Boyer, Monroe, Mich.

          It was decided to meet next year on the second Sunday in August at the same place.  The former secretary, Shirley Wagoner, read a letter from C.R. Wagoner from Cedarville Ohio.

          Relatives attended from Monroe, Mich., Kokomo, Plymouth, Logansport, Grass Creek, Rochester, and other communities.


Hiland-Van Duyne

Reun.,  City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 17, 1951

          The 28th annual Hiland-Van Duyne reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park.  A beautiful basket dinner was very much enjoyed after the invocation by Mrs. Frank Hiland.

          After the dinner a business meeting was held, with Charles Hiland, president, in charge.  The following officers were elected for 1952: Chas. Hiland, president; Mrs. Edwin Olsen, sec.-treas; Mrs. Marjorie Cauffman, Mrs. Lucille Macy and Mrs, Rena McVay, program committee; and Mrs. Marie Alber to arrange for pictures to be taken at the gathering next year.

          Gifts were presented to Billy Cauffman, son of Mr. & Mrs. Russell Cauffman as the youngest guest; George Overmyer of


Mishawaka as the oldest; and Mr. & Mrs. Norman Bachman of Coloma Mich., who came the longest distance.

          Entertainment was provided by songs by little Eddie Cauffman, and by George Overmyer who played the harp.

          Mrs. Charles Hiland closed the meeting with prayer.  The group decided to hold the reunion at Rochester again in 1952.

          Guests were:   Mr. & Mrs. Rex Day of Flora; Mr & Mrs.   Edwin Olsen, Mr. & Mrs. Clayton Haschel and family of Winamac; Mr. & Mrs. Norman Bachman and Mr. & Mrs. John Bachman of Coloma, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Cooper of Benton Harbor, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Leo Bachman of South Haven, Mich.; Carol Sue Hiland, Mr. & Mrs Frank Hiland of Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs.Harold McVay and family of Marion; Mr. & Mrs. Ed McVay, Mr. & Mrs Ora McVay and family, Mr. & Mrs. Lawrence Hudson and son, all of Peru; George Overmyer, Mr. & Mrs. Russell Overmyer of Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Cauffman and family of New Carlisle; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Hiland, Mrs. Grace Van Duyne, Mrs. Harry Macy and family, Mrs. Sarah Barnhart, Mr. & Mrs. N.M Alber and sons Larry, Phillip, and Wayne, and Miss Jackie Hiland, all of Rochester.

          Miss Edna Beck of Rochester, Mrs. Nettie Haschel oif Winamac, and Mr. & Mrs. Donald Haschel of Ohio were afternoon callers.



Clubhouse, Argos

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 17, 1951

          The Monroe Morris family held their annual reunion last Sunday at the Isaac Walton clubhouse east of Argos, with 70 members and 11 guests present.

          A short business session followed the basket dinner which was served at noon.  Officers elected were Jack D. Morris, president; Mrs. Ellis Klein, vice-president; Mrs. George Dawald, secretary; Mrs. Al Jennens, treasurer; and Mrs. Jay King, program chairman.

          Those present were Chester Morris and Arlene, Mr & Mrs. J.E. Kline and son, Mr. & Mrs. Jack Morris, Mr & Mrs. Jack D. Morris and family, Mr. & Mrs. Al Jennens, Mr. & Mrs. Tom Gast and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Frank Morris and family, Mrs. Lou Conner, Mrs. George Dawald, John Kreig, Mr. & Mrs. Phillip Kreig, Mrs. George Whittenberger, Mr. & Mrs. Sam Whittenberger, Mr. & Mrs. Harley Rogers, and Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Whittenberger of Akron; Mr. & Mrs. James Deck; Mr. & Mrs Joe Morris of Roann; Mr. & Mrs. Addison


Krom and family of Laketon; Mr. & Mrs. Delson Morris and family, Mr & Mrs. Alden Morris and family of Macy, Mr. & Mrs John Kerlin and daughter of Silver Lake; Mr. & Mrs. James Morris and Mr. & Mrs Lester McGriff and sons of Argos, Mr. & Mrs. Jay King and daughter and Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Tillett of Michigan City; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Morris of Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Walter Morris of Mishawaka; Mrs. Robert Sutton and children of Lafontaine; Mr. & Mrs. Owen Malady of South Bend; and Mr. & Mrs. Robert Morris of Plymouth.

          The 1952 reunion will also be held at the Isaac Walton clubhouse, Argos.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 17, 1951

          The Greer Reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester city park with 54 relatives enjoying the bountiful dinner.  Contests and a social time were enjoyed in the afternoon.

          The same officers were retained for the coming year.  Relatives attended from South Bend, Warsaw, Elkhart, Chicago, Crown Point, Logansport, and Rochester.



C. Artist Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 24, 1951

          The 14th annual reunion of the Thomas K. Imel descendants was held August 19 at the residence of Mr. & Mrs. Charles Artist of this vicinity.

          A basket dinner was served at noon and a very interesting program was presented in the afternoon.

          Those present at the gathering were:   Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Bailey and children, Mrs. Adam Pro, Gary Trobridge, Mr & Mrs. Harry Shawver, Nellie Bailey and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Jesse Bailey and son, Mr. & Mrs. Gerald Kile and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Walter Bailey, Mr. & Mrs. Ottis Johnson, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Espy and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Virgil Johnson, Mr. & Mrs. Everett Bailey and children, Robert H. Imel, and Lawrence Bailey, all of Portland; Mr. & Mrs. Cletus Artist and sons, Mr. & Mrs. Lucian Steinbaugh and children of Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Albert Johnson and children of Windfall; Mr. & Mrs. Louis Sipots and daughters of Chicago; Mrs. Ella Whipple and Mr. & Mrs. W.M. Longerbone of Union City; Mr. & Mrs. John H. Bailey, Mr. &


Mrs. Joseph Imel and children and Richard Bailey of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Ineichen and son of Geneva; Ralph and Dale Whipple and Lester Boise of Union City; Earl Bailey, Mr. & Mrs. Delbert Johnson and son, Mr. & Mrs. Harol Johnson and son, and Mr. & Mrs. Harry Sasser of Portland, and Deleia and Opal Artist, Rochester



Fred Batz Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 24, 1951

          The 26th reunion of the Batz family was held Sunday, Aug. 19 at the home of Fred Batz, on Route 3.

          Relatives from a distance who attended were Mr. & Mrs. Glen Windbigler of Pasadena, Calif.; Mr. & Mrs. Guy Grove, East Lansing, Mich.; Mrs. Della Heeter, Delong; Mr. & Mrs. Lonas Wise and children, Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Graeber and children, Mr. & Mrs. Bob Batz and son, of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Max Batz and son, Edwardsburg, Mich; Mr. & Mrs. Gano Batz and family, Burr Oak; Mr. & Mrs. Esta Large, Bourbon; and Mr. & Mrs. Floyd Batz of Monticello.



J. Van Lue Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 28, 1951

          There were 117 present for the Fultz reunion held Sunday at the country home of Mr. & Mrs. James Van Lue, east of Rochester.

          A community dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour.  In the afternoon pictures were shown by Harold Vandergrift.  A business session followed with Dea Fultz presiding.  The following officers were elected for the coming year:   Charles Culp, president; Mrs. Culp, secretary, both of Elkhart.  Reunion date next year will be Aug. 17.  Mrs. Van Lou extended an invitation for the reunion for next year and her invitation was accepted.  The remainder of the afternoon was spent socially.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. F.M. Fultz, Mr. & Mrs. Harley Fultz, Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne and grandchildren, Mr. & Mrs. Frederick Van Duyne and son, Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Thompson, Mr. & Mrs. Gene Thompson and family, Mr. & Mrs. George Krom and family, Mr. & Mrs. Dea Thompson, Mr. & Mrs. H.C. Heighway, Mr. & Mrs. Clair Jones and family, Mr. & Mrs. Orvan Van Lue and family, Mr. & Mrs Robert Minglin and family, Mr. & Mrs. Chloris


Barkman and family, and Miss Dorothy Owens, all of Rochester.

          Out of town guests present were: Mr. & Mrs. John Fultz, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Culp and children, Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. Harry Fultz and children, Hudson; Don Bennett, Mr. & Mrs. Ed Spenelli, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Crose, all of Detroit; Mr. & Mrs. William Bennett, Attica; Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Scott and daughter, Leesburg; Mr. & Mrs. Max Feece, Argos; Mr. & Mrs. Hubert Van Lue and family, Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Leonard Van Lue and family and Mr. & Mrs. William Eddy, Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Otto Fultz, Mr. & Mrs. Herbert Fultz and family, Fort Wayne; and Mr. & Mrs. Ed Fultz and family, Galien, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Harold Vandergrift and Mr. & Mrs. Richard Galbreth, of Houston, Texas.

          Mr. & Mrs. Harry Fultz had the largest family present with 7 children and Mr. & Mrs. Van Lue with six children who were all present.



Jefferies Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 29, 1951

          On Sunday, August 26 Mr. & Mrs. Perry Jefferies were hosts to the Thompson runion at their home on East 9th St.  Fifty-two members of the family attended from Kewanna, Warsaw, Lowell, Hammond, Macy, Decatur, and Muncie, Ind., and Harvey and South Holland, Ill.

          Election of officers was held with the following results: president, Ancil Jefferies, Macy; vice-president, Harry Ewing, Rochester; secretary-treasurer, Lloyd Jefferies, Rochester.

          Mrs. Ella Ewing, Rochester, was the oldest member present, and youngest was Billie Ray Schultz, son of Mr. & Mrs. William Schultz, of Harvey, Ill.



Roch. City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 29, 1951

          Approximately 36 descendants of Peter Bemenderfer gathered together for the 31st time Sunday when they held a picnic dinner at the Rochester city park.  The members of the family are proud of the fact that Peter Bemenderfer was a personal flag-bearer for General George Washington.

          Those attending the reunion known as the Miller-Bemenderfer


Reunion, were from Rochester and Macy and vicinity.  Mr. & Mrs. Glen McGinnis of Macy were elected president and secretary-treasurer, respectively.



“Brave Warrior”

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 30, 1951

          Several months ago announcement was made from Columbia Studios in Hollywood that a motion picture would be produced named “Brave Warrior” and its locale would be the village of Tippecanoe, located in Indiana.  The News-Sentinel sent an inquiry to the studio asking for details regarding the period covered, the location and the history involved.

          Meanwhile it was generally believed here that the movie would revolve around the history of the early days of the village of Tippecanoe located 12 miles northeast of Rochester on State Highway 331.  Several residents of Tippecanoe volunteered to help secure information while some of the old time residents were ready to help establish historical backgrounds.

          However, it is evident from a story just received from the studios by The News-Sentinel the village involved in the play was one built by Americans for the Indians and according to history was soon destroyed.  The motion picture story does not say where it was located.

The story received from Columbia Studios follows:

                                      - - - - - - - - - -

          Tippecanoe may be famous and well known spot to Hoosiers and students of American history, but to movie producer Sam Katzman it spelled strictly trouble from the day he ordered research on it for his latest picture.

          The Tippecanoe referred to was a model village built by Americans for the great Shawnee chief, Tecumseh, and his people just prior to the war of 1812.

          Katzman had to reconstruct the village for scenes in his Columbia picture, “Brave Warrior,” which has to do with the maneuvers of the British and Americans in an effort to win the help of the Shawnees in their approaching struggle.

          According to history - and “Brave Warrior” - this village of Tippecanoe was to be the home and headquarters of the Shawnees and stand as a monument to the everlasting friendship of Chief Tecumseh’s people and the Americans.


          Things did not work out that way, however because even before the village was completed it was burned down by Tecumseh’s traitorous brother, Prophet, in league with the Redcoats.

          Tecumseh is portrayed in the picture by a genuine Indian actor, Jay Silverheels; his brother Prophet, by Michael Anasara.  The star of the picture, John Hall, plays the part of an American Emissary to the Shawnees, and his leading lady is Christine Larson, as the daughter of an Americn trader.

          Here are the problems which faced producer Katzman and his art director.  Paul Palmentold when it came time to build the sets for the Tippecanoe scenes in “Brave Warrior”:

          1.  Because the village was destroyed before it was completed, there are no pictures or sketches extent.

          2.  Because it was built 140 years ago, there is no one now alive who ever saw the original village.

          Being a practical man, Katzman didn’t let this lick him, for long.  He figured that whoever built the village would follow the general architectural form then in vogue.  Columbia’s research department supplied him with plenty of information and pictures of towns near Tippecanoe in the Indiana Territory.  The buildings were mostly plain frame structures, similar to those in the early Western towns.  In fact, the home of the governor of the Territory, in Vincennes, was a drab two-story affair with an outside stairway to the upper floor.

          So the model village of Tippecanoe in “Brave Warrior” consisted of twenty-three frame structures of various sizes which were built only to be burned down within a week.  At that, they lasted longer than the originals.

          But no one can safely say that the movie Tippecanoe was not faithful to the real Tippecanoe.

          Because he can’t prove it.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 30, 1951

          The annual Davis family reunion was held at the Rochester City Park Sunday.  Approximately 40 members of the family were present, from Fort Wayne, South Bend, Rochester, Peru, Wabash, and Chicago.

          Officers were elected following the community dinner: Tola Rogers president; Rev. Harley Davis, Fort Wayne, vice-president, and Faye Damas, secretary-treasurer.



Fulton Co., 11

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 5, 1951

          Fulton County is the birthplace of 11 scientists whose biographies are contained in a new book, “Indiana Scientists” by Stephen S. Visher, Indiana University professor of geography, published by the Indiana Academy of Science.- - - - -

          Those scientists listed as born in this county, with their year of birth are:

          Rochester: H.P. Bybee, 1888, geology; B.C. Goss, 1890, chemistry; E.L. McMahan, 1894, physics; H.R. Mathias 1901, mathematics; F.H. Rhodes, 1889, chemistry.

          Akron: R.V. Churchill, 1899, mathematics.

          Fulton: W.J. Armstrong, 1917, chemistry.

          Kewanna: H.H. Collins, 1885; J.L. Collins, 1889, genetics; O.C. Crump, 1891, astronomy.

          Leiters Ford: A.A Campbell, 1910, Psychology.



“Brave Warrior”

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 6, 1951

          The News-Sentinel is in receipt of another communication from John Woolfenden, publicity director for the Columbia Pictures Corp., Hollywood, Calif., which again reiterrates that the film company has not been able to establish the original location of the old Indian village of Tippecanoe.

          The letter from the Columbia official follows:

“The News-Sentinel

“Rochester Ind.

          “Despite extensive research on our picture, ‘Brave Warrior,’ the art diretor was never able to determine exactly the location of the original Indian village of Tippecanoe, but finally decided that it must have been near the present village on the river.  Unfortunately, there are no sketches of any kind available that would help in determining the exact site. . . .”







Roch. Nursg Home

Jerry Eastburg

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 6, 1951

          Jerry Eastburg, manager of the Rochester Nursing Home, 719 Madison street, announced today that he had bought the interests of Ernest O. Baxter in the establishment as of September 1.

          The business, operated for many years by Mr. & Mrs Delbert Ewing, was bought by Mr. Baxter in December, 1947, and Mr. Eastburg was installed as manager.

          With a staff of 12 the home has handled 160 patients since Baxter purchasd the business from the retiring Ewings in late 1947.  The capacity is 28 patients.  Twenty-six persons are now residents there.

          Mr. Eastburg says he will continue to operate under the same policies and the name of the Rochester Nursing Home.

          The new owner is a veteran of service with the U.S. Navy Medical Corps during the late war where he gained wide experience as neuro-psychiatric corpsman. - - - -



Opens Office Here

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 7, 1951

          The city’s medical population gets a boost sometime during the week of Sept. 17 when Dr. Slater Knotts opens new offices in the Heisler Pharmacy Building on E. Ninth street and Wabash avenue.

          The physician, a native son of Wabash where he lived with his family until he completed elementary school, is a graduate of Louisville University where he took his pre-medical work and attained his MD degree in 1950.

          Before entering the university Dr. Knotts attended high school at Muncie and had two years at Ball State Teachers College.  World War 11 intervened to disrupt his schooling and in 1941 he enlisted in the Army Air Force.  He served with distinction as a pilot until his release in 1947.

          He immediately resumed his interrupted education by entering the University of Louisville, graduating in 1950 and going to ElPaso, Texas, for his internship which he completed September 1, 1951.

          The young medic is married to the former Mary Helen DeJarnette of Louisville and the couple have three young sons, ranging in age from 10 months to 4-1/2 years. - - - -



Winamac Park

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 7, 1951

          The 30th Enyeart Reunion was held at the Winamac Park Sunday with 42 present.

          Cecil Enyeart and Alice May Enyeart were re-elected president and secretary-treasurer, respectively.  Gifts were presented to Charles Enyeart 84, oldest man present; Cora Hamilton, 78, the oldest woman present; and Thomas W. Walters of Defiance, Ohio, youngest present.

          The reunion will be held in Winamac Park on June 17, 1952.



C.W. Reser

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 8, 1951

          Mr. & Mrs. Charles W. Reser, 217 W. Tenth street, broke ground Friday for their new $50,000 motel south of the city on U.S. 31.- - - -

          The builders hope to complete construction by the first of the new year. - - - -



1st Runner up

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 10, 1951


          The Rochester Chamber of Commerce is very happy to have had a small part in sponsoring you in the Indiana Beauty Pageant.  We are especially pleased that you have gone on to take honors as first runner up in the National Contest.  We congratulate you on your very fine performance and offer our thanks to you for the fine and dignified manner in which you represented Rochester and the State of Indiana at Atlantic City.  We want you to know how proud we are of you and your accomplishments, and wish for you the very best of everything in the future.

                             Howard R. Wertzberger


                             Rochester Chamber of Commerce







Editorial, Indpls Star

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 11, 1951


          Beautiful Carol Mitchell did Indiana proud by placing second in this year’s Miss America contest.  She came far closer to winning the coveted title than any other Indiana girl in the pageant’s quarter-century history and, it is said, ran only two secret judging points out of hundreds behind the new Miss America, Colleen Kay Hutchins of Utah.

          All honor to Miss Hutchins.   She must be very extra special, for Miss Mitchell, by all accounts, presented the judges with a rare combination of beauty, brains, talent and poise.  She will continue to be a Miss America in her own right.  And in barely missing the official title by the blink of a shining eye, she can console herself with the thought that she also is missing a gruelling year of personal appearances during which her life would not have been her own.

                                                          --Indianapolis Star.



Pur Methodist Church

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 12, 1951

          There’s an old saying that “when a man bites a dog, that’s news.” It’s also news when a church goes into the hotel business.  But it’s happening today in Akron.

          Mr. & Mrs. Karl Gast, owners of the Akron Hotel for the past 11 years announced today that they had disposed of the business and that the purchaser was the Akron Methodist church, of which Dr. Virgil Miller is president of the board of trustees.

          The two-story building has storerooms on the street level and 16 rooms on the second floor.  The new owners plan on making an annex to the church on the first floor and continuing the hotel accommodations on the second.  Other changes and modifications will also be made.

          The Gasts who also own the Gast Furniture Company here, will continue with their other business interests.

          Certain wags around town have sought to explain the purchase of a hotel by a church as the minister’s answer to the problem of parishioners who insist on sleeping through the service.




V. Rush Home

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 12, 1951

          The fifth annual Rush reunion was held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Verne Rush at Tippecanoe on Sunday, Sept. 9.  A carry-in dinner was served at the noon hour, with 42 relatives present.  A social afternoon was enjoyed.

          Those present were:   Mr.& Mrs. Donald Rush and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Harvey Rush and son, Mr. & Mrs. Lester Zeller and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Hoge and family, Mr. & Mrs. Devain Bryant, Mr. & Mrs. Audra Bryant and family, Mr. & Mrs. Dean Myers and family, Mrs. Ollie Breen, Mr. & Mrs. Howard Myers and family, Mr. & Mrs. Oliver Bryant, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Rush and daughter, all of Rochester; and Mrs. Wayne Zohlman and family and the Verne Rush Family, all of Tippecanoe.



In Life Magazine

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 14, 1951

          Accidental perusal of the current issue of Life magazine today by one of the News-Sentinel staff turned up a photograph of Rochester’s loveliest daughter, Carol Mitchell, who stepped on the heels of Miss Utah for the Miss America title recently.

          Oddly enough the picture of Carol occupies most of the page, while tucked down in the lower left hand corner is a shot of the new Miss America.

          Just goes to show that other folks besides Hoosiers have good taste, too.



Walter Winchell

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 15, 1951

Walter Winchell’s comment:

          “It was a tough day for Carol Mitchel, Miss Indiana in the ‘Miss America’ contest.  She wound up runner-up, because (they are saying) at the last moment producer Vinton Freedley changed his vote, when impressed by the eventual winner’s answers to three questions - to judge her intelligence . . . . What was it? A beauty contest or a college entrance exam?”




Fire Station

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 24, 1951

          Construction of a new fire station in Leiters Ford to house the fire truck used in Aubbeenaubbee township has been started under direction of Kermit Sage, Leiters Ford contractor

          The building, 28 by 34 feet, will be of cement block construction and is being put up just to the north of the L.L. Lukenbill building.  Contributions and volunteer labor are being used.



Packs Times Theater

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 1, 1951

          An extimated 1000 Fulton countians flooded into the Times Theater Sunday afternoon to pay tribute to the girl from Rochester who went to Atlantic City, was seen by the nation’s best qualified judges of beauty and brains, and conquered the heart of even Walter Winchell.

          Carol Mitchell elected Sunday afternoon to give a free public performance to show her gratitude and appreciation to the community in which she has grown up from childhood.  And by noon the doors to the Times were being besieged by people waiting to get in to watch Carol model the three beautiful gowns created for her by one of America’s top fashion designers.

          At 12:45 there was not a seat available anywhere in the house and Carol’s friends and admirers were beginning to line the side aisles two and three deep.  By the time the curtain went up on the highly informal program an overflow had started out in the lobby of the theater.

          The show was opened by Hugh Barnhart, who had covered the big story for The News-Sentinel at Atlantic City.  After a very brief introductory word Carol was applauded onto the stage in a dazzling pale blue net gown which provided a piquant touch to the beautiful picture she presented.

          She described some of her experiences as a contestant and then introduced her mother Mrs Mildred Mithell, herself a likely candidate for the “Mrs. Indiana” title.

          Mrs. Mitchell told of the harrowing evening when Carol was almost disqualified as a contestant when her official “Miss Indiana” ribbon turned up missing, the frantic chase back to the hotel with a police driver skinning through heavy traffic by the narrow margin of a


coat of dust, the wild ride back to the huge convention hall in pursuit of another police officer who had found the precious ribbon after he had practically wrecked the fourteenth floor of Carol’s hotel in his search for the valued satin streamer.

          Carol returned to the stage in the most striking gown of her wardrobe, purest white, heavily accented in poppy-red.  The gremlins visited the Rochester beauty again in the Atlantic City contest when a hoop which gave shape to one of the fiery red poophs let go and was dangling in full sight of thousands who jammed the auditorium.

          Her luck in the pageant with her next dress was not much better when bearing the Indiana state flag, she attempted to walk up a short flight of steps only to step on her gown planting each dainty 5-1/2 firmly in the voluminous folds of her peplum.  Bustle waving, carrying her banner high she made good her release from her entangling gown and found her place in the parade.

          The petite Carol, using Barnhart as a foil took to her easel to sketch a woolly-looking character drawn on a line looking a bit like a distorted “S” and followed this with a caricature of the newspaper publisher based on his initials, “H. B.”  With sure deft strokes of her charcoal she sketched as she talked turning out a pin-up girl who might have been a contestant in the big national pageant.

          The curvaceous Carol with the assistance of her father introduced her little bellhop doll, “Bobo” who did an accomplished samba.

          The tiny stage was turned over to two of her little figures who danced so well together that many an aspiring dancer in the big audience could well be ashamed of his own efforts . . . And the miniature characters did it in double-time.  The amazing feature of the marionette act was that it takes 18 control strings to maneuver the two dancing dolls, nine to each.

          Carol explained Ken Murray’s faux pas when he stated on his TV show a week ago that Carol was a native of Indianapolis.  The comedian later apologized to Carol and asked her to convey his regrets to Rochester.

          Time ran out at this point and she was unable to answer questions from the house, but immediatey the program concluded the talented girl was swamped backstage with hundreds who wanted to greet her and wish her well.

          She informed this reporter that she intended to leave for Bloomington early this morning where she will take up her work as a


senior at Indiana University.

          Saturday afternoon Carol, described by the South Bend Tribune as “The glitteringly glamorous Carol Mitchell” was the guest of Jess Pavey, former mayor of that city, in his box at the Notre Dame-Indiana game.

          Rochester’s favorite girl, according to the South Bend paper, displayed a knowledge of the game which they had hardly expected in a beauty queen.  She surprised them by calling the turn in the second half of the game when she said, “We’ve always had a second-half team.” And sure enough, the Hoosiers held the Irish to a 6-6 tie in the last half.  Friends who were with her at the game suggsted later that she rub a little of her own fabulous luck off on the IU team.

          Before and after the game Carol was honor guest at parties in South Bend given by members of the IU Alumni Association.



Dog & Pony Show

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 8, 1951

          Bloomington, Oct. 8 - (INS) - Funeral arrangements are being made today for the last of the four brothers who toured the United States and Canada for many years with the famed Gentry Brothers’ Dog and Pony show.

          The last of the brothers Frank H. Gentry, 81, many years a resident and justice of the peace of Bloomington, died yesterday at the Elks home in Bedford, Va.

          Gentry and his three brothers, Henry, Wall and Will, began touring with their show in one baggage car of a train in 1885.  Some years later, they needed a complete train of 20 cars to carry the show.

          The four brothers entered the real estate business in the late 20s and lost fortunes during the depression.

          Frank Gentry served as bailiff in Monroe County Circuit Court for a number of years.

          He is survived by two sisters.



Pur H.R.  Forsythe

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 10, 1951

          The Athens General Store has been sold to Mr. & Mrs. H.R Forsythe, by Mr. & Mrs. E.C. Stanton.




Opens at Akron

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 11, 1951

          A new Teen Canteen will be opened in Akron for this winter season.

          The Kappa Delta Phi sorority will sponsor free informal dances in the Lions Den after every basketball game in Akron for the Canteen.  They will dance to a juke box and a coke machine will be furnished.  Members of the sorority will be present at all times.  All teen age pupils will be invited to loaf, play, and dance in the Den.




The News-Sentinel, Oct. 12, 1951

          The Vogue Beauty Shop, operated by Iva Shriver Cox, has moved to 602-1/2 Main street, above the Schultz 5 & 10 store.  They occupy the rooms formerly used by Byron Shore, accountant.


13th St. GROCERY

Pur Guy Ault

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 13, 1951

          Announcement was made this morning of the sale of the 13th Street Grocery by Mr. & Mrs. Robert Marshall to Mr. & Mrs. Guy Ault.  The Aults took possession this morning.



City Water Works.

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 13, 1951

          City waterworks Supt., Art Poundstone, was tickled this morning after opening the day’s mail.  Here is the “statement” received from a pump supply firm.  It is in pleasant contrast to what is usually received.  The statement read:

          “City of Rochester

          Water Department,

          Rochester, Indiana

          “You don’t owe us a cent!

          “We wish you did.

          “The business you have given us in the past is appreciated.  We hope we can be of service to you in the future.”




Byron Shore

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 16, 1951

          Byron Shore, who for the past several years has had his public accounting business over the Schultz Variety store, corner of Main and 7th street, has moved his office to his large brick residence (at 1204 Main street), on the southwest corner of Main and 12th street this city



Bert Myers Home

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 16, 1951

          For the first time in 17 years, the six children of Mr. & Mrs. Bert Myers were able to be together for a family reunion over the past week end.

          Those present were Mr. & Mrs. A.C. Gunn, Chicago; Mr. & Mrs. H.O. Owen, daughters Jane and Betty of Chicago; Mr. & Mrs. P.V. Coulton, Toronto, Ont.; Arthur Myers, Baltimore, Mr.; Mr. & Mrs. Paul Myers and son Bill, and Mr. & Mrs. Herbert Myers and daughter Marilyn of Peoria, Ill.  Mrs. Arthur Myers and daughter Betsy of Baltimore were unable to attend.



Burgener, New Plant

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 19, 1951

          Robert Burgener, who recently sold his building at 110 E Fourth Street to C.R. Barkman, is still operating his business from that site and will continue there until his new building is ready for occupancy.

          The new plant, which will manufacture cement blocks and other concrete products, will be located east of the Airport Grill on Road 14.  Construction has started and is expected to be completed within 60 days.  The new building will be completely modern with an overhead conveyor system to facilitate the handling of heavy bulk materials.


Florentine Shoppe

Pur Kathryn Kough

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 19, 1951

          Mrs. Kathryn Kough, formerly a beautician in Logansport, announced yesterday that she had purchased the Florentine Shoppe in Kewanna from Mrs. Robert Harbett of Lake Manitoiu and is now operating the business.


Rinderlnecht Olds

Agcy Opens Soon

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 22, 1951

          Announcement was made today by A.G Rinderknecht that on Nov. 1 or soon thereafter, he will open the Rinderknecht Motors at 120-122 East Eighth Street.  The new firm will have the Oldsmobile agency with complete sales and service departments.

          Mr. & Mrs. Rinderknecht have lived in Rochester for three years and now reside at 911 Madison Street.  During that time he has been district manager for Oldsmobile.  The agency was owned and operated for a number of years by Oren “Brick” Kepler, who discontinued business here when he moved his family to Indian Rock, Florida, last August.

          The agency building which is owned by The Barnhart Van Trump Co., will be improved and redecorated completely to provide modern display rooms.  The service department will be established in the rear. Mr Rinderknecht has been with General Motors for 11 years.  This included work at both Detroit and Flint in the G.M. Research Laboratories, G.M. Institute, G.M. Insurance Division, the Cadillac Division and then with Oldsmobile.  He comes well schooled in automobile experience and will bring modern salesmanship and service to the agency.



In I.U. Crimson Bull

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 27, 1951

          The October issue of the Crimson Bull, campus humor magazine published at Indiana University contains three pages devoted to the lovely Carol Mitchell, entitled “That’s Our Gal!” Three beautiful pictures fill the first page, captioned, “From These Lovelies - came Our Carol - a gal of Talent - and of beauty,” the latter a picture taken at Lake Manitou and occupying the entire page.  And the entire cover of the magazine is a lovely picture in her Indiana crown and regal robes, and labeled “America’s No. 2 Sweetheart.”

          A short description of the Miss Indiana and Miss America contests is included as well as pictures of Carol with Xavier Cugat taken at the Colonial Hotel; with Governor Schricker and the key to Indiana; and at Lafayette receiving her crown as Miss Indiana University gave Carol a very warm welcome upon her return to the

campus, and is keeping her busy with appearances at all sorts of events.



Pick Corn

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 30, 1951

          Stricken ill and with 25 acres of corn unpicked, Raymond Riddle, Route 5, Rochester, was looking forward with gloomy anticipation to the loss of his crop.

          That, however, was before some forty of Riddle’s friends and relatives staged another exhibition of Good Samaritan spirit which makes Hoosier Hospitality a by-word throughout the nation.

          Bright and early Monday morning ten corn pickers, eight tractors and wagons, manned by 40 men moved into the field and by 10:30, a mere three hours later, the corn was harvested and the 40 hungry men were being fed sandwiches, pie and coffee by Mrs. Riddle, assisted by the ladies of the Tiosa church.

          Riddle, who has been bedfast for the past three weeks suffering with an attack of Phlebitis which crippled his right arm, expressed himself as being proud and pleased beyond words to know that he had such fine friends.

          Those who participated in the demonstration of good neighborness were:    Sam Arnold, Rosco Overmyer, Orville Long, Merble Chapman, Rudy Green, Phil Hauck, Charles Borden, James O’Dell, Harry Osborn, Pat Overmyer, Donald Umbaugh, Robert Long, George W. Hawk.

          Dick Lewis, Hall B. Maus (of Denver), Mahlon Bair, Vernon Scott, Charles Walters, Walter Goodner, Joe Lewis, Earl Partridge, George Schwenk.

          Frank L. Rohrer, Max Koelm, Charles Lee Riddle, Roy Hubbard, Robert E. Lewis, Cal Kuhn, Paul Partridge, Don Kanouse, Earl Linn.

          Pete Alber, Charles E. Riddle, D.T. Harper, Harold Partridge, Earnest Hart, Mike Roman, Joe Conaway.



Lessee Hudkins Bro

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 31, 1951

          In a deal closed yesterday between Pure Oil Co and Donald and George Hudkins the service station at Fourth & Main streets reopened under the new Lessees.

          The station, closed for many weeks, was formerly operated by Omer Richardson.- - - -



G. McCrosky Home

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 31, 1951

          Mr. & Mrs. Gerald McCrosky and family of near Fulton opened their home Sunday for the first reunion of all the descendants of Nancy P. McCrosky, deceased.

          At the noon hour a buffet dinner was enjoyed by the 34 guests present:   Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McCrosky and family of Star City; Mrs. Deloris Rans, Winamac; Mr. & Mrs Cecil McCrosky, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Clarence McCrosky, Kewanna, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Bevington and son, Walton; and Mr. & Mrs. Clifford McCrosky and son, Mrs. Bertha McCrosky, Gene Rouch, Carol Sue and Margaret McCrosky, Con McCrosky, Mr. & Mrs. Harley McCrosky, Mrs. Sarah McCrosky, Carl McCrosky, Mr. & Mrs. Delbert McCrosky, and Mr. & Mrs. Gerald McCrosky and family, all of Fulton.

          The afternoon was spent socially and several pictures were taken through the afternoon.  The reunion next fall will be with Mr. & Mrs. Cecil McCrosky of Rochester.



“Doc” Newcomb

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 7, 1951

          Open house, featured with an all day fish fry, will be held at the new Newcomb’s Fulton Co. Feed Service on Saturday.  The public is invited to visit the store beginning at 9:00 a.m, inspect the newly erected building and get acquainted with J.G. “Doc” Newcomb and his assistants.  - - - -

          The store is located directly across from the Rochester Canning Co factory. - - - -



Mgrs., Skidmore Bros

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 10, 1951

          The Phillips 66 service station at 918 Main street, came under the management of Forrest and Henry Skidmore when Robert Cessna disposed of his half interest in the buriness Thursday.

          Forrest (Frosty) Skidmore and Cessna took over the station in 1947.  Henry, who has been a route man for the Modern Dairy, will operate the station with his brother.




Buys Joyner Bldg

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 14, 1951

          Climaxing weeks of negotiations The News-Sentinel was advised late Tuesday that the Rochester plant of the Joyner Corporation had been sold to the Safway Steel Products of Milwaukee.- - - -

          The Rochester building, which has been idle since the settlement of a strike among Joyner workers last Sept. 21, is a one-story concrete and steel structure, 120’x100’, and was completed last May 23, at a cost of $75,000.  It is located in the Manitou Heights Addition, just east of the city. - - - -

          Clarence Hill, the new plant manager, a native of the city and with an extensive background in engineering, is a graduate of Purdue University.  After several years during which he worked as an indstrial and lubrication engineer in the southwest, Hill returned to Rochester in 1925 to establish the John F. Hill Company, an iron and steel maintenance firm.

          He served as a city councilman from 1935 to 1943, and acted as chairman of the City Board of Works.  During this time he designed the city’s new water works.

          In 1947 Hill was elected Mayor of the city, the position from which he will retire Jan. 1, 1952.  Also since taking office as Mayor he has served as secretary of the Chamber of Commerce

          Mr. & Mrs. Hill and their son, John, and daughter, Betty Kay, make their home at 507 Fulton street.



Pur E.&G. Branigin

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 15, 1951

          A real estate deal of considerable import was transacted at noon today, when the Oakwood Apartments, 1109-1115-1122 E. Ninth street, this city was sold to Elba L. and Gene L. Branigin, Jr., of Franklin, Ind.  The property was sold through the agency of Benjamin Boleman of Indianapolis.  The building is valued at $125,000.00.

          The apartment building which was completed in June of 1949 was owned by the following stockholders: Roscoe Pontius, Clarence Hill, Hugh A. Barnhart, J.H. Myers, Karl Gast, M.C. Barr, Lynn Chamberlain, Joe Swisher and Ernest Baxter.  The property which was built under the FHA plan was operated by Rochester Apts, Inc., and for the past several months Byron Shore, of this city, was manager.


          The retiring officers of the corporation are Hugh A. Barnhart, president; Roscoe Pontius, treasurer and Clarence Hill, secretary.

          Mr. Branigin, a well-known attorney, will continue to operate his new property as a corporation and Mr. Shore will be retained as the manager for the present.

          The new owners take immediate possession of this property which embraces 15 modern one and two bedroom units.  The apartment building is located on State Road 14 and is but a quarter mile distant from the west shore line of Lake Manitou.



Caught by Sheriff

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 19 , 1951

          Almost four months of freedom came to an end at 9 o’clock Sunday night for Robert G. (Johnny) Beerwert, 40, Route 4, Rochester.

          Beerwert, who started a 1-10 year sentence at the Indiana State Prison at Michigan City last Jan. 21, made good his escape from the prison’s Neimer farm August 5.  He had been convicted here on a fraudulent check (grand larceny) charge.

          Beerwert was picked up last night by Sheriff Norris and Special Deputy, Everett Davis on a tip from a source which preferred to remain unidentified.

          Norris and Davis went to a cabin on the river near Leiters Ford.  When they tried the door of the cabin they found it locked.  The officers broke into the place to find the escaped con in a tractable mood.  He was brought to the county jail where Michigan City prison authorities were notified of his capture.

          Beerwert told Sheriff Norris an amazing story of his travels since his escape last August.  He had been all through the southwest “hoboing” his way, working and sleeping where and when he could.

          When he returned to this section he jumped from a moving train near Delong.

          In the fall he injured his leg so badly that he was unable to get about, so, he hid in a swamp for three days with nothing but swamp water to keep him alive.

          He gained entrance to the cabin after his leg recovered and had lived on what he could find by breaking into other cabins and homes in the area.  Norris said he had been responsible for probably 20 or more break-ins to get food and other necessities.


          The mild-mannered, slightly built Beerwert showed no inclination to resist when he was taken last night and talked freely to officials at the jail.

          State authorities came here to take him back to the prison to finish his term late this morning.



Wins More Honors

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 20, 1951

          Rochester’s Carol Mitchell continues to appear in the “limelight” as a result of her triumphant victory as Miss America No. 2.  Although an honor student at Indiana University, she is able to find time to make public appearances and to entertain at all sorts of functions both on the campus and elsewhere.

          Many honors and much publicity have come to Carol, including a feature in a recent Sunday Magazine section of the Louisville, Ky., Courier-Journal, in which her daily routine as a student was described and pictured.  Also, her official picture for the Atlantic City contest graces the cover of the latest issue of I.U. Alumni Magazine.

          And readers of the November 18 Chicago Tribune Graphic Magazine saw a picture of Carol in a feature called “Youth on the Campus,” in which she is described as having “a face that in its modeling is suggestive of Greer Garson.”

          Another honor came when, along with Miss North Carolina, Miss Chicago, and Miss America of 1951, Miss Indiana was chosen to appear in the famous “Movietime U.S.A. Parade” in Chicago.  Along with a galaxy of movie stars, these girls were feted at a formal dinner, and rode on beautiful floats in the parade.  In addition, Miss Mitchell appeared in Chicago as a representative of the beauty of Indiana, as part of a publicity stunt in which Illinois claimed to have beauties surpassing those of Indiana.   Although no winners were determined, the beautiful Carol was again brought to the attention of thousands of newspaper readers.

          For two days of last week Carol was invited to appear with marionette shows at the famous Toy Fair which is presented each year by L.S. Ayres and Co. In Indianapolis.  The event, sponsored by the A.A.U.W., was attended by large crowds, whom Carol captivated as usual.  During the week she also appeared on two TV programs on which she gave insructions on how to make and work marionettes.




Buy New Store Bldg

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 21, 1951

          Mr. & Mrs. Wendell Tombaugh, owners of the Jean’s Gift Shop, 616 Main street, this city, today announced that they have purchased the new store room building directly east of the Berkway Market E. Ninth, from Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Fansler.

          The Tombaughs plan to open a modern retail store, handling yarns, needlework accessories, stationery, office supplies and kinds of kindred items for the office and the home.  Their new store will be known as The Manitou Shopping Center.

          Mrs. Tombaugh has operated the gift shop since 1945 and Mr Tombaugh is the local agent for the Western Union Telegraph Co. which has its offices at 616 Main.   The telegraph office will also be moved to the East Ninth street location.

          Mr. Tombaugh, in an interview, stated he planned to have his business open in its new location on Friday, December 28th.


5-10-$1 STORE

Ernest Eber

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 23, 1951

          Akron will get a new 5-10-$1 store when Mr. & Mrs. Ernest Eber formally open their business today with a big two-day selling event.

          The new store will be a self-serving operation.

          The Ebers moved to Akron recently from South Whitley and have taken an apartment on East Rochester street where they will make their home with their two children.




The News-Sentinel, Nov. 23, 1951

          Elmer W. Zimmerman of Constantine, Mich., an experienced baker, has leased the business room at 731 Main St. and will re-open Dec. 7, the pastry shop formerly operated by Eldin Taylor, according to information recently received here.

          Mr. Zimmerman, who formerly was employed as a pastry cook in North Manchster opened a bake shop in Constantine about three years ago.  He plans to close the Michigan bakery and move the equipment to his new location here.   He will be assisted by Mrs.


Zimmerman.  They are the parents of two sons aged 10 and 14.  He is now secretary of Constantine Rotary club, and a member of the EUB church in that city.



Reopens Full Time

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 26, 1951

          Adam Sommers, who owns and operates the Sommers Grain Co. at Grass Creek, expects to reopen on Thursday, Nov. 29, after a remodeling program which involved the installation of more than $3,000 in new machinery, a new blower system and general renovation.

          Sommers has owned the elevator for three years.  The plant has been operating on a part-time basis for the past two weeks during the modification process.



Pur Kewanna Men

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 29, 1951

          Sale of the Standard Elevator, Kewanna, to three Kewanna men was announced Wednesday by Standard Elevator Co., owners and operators of the property for several years.

          New owners are George Van Meter, Elmer Seidel and Richard Garner.  The announced purchase price of $51,500 includes an 80 acre tract of land just east of the elevator.

          Mr. Garner has taken over the managerial duties, succeeding Claude Dobson who managed it for Standard.



New Branch Store

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 3, 1951

          Manager Fred Jordan, of Stewart’s Bakeries, has announced the opening next Saturday of a new branch store at 416 Fourth St., Logansport, where a complete line of bread and pastries will be carried, and from which rural truck delivery service throughout the surrounding territory will be handled.

          All products will be made at the company’s modern plant in Rochester and delivered to the new branch early each morning.   A garage for the service of company trucks serving that territory will be operated there



Harvest Corn

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 3, 1951

          A group of “Good Neighbors” will be on hand early Tuesday morning with tractors, pickers, trucks and elevators to pick and store a 50-acre stand of corn on the S.S. Hoffman old farm, three miles west of Rochester on S.R. 14.

          The corn crop represents the work of Dick Greer, grandson of the late Alvin Hoffman, whose death ocurred recently, after a long illness, including about four weeks in Woodlawn Hospital.

          The “Good Neighbor” group who informed Greer Sunday of their intentions, are all residents of the Hoffman neighborhood.  They expect to do the job in its entirety in a single day.

          Estimates on production indicate a total of some 3,000 bushels of corn to be harvested.



Move Office

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 4, 1951

          The Miller & Mitchell Insurance Agency will move offices in the near future from the Fieser building, (NW Cor) Main & Seventh streets, where they have been located for many years, to the Times Theatre building room, soon to be vacated by Jean’s Gift Shop and Western Union office.

          The new location will give the insurance firm a ground-floor location.  The Gift Shop will move to a recently purchased room adjacent to the Berkway Market in Manitou Heights.



Harvest Corn

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 6, 1951

          The operation, which was delayed a day by rain and wet fields, was originally scheduled for Tuesday at the S.S. Hoffman old farm, three miles west of this city on Indiana 14.

          The crop was planted and tended by Dick Greer, a grandson of the late Alvin Hoffman who died recently after a long illness.  Estimates on the number of bushels picked ranged from 2,500 to 3,000, or from 1,000 to 1,250 bushels per hour.

          On hand at the starting bell Wednesday morning, were Russell Wagoner, Ralph Bitterling, M. Gohn, Francis Zegafuse, John L. Cessna,


Merrell Wagoner, Frank Greer, Bill Conley, Calvin Braman, Melva Hunter, George Burton.

          David Wagoner, Bill Belcher, Clyde Neff, Joe N. Baker, George Wheelock, Charles Fear, Tom McCoughlin, Omer Richardson, Kenny Hall, Frank Cripe, Harold Townsend, Harold Burton, Albert Bowen, Fred Zellers and Earl Nickell.



Mgr. Eugene Sharp

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 18, 1951

          Eugene Sharp, former A&P manager at Winchester, Ind., on Monday assumed managerial duties at the local store, succeeding Vernon Schell who will soon leave for Florida in search of health.

          Mr. Sharp is married, and is now searching for a place of residence in Rochester.  He has been with A&P several years.



R.R. Rosenbury

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 22, 1951

          The local community will now have the services of a graduate sale crier. This was disclosed by the announcement Friday, that Robert R. Rosenbury, son of Mr. & Mrs. Harry Rosenbury, RFD 3, has entered the auctioneering field here.

          Robert was reared on the Rosenbury farm northwest of Rochester, and should be basically qualified for the job of sale crying.  He is a graduate of The Reppert School of Auctioneering, Decatur, Ind.



Ida E. Rouch Home

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 24, 1951

          The annual reunion of the family of Mrs. Ida E. Rouch was held at her home, 829 Monroe Street, Sunday.  Those present were Mr. & Mrs. Roy Rans and children, Mr. & Mrs Joe Rans, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Showley and sons, Mr. & Mrs. Lester Rouch and children, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Thomas and daughters, and Mr. & Mrs. John Agnew of Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Nicoll and son, and Mr. Alfred Reed of Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Don Norris and children, Mr. & Mrs. Loyd Rouch, and Mr. & Mrs. S. Earl Rouch of Rochester.  A turkey dinner was served at the noon hour.  Mrs. Rouch received many gifts from her children and grandchildren.



Sachs Amateur Hr.

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 24, 1951

          Little Linda Lou, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Roland Lukens, of near Akron, competed in the Maurice B. Sachs Amateur Hour program over a Chicago radio and TV network Sunday afternoon.

          Linda Lou gave some humorous take-offs on such celebrities as Jimmy Durante, Tallulah Bankhead and others.  She also did a delightful tap dance number.  The Fulton county youngster has done professional modeling for a number of years and she acquitted herself most creditably in the Sachs show Sunday.  Friends desiring to help Linda cop the coveted prize should mail post cards to the Maurice B. Sachs Amateur Hour Show, Chicago stating that Linda Lou is their choice.



Wins Top Prize

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 31, 1951

          One of Fulton county’s most talented little ladies received signal honors Sunday when she appeared on request on the Maurice B. Sachs Amateur Hour to receive the top award of $75 and a beautiful Gruen wrist watch for her appearance on Sunday Christmas Broadcast at the Chicago Civic Opera House before an audience of nearly 4,000 people.

          She is Linda Lukens, gifted daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Roland Lukens, RFD 2, who did an impersonation sketch-song-and-dance number which won for her the coveted first prize and entitles her to appear again in February on the same program to vie with eleven other weekly winners for the grand prize, a 1952 Ford automobile.

          Little Linda Lou is a charming Miss who has won considerable recognition as a juvenile model in a number of fashion shows, as well as a growing reputation as an entertainer of rare ability.

          Linda Lou is ten years old today.



In Top Women, 1951

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 31, 1951

          In the Sunday edition of the Indpls Star of Dec. 30, Carol Mitchell, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. E.L. Mitchell, Rochester, is listed among the top Indiana women who were prominent in the news during the year of 1951.   A large two-column picture of Carol is


prominently displayed in a feature article which names women in the state who made the headlines in various fields.



Pur J.W. Mitchell

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 2, 1952

          Announcement of the sale of the Hatch Apartments, 318 W. Ninth St., to Dr. J.W. Mitchell, local dentist, was made Monday afternoon by Mr. & Mrs. Roscoe Hatch.

          Dr. & Mrs. Mitchell have taken possession of the four-unit apartment building.  The former owners plan to reside in the basement apartment for the next ten days before leaving for Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., where they will spend the winter.



Anne P. Young

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 3, 1952

          Mrs. Anne Potter Young of this city, has accepted a position with The News-Sentinel as classified advertsing manager.  She replaces Mrs. Louis Alspach who, with her family, is movig to Mishawaka in the near future.



Office Supplies

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 4, 1952

          The Book Store, owned by Everett Lichtenwalter, today purchased the office supply business from the Barnhart-Van Trump Company.  The latter firm has carried a complete line for over 35 years as a part of its job printing department.  However, the newspaper and job work has now grown to such proportions that all of the space and time in the plant is needed for production of printing and the newspaper.

          The Book Store has carried various office supplies but this will now complete their line for ledger cover, ledger pages, typewriter ribbons, memeograph ribbons, stencils and ink, rubber stamps and miscellaneous supplies.







Dr. Ross Franklin

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 14, 1952

          Fort Wayne, Jan 14 - Dr. Ross Franklin Lockridge, Sr., 74, writer and lecturer on Indiana and Midwest history, died Saturday night in Bloomington Hospital.

          Funeral services will be held at 10:30 a.m. Tuesday at the First Methodist Church of Bloomington.  The body will be brought to Fort Wayne for burial with graveside services at 4 p.m. Tuesday in Lindenwood Cemetery.

          Mr. Lockridge had been ill with heart disease for about a year, but was taken to the hospital only Saturday.  His most recent book was “The Story of Indiana,” adopted less than a year ago as an eighth grade textbook in this state.

          He also wrote “How Government Functions in Indiana,” “George Rogers Clark,” “A. Lincoln,” “The Hoosier Township Trustee,” and “LaSalle,” among others.

          A native of Miami County, he was born in 1877 and attended Roann High School.  He worked his way through Indiana University by teaching, taking his Bachelor of Arts Degree in 1900 and the Bachelor of Laws Degree in 1907.   One of the first I.U. winner of the Phi Beta Kappa key, he received an honorary degree of Doctor of Letters in 1938 from Lincoln Memorial University of Harrowgate, Tenn.

          He was principal of Peru High School in 1903.

          In 1907 he opened a law office in Shawnee, Okla., and served as a police judge, county judge and public defender of Oklahoma before returning to Indiana in 1913.

          A short time later he became affiliated with Wayne Knitting Mills as employment manager and welfare director.

          He had also been an extension lecturer for Indiana University and for a number of years was field extension secretary but was not connected with the institution at the time of his death.  He was widely known for his lectures and his “Campfire Talks” in which he dramatized pioneer days for outdoor audiences.

          During the depression he was state director of the Federal Writers Project and from 1935 to 1937 was director of the Hoosier Memorial Activities under the Indiana Univerity Foundation.  He also was active in the restoration project at New Harmony and was known throughout the state for historicl “on the spot” lectures.


          His son, Ross F. Lockridge, Jr., won critical praise as a novelist after writing “Raintree County” published in 1948.  The young man was found dead of carbon monoxide poisoning in his garage in March, 1949.

          Survivors include his wife, Elsie Shockley Lockridge, two children, Shockley Lockridge of Mark Forest, Ill., and Lillian Louise Lockridge of Bloomington and six grandchildren.



          Dr. Lockridge had many friends throughout Rochester and Fulton county.  For the past several years he gave lectures in both Fulton and Marshall counties on historical events which occurred in those vicinities.

          Among his more recent talks here were those on the Chippewanaung site and the Evacuation of the last tribes of Indians during the 1830s from their camp along the Tippecanoe river north of Rochester.  Large classes of teachers and students attended these interesting talks given by this well-known Indiana historian.



And Faded Away

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 25, 1952

          Bigfoor - that is an unusual name for a little town.   It undoubtedly can be placed among the classical ones of Indiana, which includes Gnawbone, Santa Claus, Osciola and many others.

          Bigfoot was once a thriving little village located in the northeastern part of Fulton county but it is no more.  Today it lives only in the memories of the oldest citizens of the neighborhood who were born and lived their entire lives in that community.  Others, who resided there as boys and girls, and moved away, heard of the glorious Bigfoot days from their fathers and mothers.  And so it is only natural that the little place played its full part in helping to build Fulton county.  Its history is just as an important part of Americana as that of any other community that ever existed.

          When the village prospered at the height of its glory it was an important center of a progressive community.  There were five houses, two stores, blacksmith shop, sawmill and a small office building.  The population numbered around twenty-five persons.

          What happened to Bigfoot that such a thriving community should fade out of existence?   When rural free delivery and the model


T Ford came into the lives of the inhabitants, is just went the way of all flesh.  The houses and stores, one after another, became empty during the late eighties and nineties.  Fire brought more destruction.  The last store closed its doors about 1908.  Gradually the place became more and more deserted.  The remaining structures were torn down or moved away.  Today all that remains is one house nearby.  A lone pine tree and a lilac bush grow where the village once stood.

          The settlement was located about eleven miles northeast of Rochester, almost in the center of Newcastle Township.  The site, which is in section twenty was on a farm owned today by Wilvin Long who inherited the land from his father and grandfather.  It missed being a cross road town by one-fourth of a mile and was on a straight east and west dirt highway.

          How did the village get that unusual odd name is the first question everyone asks.  It is the opinion of most authorities, all of whom were pioneers of Bigfoot, that it originated from the title of an Indian chief, who once lived in that vicinity with his tribe.  The name springs up in Indian history over the middle west, being somewhat common with Whitehorse and others.

          Henry Colfax Heighway, who was born in the neighborhood, still lives there and will be eighty-four years of age on February 27th, says along with several others that the original name of the village was “Henpeck.”   When the progressive citizens decided to make application for the establishment of a postoffice there, sometime in the seventies, they were requested by the Postoffice Department to give it another name.  There were other Henpecks in the state.  One was nearby in Cass County and that town is now Twelve Mile.  Mr. Heighway says that it was discussed in a cracker barrel session at the store.  Jacob Long spoke up when asked to suggest a name, and said, “Oh, Bigfoot, I guess.” The application was promptly filled out and sent in that way.  So Henpeck changed its name and Bigfoot it was for all time to come.

          Marion Fultz, another pioneer and native of the community, remembers Henpeck and says that the name Bigfoot came from that of an Indian Chief.  But Val Zimmerman, of Rochester, retired mortician, who as a youth helped his father at many funerals in the vicinity, has a different story.  He states that he once talked about this with the late Artie Eaton and they figured it out that the village got its name otherwise.  After every rain, Val says, the heavy rich clay soil stuck to the farmers’ boots and everyone of them quickly developed “a big


foot” -which was quite often.  Hence Bigfoot came as a natural name for the place.

          Mrs. Jestina Mickey of Rochester, who will be ninety-one on February 10th, was born and grew up in Bigfoot.  She says the first white man to own the farm on which the village was located, was her father, Joseph Severns.  A heavy growth of virgin timber stood there when the first building was erected.  In 1865 the farm was sold to Joseph Long, grandfather of the present owner.  Shortly thereafter Long saw the beginning of the little town.

          Artemas A. Miller, seventy-five, who was born on a farm three-fourths of a mile east of the site, and still lives there, says the first structure was a farm house on the north side of the road where Marion Bybee lived for several years.  But the building that really started the village, he states, was a combination store and dwelling.  It was erected by a man whose name has been forgotten.  That was possibly around the year 1865.  Several years later, about 1870, the business was purchased by Lewis Strong who took possession of the place    Shortly afterwards he built a larger building to the east and moved his store there.  The other was used as a residence.

          Mrs. Susie (Thompson) Rogers of Oakland, California, who does not want it known that she will be ninety-five come January 28th, writes that she has been in Bigfoot “a thousand times, more or less.” The Strong store, she says, was in the main room and there he sold dry goods and groceries.  They had two children, Clinton and Emma.  There was also a barn where he kept his horse and a small building in which vegetables and canned goods were stored.  Mrs. Rogers worked for them at different times.

          There seems to be no complete history of Bigfoot business houses through the years but old timers give quite a list of store owners who followed Lewis Strong after his untimely death, which will be told later.  Included were Peter Busenberg, John Miller, Lewis Norris, Allen Jefferies, David Busenberg and James Coplen.  The latter was the father of Gene Coplen, druggist of Rochester.  “Jimmy” was forced out of business when the store burned in 1889, and it was never rebuilt.  Gene relates that his father had taken out insurance in a new company and they were unable to pay him anything.  It was a total loss.

          A Fulton County atlas published in 1883 lists Bigfoot and states that a general store was located there,, owned by Busenberg and Jefferies.  Those who remember the partners say that Dave was a


plump and jolly fellow, while Allen had a more serious disposition. In due time Dave bought his partner out.

          At various times there was a second store located at Bigfoot and this changed hands many times.  William Barrett started the first one in front of his blacksmith shop about 1883.  When Coplen was burned out the postoffice moved to Barrett’s.   Orange Meredith constructed a building and started a store.  He had the postoffice for a time.  At another period Elmer E. Jefferies and Mart Kizer were in business together.  Lena Hartman was a proprietor for a time.  There was also Ora Anderson and his mother, Sarah Long, and they sold to Allen Long.  In later years a Mr. Chatto was a merchant there.  There were probably other store owners but their names were not forthcoming.

          During the years when the stores prospered the merchants ran huckster wagons over the nearby country to gather eggs, butter and poultry which they traded for groceries and dry goods.

          Most of the old timers agree that the first postoffice was located in the Lewis Strong store.  Mail was brought by horseback originally from Warsaw.   When a “star” route was set up from Rochester to Talma, then called Bloomingsburg, the mail sack was brought from the latter village every Tuesday and Saturday.  Joshua Tipton was a mail carrier for several years, then the Bert Taylor family took over the job and later Ollie Moore brought it on from Athens.  Saturday afternoon was the big time of the week in Bigfoot and at the postoffice.  As many as fifty farmers would gather in the general store to search the mail.  They came in afoot, by horseback, by wagon and by buggy.  This was the day they not only received mail but the Sentinel (Democratic) and the Republican (GOP), the two county weekly newspapers, arrived.  Everyone could get up to date on the political and local news of the county.

          The usual procedure was for the postmaster to dump the contents of the mail sack on to the counter.  He would pick up each piece of mail and call out the name.  If the recipient was present he answered “here” and it was thrown to him.  If the person addressed was absent then it went into a postoffice box to await his arrival.

          Mail was slow in those days but then no one was in a hurry.  For instance, a letter mailed in Bigfoot late Tuesday afternoon would be sent out Saturday to Talma.  It would be picked up there on Tuesday and taken to Rochester and then sent on its way by train.  When rural free delivery out of Rochester was established in the county it marked the beginning of the end of the Bigfoot postoffice.  It was no


longer needed.  When the postoffice was finally closed this came as a death blow and the village saw the Saturday afternoon crowds no more.  The people were at home or they had gone to other towns to do their trading.

          Bigfoot was somewhat ahead of other pioneer villages becase it once boasted of its own telephone exchange, the true mark of a future metropolis.  Organization work went on for almost two years.  Then the mutual company was established by Allen Long about 1903 when the switchboard was installed in his home.  He was the son of Jacob Long, founder of the village.  Alllen was the operator, lineman, foreman, bookkeeper, manager and general trouble shooter.  It is believed that the first president of the company was Henry Oldfather, who financed the business.

          It was easy to get a phone and join the mutual company.  One could build a half mile of telephone line himself and for this he would get stock valued at $10..00.  Or, if a citizen had the money he could pay in $10.00, get his stock and the half mile of line would be built for him.  Trees were used for poles and there was not much worry about good constrution - audible convesation was the only goal.

          Connection with the outside world was made the first year through a single line to Mentone.  One local wire extended west to the Clarence Peterson farm.  Another went to the Steel Ewing home.  A line traveled south to Arch Stinsons and another reached northwest towards Talma.  Dr. A.A. Stinson and Francis Richardson in Athens both were served from the Bigfoot exchange.

          Mr. Oldfather acted as both president and secretary and issued the stock certificates.  Frank Laird and Ephram Smith did most of the soliciting to get people interested.  A young man by the name of Elery Zoiner installed the phones in the homes, strung the wires and installed the switchboard.  Later, Long learned to do all this work.  When the lines were being built the workers stuck up poles which were small trees with the bark still on.  The single wires sometimes were simply laid between the bracket and the pole.  Often there were no insulators.  The wires remained this way several years before they were tied in.  Subscribers reported that when the poles and brackets were wet there was considerable noise on the lines and conversation was almost impossible.

          There were as many as 18 phones on one party line and it was often difficult to get through to central.  There were about 100 subscribers at one time, all members of the company.  The service cost


$1.00 per month.

          Later the exchange was moved into the Charles Witham house about the time Long moved to Mentone to take charge of the exchange there.  The company had just sold out to the Mentone outfit.  Loren Busenberg also ran the exchange but it was only for a short time.  Later the Northern Indiana Telephone Company bought the Mentone exchange and Bigfoot went along with it.  The subscribers then transferred to the Mentone or Akron or Rochester systems and once that was done the Bigfoot exchange was out of business.  That was the last business of the village and it followed the others into oblivion.

          The people there for several years had another outlet to the outside world.  The Rochester Telephone Company ran a line to the village and placed a public phone in the Sam Shobe residence.  Those who wanted to call someone at Rochester direct came to the Shobe home and used that phone.

          Old timers remember Allen Long as a progressive type of business man.  Among other things he owned a horseless carriage.  It had high buggy wheels with solid tires, a dashboard and the engine was up front.  The power was delivered by heavy chains to the rear axle.  At times the machine made a speed of six miles per hour over the rough country roads.

          Bigfoot for some time boasted of a sawmill.  This brought considerable activity to the community as buildings were being erected on every newly cleared farm.  Not much is remembered about it although the mill operated in the place for a number of years.   Lewis Strong built and operated the first one.  Marion Bybee ran it for several years.  No other owners have been reported.

          The first man to start shoeing horses was thought to be Isaac Tipton and his smithy was located on the north side of the road.  In 1880 James Jameson of Tennessee brought his wife and two children to Bigfoot.  He was young and willing to work so Peter Busenberg helped him to get started.  A shop was built for Jameson at the west end of the village.  The newcomer made good and in time became the sole owner of the business.  William Barrett, store owner, operated the blacksmith shop about 1890.

          Nearly all of the pioneers recall seeing the big huckster wagon, drawn by four horses, come into Bigfoot nearly every week.  This was a new business started in Warsaw by some young German boys, the three Beyer Brothers.  They bought butter, eggs and poultry and made


a reputation for honest dealing.  Their business grew with the years and they established plants at Warsaw, Rochester and many other towns.  They later sold the Rochester plant and others to Armour and Company.  Ed Beyer for years was a leading business man of Rochester, being the founder of the electric company which is now the Public Service Company plant and of the Indiana Bank & Trust Company.

          The story of Bigfoot and its citizens would be incomplete if Dr. Winfield Scott Shafer is left unmentioned.  The well known physician, father of Mayor Robert Shafer, who later founded Rochester College and Woodlawn Hospital in Rochester, started his practice of medicine in this country community.  He first lived in a log house on the east side of the road, south of the village.  Later he moved one-half mile north and then into Bigfoot.  He was there from 1875 to 1882.  In the beginning he worked on a farm in the day time and attended the sick whenever called, day or night.  He would travel on foot or horseback.  He also taught singing in order to help make a living.  While there he decided to become better prepared for his medical work.  He turned over his practice to a Dr. Kizer and went to college again.  When he finished he moved to Rochester and was a leading physician here until his death.

          Another well known doctor who started practice in Bigfoot was Dr. E.E. Rhodes.  He also moved to Rochester and his widow, Mrs. Clara Rhodes, is living in Rochester today.  Dr. Ziker built himself a small office in the settlement.  It burned down along with the general store in the 1889 fire.

          The greatest tragedy that came to Bigfoot was the accidental death of Lewis Strong.  In addition to his other business interests he operated two or three threshing outfits.  He brought the engine and separator to the Albert Heighway farm, east of the Possum Hollow school.  The latter’s young son, Henry Colfax, sat nearby and watched when something went wrong with the engine.  While Strong stood at the front of the machine to try and get it off dead center the crown sheet burst out behind.  This thrust the engine forward towards the separator.  The left front wheel struck a stump and the tongue went into the ground throwing the engine into the air and completely over just six feet away from Colfax.  Mr. Strong was thrown on the side of the separator, scalded and fatally injured.  He died two weeks later.

          Bigfoot once had a baseball team that was the pride of the community - just like the famous Red Fellows of Rochester.   They


won many games when the nine was going good.  They played barehanded and some of them went into action barefooted.  Jimmy Coplen was a star member of the team.

          The little town once made political history by erecting the highest hickory flag pole in the county if not in the state.  It seems that the hickory tree for years was the emblem of the Democratic party and there were plenty of Democrats around Bigfoot.  In the campaign of 1880 the Bigfoot Democrats erected a hickory flagpole carrying the United States flag and the Democratic banner.  It was constructed by splicing three trees together with heavy iron bands and it was over 100 feet high.  After serving its purpose the gigantic pole was sawed down and the tall stump was used as a hitching post for many years.

          The folks who grew up in and near Bigfoot lived the open life.  They used oxen to clear away the trees which gave them stump covered ground to raise crops.  They rebuilt the chimneys to their homes every fall with stone and at the top with logs, clay and straw.  They walked to Bigfoot whenever the horses were working in the fields and in the worst weather they rode along mud roads on horseback.  The women cooked meals over open fireplaces and later used wood burning kitchen stoves.  A visit to Rochester was something that occurred about twice a year and youngsters never forgot the long ride there and back in the big wagon pulled by a team of strong horses.

          These remembrences complete the story of a community that was founded in the wilds when life was rugged.  Bigfoot was born, grew and played its part to develop builders and leaders who had faith in their country and helped it to go forward.  Then when the stores they had built were no longer needed the little place did not die.  Like an old soldier - it just faded away.



          Editor’s Note: The information which makes this story possible was contributed voluntarily by many persons, most of whom were native of the Bigfoot community.  Those who wrote to the editor or gave data in person were Artemas A. Miller, 75, who still lives at Bigfoot, having been born on a farm three-quarters of a mile east of there; Mrs. Emma Meredith, daughter of Lewis Strong, who was born in the first building her parents owned, grew up and still lives in the community; William Norris, who lives one mile southeast of Bigfoot, where he was born; Mrs. Addie Jefferies Walburn, of Akron, who was born in Bigfoot in 1876; Mrs. Minnie Jefferies Wood, of Lowell, born


there in 1871; Mrs. Susie Rogers, Oakland, California; Mrs. Jestina Mickey, Rochester; Val Zimmerman, Rochester; Colfax Heighway; Marion Fultz, who was born 2-1/2 miles west and lived there until he was 18; Perry Jefferies, Rochester, a native of the communiy; Dr. A.E. Stinson, and his son, Dr. Dean Stinson, of Rochester.

          (For Further, See:  Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County Indiana Handbook, Vol. B, p. 165-172)



Chas. Taylor Home

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 1, 1952

          Floyd Taylor, Sr., and Floyd Taylor, Jr., of Albany, New York, and Mrs. Edward Paulick and Mrs. Ralph Conway of Michigan City, are visiting their parents, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Taylor, of this city.  They are also guests of their brothers and sisters in this community, Everett, Howard, and Cecil Taylor, Mrs. Jesse Church, Mrs. Orville Gilliland, and Mrs. Wilbur Harter of Akron.



Dick Downs, Mgr.

The News-Sentinel, Feb.12, 1952

          Friends and relatives here have learned of the recent appointment by the F.W. Woolworth Co, of Dick Downs as manager of their Peru store.

          Dick, a former local boy and graduate of Rochester high school, has been with the Woolworth Co. seven years.  He and Mrs. Downs, the former Kathleen McDougal, are moving from Chicago to Peru, where they expect to reside.



Last Steam Engine

The News-Sentinel, Feb.14, 1952

          The last steam locomotive on the Chicago division of the Erie R.R., and for a year or more used as a switch engine in the Huntington yards, will end 40 years of active service next Tuesday, according to officials of the road.

          Old Number 3028 will go into permanent retirement, replaced by a new, modern Diesel No. 920.  The Erie has been undergoing Diesel power conversion for some time, and with the death of “Old Relique” 3028, the last step will have been taken.



Patty Souther, Mgr.

The News-Sentinel, Feb.19, 1952

          A new Beauty Shop opened for business today at 630-1/2 Main St., and will be known as the Sta-Curl Beauty Shop.  Miss Patty Souther is the manager and will reside at the same address.

          Miss Souther formerly worked at the Vogue Beauty Shop since her graduation from Warner Beauy College in Fort Wayne in August of 1951.

          Miss Souther will specialize in machine, machineless and cold wave permanents.  She will also offer the usual services of shampoo and set and manicuring.

          The shop will be open from 9 to 5 Monday through Saturday, and special appointments may be made by phone.



Leas, H. Summers

The News-Sentinel, Feb.19, 1952

          Announcement has been made by Lester O’Dell of the sale of his lease on the O’Dell Shell Service Station at 516 Main St., to Howard Summers, 412 W. Eighth St.

          Mr. O’Dell has operated the station the past four years, assisted by his sons.  He will continue to reside on his farm in Richland township, but will assist Mr. Summers for a few days before returning to the farm.

          Mr. Summers is the son of the late Frank Summers, former Fulton county sheriff and Mrs. Summers, still residing in the city.  He has had several years experience in service station operation.

          The new operator is a Navy veteran of World War 11 and a member of the LeRoy Shelton American Legion Post.  He is married and the father of three children.  The station will be operated under the name of “Summer’s Shell Service Station.”



Jim Nixon, Owner

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 28, 1952

          On March 1, Jim Nixon will take charge of the Rochester News Agency, 720 Main street, succeeding E.L. McFall who will assume new connections at Akron, Ohio, according to information gained today.

          Nixon has been employed for several years at the Allison


Cleaners plant here.  McFall founded the news agency business a few years ago.  The agency, which handles a large list of daily and Sunday newspapers, magazines and other publications will continue the same quality service which has built the business to its present popularity, Nixon said today.


Argos Reflector

Eggbeer, pur

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 29, 1952

          The Argos Reflector, 72-year-old weekly publication in our  neighboring city, has been sold, according to an announcement made this week by R.S. O’Neill, retiring publisher.

          Effective March 1, new owners, William and Jeri Eggbeer will assume management of the paper.  Mr. Eggbeer has been associated with the paper as managing editor since September 1951.  Mrs. Eggbeer will assist her husband in production of the newspaper.  Eggbeer is a graduate of journalism at Notre Dame

          Mr. O’Neill will soon open a law office in Argos, and will devote his time to the practice of law, writing, and teaching.



Chas Spohn, Pur

The News-Sentinel, March 1, 1952

          Word of the sale of the Macy Pickle Co., to Charles Spohn Sr., and his son Charles Jr., of Lake Manitou, was released at Akron, Friday.  The actual purchase took place last fall.

          The Spohns formerly lived at 402 Pontiac St., Rochester before moving to Plymouth in June of 1949, where Mr. Spohn was employed by the Heinz Co.  While here, Mr. Spohn operated the Budlong factory for several years.

          In addition to the Macy plant, there will be a rceiving station opened in Akron.  Contracts are now being offered growers.



Ed Snaman

The News-Sentinel, March 17, 1952

          Ed Snaman, former conservation officer in Fulton County, was in Indianapolis today where he accepted an appointment to the staff of the Attorney General.  He was sworn in at the statehouse and then reported to the Welfare Department where he will serve as a Deputy


Attorney General.  He was appointed to the place by J. Emmett McManamon who heads the state legal office.

          Snaman was recently transferred to the Conservation department.  Several weeks ago he resigned to accept a position with the News-Sentinel.



Mrs. Art. Ballinger

The News-Sentinel, March 17, 1952

          Announcement was made today of the selection of Mrs. Arthur J. Ballinger to be in charge of the new Safway Steel Co., offices, located on S. Wabash Ave., Rochester.  The announcement was made by plant manager, Clarence Hill.

          Mrs. Ballinger has been employed as clerk in the office of the county highway superintendent’s office since Jan. 1.   Prior to that time she was city clerk-treasurer.

          As office manager, Mrs. Ballinger will go to the head office of the company in Milwaukee, March 31, where she will familiarize herself with their payroll procedures and office practices.  She will remain one week there before returning.



Ben Geib, Mgr.

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 1, 1952

          The Standard Oil Co. today announced the transfer of J.H. (Jake) Myers, for a number of years local bulk plant manager for Standard Oil, to a similar position in Michigan City.

          Actual transfer of the Rochester plant to the new manager, Ben Geib, was consummated Monday and went into effect today.  Mr. Geib has been a sales representative for Standard Oil in this district for several years and is well grounded in the oil business.

          Mr. Myers plans on a 30-day vacation and will assume his new position May 1.  He has a host of friends in Rochester who will regret to see him leave here, but who will wish him well in his new and larger field of endeavor








Bakery Depot

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 1, 1952

          Announcement has been made locally of the sale of three lots to the Ward Baking Co., by Charles Overmyer, east of Rocheter, opposite the airport.

          It is said the baking company plans to build a $25,000 bakery depot and garage.  They will operate 18 trucks out of Rochester.

          The company’s products are manufactured in South Bend and brought here where it is transferred into job lots for sales to groceries, food stores and restaurants in north central Indiana.



Motel Opens

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 4, 1952

          Erected and scheduled for operation by Mr. & Mrs. Charles W. Reser, who reside on West 10th street, city, Rose Dale offers a complete formula for rest.

          The floor plan is V-shaped, with the points toward the highway.  It is composed of 14 units, conditioned by a central heating and ventilatig system with individual thermostat controls.  Each unit is approximately 12 by 15 feet, has full bath facilities, latest type beds, box-springs, air-form mattresses and modern lounging and comfort appurtenances. - - - -



Scott L. Philip

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 10, 1952

          It has been announced locally of the opening of a new ladies and mens ready-to-wear store in the ground floor room of the Fromm Bldg., 514 Main street.  This is where the Roy’s Used Furniture Exchange was located before closing a couple months ago.

          The operators are Mr. & Mrs. Scott L. Philip of Warsaw, who have been in the ready-to-wear business for many years.  The local store will be managed by Mrs. Philip.  The opening date has been set for this weekend or early next week.







Lew Ayres, Visitor

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 15, 1952

          Actor Lew Ayres was a visitor in Rochester Monday afternoon; had dinner at the E.L. Mitchell home and spent the night at the Ghrist Motel.

          Mr. Ayres was here at the invitation of Miss Carol Mitchell, an invitation that stemmed from her appearance on the Ken Murray TV show last summer, in New York city.  It was here that Ayres met Miss Mitchell, who also appeard as the runner-up in the Miss America Pageant contest, on the Murray show.

          In true Hoosier cordiality, Miss Mitchell invited Ayres to visit her hometown anytime he happened to be in Indiana.  Remembering that invitation Ayres called from New York a few days ago sayng he was coming to Detroit to pick up a new car and that he would like to come to Rochester to meet the Mitchells.

          Accordingly, he arrived here at 3:30 Monday afternoon and with Carol “saw the sights” of the city.  His reaction was quite favorable.

          During the dinner hour last night, Mr. Mitchell casually mentioned he would like to excuse himself to hear his favorite radio program - “Dr. Kildare.” For some reason it had never occurred to the Mitchells that one of the principals in the program was at that moment seated at their dining table - Lew Ayres.  This was the first time, Mr. Ayres said, he’d ever heard the transcription of his own program, with Lionel Barrymore.

          This last Saturday night, Mr. Ayres narrated the Ken Murray Easter program.

          Leaving the Mitchells about 9 p.m., Mr. Ayres spent the night at the Ghrist Motel before proceeding to Florida for a short vacation.




The News-Sentinel, Apr. 17, 1952

          Little Barbara Halstead, professional dancer and singer, of this city today received a most complimentary letter from Earle J. Klopp, chairman of a big show which was presented in Bloomington, Ill., last Saturday evening and at which Barbara gave two performances.

          Mr. Klopp’s comment follows:

          “Dear Barbara .  .   Our members are accustomed to frequent entertainment, but in the years that I have spent on the entertainment


committee, I have never seen them so enthusiastic and appreciative of an entertainer’s talents.

          “You were marvelous and I think your Mother and Dad should be justly proud to be the parents of such a sweet girl.  You must come back and entertain us again.  Sincerely yours, Earle J. Klapp.”



Bargain Store, Opens

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 24, 1952

          The new “North Side Bargain Store,” 514 Main St., will hold their formal opening this Saturday, April 26, according to the owners, Mr. & Mrs. Scott L. Phillips, Warsaw.

          The store features mens’ and ladies’ ready-to-wear clothing.- - -



Repub., Feb. 4, 1887

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 28, 1952

          An old Rochester newspaper, captioned “Rochester Daily Republican,” bearing the date line of Friday Evening, Feb. 4th, 1887 was brought into the editorial room of The News-Sentinel a few days ago.

          The old relic is the property of Mrs. Edna Miller, 1214 Elm Street, this city.  The publishers of the paper was the late Major Bitters and son, Albert Bitters.

          Some of the advertisers whose messages appeared in the issue were: A.F. Maltby, undertaking; J. Dawson & Son, druggists; M. Wile dry goods and ladies apparel; George H. Wallace, groceries, queensware and woodenware; the Ross Foundry, David S. Ross and a few others.

          Some of the prices which prevailed in that year:   best coffee 16c lb.; granulated sugar 6-1/4c lb.; finest tea, 40c lb; barrel of salt $1.00; 4 lb crackers 25c all wool dress goods 50c yard; all wool blankets per pair $3.65 and Buckley cloth $2.75 per yard.



Keith Walburn, Pur.

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 29, 1952

          Announcement has been made of the sale of the “Farm Center” at 419 Main street to Keith Walburn by Keith Lungren.  Possession is to be given this coming Saturday, May 3.


          The new purchaser is a native of Rochester and the son of Mr. & Mrs. Harley Walburn, 1017 Elm street, and has been employed by Inland Steel at Gary.  Mrs. Walburn is the former Miss Helen Wilson, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Earl Wilson, 1119 Jefferson street.

          Mr. Lungren will continue to operate his poultry farms near Gonzales, Texas, and south of the city on U.S. 31.  He also recently took the agency for National Homes.



March 21, 1857

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 30, 1952

          On seeing the article about the 1887 copy of the Rochester Daily Republican in Monday night’s issue, your Kewanna reporter was reminded of an old Rochester paper in her possession - originally the property of her great-grandfather T.W. Barnett..  It is the Rochester Weekly Flag, issued under date of March 21, 1857, published by G. and Chas. Kline.  Among other items advertised were “Gum and Buffalo Shoes” and steel plows.

          Retail prices of selected items were as follows:   Beef per cwt, $4.00 and $4.50; butter 12-1/.2c per pound; eggs 10c per dozen; dressed turkeys 50c each; coffee 15c and 16c per pound; fresh pork per cwt, $450 and $5.00.

          Interesting articles included a story about Benjamin Franklin, when he was postmaster-general, an article on “The World Owes Me a Living” (sounds modern, does it not?) and a long article covering rumors of some hunters having seen a wild woman in Alabama.  Apparently that was news in those days.  Times do change.

          A.K. Plank offered a list of “Valuable Patent Medicines” among which were Rhodes Ague Cure; Bakers Pain Panacia, Roberts Hair Regenerator, and Souls Sovereign Balm Pills.



Fri., Nov. 23, 1877

The News-Sentinel, May 1, 1952

          Adding to the list of folks who have copies of the Rochester newspapers of yesteryear among the antique collections is Mrs. Glenn Daggy, 129 W. 6th street, this city.

          Mrs. Daggy today brought in a fairly well-preserved edition of The Rochester Union Spy which was published on Friday, November 23, 1877.  Major Bitters and Son were the publishers of this weekly



          Advertisers in this old paper included the following:   Dr. W.T. Cleland, physician and surgeon; William Hill, M.D.; Dr. J.C. Spohn, Dr. Angus Brown, homeopathic physician; Calkins & McClary, Herman & Rowley, Milo R. Smith, all attorneys; J.F. Adams, mgr., of pure candies; Rannells & Plank, books, stationery, wallpaper; B.O. Johnson, woolen mills.

          A grocery operated by G.H. Killen offered the following bargains:   Soft A sugar 10 pounds $1;   granulated sugar 8 lbs $1;   good tea 40c lb.; cigars finest Havana 3 for 5c; fine cut chewing tobacco pound 50c, Brooms triple sewed 15c and 20c.



G.C. Wassmus, pur

The News-Sentinel, May 5, 1952

          The Fulton Hotel in Fulton was sold today to George C. Wassmus of Culver and immediate possession was given.  Announcement of the sale was made by the Barker Realty Co., which handled the sale.

          The former owner of the business was W.E. Green who has moved to North St. Paul, Minn.  The sale was necessary because of Mr. Green’s health.

          The new owner will start a rmodeling program at once.



Albert Biddinger

The News-Sentinel, May 7, 1952

          A new barber shop has been opened in the Troutman building at 430 Main St., by Albert Biddinger.  The room was formerly an antique shop.

          Mr. Biddinge has been a barber for many years and owned and operated shops in Logansport and Rochester.



Ray Smiley

The News-Sentinel, May 8, 1952

          A used car lot has been started on the southeast corner of Main and Tenth streets by Ray Smiley, with several offerings already on location.

          This place was once the home of the late Mr. & Mrs. Sylvester


Alspach and is now owned by the Diamond D-X Oil Company.  Mr. Smiley has taken a six months leave of absence from his employmnt at Studebaker Corp.



Bldg Begins

The News-Sentinel, May 12, 1952

          Construction of a new office building for the McMahan Construction Co., has been started at the corner of Wentzel and Lucas streets in northeast Rochester on the site of the old Cole Bros circus quarters now owned by Otto McMahan.

          The new building will be 36x56 feet, one story high, and of brick and concrete construction.  It is planned for completion in 60 days.  All of the McMahan construction equipment is stored on these grounds.  With the new office building, all operations of the firm will be centralized in one area.

          The present McMahan office at 107 E. Ninth St., was included in the sale of properties, recently to the Ohio Oil Co., extending from the office westward to Main street.

          Officials of the oil concern indicated earlier that when the McMahan office building was vacated they could start tearing down the buildings to make way for a new super-service station.




The News-Sentinel, May 15, 1952

          A new business opens on East Ninth street, this city Saturday in conjunction with the Frozen Custard shop.  This new concern is unique inasmuch as it represents both wholesale and retail transactions.

          The business is known a the “Tummy Tickler” system, a copyrighted trade name originated by Gordon S. Griffin, owner of the Frozen Custard establishment.

          The “Tummy Tickler” wholesale portion of the new buiness consists of commercial trailers which will be custom-made and designed for any sort of retail concessions business. - - - -







O. Richardson

The News-Sentinel, May 17, 1952

          Omer Richardson started work this morning at the Summers Shell Service Station on North Main street as an attendant.  Mr. Richardson formerly operated the Pure Oil station at 4th and Main up until several months ago.  Prior to that time he operated the Texaco station at 11th and Main streets.



R.Engle, pur

The News-Sentinel, May 20, 1952

          Raymond Engle, half owner in the K & E Garage at Leiters Ford, has purchased the half interest of his partner, Bob Kerr, and will hereafter operate the business as the sole owner.

          Kerr plans to enter the insurance field.



M. Camblin, Pur

The News-Sentinel, May 22, 1952

          The Blue Products Co building at 116-118 West Ninth street has been purchased by Milton Camblin, manager of the Boston Store, from Earle A. Miller.

          The building, about 70 years old, is one of the landmarks of the city, having been at various times the location of a poultry and creamery business; the Rochester Electric Light Heat and Power Co., a Ford agency and a farm machinery sales company.  Mr. Miller purchased the building 11 years ago.

          The building is two stories high for an area of 40x95 feet and the rear portion is 70x100 feet, one story high.  The rear portion of the building has been used by the Boston Store as a furniture show room and warehouse.

          It was incorporated in the sales contract that Mr. Miller leases a portion of the basement for five years for his janitorial products business and printing equipment.

          Mr. Camblin is a native of Marion where he was in the drug store business before moving here several years ago.  The Camblins reside on the east side of Lake Manitou.





Pur, K. Overstreet

The News-Sentinel, May 24, 1952

          Kenneth Overstreet, owner of the Overstreet Grocery and resort spot on the southwest shore of Lake Manitou today announced that he has purchased the Rochester Armature and Ignition Co. business, 510 Main street from Roy Morris.  The sale was made through the Ort Waltz Realty Co. of this city.  - - - -

          Mr. Overstreet states the personnel of mechanics consists of Vic Arven, Von Staley and Art Oldfather. - - - -

          Both Mr. & Mrs. Morris have been ill for the past several months and it was for this reason the sale was made.



Pur, Kenneth Law

The News-Sentinel, May 28, 1952

          The Madrid Theatre in Akron, operated by Roger Wright, was closed about a month ago.  On Saturday a deal was consummated in which Kenneth Law, of Argos, purchased the theatre properties and started immediately remodeling for opening in ten days or two weeks.

          Mr. Law, the owner of the Cozy Theatre in Argos, has renamed the theatre as the Akron Theatre.  He will install a new type high intensity projection lamp which will give the picture three times the previous brilliance.  A new tile floor will be installed in front and in the lobby, which will also be repainted.  A new concession bar will be built.  The lobby will be separated from the auditorium completely.

          Mr. & Mrs. Law plan to supervise both shows at Argos and Akron with the assistance of their two children, a daughter, 18, recent graduate of Argos High School, and a son, age 16. - - - -



Jack Overmyer, Editor

The News-Sentinel, May 29, 1952

          Jack K. Overmyer today was appointed editor of The News-Sentinel.

          Publishers Floyd Van Trump and Hugh A. Barnhart, who made the announcement, stated that Overmyer will assume direction of the paper’s editorial staff on July 14.

          Associated with him in gathering and writing the news will be Carl Van Trump, John Clouse, Earl Sisson, Mary Ina Shaw, Phoebe


Onstott, and Art Kennedy.  Office duties are under the direction of Florence Burns, Ann Young and Deloris Weiler.  The advertising department is managed by Russell Parker.

          A native of Rochester, Jack began his newspaper career on The News-Sentinel 12 years ago.  Except for a brief enlistment in the army, he has followed the profession since.

          For six years, Overmyer has been a sports writer for The Indianapolis Star, specializing in the coverage of collegiate athletics.  Widely known throughout Indiana and Big Ten Athletics and newspaper circles, he has earned a solid reputation for his coverage of sports events and of the players and men behind them.

          Jack’s first job on The News-Sentinel was that of sports editor, beginning in 1940.  Upon graduation from Rochester high school in 1941, he was appointed city reporter and served in that capacity until entering Indiana University, in 1942.

          He graduated from I.U. In 1946, managing to act as the university’s athletic publicity director during the final 2-1/2 years of his undergraduate work.  In this position, he was responsible for the publicizing of all I.U.’s athletic teams.

          While on the campus he was a member of Sigma Alpha Epsilon and Sigma Delta Chi, the latter a professional journalistic fraternity.  He served as president of both organizations.  He also was sports editor of the Arbutus, campus year book, and The Daily Student, campus newspaper.

          As sports publicist, Jack had the pleasure of being associated with the only Indiana football team ever to win the Big Ten championship - the Bo McMillin-coached squad of 1945.

          Overmyer’s duties at the Star, besides coverage of sports have entailed the management of the sports department’s copy desk during the summer months.

          While in Rochester during the summer of 1943, he also served The News-Sentinel as acting managing editor.  His ties, with the home town have lingered, if one would judge from his most recent coices to win the state high school basketball tourney:   Richland Center and Aubbeenaubbee Township.

          His parents are Mr. & Mrs. Charles S. Overmyer, who reside

4-1/2 miles east of Rochester.

          Married to the former Margery Hodson of South Bend, Jack is the father of two daughters, Laura, 3, and Elizabeth, 1.  They plan to move here around July 1, and will reside at 701 Madison street.


Good-Hanshew Reun

Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, June 9, 1952

          Fifty relatives gathered at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Willie Swango Sunday before going to the city park for a family reunion.  A delicious carry-in supper was served followed by a social afternoon.  Relatives from Kokomo, Goshen, Middleburg, Plymouth, Rochester, Columbia City, and Larrville, Indiana were present.

          Plans were made for the next reunion on the second Sunday in June, 1953.  It will be held at the City Park of Rochester.



Mikesell-Peterson, pur

The News-Sentinel, June 10, 1952

          The Fulton County Farm Bureau Co-op has sold the machine shop building on East Eighth street to Calvin Mikesell and Dale Peterson, both of Rochester, for an undisclosed sum.

          This building is known as the Ross Bros. Foundry and was operated for many years by the Ross family.  The Co-op bought the building and adjacent ground in 1945 as a site for a grain elevator, however, the following year purchased the elevator on North Main street, so have operated the location as machine shop and implement sales.  The implement department has been moved to the east 9th street branch in an endeavor to give the patrons of the Co-op a more consolidated business.

          The future plans of the purchasers are to operate a custom repair shop as well as contract machine work and welding.



Charlie Spivak

The News-Sentinel, June 10, 1952

          Charlie Spivak, “The Man Who Plays The Sweetest Trumpet in the World,” is described as “honey in the horn,” He is the leader of a band which will play The Colonial Hotel on Tuesday June 17 and which rocked to top flight stature so fast that it now ranks among the kings in the entertainment world.  - - - -







Pur Robert Mudra

The News-Sentinel, June 11, 1952

          The sale of the Rochester Self Service Laundry on E. Seventh street was announced this morning by John Elplers to Mr. & Mrs. Robert Mudra, Sr., former owners of the Robertson Boat Landing at Lake Manitou. - - - -

          Mr. Elplers said he and his wife will leave for Denver, Colorado, for their health. - - - -



Roch. City Park

The News-Sentinel, June 16, 1952

          The 27th annual Metzger Reunion was held Sunday, June 15, at the Rochester City Park.

          A bountiful basket dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour.  Following the dinner, a business meeting was conducted by the president, Mrs. Clarence Graffis.  Bills were allowed and a donation of $5.00 was given for the upkeep and care of the Shaffer cemetery at Kewanna.

          Election of officers was held for the coming year, as follows:   President, Mrs. Graffis; vice-president, Don Metzger, and secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Leo Milkey.

          A social time was enjoyed and refreshments of ice cream and cake and cold drinks were served to the 65 who were present.  The oldest member present was John Metzger of Rochester, aged 91.  The youngest was ten-months-old Sandra Gifford, of Logansport.



Louis Armstrong

The News-Sentinel, July 2, 1952

          Not since the appearance of Wayne King here some 15 years ago, has there been such a crowd out to hear a “name band” as that which gathered at the Colonial Hotel, Tuesday evening.  This was the observation of manager Dave Shafer this morning after checking receipts of the affair.

          More than 2,000 persons paid admission to see and hear the orchestra of Louis Armstrong and attempt to dance.  Dancing was in waves of perspiring humanity.





The News-Sentinel, July 3, 1952

          Little Shirley Gretona, sweetheart of the nation’s Shrine circuses is scoring her usual smash hits with the public in the Gretona high-wire act at Denver, Colo., this week.

          According to a letter received today from Otto Gretona, father of the circus stars, Little Shirley is hobnobbing with the top headliners in filmdom and also politics.  She was the guest of General Eisenhower at the Brown Hotel, along with Daryl Zanuk, Susan Hayworth and Humphrey Bogart.

          The charming local youngster was given an invitation by both Messrs. Zanuk and Bogart to come out to Hollywood for screen tests.  Both of these filmdoms great stated that “Shirley has just everything.”

          The Gretonas will conclude their Denver engagement as the featured attraction which is to be given the evening of the Fourth, entitled “Salute to America.”

          The News-Sentinel today was in receipt of a copy of the Denver Post which carried several pictures of Shirley with the movie stars and General Ike.



Tex Beneke

The News-Sentinel, July 3, 1952

          Tex Beneke, who took over the Glenn Miller Orchestra, could have organized a band of his own years ago, with the aid and blessing of Glenn himself, but Tex preferred to remain in the Miller ensemble.

          Tex, who brings his orchestra to the Colonial Hotel Wednesday, Juny 9, admits that leading a band was one of his life’s ambitions. - - -


RinderKnecht Olds

Tom Baldwin, Sales

The News-Sentinel, July 7, 1952

          RinderKnecht Auto Sales, local Oldsmobile dealer, has announced the appointment of Tom Baldwin as sales manager.  Mr. Baldwin started his new assignment this morning.







Dr. F.C. Dielman

The News-Sentinel, July 7, 1952

          A Fulton county family of six brothers and two sisters whose combined ages totaled 599 years, held their first reunion in many years Sunday at the home of Dr. & Mrs. F.C. Dielman, 920 Jefferson street, where a dinner honoring Mrs. Emma Camerer, 87, was held with 21 relatives attending.

          The family, children of the late Joel and Ladanda (Deniston) Brubaker, were all present.  Four of them whose birthdays fall between July 1 and 7, were also honored.

          Included in the guest list were Mrs. Camerer; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Brubaker, Rockford, Ill., Mr. & Mrs. Omer Brubaker, Upland, Calif.; Mr. & Mrs. Eugene Brubaker, daughter, Nancy, and Mrs. Minnie Chestnut, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. William Brubaker; Mr. & Mrs. Walter Brubaker and daughter, Mrs. Isaac Holmes; Mr. & Mrs. Calder Alspach; Arthur Brubaker and Mrs. Ethel Snapp; and Mr. & Mrs. W.H. Bryant, Fort Wayne.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, July 7, 1952

          The Edward Francis Stubbs annual reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park.  A basket dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour followed by a business session, in charge of the president, Avaughn Murray.

          The following officers were re-elected for 1953:   Avaughn Murray, president, and Mrs. Carl Overmyer, secretary-treasurer.

          During the business meeting, a family history was read by the secretary.  It was voted to donate to the Shaffer Cemetery Fund and also to the Sharon Cemetery Fund at Kewanna.  The remainder of the afternoon was spent visiting.



Buy Hotel

The News-Sentinel, July 8, 1952

          Mr. & Mrs. Milton Whittenberger, formerly of Rochester, have purchased the Grandon Hotel at Helena, Montana, and have taken possession, according to word received here today.  They recently moved from their home in Idaho Falls, Idaho. - - - -



Reun, Am Legion Hm

The News-Sentinel, July 8, 1952

          The 23rd annual Rochester College reunion was held at the American Legion Home Sunday, July 6.

          A prayer was offered by Estil Ginn of Marion, Indiana.   A delicious dinner was then served by the ladies of the auxiliary to 57 former students.  The table was decorated with lovely garden flowers.

          The meeting was opened by the president, Err Biddinger.  The secretary then read a report, followed by letters from former students who were unable to attend.  They were read by Miss Flo Delp.

          Music was furnished by Anna Norman on the accordian and Richard Briggs on the steel guitar.  Don Nafe of Ypsilanti, Michigan, a former student, led in community singing.  Robert Shafer then gave a history of the growth of Rochester and the founding of the college.

          The corner stone of the school was laid June 1895, and dedication was held the following November.  It was the efforts of Dr. W. Shafer, father of Mayor Robert Shafer, that made the college possible.

          The nominating committee gave their report.  V.L. Barker of Fulton was made president and Mrs. Rae Wildermuth of Rochester the secretary-treasurer.

          A number of talks were given which were most interesting.  Mrs. Dee Berrier gave a short biography on Professor W.H. Banta.

          The next meeting is to be held the 1st Sunday in July, 1953.



Reun, Am Legion

The News-Sentinel, July 9, 1952

          Those attending the 23rd annual Rochester College reunion held at the American Legion Home Sunday, July 6 are:

          Mr. & Mrs. L.D. Aldridge of Ft. Wayne; Glen McLemore, Joliet, Illinois; Mr. & Mrs. H.E. Conn, New Castle; Anna Myers, South Bend; Mrs. Edith Wolfe also of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. E.C. Carvey of Converse; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Deardorf of Richmond; Mrs. Arthur E. Conrad of Logansport; Mrs. John E. Kroft, Logansport; Susan C. Rice, Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. E.A. Guise, Tulsa, Oklahoma; Dr. & Mrs. Harry Mackey, Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Thayer, Argos; Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn and daughter, Marian;

          Mr. & Mrs. Geo. Haldy, Princeton; Kate Deamer, Cedar Rapids,


Iowa; Annabella Mitchell, Oak Park, Illinois; Mr. & Mrs. E.A. Gast, Warsaw; Mr. & Mrs. Don Nafe, Ypsilanti, Michigan; Dr. & Mrs.  B.R. Kent, of Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. V.L. Barker, Fulton.

          Mrs. Ada Sherbondy; Anna Plank Ensign, Mrs. Dee Berrier, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Myers, Mr. & Mrs. Err Biddinger; Mr & Mrs. O.M. Miller, Miss Flo Delp, Mrs. Delp, Mrs. Frank Bryant; Mrs. Rae Wildermuth, Mrs. Hazel Cessna, Mr. & Mrs. Geo Felder, Miss Della Hunter, Mr. & Mrs. Amos Sanders, Dr. & Mrs. A.E. Stinson, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Shafer, Mrs. Emma Haimbaugh, Emily Von Ehernstein, and Lucille Leonard.



Roger Dooley, Sales

The News-Sentinel, July 15, 1952

          The management of the Indiana Metal Products Corp., today announced that Roger Dooley, of this city has been appointed sales engineer to represent this firm in Northern Indiana and Southern Michigan.  This is but one of the 23 sales areas of the corporation.

          For the past two years Mr. Dooley has been production manager at this plant.  He was former manager of the Fulton County Lumber Company, of this city.

          John Wavrunek, of Cleveland, Ohio, will succeed Dooley.  He has been production manager with the Standard Products, of Cleveland, for the past five years. - - - - His wife and four children will move to Rochester as soon as living quarters may be found.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, July 15, 1952

          The annual Williams reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park with 52 members present.  Mrs. Sarah Pounal offered prayer before the noon meal.

          The president, Joe Williams, conducted the business meeting.  The following officers were elected for the next year:   President, Lester Martin.  Secretary-Treasurer, Mrs. Charles Finney.

          A program consisting of readings by Delores Boruf, Kokomo, Dee Williams, Fulton, Mrs. Fred Ellis, Marshall, Mich., and Jake Brubaker, Rochester, and a vocal solo by James Williams.  A poem was also read by Mrs. Orvin Lake of Plymouth, in memory of her mother.

          Ice cream and cake was served to the group later in the


afternoon, to relatives from Kokomo, Kewanna, Fulton, Rochester, Plymouth, South Bend, Battle Creek, Mich., Saginaw, Mich., and Marshall, Mich.



Cook Home

The News-Sentinel, July 15, 1952

          Mrs. Muriel Cook and Mr. & Mrs. A. Adams, entertained the 36th annual Cook reunion in their home in Culver on Sunday, July 13.

          There were 66 membes and friends in attendance.  The oldest member present was Frank Cook, 81, of LaPorte.  The youngest member present was Marla Butler, 3-1/2 weeks, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Harlan Butler of Culver.

          The officers elected for 1953 were Dan Cook, Rochester, President, and Mrs. A. Adams, Culver, Secretary.

          The main activities of the aftrnoon were swimming and contests.



Winamac City Park

The News-Sentinel, July 16, 1952

          The 13th annual reunion of the Israel Overmyer Family was held Sunday, July 13, at the Winamac City Park with 78 present.

          A basket dinner was enjoyed at noon after which a short business meeting was held presided over by the president, Mrs. N.M. Alber and with Mrs. Orville Long as secretary-treasurer.  A collection was taken and officers were elected for next year.  They are:

          Mr. & Mrs. Cecil Lewis of Rensselaer will serve as president and secretary-treasurer.  Fred Rheinholt was elected to have the tables reserved for the reunion next year, which will again be held at the Winamac City Park.  The remainder of the day was spent socially.

          There are three daughters and one son of Israel Overmyer’s family living.  He had a family of 13.  The son is Fred Overmyer of Denver, Colorado, who is very ill in a hospital in Denver.  The two of the three daughters were present at this reunion and they were Mrs. Harriet Young, 91 years old, of Knox and Mrs. Guy Smith of Tiosa.  The other sister, Mrs. Della Smith, of Rochester was not present.

          Those from the Rochester vicinity present were Mrs. Glen Wilson, Mr. & Mrs. Guy Smith, Mr. & Mrs. Orval Long, Mrs. Sarah Barnhart and Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber and sons, Larry and Phillip.  Others were present from Winamac, Knox, Culver, Delong, South


Bend, Rensselaer, Monterey, Star City and Plymouth.

          Mrs. Israel Overmyer, mother, passed away nearly 24 years ago at their country home north of the Sand Hill Church and now the home of Mr. & Mrs. Everett Russell.  There were 10 of the 13 children living at the time, 63 grandchildren, 132 great-grandcildren and 17 great-great-grandchildren.



A.R. McKesson, Pur     

The News-Sentinel, July 19, 1952

          The Leiters Ford Garage building situated on the west side of the main street of that town, today was sold to A.R. McKesson, owner of the Ford agency, of Culver.

          Charles Wyland, the seller, closed the garage last summer, at which time he and his family took up their residency in Fort Myers, Fla.

          Mr. McKesson plans to reopen the garage for business and will also use a portion of the large cement block building for storage purposes.  The new owner takes immediate possession.



Billy May

The News-Sentinel, July 22, 1952

          The Colonial Hotel offers another of its “big name” bands this week when Billy May brings “the most exciting dance band of the decade” to Lake Manitou Thursday night.



Plymouth Park

The News-Sentinel, July 23, 1952

          The Isaac Brooker reunion was held Sunday, July 20, at the Centennial Park in Plymouth , Ind.

          This reunion, which has been held for two years, had 75 attending.  The oldest person present was Walter Brooker, age 82.  The youngest person present was Richard Allen Hudkins, nine months of age.  Mrs. Grace Ruth, Glendale, California held the honors of the person coming the longest distance.

          The new president is Mrs. Paul Crill of Rochester.  Mrs. Helen Fox, Argos, is serving as secretary.   The retiring president is Lowell Masters, Plymouth.  Next year, the reunion well be at Roch. City Park.



Winamac Park

The News-Sentinel, July 25, 1952.

          The 31st annual Enyeart reunion was held Sunday, July 20, in the Winamac Park with many attending.

          A bountiful dinner was served and gifts were given to Charles Enyeart, 85 years old, who was the oldest man present.  A 79 year old lady, Cora Hamilton, was the oldest lady present.

          The youngest child was John Mulloy, 19 month old.  Mrs. Ruth McClure won the game prize.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, July 25, 1952

          The Shriver reunion was held Sunday, July 20, at the City Park of Rochester.

          After a delicious dinner the group enjoyed a program.  Larry Blackburn then gave a selection on the accordian.  Ninety-one guests were present from Grand Rapids, Durand, and Awausa, Michigan, Chicato, Illinois, Gary, Marion, Kokomo, Warsaw, Akron, and Rochester.



Ralph Flanagan

The News-Sentinel, July 29, 1952

          Ralph Flanagan will be the next “name band” to appear at the Colonial Hotel on Lake Manitou, coming in for a one night stand Tuesday, Aug. 5. - - --



Honors Founders

The News-Sentinel, July 31, 1952

          Dedication of a plaque in honor of the John Wilkinon family, founders of Macy, will take place Sunday, Aug. 3, on the Macy school grounds at 3 p.m.    The program is sponsored by the Mother’s club of the Macy community.

          Included in the program are a talk on The Early Settlement of Allen Twp., by Scudder Wilson, and a history of the Wilkinson family by Miss Vesper Wilkinson of Peru, a descendant of John Wilkinson.  Mrs. George L. Washington and Mrs Grace Kiffmire will unveil the



          John Wilkinson and his four sons, George, Anderson, James and Baldwin, settled in Allen Twp. In 1837.  George and Anderson laid out an area of twenty lots where Macy is now located.  This was in June, 1860, and they named the place Lincoln.  Later the name was changed to Macy.

          Anderson Wilkinson was trustee of the township at one time.  His father died Dec. 24, 1838.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 4, 1952

          Sixty-six relatives and friends attended the Ewer Reunion which was held at the city park Sunday, August 3.

          Guests were present from South Bend, Mishawaka, Briston, Marion, Peru, Rochester, Macy, Argos, Fulton and Columbus, Indiana; Detroit and Jackson, Michigan, Mendota and Earlville, Illinois.

          Mrs. Rozella Wilson was elected secretary and treasurer.  The next reunion is to be held the first Sunday in August 1953.

          Following a bountiful dinner a social time was enjoyed.



Roy Rans Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 4, 1952

          The 31st Wm. Rans Reunion was held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Roy Rans, Kewanna Sunday, August 3.

          After a delicious dinner a program of songs, recitations, twirling, sax, cornet, piano, and clarinet solos were enjoyed by the group.

          Mrs. Etta Rans, Rochester, was the oldest member present and Monte Joe, son of Mr. & Mrs. Joe Rans, Rochester, was the youngest.

          The president is Mrs. Donna Smith of Kewanna.



New Home Here

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1952

          The Ward Baking Co., has moved into its new local headquarters on the north shore of Lake Manitou.

          The 60 by 80 brick building, located on Ind 14, across from the airport, is the home of 11 trucks which service communities over a wide area of north central Indiana.


          Home office of the company is in South Bend.

          The new building includes, besides garage space for the truck, a service area, loading dock and office space.  The area around the building is to be covered with asphalt pavement as soon as possible.

          Jack Mummert, 401 West Ninth St., is the manager of the company’s local branch.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 8, 1952

          The 42nd annual Braman reunion was held at the city park last Sunday.  Approximately 50 relatives and friends were present.  A basket dinner was served at the noon hour.

          During the business meeting Calvin Braman was elected president for the coming year.

          Ninety-year-old Scuyler Braman, the oldest member present, presented the group with harmonica solo.  The afternoon was spent socially.



In Movie

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 8, 1952

          “The Greatest Show on Earth,” opens a four-day run at the Times Theatre tonight, has a Rochester flavor.  Included among the technicolored scenes in the circus movie will be the act of the Zoppe-Zavata family, who reside north of the city and currently are on tour.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 11, 1952

          The annual Bryant Reunion was held at the City Park, Sunday.  A basket dinner was served at the noon hour to approximately 75 relatives and friends from Chicago, Niles, Mich.; Mishawaka, South Bend, Warsaw, Knox, Lapaz, Culver, Plymouth and communities around Rochester.

          The afternoon was spent in singing and instrumental singing.  Gifts were given to the oldest man and woman and the youngest child present.  Gifts also were given to the ones who had traveled the longest distance.  Gene Bryant was elected president and Blanche Bryant was

elected secretary.



Leiter Homestead

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 11, 1952

          The annual Leiter reunion was held at the Leiter homestead on the Tippecanoe River Sunday, August 10.

          A community dinner was served at the noon hour to 50 relatives and friends.  Following the dinner the president, Robert Leiter, opened the business meeting.  Mrs. Fred Campbell of Leiters Ford is serving as the secretary-treasurer.  Robert Leiter of Battle Creek, Michigan was the president for last year also.

          People were present from Bethlehem, Penn., Battle Creek, Mich., South Bend, Indianapolis, Peru, Argos, Kewanna, Leiters Ford, Monterey, and Rochester.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 12, 1952

          The Greer Reunion was held at the city park Sunday, August 10 with nearly 100 in attendance.

          A beautiful basket dinner was served to the group at the noon hour followed by games and contests.  A social afternoon was enjoyed by all.

          Relatives were present from Chicago, Illinois, Hammond, Gary, Plymouth and Rochester.


Akron Canning Co

E.C. Parker, Mgr.

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 15, 1952

          Gilbert Scott of the Akron Canning Company has announced that operations will begin there in about 10 days under supervision of Edward C. Parker, an experienced tomato processor of Madison, Wis.

          Mr. Parker and family plan to move to Akron a soon as living quarters are available.  He will be assisted by his father, J.C. Parker.  An estimated 500 tons of tomatoes are under contract for processing this season.








Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 19, 1952

          The tenth annual reunion of the Jacob Mutchler family was held Sunday at the City Park.  Thirty-seven relatives and friends were present.  A basket dinner was served at the noon hour.

          Relatives were present from Fulton, Mo.; Jackson, Mich.; and Benton Harbor and Berrien Springs, Mich.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 19, 1952

          Descendents of the Al Smith family met for their third annual Reunion at the City Park Sunday.

          A basket dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour.  Fifty relatives and friends attended.  The 1953 reunion will be held the 3rd Sunday in August at the same location.

          Relatives were present from Macy, Rochester, Elkhart, South Bend, Akron, and Athens.



Stan Kenton

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 19, 1952

          Stan Kenton, that great innovator in the realm of modern msic, brings his famed orchestra to the Colonial Hotel Thursday night to close out the resort’s 1952 “name” band season.



11th & Main, Opens

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 20, 1952

          Grand opening of the new Texaco service station at the (SE) corner of 11th & Main streets will be held Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

          Stanley O. Reister, zone manager for The Texas Company here, announced the completion of the new modern, two-bay station today.  Completely rebuilt and stocked with the latest of equipment, the station still is under lease to Sam Stephen.  He has been the Texaco dealer here for the past five years.       





J. Van Lue Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 20, 1952

          Relatives and friends from Saum, Minn., Detroit, Fort Wayne, Indianapolis, Mishawaka, South Bend, North Liberty, Lafayette, Argos, Attica, Hudson, Leesburg, and Rochester attended the Fultz Reunion held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. James Van Lue recently.

          At the noon hour a bountiful dinner was served to the group.  Harley Fultz offered grace before the meal.

          Jeanette Broncyzk of Saum, Minn., was the youngest member at the reunion.  H.C. Heighway was the oldest member there.

          A short business session was called to order by the retiring president, Charles Culp.  Then these 1953 officers were elected:   President, Chlores Barkman; Secretary, Kathryn Barkman.

          Following the business meeting the group enjoyed a social hour.  Afternoon refreshments were served to the group.

          The group will meet next year in the James Van Lue home again.  One hundred and sixteen persons were present at this get-together.



Fred Batz Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 20, 1952

          The 27th annual Batz Family Reunion was held at the home of Fred Batz on R.R. 3 Sunday.  Forty-five members were in attendance.

          Relatives and friends were present from Edwardsburg, Mich. South Bend, Marion, Fort Wayne, Argos, and Burr Oak.



V. Wharton Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 20, 1952

          Members of the Milton Wharton Family enjoyed a reunion Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Vern Wharton of Elkhart.  A bountiful pot luck dinner was served at the noon hour.

          All living children of Milton Wharton were present with the exception of Mrs. William Burdette of Denver, Colo., who composed a clever poem to be read in her absence.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. W. Walke, Jacksonville, Fla.; Mr. & Mrs. Bob Chrisman and son, Mrs. Pat Kronewitter and family, Mr. & Mrs. Joe Erskine, Mr. & Mrs. Porter Wharton, Sr., Mr. & Mrs.


Porter Wharton, Jr., and son, all of Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. H.A. Wharton and family of South Bend, and Mr. & Mrs. L.H. Lake of North Judson.

          Also Mr. Roy Wharton, Miss Gladus Wharton of Kewanna, Mrs. Lina Wharton, Mr. & Mrs. Harvey Turner and family of Rochester; Mrs. Bob Jefferies, and Mrs. Thelma Wharton, of Claypool.

          Afternoon guests were Mrs. Edith Wharton and Mrs. M. Wharton and son of South Bend.

          Miss Gladus Wharton was elected permanent president and Vern Wharton, vice-president.  Mrs. Bob Jefferies will act as secretary-treasurer.  Next year the reunion is to be held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Harvey Turner.

          Mrs. Erskine of Iowa and Mrs. Ford of Claypool were special guests of the day.


McMahan Const Co

New Ofc Bldg

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 21, 1952

          Employees of the McMahan Construction Co., today completed the transfer of office supplies and equipment from the office at 107 E. Ninth St. to the new office building on E. Lucas street opposite the Sealed Power Corp. Plant.

          The new building, just completed by Lloyd Woolington & Son, Kewanna contractors, is the latest thing in modern office arrangements. It was started soon after Otto McMahan, president of the construction company, announced the sale of the East Ninth street property, including the old Berghoff Cafe site, to the Ohio Oil Co.

          The new owners will wreck the remaining two buildings, probably within the next two weeks, according to reports received here.  Construction of a new super-service station will follow razing operations.



REUN, Arter Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 21, 1952

          Ninety-two persons attended the 15th annual Johnston-Emil Reunion held Sunday in the home of Mr. & Mrs. Charles Arter, west of Rochester.

          At the noon hour a basket dinner was served to the group.  Games and a program followed the dinner.

          Those present:   Mr. Robert Emil; Mr. & Mrs. Otis Johnston;


Mr. & Mrs. Tolbert Johnston and son; Mr. & Mrs. Harold Johnston and family; Mr. & Mrs. Robert Espy and family; Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Bailey and family; Mr. & Mrs. Jess Bailey and family; Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Hinshaw.

          Also, Mr. & Mrs. Garold Kile and family. Mr. Rod Inell and family; Mr. & Mrs. Harry Showver, and Mrs. Phyllis Bailey of Portland; Mr. & Mrs. Harry Lease of Charlotte, Mich.; Mrs. Ella Whipple, Ralph and Dale Whipple; Lester Baise of Union City, O.; Mrs. Walter Trobilge and children and Mrs. Arden Pro of Bryant, Ind.

          Also, Mr. & Mrs. Albert Johnson of Winfield, Ind.; Mr. & Mrs. Sipotz and daughter of Chicago; Mrs. Gerald Emil of Chesterton, Ind.; Mr. & Mrs. Iimne Steinbaugh and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. George Jackson, Cletus Artis and Delia Artis of South Bend.

          Afternoon callers were Toren Crabill, Junion Crabill and Tommy Magonis of Rochester and Mr. & Mrs. William Lotta of South Bend.



REUN, Homestead

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 25, 1952

          The Jackson-Wagoner homestead, north of Leiters Ford, was the scene of the 20th annual Wagoner reunion, Sunday.

          The business meeting was conducted by the retiring president, Donald Wagoner of Niles, Mich.  Officers for the coming year were then elected.  They are, president, Paul Wagoner of Plymouth; vice-president, Harley Staton of Mishawaka, and secretary-treasurer, Agnes Mow of South Bend.

          Next year the reunion will be held in Plymouth at the Conservation Club House.

          Relatives were present from Rochester, Wabash, South Bend, Hammond, Akron, Plymouth, Mishawaka, and Niles, Mich.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 25, 1952

          The Day reunion was held at the city part on Sunday with 55 members present.  A basket dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour.

          Election of officers was held in the afternoon and Fred Day was elected president; A.L. Rinker vice-president; Jean Wagoner secretary and treasurer.  Clayton Skoog, Bud Rinker and Jack Hildebrandt were chosen to provide the entertainment for the coming year.


          Relatives from Arcadia, South Bend, Mishawaka, Macy, Star City, Plymouth, Leiters Ford and Rochester were present.  The oldest members were Mr. & Mrs. John Day of Arcadia.



Overstreet Resort

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 25, 1952

          Thirty members and guests were present at the 13th annual reunion of the descedents of the Michael Walters family held at Overstreet Resort, Sunday.

          A beautiful basket dinner was served at the noon hour.  A short business meeting followed.  The following officers were elected for 1953: president, Walter Kale; vice-president, Mrs. James W. Shearer, and secretary-treasurer, Miss Bette Miller.

          The 1953 reunon will be held at Enyart’s Deer Park.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 27, 1952

          The Davis reunion was held at the city park Sunday with 35 members present.  A basket dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour.

          The group decided at the business meeting to hold the 1953 reunion at the same place the 4th Sunday in August.  The following officers were re-elected for the coming year:   President, Tola Rogers; Secretary and treasurer, Fay Damas.

          Relatives were present from Fort Wayne, Marion, Macy, South Bend, Roann, Rochester and Galien, Mich.



Winamac Ball Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 28, 1952

          Mr. & Mrs. Eugene McClain, Mr. & Mrs. Harley McClain and family; Mrs. Elizabeth McClain, John Shafer, Mr. & Mrs. Paul Shafer and family, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Harl Shafer, Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Hoffman and family, Mrs. Robert Hoffman and family, all of Winamac, attended the Shafer reunion at the ball park in Winamac recently.

          A basket dinner was held at the noon hour and the afternoon was spent socially.




Top Prize, State Fair

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 4, 1952

          Linda Lou Lukens, talented young daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Lukens, RR 2, added more laurels to a long list of firsts in the entertainment field, at the Indiana State Fair Wednesday.

          She won top prize in the “under 10 years of age” amateur show with a song, dance and imitation routine.

          Linda Lou has won the plaudits of audiences in many Indiana and Michigan amateur contests.  Her success at the state fair proves her ability to go places and do things even under the pressure of “big time” competition.


Williams-Stanley Reun

Williams Home

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 5, 1952

          Thirty members were present at the Williams-Stanley reunion held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Walter Williams of the Green Oak Community recently.

          A basket dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour.  A social time followed.

          Relatives were present from South Bend, Peru, Bremen, Bourbon, Mentone, Athens, Mishawaka, Muncie and Scottsburg.



Reun, City Park

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 5, 1952

          The 49th annual Thompson-Dunlap Reunion was held recently at the Roch City Park with approximately 50 persons in attendance.

          Mrs. Ella Ewing of Rochester and Mrs. Minnie Wood of Lowell were the oldest women present.  The youngest person present was Kyle F. Fort of Indianapolis.

          These officers for the coming year were elected:   president, Harry Ewing; secretary-treasurer, Lloyd Jefferies.  Ancil Jefferies is the retiring president.

          Relatives were present from Mentone, Star City, New Carlisle, Kewanna, Lowell, Warsaw, Macy, Indianapolis, Plymouth, Rochester, and Harvey, Ill.





Thousand Home

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 8, 1952

          The Donley reunion was held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. L.D. Thousand Sunday.  A record attendance of 50 for this family reunion was reported.

          A basket dinner was held at the noon hour.  Pictures were taken and the afternoon was spent socially.

          The oldest member present was Mr. A.T. Durbin who is 85.  The youngest member was baby Terry Sue Durbin of South Bend.



Leas, Geiger

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 11, 1952

          The Evergreen Cafe, 530 Main street, will have a change of management effective Oct. 1.

          Mrs. Jennie Mendenhall and her son-in-law, Dick Geiger, have leased the spot from Walter Bowen, who has owned the business for the past 14 years and has operated it at the present location for the past eight.

          Mrs. Mendenhall an experienced cateress, has operated cafes in Lafayette, Indianapolis, Ft Wayne and Rochester.  They also had charge of the dining room at the Rochester Moose and the Colonial hotel in the past.  Mr. Geiger has been employed by the Stewart Bakery for a number of years as a route supervisor.

          Mr. Bowen, a native of Akron and a Democratic candidate for the office of treasurer of Fulton county, is expected to devote his full time to is campaign.



Pix in Chgo Paper

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 19, 1952

          A former Rochester girl, Pat Abell, received wide publicity Thursday when a two-column picture of her was carried on the front page of The Chicago Herald-American.

          Miss Abell is a friend of the noted welterweight boxer, Chuck Davey, and was present to see Chuck win a unanimous decision over Rocky Graziano Wednesday night in Chicago.  The comment carried with the photo read: “Pretty Patricia Abell, 21, Chuck Davey’s girl friend, was the happiest ringsider in the Stadium when the verdict was


announced.  Pat, who lives at 100 W. Oak St., declared: ‘I knew he’d win, but I was nervous.’ “



Buy Dad’s Oil Biz

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 20, 1952

          Paul and Chance Dice have purchased their father’s interest in the Dice Oil Co., at Fulton.  The elder Dice expects to keep his home in Fulton but his immediate plans are uncertain.



Pur Techmyer-Himes

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 29, 1952

          Mr. & Mrs. Emile Martin Saturday announced the sale of the Brass Rail Cafe on North Main Street to Joseph Teckmyer, Warsaw, and Charles Himes, Leesburg.

          Possession is to be given as soon as the license can be transferred.

          Both Mr. & Mrs. Martin plan a trip to Phoenix, Ariz., soon for the benefit of Mr. Martin’s health.

          Teckmeyer is a former member of the Warsaw police department, while Hines formrly operated a grocery in Leesburg, which he sold recently.



C. McCrosky Home

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 29, 1952

          The second annual reunion of the Nancy P. McCrosky family was held Sunday at the home of Cecil McCrosky, 1012 Jefferson St.

          A carry-in-dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour with forty-one guests present.  The afternoon was spent socially and pictures were taken of the entire group.  All but three of the surviving members were present and two of those are in the service and were unable to attend.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Clarence McCrosky, Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McCrosky and family, Star City; Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Beavington and son, Mr. & Mrs. Lloyd McCrosky, Galveston; Mrs. Alta Crabb, Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Lester McCrosky, Knox; Marvin Balder, Aurora, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Arlo McCrosky and daughter, Logansport; Mrs. Sarah McCrosky, Mr. & Mrs. Clifford McCrosky and son; Mr. Harley McCrosky; Con


McCrosky; Mr. & Mrs. Carol McCrosky; Mr. & Mrs. Randall McCrosky and daughters; Mrs. Bertha McCrosky; Mrs. Cora McCrosky and Mr. & Mrs. Gerald McCrsky and family and Jean Kay Zartman, all of Fulton.



Pur. Bob Kern

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 6, 1952

          Bob Kern of Rochester today announced that he has purchased the 123-acre site of the Boy Scouts’ Camp Wright, located on the Tippecanoe River in Richland Township.

          The Scouts recently moved from the Fulton County site because of pollution of the river from the Rochester sewage plant.

          Kern said today that his plans for the area are indefinite but that large areas of it probably will be used for reforestation purposes.  Two or three tracts will be set off as a wildlife preserve, he added.

          The purchase was made by Kern from the trustees of the estate of the late William Wright of Chicago, who originally set up the camp for the use of underprivileged children from Chicago.

          The scouts have already purchased a new site for the Camp, 100-plus acres near Westville which includes two spring-fed lakes and considerable acreage of virgin timber.  The new site also is believed to satisfy Scout officials’ desire to be nearer Chicagoi.  The Wright estate also purchased the new camp area, it’s reported.

          Scout equipment already has been removed from the Tippecanoe River area.  All buildings will remain, although Kern does not yet know what disposition he will make of them.


RIPLEY’S Collection

In Roch. Today

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 6, 1952

          The late Robert Ripley’s personal collection of “Believe It Or Not” oddities, being exhibited on national tour under auspices of the Navy Club of U.S.A., is being presented in Rochester today and tonight until 10 p.m.

          The mobile exhibit is mounted in a special custom-built trailer, featuring an amazing collection of crowns, tiaras, scepters, maces and other valuables of the most famous royalty and nobility of all times.  There also are many-curious items from faraway lands with strange customs.  The showing is on Main street at Seventh.  Adm. is free.



Pur, Mrs. Ernest Newman

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 7, 1952

          Mrs. Ernest Newman, 1100 Franklin street, has purchased the Miniature Shoppe from Mrs. Ervin Watts.

          Mrs. Newman, before her purchase of the ladies dress shop, was connected with the Emmons Jewelry Company for several years and also worked for Lockridge Studio.

          Mrs. Watts plans to devote her full time to her home and family of three children.



Engaged to Davey

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 8, 1952

          Annoiuncement was made today of the engagement of Patricia Ann Abell, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. J.R. Abell, RR 1, Rochester, to Charles P. Davey, Lansing, Mich., son of Mr. & Mrs. J. Davey of Detroit.

          Definite wedding plans have not yet been set by the couple.

          Miss Abell is a graduate of Rochster high school and attended Ball State Teachers College at Muncie before entering Nurses Training at Henrotin hospital in Chicago.  A graduate from the Henrotin hospital where she is now employed as nurse it was at the hospital where she first met the country’s most talked-about fighter.

          Following a slam-bang fight in Chicago Stadium, against Chico Vejar, which he won by a knockout, Davey was taken to Henrotin hospital for medical attention to an eye cut.  It was here, in June, that he met Miss Abell, and a courtship followed.

          Miss Abell is a member of the Tri Kappa and Phi Theta sororities.

          Davey, a graduate of Michigan State College, spent 3-1/2 years in the Air Force as a navigator.  While in college the handsome young boxer attracted national attention by compiling one of the greatest ring records in college boxing annals.  He is undefeated in ring competition.

          After graduation and completion of his Air Corps duties, Davey turned to the fight ring.  His rise was meteoric.  At the present time he is ranked as the world’s No. 1 contender for welterweight championship honors, and rates a fight with the current champion, Kid Gavilan of Cuba, in the near future.  In his last outing he outpointed Rocky Graziano, a middle-weight.



To Move

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 9, 1952

          The Conkle Tot-Teen Shop will move soon from its present location at 111-115 West Eighth street to new headquarters in the Crownover Jewelry building, 725 Main street, Mrs. Paul Conkle said today.

          Mrs. Conkle expects to be in her new place of business by November 15.

          The Tot-Teen shop was opened at 111 West Eighth on Jan. 12, 1950 and in May the same year the building at 115 was also leased.



And Chuck, Married

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 16, 1952

          Pat Abell, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Roy Abell of Rochester, was married at 9 o’clock this morning to Chuck Davey of Detroit, leading contender for the world’s welterweight boxing championship.

          The ceremony took place at the St. Thomas Aquinas church in East Lansing, Mich. - - - -

          Davey, whose real name is Charles P. Davey, holds both bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Michigan State and teaches English when not fighting.  During World War 11 he served as a navigator in the Eighth Air Force.


SHORE Name Here

Since 1833

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 18, 1952

          It was the early summer of 1898 and all America was in a militant mood.  “Remember the Maine” was the battle cry, stirring a peaceful nation to war fever; Rochester’s own Co. B., was training at Chickamauga; Admiral Dewey was the hero of Manila Bay.  And Earl B. Shore was impressed into service in his father’s store.

          Even at that early date, the Shore name had been a merchandising symbol in Fulton County for well over half-a-century.  The pioneer was Michael Shore, who emigrated from Virginia in 1833 to establish a trading post on the then newly constructed Michigan Road just south of the present Marshall-Fulton county line.

          Early in the 1860s, Talbert C. Shore, Michael’s son, entered the mercantile business in Rochester, followed a few years later by his son,


the late Perry M. Shore, father of the subject of this sketch.

          PERRY M. SHORE was an aggressisve, far-sighted business man.  After a few years in the drug and grocery retail business in the room now occupied by the Shore & Hart store at 506-508 Main street, he visualized the need for a line of home remedies for relief of colds, catarrh and other nasal and bronchial afflictions.  His famous Shore’s Catarrh Cure was eventually to spiral into national prominence and distribution as a panacea for that infection.

          Earl B. Shore was a student in Rochester high school in 1898.  Shortly after the close of the school term, William Frain, a pharmacist at the P.M. Shore drug store and laboratory, resigned, and Earl entered the business under the supervision of his father.  With the exception of a few years, while studying pharmacy at Purdue University, he has been connected with the same Main street store, now managed by his son-in-law under the firm name Shore & Hart.

          In 1905 Perry M. Shore retired from the manufacturing and retail business, turning his interests over to his son Earl and a son-in-law, Harry Wilson, with a change in the title of the firm to Shore & Wilson.  In 1908 the new owners added a line oif dry goods and shoes.  The two adjacent store fronts were remodeled and both rooms modernized for an active expansion in business activities.

          P.M. Shore died in 1918.  Mr. Wilson succumbed 22 years later.  In 1943 the present firm of Shore & Hart was announced.  Since that time Earl B. Shore has gradually receded from active operation in the business, but after 54 years on Main street, retains his interest in its expansion and success.

          In 1901 Mr. Shore was united in marriage with Alva B. Rubush.  Together they established their present home at 218 W. Fifth street.  They are the parents of two daughters, Mrs. Edgar Adamson and Mrs. Ned Hart, both of this city.  Two granddaughters and one great-grandson complete the family circle.

          Throughout his lifetime, Earl Shore has been intensely interested in the religious, civic and political life of this community.  He has long been an active member of the First Presbyterian church, an ardent supporter of the policies and objectives of the Rochester Chamber of Commerce and politically staunch Republican.

          As one of the oldest “Men On Main Street”, he has established an enviable record for service and citizenship.





To Marry Nov. 29

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 1, 1952

          Mr. & Mrs. E.L. Mitchell of 1328 Main Street today announced the engagement and approaching marriage of their daughter, Carol, to H. Leslie Popp Jr., son of Mr. & Mrs. H. Leslie Popp Sr., 2131 Forest Park Boulevard, Fort Wayne. - - - -

          The prospective bridegroom is a graduate of Culver Military Academy, and University of Michigan where he was a member of Phi Kappa Psi fraternity.  Mr. Popp is now serving in the U.S. Air Forces.

          He played end on Michigan’s grid teams of 1949-50 and on the school’s Rose Bowl championship club of 1951.


McLochlin Garage

Pur Kuhn Bros

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 4, 1952

          Announcement has been made of the sale of the John McLochlin garage, 204 West 18th street, to Harold and Earl Kuhn.  The new owners will operate the business under the name of “Kuhn Brothers.”

          The purchase was made on July 14, but did not become effective until Nov. 1.

          The garage has the franchise for Allis Chalmers farm machinery in Fulton County.  The Kuhns also will operate the garage and farm machinery repair shop, which has been a part of the business operated by McLochlin in the same building.

          Harold Kuhn resides on a farm between Athens and Akron, while Earl Kuhn has been a machinist for many years and was employed by the True-Temper Corporation in Akron.



Pick Jones Corn

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 12, 1952

          Thirty-seven men with corn pickers and wagons spent Monday at the farm of Clair Jones, RR 2, Rochester, cribbing his 35 acres of corn.

          The neighborly gesture came about when Jones was admitted to the Woodlawn hospital for surgery.  Because of illness, he was unable to care for his farm duties, but through the thoughtfulness and kindness of his neighbors, the biggest chore now has been completed.


          Jones was seriously injured six years ago when he was run over by a tractor.  Since that time he has undergone surgery on numerous occasions.  His most recent admission to the hospital, prompted the aid given by the neighbors.




The News-Sentinel, Nov. 13, 1952

          The Lyman Brackett property at 709 Main street which has been under lease to the Alliance Theatre Corp., for the past eight years is undergoing remodeling by the Dumond Const. Co., of Anderson.

          The building which formerly housed the Rex Theatre has had its marquee dismantled and the interior is to be remodeled for regular commercial use.  An entire new front will be installed.  Mr. Brackett has not announced the new tenancy of the property.



Opening Dec. 1

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 26, 1952

          Announcement was made today of the opening of a new variety store in Rochester.

          Orville Buckheister of Akron said the formal opening of his store at 111 West Eighth, to be known as the Variety Shop, will be Monday, Dec. 1.

          Jewelry, appliances, notions and nicknacks will be featured by the new business venture.  Assisting Mr. Buckheister in the operation of the business will be his wife, Lula.

          Before coming to Rochester, he was connected with the Rawleigh Products Company for the past three years.


LAWYER, Morris

Passes Bar Exams

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 26, 1952

          William L. Morris, 29, now is a practicing attorney in Fulton County.

          Morris passed his bar examination Tuesday at Indianapolis, before the Law Examining Board of Indiana as set up by the Supreme Court.  He is a graduate of Vanderbilt University and lived in Detroit prior to coming to Rochester.  He will be associated with Arthur Metzler in his practice of law.



E. Holloway, Owner

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 10, 1952

          Announcement was made today of the opening of a new taxicab company in Rochester.

          It will be operated by Enos Holloway, a former resident of this city, who has been employed in South Bend and Michigan cities for the past several years.

          The cab company will be located on the south side of Eighth street, east of the alley, and will start business with two cabs. 



Wins Over Pruden

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 11, 1952

          Cleveland, Dec. 11 (INS) - Chuck Davey, classy East Lansing, Mich., slasher, had little trouble extending his string of unbeaten fights to 38 Wednesday night when he scored a third-round technical knockout over Fritzie Pruden, in Cleveland. - - - -



Brash Quits

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 12, 1952

          Maurice A. Brash, personnel manager for the Sealed Power Corp., Monday returns to his native Muskegon, Mich., to become personnel director for the Michigan General Telephone Company.

          Brash, who has been connected with Sealed Power for the past 11 years, has been personnel manager of the local plant since its opening in June, 1946.

          His job here will be filled by Norbert Gallagher, who has been chief inspector since the plant began operations.  He has been employed by Sealed Power for 15 years.

          Brash said that his wife and three sons will remain in Rochester until he can make suitable housing arrangements.  The Brashes now reside west of town on the City Park road.









Buys Cafe in Ariz

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 13, 1952

          Word has been received here that Mr. & Mrs. Emile F. (Pop) Martin, former proprietors of the Brass Rail Cafe here, have purchased a cafe in Wickenburg, Ariz.  The Martins left here several months ago following disposal of the local tavern and settled in Arizona, where Mr. Martin is in search of better health.



In Eiler Bldg

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 15, 1952

          The Great Atlantic and Pacific Tea Company, today announced that it has leased the Eiler building at 528 Main street, and already has begun preparations to open a new A&P Supermarket in the structure.

          The new Supermarket will replace the present one at 704 Main street, and will be twice its size.

          Work on the conversion began this morning.  The store will have all new equipment, three check stands and a meat department that will offer self-service as well as request service.

          The company expects to have a grand opening sometime in January.

          Paul Eiler, owner of the building, closed out his furniture and electrical business several weeks ago.  The structure was remodeled last summer after being gutted by fire.



Jerry Hittle Sales Mgr

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 2, 1953

          Jerry Hittle today assumed duties as sales manager of the Jennings Motors, Sixth and Main streets, to replace Velmar Bowman, owner Vern Jennings announced.

          Bowman has resigned to accept a position as a sales representative for the Acme Chemical Company in California.  He left this morning for Riverside, Calif.  He has been with the auto agency for the past four years.

          Hittle, an employee of the agency since 1945, has been in the parts department for the past four years.  He resides at 419 Ohio street.




Pur Carl Eichner

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 3, 1953

          Guy Anderson, who was named to the Rochester police Department Thursday, has sold his bottled gas service to Carl Eichner who resides on a farm near Leiters Ford.

          Eichner will take possession Monday of the company which was founded in 1946 as the Anderson’s L.P. Gas Service for the purpose of retailing bottled gas and appliances.  The company’s bulk plant is located at 510 East Ninth Street.



Roy Abell Supervisor

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 12, 1953

          Roy Abell, manager of the Schultz Brothers 5 and 10 Store here for the past seven years, has been named a district superintendent by the company and already has taken up his new duties.

          In his new post, Abell will supervise Schultz variety stores in a district which includes parts of Iowa, Illinois and Wisconsin.  He was in Iowa today to begin familiarizing himself with the position.

          A member of the Schultz organization for 12 years, Abell came here to succeed Ivan Boylan after managing the Plymouth store for five years.

          He will be succeeded in the managerial position here by R.J. Funk of Morris, Ill., who is expected to arrive in the city the latter part of the week.  Mr. Funk has been with the Schultz company for 15 years.

          Clyde Bick, who has been serving under Abell as assistant manager of the local store, expects to receive a new assignment by the company but for the present remains on the job here.

          The Abells, who live on the southern outskirts of Rochester, will not move for serveral weeks.  Rockford, Ill., may be the site of their new home but such plans are not yet definite.  Roy expects to be back in Rochester on several occasions before moving in order to wind up his local affairs.- - - -

          The Abell’s daughter, Patricia, was named Indiana’s Cherry Blossom Princess in 1948 for ceremonies in Washington, D.C.  She is married to Chuck Davey, unbeaten challenger for the welterweight boxing championship, and now lives in East Lansing , Mich.




Bick, Mgr Morris Ill

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 19, 1953

          Clyde Bick, assistant manager of the Schultz Bros. 5 and 10 store here, has been named manager of the company’s store in Morris, Ill., and left for that city today to take up his new duties. - - - - R.J. Funk, who comes from Morris, Ill., to replace Abell as manager of Rochester, is expected later this week.



Supermarket Opens

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 20, 1953

          A&P brand new supermarket opens Wednesday at its new location at 526 Main Street, after several weeks of construction.

          M.W. Alldredge, Vice-president of stores in this area, said today that the company’s plans of opening a larger and most modern supermarket for the Rochester area, will become a reality when the doors open at 9 a.m. Wednesday to one of the finest supermarkets in northern Indiana.

          R. Eugene Sharp, manager here for the last several years, also will manage the new supermarket. - - - - -

          Manager R. Eugene Sharp, 37. Was born January 10, 1916, on a farm near Greenville, O.  He graduated from Greenville highschool.  Married to Catherine (Michael) Sharp, who also is associated with him in the store, he lives at 1220 Wabash avenue.  The couple has no children.  Sharp is a member of the Grace Methodist Church and Lions Club.  He is a Navy veteran of World War 11.

          Having had previous grocery experience before starting to work for the Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Company, Sharp began his association with the company in 1947 at Winchester and worked in stores at Elwood, Union City and Greenvlle, O.  He became manager of the Rochester store Decemer 17. 1951.

          B. Catherine Sharp was born January 9, 1916 on a farm near Greenville, O., like her husband.  A graduate of Gettysburg (O.) High School, she has had considerable grocery experience.  - - - -   She now is a part-time clerk at the local A.&P.

          Other employees are: Harold Collins, Bill Gordon, Herman Boone, Zelma (Sally) Collins, Lorraine Booth, Francis E. Sanders and Garland E. Eshelman.




Marvin Briggs Gen Mgr

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 22, 1953

          Marvin J. Briggs, a native of Macy and a former Rochester resident, has been elected general manager of the Indiana Farm Bureau Cooperative Assn., at the National Council of Farmer Cooperatives annual meeting in New Orleans.  Briggs now resides in Indianapolis.



R.K. Kyle, Editor

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 22, 1953

          Indianapolis, Jan. 22 (INS) - Robert K. Kyle, of Culver, arrived in Indianapolis today to become editor of Outdoor Indiana, the official publication of the State Conservation Department.

          Kale, a graduate of Purdue University, is a veteran newspaper man and publicist and succeeds Robert Hoover, who resigned to become publicity director of the Democratic State Committee.



Mgr. Harvard, Ill.

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 27, 1953

          Richard Cook, son of Mr. & Mrs. Harry Cook, of Rochester, has been appointed manager oif the Schultz Bros. 5 and 10 Store in Harvard, Ill.   - - - -



Ervin Hall

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 28, 1953

          A fove-year-old Rochester lad possesses more poise than any of the “four hundred” of society.  No wonder, he rides a unicycle!

          Tuesday afternoon this young but veteran trooper performed on the one-wheeled vehicle in the basement of his home about a mile north of Rochester on U.S. 31 with the confidence of a man sitting in an easy chair.

          Ervin Hall, the unicycle whiz-kid, is a veteran trouper because he has displayed his skill on TV shows and in circuses since he was two years old.

          And it’s no wonder that he is a veteran trouper, for he comes from a family which has been in show business for almost 200 years.

          Too, he inherits his four way balance from both his mother and


father.  Mrs. Aurelia Hall, now retired, has been a bareback equestrian and his father, Mel Hall, is a unicyclist.

          Mr. Hall and little Ervin are not the only unicyclists in the family.  Ervin’s two-year-old sister, Carmen, rides the contraption with a little urging and his year-old-brother, Jimmy, tries to ride but merely pushes one now.

          Mr. & Mrs. Hall said they plan to train their three youngsters as a unicycle act.  Of course, Ervin already has his own act, which includes riding a unicycle of about three feet in height and one which puts him four feet above the wheel.

          He climbs on and off them as easily as most children get on and off a hobby hosse.  He even waltzes on the smaller unicycle and on the “giraffe”, as the taller one is called, he rocks back and forth while twirling hoops from his arms.

          Ervin began riding the cycle when he was two years old and shortly before his third birthday he rode in his first act with the Benny Fox Circus of Cheyenne, Wyo.  Since then he has performed on TV shows, in circuses and at county fairs from coast to coast.

          Currently a TV station in Philadelphia is seeking his talent.

          The blond-haired, alert-eyed youngster practices two hours daily on the cycle and his parents say he needs no coaxing.  For relaxation, he enjoys riding a “sissy” tricycle and bicycle.

          Oddly enough, he only recently learned to ride a bicycle and needed considerable training.  His father said it was difficult for Ervin to learn the different type of balance required by the bicycle.

          When asked if he contemplates making show business his profession. Ervin answers with a determined “yes”.

          He has never shied away from a show but has to be held back until it is his turn to “hit” the stage, his parents assert.

          Ervin also sings songs which are played as accompaniment for his acts.  One of them is “A Bicycle Built for Two.”

          Ervin’s mother is a member of the famous Zoppe-Zavatta family of circus and vaudeville performers, some of whom have made their home here for the past 15 years.  She is of the eighth generation of Zoppe-Zavatta troupers.

          The family left Italy because of Mussolini’s attitude towards their type of entertainment.  He maligned them by calling them gypsies, Mrs. Hall said.

          From their native land they toured Europe and in 1936 the Cole Brothers Circus brought them to the United States from Spain just


before the outbreak of the Spanish Civil War.  They came to Rochester when Cole Brothers quartered here during 1935-39.

          A trooper at heart, Mrs. Hall is now a housewife and mother who is proud of her children’s potentialities as famous troupers.

          Mr. Hall, who still has his own unicycle act., was born while his parents were with a wild west show while it played in a Kentucky town.  The day following his birth, he was in another town with the show.

          During his early years, Mr. Hall’s father operated a traveling movie which made one-night and week long tent stands across the country.

          At the age of twelve his father made for him a unicycle from spare parts and he learned to ride the “homemade” contraption without any coaching from others.

          Mr. Hall says he is sometimes envious of his son’s ability, for Ervin can perform difficult feats that Mr. Hall could not do until only recently.


Howard, Robin Lee

Piano Soloist

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 30, 1953

          Robin Lee Howard, already an accomplished pianist at 11 years of age will stick another feather in her cap Saturday morning when she appears for the first time as piano soloist with the Fort Waynme Philharmonic Orchestra. - - - - -



Hoover Founded

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 3, 1953

          The year 1882 was a significant period in the history of Fulton County.  It recorded the death of one village and brought forth another.

          On the morning of Jan. 11, 1882, fire razed the general store and postoffice in the village of Grant, a small trading post located about one and a half miles south of Noftsger’s corner in Henry township, when an overheated stove ignited the frame store building and destroyed the contents, including an accumulation of U.S. Mail.

          The store and postoffice, operated by the late Benjamin F. Noftsger, was a complete loss, but it served to divert his thoughts of future operations in the merchandising field.  Although he had other


interests at Grant, including a sawmill, and blacksmithing shop, he realized that future opportunities must center around the rail lines.

          At that time The Chicago & Atlantic (Erie RR Co.), was building its grade across the eastern section of the county between Akron and Rochester.  It was then that the village of Hoovers (now Athens) was blue-printed and a small station erected along with sidetracks and spur.  Noftsger thought seriously of moving his business interests to the new village, but after some more thought decided to settle in Rochester instead.  That decision was destined to cast him into a stellar role in the future development of this city.

          Shortly after arrival here, Noftsger joined the late Asa C. Mitchell in the farm implement business.  A two-room brick building was erected (717-719 Main street) the owners taking the north room now occupied by Snyder’s Jewelry sore, and the late William (Billie) True establishing a bakery and restaurant in the south room, now Hawkins Cafe.

          A unique sequence is attached to the south room.  In nearly 70 years of sustained tenancy that part of the building has housed nothing but a restaurant.

          In 1885, after purchasing Mitchell’s interest in the implement store he sold the stocks to Milo Brugh and branched out into the grain and feed business.

          Noftsger’s entry into the grain business proved highly successful.  He built his parent elevator at the foot of E. Seventh street (now Wilson Coal & Grain Co.) which he operated until many years later, when he decided to retire from active operations and disposed of it to the Farmer’s Co-operative Elevator Co.

          During years of active operation of the parent elevator, he also owned and operated elevators at Tiosa, Walnut, Athens and Loyal.  Following disposal of various grain depots in this section, Mr. Noftsger built and operated a feed and seed store at 214 E. Eighth street, now occupied by Hunter-Walton & Co.  Shortly before his death on July 18, 1929, he disposed of the feed and seed store to Arley Wynn.

          Although active in several business enterprises, Benjamin F. Noftsger contributed much to the convenience and pleasure of this community.  On Nov. 28, 1888, he purchased a plot of wooded ground of Ella J. and Jacob Spohn, located between Fulton and Jay streets and Fifth and Sixth streets, erected a home at the southwest corner of Sixth and Pontiac, and after cleaning and fencing the entire plot, dedicated it to public use as a picnic grounds, known for years as


Noftsger’s Grove.

          When the old courthouse was razed about 1894, Mr. Noftsger purchased and moved the bandstand from the public square to the Grove.  Old timers will remember that the clump of sturdy oak trees as the focal point of band concerts, political rallies and oratory, reunions and picnics over a period of years until the March of Time replaced it with modern homes.



That’s “Our Chuck”

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 12, 1953

          The nervous tension that hung over the city of Rochester for the last few weeks and reached its climax Wednesday night was relieved by Kid Gavilan in nine full rounds of fighting at Chicago Stadium.

          It was there that Rochester’s adopted home-towner Chuck Davey, husband of Pat Abell, suffered the first defeat of his career as a professional fighter.

          Hoping against better judgment for a Davey victory, the eyes of the citizenry were focused on their, or the nearest, television set that took them to ringside.

          When the bout ended, the consensus of opinion was that Chuck was overmatched against the Kid.   All is not over, however, for Davey announced after the fight that he will keep on boxing and “maybe get another chance at Gavilan.”



Dale Smith, Meats

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 13, 1953

          Bill Hill, who has been employed as a meat cutter in the Kroger store in Akron, began work this week in the same position in Peru.  Dale Smith of Matthews has replaced Hill in the Akron store.



Florida Grocer

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 13, 1953

          Gerald McMillen, Fulton County farmer and operator of a feed mill at Millark, will leave for Ft. Myers, Fla., about the first of March to enter the grocery business. - - - -

          In Florida, McMillen plans to open a super market.  Vern Schell, a former manager of the A&P Grocery here, will manage the store in


Ft. Myers for McMillen

          Bob Woodcox will operate the feed mill on Mill Creek.



Phoenix Man of Year

The News-Sentinel, March 5, 1953

          Charles E. Hoover, former business manager of The News-Sentinel, has been named as 1952 “Man of the Year” in Phoenix, Arz

          - - - -   A native of Wabash and a 1932 graduate of Indiana University, Hoover came to Rochester to take the post of business manager on The News-Sentinel May 1, 1937.  He resigned December 27, 1941, to accept the position of state field director of the Indiana War Finance Committee in Indianapolis.  He went to Phoenix in 1945.

          While in Rochester, Hoover was active in all business and civic affairs.

          Before coming here, he had worked on newspapers in Wabash, Peru and Michigan City.

          Hoover and his wife, Sally, are the parents of three children: Gretchen, 14; David, 11, and Thomas 8.



First Prize, Essay

The News-Sentinel, March 5, 1953

          The following is the essay written by Miss Kay Patterson, 615 Monroe Street, Rochester, which won first prize in the local American Legion Auxiliary’s Americanism Essay contest.  The title of the essay was “The Survival Of Our Liberties.”

          “Many years ago our American forefathers fought an unprecedented war against tremendous odds to gain their freedom.  Being unanimously conscious and proud of their liberty, they endeavored to guarantee this freedom for future generations of Americans by drafting and adopting the constitution of the United States.

          “Today we still retain the liberties given to us by our forefathers, and upon our shoulders rests the responsibility of keeping those liberties and preserving them for the future generation.

          “It is a fast changing world ever presenting threat against our freedom.  Today the dark shadow of a dictatorship lurks nearby.  It is hope of the communist party that the American people will forget about the precious freedom they always had.  Then the aggressor can


easily step in and take control.  If this happens the people will become enslaved, their minds curbed, and their initiative destroyed.

          “Remembering the words of Patrick Henry who said, ‘Give Me Liberty Or Give Me Death,’ we realize that life wouldn’t be worth living without our personal liberties.

          “The survival of our liberties is based upon one thing - man’s love for mankind.  Preservation of our freedom rests on education; educaton of this generation and the next on the importance of liberty, and also the Golden Rule.  If everyone lived by the Golden Rule, there would be no fear of losing their freedom.

          “One of our liberties is the right to vote.  We must use this power to vote objectively, without prejudice and eliminate political corruption that has penetrated into the government.  The American people have not yet forgotten their right to vote, and proved this by breaking all voting records in the last election.

          “In his first inaugural address, George Washington stated, ‘The preservation of the sacred fire of liberty and destiny of the republican model of government are justly considered, perhaps as deeply and finally, stated on the experiment entrusted to the hands of the American people.’

          “The challenge is made.  Can we, the future builders of America, remain aware of our freedom, vote objectively and teach the next generation the importance of their liberty?  The ‘Survival Of Liberty’ depends upon the answer to this question.  As one American, I felt that every other American would answer this with an emphatic ‘Yes!’”

          - - - - Miss Patterson’s essay now will be entered in national judging.



Coming to Akron

The News-Sentinel, March 6, 1953

          C.N. Rogers, an official of the Sonoco Paper Products Company of Hartsville, S.C., announced Thursday that his company is going ahead with plans for the opening of a branch factory at Akron.

          Negotiations are nearing a close for the purchase of the True Temper plant buildings located in the southeast section of Akron.

          The Sonoco company manufactures paper tubing in various sizes, and operates several factories throughout the United States.  H.M. Byrd of the Sonoco plant in Hartsville will arrive in Akron in a few days to take charge of the operations here.




The News-Sentinel, March 9, 1953

          The Overmyer department and grocery store at Leiters Ford, which has just undergone a thorough remodeling, will hold a grand opening Saturday.

          Both the grocery and meat department have been arranged on a “serve-yourself” basis with new refrigeration counters and display racks installed.  Many souvenirs will be distributed on the opening day and special bargains will be featured.  The store is under the management of Paul (Red) Davidson.



Two-Hr Concert

The News-Sentinel, March 23, 1953

          Prof. Paul S. Emrick and his Purdue University Symphonic Band came to Rochester Sunday evening and in a two-hour concert completely conquered an “old home town” audience that still was asking for more after the grand finale.  Undoubtedly, it was the musical treat of the year and mixed with boyhood reminiscences by the director, it was sentimental as well as highly entertainng party for all.  More than 800 persons were present.  They applauded every number and were favored time and again with encores.

          Prof. Emrick is dean of college band directors in the United States and soon will complete 50 years as the head of the band department at Purdue University.  He was born and raised at Rochester, played in the Rochester Citizens band as a boy, graduated from high school here and then entered Purdue in 1904, the second Rochester youth to attend that school.  The next year he was chosen director of the band after doing most of the organizing of the group himself.  Through the years he built a marching and concert band that has been acclaimed by most of the country’s leading musicians.

          It was only natural that Prof. Emrick would give out with all he had when he came back home.  The unusual energy and enthusiasm he puts into his directing amazed onlookers and he made each selection, every passage, theme and climax something unusual.  He brought out everything possible from his musicians as he waved his baton and acted every part. - - - -





Pur. Tony DeMarco

The News-Sentinel, March 24, 1953

          Tony and Ann DeMarco today announced that they have purchased the Holloway Taxi Company, located at 115 West Eighth street, and already have begun active management.

          The purchase was made from Harry Holloway, who opened the cab company last fall.  For the present, the firm will be operated under its original name.

          The DeMarcos, who live on Route 2, are the parents of three children.  Mr. DeMarco currently is employed at Sealed Power Corp., and will continue in that job for the present.



Pur Smith & Brock

The News-Sentinel, March 30, 1953

          The Smokehouse at 711 Main street has been purchased by two Peru men, William Smith and Roy Brock, from Harley Thompson. Management of the billiard hall and restaurant was assumed this morning by Brock.

          Plans call for making the front of the establishment a sporting goods store, Brock said.

          Brock is a former employee of Smith and now is a partner.  Smith operates a recreation center in Peru.

          Thompson, who has owned The Smokehouse since June, 1952, has no immediate plans.



Opening in May

The News-Sentinel, March 31, 1953

          Opening of the new drive-in theatre east of Rochester is expected to take place on or before May 1, according to an announcement made today by Robert Dyer, one of the owners.  The movie will feature first-run pictures, he said.

          Construction now is underway on the theatre, located on the Hugh Hunneshagen farm, about one and three-fourth miles east on State Road 14.  Building of the 50-foot high screen tower and the concession stand should be completed this weekend.

          To be known as the Lake Shore Drive-In, the theatre is designed to handle 400 cars.  In-a-car speakers will be provided. - - - -



Dixie Doodle Restnt

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 1, 1953

          Mr. & Mrs. Charles E. (Chick) Gast, of this city, have moved to Dayton, O., where they have leased the Dixie Doodle restaurant.

          The Gasts took possession of the business today.  Both Mr. & Mrs. Gast formerly were associated with the Gast Furniture Center, this city.



Terpstra & Zabst

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 2, 1953

          The Fulton Lumber Co., in Fulton has been purchased by two Fulton contractors, P.W. Terpstra and Marvin G. Zabst, from the Midland Industries, Inc.

          The lumber company does milling work and handles building materials such as paints, roofing and lumber.

          The former owners of the lumber company operate many such enterprises throughout the state and have headquarters in Indianapolis.



Kewanna Branch

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 3, 1953

          The Rice Corp., of Winamac has leased a building in Kewanna from Loyd Woolington for use as a garment factory.

          James Freeman, general manager of the concern, said that production will begin in about three weeks and that the plant will operate 22 machines and employ 25 persons.  Expansion also is in future planning.

          The company has operated a garment factory in Winamac for six years and one in Monterey for four years.


ROGERS, Mrs. Susan


The News-Sentinel, Apr. 9, 1953

          At the request of The News-Sentinel a Fulton county pioneer resident, Mrs. Susan Rogers, 96, now of 50 Lane Court, Oakland, Cal., has written concerning modes of living in Fulton county of nearly a century ago.

          Mrs. Rogers who resides with her son, Dr. Hobart Rogers, in


Oakland, still is enjoying good health and an alert mind, as her accompanying story of the early days will disclose.  Her eyesight, however, has begun to fail but nevertheless she has a keen interest in current affairs as well as an unfailing memory of the events which occured during her childhood.

          A pioneer resident of Newcastle township, she went to California about a score of years ago, several years after the death of her second husand, John Rogers.  While in Fulton county, Mrs. Rogers resided on a farm which lies directly west of what once was the little village of Big Foot.  The site is located approximately five miles southeast of Talma.

          Big Foot, during the time of Mrs. Rogers’ residency there, was comprised of two general stores, a sawmill, a telephone exchange, a blacksmith shop and a doctor’s office.  The late Dr. Winfield Scott Shafer, father of Mayor Robert W. Shafer, this city, began his practice there; another physician who maintained an office in Big Foot was the late Dr. Mark Kizer.

          Mrs. Rogers’ first marriage was to William Mickey, who died over 60 years ago.  The children who were born in this union all preceded their mother in death.

          A step-grandson of Mrs. Rogers - Maurice Rogers - resides in the old homestead in Newcastle township.

          This information was secured from Perry Jefferies, 505 E. Ninth street, Rochester, who is a nephew of Mrs. Rogers.  Other nephews and nieces in this vicinity are:    Ancil Rogers, Macy; Mrs. Addie Walburn, near Akron; Gladias Wharton and Roy Wharton, near Kewanna; Mrs. Clara Heeter, Akron, nd Mrs. Ernest Green, Fulton.  Several other relatives such as grandchildren, step-grandchildren, and cousins are also residents of Fulton or Kosciusko counties.


          “I was born January 28, 1857 in Kosciusko County, Indiana.  When I was four years old father sold the 40 acres where I was born and bought 80 acres a mile west.  This land was covered with trees and he cut the logs to build our house, hand hewed them with a broad axe and built two large rooms, one downstairs and one up.  We had to have plenty of bed room as there were nine of us, seven children and mother and father.

          :”Later he built a kitchen and dining room on the north side of the house.  When he was building our home he would get the logs ready and the neighbors would come and help with the “raising,” as they called it.  Father hewed the roof from hickory logs, clapoards they


called them, aboiut two and a half feet long.  They were lasting roofs.

          “When father was clearing land, either for building or for planting, the logs were often too big to handle.  Then we children would gather small sticks and put them on each side of the log.  Then they were set on fire and the log burned in two.

          “We did not have matches in those days.  The fire had to be started with a flint.  In the winter father kept a fire going in the fireplace all the time, but one night it went out.  This time he didn’t use the flint, he went to the neighbors and brought home a shovel full of coals.

          “For light at night we had tallow candles and grease lamps, mostly candles.  Mother made the candles from the fat of the animals father killed for food.  She put a wick into a candle mold and poured the fat in the mold.  The grease lamp was a small tin container with a twisted rag in it which was filled with fat.

          “Father and two older boys cleared land enough so we could raise corn and wheat.  There were lots of maple trees and we made our own maple sugar and syrup.  After a while the men folks built a log cabin a quarter mile from the house where they kept bedding and food. My brothes, Sam and Will, would stay there day and night and boil the sugar water down into syrup.  We had plenty to eat and enough to wear, but not like the things we have now.

          “Father had a few sheep and in the spring the boys would take them to a deep place in the creek and wash them, then they were put in a clean dry pen with clean grass until their wool dried when father would shear them.  In a few days mother would ask three or four neighbor women in and they would hsve a wool-picking.  This would take all day, they had a good time, it was lots of fun.  The wool was then carded by hand by my older sisters and then Mother would color it.  She used madre for red, indigo for blue, coppers to make yellow and for black (guess what) we had loads of black walnuts and she would take the hulls, boil them in a big iron kettle, strain the water and use it to color black, and it sure did not fade.  The blue and yellow mixed made green.

          “Flax was raised on the farm too that was haskled till the husks were broken, then combed until all the husk was removed.  It was then called tow and that was spun into thread and woven into clothes and for the table cloths, towels, sheets, and bedticks.  The bedticks were filled with straw.  A flock of geese we had furnished the feathers for pillows and feather beds.


          “On wash day a wild grape vine was used for a line.  When the clothes were dry the flat pieces were folded and put on a chair and when anyone had time to sit down they sat on the clothes and pressed them.

          “When I was four years old the Civil War came and my two older brothers went away.  The oldest came home but the other became a prisoner, and died of the measles.  He now sleeps in Nashville, Tenn.

          “I remember father killing a deer and dragging it across the yard.  He and my brothers hunted and brought home lots of squirrels and some quail.  Whenever father killed a wild animal he tanned the hide in wood ashes and made our shoe strings and wide strips of leather would make hinges for the doors of the corn cribs and stables.

          “We had a team of oxen and later a team of horses too.  The oxen were used to roll the logs together for burning when land was being cleared.  Wheat was cut with a cradle.  A horse pulled the thrashing machine and the hay was cut with a scythe and raked by hand.  The wheat was bound by hand into sheaves.  We children gathered the sheaves a dozen at a time and the men would stack them.

          “Our well was dug about 25 feet deep.  It was walled with rock and we had good cold water, but as I think of it now it probably wasn’t very sanitary, but we lived through the years.

          “Mother made the soap.  She saved all the ashes and had what she called a hopper where she packed the ashes.  She would pour water on them which she called leaching them into lye.  She would put the lye in one of those big iron kettles, put the grease into the lye and boil it until it was made into soap.

          “The men folk did the butchering and took care of the meat curing.  My parents never kept a loaded gun in the house and never kept the doors locked.  One night the door was opened and three soldiers walked in.  Father got up and asked them what they wanted and they said ‘Candles.’ They stayed a short time.  Father and Mother were wondering about these strange visitors.  They heard in a few days that there was a deserter in the neighborhood and they thought the soldiers must have been looking for him, but when they found they could just walk in and everything was quiet they did not search the house.  My parents never turned anyone away hungry but I do not believe they would have hidden a deserter.  My father, James Thompson, was Scotch and my mother, Martha Thompson, was Irish.   

          “We had only three months of school a year and we studied the


three R’s.  Our school house was built of poplar timbers and was called Poplar Seminary.  Since it was located on the corner of our farm, we did not have far to go.  About twice a year a preacher would come to another school house about three miles from us and the older children would go.

          I can remember the first lead pencil and the first safety pin, and I can remember the first buggy I ever saw, all of ninety years ago.  If I could write everything I remember your paper would not be big enough to hold it all.  But this story would not be complete without telling you of mosquitos we had to fight.  Of course we didn’t have any mosquito netting or screens, and only a smudge would drive them away.  A creek ran through the farm called Little Yellow Creek and there was also some swamp land.  You would not believe it, but those mosquitos were so big that a great many of them would weigh a pound and they would sit on the logs and bark all night.  (Well, it would take a great many of them to weigh a pound, and they couldn’t sit on the logs very well without sitting on the bark, could they?)

          “When I was a little girl my first rides were in a wagon drawn by oxen, and four years ago I went from California to the middle west in a Great Western airliner.  Quite a change since 1860!  I hope I’ll be doing it again soon and can see all my friends in Indiana.”




The News-Sentinel, Apr. 10, 1953

          Marion Salathe of North Judson once again owns the Kewanna 5c and 10c Store.  The latter had owned the business since 1947.  Salathe also operates a similar store in North Judson.



Circulation Mgr

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 18, 1953

          Dick Clary Monday will assume the position of manager for The News-Sentinel and The Indianapolis News.  He succeeds Art Kennedy, whose resignation from the position became effective today.

          Clary, a lifelong resident of the Rochester community, is the son of Mr. & Mrs. Harvey Clary.  He graduated from Rochester high school in 1944 and resides on a farm two miles southeast of the city.  He is married to the former Patricia Hoffman and has one child, James Bruce, 2-1/2.  Kennedy has announced no future plans.



Pur E.F. Kleeberg

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 21, 1953

          Eugene F. Kleeberg of Elkhart Monday assumed ownership of the Rochester Self Service Laundry, 119 East Seventh Street, formerly owned and operated by Mr. & Mrs. Robert L. Mudra, RR 3, Rochester.

          Mr. Kleeberg also is manager of a similar laundry in Elkhart.  Mrs. Dee Tharp, RR 1, Rochester, is operating the one here for Kleeberg.

          Mr. & Mrs. Mudra have not arrounced an future plans.


Deamer & Deamer

Move Office

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 21, 1953

          The real estate firm of Deamer & Deamer today announced that its office would be located in the room recently vacated by the Tot and Teen Shop, 111 West Eighth street, beginning next Monday.

          The real estate agency which is headed by George Deamer, Jr., has been located over the Security Loan Company for the past five years.  Mrs. Betty Nicodemus is the secretary for the agency.



Annual BB Banquet

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 22, 1953

          “If all there is to coaching is winning, I want to get out of it,” Branch McCracken, coach of Indiana University’s national championship basketball team, told more than 100 persons here Tuesday night.

          The occasion was the annual basketball banquet held by the Rochester Lions Club at the Coffee Shop, honoring Rochester High School’s cage squad.

          “The enjoyment I get out of coaching is helping boys,“ McCracken said. “I take a lot of pride in seeing my boys graduate in four years.  If they don’t go to classes, I don’t want them around.”

          Directing his remarks to members of the local basketball team, McCracken said, “You boys owe a lot to your high school for being able to represent it on the athletic field.  The school owes you nothing.”

          “Athletics is a fine thing for youth.  It can teach them lots of


lessons if not too much emphasis is placed on winning,” the famed coach said.



Pur Coplen-Erdmann

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 24, 1953

          The Coplen and Erdmann Drug Store at Main and Eighth streets today was sold to Ernest Baxter, owner of Baxter’s Drug Store at 724 Main Street. - - - -


DAVEY, “Our Chuck”

TKO over Giuliani

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 30, 1953

          Detroit, April 30 - Jabbing, stabbing Chuck Davey, seeking to replenish his pocket and purse, danced away from the Bull-like pushes of Sammy Giuliani and scored a technical knockout over the game Stamford, Conn., youngster at the Olympia Wednesday night. - - - -



New Fire Truck

The News-Sentinel, May 1, 1953

          Henry township’s new fire truck has been delivered in Akron and is now undergoing state tests.

          Trustee Vernon Cumberland stated the new equipment will be used for the township needs and also be available for use in sections of Perry and Franklin townships in Miami county.

          The truck, which cost $11,600, is much larger and more efficient than any of the township’s present fire fighting apparatus.



Camblins Pur Furn

The News-Sentinel, May 5, 1953

          Mr. & Mrs. Milton Camblin of Rochester this morning purchased the entire stock of furniture, floor overings and appliances from the Boston Store, Inc., of Peru, 806 Main street. - - - -

          Abe Zimmerman of Peru, one of the officer of the Boston Store Inc., stated today that the management of the Rochester Boston Store would be taken over by Sam Teitelbaum, Plymouth.  The Boston Stores, Inc., operate stores in Peru, Plymouth, Wabash, Kokomo, Nappanee and Tipton. - - - -



Ralph Bence, Mgr.

The News-Sentinel, May 13, 1953

          Ralph Bence, of Kokomo will become manager of the Rochester Boston Store, Inc. effective Friday.  Mr. Bence was formerly a co-partner in the Pittman-Bence Tailor Shop, Kokomo.  - - - -

          Mrs. Bence will be in charge of the ladies department of the store.  Sam Teitelbaum, who has been in charge of the Rochester store since the resignation of Milton Camblin, will return to Plymouth where he is a manager of the Plymouth Boston Store. - - - -


Kewanna Grocery

Pur, Fred Bennett

The News-Sentinel, May 18, 1953

          Roy Deckard has sold the I.G.A. grocery store in Kewanna which he has operated for several years, to Fred Bennett of Niles, Mich.

          Deckard, who owns another store in Leiters Ford, has not announced his future plans.  The Leiters Ford store is operated by his son, Richard Deckard.

          Bennett will move to Kewanna from Niles with his family about June 1.  He has been in the grocery business for 20 years.


Roch Farm Equip Co

Closing Out

The News-Sentinel, May 22, 1953

          Harry R. Cooper, owner and operator of the Rochester Farm Equipment Co., 811 East Ninth Street, is in the process of closing out his business here on account of ill health.

          He plans to take up permanent residency in Bradenton, Fla., and may enter business there if his health improves.



“Name” Bands

The News-Sentinel, May 27, 1953

          - - - -  There will be dancing Friday and Saturday nights to the music of Johnny Palmer and his orchestra.

          Here’s the season’s roster of “name” bands which are due at the Colonial:

          Billy May, Wednesday, June 24.


          Ralph Marterie, June 29 through July 4, Centennial Week.

          Stan Kenton, Thursday and Friday, July 9. 10.

          Chuck Foster, July 13 through July 18.

          Claude Thornhill, Thursday, Friday and Saturday, July 23-24-25.

          PeeWee Hunt, July 27 through August 9.

          Woody Herman, August 10 through August 15.

          Ray Anthony, Monday September 7, Labor Day.  - - - -


DAVEY “Our Chuck”

Wins 10 round Decisn.

The News-Sentinel, June 3, 1953

          Fort Wayne, Ind. (INS) - Chuck Davey employed all his boxing finesse Tuesday night to win a unanimous 10 round decision from Sammy Mstrean in his second successful comeback fight along the welterweight trail.

          Davey and the Pittsburger battled on even terms the first five rounds.  Mastrean carried he fight to Davey in the last five rounds but the pride of East Lansing stayed out of reach and countered with his riht handed hooks for the victory.

          There were no knockdowns but Mastrean, who opened a cut over Davey’s right eye in the sixth round, slipped to the canvas once.



Ninth St Water Tower

The News-Sentinel, June 4, 1953

          An East Ninth Street landmark, the water tower on the southeast side of the Nickel Plate Railroad crossing which has been of no use since the disappearance of steam locomotives, is being dismantled today.

          The 40-foot tower was built in 1925.  Others up and down the Nickel Plate will come down later.

          Bridge and Building Foreman Charles O. Tidler of Tipton, in charge of the dismantling crew, also bossed the tower’s construction.  A foreman since 1923, he has been an employee of the railroad since 1917.








Plow, Harrow, Plant

The News-Sentinel, June 4, 1953

          A group of neighbors of Mrs. Clair Jones, RR 2, Rochester, assembled at her farm Monday and plowed and planted approximately 50 acres to corn and soybeans.  Mrs. Jones’ husband died a few months ago and up until this week she had been unable to get the large field planted.

          Those who assisted in the field work, in which 12 tractors were used were:   Paul and Bob Eiler, Charles White, Ransford Peterson, Freddie Kindig, Keith Hollingsworth, Herman Kindig, Harold Chapman, Johnny Rhodes, Joe Richey, Byron Kindig, Gaston Coplen, Maurice Coplen, Ronnie Jones and Walter Hollingsworth.

          Women who assisted Mrs. Jones in preparing lunch for the workers were:   Mrs. Keith Hollingsworth, Mrs. Herman Kindig and Mrs. Gerald Kindig.



Plant Corn

The News-Sentinel, June 5, 1953

          On Monday, 16 men and 12 tractors disc, harrows and planters prepared the ground and planted 38 acres of corn for Bill Byerline of Richland Township.

          The men included neighbors and fellow members of the Grandview Church.

          The Byerline family has had two recent illnesses.  A boy, 6, has been in bed since January with rheumatic fever and Mrs. Byerline suffered a severe attack of arthritis the first week in May.



Mgr J.H. Pennell

The News-Sentinel, June 10, 1953

          J.H. Pennell has taken over management of the Rochester Self-Service Laundry, 119 East Seventh street.  Mr. Pennell, whose wife is associated with him in the operation of the laundry, owned and operated a similar concern in Columbia City for three years.







Theatre Opening

The News-Sentinel, June 10, 1953

          Construction of Rochester’s only open air movie, the Lake Shore Drive-In, is nearing completion and is expected to be ready for showing of films within the next few days.

          The theatre may open this week-end if good weather prevails and no defects are found in equipment when being tested the latter part of this week, owner Robert Dyer said.



Clyde McCoy

The News-Sentinel, June 10, 1953

          Clyde McCoy, famous for his “Sugar Blues” trumpet, will appear in the Colonial Hotel’s ballroom on Saturday night, July 11.  He will be preceded here on July 9 and 10 by Stan Kenton and his orchestra.

          The Val Eddy Trio Monday night opened a season-long stand at the Colonial, playing in the hotel’s dining room. - - - -



Guy Brouyette

The News-Sentinel, June 12, 1953

          The Gafill Oil Co. of South Bend, today announced that Guy Brouyette, formerly Sinclair distributor of Fulton county, will be associated with J.W. Messman, the Gafill D-X distriutor for Fulton county.

          Mr. Brouyette had been engaged in the oil and gasoline distributing business with Sinclair for 22 years.  Mr. Messman has been the D-X dealer in the county for 14 years. - - - - Their storage tanks and equipment are located on North Fulton Avenue at Second street.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, June 13, 1953

          The fourth annual Alber Reunion was held recently in the City Park at Rochester.  A carry-in dinner was the feature of the noon day meal and after Calvin Alber gave the invocation, all enjoyed their share of the delicious food..

          The afternoon meeting opened by all singing one verse of


“America”, led by Russell Cauffman, and the meeting was presided over by the president, John Alber.  Secretary’s report was read by Florence Hibbs.  The treasurer’s report was also read, and a collection was taken.

          The election of officers followed with J.O. Alber to serve as president for another year.  Mrs. Marie Alber will be secretary and treasurer for the coming year.  Several committees were also elected to help next year.  The first Sunday in June has been set as the time for this reunion each year, to be held at the Rochester City Park.  Mrs. Margaret Alber brought a large bouquet for the table “in memory of the departed ones.”

          Most enjoyable talks were given by Addison Alber of Arizona, Charles Johnson and sister, Exie Johnson of Chicago, Ralph Eubanks, Sarah Condon and Mrs. Opal Alber of Areanum, O., Mrs. Jaunita Bowman, Long Beach, Cal., Mrs. Jim Nickels of Lansing, Mich., Mr. Garrett Alber, South Bend and local residents, Mrs. Margaret Alber, Fulton, Marie Alber, Ramon Alber, Leesburg, Ind., Mrs. Goldie Siddell, Logansport, Mrs. Joe Dague. Kewanna, Marjorie Cauffman, New Carlisle, Calvin Alber of Walton and a guest, Mrs. Sylvia Remenschneider of Fulton.

          Letters were read from Charles Lee Alber, Chandler, Ariz., and Mrs. Mollise Alber, Logansport, who announced the wedding of her granddaughter, Jeanne Wissinger of California.  There was one death during the year, Mrs. Grace (Nickels) Harmon of Logansport and seven births.  Three of the Alber boys were reported in service, Clyde, son of Calvin Alber, is in the Atlantic and the two sons of Norvannah Alber, Dick, who is at Cannes, France, and Wayne, at Patuxent River Air Base in Maryland.

          Those present for the reunion were Mrs. Opal Alber, Mr. & Mrs. Glen Condon; Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Eubank of Areanum, O.; Charles H. Johnson and two sons and Mrs. Exie Johnson, Chicago, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Jim Nickles, Lansing, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Addison Alber and three sons, Tempe, Ariz.; Mrs. Jaunita Bowman, Long Beach; and from Indiana, Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Alber, Walton; Mrs. Margaret Alber and Mr. & Mrs. Lora Nickles, Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. Garrett Alber, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Ramon Alber, Leesburg; Mr. & Mrs. Sam Dague, Lucerne; Mr. & Mrs. Joe Dauge and five children, Kewanna; Mrs. Goldie Siddell, Lognsport; Mr. & Mrs. Bill Outler and son, Hammond; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Cauffman and children, New Carlisle.

          Others were Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber and sons, Mr. & Mrs.


Morris Hibbs; Mr. & Mrs. George Weidner and children; Mr. & Mrs. Manford Alber and sons, Mr. & Mrs. Herman Alber and daughters and Mr. & Mrs. J.O. Alber, all of Rochester.  Guests were Mrs. Sarah Barnhart of Tiosa and Mrs. Sylvia Remenschneider of Fulton.

          Mrs. Margaret Alber was the oldest one present an Herman Alber’s grandson, Jerry Ray, 3-1/2 months old, was the youngest and each received a cash gift.




The News-Sentinel, June 16, 1953

          Friday evening Rochester’s first open-air cinema, the Lakeshore Drive-In Theatre will open east of the city on Road 14, Roy Abbott, co-owner, announced this morning.

          The box office of the theatre, on the north side of Road 14 and about three-fourths of a mile east of the city will open at 7 o’clock Friday evening.- - - -     



Pur C.W. Cleveland

The News-Sentinel, June 17, 1953

          Culver, Ind. (INS) - Chester W. Cleveland, of Chicago, today bought Culver Citizen and Culver Citizen Press, for an undisclosed sum from Robert Rust.

          Cleveland is a native of Plymouth, and has been in newspaper, magazine and public relations work for the past 31 years. - - - -



Opens 9th & Main

The News-Sentinel, June 20, 1953

          - - - - Today the Ohio Oil Co. held an all-day grand opening of its super station at Ninth and Main Streets. - - - - Dick Chase, manager; Howard Gaiser, Bill Gordon, Phil Hayes and John Nelson, of the local service station staff. - - - -









STORY, 1853-1953

The News-Sentinel, June 23, 1953

                                      By Earl Sisson

          The Rochester story actually begins with the sessions of the Indiana legislature of 1834-35, when a petition, signed by the required number of freeholders from this area was received and approved for the establishment of Fulton county and its seat of justice.

          On Feb. 7, 1835, when the limits of the county were defined and the county seat authorized, the new county was placed by order of the governor, under the jurisdiction of Cass county.  This directive remained in effect until Jan. 23, 1836, when the legislature commissioned James Hutchins, LaPorte county; Erasmus Powell, Shelby county; Benjamin McCarty, Porter county; James Stewart, Carroll county, and Jeremiah Corbally, Marion county, to effect the organization of Fulton county, fix the permanent seat of justice, appoint a board of county commissioners and county officers, and provide for other preliminary actions necessary.

          To this end an order was dispatched to the sheriff of Cass county, commanding him to notify the duly appointed commissioners, who were required to convene on April 11, 1836, at the house of Ebenezer Ward in Fulton county, for the purpose of effecting the organization.

          At ths meeting it was decreed by the state commissioners, that the courts should be held, until further notice, in the Ward residence.  This step concluded, the commissioners moved the appointments of the following local citizens to serve in their respective offices during the remainder of the year of 1836:   County Commissioners, Samuel G. Perry, Martin H. Venard and Michael Shore; County Sheriff, Benjamin C. Wilson; County Clerk, Lot N. Bozarth; County Agent, Ebenezer Ward; County Assessor, William H. Martin; and County Treasurer, John Davidson.

          In the same convention of April 11, it was decreed that a general election should be called on the first Monday in June, 1836, for the purpose of selecting various officers to serve during the year 1837.

          During the formative years of the county, when court was held in the Ebenezer Ward residence, Hon. John Robbins, associate judge of the Eighth Indiana Judicial District, presided at various times.




          Location of Rochester as the county seat of Fulton county was due in a large degree to the farsightedness of two hardy pioneer land owners, Alexander Chamberlain and Lot N. Bozarth.

          In 1835, when the boundaries of the county were established and a seat of justice was imminent, it was reasonable to assume that the site would be determiined along the Michigan road.  On July 28th of that year, Chamberlain and Bozarth petitioned Abner E. VanNess, Cass County Surveyor, under whose supervision the new county then was, to lay out a plot of ground designated as “The Original Plat” along both sides of the Michigan Road between what are now Second and Eighth streets.

          The following year, 1835, Cyrus Taber, William G. and George W. Ewing extended the plat - now known as the “New Plat” from Eighth to Eleventh street, between Monroe and Pontiac.  Later on, one square block was donated as a site for a Public Square between eighth and Ninth, Main and Madison streets.  The courthouse and jail, which replaced the original county building - on Monroe street between Eighth and Ninth sreets in May, 1837 - was erected on the present courthouse site in 1846-47.

          The old courthouse - as it is usually referred to - was to become obsolete a half-century later and the new Bedford stone county building and county jail was in 1896 to rise and stand in its place in the center of one of the most beautiful settings in America.




          The selection of the name Rochester, as the seat of Fulton county, has never been (according to available records) determined.  There are several versions which attempt to explain the selection, but none are authentic, insofar as we have been able to discover.

          The best guess is, perhaps, that since many of the original settlers came from Pennsylvania and New York state, they brought the name with them from towns of the same name in that section of the country.  Or, as some older residents believed, it may have stemmed from Rochester in England.

          At any rate, the village of Rochester, like most others of that era, progressed slowly from 1836 to 1853.  In the latter year, there were those who believed the community should take the stature of a town.  The belief crystalized and on June 11 of that year, the petition signed


by the required number of freeholders, was accepted by the Board of County Commissioners who ordered an election to be held July 25, to determine the will of the citizenry.  A total of 59 ballots were cast, of which 35 were for and 24 against.  On September 6, 1853, the act of incorporation was fully consummated, and Sidney Keith was named president of the town board, with David Pershing as town clerk.

          Althogh the official record sets the full consummation as of September 6, it is noted that “the board fully satisfied that the election was legally conducted, both in the notice, manner of voting and return, it is therefore considered and ordered that the town of Rochester be in all intents and purposes an incorporated town, by the name and bounds set forth in the order of the June session, 1853 (Book C, page 321).




          Rochester’s first retail store was established at the time of the original site as the county seat by the firm of Caldwell & Bozarth, “for the purpose of the sale of foreign and domestic groceries and other goods, under a license applied for and granted them on September 6. 1836, for a term of one year, for which they paid a license fee of $25 to the county treasurer.


          The first physician of record in this community was Dr. John J. Shryock, who practiced in this section of the county from the early 1830’s until his death in 1845.  Between 1836 amd 1953. The roster of the medical profession includes also the names of Henry W. Mann, Lyman Brackett, James W. Brackett and Thomas H. Howes.  Later appears the names of Doctors A.H. Robbins, J.T. Goucher, A. Sutton, J.C. Spohn and Angus Brown.


          During early development of Rochester and Fulton county, the legal profession was represented by John B. Ward and Kline G. Shryock.  Among those who came later on, were Isaac W. Holman, Sidney Keith, James Marsden and Milton L. Minor.


          The hotel or tavern business appears to be one of the oldest enterprises in the county.  In the spring of 1835. Alexander Chamberlain came from Logansport to erect the first hostelry in this city, which was opened for business the following August on what is now North Main street near Second.  Chamberlain’s Tavern was well


known as a model inn until 1872, when the owner died at the age of 84.

          Second on the list of popular hotels in the early days was the Central House, a sprawling frame hostelry located on the southeast corner of Main and Sixth streets.  It was built about 1834 by David Small and was operated by Banner Lawhead until 1866, when R.N. Rannells purchased the property and operated under the name of R.N. Rannells & Son, until the early ‘90’s, when it was taken over by Valentine Zimmerman who leased it for operation to various tenants until the building was razed several years later.

          The old Wallace House, located on the southeast corner of Main and Fifth, was an early addition to hotel accomodations in Rochester.  Prior to 1869, when it was purchased by Robert Wallace and known as The Wallace House, it was operated under various names by a number of shifting owners.

          In 1889 the corner stone of the Arlington Hotel was laid to become the first modern hotel in Rochester’s history.  Built by L.M. Brackett and A.J. Barrett, it formed the nucleus of the Arlington block.  The new Arlington opened in 1890 by A.L. Rannells and Charles D. Sisson, was one of the very first in Northern Indiana equipped with electric lights, steam heat, hot and cold running water and an electric call system in each of its 50 rooms.  The name Arlington, suggested by Mrs. L.M. Brackett after a visit to Arlington, Va., was changed many years later to “The Brackett,” during operation by John Brackett, but when a few years later Hugh McMahan, the present owner and landlord, gained possession, the original name was restored.

          There were other small frame hotels of little consequence in the history of the city.  They flourished and faded.   In this Centennial year, only two hostelries remain in the city limits - the Arlington and The Karn, a second floor hotel above the Coffee Shop, now operated as an annex to the Arlington, by Hugh McMahan.




          Rochester’s two railroads, the old Wabash, St. Louis & Pacific (now Nickle Plate) and the Chicago & Atlantic (now Erie) have served this territory since 1869 and 1882, respectively.  An interurban suirveyed between Rochester and Akron died aborning and was never constructed.




          About the time of incorporation of the town of Rochester in 1853, the records indicate that the names of streets be designated as follows: The Michigan Road as Main; thence west to the corporation lines were Jefferson, Pontiac, Bozarth (now Fulton), Jay and Clay.  East of Main were Madison, Monroe, Railroad (now Franklin).

          Cross streets from the north to south corporation lines were: Water, (now Second); from Bozarth (Fulton) to Main: Mill Creek (now Third), Columbus (now Fourth); Market (now Fifth); York (now Sixth); Washington (now Seventh); South (now Eighth); Pearl (now Ninth); Vine (now Tenth); Carroll (now Eleventh); Plum (now Twelfth); High (now Thirteenth); and Perry (now Fourteenth.




          The early history of Rochester indicates very little industrial activity, although an effort wa made, and with some success to develop the iron and steel industry.

          In the early 1830’s, James Moore & Co., built an iron forge on the banks of Mill Creek, just west of the present Otis Hagan property on U.S. 31.  Moore, in company with James McColm, established the forge which was operated by water power from the creek.

          A discovery of iron ore in the vicinity started a small boom which lasted several years until the iron lode gave out, after wich the forge was moved to the banks of the Tippecanoe River, near the old dam, east of the Michigan Road bridge.

          Although it so proved that the ore supply was very limited in this section, the quality was exceedingly high and reputed to have been comparable to the finest Swedish ore of that period.  The grey ingets of “pigs” found ready market in Pittsburgh and other steel manufacturing centers.  The industry finally closed down about 1855 under the ownership of Cuthbertson & Carter.

          At about the time the iron forge was moved from the original creek-bottom location to the river, reportedly about 1847, Peter Barrow erected a carding mill on the site and prepared to expand into the manufacture of woolen goods.  The venture succeeded for a number of years - until fire destroyed the buildings and contents.  This mill was succeeded during following years by other woolen mills all of which suffered an industrial demise by flames.




          During the mid-nineteenth century, progress of flouring mills, as well as stave and hoop manufacturing represented Rochester’s industrial life.

          Although the milling business begins of record with the old “Indian Mill” at the dam on Lake Manitou and continued in a small and varied manner for several years, it was not until about 1877, when William J. Leiter and Clarkson S. Hickman established the Pottawottamie Mills at the dam outlet of Mill Race, where the Fulton County Co-op elevator now stands.  The mill, one of the largest ever built and operated in Rochester, was a modern flouring mill of its time.  Operated by water power, it had five giant burrs, capable of grinding 100 barrels of flour daily; storage facilities for 20,000 bushels of wheat, made it one of the largest grinding establishments in the state.  It burned in the 1890’s and was replaced by the Erie Elevator owned and operated by Leiter.

          Another large flour mill, located on East Eighth street, where the office and yards of the Fulton County Lumber Co., now stand, built soon after the Pottawottamie mill, operated successfully for a long number of years and burned in September, 1915.  Built and operated by Ditmire & Edwards it was later sold to John Whittenberger, who later, in 1908, disposed of the property to August Boelter, who operated it until the fire.




          Electricity superseded the kerosene lamp in this city in the late 1880’s, when O.D. Ross and several others established a small generator plant near the foot of Eighth street.  This venture was succeeded by the Rochester Light & Power Company in a new plant erected at Madison and Sixth streets, later sold to the Northern Indiana Power Company and at present operated by The Public Service Company of Indiana.

          Artificial gas came to Rochester around the turn of the century with John W. Ott who, with a number of local stockholders, formed the Rochester Gas Go., and built a retort and storage plant on East Eighth street, just east of the Nickel Plate Tracks.  This utility was, in later years, sold to the Indiana Gas Company and is now transformed into a natural gas distribution agency by Northern Indiana Power Company.


Present sources of production are located in Texas and come by pipeline to this area.




          The telephone made its initial bow in this community in the late 1880’s or early ‘90’s.  As far back as 1883, efforts were in progress to form a company “with a view to the introduction of local and general lines for the transmission of spoken words by sount.”   Identified with the early building and operation of local lines were Daniel Agnew, Tully Pontious, Henry A. Barnhart, Miss Belle Bernetha, and several others.

          However, operation of the first “long distance” line is claimed by decendants of Benjamin F. Noftsger, who held extensive grain and elevator interests throughout the county in the mid-eighties.  It was about that time that Noftsger streched a single wire, supported by native saplings, between Rochester and Hoovers (now Athens).  It was a crude affair, attached to boxes located at his residence, Fulton and Fifth streets, and at his local office in the room now occupied by the Snyder Jewelry at 713 Main street, and his Hoovers elevator.

          Calls were made back and forth by first striking the end of the wire with a piece of metal tube, which caused a buzzing vibration at the opposite end of the wire.  Conversational service was not too good, of course, but considering the setup, was considered helpful, and on occasion, quite successful.  The line was operated until farm boys learned the trick, shinneyed the poles and beat a staccato on the wires, causing near consternation at both ends.


          Social activities reached their zenith during the “Gay 90’s” with the beginning of the transition from the staid existence of the past to the lusher emoluments of modern progress.  The “Machine Age” was just budding.  Electricity, telephones, steam heat and other more modern innovations were beginning to flower.  Shortly after the turn of the century the horseless carriage, improved highways, dependable motor cars, and ultimately the tractor, replaced the horse and buggy.


          And with these more modern facilities, Rochester developed “growing pains.” By 1909, the cry for city government reached the crescendo of a well-planned campaign.  The town board, composed of three members, William H. Taylor, Joel Stockberger and B.F. Sheward,


were prevailed upon to call a special election to resolve the issues.  On October 23, 1909, polls were established and 659 male voters responded.  The results were, 446 for; 213 against.  Since that date, warranty deeds and other important property transfers have carried the description, “in the town, now city of Rochester.”

          The voters, having expressed their choice, called for a second special election to choose their first city administration.  As a result, on Jan. 3, 1910. The returns showed Omar B. Smith, Mayor; Joseph Bibler, clerk; Roy Shanks, treasurer.  Councilmen elected were, Dr. I.L. Babcock, William Ross, A.L. Deniston, P.M. Shore and William Brinkman.  Smith, Shanks and Deniston were Democrats; others were Republicans.



Early Factory Owner

The News-Sentinel, June 23, 1953

          One of Rochester’s first factory owners and operators was Samuel Heffley, blacksmith and wagon-maker, who started in business here around 1847.

          Mr. Heffley was born May 8, 1828, in Wayne county, Ind., and family records reveal he was 19 years of age when he moved to Fulton county and purchased a home on the Michigan road south of the village of Rochester.  Soon afterward he opened a blacksmith shop and his business prospered.

          Accumulating a few hundred dollars from his labors he and two neighboirs, Frank and Marion Porter, went to California to seek a fortune in gold.  They made the trip overland conveyed by oxen teams.  Mr. Heffley remained in California’s gold regions a year.  He returned by ocean vessel to the Isthmus of Panama and thence to New York, bringing with him one thousand dollars in gold dust which he had panned with his own hands.

          With this “snug sum of money” he bought a farm south of Rochester and engaged in farming, but this source of making a living was too slow and he again moved into the village where he operated a blacksmith shop in the north end of the town.

          Another interlude in Heffley’s interesting career came in 1863 when he moved to Peru and purchased a shop for the purpose of blacksmithing and manufacturing wagons.  Business in the neighboring town was not what he expected and a year later he returned to Rochester and built what was to become known as Heffley’s Carriage     


and Wagon Factory.  This industry was located directly south of the Baptist church on Main street, where now stands the Jefferson & Co. Machine works.

          It was while he was operating the wagon and carriage factory that he invented what was known as the Heffley Sand Band for carriages and wagons.  This device kept sand, mud and dust from entering the hub of any vehicle to which it was attached.  For the next couple of years he traveled considerably through the midwestern and eastern states selling county and state rights for his patent.

          Mr. & Mrs. Heffley built the home which still stands at the southeast corner of Madison and Ninth street.  Ninth at that time was known as Pearl street.  Ground to the south of this location at that time was in woods or open fields.

          The Heffley blacksmith and wagon business was later owned and operated by John F. Hill & Son.

          Mr. Heffley died in July of 1898.

          The interesting details of this pioneer citizen’s life were supplied to the editors of the Centennial Edition by his grandson Fred Mercer, Route 1, Rochester.



Dies, Death of Old Billie

The News-Sentinel, June 23, 1953

          The passing of the one-horse dray lines in the city of Rochester occurred in 1939, when the large white horse known as “Old Billie” passed to his reward after many years of service.

          “Billie” was owned and driven by the late Horace Shelton, a member of one of the pioneer families of the city, who died in 1942.

          Mr. Shelton and his big white horse operated the dray-line in competition with motor powered vehicles for over 15 years.  While the capacity of the dray was somewhat limited, there were many customers of the Shelton line who refused to go “modern” by the use of the truck lines as long as “Old Billie” was on the job.

          The “clop-clop” of the big horse’s hoofs as he plodded along the pavement was a most familiar sound throughout the business section of the city.  For several months after “Billie” died the echoes of his measured stomping gait still lingered in the memories of those elderly citizens who regretted to see the passing of the “horse and buggy days.”

          “Billie” received the best of care from his master and regardless


of the pressing business schedule the beautiful old animal was never pushed beyond its own preferred gait.  His “clop-clop-clop” was as regular as the ticking of a grandfather’s clock.

          Prior to Horace Shelton’s entry into the draying business he followed the vocation of a painter and plasterer.

          A son of Horace Shelton, Jess Shelton, a barber, resides at 1005 Franklin Avenue, Rochester.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, June 24, 1953

          The 29th annual Metzger Reunion was held at the Rochester City Park June 20.

          Following a bountiful carry-in dinner, a business session was held.  Officers for the coming year were elected with Mrs. Warren Gillespie as president.  Other officers elected were:   vice-president, Grover Metzger; secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Kathern Huntington.  John Metzger, 92, was the oldest person present.  A 10 month child, Dennis Leiferman, was the youngest present.

          Sixty were present from Harvey, Ill., South Bend, Mishawaka, Bremen, Walkerton, Columbia City, Fort Wayne, North Manchester, Monticello, Kewanna, and Rochester.



B. Gillespie Home

The News-Sentinel, June 25, 1953

          The family of the late Mr. & Mrs. Jesse McKee, held their annual reunion in the home of Mr. & Mrs. Bert Gillespie in Kewanna.  A picnic dinner was served at the noon hour.

          During the short business session held in the afternoon, officers were elected for the coming year.  Mr. Lewis McKee of South Bend was re-elected president and Mrs. Wilma Kistler, secretary.

          Guests present were Mr. Jesse McKee Jr., Piper City, Ill., Lewis McKee, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Clarence McKee, Earl Park; Mrs. Winifred Donovan and children and Mr. Albert McKee and children of Earl Park; Mrs. Darrell Snodgrass, Oxford, Mrs. Eastes Densforth and children, Austin; Mrs. Edith Coughenour and family, Michel Zellers, Mr. & Mrs. Robert McKee and children of South Bend, Mr. & Mrs. Joe Ball, Michigan City, Mrs. Bertha McKee, Mr. & Mrs. Cliff McKee, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Sommers of Royal Center.


          Other guests were Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Kistler, Greentown, Mr. & Mrs. Roiland Lowrey and children, Mr. & Mrs. William Owens and Mr. Howard Owens, Winamac, Mr. & Mrs. Jesse Owens, Lafayette, Mr. & Mrs. Lee Sommers, Star City, Mrs. Edna Zellers and Mr. & Mrs. Bert Gillespie.   Mr. Clarence McKee of Rochester was unable to attend.



Dick Davis, Owner

The News-Sentinel, July 3, 1953

          Dick Davis, formerly of Lafayette, Monday will open a television and radio sales and service business at 113 East Ninth street in the building formerly occupied by Berger Auto Parts.

          Mr. Davis, who has been in the service end of television and radio for the past 10 years, has completely redecorated the building.

          He and his family are residing with Mr. & Mrs. Don See, his wife’s parents, in Macy.



Ruth’s Tea Room

The News-Sentinel, July 6, 1953

          Seventy-two persons Sunday afternoon attended the 24th annual reunion of Rochester Normal University Alumni at Ruth’s Tea Room,. 312 West Ninth street. Alumni were present from Indianapolis, Ft. Wayne, Richmond, Logansport, South Bend, and srrounding towns.

          Elmer Gordon of Rochester was elected president of the alumni association, succeeding V.L. Barker of Fulton.  Dr. Dow Haimbaugh of Rochester, named vice-president, and Mrs. Ella Felder of Rochester, secretary-treasurer.

          Mayor Robert Shafer gave the welcoming address and several of the alumni talked briefly.

          The university, which was located in southeast Rochester, was founded in 1895 and its last classes were held in 1912.



Parade of 20,000

The News-Sentinel, July 6, 1953

          A crowd estimated at 20,000 persons jammed Rochester Saturday afternoon to view a spectacular 40-block long parade, climactic event of the city’s week-long Centennial Celebration.


HARVEY 5-10 Store

704 Main Street

The News-Sentinel, July 8, 1953

          In the near future Rochester will have three five and dime stores.

          It was announced this morning that Ralph Harvey, operator of a chain of variety stores in northern Indiana, has leased the store building at 704 Main street from Wade Jarrette.

          It is not known yet how soon the new store will open for business.  The city’s other two variety stores are Walli’s five and Ten Cent Store and Schultz’s Variety Store. - - - -

          The building which will house the new store was the A&P Store for 24 years until it moved last January to a larger location at 526 Main street.

          The new store here will be the sixth in the Harvey chain.  Others are at Valparaiso, Chesterton, Michigan City, Gary and Hobart.



Wm. L. Morris

The News-Sentinel, July 13, 1953

          William L. Morris, local attorney, today announced that he has opened new law offices at 802-1/2 Main street, above Security Loan office.

          He previously had offices at 826-1/2 Main street.



O’Dell, Meat Cutter

The News-Sentinel, July 14, 1953

          Donald O’Dell, who resides in the Walnut community, has assumed duties as head of the meat department at the A.P. Morris Grocery, 723 Main street.

          O’Dell succeeds George Bowers, who died June 28.  O’Dell, 37 years old, has had 13 years’ experience as a butcher and formerly worked at Argos.  He is married and the father of five children.



South Bend Park

The News-Sentinel, July 15, 1953

          The annual Williams reunion was held at the Pottawattomie Park at South Bend last Sunday with 85 persons present.

          A bountiful carry-in dinner was served at the noon hour after


which a short program of readings, accordian solos and short talks were enjoyed.

          Lester Martin was elected as president for the coming year with Mrs. Russel Cooper, secretary and treasurer.  Fay Wysong was appointed chairman of the program committee.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, July 20, 1953

          The annual Isaac Brooker reunion was held Sunday at the City Park with approximately 80 persons present.

          A basket lunch was enjoyed at the noon hour and the afternoon was spent socially.  Officers for the coming year were re-elected and the next reunion will be held the third Sunday in July at the City Park.

          Mr. & Mrs. Walter Brooker were the oldest members present and Robert Wayne, two month old son of Mr. & Mrs. George Hudkins, was the youngest member present.  Dr. & Mrs. Brooker Masters and family of Fremont, Mich., had traveled the greatest distance.

          Guests were present from Fremont, Mich., Walkerton, Argos, Ft. Wayne, Plymouth and Rochester.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, July 25, 1953

          The sixth annual Shriver reunion was held at the City Park recently with 83 relatives present.

          They were from Warsaw, Peru, Plymouth, Akron, Goshen, Marion, South Bend, Kokomo, Gary, Macy, Owosso, Niles and Corunna, Mich., and Milford, Ill.

          Guests were Norma Jean Smith and Karen Hammond of Akron and Eva Pritchett of Marion.

          Three of the young men of the family are serving with the armed forces.  They are Harry Dale Shriver, Glenn Shriver and Nolan Shriver.

          Jessie Shriver is the president and Julia Hartman is the secretary and treasurer.

          The afternoon was spent socially and ice cream and cake were served.



House Motor Sales

Here Soon

The News-Sentinel, July 28, 1953

          A Studebaker auto agency will be opened here early next month by a Benton Harbor, Mich., man, Guy House, it was announced this morning.  The agency will be located in the north half of the Eiler Building, 528 Main street.

          To be known as House Motor Sales, the agency is the first Studebaker dealership in Rochester for approximately 15 years.

          House also has purchased the Pure Oil Service Station, Fourth and Main streets, from John McLochlin.  House will continue operating it as service station, also will locate a used car lot there.

          The Eiler Building will house the sales and service departments for both Studebaker autos and trucks.  When in full operation the new firm will employ between six and eight persons. - - - -



Art Fansler Cottage

The News-Sentinel, July 29, 1953

          The annual reunion of the Stephen Fansler family was held Sunday at the Tippecanoe River Cottage of Mr. & Mrs. Art Fansler.  There were nearly 51 present.



Pur George Fryer

The News-Sentinel, July 30, 1953

          The two-year-old “Roll-O-Waltz” skating rink north of Rochester on U.S. 31 has been purchased by George Fryer from Mr. & Mrs. Robert Walsh, it was announced Wednesday.

          The rink will be operated under the name of “Roll Arena Skating” and will be open each night except Monday.  It also will be open on Sunday afternoons.

          Fryer traded his 80-acre farm in Newcastle township for the rink, which is about a mile and a half north of the city.

          The rink will be closed until Aut. 12 while some remodeling work is done.  It was opened by the Waltzs two years ago this month.

          Mr. Waltz, a general contractor, now will devote more of his time to that business.




Poultry Processing Co

Opens at Argos

The News-Sentinel, July 31, 1953

          A new poultry processing business has been opened at Argos, in the building formerly occupied by the Argos Slaughtering House.  The proprietors are Fermin Cox, Lavon Miller, Fred Helsel and Brent Miller, all of Argos.

          This new firm will specialize in packaging fresh cut-up chickens ready for frying or roasting.  They will also buy and sell eggs.



Opens Branch, Indpls

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 4, 1953

          A Rochester business man, Dennis Deeds, has expanded his interest by opening a branch of his heavy machinery firm - Deeds Equipment Co. - in Indianapolis.

          Founded in 1942, the company sells many types of heavy industrial machinery throughout Indiana.  The Indianapolis branch, at 4705 Shadeland avenue, will service the firm’s southern Indiana accounts.

          A sales manager and parts manager will have charge of the capital city office.

          Deeds opened his Rochester office here in 1947 at its present location, 913-915 Main street.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 4, 1953

          The 32nd annual reunion of the William Rans family was held at the City Park Sunday, 47 members and guests present.

          A lovely carry-in dinner was served at the noon hour with a business meeting and program in the afternoon.

          Mrs. Etta Rans was the oldest member present and Timothy Bell, son of Mr. & Mrs. Fred Bell of Valparaiso, was the youngest member.  Mrs. Stella Ross of Seattle, Wash., had traveled the greatest distance.






Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 4, 1953

          Approximately 50 persons were present at the City Park Sunday to enjoy the annual Bryant Reunion.  Relatives were present from Chicago, LaPorte, South Bend, Mishawaka, Culver, Elkhart and Akron and the surrounding community.

          A bountiful carry-in dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour and elections of officers was held during the afternoon.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 4, 1953

          The 43rd annual Braman reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park with approximately 70 relatives and friends present.

          A delicious dinner was served at the noon hour, after which a short business meeting was held.  New officers elected for the coming year were:   president, Mrs. Fern Hammond; vice president, Mrs. Inez Pyle; and secretary and treasurer, Mabel Rusler.

          The afternoon was spent socially.  Mrs. Schuyler Braman, 91, was the oildest person present.



Pur Omer Hoesize

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1953

          The Landis Food Market, located at 426 Main street, this city, has been sold to Mr. & Mrs. Omer Hoesize, Mishawaka.  The new owners, who have had several years experience as food market operators, took possession of the business Tuesday.

          They plan to make several improvements to the store and have renamed it “Hoesize’s Market.”

          Mr. & Mrs. Wilbur Landis, former owners of the business have no plans for the near future.  They will remain in Rochester for the present.








Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1953

          The 39th annual reunion of the Beehler family was held Sunday at the City Park with approximately 70 relatives and friends in attendance.

          A bountiful carry-in dinner was enjoyed by the group and president, Earl Beehler, conducted a business meeting.  New officers for the coming year are Arden Beehler, president; Mrs. Clifton Kline, secretary and treasurer.

          A memorial was held during the social hour for former members of the families.



Langford To Chicago

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 6, 1953

          Lyman Langford, general manager of Rochester’s Armour Creameries plant for the past 11 years, has been transferred to the Chicago home ofice of Armour and Company, it was announced today.

          Langford has been appointed to the position of sales manager in charge of all cheese sales by Armour and Company.  He will take up his new duties Monday.

          The position of general manager of the local Armour plant will be filled by Lowell Long, who has been assistant general manager here the last 11 years also.  No announcement was made as to the appointment of a new assistant manager.

          Both Langford and Long are natives of Missouri and started their careers wih Armour about the same time.  Langford, who hails from Clinton, Mo., began with the company 21 years ago.  Long joined the firm a year later in his native Springfield, Mo.

          Langford came here from Sullivan, Ill., while Long was transferred from Terre Haute. - - - -

          Mrs. Langford and the couple’s four children, Ronnie, Lorna, Linn and Larry, who reside at 1020 Jefferson street, expect to follow Mr. Langford to Chicago as soon as housing is available.

          Long, an active booster of the 4-H Fair and now in charge of the exhibition’s entertainment, resides at 1021 East Ninth street with his wife and 12-year-old daughter, Judy.  Lowell is vice-president of the 4-H Fair Board and vice-president of the Chamber of Commerce.



Floyd Grogg, Moves

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 12, 1953

          Floyd Grogg, manager of the Foster Funeral Home here for the past 2-1/2 years, has resigned that position after purchasing his own funeral home in Warren, Ind.

          Grogg, a native of the Akron community, bought the Bruce-Brown Funeral Home in the Huntington county town, 13 miles south of Huntington on Ind. 5.  He will assume his new duties Saturday and will move there with his wife and two-year-old son, Randall Wayne, Thursday or Friday.  The Groggses reside at 401 Fulton avenue here.

          His successor at the Foster Home has not been announced.


Hiland-Van Duyne

Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 12, 1953

          Mrs. Charles Hiland-Van Duyne reunion was held at the Rochester City Park Sunday.  After all had repeated The Lord’s Prayer, a bountiful basket dinner was enjoyed.

          A business meeting was held in the afternoon with Charles Hiland, president, presiding.  New officers elected were Charles Hiland, president; Frank Hiland, vice-president, Mrs. Clayton Hascel, secretary and treasurer; entertainment committee, Lucille Macy, Marie Alber and Ethel Day.

          Gifts were presented to the oldest member, Mrs. Charles Hiland, youngest member, Dean Robert Haschel, and those traveling the greatest distance, Mr. & Mrs. Wade Green of north of South Bend.

          The reunion will be held again at the Rochester City Park in 1954, the second Sunday in August.


Manitou Steak House

M. Sadowsky, Mgr.

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 12, 1953

          Active management of the Manitou Steak House on Lake Manitou’s north shore has been assumed by its owner, Maurice Sadowsky, it was announced today.

          For the first two months of the summer season, Mrs. Margery House was manager of the restaurant which specializes in fish, chicken and steak dinners.

          Mr. Sadowsky said he plans to keep the restaurant open until


the first of the year if a mild winter prevails.

          Recently Doris Booneau was engaged as supervisor of the steak house’s kitchen.  She formerly was cateress at the Elks Club in Peru.



C. Baggerly Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 13, 1953

          Fifty-two relatives of the Stanley families attended the reunion held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Baggerly.  A bountiful carry-in dinner was served at the noon hour and watermelon was served in the afternoon. Joan Zartman favored the group with several selections on her accordian and various games were enjoyed during the afternoon.

          Guests present were Messes & Mesdames Victor Stanley, Harold Stanley and daughter Barbara of Falmouth; Russell and Nathan Stanley, Elwood; Donald Mullikin and family, Lebanon; Wilbert Frailing, Lloyd Werner, Peru; Thurman Creek, Arle Baggerly and daughters, Logansport; Ernest Stanley, Columbia, S.C.,; Carl Stanley and family, Walkerton; George Hathaway and children, Benton Harbor, Mich.

          Local relatives present were Mr. & Mrs. Max O’Blennis, Kline Blacketor, Sr., and son Raymond, Mr.& Mrs. Byron Ginn and daughter, Joan, Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Zartman and children, Mr. & Mrs. Carl McCrosky, Mr. & Mrs. Glenn Stanley and Mr. & Mrs. Marion Murden.

          Charles Baggerly of Fulton and Jess Jones of Minot, N.D., were forenoon callers and Mr. & Mrs. Vern Norris, Mr. & Mrs. William Ford and Hugh Norris were afternoon guests.



Leiter Homestead

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 15, 1953

          The 20th annual reunion of the Jacob Leiter family was held at the Leiter Homestead, home of Levi Leiter, and the guests were graciously entertained by Mr. Leiter and Mrs. Blanche Miller.

          Forty-eight members gathered around the table on the lawn and enjoyed a delicious dinner, served buffet style.

          During a business meeting, the following officers were retained for the coming year: President, Robert Leiter; vice president, Hugh Hunneshagen; secretary, Mrs. Fred Campbell.


          Edd Leiter of Bethlehem, Pa., and U.A. Leiter of Rochester, were unable to attend because of illness.

          The afternoon was spent socially and ice cream and cake were served in the evening by the host and hostess.

          The 1954 reunion will be held the second Sunday in August at the Leiter homestead.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 17, 1953

          The Day reunion was held at the City Park with approximately 80 members and friends of the family present.  A lovely basket dinner was served and officers were elected for the coming year.

          Those elected were president, Fred Day; vice-president, Frank Landis; secretary and treasurer, Marion Black.

          Gifts were given to the oldest man and woman, Mr. & Mrs. John Day of Arcadia, Ind.   The youngest member to receive a gift was Sherrie Sue Morgan of South Bend.  Music was played on the accordian by Beverly Ann Tabler.

          The next reunion will be held the first Sunday in August (1954) at the City Park.



J. Van Lue Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 17, 1953

          The Fultz reunion was held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. James Van Lue Sunday with 39 persons present.  All enjoyed a basket dinner at the noon hour.

          A short business session was held in the afternoon.  The president elected for the coming year was Kenneth Thompson, secretary, Max Feece.

          Refreshments of water melon and cantalope were served during the afternoon.

          Relatives were present from Detroit, Mich., Fort Wayne, Indianapolis, South Bend, Argos, Lafayette, North Liberty, Elkhart and Rochester.







Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 17, 1953

          Over 100 persons were present Sunday at the Holloway reunion held at the City Park.  A bountiful basket dinner was served at the noon hour.

          During the short business meeting, the following were elected to serve for the coming year: president, Elven Holloway; vice president, Norman Baldwin; secretary and treasurer, Mrs. Deverle Holloway.

          The oldest father present, Merle Dawson, and the oldest mother, Etta Holloway, each received a gift.  Also gifts were given to the oldest married couple, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Walters, who have been married 47 years.  The largest family present was Mr. & Mrs. Glen Holloway and family.  Fred Allen McGlothin, three month old son of Mr. & Mrs. Fred McGlothin, was the youngest child to attend the reunion.

          Elmer Walters and son entertained the group during the afternoon with several selections on their guitar, harmonica and accordion.

          Guests were present from Mentone, Roann, Bourbon, Huntertown, Burkett, Warsaw, Elkhart, Tippecanoe, Argos and Bristol.

          Several relatives attended the afternoon program.



Enyart Deer Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 19, 1953

          The families of Tom and Lee Perdue held their reunion recently at Enyart’s Deer Park with 45 relatives enjoying a bountiful dinner.

          The youngest member present was Mark Tyler of Rochester, two weeks old, and the oldest member was Tom Perdue of Bigelow, Ark., 83.

          Relatives were present from Rochester, Fulton, Shelby, Valparaiso, Royal Center, Flora, Goshen, Walton, Camden, Plymouth and Bigelow, Ark.

          Officers for the coming year are Mrs. Henry Perdue, president, Mrs. Billy Tyler, vice president, Mrs. Byron Rentschler, secretary and treasurer.

          The 1954 reunion will be held the second Sunday in August at Riverside Park in Logansport.





S.D. Berger Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 19, 1953

          The Berger family reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Simon D. Berger near Ossian.  A bountiful basket dinner was served at the noon hour to the 62 relatives present.

          Relatives were present from Danville, Ill., Michigan City, Peru, North Manchester, South Bend, Amboy, Athens, Richmond, Logansport, Gilead, Silver Lake and Ft. Wayne.

          The reunion will be held next year at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Carl Keim at Gilead.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 20, 1953

          Russell Kreamer presided at the 33rd Easterday Reunion held Sunday at the City Park.  Eighty relatives enjoyed a delicious dinner at the noon hour with Henry Easterday of near Ft. Wayne offering grace before the meal.

          The secretary and treasurer reports were given by Mrs. Ralph Little of Kokomo.  New officers were elected as follows:   president Dwight Reed, Fulton; vice-president, Delois Cunningham and Pauline Heinzman as secretary and treasurer.

          A program followed after which ice cream was enjoyed.  The reunion next year will be held at the same place.



D. Eytcheson Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 25, 1953

          The Bruce reunion was held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Donald Eytcheson, west of Fulton, Sunday.

          Guests present besides the host, hostess and their children, were Mr. & Mrs. Ervin Bruce, Mr. & Mrs. Lloyd Bruce and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Carl Bruce and family, all of Lucerne, Ind.; Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Kemnetz, Mr. Herrold Lease and son, Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Lee Bruce and sons of Battle Creek, Mich.; Mr.& Mrs. Junior Bruce and son, Logansport.   Also Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Eytcheson, Mr. & Mrs. Dwight Reed and son, Mr. & Mrs. William Zimpleman and son, Mr. & Mrs. Lewis Markley, all of Fulton and Mr. & Mrs. Charles Archer and family of Battle Creek, Mich.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 27, 1953

          Mrs. Ida E. Rouch and fifty-one members of her family and relatives met for a reunion in the City Park Sunday.

          Persons were present from Rochester, Winamac, Logansport, Kewanna, Grass Creek and Lucerne.

          Honored guests were Mr. & Mrs. Elmer W. Reed of Wilmington, Cal.   Mr. Reed, brother of Mrs. Rouch, formerly lived at Fulton.



REUN, City Park

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 2, 1953

          The Thompson-Dunlap families held their 50th reunion Sunday at the City Park where a bountiful dinner was served at the noon hour. Grace was offered before the meal by Mrs. Ancil Jefferies.

          A short business meeting was held in the afternoon.  The following officers were elected for 1954:   President, Ancil Jefferies; vice-president, Charles Green; secretary and treasurer, Lloyd Jefferies.

          Mrs. Ella Ewing was the oldest person present and the youngest was William Roy Schultz.  Mr. & Mrs. George Brown of Oswego, Kans., came the greatest distance.  Cantaloupes were served in the afternoon.

          Those present were Dr. & Mrs. E.D. Anderson, Kathleen, Alice and Alan Camplejohn of Mentone, Rev. & Mrs. H.F. Bulger, Mr. & Mrs. H.E. Turner and daughters, Susan and Sandra, Mr. & Mrs. A.H. Master, Roy & Gladys Wharton of Kewanna, Mr. & Mrs. George Brown, Oswego, Kans., Mr. & Mrs. Guy Woods, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Fuller and sons of Lowell, Mr. & Mrs. Lothaire Lake, North Judson, Mr. & Mrs. V.O. Wharton, Mr. & Mrs. P.E. Wharton and Mr. & Mrs. Joe Erskine of Elkhart.

          Also, Mr. & Mrs. Cecil Shoemaker of Akron, Mr. & Mrs. A.J. Jefferies and Mrs. Addie Walburn of Macy, Mr. & Mrs. William Schultz and son, Harvey, Ill., Mr. & Mrs. Wallace Coplen of Warsaw, Mr. & Mrs. Perry (sic ?) Jefferies and sons, Eddie and Ernie, Mr. & Mrs. Ernest Green and Mrs. Ella Ewing and son Harry, Rochester, and Mr. & Mrs. Charles Green of Fulton.





Resort Opens

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 9, 1953

          A new bait and boat resort will open Friday on the banks of Goose Pond at Lake Manitou.

          King Ford, a Manitou resident, is the owner of the resort, which will be called Sportsman’s Landing.  Did Newman and Glen Dice, RR 1, Rochester, will be co-owners. - - - -



Oliver Bryant Home

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 10, 1953

          The seventh annual Rush reunion was held in the country home of Mr. & Mrs. Oliver Bryant where a bountiful basket dinner was served at the noon hour.

          Guests present were Pfc and Mrs. Devain Bryant, Camp Breckenridge, Ky., Mr. & Mrs. Howard Myer and family of Lebanon, Ind., Mr. & Mrs. Donald Long, Ft. Wayne, Mrs. Wayne Zoleman and children, Mr. & Mrs. Vern Rush and Clara May Warner of Tippecanoe.

          Also Mr. & Mrs. Harvey Rush, Mr. & Mrs. Dean Myer and family, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Rush and daughter.   Also Mr. & Mrs. Lester Zellers and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. Donald Rush and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Hoge and family, Mrs. Ollie Breen, Russel Davidson and Mr. & Mrs. Oliver Bryant, all of Rochester.



C. McCrosky Home

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 16, 1953

          The following members attended the third annual reunion of the Nancy P. McCrosky family at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Clarence McCrosky of RR 1, Kewanna.

          Mrs. Alta Crabb, Indianapolis, Mr. & Mrs. Randall McCrosky, Margaret and Carol, Mr. & Mrs. Gerald McCrosky, Donnie and Julia Rose, Mr. & Mrs. Clifford McCrosky, Mr. & Mrs. Carl McCrosky, Mr. & Mrs. Berthy McCrosky, Harley McCrosky, Conn McCrosky, Mrs. Cora E. McCrosky, Mrs. Sarah McCrosky, all of Fulton.

          Others were Mr. & Mrs. Cecil McCrosky of Rochester, Mr. & Mrs. Arlo McCrosky, Logansport, Mr. & Mrs. Lester McCrosky, Knox, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Bevington and son Raymond of Galveston,

Mr. & Mrs. Lloyd McCroske of Peru, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond


McCrosky and Shirley, Bonny and Donna of Star City, Mr. & Mrs. Marvin Balder and son David of Aurora, Ill.


HARVEY 10c Store

A. Cummings, Mgr.

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 17, 1953

          Al Cummings, 530 Fulton avenue, a former produce clerk in Kroger’s grocery and a lifetime resident of Rocheser, was named Wednesday to manage the new Harvey dime store at 704 Main street.

- - - -


Foster Funeral Home

Darel Whitehead

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 24, 1953

          Darel Whitehead has assumed the position of mortician and assistant manager at Foster Funeral Home, 128 West Sixth St.

          Formerly associated with the Rust Funeral Home in Albany, Ind..  - - - -


DAVEY “Our Chuck”

Drubbed by Andrews

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 26, 1953

          Chicago (INS) - “Welterweight Chuck Davey, who took a drubbing from his one-time sparring partner, Al Andrews, at Saginaw, Mich., last week, is being treated for a kidney-bladder infection.

          “Davey’s manager, Hec Knowles, said the infection was discovered during an examination by a Chicago doctor.

          “Davey definitely is not going to retire.  He wants another shot at Andrews to prove to himself and his fans that he is far from through.”

          Knowles said negotiations are under way for a rematch with Andrews - - - - 


Furniture Auction

Teel & Teel

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 1, 1953

          A new type of enterprise will get into operation in Rochester Saturday - a furniture auction at 214 East Sixth street.

          Norman Teel, veteran auctioneer, and his son, Stanley, will operate the business. Mr. Teel came from Mentone in 1930.



Mary Barnett Home

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 5, 1953

          A family reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mrs. Mary Barnett near Tiosa on the occasion of the return home of her son, T/Sgt. George Barnett, recently released as a prisoner of war.

          Attending the reunion were Mr. & Mrs. Bob Barnett of Argos, Mr. & Mrs. Tom Barnett of Gary, Mr. & Mrs. Ben Honkomp of Knox, Mr. & Mrs. Ed Dembowski of Gary, Mr. & Mrs. Guy Burnworth of LaFountaine, Mrs. Mary Chapman, Don Norris, Mrs. Burnett and son, George.  Also, at the dinner were Mrs. Barnett’s 19 grandchildren.



Restaurant Coming

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 3, 1953

          A restaurant is under constrction at the Ghrist Motel on U.S. 31 at the north edge of Rochester, it was announced by owner Henry Ghrist this morning.

          In the new building that will house the restaurant there also will be three tourist rooms to add to the 14 in the other buildings of the motel. - - - - The motel was opened four years ago last Sunday.



Had Short Life

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 5, 1953

          The Merchants Mutual Telephone Company of Rochester, Inc., another of the defunct local firms which had articles of incorporation revoked recently, was short-lived and came into existence around 1903.

          Chief officers of the company were Alex Ruh and John Barr.  The firm’s offices were in the rear of the old Blue Drug store, where now stand the Baxter Drug Store.  As the deadline for some material evidence of the mutual company’s good intentions drew near, several workmen were employed to set up a string of poles which started from the rear of the Blue Drug store, then ran down the alleyway southward to the alley intersection of Ninth and 10th street and thence eastward.

          According to Tully Pontious, plant superintendent of the Rochester Telephone Co.., officials of his firm learned of the poles being erected.  He and a crew of six or seven workmen then got busy and removed the Mutual’s poles and hauled them to the right-of-way


of the old Lake Erie & Western Railroad.  After that bold stroke of strategy on the part of the Rochester Telephone Co., no further efforts were ever made to establish The Merchants Mutual Telephone Co., of Rochester, Inc.



“Our Chuck”

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 5, 1953

          Detroit (INS) - Tireless Al Andrews, a 3 to 1 underdog, landed just enough right hands to score a narrow split 10-round decision Wednesday night over Chuck Davey.

          It was the second time in seven weeks that Andrews, 23-year-old newcomer from Superior, Wis., scored a 10-round decision over Davey, who trained hard and long to gain revenge.



Harvest and Shell

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 9, 1953

          Several friends and neighbors last week gathered in Wayne township at the farm home of Jim Ware, who recently was injured in a cornpicker mishap.  There they harvested and shelled 60 acres of corn for Ware.

          Those who assisted were John B. Scheetz, Maurice Murtha, Larry Hickey, Frank Hizer, Omer St. Clair, Charles Mullins, Don Cohagan, Devon St. Clair, Raymond Menthorn, Charles Fiedler, John Smith, Martin Snyder, Joe Dague, Tommy Elridge, Pete Sutton, Jim Montgomery, John H. Scheetz, Bill Britton, Ralph Thomas, Harold Summers, Lester Murtha, Ike Dague, Mike Hines, Harold Marshall, George St. Clair, Albert Walsh, Omer Button, Merl Crist, George Moyer, Andrew Kuhn, Raymond Ringer, Buck Sanders, Leo Scheetz and Kerry Walsh.

          Women who assisted Mrs. Ware with dinner preparations for the harvesters were Mrs. John B. Scheetz, Miss Rose O’Brian, Miss Mary Murtha, Mrs. Claude Reasor, Mrs. Albert Walsh and Mrs. Kerry Walsh.








Paul Spotts

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 11, 1953

          Rochester’s Paul Spotts Emrick and Purdue’s All-American band, for nearly 50 years have been a campus tradition.  Perhaps no one has done more over such a long period to put the University on the map.

          And, last Saturday between halves of the Purdue-Iowa game football fans got their last glimpse of Emrick in action.  For, next spring he will reach the compulsoy retirement age of 70, and will yield his baton to someone else.  He will retire in accordance with University rules on June 30, 1954,, and plans to return to Rochester and reside in his lake Manitou cottage located east of Overstreet’s Resort. - - - - -


Ewing Nursing Home

Pur R..D. McFarland

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 14, 1953

          The nursing home owned by Mr. & Mrs. J.D. Ewing of Orlando, Fla., at 719 Madison street, this city, was sold Friday to Mr. & Mrs. Ralph D. McFarland.  The McFarlands also own and operate a nursing home at 816 Jefferson street.

          For the past several years the Ewing nursing home has been managed by Jerry Eastburg under the name of Rochester Nursing Home No. 1.  Mr. Eastburg has consolidated his nursing home business at the Rochester Nursing Home No. 2, located at 1118 Main street.

          The McFarlands will take possession of the Ewing property as of Dec. 1.  The real estate transaction was made through the offices of the Moore Realty Company.



Leased, R. Croy

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 10, 1953

          T.J. Cronin today announced that the Airport Grill on State Road 14 east of Rochester, has been leased to Mr. & Mrs. Russell Croy, of Culver.

          Mr. Croy comes here from the Three Sisters restaurant north of Culver where she has been employed until their recent closing for the season.  She will open the Airport Grill Tuesday, Dec. 15 and will specialize in home cooked foods.  Open hours 10 a.m. to 2 a.m.




RinderKnecht Motors

Moving to 526 Main

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 17, 1953

          RinderKnecht Motors, Oldsmobile sales and service agency, will move from its present location at 120 East Eighth street to the Eiler building at 526 Main street on Jan. 4, owner A.G. RinderKnecht announced today.

          The Olds agency will take over the quarters occupied by House Motor Sales, which handled Studebaker autos.  Guy House, owner of the latter firm, has given up the franchise because of ill health and expects to take up residence in Florida.  The latter agency opened here only last August. - - - -



Open Akron Office

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 29, 1953

          Dr. Joe Orr of Warsaw and Dr. Lloyd Morgan of Claypool, both chiropractors who have offices in Warsaw, will open an office in Akron, Jan. 2.

          They have rented the Dale Kreig property on East Rochester Street.  They will also maintain their office in Warsaw..

          Dr. Joe Orr was graduated from Palmer School of Chiropractory, Davenport, Iowa, in 1949.  Dr. Morgan was graduated from the same school in June, 1953.  Dr. Orr lives in Warsaw with his wife and two small children, a son two years old, and a baby daughter, 6 months.  Dr. Morgan lives in Claypool and has six children of school age.



Soloist, Chgo. Symph.

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 4, 1954

          Robin Lee Howard, 12-year-old daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Howard Howard of Nyona Lake, will appear as piano soloist with the Chicago Symphony in special children’s concerts Tuesday and again on Jan. 19, it was announced today.

          The concerts, to be staged in Orchestra Hall in Chicago, will neither be broadcast nor televised.- - - -

          Miss Howard has played with the Fort Wayne and Kokomo symphonies and will play with the Lafayette Symphony this spring.

- - - -



By Settlers

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 4, 1954

          In the December issue of the Indiana Magazine of History, edited and published by Indiana University, appears an interesting story of the settlement of several of the northern Indiana counties and communities.

          Included among these articles, compiled and written by Elfrieda Lang of the university’s historical staff was the territory where now stands the town of Akron.  It tells how the town was named.

          Excerpts pertaining to this area follow:

          “A group of people migrated from Medina County, Ohio, to Fulton County, Indiana, in 1835.  They sent their representative, Joseph Sippy, on a prospecting trip to Indiana in order to investigate the possibilities of settling there, and if favorably impressed, to purchase government lands.

          “Sippy returned to Ohio with glowing reports of the possibilities of this region of luscious berries, rich nuts, an abundance of wild game and springs of clear water, held in store for those ‘eager to find homes and establish civilization.’

          “Consequently, on the first day of June, next year, a colony of 47 men, women and children, as well as their ox-drawn wagons loaded with scanty household possessions, began their trek to the Hoosier state.  During their westward journey of more than 30 days, some time each day was devoted to singing of ‘Guide Me, Oh Thou Great Jehova.’ When the wagons halted and the leader announced, ‘This is the place,’ these god-fearing men and women knelt and offered prayers to their Heavenly Father for having guided them safely to their destination. . .

          “In 1838, a town was laid out and named Newark in honor of the old place from which the colonists had emigrated.  After the town was platted, the post office was moved to another village one-half mile east.  From time to time new settlers came from Ohio, but the name of the town, varying from that of the post office created numerous problems.

          “When George McCloud of Medina County, Ohio, therefore, became the village postmaster, he suggested the name of Akron and legal proceedings were instigated to change the name from Newark to Akron.  In an old church record the name of Akron first appeared in January, 1855. (The name was selected to honor the town of Akron, Ohio.)

          “This new honor to Ohio, however, carried the stigma of



annoyance to later citizens, because the tracks of the Chicago and Erie Railroad which passed through both Akron, Ohio, and Akron, Ind., frequently carried freight billed for the Indiana town to that of Ohio.”



Opens Store Here

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 19, 1954

          Pi-Rod TV Sales and Service of Plymouth today announced that it will open a television salesroom and service department in Rochester at 120 East Eighth Street.

          The Plymouth television concern, which manufactures its own video towers as well as handling sale of sets and providing service, hopes to have its new quarters open soon after the first of February.


Ind Farm Bur Coop

Marvin J. Briggs

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 19, 1954

          Marvin J. Briggs, Macy native and general manager of Indiana Farm Bureau Cooperative Association, was named first vice-president of the National Council of Farmer Cooperatives at the 25th annual meeting held in Chicago.

          The Council in one sense is the nation’s largest farm organization.  Its membership embraces some 5,000 marketing and purchasing cooperatives, having an estimated 3 million farmers as members.

          Briggs still owns the farm near Macy where he was born.  With I.H. Hull, he helped organize the coop in 1927 and is credited with being an important factor in its growth in an enterprise which did over $130,000,000 of business in 1953.

          Briggs also has been active in the field of farm credit, having served as a director of the 4th Farm-Credit district for 17 years.  He recently was appointed by President Eisenhower to the national Farm Credit Administration board set-up by Congress in 1953.


Thompson Shoe Rep.


The News-Sentinel, Feb. 3, 1954

          The Thompson Shoe Repair Shop, located at 117 West Seventh street for the past 39 years, Tuesday began operations in a new



location at 430 Main street.

          Located at the rear of the Schultz Dime Store since Dec. 14, 1914, the shoe repair shop was moved so that the dime store may expand its present facilities.

          The shoe shop is operated by two brothers, Art and Dallas Thompson.  Dallas will devote all of his time to the shoe shop and Art will divide his time between the shoe shop and carpentry work.



Pur R.P. Moore

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 5, 1954

          Mr. & Mrs. Robert P. Moore, owners of the Forest Farms Products Company of this city, today announced that they have purchased the Grove Hardware, 128 East 8th street, from Oliver Grove.

          The new owners will close the hardware as of this evening to make an inventory of the store and its warehouse.  Plans for the reopenng of the hardware will be announced sometime during the coming week.

          In the transaction Mr. Grove becomes owner of the Moore apartment building located at 809 Madison street.

          Mr. Grove had been engaged in the hardware business here for over 20 years.



Stock-Fixtures To Go

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 16, 1954

          The complete stock of articles and store fixtures of the Grove Hardware, 126 East Eighth street, will be closed out in a dramatic, price-slashing sale which begins Wednesday and continues day by day until evrything is sold. - - - -

          The new owners of the hardware believe the entire stock of merchandise and fixtures will be sold within three to four weeks.  The Moores also plan to sell the store building and warehouse at private sale. - - - -








Sewerage Problems

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 18, 1954

          A discussion of the sewerage problems of a Dean Milk Company packaging plant near Rochester will be held at the City Hall Monday at 1:30 p.m., Mayor Robert Shafer said today.

          On hand at the meeting besides the mayor and city council members, will be representatives from the Chicago company, state board of health, Clyde Williams and Associates, engineers from South Bend and the industrial committee of the Chamber of Commerce.

          Plans for the plant’s location here cannot be furthered until its demands on the city’s revamped sewerage system can be determined.



“Our Chuck”

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 19, 1954

          Los Angeles (INS) - Art Aragon won a 10-round split decision over TV glamour boy Chuck Davey in Los Angeles Thursday night and the State Athletic Commission immdiately suspended the judge and referee who gave the fight to Aragon.

          A full house of 10,400 fans at Olympic Auditorium booed and stamped their feet wildly as Judge Joe Stone and Referee Mushy Callahan voted 55-1/2--54-1/2 and 56-54 respectively for Golden Boy Aragon.

          Judge Charley Randolph voted for Davey 58-52.

          State Athletic Commissioner Everett Sanders immediately stormed into the dressing rooms and announced that he and commissioners Tony Entenza and Norman Houston had voted to suspend Callahan and Stone.

          He termed the decision “the worst in the history of boxing in the state.” A hearing will be held next Wednesday to investigate the decision. - - - -

          The sports writers were also split in their verdict.  Many of them thought the fight should have been a draw.  The International News Service score card showed Aragon slightly ahead. - - - -







Foster Funeral Home

Norman David, Mgr.

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 25, 1954

          Norman David has been appointed manager of the Foster Funeral Home, this city, by Mrs. Edna Foster, proprietor. - - - -

          Mr. & Mrs. David and their son have taken up residency here at 531 Pontiac street.



Lease Kenmore Hall

The News-Sentinel, March 1, 1954

          Rochester friends have received word that Robert M. Souers and Bernard Saltzman have leased the 700-room Hotel Kenmore Hall at 143 East 23rd street, New York City.

          Mr. Souers, son of Jacob Marion Souers, resided in Rochester for several years and attended the local schools.  His mother was the former Roxie Marsh, of this city.

          Hotel Kenmore Hall is 22 stories high with a penthouse.  The aggregate rental on the property which is leased until 1972 exceeds $2,000,000.

          Robert is owner-manager of the Nassau Hotel n New York and is director of the New York Greeters of America, the Hotel Executives Club, and the NYC Breakfast Club.



Ault Retires

The News-Sentinel, March 2, 1954

          The plumbing, heating and electrical contracting business of Barger & Ault, located at 301 East Ninth street, has been dissolved as of March 1 with Joseph F. Ault retiring from the partnersip, it was announced today.

          Guy E. Barger and his son, Oden J. Barger, will continue with the same business at the same site under the name of Guy E. Barger & Son.

          Guy Barger has been in this profession for the past 40 years in Rochester.  His son joined the firm after seven years as superintendent of maintenance for the Ertle Machine Works in Indianapolis and five more years with Armout and Company of Chicago in the engineering department.



Halstead, Barbara

Has Busy Program

The News-Sentinel, March 2, 1954

          Barbara Halstead, of Rochester, will appear with the Lane Society Circus at the Wendell Willkie Gym in Elwood Thursday for an evening performance sponsored by the Elwood High School Band.

          Saturday Barbara will appear for an afternoon and evening show at the Purdue University Center Auditorium in Fort Wayne for the Knights of Pythias.

          Thursday evening, March 11, she will appear in Fairmount, and Friday, March 12 at the high school gym in Van Buren for an evening show sponsored by the Lion’s Club.  She will be accompanied by her parents, Mr. & Mrs. H.J. Halstead, 608 Fulton Avenue, Rochester.



Buys Tombaugh Farm

The News-Sentinel, March 16, 1954

          The Dean Milk Company of Franklin Park, Ill., today announced plans for the erection of a bottling plant near Rochester.

          The company has purchased 30 acres from Jesse L. Tombaugh a mile north of the city on the west side of U.S. 31.  Work will begin soon on a 180 by 200 foot building to be situated just south of the present Tombaugh residence.  The property is known as the John Taylor farm, one of the first large dairy farms in the vicinity of Rochester.  After John Taylor’s death, the farm was operated by his son, Charles.  The latter was the father of Hubert and Orbra Taylor, now both city shoe merchants.

          Sam Dean, company president, said that arhitect’s drawings of the plant are yet to be completed and that construction cannot begin until drawings are finalized and accepted.  However, he said that the firm hopes to be in operation by September 1.

          The all-modern plant is expected to employ between 40 and 50 local persons and will engage in a complete dairy product bottling operation: milk, cream and cream products, buttermilk and cottage cheese.  Milk will be purchased from the surrounding area.

          For the first two weeks of the operation, Dean said, the plant will bottle only milk until employees become sufficiently versed in the operation of machinery.  The Dean Company, which expects to serve an area of about 100 miles radius, has 10 other bottling plants but this will be its first in Indiana.


          The real estate transaction was handled by Keith Lungren of the Lungren Realty Company.

          The milk concern’s officials had been in conference with city officers and sewage engineers regarding the location of the plant so that its waste material could be adequately handled by the city’s new sewerage system and sewage disposal plant, soon to be built.

          The Tombaugh property adjoins that on which the new disposal plant is to be built, fulfilling engineer recommendations that the company situate its building as close as possible to the disposal operation.  The company probably will build its own waste line directly into the disposal plant.

          The company also had looked at sites around Akron.



Lease, Hartman

The News-Sentinel, March 17, 1954

          Leroy and Mary Hartman of Macy have leased the Airport Grill, located on Ind. 14 across from the Rochester airport, and will open the business on a 24-hour basis Saturday morning at 6 o’clock.

          The former owners of the May-Roys Cafe in Macy, the Hartmans operated that establishment for eight years.  Mr. Hartman formerly was employed as a foreman at the Kingsbury Ordnance Plant for 5-1/2 years and worked eight years at Dovichi’s, now the Main Street Tavern, in Rochester.

          The Hartmans also plan to install drive-in service at the grill this summer.


Saner Jewelry Store

Pur Wayne Groninger

The News-Sentinel, March 26, 1954

          Loyd Saner, of Akron, has announced the sale of his jewelry stock and watch repair business to Wayne Groninger, who will assume management of the business Monday.

          Wayne is an experienced watchmaker and has been conducting his watch repair work at the Dutch Mill at Disko.

          Saner has accepted a position as a watch repairman with the Snyder Jewelry store, this ciy, and will begin work Monday.






Pur Loyd Rouch

The News-Sentinel, April 2, 1954

          Mr. & Mrs. Robert P. Moore today announced the sale of the Grove Hardware building, 126 East Eighth street, to Loyd Rouch, of Rochester.

          Rouch will take possession of the building after a final auction sale which will be staged by the Moores during the coming week.

          The new owner will operate the store as a general hardware and appliance business and retain the agencies for such nationally known articles as Frigidaire refrigerators, May Tag washing machines, Nu-Da paints and varnishes, Dri-Gas and numerous other standard products.

          Rouch has retained Don Rans as manager of the business and he is already stationed at the store to maintain service to numerous Dri-Gas customers throughout Rochester and surrounding community.  Rouch, himself familiar with the hardware business after having owned and operated a hardware at Fulton for several years, will continue in the insurance business.

          He plans to completely remodel and redecorate the store and will hold a formal openng Saturday, May 1.

          The Moores purchased the Grove building and hardware stock two months ago from Oliver Grove.


Corps Disfranchised

In Circuit Court

The News-Sentinel, April 6, 1954

          Action in the Fulton circuit court Tuesday was mostly limited to cases in which the State Attorney General’s revoked five defunct corporation franchises.

          The State brought disfranchisement cases against Robbins Bros. Crcus, Inc.; Stehle & Shively Hardware Co.; The Shank Foundries, Inc.; Shank Hardware & Foundry Corp.; and Shamrock Hardware-Foundry Corp.



“Our Chuck” WINS

The News-Sentinel, April 8, 1954

          Oakland, Cal. (INS) - Chuck Davey moved closer today to his goal of a re-match against Welterweight Boxing Champion Kid Gavilan with a decision over former British Empire Titlist Gerald Dreyer in a


10-round bout at Oakland.

          The stylish southpaw won a unanimous victory Wednesday night over Dreyer in a televised fight that saw both boxers slightly cut.  Both judges voted 59 to 51 in favor of Davey and the referee gave him the bout by a 60 to 50 margin.

          Dreyer seemed to tire after the sixth round, when he was cut on the cheek.


Williams, Marjorie

 “This Is Your Life”

The News-Sentinel, April 22, 1954

          Miss Marjory Williams, former teacher at Rochester High School, was the principal figure caught in the powerful spotlights of Ralph Edwards’ “This Is Your Life” television show which was telecast from Hollywood, Cal., Wednesday night.

          The show which honored Miss Williams’ life centered upon her activities during 24 years of service as superintendent and manager of the Hollywood YWCA Club.  During Marjory’s long tenure in the Hollywood Club she acted as “Mother” to over 8,000 girls who came to the city in hopes of makng good in the movies.  She retired in 1946 after 24 years of service and now resides in Hollywood with her sister, Mrs. Edith B. Ruh, formerly of this city.

          A house guest, Marian Mell, who was let in on the “big surprise” enticed Marjory to attend the “This Is Your Life” show and when the spotlight which was foremost on numerous persons in the theatre audience finally centered on Miss Williams she realized she was the central figure in the television feature.

          Former Rochester folks who made brief appearances and reminisced with Marjory were:

          Dean L. Barnhart, (her star pupil at RHS) now of Indianapolis; Mrs. Herman Bloom, (nee Lucille Helm, of the RHS staff), Columbus, Ohio; Mrs. Edith B. Ruh, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Young, formerly of Rochster, and Frederick Ruh, son of Mrs. Edith Ruh, now of Los Angeles, Cal.  Mrs. Young is Mrs. Ruh’s daughter, Rosanna, and Robert Young is the son of Mrs. Lois Mugett, of this city.

          The show featured Marjory’s life from the time of her birth in Rochester, to her moving to Columbus, Neb., and back to several years residency in Rochester with her grandparens, the late Dr. & Mrs. Vernon Gould; her trip abroad with her co-teacher Lucille Helm; her experiences as a teacher in Puerto Rico and as director of the YMCA


in Springfield, Ohio, and her college days at Deniston University where she graduated with Phi Beta Kappa and other honors.

          Among the well-known entertainment stars of the past and present who made appearances on the show were Ann O’Neal and Amie Torreano; Ruth Waterbury, feature writer for Photoplay; Virginia Sales, TV celebrity; Janet Blair, movie-TV and stage performer; Donna Reed, Academy award winner for her performance in the Oscar winning movie “From Here to Eternity”; Betty Mills Goodie, of TV fame; Marie Windsor and Rita Moreno, movie stars.

          At the close of the telecast Miss Williams was presented with sound and TV film of the entire performance, a movie camera, a gold chain bracelet and a 1954 Mercury sedan.

          An elaborate party was then staged at the Hollywood Hotel for Marjory and all of her guests.

          [Also see: Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County Indiana HANDBOOK, T-Z, pp 325-331]



pur Carl Durham

The News-Sentinel, April 22, 1954

          The Rose-Dale Motel which is located on U.S. 31 south of the city, was sold Wednesday to Mr. & Mrs. Carl Durham of Windfall.

          Mr. & Mrs. Charles Reser, natives of Rosedale, N.Y., the present operators, built the motel two years ago and will relinquish it to the new owners May 1.

          The Resers have made no plans for the present but will continue to make Rochester their home.



Renamed To Board

The News-Sentinel, April 26, 1954

          At the annual meeting of board of directors of Montgomery Ward & Co;., Friday in Chicago, John A. Barr, son of Mrs. Bertha Barr, Akron, was re-elected to the board of directors. - - - -

          John, who was born on a farm in Henry township, is a graduate of Akron H.S.

          [Also see: Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County Indiana HANDBOOK, B, pp 73-74]





Pur Dea Fultz

The News-Sentinel, May 1, 1954

          Dea Fultz, of this city, today announced that he has purchased the Blue Products Co., 118-1/2 West 9th street from Earle A. Miller and has already taken possession of the business.

          The firm, organized in Ohio by Charles Chute and moved to Rochester in 1940 by Mr. Miller, manufactures a complee line of janitor and cleaning supplies.  Its products are used throughout the U.S. By schools and public offices as well as business and other concerns.

          Mr. Fultz, a native of Rochester, has been engaged in the furniture and appliance business here for over 30 years.  He resigned his position with Camblin’s furniture and appliance store and will devote his entire time to the business.

          Mr. Miller is head of the Fulton County Welfare Department.



Plowed & Fertilized

The News-Sentinel, May 10, 1954

          Orville Foor, 54-year-old farmer residing on his farm 1-1/2 miles southeast of Macy, was turning over some pleasant memories in his mind today - and all beause he had his leg broken.

          On April 5, Foor suffered a fractured leg and cracked ribs when the tractor on which he was riding was struck by an automobile.

          As spring planting time approached, Foor began to wonder how he was going to get his 140 acres plowed and fertilized.  He saw no way out but an expensive one.  But he didn’t count on his friends.

          Dee Carvey, a neighbor, contacted 35 men who were willing to help Foor ot of his difficulties and aftter three dates set for the work had been rained out, the good deed finally was accomplished last Friday.

          And it was all a most pleasant surprise to Foor.  His wife, who is a nurse at Woodlawn hospital, said that her husband was almost speechless when he saw the men begin coming to the farm early in the morning.

          “He kept saing ‘there’s another one . . . There come some more’, “ she reported.

          Some of the men brought tractors and plows, others sent equipment and still others donated labor.  In all , there were 32 tractors working at once.  Starting at 7 a.m. and finishing at 4:30 p.m.,they


plowed and fertilized 140 acres.  Weldon Christner, as a representative

of the Farm Bureau, kept the tractors spplied with gas.

          Mrs. Foor and Mrs. Tress Hall gave the men refreshments after they completed their work, and also cooked dinners.

          The men who brought tractors and plows:    Bill Earhart, John Frobish, Dee Carvey, Bob Taylor, Aaron Stallard, John Savage, Dwight Gallipo, Charles Wilhelm, Kenny Toder, Phil Hurst, Blain Hurst, Bud Harding, Ben Smith, Harold Smith, Ellis Wilson, Oren Musselman, Willis Hatch, Joe Fincher, Lee Southerton, Merlin Morris, Bob See, Vernon Mathias, Dean Mathias, Clarence Ellis, Elmer Miller, Gerald Hisey, Dwaine Nicholas.

          Those who sent equipment:   Vern Kendall, tractor; Waldo Lockwood, truck; Ed Fincher and Blain Hurst, lime spreaders; Dee Carvey, tractor and truck.  Others who helped were Charles Runkle, Clair Cohran, Waldo Lockwood, Wayne Stall, Ray Croussore, Paul Croussore.


Frozen Custard Stand

At Akron

The News-Sentinel, May 13, 1954

          A new frozen custard stand is being built on the lot north of Ted’s Service Station, about a block south of the intersection in Akron.  Ted Cox and his wife, Mary Ann, will manage the stand in connection with their filling station.

          The building is being built on wheels so that it can be moved easily to different locations if necessary and convenient.  It is now located just south of one entrance to the Akron Fair Grounds.  The business will be open within a couple of weeks.



Plow 30 Acres

The News-Sentinel, May 14, 1954

          Twenty-two neighbors and friends of Harold Walters, who has just been released from hospital confinement, plowed 30 acres on his Athens farm in two hours Tuesday afternoon, a good-deed gesture which invollved 22 tractors.

          Those who assisted were:   Joe Ritchie, Russel Bacon, Marvin Ballenger, Walter Zimmerman, Dee Walls, Frank Dawson, Estel Moore, Harold Kuhn, Doin Smoker, Fred Graham, Lloyd Walters, Amos Foor, Lorin Weaver, Bill Ward, Raymond Burkett, Orville


Burkett, Roscoe Burkett, Steve Hartzler, Ernest Nichols, John Rhodes, Don Nichols and Orville Ellis.



“Our Chuck”

The News-Sentinel, May 27, 1954

          Chicago, (INS) - The end of the big time boxing trail seemed definitely here today for Chuck Davey, the blond college graduate southpaw from Detroit and Lansing, Mich.

          Davey, bruised and bleeding, sat in his dressing room Wednesday night at the Chicago Stadium and declined to say whether or not he was through with the ring.

          He was fresh from a seven-round technical knockout at the hands of youthful Vince Martinez, Paterson, N.J., a two-fisted boxer-hitter who more or less toyed with Davey in the course of their nationally televised bout. - - - -



He’s Still “Our Chuck”

The News-Sentinel, May 28, 1954

          Chicago, (INS) - Television boxing fans have a new idol today - handsome Vince Martinez, Paterson, N.J., to replace the boxer with the choir boy face, Chuck Davey of Detroit and East Lansng, Mich.

          Chuck, who admits he had his fling under the kleig lights, lost by a technical knockout to Vince on Wednesday night at the Chicago Stadium in seven rounds.

          Davey did not quit, although it might have seemed that way to fans who watched the nationally televisioned fight.  His seconds and members of the Illinois Athletic Commission simply did not permit him to come out for another round of what had been a savage beating until the rest period of the round.

          Davey himself, who was a navigator in World War 11 for our big bombers into Germany which had to ride through the dreaded “corridor” of ack-ack to his Berlin and other targets, had no fear.

          The 29-year-old Michigan State graduate said:

          “I was just licked by a better guy.  Why kid myself?

          “I wanted to quit in a winning style.  But Martinez was too good.  This is the time for me to call a halt.”

          But there was more to it than Chuck would say.  His wife, pretty Pat Abel, whom Chuck met when he was recovering from wounds


from a previous battle in Chicago, really called the turn on Davey.

          Pat, a native of Rochester, Ind., said:

          “You’ve got to quit now, Chuck.  Don’t forget, we have a baby and we love you too much to see you get seriously hurt.”

          That was enough for the 29-year-old southpaw whose lively fists had catapulted him into national attention, following a very successful sweep of college and early pro fights.

          Davey said:

          “That was it.  When Pat tells me that I’m through, I don’t need sports writers to write the routine.  I say the word.  I am through with the ring.

          “And good luck to Vince Martinez.”

          [Although he lost,  Rochester rooters are very proud of  “Our Chuck”. - WCT]



Plant 52 Acres

The News-Sentinel, May 29, 1954

          Twelve neighbors of Mr. & Mrs. J.F. Fields this week planted 52 acres of corn for the injured Mr. Field, who is recovering from a fractured knee received in a fall at his home.

          The men helping were all members of the Mt. Hope church, located between Leiters Ford and Culver.  They were Elden Davis, Donald Davis, Whitney Kline, Wayne Kline, Paul Winn, Paul E. Winn, Rev. John Deal, Everett Goodman, Douglas Fields, Bob Kline and Bob and Gary Fields.



Schroer & Malott

The News-Sentinel, June 9, 1954

          The newest addition to Lake Manitou’s drive-ins is the “Dog ‘n Suds,” located across from the east end of the airport and owned by Bill Schroer and Ron Malott. Schroer is head basketball coach at Talma high school, while Malott is principal.  The stand opened on May 29, features root beer and other soft drinks, plus sandwiches and ice cream.

          The addition of “Dog ‘n Suds” brings the number of drive-ins around the lake shore to four.  Others are the “Ox Yoke” of Lawrence Babcock, located at Babcock’s Landing on the north shore, The A & W root beer stand, east of the Oakwood apartments and Fitch’s Lakeside drive-in, on the west side.



R. Woodcox Home

The News-Sentinel, June 15, 1954

          A family reunion of the Woodcox family was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Robert Woodcox and son at Millark.

          Those present were Mr. & Mrs. Ray Woodcox of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Cecil Woodcox and son of Auburn; Mr. & Mrs. Bill Woodcox and sons of Bismark, N.D.; Mr. & Mrs. Wilford Johnson; Mr. & Mrs. Zane Watts and children of Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Raymond Showley and daughter of Rochester and Eric Ysberg of Kewanna.

          Afternoon callers were:   Mrs. Mel Woodcox and daughters; Sharol Polk all of Rochester and Mr. & Mrs. Oren Anderson of Kewanna.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, June 15, 1954

          The 30th Annual Becker Reunion was held Sunday in City Park with a basket dinner at noon.

          Evelyn Becker, president, had charge of the business meeting.  Mrs. June Miller, secretary and treasurer, read the minutes of the last year’s meeting.  Julius Becker. 79, of Plymouth, was the oldest member present.  Robert Jackson, three months old, son of Mr. & Mrs. Robert Becker of Logansport, was the youngest present.

          Officers elected for the next year are:   Mrs. June Miller, president; Mrs. Deverl Becker, secretary and treasurer.

          In the afternoon ice cream was served to the group and a social time was had by all present.



Bale Hay Crop

The News-Sentinel, June 21, 1954

          A broken left leg which Sam C. Smith, 48, suffered in an accident while working for the McMahan Construction Company in Peru, June 4, failed to prevent the harvesting of a 30-acre hay crop at his farm in Henry township.

          Saturday 26 of his neighbors with seven wagons and two balers assembled at the Smith farm to bale and store the entire crop.  Needless to say he was most grateful.

          Those who helped were:   Whit Gast, Jerry Sams, Mike Krieg,


Whitey Thompson, Fred Walgamuth, Wayne Engle, Junior Barnes, Dores Harrold, Floyd Willard and son, Clifford Bright, Sam Bowen, Verlin Ramsey, Jim Ramsey, John Ramsey, Urbie Bahney and son, Don Noyer, Garland Timberland, Joe Kroft and son, son-in-law Ralph Nicodemus, sons Richard and Allen Smith, and Estel Shriver.



Frankie Masters

The News-Sentinel, June 23, 1954

          Frankie Masters and his orchestra will play for dancing Saturday from 9 p.m., to 1 a.m., at the Colonial Hotel at Lake Manitou.

          Frankie, who directs smooth, dance music, has just completed three record-breaking years at the Conrad Hilton Hotel in Chicago.- - -

          The Colonial management this week added another to its list of “name” bands in Pee Wee Hunt and his Dixieland outfit.  Pee Wee will be in on Friday, Sept. 3.  He previously spent two-week stands here the past two years.

          Next up on the agenda is Louis Armstrong, his trumpet and band, on Tuesday, June 29.    Following in rapid-fire order the next night will be The Fabulous Dorseys - Tommy and Jimmy.

          The rest of the Colonial lineup, as set to date:

          Buddy Morrow, Saturday, July 3-4-5; Les Brown, Thursday, July 8; Ralph Flanagan, Thursday, July 15; Ralph Marterie, Thursday, July 22; Les Brown, Thursday, Aug. 5; Tex Beneke, Saturday, Aug. 7; Billy May, Thursday, Aug. 19; Tony Pastor, Saturday, Aug. 28, and Ray Anthony, Monday, Sept. 6, Labor Day.



Bert Gillespie Home

The News-Sentinel, June 24, 1954

          The descendants of the late Mr. & Mrs. Jesse McKee held an annual reunion Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Bert Gillespie.  A picnic dinner was served at the noon hour to the following guests:

          Mr. & Mrs. Clarence McKee, Earl Park, Mr. & Mrs. James Sawyer, all of Chesaning, Mich., Mr. & Mrs. Jess Owen and son, Lafayette, Jesse McKee, Piper City, Ill., Mr. & Mrs. Jack Yast and family, Kentland, Mr. & Mrs. William Owen and family and Howard Owen all of Winamac.  Mr. & Mrs. Lee Sommers and daughter, Star City and Mr. & Mrs. Joe Bell and Mrs. Chet Geiger and daughter of Michigan City.


          Also Mr. & Mrs. Obed McKinley, Bristol, Wis., Mr. & Mrs. Robert McKee and family, and Mr. & Mrs. Wilmer Zellers and family of South Bend, Mr. & Mrs. Calvin Kistler, Mrs. Bertha McKee and Mr. & Mrs. Cliff McKee of Royal Center and Edna Zellers.



Pur John Reamer

The News-Sentinel, June 30, 1954

          The Black Kitchen restaurant on Main street has been purchased by John Reamer from Watertown, Wis.  Reamer, who operated three restaurants in Watertown, will change the name to The Picadilly Cafe.  He plans to open July.

          Mr. & Mrs. Reamer have purchased the James Williams home at 1217 Monroe street and expect to move in soon.

          Mrs. Reamer will help operate The Picadilly Cafe.



Park, Fletchers Lake

The News-Sentinel, July 9, 1954

          The Hughes family reunion was held Sunday at St. Clair’s Park at Fletchers Lake with approximately 60 persons attending.

          A bountiful basket dinner was served at noon, after which swimming, boating and horseshoe pitching was enjoyed by many.

          Those attending were the following:   Mr. & Mrs. Ezra Cree and Mr. & Mrs. Jim Dillon and family of Clymers, Mr. & Mrs. Aaron Cree, Mr. & Mrs. Hughel Cree and daughter, Walton, Mr. & Mrs. Leon St. Clair and sons, Walton, Mr. & Mrs. Wilbur Yeakley and family, Peru, Mr. & Mrs. Dean Crea, and family of Cassopolis, Mich., Mr. & Mrs. Sam Finley and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Jim Finley and family and Mr. & Mrs. Edwin Finley all of Anderson, Mr. & Mrs. Arlie Hughes and family, Mr. & Mrs. Merrill Hughes and family of Delphi.

          Also present were, Mr. & Mrs. John James, Winamac, Kay Davis Logansport and Mr. & Mrs. Devon St Clair and family of Fletchers Lake.








Reun. Ruths Tea Rm

The News-Sentinel, July 13, 1954

          The 25th annual reunion of former Rocheser College students, was held at Ruth’s Tea Room, 312 West Ninth Street, Sunday.

          In the pleasant visiting hour as guests arrived and old friends met once again, there was much reminiscence, many “do you remember,” and “were you there when.” The names of sveral instructors were mentioned as students talked of classes of long ago.

          When dinner was ready to be served, the president, K.D. Gordon, called for order and the group sang one verse of “America,” with Mrs. Ray Myers at the piano.  Prayer was offered by V.L. Barker.

          Visiting continued during the delicious dinner served by Mrs. Werner and her assistants, to the members present.  Additional members arrived for the afternoon program.

          Again the meeting was called to order and the guests heard several musical selections by Joyce Bailey, accordion, and Richard Briggs, electric guitar.  These two young people deserve much credit for the time and concentration given to developing their talents.

          Gordon introduced Hugh McMahan, one of the members, who took the group on a conducted tour half way around the world.  McMahan emphasized the importance of traveling - NOW - and not delaying trips till a more convenient time or when we have more ready cash available.

          McMahan assured the members he was not a veteran traveler, they were all eager to join his tour and he proved to be a perfect guide all along the way.

          “We sailed from New York on a boat carrying 500 passengers, although it could accommodate 1000.  We enjoyed leisure and relaxation each day at sea and were glad to don our best formals for evenng dinner.

          “We visited islands in the Atlantic and then landed at Casablanca where we found one section of the city very modern and well kept and another part where slum conditions prevail and the destitute people live.

          “We visited Gibraltar and saw a veritable city, built inside solid rock.  Here our guide recommended a book he had bought and that we might like copies for our reading.  The title, ‘Around the Mediterranean With My Bible.’ Crossing the Mediterranean, we went to Port Said and the Suez Canal.  We crossed the Red Sea -1350 miles


long - to the Gulf of Aden, crossed the Arabian Sea to Bombay, India where we visited the Legislature, then in session.

          “With our guide giving us much information along the way, we visited the Island of Ceylon, Alexandria and Cairo in Egypt, saw the place where the Holy Family lived while in exile, visited the Sphinx, the Pyramids, and the wide Sahara Desert, the museum where the contents of King Tut’s tomb are displayed, the Holy Land where important Bible events took place, Israel, where we had a lesson on its division by United Nations.  We saw the Church of All Nations and the location of what once was King Solomon’s farms, Heifa, an important Jewish city, the River Jordan and the hill where the Apostle Paul spoke to the people on one of his missionary journeys.

          “We went on to Athens, Naples, Rome, Milan, where we visited the church where da Vinci’s famous painting, ‘The Last Supper’ was displayed.  Three walls of this church were destroyed during the war, leaving the one standing where the famous paintng was displayed.

          “Our next stop was Switzerland, then Germany, Denmark, Amsterdam, in the Netherlands and back to Paris, then to London.

          “All of our trip was interesting and instructive.  We were reluctant to end the journey, but feeling that we had been given a full-college course in geography, history, economics, political science, and the religions of the world, we set sail for our homeland.

          “As we neared the shores of America, McMahan recited for us the poem ‘Great, Wide, Beautiful, Wonderful World,’ which many of us remember from our childhood school days.

          “The Statue of Liberty and the American Flag are a welcome sight to returning travelers and we soon found ourselves back in Rochester - home from a memorable trip we shall never forget, and if the spirits of departed instructors were hovering round us on our trip, they would be justly proud of one who attended their classes more years ago than any of us care to remember, Hugh McMahan.”

          The president presided at the business part of the meeting, calling for the secretary-treasurer report.  There were several invitation cards returned unclaimed, as members moved and left no forwarding address.  Deaths of members reported were, S.F. DeRoy, Mrs. Bennet Lowe, Ezra Jones and Mrs. George Tobey.

          The nominating committee, Ray Myers, Mrs. John Kroft and Charles Lucas, gave its report and the following officers were elected

for 1955:   President, Dr. Dow Haimbaugh; vice-president, Mrs. Jesse Tombaugh and secretary and treasurer, Mrs. Dee Berrier.


          The meeting was closed by Gordon giving a short story of the unseen companion, bringing out the point that we are never alone.  As we walk down the road of life, God, our unseen companion, is always with us.

          With Mrs. Myers at the piano, the group sang one verse of “God Be With You Till We Meet Again,’ and the guests returned to their homes with many happy memories.

          Those present were: Dr. & Mrs. Harry Mackey, Mr. & Mrs.  Otto Carlson, Indianapolis, Mrs. Lulu Clark Petty. Mrs. Mary Wilder Harrison, Mrs. S.F. Dingman, Peru, Mr. & Mrs. Lee Beehler, Mr. & Mrs. Estil Ginn, Mrs. Arthur Conrad, Mrs. Kroft, Dick Rice, Logansport, Mrs. Edith Wolf, South Bend, Mrs. Edith Davis Heiser, Culver, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Kiler, Mishawaka, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Lucas, Knox, Howard Conn, New Castle, and Rev. Harley Davis, Pleasant Mills.

          Also present from Rochester were Mrs. John Cessna, Mr. & Mrs. E.D. Gordon, Mr. & Mrs. George Felder, Mrs. Dee Berrier, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond McVay, Charlotte Mackey Palmer, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Myers, Mr. & Mrs. V.L. Barker, Mrs. Mary Clifton, Mrs. Frank Bryant, Mrs. Rae Wildermuth, Mrs. Lucille Leonard, Miss Flo Delp, Dr. & Mrs. Dow Haimbaugh, Hugh McMahan, Mrs. Zoe Shelton, Mr. & Mrs. Jesse (Garnet Carvey) Tombaugh and Miss Emily Von Ehrenstein.



H. Sommers Home

The News-Sentinel, July 20, 1954

          The Crabb Reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Harold Sommers near Grass Creek.  A basket dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour and ice cream sandwiches were served in the afternoon.

          Those attending were:   Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Rowland and grandchildren of Fowler; Mr. & Mrs. Merl Crabb; Mr. & Mrs. George Crabb; Mr. & Mrs. Cleve Crabb; Mr. & Mrs. L.A. Crabb, all of Culver; Mr. & Mrs. Ernest Crabb and sons, South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. A.M. Crabb and son, Mr. & Mrs. Burdette Garner and son and Mrs. Donald Johnston and daughter, all of Kewanna.

          Officers elected for the coming year were:   Merl Crabb, president; Glenn Crabb, vice-president; Mrs. I.A. Crabb, secretary.  The members voted to have the reunion next year at the home of Arthur Crabb at Kewanna.



M. Gault Home

The News-Sentinel, July 23, 1954

          The annual Gault reunion was held Sunday at the home of Merrit Gault at Fletchers Lake.  A basket dinner was held at noon.

          A business meeting was held with John Gault of Battle Creek, Mich., being elected president, Mrs. Bessie Kirk of Kewanna, vice-president, and Mrs. Gladys McMahan of Logansport, secretary-treasurer.  Following the meeting was a very interesting program.

          There were 94 present with Merrit Gault being the oldest and the daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Carl Fry being the youngest.  Guests were present from Champaign, Ill.; Battle Creek, Adrian, and Ann Arbor, Mich.; Logansport, Ft. Wayne and Royal Center.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, July 23, 1954

          Fifty persons gathered recently at the City Park for the annual Isaac Brooker family reunion.  Mr. & Mrs. Walter Brooker were the oldest members present while Joni Catherine Nist, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Jerry Nist, was the youngest.

          A basket dinner was served followed by an afternoon business meeting.  New officers elected are:   Mrs. Paul Crill, Leiters Ford, president; and Mrs. Hugh Hunneshagen, secretary.

          Members were present from Plymouth, Argos, Logansport, Fort Wayne, Walkerton, Kewanna and Rochster.



Lake Manitou Builder

The News-Sentinel, July 27, 1954


          Harry E. Page, 75, retired Lake Manitou hotel owner and one of the foremost builders of Manitou as a resort mecca, died at 4:45 p.m. Monday at his home, 1030 Pontiac street, Rochester.  Death was caused by a coronary condition and followed a 12-week illness.

          Mr. Page came to Rochester with his father over 40 years ago from Champaign, Ill.   He took over the management and later became owner of the Fairview Hotel on the east shore of Lake Manitou.  Fairview Hotel and Terrace Gardens, under his management, soon became known as the most artistic and popular resort the Midwest.


          He operated this hotel until January, 1939 when it was razed by fire.  He then purchased the Colonial Hotel which also had been partially destroyed by fire a few months before.  He rebuilt this property into an equally popular entertainment place.  Mr. Page retired from active business in 1947 and devoted his time to the management of his farm northeast of Athens.

          The former hotel man was a founder and one of the directors of the Midwestern Insurance Company, Fort Wayne.  He also was a director of the Rochester country club; a charter member of the Rochester Kiwanis club; a 33rd Degree Mason, and a member of the Shrine of Fort Wayne.

          As a young man Mr. Page served as a medical technician with an X-ray unit aboard a train traveling from coast-to-coast exhibiting the wonders of the then-new X-ray.

          Harry E., son of Edward H. and Julia Page, was born March 20, 1879, at Lowell, Mass.  He was married to Pearl (Barr) Montgomery on Sept 1, 1929, at Rochester.  Mr. Page was a member of the First Presbyterian church of this city.  He attended the university of Illinois.

          Survivors are his wife, at home; a stepson, Barr Montgomery of Rushville; three grandchildren, Page, Mary Barr and Joel Montgomery, all of Rushville, and several nieces and nephews.  A daughter, Doris Page, preceded him in death Sept. 15, 1935.

          Funeral services will be held at 2 p.m. Wednesday at the Zimmerman Brothers funeral home with Rev. Donald F. Decker of the Presbyterian church officiating.  The Masonic Order will administer its rites.

          Burial will be in the family lot at the Rochester I.O.O.F. cemetery.  Friends may call at the funeral home.



So. Bend Park

The News-Sentinel, July 30, 1954

          The annual Williams Reunion was held recently at Pottowatamie Park in South Bend.

          The Lord’s Prayer was repeated in unison before the bountiful dinner, after which several readings and musical numbers were enjoyed by all.  Election of officers was held with Ulysses Louderback being named president and Verna Cooper, secretary and treasurer.

          Next year the group will meet at City Park in Plymouth.




Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, July 31, 1954

          The Samuel V. Gordon reunion was held recently at City Park.  A carry-in dinner was held at noon.  Many relatives and friends attended.  The members planned to hold next year’s reunion at Plymouth.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Frank Gordon, Mr. & Mrs. Gene Gordon and son, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Gordon and family, Mr. & Mrs. Paul Gordon, Mr. & Mrs. Lester Gordon, Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Gordon and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Hill and family and Mr. & Mrs. Harry Warner and family, all of Rochester, Mr. & Mrs. Russell Gordon and family, New Waverly; Mr. & Mrs. Howard Gordon, Peru; Mr. & Mrs. Ed Umbaugh and family, Mr. & Mrs. Dale Crammer and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Vernon Crammer, Mr. & Mrs. Gene Crammer and family, and Mr. & Mrs. Carl Gordon and sons, all of South Bend.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 2, 1954

          City Park was the scene of the 44th annual Braman reunion Sunday with over 100 in attendance.  A bountiful basket dinner was served at noon, after which a business meeting was held.

          The old officers were re-elected:   Mrs. Fern Hammond, president; Inez Pyle, vice-president; Mabel Rusler, secretary and treasurer.  The afternoon was spent socially.

          Schuyler Braman, 92, was the oldest person present.  He is the last one living of the five Braman brothers who started the reunions.



Roch City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 3, 1954

          Annual Day reunion was held Sunday at City Park with 68 relatives and friends present.  A delicious dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour and the afternoon was spent by playing games.  Officers were elected for the coming year.

          Relatives from Sturgis and Nilles, Mich.; Mishawaka; South Bend; Argos, Arcadia; Logansport; Star City; Macy; Warsaw, and Rochester attended.



Kirkpatrick Reun

L. Kirkpatrick Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 6, 1954

          Kirkpatrick reunion was held recently at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Leroy Kirkpatrick.  Guests were from South Bend, Mishawaka, Gary and Niles, Mich.

          The members enjoyed a bountiful pot-luck dinner at the noon hour and the afternoon was spent socially.


Maus-Minnick Reun

Logansport Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 10, 1954

          Mr. & Mrs. Raymond Riddle, Mr. & Mrs. Joe Lewis and family, and Mr. & Mrs. Robert Lewis and family attended the Maus-Minnick reunion held at Spencer Park, Logansport, Sunday.