Fulton County, Indiana


From The Rochester News-Sentinel


Selected, copied and indexed by Wendell C. Tombaugh

Special thanks to Jack K. Overmyer for suggesting the Title..

=       =       =       =       =       =       =       =       =       =       =



To Build Three Factories

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 6, 1941

          South Bend, Ind., Jan. 9 - Studebaker corporation, South Bend automobile manufacturer, will build three new factories to make airplane motors for the federal government. - - - - national defense commission had approved plant expansion and production of Wright aeronautical “2600” engines by Studebaker at a cost of $36,799,300.

          The new factories will be in South Bend, Chicago and Fort Wayne.  The project was one of a list to cost $80,389,095.

          While no official information was forthcoming here, unofficial sources said the South Bend engine factory would employ at least 4,000 workers and would be on 21 acres at the Pennsylvania railroad and the south city limits.



To Use Only Ivory Soap

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 6, 1941

          Kenneth Hosler, of Rochester Steam Laundry, today announced in an ad in The News-Sentinel that every article entering the local plant will be washed with Ivory Soap, thus guaranteeing safety to all clothes, even the finest things. - - - -



Earl Shore and Ned Hart

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 7, 1941

          A change in the ownership of one of the oldest stores in Rochester was made Tuesday when Earl Shore annunced that his son-in-law, Ned Hart, would be associated with him as a partner in the business.  The firm name will be Shore & Hart.  The store is located at


504-506 Main street where groceries, dry goods, shoes and drugs are sold.

          Mr. Hart was reared in Rochester and grduated from Rochester high school where he was a member of the basketball team for three years.  He has been employed in South Bend for the past ten years at the Bendx company.  He resides at 717 Pontiac street.

          The Shore & Hart store was founded in 1872 by the late Perry Shore, father of Earl Shore.  It has been operated in the same room since 1877.  At the death of Perry Shore the firm name was changed to Shore & Wilson.

          This firm was dissolved by the death of Harry Wilson after 35 years’ association in business.  The firm was then operated under the name of Earl Shore until today when Mr. Hart became a partner of his father-in-law.



Return Home to Rochester

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 7, 1941

          Mr. & Mrs. Ira D. Goss arrived in Rochester last week to make their home in their recently remodeled and redecorated home at 1611 Main street. - - - -

          January 1st Mr. Goss retired as manager of the farm and hail department of America Fore, Chicago, bringing to a close an active career in the insurance business which began in 1905 when he started with America Fore as special agent for Continental in Indiana.  In 1918 he became farm department manager and in 1938 was named hail manager.  He helped organize the agricultural committee of the National Fire Waste Council and served as chairman for six years.  Continuously he has served on the advisory coimmittee of both Farm an Hail associations.



Keith Campbell Becomes Partner

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 7, 1941

          Attorney Keith Campbell of Logansport who is well known in Rochester has become a partner in the law firm at Logansport of Arthur & Tuberty.  Attorney Campbell who is also Logansport city judge is a graduate of Indiana University and has practiced law in Logansport since 1938.




Marries Henry Clay Dunham

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 8, 1941

          Hollywood, Cal., Jan. 8 - Actress Lola Lane - in movies one of “Four Wives” and “Four Mothers” - became the wife yesterday of Henry Clay Dunham, yacht broker.

          Miss Lane, 27, sister of actresses Rosemary and Priscilla, was married to Dunham, 29, shortly after midnight by the Rev. James Hamilton Lash at the Hollywood Congregational church.  Priscilla attended her.



For Chester Whybrew

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 14, 1941

          Sixteen men of near Fulton with eight teams and wagons went to the home of Mr. & Mrs. Chester Whybrew souhwest of Fulton, recently and shucked a ten acre field of corn for them.  Mr. Whybrew has been confined to his home with rheumaism for several weeks.

          The men who assisted were: C.E. Whybrew of Kewanna; Willard Williams, Joe Williams, Wayne Zartman, Clarence Reed, Marion Chizum, Sam Kirk, Elmer Holliday, George Ault, Cecil Kistler, Earl Gault, Don Pownall, Estel Champ, Walter Casper Emmor Reed and Charles Dubie.

          Several ladies prepared a pot-luck dinner in the Whybrew home for the men.



Paul Eiler Now Sole Owner

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 17, 1941

          Paul Eiler today announced he had bought Frank Walling’s interest in the Hotpoint Electric Service and will continue to operate the electric appliance business and do electrical contracting.  Mr. Walling, who came to Rochester 18 months ago from Ft. Wayne, will return to Ft. Wayne to resume his work at Phelps-Dodge Copper Products Co.  Mr. Eiler, who joined Walling in partnership in the local business a year ago will continue to feature Hotpoint appliances.  Contract wiring of farm homes, schools, business houses and residences will round out the store’s service.

          Assisting Mr. Eiler will be Mrs. Harry McVay, bookkeeper, Boyd Henderson, Kenneth Bender and Glen Minglin, electricians.



Filed Voluntary Bankruptcy

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 18, 1941

          South Bend, Ind., Jan. 18. (INS) - J.Fred Hill, Rochester retail hardware merchant has filed a petition in the Federal court of South Bend for voluntary bankruptcy.

          Mr. Hill listed assets of $10,843.29 and liabilities of $10,949.87.

          The petition was turned over to Alvin Marsh of Plymouth, who is the bankruptcy referee for the northern Indiana district.  Mr. Marsh set Tuesday, Jan. 28th as the date for the first meeting of creditors.  The meeting will be held at the Rochester court house at 2 p.m.



Waterworks Supt.

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 24, 1941

          An article written by Jack Gordon, waterworks superintendent of Rochester, was recently printed in London and circulated in Great Britain.  The matter employing two columns covered the matter of removing iron and softening water.  Rochester was named and prominence given to the waterworks utility here.



Purchases Barber Shop at Sweetsers

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 24, 1941

          Paul Black who has been employed as a tonsorial artist in the Meyer Barber Shop at Fulton for the past two years this week purchased a barber shop in Sweetsers and will operate the same.



Open For Business

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 31, 1941

          The Hill Hardware Store, 824 Main street, which recently went into bankruptcy, was opened for business today by the trustee, Kenneth A. Ball. - - - - -

          Mr. Ball is authorized not only to sell and replace the stock but to accept time payments on contracts in force under the former ownership.

          The personnel of the store is the same - Roy Chapman and Miss Joan Haggerty.






The News-Sentinel, Feb. 1, 1941

          The Home Bakery in Akron, operated by Mr. & Mrs. Seldon Weeks, was closed two days ago.  The bakery has been under their management since a partnership with Russell Smith was dissolved.



For Charles Haldeman

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 1, 1941

          Twelve Akron young men drove to Ann Arbor, Mich., last Sunday where they donated blood for Charles Haldeman.  Their efforts were unavailing as Haldeman died Wednesday.  The Haldeman funeral services will be held Sunday at Akron.

          Those who donated blood were Tryon Ferguson, John Frankle,, Ted Jontz, Chris Thomsen, Lester Eber, Walter and Cloyd Leininger, Dr. Herrick, Bob Baber, Ernie Smith, Joe Day and Bob Tombaugh.



Dividend Payable Feb. 10

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 8, 1941

          Thomas Yeater, Logansport state bank receiver announced today that effective Monday, February 10, a seven per cent dividend totaling $11,062.07 will be distributed to depositors of the Citizens bank at Macy, Ind.

          Mr. Yeater who has been serving as receiver of the Macy bank in addition to several other closed banks in this vicinity, stated this is the fourth dividend payment to be made to Macy depositors and brings total payments to date to 87 per cent.  The Citizens bank at Macy was closed June 28, 1938.



Claude Billings, Editor, Akron News

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 10, 1941

          Claude Billings, editor of the Akron News, was honored by his fellow members of the Indiana Editorial Association at their annual meeting in Indianapolis Saturday when they elected him to be second vice-president of the association for the coming year. - - - - -





Stock and Fixtures to be Sold

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 14, 1941

          Milfred Holloway who has operated a grocery store at Perrysburg has purchased a grocery at Bruce Lake and at a sale to be held Monday, February 17, will dispose of the stock and fixtures of the Perrysburg store.



Purchased by Harold G. Taylor

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 18, 1941

          Ownership of the Roann Clarion, Republican weekly at Roann which was established in 1877 changed hands Tuesday with Harold G. Taylor becoming the new owner.  Taylor has had 15 years experience in the printing business.  During the past year Arthur A. Warren served as editor and William A. Warren as assistant.  The Roann Clarion was founded by the late Lou Spotts who was a resident of Rochester at the time of his death.



Main & Tenth Streets

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 20, 1941

          Fred E. Miller’s Standard Service Station is going great guns at the corner of Main and Tenth streets.  Formal opening of the station will be held soon, but in the meantime Fred is doing a nice gasoline, oil and lubricating business. - - - - -



Represents Ford Tractors

The News-Sentinel, March 7, 1941

          Dyche Motors, Fulton County dealers for Ford cars have been appointed representatives for Ford tractors, effective immediately.- - - -



Pioneer Business Concerns

The News-Sentinel, March 7, 1941

SEE  Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County HANDBOOK, Q-R, p 391-394.





Welcome Wright

The News-Sentinel, March 17, 1941

          Welcome Wright, of Plymouth, formerly with Gates Chevrolet Co., who has had long experience in auto body and fender repair and painting work now is employed at T.A. Marshall’s Body Shop here.  He will move his family to Rochester when he finds a house.



Oliver Grove, Sole Owner

The News-Sentinel, March 19, 1941

          Oliver Grove today announced he has purchased Arch Grove’s interest in the hardware store and henceforth the firm will be known as Grove Hardware.  No change has been made in the store personnel but many improvements are being made in the store. - - - -



Pioneer Business Concerns

The News-Sentinel, March 21, 1941

SEE  Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County HANDBOOK, S, p 97-107.



Destroyed By Fire

The News-Sentinel, March 24, 1941

          Fire which is thought to have started from a defective furnace practically destroyed the United Brethren church at Fulton Sunday morning along with nearly all of its contents.  The loss was estimated by Fire Marshal Earl Mills between $30,000 and $35,000.  The insurance on the building and its contents totaled $10,500.

          The board of trustees of the church, consisting of Schuyler Rouch, chairman; William Cunningham, Ancil Gray, Omer and Lawrence Rouch announced that the church will be rebuilt and that church services in the meantime will be held in the high school building at Fulton.  - - - - - -








Purchased by Mary E. Riggs

The News-Sentinel, March 27, 1941

          Mrs. Mary E. Riggs has purchased the Miniature Shop from Miss Esther Wharton and will continue to operate the shop with a complete line of hats, dresses, lingerie, hosiery and costume jewelry.  Mrs. Riggs, a former Kewanna resident, has been living in Chicago for some time.  She has taken an apartment in Rochester at 481 East Ninth street, while her husband will continue his work as insurance adjuster in Chicago. - - - - - grand opening will be held Saturday, March 29th.  Mrs. Riggs was employed for five years in the dress market in Chicago where she designed and fitted dresses for the Lovely Frock Company.  She plans to make a buying trip to Chicago evry two or three weeks.



Pioneer Business Concerns

The News-Sentinel, March 28, 1941

SEE  Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County HANDBOOK, H, p .196-288



Pioneer Business Concerns

The News-Sentinel, April 4, 1941

SEE  Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County HANDBOOK, Rochester, p 337-338.



Purchased by John Collins

The News-Sentinel, April 5, 1941

          The Gulf Service Station in Kewanna has been sold by Joseph McPherson to John Collins.  Mr. McPherson has operated the station successfully for several years but sold the same because he has received an appointment as a clerk in the postoffice at Kewanna.










C.M. Studebaker Resigned

The News-Sentinel, April 7, 1941

          C.M. Studebaker resigned his position as sales manager of the Louderback Chevrolet Saturday evening and has accepted one as a salesman in the Buick division of the W-S-E Auto Sales Company of Logansport.  Mr. Studebaker has been employed at the Louderback Chevrolet at various times since 1928.  He is a member of the Rochester City Council and will continue to make his home in Rochester for the present.



Purchased by Roy Hill

The News-Sentinel, April 8, 1941

          Roy Hill, Monday purchased the Wall Street Barber Shop, located in the 300 block of East Ninth street from Rufus Thrush.  Mr. Hill has taken possession of the shop and will continue to operate the same.  Mr. Hill has been a barber for the past four years and has been employed in tonsorial parlors in Logansport, Fulton and Rochester.  Mr. Thrush, who has operated the shop for many years, is retiring because of ill health.



Moved to 508 Main Street

The News-Sentinel, April 9, 1941

          Rev. S.T. Moore, pastor of the Nazarene church, announced today that the church location has been moved from 117 East Seventh street to 508 Main street.  Services will be held in the church tonight and also on Friday night.



Admitted to Practice U.S. Supreme Court

The News-Sentinel, April 9, 1941

          Atty. Fred C. McClurg of Rochester, who is the legal advisor of the Indiana Gross Income Tax and State License Division, has been admitted to the bar of the United States Supreme Court at Washington, D.C.  - - - - - -  At the time Atty. McClurg was admitted to practice before the highest tribunal in the United States he was representing the State of Indiana in two tax cases which had been appealed to the Supreme Court from the U.S. District Court of Appeals. - - - - -



Pioneer Business Concerns

The News-Sentinel, April 11, 1941

SEE  Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County HANDBOOK, A, p 3-19.



Pioneer Business Concerns

The News-Sentinel, April 18, 1941

SEE  Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County HANDBOOK, W, p 313-321.



Loftee VanAtta Receiver

The News-Sentinel, April 26, 1941

          Judge Robert Miller in the Fulton circuit court Saturday appointed Loftee VanAtta as receiver of the Vernon Market, 822 Main street.  He gave bond of $2,000 and is now in charge of the store.

          The receivership was asked by Francis Rogers and named Virginia James (Engle) as defendant.  The plaintiff said the market owed him money and that the market was insolvent.  - - - - -



Pioneer Business Concerns

The News-Sentinel, April 26, 1941

SEE  Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County HANDBOOK, ROCHESTER, p 42-46.



Purchased by Rouch & Norris

The News-Sentinel, April 28, 1941

          Loyd Rouch of Rochester and Donald Norris of Fulton announced today that they have purchased the Fulton Hardware at Fulton, from Mr. & Mrs. Donald Leavell.  The purchasers are now operating their store with Mr. Norris, who is a life resident of Liberty township, in active charge. - - - - -







Purchased by Edna Foy

The News-Sentinel, April 29, 1941

          Mrs. Edna Foy today announced the purchase of Talbert’s Hotel from William Boose.  She has changed the name to Manitou Lodge and will operate an attractive eating place.



Pioneer Business Concerns

The News-Sentinel, May 2, 1941

SEE  Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County HANDBOOK, H, p .196-288



Alumni Reunion

The News-Sentinel, May 5, 1941

          The alumni reunion of the Leiters Ford high school was held in the school auditorium Saturday, May 3, at 6:30.  Ninety-eight alumni and guests registered.  A potluck dinner was served after which the group sang songs.  The president, Guy Davis, welcomed the alumni, and the roll call of classes was read by the secretary, Robert Reichard.  Marion Martin introduced the seniors, and Kenneth Corbin, president of the 1941 class, gave the response.

          Two Richland Center girls, Mary Sturgeon and Evelyn Overmyer, gave a demonstration of batan twirling.  Betty Jean Kline played “Piggly-Wiggly” on her saxophone, and Miss H. Eunice Meeks sang “A Heart That’s Free.” Mrs. H.W. Sherrard gave several fine readings.  An accordion special was given by Mrs. Dorothy Davis.

          During the business session, the following officers were elected for the coming year: Joe Brugh, president; Helen Overmyer, vice-president; and Mrs. Della Heeter, secretary-treasurer.

          The officers and committees responsible for the success of the affair were: Guy Davis, president; Mrs. Ethel Harding, vice-president; and Robert Reichard, secretary-treasurer.  Chester Bowersox of South Bend, was toastmaster; Miss Meeks, the song leader, and pianist was Dorothy Davis.  Others on the program were: Mrs. Fredona Davis, Mrs. Helen Overmyer, and Mrs. Annabelle Kline.  The dinner arrangements were in charge of Mrs. Naomi Sanns.  Mrs. Marguerite Goodman, Mrs. Ethel Harding, Guy Murfitt, and Bernard Hartle composed the decoration committee.  The arrangement of tables and


chairs were decorated in patriotic colors, and small ships were favors at each place.

          Many alumni were from out of town.  They were: C.W. Best of Warsaw; Gertrude and Roy Parker and Mr. & Mrs. David Bradway, Akron; Katheryn Campbell, Millicent Plantz, Guy R. Freese, Mr. & Mrs. Emery Davis, Mr. & Mrs. Norman Davis, Mrs. Maude Bailey, Norman Best, Donna K. Baruard, Herbert Bowersox, Chester Bowersox and Bess Harpster, all of South Bend; Jack Wagoner, Mr. & Mrs. Ed Murfitt and Mrs. Maude Wagner of Plymouth; Chas. Best, Louimae Edgington, Mrs. Edward Cavendar, Mr. & Mrs. Guy Davis, and Dale Davis, Culver; Mrs. Roy Hay, Marian Hay, Dorothy and Madeline Merkert, and C.J. Schmidt, Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Roy Overmyer, and Mr. & Mrs. H.W. Sherrard, Rochester; Mrs. Dale Davis and Olive Guise, Monterey; Gladys Rector and Mr. & Mrs. C.R. Cowan, Mishawaka; Dee C. Anderson, LaCrosse, Ind.; F. Donald Haschel, Lafayette; Leona Ball, Kewanna; Mrs. Mary E. Jochim and Mrs. Paul E. Mathias, Chicago; Corporal Kennedy L. Bryan, Fairfield, Ohio; Lieutenant Arthur E. Wentzel and Ogden D. Ginther, Langley Field, Va.; and John E. Scheuer, Pasadena, Calif.



Purchased by Earl R. Townsend

The News-Sentinel, May 7, 1941

          The Vernon Market at 822 Main street has been sold to Earl R. Townsend by the receiver of the store, Loftee Van Atta.  The sale was approved in the Fulton circuit court today by Judge Robert Miller.  The market was thrown into recivership on a suit filed by Francis Rogers against Virginia James (Engle).



Will Continue in Business

The News-Sentinel, May 8, 1941

          Earl Townsend - - - - stated today that he will continue the business in operation.- - - - George Fleegle, who has been in charge of the meat department of the Vernon Market will continue in a like capacity for Mr. Townsend.







Opens Shop at 502 Main Street

The News-Sentinel, May 8, 1941

          Alfred H. Brown, whose firm name is Brown The Florist, and whose greenhouses are on North Fulton avenue, announced today that he has opened a floral shop at 502 Main street. - - - - Mr. Brown will be in charge of the shop.



Pioneer Business Concerns

The News-Sentinel, May 16, 1941

SEE  Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County HANDBOOK, I-L, p .355-361



Combined at North Manchester

The News-Sentinel, May 20, 1941

          Ferrell Burns, owner of the Burns Bakery at Mentone and North Manchester and who is a former resident of Rocheter, announced today that he has combined the prduction units of his bakery system at North Manchester.  The change over was made last Sunday.  The bakery employs forty people and is being operated on a twenty-four hour basis.  Sixteen of the employees are bakers.



Barney Rapp

The News-Sentinel, May 22, 1941

          To Barney Rapp and his New Englanders will go the honor of opening the 1941 resort activities at Lake Manitou. - - - - secured for the Colonial Hotel and Terrace Gardens opening on Saturday and Sunday May 24th and 25t. - - - - Ruby Wright will be the featured soloist with the Rapp band.

          Tommy Marvin and his band which recently completed a winter’s engagement at the Wardman-Park hotel, Washington, D.C., have been booked for May 30th, 31st and June 1st.  Starting June 7th Woody Wilson and his orchestra direct from a long run in Detroit will appear nightly for an indefinite period at the Colonial Gardens. - - - -

already booked, Art Kassel, Jan Garber, Eddie Duchin, Guy Lombardo, Ted Fio Rito, Gene Krupa and others of equal import. - - -




Rochester’s newest factory

The News-Sentinel, May 28, 1941

          Business is rolling along nicely for Rochester’s newest factory - The Innerspring Mattress Co., located on East Seventh street.  Carl C. Jackson, owner of the plant, says business is good, they like Rochester and hope to stay permanently.

          Production now is about 12 Nachman spring filled mattreses a day.  Mr. Jackson, N.O. Marshall and Herman Smith sell locally-made mattresses over a 150-mile circle.

          Mr. Jackson was associated with his father in the Washington Mattress Company, Washington, N.C., before moving to Rochester.  Most of the employees of the local plant were formerly from the south.



Addition Started

The News-Sentinel, June 3, 1941

          Work on an addition to the Rochester Metal Products Co., locared in East Rochester, began today with the pouring of cement for the foundation of the 50 by 188 foot structure.

          The addition will be located on the southeast end of the present building and is to be constructed one story high of cement blocks.  Jack Davis foundry superintendent, announced today that the new plant will be in operation within 60 days.  The approximate cost for the addition is $26,000, including the building and equipment.

          The added space to the present factory will house molding equipment and will employ 25 additional men.  At the present, the foundry employs 85 men in the main plant for the manufacturing of light hardware.

          By adding this space to the already large plant, the payroll will be increased considerably over last year’s total, which amounted to $210,000, Davis said.

          The contract for the building was let to Arthur R. Fansler, of this city.









Lester Hatcher

The News-Sentinel, June 4, 1941

          Lester Hatcher, formerly of Frankfort, Ind. today announced the opening of his modern shoe repair and shine shop, located at 117 East Seventh street.  Mr. Hatcher has all modern equipmen - - - - Formal opening of the shop will be in a few days.



Troop Train Through Rochester

The News-Sentinel, June 4, 1941

          An eight-car troop train rolled through Rochester about 4:40 this mornng over the Erie railroad enroute to Texas.



Woody Wilson and his Chicagoans

The News-Sentinel, June 7, 1941

          Woody Wilson and his Chicagoans will open the 1941 season at Colonial Hotel for a week’s stay. - - - -

          Jimmy Richards, of Detroit, will bring his band to the Colonial beginning June 13th for a two week stand.  On June 18th Henry Busse will play here one night only.



Pioneer Business Concerns

The News-Sentinel, June 10, 1941

SEE  Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County HANDBOOK, D-E, p .131-136



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, June 17, 1941

          Rochester College alumnae held their annual reunion at the City Park shelter house Sunday.  A bountiful community dinner was served at 1:00 o’clock with Mrs. Ezra Jones vice-president, presiding at the serving table.

          Roll call was answered by one member of the oldest class, Mitchell Baker of Rochester and three from the class of 1912, the closing year of the school.  These were Mrs. Loren Emmons, Eva Gohn, and Florence Chambers.


          Clever talks and reminiscences were given by Otto Babcock of Waterman, Ill.; Floyd Neff of Fort Wayne; Sam Dupoy of Warsaw; V.L. Barker of Fulton; Dr. Harry Mackey of Indianapolis; Estil Ginn, and Mrs. Bertha Hizer of Fort Wayne; Mrs. Lulu Kroft of Logansport; Ezra Jones of Rochester; and John Savage of Macy.  Letters of greeting came from James Moore, Columbus, Ohio, and Miss Flo Delp of Albany, N.Y.

          Mrs. Dee Berrier led the group in community singing.  Officers for 1942 were elected as follows: Mrs. Lulu Kroft, president; Mrs. Florence Chambers, vice president; and Mrs. Loren Emmons, Secretary-treasurer.  V.L. Barker, Don O. Nafe, Mrs. Dow Haimbaugh, and Mrs. A.E. Stinson compose the advisory coimmittee on the program.

          Retiring officers were Mrs. David Swihart, president; Mrs. Ezra Jones, vice-president; and Lee Beehler of Logansport, secretary-treasurer.

          The third Sunday in June was selected as the date of the next year’s reunion.




The News-Sentinel, June 23, 1941

          Funeral services for Charles O. Dyche, owner of the Walgreen agency drug store and an official of the Dyche Motors, Inc., of this city, were conducted at the Presbyterian church at 1:30 o’clock Mnday afternoon.  Rev. Glenn C. McGee was in charge of the rites.

          Immediately following the services the body was entrained for Childress, Texas, where brief services will be conducted and interment made in the Dyche family lot in the Childress cemetery.

          Coroner Dean Stinson has completed his inquest into the death and pronounced a verdict of suicide. - - - - -



Purchased by Francis Carithers

The News-Sentinel, June 24, 1941

          Mr. & Mrs. Francis Carithers of Fulton have purchased the meat market and grocery on North Main street, Fulton, from Clarence Settlemyre, Logansport.  Woodrow Mockerman will retain his position as manager of the store.




To Appear With Benny Goodman

The News-Sentinel, June 25, 1941

          The King’s Jesters trio, composed of Francis Bastow, George Howard and John Ravencroft, all of this city, and Miss Marjorie Whitney of Chicago, will make two guest appearances with Benny Goodman and his orchestra, one on July 24th and one on July 7th.  The program will be broadcast over a national hook-up.  There are to be seven shows in all, with the Andrews Sisters appearing on three, the Smoothies on one, the Mills Brothers on one and the King’s Jesters on two. - - - - -



Purchased by Charles S. Overmyer

The News-Sentinel, June 25, 1941

          Charles S. Overmyer Rochester, has purchased the Holmes Thomas New and Used Furniture Store at 500 Main street from Carlton H. Haskett, appointed trustee of a group of local business men.  Mr. Overmyer stated today that he would close the stock out in order to make room for the Topps Manufacturing Company, who will occupy that building and the adjoining one soon.



Purchased by Earle Miller

The News-Sentinel, June 25, 1941

          Earle Miller, president of the Blue Products company, today verified a report that he had purchaed the W.L. Moore building on West Ninth street - - - - -

          In former years the main building housed one of Rochester’s biggest industries, the Beyer Brothers company, which was engaged in the creamery and poultry business.  The big new brick addition was constructed by W.L. Moore recently to house the Moore Implement company which sold out to the John Deere company.   - - - - The John Deere company today renewed their lease to the building they occupy.



“Mr. Deeds Goes to Town”

The News-Sentinel, June 26, 1941

SEE  Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County HANDBOOK, D-E, p . 56.



Broadcasts Over Station WKMO

The News-Sentinel, June 30, 1941

          Mrs. O.G. Bryant, Mrs. Marshall Henry, and Mrs. Velma Carruthers of Macy, who compose the Twilight Trio. broadcasted over station WKMO in Kokomo for fifteen minutes Sunday evening.



Purchased by Emil “Pop” Martin

The News-Sentinel, July 7, 1941

          Emil “Pop” Martin, Indianapolis, today closed a deal in which he purchased the West Side Hotel property at Lake Manitou from Charles Krieghbaum.  Selden J. Brown was attorney for the transaction.

          Mr. Martin said the entire building will be remodeled, with an open-air dancing pavilion being built on the lake front and a closed dancing pavilion constructed in the rear.  The new hotel will be operated on a year-round basis.

          Remodeling work will begin the first of next week and the open-air pavilion is scheduled for completion about the middle of August.  Two acres of swamp-land west of the hotel has also been purchased by Mr. Martin and will be filled in for parking space.

          At one time, Mr. Martin operated the Colonial Hotel and Terrace Gardens and is well known by many people in Rochester.



Leased to Alliance Theatre Corp.

The News-Sentinel, July 7, 1941

          H. Lisle Krieghbaum this morning announced he has leased the Char-Bell theatre to the Alliance Theatre Corp., large theatre-owning syndicate with main office in Chicago, Ill.

          The Char-Bell will be incorporated in a new corporation, with Mr. Krieghbaum acting as general manager of the corporation and of the local theatre.

          No changes will be made in personnel, it was stated, although some changes in policy of the theatre will be effected to the advantage of patrons.

          Mr. Krieghbaum stated the purpose for leasing the Char-Bell to this large movie-house corporation was that the consent decree recently passed by the government is making it difficult for


independent theatre-owners to buy films equitably.

          The Alliance Theatre Corp., has in its control 38 theatres of Northern Indiana.



“Peru Is On the Air” Program

The News-Sentinel, July 7, 1941

          The Kokomo Broadcasting corporation today announced that James (Jimmy) Williams, of Rochester, will appear as a guest artist on the “Peru Is On the Air” program which will be broadcast over the Kokomo station at 6:15 o’clock (DST) Tuesday evening.  Williams is the possessor of an unusually beautiful tenor voice and his many friends in this locality will no doubt “tune in” on the program.



Claude R. Wickard, Sec. of Agri.

The News-Sentinel, July 8, 1941

          Delphi, Ind., July 8. - Claude R. Wickard, secretary of agriculture, is spending a vacation on his farm near Delphi and at Bruce Lake northwest of Rochester.



Pioneer Business Concerns

The News-Sentinel, July 9, 1941

SEE  Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County HANDBOOK, B, p .173-183



Earl “Father” Hines

The News-Sentinel, July 15, 1941

          One of the most popular Negro bands in the country will make a one night appearance at the Colonial Hotel and Terrace Gardens, Lake Manitou, Thursday evening, July 17. - - - - -



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, July 15, 1941

          The annual Williams reunion was held Sunday at the City Park in Rochester with sixty-three relatives present.  A delicious basket dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour, followed by a program.  During


the business session Mrs. Carl Emery was re-elected president and Mrs. Joe Williams, vice-president.

          Those attending from Fulton were Mr. & Mr. Joseph Williams and children, Mr. & Mrs. William Cooper, Mr. & Mrs. V.J. Pownall, Mrs. Abigail Reed, Mr. & Mrs. Earl Louderback and son, Mr. & Mrs. Willard Williams, Mr. & Mrs. Carl Emery and family, Mr. & Mrs. Chester Williams and children and Mrs. Ida Kelly.



Construction Contract Awarded

The News-Sentinel, July 16, 1941

          Trustees and pastor of the Fulton United Brethren church recently awarded the contract for rebuilding of the church building to Arthur Doran, Peru contractor, for a bid of about $27,000.

          The building, which was destroyed by fire on March 23, 1941, will be entirely rebuilt of brick on exterior and filled blocks on the interior.

          Doran and his crew of workmen will begin work on the structure Thursday.  Rev. Stacy F Shaw is the pastor and board of trustees is comprisd of Scuyler Rouch, William Cunningham, Omer Rouch, Lawrence Rouch, and Ancil Gray.



Will Sing on WKMO

The News-Sentinel, July 17, 1941

          Jim Williams, local singer, will again appear on radio station WKMO, Kokomo, from Peru this Friday evening.  Jim will sing several selections from 6:45 to 7:15 o’clock (DST).



Dan Cook Home, Near Leiters

The News-Sentinel, July 17, 1941

          The family of the late William F. Cook held their reunion at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Dan Cook near Leiters Ford recently.

          Fifty-five people enjoyed a community dinner at the noon hour.  Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Frank Cook, LaPorte; Mr. & Mrs. Wm. E. Cook, McAllen, Texas; Rev. & Mrs. D.A. Kaley, Mr. & Mrs. Claude Cook and family, Earl Bernhart and sons, Mr. & Mrs. Edwin Cook, Mrs. Grace Nye, and Mrs. Bernhart of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Marion Carbeiner, Lakeville; Mr. & Mrs. Ellsworth Hess and daughters


of Rochester; Mrs. Murial Cook, Mr. & Mrs. A. Adams, Mr. & Mrs. Leo Butler, Mrs. Dan Schurm of Culver; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Overmyer and daughter; Mr. & Mrs. Elmer Cook and son, Mr. & Mrs. Eldrith Cook and daughters, Mr. & Mrs. Edgar Haney and Kenneth Cook, of near Leiters Ford.



Lake of the Woods

The News-Sentinel, July 21, 1941

          The fourteenth annual Dielman reunion was held at the Lake of the Woods with 60 members present Sunday.

          A basket dinner was served at noon and the remainder of the day was spent socially.  Mrs. Alice Shipley is president; Archie B. Miller, vice-president, and Charlotte Mathias, secretary-treasurer.  Charles Hagedorn was the oldest member present, and Thomas Frederick Garen, the youngest.  Mrs. Lola Felder and son, John, Jr., of San Mateo, Calif. came the farthest to the reunion.  The 1942 reunion will be held at the City Park in Rochester.



Pioneer Business Concerns

The News-Sentinel, July 22, 1941

SEE  Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County HANDBOOK, F-G, p .60-66.



Ike Watson, New Employee

The News-Sentinel, July 22, 1941

          Ike Watson, formerly of Hendrickson Motors, Logansport, will move his family here soon following his employment at T.A. Marshalll’s Body Shop.



Hot Point Electric contract

The News-Sentinel, July 22, 1941

          The Hot Point Electric Shop was today awarded contract for wiring the Fulton United Brethren church, now being rebuilt at Fulton.






Tom L. Wright, New Barber

The News-Sentinel, July 23, 1941

          Tom L. Wright, South Bend, has accepted a position as barber in the Basement Barber Shop, 714 Main street



Court Calloway, Mechanic hired

The News-Sentinel, July 29, 1941

          Court Calloway, ranked by the Ford Motor company as one of the best automobile mechanics in the state, has joined Dyche Motors of this city. - - - -

          At present he will continue to reside in Peru but expects to make his home in Rochester in the early fall.



Tippecanoe River

The News-Sentinel, July 29, 1941

          The Fred Wagoner family picnic was held Sunday along the Tippecanoe river.  There was a basket dinner at noon followed by swimming.

          Those present were: Mr. & Mrs. Fred Wagoner and son, Frederick, Mr & Mrs. Raymond Wagoner, Jean Miller, Mr. & Mrs. Merrel Wagoner and family, Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Wagoner and family, Mr. & Mrs. Russell Wagoner and daughter, Diance Marie, Mr. & Mrs. Glen Minglin and daughter, Carol Ann, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Wagoner and son, Robert, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Donald Wagoner and daughter, Dona Jean, and Walter Dickeson and daughter, Sharon, all of Niles, Mich.; Miss Esther Wagoner of South Bend; Mrs. Lyle Turner and daughter, Lila Jane, of Ashtabula, Ohio; and Mrs. Eva Miller of Chicago.



Glen Gray and Orchestra

The News-Sentinel, July 29, 1941

          Glen Gray and his Casa Loma orchestra will make a one-night appearance at Colonial Hotel and Terrace Gardens Thursday evening, July 31, from nine to one o’clock. - - - - Featured vocalists with the band are Pee Wee Hunt and Kenny Sargent.




New Office

The News-Sentinel, July 31, 1941

          Charles Polk, local carpenter-electrician contractor, and a crew of workmen this morning began work on the room which formerly housed the Little Lunch Inn, to be soon occpied by the Fulton county R.E.M.C. Office. - - - - -



Centennial Park, Plymouth

The News-Sentinel, July 31, 1941

          The annual Kimble reunion was held at the Centennial park at Plymouth recently with 70 relatives present.  A delicious basket dinner was served at the noon hour followed by a program and a contest.

          During the business session officers were elected as follows: President, Ermal Kimble of South Bend; vice president, Otto Cooper of Mishawaka;  secretary, Margaret Alspaugh of Macy.

          The oldest person present was Mrs. Mollie Rouch of Fulton and the youngest was Jerry Dean Reed of Mishawaka.  Next year’s reunion will be held the first Sunday in July at the same location.



Awards Contract

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 1, 1941

          The Fulton county R.E.M.C. has awarded a contract to the Contracting and Material Co., Evanston, Ill., for building 24.8 miles of short extension line in Pulaski, Cass and Fulton counties.  Ralph L. Murray, superintendent, announced today.  The successful bid was $17,782.66.  Bevington Williams, Inc., Indianapolis, are engineers for local R.E..M.C.



John Sullivan Band

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 1, 1941

          John Sullivan, his trumpet and his orchestra, will begin a one week’s stand at Colonial Hotel and Terrace Gardens this evening, playing until Friday, August 8th.  Sullivan’s orchestra - - - - follows Red Roberts and his orchester, at Colonial for past two weeks.  Featured with Sullivan are five vocalists, The Three Freshman, Brass

Choir, Trombone Trio.  His band is a well known college favorite.



Being Collected at Police Station

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 2, 1941

          Mayor O.I. Minter says: “Razor blades are steel.  Gun barrels are steel.  Collections of old razor blades are being made in many places now, and although our blades have not been asked for as yet, it is time to start the collection.  Therefore, a receptacle will be kept in the Police Station at City Hall where used razor blades may be deposited so that when we are asked for them, we will have a supply.”



Class of 1903-1904

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 4, 1941

          Members of the high school classes of Leiters Ford in 1903 and 1904 held their first reunion Sunday at the Culver Park with 23 members present.  A basket dinner was served at noon.

          This was a most enjoyable reunion as some of the members had not met since school days.  A short business session was held and a motion was carried to hold a reunion on the first Sunday in August in 1942 at the Culver Park again.  Mrs. Cleave Crabbs was elected secretary for the coming year.

          Those present for the dinner were:   Mr. & Mrs. Arch Myers of Monroe, Wis.; Mr. & Mrs. Fergn Fike and Carence and Lawrence Fike of Dalton, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Earl Kestler of Hammond, Ind.; Mr. & Mrs. Floyd Campbell of Porter, Ind.; Don Biddinger of Washington, D.C.; Mr. & Mrs. Cleve Crabbs and daughter, Carrol Lee and Mr. & Mrs. Lawrence Hackett of Culver; Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Hinton, Mr. & Mrs. Jay Ginther and Mrs. Ada Smith, of Rochester; and Mr. & Mrs. John Sales of Leiters Ford.

          Afternoon guests were:   Mr. & Mrs. Cleave Biddinger, Mr. & Mrs. Alvah Walters, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Woodcox, and Mrs. Belle Wilson of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Gideon Mahler, Mrs. Ruby Hawkins, and Tot Srange of Culver; and Mr. & Mrs. Fred Brugh and Evrett Ball of Leiters Ford.









Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1941

          One hundred and eighty attended the Zartman family reunion held at the City Park at Rochester Sunday.

          Guests were from Dexter and Detroit, Mich., Cleveland, Ohio, South Bend, Lafayette, Terre Haute, Royal Center, Akron, Warsaw, Rochester, and Macy.  Those from here who attended were: Mr. & Mrs. Harry Hatch, Miss Ola Runkle, Charles Slisher Sr., Mrs. Lina Horton, Mr. & Mrs. Omer Zartman and family, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Zartman, Mr. & Mrs. Howard White and family.   Prizes were given to Mrs. Mary Zartman, oldest lady present; Gus Zartman, oldest man present; Mr. & Mrs. Oscar Packard, who have been married the longest; Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Zartman, youngest married couple.  Infant Hall from Lafayette, the youngest child; and to Mr. & Mrs. Howard White who had the largest family.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1941

          About sixty members attended the Beehler reunion at the City Park Sunday.  Dinner was enjoyed and the remainder of the day was spent socially.

          Officers for the coming year were elected as follows: Clyde Beehler of Rochester, president; Mrs. Charles Barkman, Rochester, vice president; Mrs. Ruth Overmyer, Monterey, secretary-treasurer; and Mrs. Ida Utter Akron, historian.



Accompanist on Broadcast

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1941

          Mrs. Ralph C. Ehrman of Kokomo, sister of Mrs. Wendell (Jean) Tombaugh of this city, will appear as an accompanist on a broadcast over WKMO tonight at 8:45.

          Mrs. Ehrman is an accomplished pianist, having done post graduate work in music at Chicago university following her graduation from Kansas university.






Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1941

          The 31st Braman reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park.  A basket chicken dinner was served at noon to about 80 relatives who were present.

          This was a most enjoyable reunion as some relatives had not met for some time.  Anthony Braman of Shelbyville, Ill., who is 86 years of age, was highly honored for being present.  A short business session was held and officers re-elected as follows: Miss Margery Braman of this city, secretary, and for her lkng service a gift was presented to her, Ira Braman of Knox was elected president.

          The Braman families were all present in and out of this city and they will meet again next year at the same place.



Lulu Pownall Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1941

          The Rev. Henry Walters descendants reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mrs. Lulu Pownall, southwest of Fulton.  Ninety relatives were present.

          The president, Calvin Alber of near Logansport, presided over the meeting of the day.  A sumptuous basket dinner was spread on tables on the lawn of the Pownall home.  Following the dinner a program was presented and Rev. Thomas Goodlin of Fulton gave an interesting talk on “Family Ties.” During the business session officers were elected as follows: Calvin Alber, president, Don Pownall of near Fulton, vice-president, and Mrs. Roy Bowman of Logansport, secretary-treasurer.  Ice cream was served in the afternoon.

          Mrs. Anna Roach of Toledo, Ohio and William Beckley of Los Angeles, Calif., were among those attending from a distance.  The 1942 reunion will be held at the same place.



King’s Jesters

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1941

          The King’s Jesters and their orchestra come to Colonial Hotel and Terrace Gardens for two weeks, beginning Friday, August 8th, direct from a great triumph at the famous hotel Philadelphia, through arrangements completed by Music Corporation of America. - - - -



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1941

          The Nixon Family reunion was held at the Rochester City Park Sunday.  Those in attendance were:   Mr. & Mrs. Charles Sales of Leiters Ford; Mr. & Mrs. Ross Baber and family, Mr. & Mrs. Eddie Wilson, Mr. & Mrs. Darius Jenkins and family, of Rochester; Mr & Mrs. Henry Heckathorn of Perrysburg; Mr. & Mrs. George Southerton, Mr. & Mrs. Esta Hartman, Mr. & Mrs. Onis Hartman, Mr. & Mrs. Harvey Pratt, Mr. & Mrs. Clifford Southerton, Mr. & Mrs. Lee Southerton and son, Glen, Mr. & Mrs. Lester Heckathorn and family, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Zartman and family, all of Macy.



Jesse Zook Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1941

          The 20th Rans family reunion was held Sunday at the country home of Mr. & Mrs. Jesse Zook near Kewanna.  A covered dish dinner was enjoyed at noon and the afternoon was spent socially.  Those present were Mr. & Mrs. Joe V. King and family of South Dakota; Mr. & Mrs. Ernest Wynn of Detroit, Mich; Cloyd Zook of Lansing, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. James Rans, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Rans, Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Rans of Twelve Mile; Mr. & Mrs. John Rans and daughter of Fulton; Mrs. George St. Clair and son, Billy and Cecil Enyeart of Grass Creek; Mr. & Mrs. H.O. Rans of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Harry Creery of Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. D.R. Rans and family of Kewanna; Harold Rans of Muncie; Raymond Rans of Valparaiso; Mr. & Mrs. George Smith and daughters and Mr. & Mrs. Jesse Zuck and daughter, Lucille, of Kewanna.



James W. Zimmerman

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 6, 1941

          James W. Zimmerman has recently accepted a position with Herbert A. Zimmerman at the Zimmerman Bros. Funeral home.  James was this year graduated from the Indiana Institute of Mortuary Science at Indianapolis and awarded an honorary certificate by the U.S. Examining Board.  He is the sixth member of the Zimmerman family, which have been practicing the undertaking profession since 1866, to be granted a mortician’s license.



Clair Jones Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 6, 1941

          Mr. & Mrs. Clair Jones and son, Ronald, entertained the members of the Tyra Jones reunion at their home northeast of Rochester recently.  This was the 35th annual reunion of this family.

          At the noon hour a community dinner was enjoyed, and the afternoon was spent socially and with talks and music.  Officers for the coming year were elected as follows: President, Albert Quiney; Secretary-treasurer, Clain Jones.  The next reunion will be held in the Rochester City Park the first Sunday in August.

          Those attending this year were Mr. & Mrs Charles Cullinwod of Pendleton, Ind.; Mr. & Mrs.  Clarence Quiney and son of Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. Albert Quiney and family and Rev. Arthur Harmon of Lafayette; Mr. & Mrs. Joshua Blacketor, Mr. & Mrs. Omer Ross and daughter, Harriett, Mrs. Ola Hatfield, and Mr. & Mrs. H.C. Heighway, all of Rochester; Mrs. Mary Clifton of Fort Wayne; and Mr. & Mrs. Arley Jones and family of Argos.



Opems at 512 Main

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 7, 1941

          H.L. Thomas, who was formerly in business at corner of 5th and Main and who closed recently, will open a new furniture store at 512 Main in a few days.



Grand Opening

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 12, 1941

          Emile F. Martin, manager, this morning announced the grand opening of the New West Side Hotel on Friday evening, August 29th.  Dick Mills and his orchestra will open the dancing and will play for a one week’s engagement.  Mills comes to the New West Side direct from an extended run in Mineapolis, Minn. and will have as featured singer, Kenny Bee.

          Work is being rapidly drawn to a close on the remodeling of the hotel building and construction of both indoor and outdoor ballrooms.  Both dance floors and the hotel proper will be completed by the opening date, Mr. Martin stated.  Dancing will be held nightly thereafter.


          Both the outdoor and indoor dance pavilions, when finished will

be two of the largest in Indiana.  The outdoor floor is 150 by 75 feet and the indoor is 110 by 50 feet.  Construction of the floors consists of one layer of cement topped by a layer of high-finished surface cement.



Timothy J. Cronin, owner

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 12, 1941

          Ike Onstott, owner of the store room which formerly was occupied by the Vernon Market, 822 Main street, this city, announced today that he had leased the room to Timothy J. Cronin, of Lake Manitou, for the purpose of operating a package liquor store.

          Mr. Cronin has been a resident of Lake Manitou for the past four years and is the owner of several cottages on the south shore of the lake.  At the present time he is employed as a salesman for the Kiefer-Stewart Drug Company, of Indianapolis.



Rochester, Ind.

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 12, 1941

          The 21st annual reunion of the descendants of Andrew and Rebecca Wynn was held at Rochester Sunday with about 75 members in attendance.

          A fine dinner was served at the noon hour, and the meeting was called to order by the president, LeRoy Kale.  Short talks were made by Charles Wynn and Harley Fultz.  LeRoy Kale was re-elected president for next year, Charles Wynn was chosen vice-president and Mrs. Mary Fields, secretary-treasurer.  Mrs. Lee Wynn and Miss Ruth Cloud were on the program committee from Indiana, and Mrs. Ernest Moore and Mrs. Clem Moore from Ohio.  It was decided to have the next reunion in Prospect, Ohio the second Sunday in August, 1942.  It was also arranged to hsve another reunion August 31st somewhere around Richwood for the benefit of the Ohio members who were unable to attend the Indiana reunion.









“Old Timers’ Night

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 13, 1941

          - - - - Thursday evening, August 14th, will be celebrated as “Old Timers’ Night” - - - - A free ticket will be available at the box office for everyone who desires to attend this dance, Mr. Page stated.

          The King’s Jesters - - - - made their initial public appearance at the old Fairview Gardens, formerly owned by Mr. Page.  Therefore, the fact that the Jesters have returned once again to their home town it is most apropos the old timers’ night be held in their honor.



Culver Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 14, 1941

          The 33rd annual Perschbacher reunion was held at the Culver Park recently with 33 people in attendance.

          Boating, swimming, and conversation was enjoyed after the dinner, and officers for the coming year were elected.  Mahlon P. Bair was chosen as president; Fred Swinehart, vice-president; and Barney Perschbacher, secretary-treasurer.  Next year’s reunion will be held at the Rochester City Park.



Employees aid co-worker

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 15, 1941

          L.G. Alber, an employee of Rochester Metal Products company who underwent an appendectomy recently was cheered Wednesday when his co-workers presented him with $50 raised by the men of the plant.



Charles Newcomer Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 19, 1941

          The 21st annual Easterday reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Charles Newcomer of Rochester.  About 75 relatives were present.  At the noon hour a basket dinner was enjoyed.

          In the afternoon a business session was held and presided over by the president, Ralph Kreamer of Warsaw.  Darl Kurtz of Waukegan, Ill., read the report of the 1940 reunion and new officers were elected as follows: president, Clarence Reed of Fulton; secretary-


treasurer; Mrs. Frank Colella of Logansport, and program chairman, Mrs. Frank Buckingham of Fulton.  A short program was presented after which ice cream was served.

          The 1942 reunion will be held at the home of Mrs. Pheba King near Akron.  Relatives were present Sunday from Aurora, Ill.; Waukegan, Ill.; Warsaw, Nappanee, Logansport, Kewanna, Rochester, Akron, Silver Lake and Fulton



Culver, Indiana

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 19, 1941

          The Barger reunion was held at Culver Sunday.  Those from Kewanna attending were: Mr. & Mrs. Earl Graffis, Mrs. Adella Barger, Miss Mary Barger, and William Barger.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 19, 1941

          Through the efforts of W. Frank Wagner, LaPorte, Esther Wagoner of South Bend and Faye Wright of Rochester, the descendants of John Waggoner, Sr. & Revolutionary war soldier, held their first Indiana reunion of the Wagner-Wagoner-Waggoner family at the City Park, Rochester on Sunday, August 17, 1941.  There were over 150 present from Ohio, Michigan, Illinois and Indiana.  Among those present from Ohio were Clark R. Wagner, of Arlington, who has just completed, after ten years, a history of the family; also Mr. & Mrs. Alfred Waggoner of Lindsey, Ohio.  Mr. Waggoner, who is the president of the Ohio branch of the family, brought with him the sword-cane presented to John Waggoner, Sr., by George Washiington, and also the tomahawk once belonging to the great chief Tecumseh, and later the property of John Waggoner, Sr.  Both of these are now in possession of the family.

          It was decided to hold another reunion on the second Sunday in August, 1942, at the City Park, Rochester, and the following officers were elected: W. Frank Wagner, LaPorte, president; Rena Wright, Rochester, vice-tresident; Esther Wagoner, South Bend, Secretary.







Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 19, 1941

          The 21st annual reunion of the Whittenberger family was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park.  A large number of members were present.  In addition to those residing in Akron and Rochester were relatives from Huntington, Muncie, Macy, Columbia City, Warsaw, Tampieo, Ill., and Chicago.   A bountiful dinner was served at the noon hour.

          After the meeting was called to order in the afternoon Mrs. Carrie Templeton of Huntington gave a memory picture of one of the family meetings held at the pioneer home of William Whittenberger when the ten sons and one daughter with their families met at the home of their parents each year on September 12th, which was the wedding anniversary of their parents, William and Joanna Whittenberger who were married in 1816.  Mr. Templeton presented a lovely picure of that day.  Only three other persons were present Sunday who had been present in 1872.  They are Mrs. Laura Vickery, Mrs. Ina Brundige, and George Whittenberger.

          A brief business session was held with new officers for 1942 being elected as follows: president, Arthur Whittenberger, vice-president, Adam Stout, and secretary, Mrs. Arthur Whittenberger.  The retiring officers were D.O. Noyer, president and Mrs. F. Merley, secretary.  The 1942 reunion will be held in the same place.



Winamac, Indiana

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 19, 1941

          The Agnew family reunion was held at Winamac Sunday, August 17th.  Those from Kewanna attending were Mrs. Robert Agnew and children, Wayne, Lois, and John, and Mr. & Mrs. Perry Troutman and family.



Monticllo, Indiana

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 19, 1941

          Those from near Kewanna who attended the McKee reunion at Monticello Sunday were: Mr. & Mrs. Bert Gillespie, Miss Frances Gillespie, Mr. & Mrs. Herbert McKee, Mrs. Edna Zellers and son, Wilmer, and Mrs. Mintie Showley.



Culver City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 19, 1941

          The 25th annual Smith reunion was held at the City Park in Culver Sunday.  Those from Kewanna attending were: Mr. & Mrs. Fred M. Graffis and daughter, Joan Sue, Mr. & Mrs. Don O. Nafe and family, Mr. & Mrs. Bert Smith, Mr. & Mrs. Monroe Culp, and Mr. & Mrs. Frank Hudkins.



Henry Chapman Home, Argos

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 20, 1941

          The reunion of the Chapman family was held at the home of Henry Chapman near Argos Sunday with about one-hundred and twenty-five present from South Bend, Mishawaka, LaPorte, Plymouth, Culver, Warsaw, Fulton, Inwood, Tiosa, Argos and Sharpsville.

          A fine basket dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour and a business meeting was held in the afternoon at which officers for the coming year were elected.  Henry Chapman of near Argos, was elected honorary president, Herberdan Bryant of LaPorte, acting president, and Mrs. Ella Kyle of Plymouth, secretary-treasurer.  It was decided to have the reunion in 1942 at the home of Henry Chapmen again.  The oldest member present was Mrs. Louis Hess of Plymouth and the youngest was the baby daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Orbra Bryant of Mishawaka.  After the business meeting the remainder of the afternoon was spent socially.



Frank Moon Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 20, 1941

          The thirteenth annual Moon reunion and basket dinner was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Frank Moon with 56 attending.

          Those present were Mr. & Mrs. Charles Moon and family of Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Jake Moon and Mr. & Mrs. Jim Mathias of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Will Moon, Miss Jessie Spaughn, Mr. & Mrs. Lincoln Overmyer, Mr. & Mrs. Will Lunsford, and Mr. & Mrs. Dale Hoff of Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Frank Mahler of Monterey; Mr. & Mrs. Hugh Baldwin and family of Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. Elgie Yelton of Ora; Mr. & Mrs. Perry Moon of Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. S.C. Rouch of Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. Sam Moon, Mr. & Mrs. Bill Moon and


daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Lee Moon, Mr. & Mrs. Gilbert Corbett and son of South Bend; Miss Maud Spaughn of Detroit; Mr. & Mrs. Loyd Miller of Newark Ohio; Mrs. Charles Coughlan and son of Los Angeles, Calif. Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Overmyer and son of Chicago; Mr. & Mrs. Guy Dilts and daughter of Hammond, Miss Nadine Craig of Cleveland, Ohio; and Mr. & Mrs. Vernon Yelton of Delong.



William Peeker, New Manager

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 21, 1941

          William Peeker, of Knox, Indiana will replace H.J. Cross as manager of the Miller-Jones Shoe store here beginning next week.  Cross has been transferred to the Portland, Indiana store.



Glen Kyger, Head Shoe Dept

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 25, 1941

          Glen Kyger, formerly with Boston Store in Plymouth and recently with Brinkman’s is now head of the Boston Store’s shoe department here.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 25, 1941

          The Michael Walters reunion was held Sunday in the City Park with 35 attending.

          A community dinner was held at noon with a business meeting following.  Officers were elected for the coming year as follows:   president, Charles M. Walters; vice-president, Virgil Long; secretary-treasurer, Mary Johnson.  Music was furnished during the afternoon by two accordian players from the South Bend Conservatory of Music.

          Those attending were Charles M. Walters of North Manchester; Mary K. Judy of Ann Arbor, Mich.; Mr. & Mrs. Earl Beehler and sons, Mr. & Mrs. Lee Beehler of Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. John Nungesser, Irene Tomsits, Raymond Tomaszwski, of South Bend; Mrs. Charles Krieghbaum of Lafayette; Mrs. Frank Utter, Charles Beehler, Mr. & Mrs. Alvin Kale and son, Mrs. Claude Johnson, Mr. & Mrs. Jacob Miller and family; Mrs. Dallas Thompson and daugter, Mr. & Mrs. Virgil Long and daughters, Ellen Walters and Don Smiley.




United Press Employee

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 26, 1941

          Don W. Carlson, former resident and sports editor of the News-Sentinel, is resigning his position as editor of The Call-Leader (Elwood, Ind.), effective as of August 30th, according to an article appearing in the Monday edition of the Elwood newspaper.

          Don, on September 1st, will become a member of the Chicago staff of the United Press association, and work on various assignments from that area for this world-wide news agency.  The new position of the former Rochester man provides a most fertile field for both literary and monetary advancement.

          Mr. Carlson is the son of Mr. & Mrs. Otto Carlson, of Indianapolis, former residents of Rochester.  Don, who visited his grandmother, Mrs. Alma Shobe, of this city, the latter part of last week, plans on moving his wife and son, David, to Chicago within the next few weeks.  His duties on The Call-Leader will be taken over by Charles F. Hardy, who has served as city editor of that newspaper for the past several months.



Amos Sanders Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 28, 1941

          The Neff reunion was held at the home of Mr. & Mrs Amos Sanders near Akron recently.  About fifty-five relatives were present.

          In the absence of the president, Dean Neff, Mrs. Lawson Brunton of Morocco acted as chairlady.  New officers for 1942 were elected as follows: president, Roy Wildermuth; vice-president, Frank Neff; and secretary-treasurer, Miss Edith Wildermuth.  Rev. Henry Neff of Winona Lake gave the history of the Neff family.  The remainder of the afternoon was spent socially.

          Those who attended from a distance were Mr. & Mrs. Frank Neff of Fountaintown, Ind.; Mr. & Mrs. Noah McCoy of Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Lawson Brunton of Morocco, Ind.; Mr & Mrs. Elmer Parker and daughter of Fort Wayne; Mrs. Glenn Smiley and children of Stockland, Ill.; Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Kreamer and daughter of Warsaw; Mrs. Henry Walters and son, Robert, of South Bend; Rev. & Mrs. Henry Neff of Winona Lake, Ind.; Mr. & Mrs. Omer Haimbaugh and children of Crown Point; Mr. & Mrs. P.G. Hazlett of Marion; and Mr.

& Mrs. Russell Smith and daughter of Wabash.



Russell T. Wade, Manager

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 29, 1941

          Russell T. (Bud) Wade today was appointed manager of the Dyche Blue Drug Store, foillowing the resignation of James Gorrell, who with his recent bride departed early today for Amarillo, Texas, where he has accepted a position in a pharmacy in that city.



Grand Opening

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 29, 1941

          Dick Mills and his Merry Millers of Music will tonight play for dancers at the opening of the New West Side Hotel and Pavilions, Lake Manitou, in the large outdoor ballroom.  Mills and his orchestra, who hail from the West coast, will feature Kenny Bee, talented young baritone, on vocal arrangements.  Mills will be at Manitou’s new resort until Friday, September 5th. - - - - -



Overstreet’s Resort

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 2, 1941

          About thirty were present Sunday to enjoy the gathering of the McMillan family reunion which was held at Overstreet’s Resort.  A basket dinner was enjoyed and those present came to the home of Gerald McMillan on South Main Street where they spent the remainder of the day socially.   Sunday evening sixteen of the group attended the dance at the New West Side Hotel.



Overstreet’s Landing

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 3, 1941

          The annual reunion of the Alspach family was held Sunday at Overstreet’s Landing.  A community dinner was served at the noon hour.

          During the business session Fred Van Duyne was re-elected president, Ray Shelton, vice-president, and Blanche Wagoner, secretary-treasurer.  Those present were Mrs. Minnie McCarter, Gertrude McCarter, Mrs. Laura Alspach and daughter, and Mrs. Maude Alspach of Peru; Charles Hoffman of Fostoria, Ohio; Mrs. Lula Paul and granddaughter of Gilead; Walter Myer and daughter of Chili;


Mr. & Mrs. Calder Alspach, Mr. & Mrs. Lester Rogers and family, Mr. & Mrs. Karl Hartung and son, Mr. & Mrs. Melvin Ringle and son, Mrs. Med Blackburn, Mr. & Mrs. Claude Alspach, Miss Myra Alspach, Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne and family, Mrs. Grace Van Duyne and family, Mrs. Lula Piper, Mr. & Mrs. Dale Wagoner and son, and Mr. & Mrs. Harry Wagoner of Rochester.



Ted Nering and Band

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 4, 1941

          Ted Nering and his original Indiana university orchestra will appear at the Colonial Hotel and Terrace Gardens Saturday evening only, September 6, to begin the September Saturay night dancing at the Colonial pavilion.   Nering and his 11-piece band hail from Gary, Ind., and feature Ann Truett on vocal arrangements.

          Harry Page, Colonial manager, announced that the hotel proper is still open for food and lodging.  A different band will be featured at each Saturday night’s dance through September   The King’s Jesters, former local boys, completed nightly dancing at the Colonial for this summer on Monday, September 1, after a successful three weeks’ engagement.



Artie Wayne Opens Tonight

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 5, 1941

          Dancers at the New West Side Hotel will tonight hear the sweet swing of Artie Wayne and his orchestra, who comes to Manitou’s new resort for a week’s engagement, until Friday, September 12th.  Wayne’s band features blonde Bobbie Todd, charming feminine vocalist, who is backed up by the 11-piece “solid” organization.  Wayne replaces Dick Mills and his Merry Millers, who have been playing at West Side for the past week.- - - - -



Begins Sept. 10th

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 5, 1941

          - - - - - Directors for this year’s Akron Fair are Jack Morris, president; J.R. Emahiser, vice-president; Fred Blackburn, secretary; Frank Madeford, treasurer, John Judd, Earl Leininger and Don Noyer.




Purchased by Gafill Oil Co.

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 5, 1941

          The Alspach residence, southeast corner of Main and Tenth streets, this city, has been sold to the Gafill Oil Company of South Bend, who will erect a modern filling station on the site.  The building will be razed and the lumber salvaged within the next few days.  This structure, one of the oldest in Rochester, was built in 1870 by the late Dr. Vernon Gould.



W.D. Pattison, Pharmacist

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 6, 1941

          W.D. Pattison, registered pharmacist of Winamac, has accepted a position at the Dyche Blue Drug Store, this city.  Pattison assumed his duties today.



Purchased by Ed Smith

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 8, 1941

          Ed Smith, with J.T. Liston in the grocery business here for 32 years, Friday took possession of a grocery store and market at Logansport which he bought.

          Walter Safford is now employed at Liston’s Grocery.



Warren Snively Orchestra

The News-Sentinel, Sept.11, 1941

          Warren Snively and his orchestra will open a week’s engagement at the New West Side Hotel and Pavilions, Lake Manitou tomorrow evening, September 12th playing through Thursday, September 18th.

          Snively and his popular 12-piece band hails from Logansport.  He has played at many resorts in this vicinity for the past few years.

- - - - -









Above Black & Bailey

The News-Sentinel, Sept.19, 1941

          The local Manitou chapter of the Loyal Order of Moose now under re-organization, has set up temporary headquarters at 712-1/2 Main street, above Black & Bailey Hardware.



Sent to Jail in Hollywood

The News-Sentinel, Sept.19, 1941

          Hollywood, Calif., Sept. 19.- Elmo Lincoln, the original “Tarzan” of the movies was in jail today, serving a five-day sentence for failure to keep up payments to support his five-year old daughter.

          His former wife had him brought into court on charges of being $350 in arrears on his support payments.  Judge William S. Baird sent him to jail because it was shown he “had the ability to support the child and failed to do so” - - - - -



Over WLS, Chicago

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 19, 1941

          A man’s quartet, composed of Ben Mullican, Kline Reed, Estel Rogers, all of this city, and Frank Buckingham, Fulton, who entertained at the recent 4-H Fair Home Talent Show, will sing over radio station WLS, Chicago, at 11 o’clock Saturday morning, September 27th.



Purchased New Church

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 19, 1941

          The Rochester Church of the Nazarene will conduct its first services this Sunday in the newly-acquired church building, located on East Eighth street behind the Fulton county jail.  The purchase was made recently from Martin L Barkman, of South Bend.

          The Nazarene congregation has grown rapidly since its organization a year ago.  The pastor S.T. Moore, has been holding services at 510 Main street.  It is planned to build a new structure on the property at a later date.  Rev. Moore has moved into the parsonage, located in the upstairs apartments of the church. - - - -





Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 23, 1941

          The second annual Smith reunion was held Sunday, September 21, at the Rochester City Park.   The following officers were elected for the year:   Russell H. Smith, Macy, president; Mrs. Edith Cumberland, Rochester, secretary-treasurer; Mrs. Lola Collins, Mrs. Sarah Chapin, and Mrs. Esther Smith, all of Macy, entertaining committee.

          Those present for the dinner were:   Harold Smith, Fort Wayne; Mr & Mrs. Frank McCarter and Dorothy, Mrs. Ollie Smith, Mr. & Mrs. Glen Chapin and daughters, Edna May and Rosalie, Mr. & Mrs. Russell H. Smith, all of Macy; Mr. & Mrs. Victor Tobey, Mr. & Mrs. Howard Tobey and children, Mr & Mrs. George Tobey, and Mr. & Mrs. Orville Cumberland and daughters of Rochester’ Mr. & Mrs Merle Kelley and children of Royal Center; and Mr. & Mrs. Lewis Schooley and children of Elkhart.

          Afternoon callers were:   Mrs. Jim Smith and children, Mr. & Mrs. Fred See, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Smith of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Glen McGinnis, Mrs. Lola Collins, and Russell and Mary Collins of Macy; and Ralph Smith and Miss Louise Bruner of Kokomo.



Camp Wright

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 29, 1941

          The descendants of the Daniel and Julia Anderson family met Sunday at Camp Wright for a reunion.  A community dinner was served in the dining hall.  In the afternoon, Chester Harrington sang a group of songs accompanied on the piano by Mrs. Eli Nan.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Alois Brunner and daughter, Nancy, Mrs. Julia Mathews and Mr. Clark Jones of Fremont, Ohio; Mr. & Mrs. Dale Kaser and daughter, Martha, and sons, James and Glen, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Harrington and daughter, Shirley, and sons, Warren and Robert, Mr. & Mrs. Chester Harrington and son, Richard, of Toledo, Ohio; Mr. & Mrs. Eli Nan of East Chicago; Mr. & Mrs. Louis Anderson and son, Clinton, of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Delbert Anderson, Mr. & Mrs Howard Anderson and son, William, and Mr. & Mrs. Harvey Waymire of Rochester.  Miss Bernice Eash of Rochester was a guest.





Moved to East Seventh street

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 2, 1941

          Frank Tippy has moved his radio repair shop to the building recently vacated by the Rochester Mattress Factory, across from the City Hall, East Seventh street



Samdwich Shop

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 3, 1941

          Mr. & Mrs. Harold Spurlock and Paul Green - the “gang from Flemings” - Thursday opened their new Midget Delicatessen and Sandwich Shop just across the alley (North) from Brownie’s on North Main Street.  They are featuring lunches, sandwiches, home-baked breads and pies.

          They have reconditioned the (street) car formerly occuped by Schultz’s shoe repair shop and have remodeled it to make a compact little eating place.  Fleming’s store will be closed for the winter.



Hal Denman and Band

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 4, 1941

          Hal Denman, of Kokomo, and his orchestra will open a two-night engagement at the New West Side Hotel and Pavilions tonight, playing through Sunday.

          Denman, former leader of the Carolina Cotton-Pickers, a well known Southern band, has appeared with his orchestra on several national radio stations.  Dancing is now being held at the New West Side only on Saturday and Sunday evenings.



Purchased by Wade Jarrette

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 7, 1941

          Announcement was made today that Carlton H. Haskett has recently sold his building at 124 East Eighth Street which houses Haskett & Jones Insurance Agency and the Fulton County Auto License Branch to Wade Jarrette, 116 West Twelfth Street, this city.  Jarrette is district manager of the Schultz Bros. Variety Stores.





Robert Rouch

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 7, 1941

          Robert Rouch, News-Sentinel carrier boy, son of Mr. & Mrs. Claude Rouch, has written a poem about carrier boys that is included in a National Newspaper Boys’ Week advertisment in this issue of The News Sentinel.  Bobby, age 14, says he “just sat down and wrote it off.”


                             YOUR CARRIER BOY


                   Your Carrier Boy is a faithful lad;

                      He brings your paper in good weather - and bad.

                   Sometimes he gets there early - sometimes late;

                       But that, of course is a carrier’s fate


                   Don’t be unkind on a rainy night,

                      If your paper is wet and in a messy plight;

                   Just dry it out by the kitchen range;

                      The News inside it still remains.


                   Your Paper Boy tries always to please,

                      So calm your nerves and be at ease;

                   And when all things are said and done;

                      He works for meney and not for fun


                   He pays for all papers that he takes out,

                      And doesn’t like to see them scattered about,

                   If you are going out f town for a week or two,

                      Just call him up and he will skip a few.


                   And when he calls that familiar “Collect, Please,”

                      Get ut your purse and put him at ease;

                   Then he will know he can pay his bill,

                      And keep his employer’s respect and good will.

                                                Robert Glen Rouch


This week we are publicly and proudly doffing our hats to our “junior partners” - The News-Sentnel Carrier Boys. - - - -





Purchased by Ernest Baxter

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 8, 1941

          In a transaction made Wednesday morning, the Dyche Blue Drug Store, 724 Main street, this city, was sold to Ernest Baxter, of Walton, Ind., by the administrator of the estate of Charles O. Dyche.  The Blue Drug Store is one of the oldest business firms in the city.

          Mr. Baxter has had several years’ experience in the pharmaceutical field and is owner of a modern drug store in Walton.  The new proprietor and Mrs. Baxter plan to move to Rochester within the next few days where they will make their future home.  Russell (Bud) Wade, who has been acting as manager of the Dyche Drug store will remain in the employ of the new owner, it was stated.



Pioneer Business Concerns

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 11, 1941

SEE  Wendell C. & John B. Tombaugh, Fulton County HANDBOOK, C, p .191-199



Indoor Pavilion, Grand Opening

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 14, 1941

          The New West Side Hotel will stage the grand opening of its indoor dance pavilion Thursday night, October 16, it was announced today by “Pop” Martin and Fred Kinsey, managers.

          Bill Bailey and his orchestra will play for the opening night, it was stated, and everyone is invited to attend.  No admission price is to be charged. - - - -



Leases Jarrette Bldg., 124 E. Eighth

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 14, 1941

          At a meeting held this afternoon by the building committee of the local Manitou chapter of the Moose Lodge, it was decided to lease from Wade Jarrette his building at 124 East Eighth - - - - -







William D. Evans

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 18, 1941

          William D. Evans this week closed his blacksmith shop in Kewanna after 46 years of continuous operation.  Evans opened his business on South Toner street in Kewanna in 1895, moving there from this city.  His wife died a few weeks ago and he will live with his son, Elmer Evans, in Marshall county.



Purchased by Russell Bryant

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 24, 1941

          Russell Bryant, this city, has bought and taken active charge of the Texaco Service station at the (NE) corner of Main and Eleventh streets, it was announced today.  The station was formerly operated by Walter Becker.



Purchased by Frank Tippy

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 24, 1941

          Frank Tippy today purchased the auto laundry building located across from the City Hall on East Seventh street from Mrs. Frank Ross, of this city.  Mr. Tippy already has taken possession of the building and will operate a radio sales and repair shop in this location.



Purchased by Robert Mills

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 24, 1941

          Robert Mills, formerly employed at the Wall Street Barber Shop here, has purchased the Raleigh Bailey barber shop in Fulton and took possession this week.



Purchased by A.R. Fansler

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 28, 1941

          A.R. Fansler today announced he has purchased the Akron Lumber Co., in Akron, owned and operated by D.A. Pike for the past seven years and that he would continue the fine lumber and coal business built up by Pike during that time.  Mr. Pike plans to retire.

          Fansler will run the firm under name of A.R. Fansler :Lbr. Co.



Harry Cooper

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 29, 1941

          Harry Cooper, of the Rochester Farm Equipment Co., has just announced his appointment as dealer for the new Ford Tractor with Ferguson System. - - - - -



Carl Hadley, Pharmacist

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 5, 1941

          Carl Hadley, registered pharmacist of Indianapolis, has accepted a position with the Baxter Blue Drug Store of this city and has already taken over his duties at the store.

          Mr. Hadley stated today he would move his wife and two children to Rochester just as soon as he found suitable living quarters.



Purchased by C.R. Kemper

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 7, 1941

          It was announced today that the Akron Hotel, in Akron, Ind., has been sold to C.R. Kemper, of Rochester.  The hotel was formerly owned by Carl Gast, of Akron.

          Kemper stated that he has leased the hotel building and will take possession this afternoon.  No change in personnel is planned.



Russell (Bud) Wade, Salesman

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 18, 1941

          Russell “Bud” Wade, former manager oif the Dyche Blue Drug Store, of this city, has accepted a position as salesman for the Hook Drug company in South Bend.  Mr. Wade will begin his duties in the up-state drug store on Wednesday, November 19.  Mr. & Mrs. Wade will continue to reside in Rochester, it was stated.



Jesse Shelton, Employee

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 19, 1941

          Jesse Shelkton, local barber, has accepted a position at the Kingsbury Ordinance Plant, and started on the new job Monday morning.  He will still make his home in Rochester.



Converting to Electric Power

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 27, 1941

          Fulton county’s only remaining water-powered mill is soon to be abandoned for the modern electric power, it was learned today.

          O.S. Wilkens, owner and operator of the feed and saw mill at Millark, is to install a large 40 horsepower electric motor for use in his productive efforts and later on plans to provide smaller, auxiliary motors.

          This change-over to electric power is being made under the supervision of the Rural Electrification Administration.   The Millark water mill is one of the few in active operation in Indiana today.




The News-Sentinel, Dec. 1, 1941

          Schlosser’s Cream Station, 119 East Seventh street, was closed Saturday night by Jay Eshelman, manager, who has accepted a position at Schlosser’s ceamery in Plymouth.  Eshelman began work there today.  Mr. & Mrs. Eshelman and family will remain in Rochester for the present, it was stated.



Purchased by Glen Dice

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 6, 1941

          Chauncey Dice recently sold his Zingo service station, north of Fulton on State Road 25 to his brother, Glen Dice, who has taken possession.  C. Dice and family are to move onto their recently purchased farm in the Mt. Zion community.



Changes Name

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 11, 1941

          Ralph Wall today announced that Dyche Motors Inc., will hereafter be known as Rochester Motors, Inc.  Wall, Motors manager, stated that no change is to be made in the firm’s corporate set-up.







For Devane Felts

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 19, 1941

          A number of men in the Woodrow community gathered at the home of Devane Felts recently and shucked his corn.  Mrs. Felts was taken seriously ill quite suddenly and underwent an operation.

          Those who cooperated were:   Ted Keim, Omer Keel, Elmer Newcomb, Bert Myers, Orvil Gilliland, Lovell Miller, Ira Baker, Ray Cook, Fred Mercer, William Kein, Cora Smith, Jack Severns, Mert Hinesley, Will Brubaker and Mr. Gooins.



Shipped Load of Work Horses

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 23, 1941

          Jack Morris, Akron stockman, yesterday shipped a big load of work horss to Bangor, Me., where they will be used in logging camps.  Mr. Morris stated the Maine lumbermen would use hundreds more horses if they were able to secure teamsters.



To Make Cheese

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 26, 1941

          The Kewanna Cooperative Creamery, following several meetings by its board of directors, is to inaugurate a program of buying whole milk and manufacturing it into cheese, at the Kewanna plant.  Necessary equipment for such processing is expected to arrive wihin the next six weeks.  The making of butter will continue as usual, it was said.



Receive Patent on Jack Press

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 29, 1941

          Otto and Hugh Miller, owners of the Miller Bros Garage and Service Station, this city, today received a patent right, No. 2267662, from the Patent Office, Washington, D.C., on their recent invention which is known as “Miller’s Universal Jack Press.”

          The device, designed primarily for use in garage and machine shops, practically doubles the present duties of the hydraulic jack press.  The local inventors are building the new jack press in both bench type and floor type models.  - - - - -



Closed For Repairs

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 3, 1942

          Oren I. Karn, proprietor of the Karn Bakery, today announced that this industry would be closed for a period of a few months.  The suspension of the business will become effective as of midnight tonight, when the ovens which have supplied the wholesale trade in this community will be allowed to cool.

          The bakery owner stated, however, that partial operation of the plant will be maintained for the use of the Karn Coffee Shop trade.

          The suspension was made necessary through the granting of a request of chief baker Jay Clayton for a leave of absence for a trip to the South, and the making of repairs and other improvements to the mechanical equipment of the bakery.

          The bakery has been in continuous operation since the year 1913, Mr. Karn stated, and from four to six people were employed in the operation.



At Edgewater Beach Hotel

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 5, 1942

          Local friends and relatives were today advised that the King’s Jesters, Fritz Bastow, John Ravencroft and George Howard, of this city, are now singing with Harold Stoke’s orchestra at the Edgewater Beach Hotel, Chicago, for a month’s engagement.

          The Jesters and their band are still continuing their regular morning program, on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, 9:-00 a.m., for the Pillsbury Flour company    



Aaron Berger Elected President

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 9, 1942

          Aaron Berger was recently elected president of the State Bank of Akron at the annual reorganization meeting of the directors.  Berger succeeds Alvin Clinker, who was chosen as vice-president, Ed Shriver was appointed cashier and Roy Jones, assistant cashier.







Robert Myers, Resigns

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 9, 1942

          Robert Myers, of Kewanna, who has been a deputy state fire marshal for several years, recently resigned this position to accept employment as an engineer with the Indiana Inspection Bureau in Indianapolis.  Myers and his family plan to move to Indianapolis soon



Ferguson, Re-elected President

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 9, 1942

          Tyron Ferguson, Plant Manager of the Akron branch of the American Fork & Hoe Co., was recently re-elected president of the Akron Chamber of Commerce for 1942.  Charles Wells, Sr., was re-elected treasurer of the chamber, Ed Shriver was chosen as membership chairman and Joe Bidwell was elected chairman of the roads committee.



Purchase Rural Gas Routes

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 12, 1942

          Ronald Smith, 529 East Ninth street, today announced that he has sold his local rural tank wagon service to the Cities Service Oil Co., with main offices in Chicago, Ill.  Smith has maintained his service station on South Main street, it was stated.  The Cities Service trucks have already begun operations of the rural gas and oil service.



H.C. Shapley, Transferred

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 21, 1942

          H.C. Shapley, manager of the Armour & Co. plant of this city, today announces he is being transferred to the Armour plant at Lincoln, Ill.

          The transfer, according to Mr. Shapley, is to be made on or about February 7th.  Mr. Shapley and family have been located in Rochester for the past five years, and their many friends in this community will regret to learn of their removal to Illinois.

          The name of Mr. Shapley’s successor at the local plant has not as yet been announced by Armours.




Lyman Langford, Manager

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 7, 1942

          It was announced today that Lyman Langford, Sullivan, Ill., has been appointed manager of the local Armour & Co. Plant, succeeding Harry Shapley, who served as manager of the local branch for the past five years.

          Mr. Shapley was recently transferred to Lincoln, Ill., and left here yesterday with his wife and son for that ciry

          Mr. Langford has been employed by the Armour company for the past ten years and is a native of Clinton, Mo.  He has served as manager of the Flora, Ill., and Sullivan, Ill., Armour plants.

          The new manager will reside with his wife and four children in the Moore property, corner Tenth and Monroe streets.



Harry Cooper, Purchaser

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 16, 1942

          Harry Cooper well-known Newcastle township farmer who for the past several months has been acting as manager for the Rochester Farm Equipment Co, East Ninth street, today announces he has purchased the building and its stock of farm implements, tractors, etc., from Herbert Hoch of Winamac.

          Mr Cooper stated today the business would be operated under the firm name of Rochester Farm Equipment.  Harry Hall, an experienced farm equipment man will assist the new owner in the operation of the business

          The firm will handle Oliver and Fordson tractors and a full line oif farming implements



George Fleegle, Purchaser

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 18, 1942

          George Fleegle proprietor of Fleegle’s Market, 526 Main street, this city, today announces he has purchased the Midget Pie Shop business and equipmet and will consolidate it with his grocery and meat market.

          - - - - He came from Akron several years ago.  - - - - later he purchased the Haldeman market which was situated in the same building he occupies today.



Mentioned in The Esquire

The News-Sentinel,  Feb. 18, 1942

          The News-Sentinel’s city and sports editor, Jack Overmyer, comes in for some nation-wide publicity with the March edition of The Esquire furnishing the “modus operandi.”

          The Esquire conducted a poll on various current sports problems with forms being sent to numerous newspapers throughout the United States.  The “question” answered by the News-Sentinel representative was “Do you believe that major leages should automatically make a veteran ball player a free agent after he has served ten years on one club?”

          Jack’s answer was: “After ten years of faithful and conscientious service to one club, it seems no more than right that a player should have the right to place himself in a more secure position, knowing that his playing value to his present club will decline considerably after the ten-year mark.”

          The Sports poll appeared on pages 89 and 131 of the March Issue of Esquire.



Closed For Duration

The News-Sentinel, Mar.. 2, 1942

          Ralph Wall, manager of the Rochester Motors, Inc. (Formerly the Dyche Motors, Inc.) today announces that liquidation of this auto sales agency is now underway and that upon completion the business will be closed for the duration of the war.

          The business which was started in the fall of 1940 is located in a modern double-room, two story sales building on the southwest corner of Main and 6th streets, this city.  Mr. Wall stated that all of the new car stock was being sold to an auto agency in Elkhart, while the used car and smaller stock equipment will be closed out within the next few days.

          The major portion of the stock of the Rochester Motors Inc., is owned by Mrs Bessie Bowers, of Indianapolis.  Mrs. Bowers also owns the building which houses the agency.  Mr. Wall has not as yet announced his plans for the future






U.S. Orders Open For Duration

The News-Sentinel, Mar.. 4, 1942

          Wayne Outcelt, manager of the Rochester Airport today announces that he has received word from government officials to keep the local airport open every day for the duration. - - - - -



In “Louisiana Purchase”

The News-Sentinel, Mar.. 9, 1942

          Rochester friends of Mrs. Robert Preston, formerly Kate Feltus, were surprised to find that Kate had a lesser roll in the “Lousiana Purchase” movie which is now being run at the Char-Bell.  Kate, whose screen name is Catherine Craig, played the part of a fashionable dress shop owner in this feature.

          Mrs. Preston, who spent numerous summer vacations at the Harris home on the East side of Lake Manitou, several years ago, has a host of riends throughout this city.



H.F. Victor, New Proprietor

The News-Sentinel, Mar.. 11, 1942

          H.F. Victor today announces he will re-open the Erie Hotel and Restaurant for business on Monday, March 16th.  The entire hotel and dining room has been remodeled, redecorated and furnished with modern equipment

          The new proprietor states he will cater to Sunday dinner trade as well as week-day lunch specials.  He will also give curb service for sandwiches, ice cream and malts.  Mr. Victor who is an experienced restaurant man was employed at the Carter Steak House in Peru and the Rock City Cafe in Wabash, for a number of years.



Buys A & P Building

The News-Sentinel, Mar..16, 1942

          Wade Jarrette, of this city, frmer manager of the Schultz Variety store, today purchased the A & P store two-story brick buildng in the 700 block on Main street of A.L. Deniston, of this city.  The first floor of the building is occupied by the A & P grocery and the second floor is composed of apartments.  No change in tenancy.



Is Renamed Times Theatre

The News-Sentinel, Mar..24, 1942

          A new word was added to the everyday vocabulary of Rochester and Fulton county residents today with the official announcement by Lisle Krieghbaum, manager, that the Char-Bell theatre will from now on be known as the Times theatre.

          Citizens got a pre-view of the change in name yesterday when workmen rushed to complete installation of the large, ultra-modern new marquee on the theatre showing the name “Times” in large, Neon-lighted letters above the marquee proper.

          The local movie house has been known as Char-Bell since its establishment in February, 1924.  The change in name is in line with a current extensive modernization program.



Played “Old Desert Rat” In Movie

The News-Sentinel, Mar..31, 1942

          Charles “Kid” Faurote, Spanish-American war veteran and well-known farmer of the Green Oak community, arrived in Rochester last night via bus, from Phoenix, Arizona where he had spent the winter months.

          The “Kid,” who casually dropped in at The News-Sentinel office today, broke the news that he was on the payroll of the Universal Film Co. for the past several weeks, while that company was shooting a new picture, “The Woman in a Jam,” in the Superstitious Mountains, 26 miles out of Phoenix.  The film, which was just completed last week, furnished employment for over 700 actors and laborers, the Green Oak farmer stated.

          Mr. Faurote was on the payroll as an actor and played the role of an old “Desert Rat.” While the “Kid” stated he only had a minor speaking part in the movie, he and his mining burro were in numerous scenes of the western movie.

          Among the celebrities who played the major roles in the film were Irene Dunn, Ralph Bellamy and Pat Nolan.  The local man stated he had no idea he would be given an actor’s role when he, along with some two or three hundred other Phoenix men, applied for work on the movie location.





Rochester Motors Bldg. Leased

The News-Sentinel, Apr..3, 1942

          In a business deal transaction Thursday afternoon, the Rochester Motors, Inc., leased their modern two-story brick building, 600-602 Main street to the Fulton County Hatchery, of this city.  The building formerly housed the Ford automobile agency, which business was suspended on account of the restrictions placed on the sale of autos.

          In an interview today, with Lloyd Hopkins, manager of the Fulton County Hatchery, it was stated he planned to complete the removal of the hatchery equipment from its present location on East 6th street, to the Main street building, on or before June 1st.  - - - - -



“Sons of Freedom”

The News-Sentinel, Apr..8, 1942

          “Sons of Freedom,” a patriotic war song composed by Lester Crabbs, of this city, will be broadcast from station WLW, Cincinnati, Saturday morning, April 11th, at 9 a.m. (CWT) on the “Friendship Corner” program.

          The song will be sung by the Boone County Buccaneers, who are all Indiana boys.  The program is announced by Cecil Hale, who takes the role of “Editor Smiley,” in the “Friendship Corner” weekly feature.



Buys Bakery in Chicago

The News-Sentinel, Apr..14, 1942

          Friends in this city have been advised that Jay Clayton, for 30 years head baker at the Karn Bakery here, has purchased a bakery at 5919 South Halstead street in Chicago.  Mr. & Mrs. Clayton, who are now residing in Chicago, took possession on April 1st.



Boyd Atkins

The News-Sentinel, May .7, 1942

          Boyd Atkins brings his splendid quartette into the Colonial Hotel next Saturday evening, May 9th.






Clyde Lyle, Elected President

The News-Sentinel, May 13, 1942

          At a recent meeting of the Indiana High School Coaches’ Assn, held in Indianapolis, Coach Clyde Lyle, of Rochester high school, was elected president for the coming year.- - - - -



Denny Beckner’s Band

The News-Sentinel, May 28, 1942

          Harry Page, manager of the Colonial Gardens, today stated he had secured Denny Beckner and his orchestra for the opening of the resort’s outside dance pavilion.  Beckner will play for both the Friday and Saturday evening programs. - - - - -



Purchased by Robert “Bob” Moore

The News-Sentinel, June 1, 1942

          Robert “Bob” Moore, who recently purchased the garbage and trash service equipment and route from Harold Abbott, today stated he had secured Dan “Runt” Hudkins to take over personal management of this service.

          The route will make at least two regular trips weekly throughout the city and like calls to the lake hotels and cottages throughout the summer season.  Hudkins took over the operation of the route today, and should business warrant it, Mr.  Moore states he will place another truck into service.



Heads Poultry Association

The News-Sentinel, June 4, 1942

          Lafayette, Ind. June 4 (INS) - Charles L. Manwaring, co-manager of the Manwaring Leghorn Hatchery, Mentone, Ind., was elected president of the Indiana R. O. P. Breeders’ Association at a meeting of the directors of that association just held at Lafayette.  He succeeds Joe. W. Sicer, now a member of the staff of the Purdue Poultry Department.

          Mr. Manwaring has been actively interested for several years and has been co-manager of the Manwaring Legorn hatchery since 1939.




          The Manwaring farm has been in operation over 30 years and is recognized as a leader in the breeding of trap-nested, pedigreed White Leghorns.



Dick Pierce and I.U. Orchstra

The News-Sentinel, June 4, 1942

          Dick Pierce and his orchestra of Indiana University, which opens a 10-day engagement at the Colonial Gardens here, on Friday evening, June 5th, is rated as “tops” among the college bands of the country.

          In a recent issue of “Down Beat” one of the leading journals of the orchestra field, Pierce’s Band received a most complimentary review and the author of the article predicted that this I.U. band would “go places:” in the musical entertainment field.  Pierce carries several special entertainers and soloists and his band needs little introduction to the dance patrons of Indiana.



Permanently Closed

The News-Sentinel, June 8, 1942

          The Babcock Markett, 426 Main St., the oldest meat market in the city, was permanently closed Saturday evening, June 6th.  This action was made necessary due to the serious illness of Robert P. Babcock, proprietor of the business.

          Mr. Babcock opened the market in the year 1920 and had personaly managed the business continuously up until eight weeks ago when he entered the Robert Long Hospital at Indianapolis for treatment.  Mr. Babcock still remains in the hospital and his condition is regarded as serious



Rochester Tourist Camp

The News-Sentinel, June 16, 1942

          The descendants of John and Matilda Wagoner held their third annual reunion at Rochester Tourist Camp Sunday, June 14th.  A delicious dinner was served at the noon hour and the afternoon was spent socially.  It was decided at the business meeting to hold the next reunion the second Sunday in July instead of June but at the same meeting place.

          Those attending the reunion were Mr. & Mrs. Victor Wille and


family of Logansport; Mr. & Mrs. Omer Wagoner and family of Kokomo; Ed Wagoner and grandsons, John and Paul, of Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Wagoner and family, and Mr. & Mrs. Dale Wagoner and son of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Harry Wagoner and Mr. & Mrs. Dell Wagoner of Talma; and Mr. & Mrs. Lee B. Flory and son of Mishawaka.



Omer Miller Home

The News-Sentinel, June 17, 1942

          The 16th annual Miller reunion was held Sunday, June 14th, at the country home of Mr. & Mrs. Omer Miller, east of Akron.  There were thirty-six members and two guests present.

          A bountiful community dinner was served at the noon hour after which a business meeting was held.  The meeting was opened with a prayer by Robert Miller.  The secretary’s report was read and approved.  There was an election of officers with Paul Waltz being elected president; Marion Leininger vice-president; and Harold D. Miller, secretary-treasurer.   The 1943 reunion will be held Sunday, June 20th, at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Otto Miller in Marion.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Charles Miller and Mr. & Mrs. Wilbur McIntyre of Athens; Mr. & Mrs. Arthur McIntyre and daughters of Hebron; Mr. & Mrs. Paul Waltz of Mishawaka; Mr & Mrs. Robert Kidwell and Mr. & Mrs. Otto Miller and family of Marion; Mr. & Mrs. Warren Dingman and family of Peru; Florence Miller and Pearl McIntyre of Rochester; Barbara and Ronnie Miller of North Manchester; Mr. & Mrs. Marion Leininger and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. Harold D. Miller and Miss Ruth Coplen of Akron; Leroy Miller of Rochester; and Mr. & Mrs. Robert Miller of Huntington.



Buys New City Building

The News-Sentinel, June 19, 1942

          The Fulton Town Council has purchased the Dean Neff building on the corner of Main and Brown streets in Fulton to use as a city building.  The building formerly ocupied by a garage and service station, when redecorated, will house the Fulton fire trucks and the city offices.

          Possession will be given the city July 1st.  Fulton Council members are Allen Sherman, Dwight Rouch and Dr. C.A. Doud.



Rochester City Park June 21st

The News-Sentinel, June 23, 1942

          The 14th annual Rochester College reunion was held Sunday, June 21st at the Rochester City Park shelter house, with approximately 55 in attendance.  A delicious community dinner was served at 1:00 o’clock with Mrs. Lulu Kroft, president, presiding.

          The afternoon program opened with community singing of

America” and “The More We Get Together” led by Mrs. Dee Berrier. V.L. Barker, chairman of the entertainment program, read roll call and many interesting and educational talks were given in response.  Poems were composed of Lake Manitou and Tippecanoe River and read by Mrs. Earl Berrie.

          Several gave interesting talks on their own or their sons’ experiences in the Army and Navy.  Otto Van Duyne of Washington, D.C., now on congressional record, had three years of his military training in Europe in the Navy.

          Another member, Charles Lucas of North Judson, taught school and was in military service in the Philippines for six years.  Four were present from the class of ‘98.  They were: Dr. Dick Stinson; Dr. Mackey of Indianapolis; Melville Miller and Mrs. May Hurst.  When the college first began there were seventeen members and Mrs. Emma Haimbaugh was one of the first to start along with her brother, Frank Neff.  She was the only member present from the first class.  There were 22 school teachers present, several with long records.  Members were present from Indianapolis, Ft. Wayne, Macy, Fulton, Peru, Toledo, Ohio, Washington, D.C., Logansport, and South Bend..

          Election of officers was held with Mrs. Lulu Kroft, of Logansport being elected president; Mrs. Florence Chambers of Chicago, vice-president; O.M. Miller, seond vice-president; Mrs Loren Emmons, secretary-treasurer.  The entertainment committee for this year was composed of V.L. Barker, Fulton, chairman; Don Nafe, Kewanna, Mrs. Dow Haimbaugh, Rochester, and Mrs. A.E. Stinson of Athens.

          The reunion for next year will be held the third Sunday in June and at the same meeting place.  Community singing and prayer closed the most enjoyable meeting.







Estel Hanes Home, Near Peru

The News-Sentinel, June 24, 1942

          The 17th annual Metzger reunion was held Sunday, June 21st, at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Estel Hanes of near Peru.  A delicious dinner was served at the noon hour, followed by a business meeting.

          The meeting was called to order and officers for the coming year were chosen.  They are as follows: G.E. Metzger, president; Arthur Zellers, vice-president; Mrs. Eva Resler, secretary-treasurer.  The remainder of the day was spent socially.

          The guests present were:   Mr. & Mrs. G.E. Metzger and daughters, Olive and Dorothy; and Mrs. Eva Rerrick of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Bruegel and family of Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. Lafe Smith of Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Lawrence Hanes of Indianapolis; Mr. & Mrs. Homer Graffis and son of Roann; Mr. & Mrs. Arthur Zellers and family, Mrs. Artweek Cook, David Metzger and Norma Zellers, all of Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Foor and son, J.W. Foor, William Gorseline, Mrs. Jessie Baldwin, and Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Graffis, all of this city; and Mr. & Mrs. Lyman Resler and son, J.D. Hanes and Robert Hanes, all of Peru.

          The 1943 reunion is to be held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Graffis of Rochester.



Purchased by C.M. Studebaker

The News-Sentinel, July 9, 1942

          C.M. Studebaker announced today that he has purchased the Liston Grocery from J.T. Liston, who has been operating that grocery at 628 Main street for the past 35 years.

          Mr. Studebaker has had much experience in the grocery field.  For several years he ran a general store in Fulton.  Later, he served for two years as a salesman for the Huntington Wholesale Grocery Co.

          Mr. Liston has not announced his plans for the future.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, July 14, 1942

          The annual Williams reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park with 68 relatives present.  A lovely basket dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour.


          Mrs. Carl Emery was in charge of the afternoon program which consisted of a reading by Janice Rouch, song by Janet Lee Baldwin, reading by Maxine Emery and a song by Shirley Ann Williams.  Contest prizes were won by Janice Rouch and Mrs. Joe Williams.  Home-made ice cream was enjoyed during the afternoon.

          Mrs. Joe Williams was elected president for next year.



History, By Mrs. Esther E. Smith

The News-Sentinel, July 15, 1942

          (Editor’s Note:   The following interesting story was recently compiled by Mrs. Esther E. Smith, of Route 5, Rochester, for a club report.  Believing that many of the younger generation are not familiar with the early history of Rochester, the article is herewith reproduced in its entirety:)

          Looking back over the history of the Fulton County Court House, we find that what is now Fulton County, was acquired by the United States by treaty from the Indians in 1826.  Long before that, trappers and fur traders had been working throughout Indiana, and the first settlers in Fulton County came in 1830.

          Records show that the first cabin was built near what was the Nickel Plate depot.  In accordance with the treaty, a corn mill was constructed on the outlet of Manitou Lake, and a blacksmith shop was also erected.  Nathan Rose, the miller, and John Lindsey, the blacksmith, together with their families, came in 1827.  A year later, a trading post was established near the mill, and settlers, who came more rapidly from 1833 on, settled near these places.

          The treaty also provided for the opening of the Michigan Road, extending from Lake Michigan to the Ohio River, and sections of land on each side of the right of way were to be sold to provide funds for the establishment of same.  William Polk was appointed commissioner to sell the lands provided.  He built a cabin in 1831 on the south side of the Tippecanoe river where the Michigan Road crosses it, and then two years later he built a cabin on the north side of the river.  The townships adjoining the site of the Michigan Road were the first to be settled, namely, Liberty, Rochester and Richland.

          In 1834, a petition was presented to the Legislature asking a charter authorizing the inhabitants of the territory to assume and exercise the rights of a county in the State of Indiana, and the County of Fulton was laid out under an act of February 7, 1835.  It was under


the local jurisdiction of Cass County.

          Commissioners were appointed to fix a permanent seat of justice.  Their report was recorded on July 22, 1836, giving the site of the first court house to Rochester as county seat.  There were about 25 log cabins here at this time.  The old plat of Rochester was surveyed and platted on July 28, 1835, east of the Michigan Road.

                                      First Election

          The first election was held in April 1836.  Three commissioners, two associate judges, a clerk-recorder and sheriff were elected.  The commissioners met and laid out three commissioner’s districts and also formed the three townships above mentioned.  They appointed an assessor, treasurer, three road supervisors, six overseers of the poor, six fence viewers, and a school commissioner.

          Then the first court house was built.  It was a frame building 20x24 and was completed in 1837 at a cost of $750.  It was located onj the lot where the M. Wile Store now stands.  Eight years later, the building was sold and moved to Monroe street and was used as a girls school for a short time, later converted into a dwelling and is still in use, being near Stewart’s Bakery.

          In 1845, at the December Session, the commissioners decided to build a new court hours, to be completed in 2 years.   This second court house was 44x60 feet, and was built of stone foundation, and the building proper of brick.  There were four principal rooms on the first floor, and two vaults.  The second floor was to be occupied by the court room and two small rooms at the front of the building.  This was located as the present court house and the building was surrounded by large trees, making a lovely park in the central part of the city.  There were convenient walks and benches under the trees about the lawn.

                                      Court House Too Small

          Fifty years later, this second court house had become too small to accommodate the various departments of the county government, and outside rooms had to be rented for the purpose of obtaining additional office space and storage room for the records that could no longer be kept in the court house, and so the commissioners began considering plans for a new court house.  This was in January, 1895.  After much deliberation, plans were adopted, provicing for a two-story structure with a basement and tower built of big Bedford limestone, the tower to have a $350 clock about 100 feet from the ground,   On the first floor were to be the offices of the Recorder, Clerk, Treasurr Auditor and the commissioners Court Room, and each office was to


have a fire proof vault for the storage of records, papers and the like.  On the second floor were to be the Circuit Court Room, the Judge’s room, jury rooms, witness rooms, and the offices of the sheriff, County Superintendent, Prosecuting Attorney and County Assessor.  The floors of the offices and halls were to be tiled, and the original plan called for oak finishing.  The roof frame, joists and stairways were to be of iron and steel.

          The bids were opened on April 29, 1895, and twelve bids were submitted.  The one accepted was for the sum of $76,073.00 and the board of commissioners floated a bond issue of $75,000, and later another for $25,000.  The old court house was razed, all the beautiful trees were removed, and today our court house stands without shade.  Rather in defiance, two trees are now trying to grow up near the building.  When the structure was in the process of being wrecked, an old story was revived.  Ever since it had been built in 1845, a story had gone about that a bottle of whiskey had been placed in the walls.  It was not found by the workers.  However, a boy playing about the grounds turned over a piece of masonry and discovered the bottle of whiskey unharmed and still bearing its label.  Our present court house was ready to be occupied by August 1, 1896.  It too, is beginning to bulge with records and documents.

          Most of you know the various offices of the court house, with its great variety and quality of papers and documents and records that are on file.  The Recorder’s office, in the northwest corner on the first floor, is very interesting,  In the vault you will find 89 large ded records.  The first deed on record is for 80 acres of land north of Fulton, sold in 1836 for $100.  Then there is one for 99 acres also near Fulton, which sold for $11.00, 50 acres for $100 and so on.  There are 83 mortgage records.  The first mortgage on real estate was given in October 1850 and was for $150 on 80 acres of land and became due in one year.  There are 44 chattel mortgage records.  There are 19 miscellaneous records which contain contracts, liens, releases of liens, notices of churh trustees elections, etc.  There is a farm name register, seven schoiol fund mortgage records.  Indexes are kept for all records.  There are deeds from the government to the very first owners, or people who entered the land, on file in this office.   There are copies of county newspapers from the very beginning on file here also.  Lot Bozarth was the first recorder.  In the early days, the records were all written out in longhand, and the old style writing is hard to decipher



          The clerk’s office is in the southwest corner on the first floor.  Here you will find all the county courts records and papers, both circui and probate, from the very beginning:   estates, guardianships, wills.  You will find bonds, notary, administrator’s, executor’s, guardian and many others.  Permits to carry firearms, names of firms in partnership, petitions for naturalization, insanity records, birth records, judgments, from the beginning also, executions, all kinds of licenses: poultry dealers, junk dealers, veternarian and surgeons, marriages, fishing and hunting.   The clerk is the clerk oif the court and court costs, judgments and assessments are paid in this office.  Most of the work of getting ready for an election falls on the clerk also.  All the papers in civil and probate causes are filed in big filing cabinets, and there are 785 of these big files in the vault, besides all the records.

          The Auditor’s office is in the southeast corner on the main floor.  He is the fellow who writes most of the county’s checks.  County bills are filed here and he presents them to the commissioners, and he advertises and receives bids when machinery or supplies are to be purchasd for the county’s use.  He keeps a record of all land in the county and all the changes made by deed are also recorded here; He holds delinquent tax sales and issues deed for these; he is on the board of review, he prepares the assessor’s books each spring and keeps these on file, records of the commissioners court are on file, claims for work and officers’ salaries besides he makes up the treasurer’s tax duplicates each year.  Mortgage exemptions are filed here also.

          Everyone knows you have to pay your taxes to the treasurer, wo is in the northeast corner on the main floor.  He has to keep an accurate record of all collections of taxes, all delinquent taxes, ditch assessments, and he makes out the tax receipts.  The commissioners office is between the audior’s office and the treasurer’s office, and is used for the cmminisioners court and records.

          In the hall is a case of relics that are labled and some have a short history given, too.  A few of us may remember some of the articles on display, but to many they are unknoan.

          On the second floor is located the county agent’s office, with which you are also familiar.  Opposite this is the county superintendent of schools.  Then there is the court room, jury room, judge’s room and library, witness room, sheriff’s office, rest rooms.  There is also a storage room where many of the oldest records and papers are stored.

          There is a stairway from the second floor to the clock tower, and from above this there is an observation room where you can enjoy


seeing much of the surrounding county.

          Down in the basement, is the county assesssor, and township trustee.  The assessor is also inheritance tax appraiser and was formerly located on the second floor.  The county surveyor, the highway superintendent and the welfare board all hav their offices down here.  There are rest rooms, and much of the election supplies are stored in the basement.

          This court house is now 46 years old, the one before it was 50.  I wonder how many of us will see the fourth court house and what it will look like.  Let us hope when that time does come and a new court ouse is bult, that they will plant a small park on the space with our own native thees and place a few benches there for resting.



A Real Winner

The News-Sentinel, July 16, 1942

          Boston (INS) - Richard and Case’s drug store in East Boston has become famous for the daily joke that has appeared in their display window for almost a quarter century.  Among the latest is “Buy a defense stamp - lick the other side.”



Robert Overmyer Home

The News-Sentinel, July 22, 1942

          The home of Mr. & Mrs. Robert Overmyer and family was the scene of the Ezekill-Overmyer reunion held last Sunday in Leiters Ford.  A delicious family dinner was served at the noon hour and a business meeting was held following the dinner.

          Election of officers was held with Robert Overmyer being elected president; Don Cook, vice-president; and Helen Cummings as secretery. It was decided the meeting next year will be held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Eldrith Cook and family.

          The members present were:   Mrs. Nora Overmyer, Mr. & Mrs. Harry J. Overmyer and son, Mrs. Albert Cummings, Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Overmyer, Mr. & Mrs. Daniel Cook and son, Mr. & Mrs. Elmer Cook and family, Mr. & Mrs. Eldrith Cook and family, Mr. & Mrs. Edgar Honey and family, Mr. & Mrs. Floyd Babcock, Mr. & Mrs. Harley Mathews, Mr. & Mrs. Ernest Mathews and family of Plymouth; Mr. & Mrs. Joseph Grindle and family, Mr. & Mrs. Richard Overmyer and family and Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Runhoed and family, all of


Monterey; Arthur Dudgeon, Ervin Roudebush of Chicago, and Mr. & Mrs. Robert Overmyer and family.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 3, 1942

          Approximately 70 attended the 32nd annual Braman reunion which was held Sunday, August 2, at the Rochester City Park.  A basket dinner was enjoyed followed by a short program and the same officers were elected to fill the office in 1943, and it was decided to hold the reunion next year in the same place.

          Those present from out-of-town were:   Ira Braman and J.T. Bell of Hamlet; Mr. & Mrs. Anthony S. Braman of Shelbyville, Ill.; Jennie Hartman and Mr. & Mrs. Mondo Hartman of Richmond; E.L. Crabbs of Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Fred Eisenman of Walkerton; G.B. Walters of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Donald W. Brown of Fort Benjamin Harrison at Indianapolis; Richard Patesel and family and Mrs. John Gottschalk and son of Logansport

          Cards will be sent to all the boys in the Army that are members of the Braman family and a gift will be presented to Anthony Braman for his loyalty to be present at most every reunion at the age of 86.  A good attendance was present from Rochester.



Jesse Zuck Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 4, 1942

          The annual Rans reunion was held Saturday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Jesse Zuck and daughter of Kewanna.

          Those present at the affair were:   Mr. & Mrs. James Rans of Fulton; Mr. & Mrs. Charles Rans and Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Rans of Twelve Mile; Mrs. H.O. Rans and daughter, Isabel, Mr. & Mrs. Donald Rans and son, Lynn, and Mr. & Mrs. Ernest Wynn and son Lee, all of Rochester; Mr. & Mrs. Cloyd Zuck and daughter, Mary, of Jackson, Mich.; Vernice Rans of Argos; Mr. & Mrs. Harold Rans of Chicago; Mr. & Mrs. Ray Slipp and children of Valparaiso; Mr. & Mrs George Smith and daughter, Mr. & Mrs John Rans and daughter, Mr. & Mrs. D.R. Rans and family, Cecil Enyeart, and Mr & Mrs. Jesse Zuck and daughter, Lucille, all of Kewanna; Mr. & Mrs. George St. Clair and son, Billy, of Grass Creek; and Everett and Edgar Rans of Winamac.




Mrs. Lulu Pownall Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 4, 1942

          The annual Walters reunion was held Sunday at the country home of Mrs. Lulu Pownall, southwest of Fulton with 70 relatives present.  A delicious basket dinner was enjoyed under the trees of the front lawn.

          Following the dinner a splendid program was given by the members of the family.  Officers were elected for the coming year as follows: Calvin Alber, president; Don Pownall, vice-president, Juanita Bowman, secretary-treasurer; and Lulu Pownall, assistant secretary-treasurer The 1943 reunion will be held at the same place.



Emerson (Bud) Braman, Manager

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1942

          Emerson (Bud) Braman, former local resident, has returned to this city to take over the management of the Standard Service Station of Third and Main streets.  He has leased this station, which was formerly managed by “Peck” Clayburn.  The service station is now open with Mr. Braman in charge.



“Gill” Bowers, Manager

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 7, 1942

          “Gil” Bowers, former tank wagon driver for the Lowman Oil company and annoucer at the local softball games, has taken over the management of the Cities Service station at the intersection of roads 25, 31 and 14.  In addition to the filling station, Bowers states that he will handle tires and do battery repair work.



Purchased by Bruce Wright

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 7, 1942

          Akron, Ind., Aug. 7 - The Madrid theatre at Akron has been under new management since Sunday night, Mark Gates selling his interest in the show to Bruce Wright of Wabash.

          Mr. Wright purchased the theatre for his nephew, Roger Wright, who will manage the theatre.  He has been in the show business for a number of years, and at present operates a free show at Utter’s Filling


 station west of town every Sunday night.  He also operates free shows in other towns the rest of the week.

          Personnel of the new management will be: George Swope, operator; Jerry Hill, ticket window; Betty Fellers, pop corn machine, and Mrs. Gerald Bemenderfer, ticket taker.

          Mr. Gates purchased the Madrid from Karl Gast in January 1941.  He is returning to Indianapolis, and has not announced any definite plans for the future.



Mrs. Lois Mudgett, Manager

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 8, 1942

          Mrs. Lois Mudgett, of this city, has accepted a position as manager of the local branch of Maiben’s Laundry at 115 West Eighth street, succeeding Mrs. Charles Kochenderfer.  Mrs. Kochenderfer went to Louisville, Ky., today, where she will join her husband, who is stationed at Fort Knox.



By Conde Holloway

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 10, 1942

          Conde Holloway, formerly of this city, now a private stationed at Fort Bragg, N.C., has not let the army life dull his sense of humor.  To supplement this statement, we herewith publish a letter from Conde which was received by Kline Reed, president of the Fulton County 4-H Fair, of this city:

          “Dear Kline:

          “I see by the News-Sentinel that you are looking for talent for the 4-H Fair.  I would like to make my application.  I am 24 years old, 5 feet 7-1/2 inches tall, weigh 134 and have brown eyes

          “I can march, drill, do the rear march, right flank, left flank, right face, left face, about face, cuss and act like a soldier.

          “After what I’ve been through I could join any 4-H fair.

          “Sure hope my application is accepted.  In case I am, could you arrange a special bus or school hack for my transportation.

          “Just a soldier at Fort Bragg,


          Private Holloway enclosed an entry blank clipped from The News-Sentinel and in the space provided for the kind of talent the applicant possessed he stated, “March and Drill.”



Racket & Miller-Jones

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 11, 1942

          Workmen today were repairing the sidewalk on Main street in front of the Racket Clothing Store and Miller & Jones Shoe Store.  The old brick sidewalk has been removed; a new cement one will be laid immediately.



Widened To Add Parking Space

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 11, 1942

          The City Street Department yesterday began work on widening East Seventh Street for a half block east of Main street.  The curb street space on the north side of the street will be utilized in the widening project.  The change will allow more parking space on East Seventh street.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 11, 1942

          The 33rd annual Perschbacher reunion was held Sunday at the Rochester City Park with 35 in attendance.

          A delicious dinner was served at the noon hour after which a business session was held.  Letters and cards were read from absent members and election of officers was held with the following being elected:   president, Fred Swinehart of Mishawaka; vice-president, Robert Swinehart of Chicago; and secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Fred Swinehart of Mishawaka.  The remainder of the afternoon was spent socially and enjoyed by all.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 12, 1942

          The second annual reunion of the Wagner-Waggoner-Wagoner family was held at the Rochester City Park on Sunday, August 9th, with about 50 members present.  It was decided to hold the reunion again in 1943 on the second Sunday in August at the same place.

          Charles C. Wagoner of Rochester was elected pres.; Rena Wright secretary; and Esther Wagoner of South Bend, treasurer.  Members of the different branches of the family gave a brief history of their branch.



East 7th Street

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 17, 1942

          Workmen today were replacing sidewalks on East Seventh Street at the rear of the Arlington Hotel.  The old sidewalks were taken out and new cement ones were laid.



Culver Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 17, 1942

          The 26th annual Smith reunion was held Sunday at the park at Culver.  A delicious dinner was served at noon and the afternoon was spent socially.

          Those attending from Rochester were:   Mr. & Mrs. A.B. Shore and daughter, Virginia, Richard Smith, Mr. & Mrs. M.J. Sadowsky and son, Wilson, and Tad Louderback.



Al Trace Orchestra

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 17, 1942

          Al Trace and his Silly Symphonists who come to the Colonial Gardens, Lake Manitou, on Tuesday, August 18th, present something new in comedy entertainment plus commercial dance music.  - - - - -



Purchased by H.F. Benson

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 19, 1942

          H.F. Benson, an experienced hotel and restaurant man, of Michigan City, yesterday purchased the Erie Hotel, north Pontiac street, from L.C. Patrick, of this city.  Mr. Benson took over active charge of the hotel today and stated he is planning to make several improvements.  The retiring proprietor plans to enter business at Gosen, Ind.



Lawrence Edwards Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 20, 1942

          The Bryant family reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Lawrence Edwards and daughter Nila.  Guests included Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Edwards and son, Mr. & Mrs. Orville Renfroe and


family of Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Carl Allen and children, Mr. & Mrs. Harold Edwards of Muncie, Pvt. Wayne Blackburn of Smyrona, Tenn.; Mr. & Mrs. Louie Hurd of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Paul Crume and daughter, Miss Shirley Pugsley, Mrs. Goldie Welch of Peru, and Mr. & Mrs. O.G. Bryant and son, Orbie Jr.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 21, 1942

          The 1942 Holloway reunion was held recently at the Rochester City Park with approximately 150 friends and relatives enjoying a lovely community dinner at the noon hour.

          Music was furnished during the afternoon by Elmer, Paul and Kathryn Walters, Henry Lockridge, and Granville Holloway.  A poem was given by Jean Holloway and several songs were sung in unison.

          The new president for 1943 is Bert Holloway; vice-president, Henry Lockridge; program committee Edith Overmyer, Edna Fay Holloway and Margaret Alspach.  The rest of the oficers are the same.  The 1943 reunion will be held at the same place.



Purchase Sale Barn

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 28, 1942

          Castleman Bros., stock buyers of this city, have purchased the Community Sale Barn at North Judson to take possession September 1st.  Sales are held at North Judson every Monday.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 28, 1942

          The annual Davis family reunion was held recently at the Rochester City Park.   A community dinner was served at the noon hour, following which the regular business session was held with the vice-president in charge.  It was decided to hold the 1943 reunion the fourth Sunday in August which will be August 22, 1943, and will be held at the Rochester City Park.

          The officers elected were: President, Lola Rogers; vice-president, Robert Burns, secretary-treasurer, Faye Damas.  The rest of the afternoon was spent socially.




Bill Ritchie Resigns

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 29, 1942

          Bill Ritchie, who has been employed as city reporter of The News-Sentinel for the past three months quit this post today, and on Monday will enroll in Purdue University to resume his studies there.

          No successor has as yet been selected - - - - - -



David Zeider, Retired

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 29, 1942

          David Zeider, of Kewanna, section foreman of the Kewanna section of the Pennsylvania Railroad, was retired Wednesday.  He will receive a pension, having served the allotted time with the company.  Darl Shidler is filling the vacated position until a successor is named.



On Thursday Afternoons

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 31, 1942

          All Rochester dry goods, clothing, shoe and general department stores which have been closing on Thursday afternoons throughout the summer season, will on Thursday, September 3rd, go back on their regular schedule and be open for business throughout all day on Thursday.

          Practically all of the stores which entered the Thursday afternoon closing programs were well pleased with the plan and in all probability this procedure will be followed in future years.



Don Thompson Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 31, 1942

          The annual McMillan Reunion was held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Don Thompson in Mishawaka Sunday.

          Those attending were:   Mrs. Etta Wiley, Ardeen and Mary Lou Wiley, and Charles McMillan, all of Mishawaka; Mr. & Mrs. George Wiley and family, of Benton Harbor, Mich.; Mrs. Charles Hill of Peru; Mr. & Mrs. Walter Bacon and family, of Mexico; Rollo and Carl Bacon, of Perrysburg; Mr. & Mrs. Dale Shipley, of Indianapolis; Mrs. Carrie Jones, of Fulton; Ben Severns, of LaPorte; and Mr. & Mrs. Guy McMillan, Mr. & Mrs. Deloise Severns and son, Jack, Mr. & Mrs.


Mr. & Mrs. Gerald McMillan and sons, Mrs. Dean Severns, and Miss Kathryn Severns, all of this city.



To Remain on Closing Plan

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 1, 1942

          The Rochester grocers and barbershops which have been operating under the Thursday afternoon closing plan throughout the past few months, today stated they would continue to close their establishments on Thursday afternoons for an indefinite period.



May Soon Go To War

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 1, 1942

          First line defense of the Fulton county court house, those two long ominous appearing cannon, relics of battles of yesteryear, may soon be dismanteled and melted into shrapnel for the Japs, according to information received from county officials today.  - - - - -

          - - - - on Tuesday, September 8th, at the regular monthly meeting the County Commissioners will be asked to donate the two huge cannon which have adorned the court house yard for over two score of years.

          The county officials stated they have three sources of disposal:   they may be turned over to the WPA; the U.S. Army, or they may be sold direct to any local junk dealer.  Guesses on the weight of the two cannons range from 750 pounds to a ton each.  Several solid iron cannon balls, which were once stacked along side of the cannons are stored in the basement of the court house and these, too, may be turned over to the U.S. War Department.



J.E. Thompson Home

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 1, 1942

          The James and Christina Thompson Family Reunion was held Sunday, August 30th, at the home of Mr. & Mrs. J.E. Thompson, east of Green Oak.  A picnic dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour and in the afternoon, Leo Thompson, president, presided over a short business session and program.

          Election of officers for 1943 was held with Roy Kestner being elected president; William Allen, vice-president; and Mrs. Jacob



McFarland as secretary-treasurer.  Mrs. McFarland read several letters frm relatives in Kansas and other distant points.  The Kestner Trio gave a musical program.  Refreshments of ice cream were served to the following guests:

          Mr. & Mrs. Charles Thompson and Mr. & Mrs. Harry Lindsey, all of Elkhart; Mr.& Mrs. William Allen of Argos; Mr. & Mrs. Jacob McFarland of Culver; Miss Virginia Allen of Clinton; Mr. & Mrs. Leo Thompson of Akron, and Mrs. Ida Kestner, Mr. & Mrs. Roy Kestner and family, Mr. & Mrs. Jack Brubaker and sons, and Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Thompson, all of this city.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 1, 1942

          The annual Bryant reunion was held Sunday, August 30th, at the Rochester City Park with an attendance of approximately 85.  A fine program of music, sings and recitations was enjoyed by all.

          Guy Bryant was elected president, and Mrs. Guy Bryant was elected sectretary-treasurer.  It was decided to change the reunion date from the last Sunday in August to the first Sunday in August, 1943.



Overstreet’s Landing

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 2, 1942

          The annual reunion of the Alspach family was held Sunday, August 30th, at Overstreet’s Landing at Lake Manitou.

          The following guests enjoyed the get-together:   Mrs. Minnie McCarter, Miss Gertrude McCarter, Mrs. Maude Alspach, and Bernadine Alspach, all of Peru; Mr. & Mrs. James Clemans and Mr. & Mrs. Herbert Clemans and sons of Akron; Mr. & Mrs. Melvin Ringle and son, Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne and family, Miss Mae Van Duyne, Mrs. Mead Blackburn, Mr. & Mrs. Calder Alspach, Mr. & Mrs. Thurl Piper, Mrs. Lulu Piper, Mr. & Mrs. Lester Rogers and family and Mr. & Mrs. Harry Wagoner, all of this city.









Purchased by C.I. Bashore

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 3, 1942

          A business deal has just been completed in which The Fulton County Hatchery, located at the (SW) corner of 6th and Main streets, was purchased by C.I. Bashore, of Silver Lake.

          Mr. Bashore owns hatcheries and feed stores at Silver Lake, Warsaw, North Manchester and Akron, and sends large numbers of chicks over a large area.

          The plant here will continue as The Fulton County Hatchery and will be under the management of Lloyd Hopkins.  Very few changes will be made in the present program of the hatchery, the most beneficial change being a year-round outlet for the entire output of the capaciy of the local unit.

          Grinding and mixing service is being added to the feed department of the new plant and it promises to be one of the best equipped hatcheries and feed stores in Northern Indiana.



Karl Gast, Temporary Manager

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 4, 1942

          Mr. & Mrs. C.R. Kemper who own and have operated the Akron Hotel for the past few years, have returned to Rochester to make their home, and the management of the hotel has been taken over by Karl Gast until another manager can be located. - - - - -



Lease Relinquished

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 8, 1942

          Ed Perschbacher today relinquished his lease on the Marathon Oil Company filling station at the corner of Main and Fourth streets.  Mr. Perschbacher was inducted into the Army on August 31 with 25 other Fulton county draftees and he will report to Fort Benjamin Harrison on September 14 for active duty.  Mr. Perschbacher has operated the station for the past five years.








Donated For War Use

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 9, 1942

          The Fulton County Commissioners voted unanimously Tuesday afternoon to donate the two huge cannons and 36 oversize cannon balls to the U.S. War Scrap Metal Salvage committee.

          The cannons and balls will be turned over to Mayor O.I. Minter who will make arrangements with representatives of the State War Salvage Metal Salvage board for the disposal of the metals.

          The cannons which have adorned the terraces at the front of the public square for well over two score years are believed to weigh in excess of a ton each, and these together with a German field gun which was captured in the battle of Chateau-Thierry, in World War No. 1, donated by the Leroy Shelton Post, American Legion, will make the city’s original donation of a worth-while nature.

          Old-timers who were interviewed concerning the court house cannons opined they were relics of the Civil War days and were undoubtedly presented to the McClung G.A.R. Post of this city.  The last member of the McClung post, John Shelton, passed away early this summer at the age of 95 years.



Rosanna (Ruh) Young, Employee

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 15, 1942

          Mrs. Robert Young, nee Rosanna Ruh, of this city, has accepted a clerical position with The News-Sentinel and has already assumed her duties at the office.  Mrs. Young will also assist in the reportial department.

          The new employee is a graduate of the Rochester high school, and attended the Denison university, of Granville, Ohio, and graduated from a business college course at Los Angeles, Calif.  She is the daughter of Mrs. Edith B. Ruh, of this city.



Selling Bonds

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 16, 1942

          In this week’s issue of “Pine Bur,: official camp newspaper of Ft. Benning, Ga., appeared a picture of First Lieut. William R. “Bob” Doctor, formerly of this city, selling a $3,000 War Bond to Lieut. Harry E. Wagoner, of Ft. Benning.  Lieut. Doctor, who is heading one


of the camp’s teams in the sale of War Bonds and Stamps, topped the entire camp for the past week, the article stated.

          (Lieut. Doctor is the son-in-law of Oren I. Karn, businessman of Rochester. - WCT)



Enroute to Mid-west Mills

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 21, 1942

          Saturday afternoon Mayor O.I. Minter received instructions from the War Department, Washington, D.C., for the disposal of the two old cannon on the court house lawn, 37 cannon balls and the .77 millimeter German field piece from the Legion Home yard.  These relics of other wars were donated to the government by the county commissioners and the Legion Post.

          Mr. Minter was instructed to rush these materials to the salvage scrap pile as quickly as possible as the need for the metal was urgent.  Several alternatives were suggested.  However, in lots of less than a carload the War department suggested that the donations be turned over to the local junk dealers for disposal.

          After receiving assurances that the metal would be promptly forwarded to central scrap heaps, Mayor Minter disposed of the scrap to local junk dealers.  The cannon and heavier pieces will be broken up and shipped immediately to mills in the central west where it will be transformed into shells and weapons for use against the axis powers.  Each of the cannon which adorned the court house yard for two score years weighed 4,180 pounds.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 21, 1942

          The John Gottschalk family reunion was held at the Rochester City Park Sunday, September 20th.  Approximately 55 members attended and enjoyed a delicious dinner and social time

          Six brothers and sisters, Noah, George, Will, and Ed Gottschalk, and Mrs. Ira Bastow, and Mrs. Sam Mutchler, were present.








Are Now Scrap

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 23, 1942

          The two large Civil War cannon and 37 cannonballs from the Court House and one .77 millimeter German fieldpiece were turned in for scrap by Mayor O.I. Minter yesterday.  According to War Department instructions the material was turned in to local dealers as the amount was less than a carload lot.  Then the money obtained by the sale was turned over to the County Commissioners and the American Legion Post.  It is the stated intention of the Commissioners to turn the money over to the USO and the Legion Post will do the same, thereby serving the purpose of actually donating the material and allowing the material to get into scrap.

          The fieldpiece weighed 2070 pounds, while the cannon weighed 4180 pounds each, and cannonballs weighed 1670 pounds, or a total of 12,100 pounds.

          Mayor Minter stated today that he had notified the War Department and also the Governor of Indiana of the completing of the turn-in here.



Indiana Avenue

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 24, 1942

          The City Board of Works, with approval of the City Council, has directed the repair of the sidewalk on the west side of Indiana avene, and running north and south of the Mill Creek bridge.  This sidewalk is used by a large number of people from East Rochester and is in a dangerous condition.



Being Constructed

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 30, 1942

          It was announced today by the County Auditor’s office that the Court House now has an A-I-J priority rating for the construcion of the heating plant for the Court House and jail.  The cost of material is not to exceed $6,142.13.

          The board of commissioners will meet tomorrow afternoon at 1:00 with the engineer and contractor to discuss plans of installation.   The firm of Brackett & Guyer are the contractors.




Appears in “Wake Island”

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 2, 1942

          Capt. Nick E. Presecan of the United States Marine Corps, a former resident of Indianapolis, appears in the picture “Wake Island.” Now stationed in Texas, he was awarded a medal for bravery earlier this year for rescuing a number of marines from drowning when their boat capsized while on maneuvers.  This occurred while he was stationed at San Diego.

          Capt. Presecan also served as one of the technical advisers during the filming of the movie.

          He is married to the former Miss Dorothy Moore, daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Levi P. Moore of this city.



Co-Pilot on TWA Transport

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 6, 1942

          Jackie D. Morris,, son of Roy (Jack) Morris, of Akron, who enlisted in the Reserve Air Corps has recently been made a co-pilot on the T.W.A. Airlines.

          Morris’ headquarters will be at Kansas City, Mo., and he stated he would transport personnel and military cargo to all parts of the world.  The Akron youth’s address is 1837 Pendleton street, Kansas City, Mo.



Closed For Remodeling

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 19, 1942

          The New West Side Hotel will be closed for redecorating and for the addition of 16 rooms until the first of November, Emile “Pop” Marttin, owner and manager of the hotel stated.  The hotel will open under the name of the “Lakeview Hotel.”



Being Remodeled

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 20, 1942

          A crew of workmen are busily engaged in making preparations to install a modern, double-store width front in the three-story IOOF building on the northwest corner of the intersection of Main and Ninth streets, this city.


          The corner room of the IOOF building has been vacant since early last fall and the store room to the north was occupied until October 15th by a sandwich shop, owned and operated by Walter Bowen.  Bowen has temporarily stored his restaurant equipment in the building, formerly occupied by Sawyer Motor Sales

          The IOOF lodge trustees have not as yet announced for what purpose this large new double store-room building will be used.



Purchased by Bill Deniston

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 22, 1942

          It was announced today by Russell See that he has sold his taxicab business to William (Bill) Deniston.  Mr. Deniston has taken immediate possession of the taxicab business and will retain Jim Harvey as driver, and Lou Holtz as operator of the phone booth.

          Mr. See will leave in a few days for Fort Benjamin Harrison where he will enter the armed forces.  He is home now on his automatic 14-day furlough following his induction on October 15th.



Purchased by McMahan Const. Co.

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 31, 1942

          It was announced today that the McMahan Construction Co. purchased the old circus grounds adjacent to the city limits on the northeast side of Rochester.  The grounds and buildings will be used for the storage and repair of construction machinery for the McMahn company.

          The McMahan farms will also use the grounds as a selling center for cattle.  For a number of years they have been selling from six to 10,000 feeding cattle per year.  The cattle are purchased on western ranges and shipped directly here for distribution to farmers throughout this territory.  Last year the McMahan farms furnished 2,000 farmers with feeding cattle.  They now have approximately 1,000 cattle on hand.



Purchased by McMahan Const. Co.

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 5, 1942

          The McMahan Construction Co., recent purchasers of the old circus grounds on the northeast edge of the city, have purchased the


duck farm which is adjacen to the newly acquired property.  This new addition will be used in connection with the Otto McMahan Farms’ cattle business.



Floor to be Replaced

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 13, 1942

          The Fulton County Commissioners yesterday afternoon in the court house with the contractors and engineers for the new heating plant, and with the Wolf Construction company, of Logansport.

          Details in regard to the installation of the heating system were re-discussed, and plans were made for the relaying of the basement floor which was damaged in September by steam which escaped from a broken service pipe.  The new floor will be made of concrete.



Robert L. Russler

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 17, 1942

          Robert L. Russler, resident of Lake Manitou, was promoted to conductor on the Erie railroad company.  Russler’s initial run was made November 14 from Huntington to Hammond on Erie train 37.



Purchased by Max Nichols

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 20, 1942

          Earl Quick and son, Joe, today announced the sale of their Pure Oil Service Station at 400 Main street.  The purchaser is Max Nichols, who has been engaged in farming and trucking for a number of years.

          Dale Daulton, who has been employed by Quicks for the past four years, will manage the station for Mr. Nichols.

          The Quicks have operated the station for the past eight years and they will continue in the business of selling fencing, fence posts, blade wire and galvanized tanks at their farm home one-half mile north of Rochester on Road 31.









Juke Box Saturday Night

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 2, 1942 (Station R.H.S.)

          Moppin’ up soda pop rickeys

          To our heart’s delight--

          Dancin’ to swingeroo quickies

          Juke Box Saturday night.


          Goodman, Kyser and Miller

          Help to make things bright--

          Meetin’ hot licks with vanilla,

          Juke Box Saturday night.


          They put nothin’ past us, me and honey lamb--

          Makin’ one coke to last us till it’s time to scram.

          Money, we really don’t need that --

          We’ll make out all right

          Letting the other guy feed that

          Juke Box Saturday night.


          At the sip of a soda we got a scheme--

          Somebody else plays the record machine.

          It’s easy to say pet names,

          When you listen to the trumpet of Harry James.


          We love to hear the tenor croon

          Whenever the Ink Spots sing a tune



Opening Dec. 14th

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 8, 1942

          Walter Bowen announced the opening date for his new Evergreen Cafe in the Robbins building at 623-625 Main street, as December 14th.  The rooms are now undergoing extensive alterations and decorations.  Mr. Bowen is the former manager of the Evergreen Cafe at 828 Main street.







Final Dividend

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 19, 1942

          Approximately 2,000 depositors of the former United States Bank & Trust Co. received a Christmas present when Judge Robert Miller in the Fulton circuit court granted the prayer of Thomas Yater, of Logansport, receiver of the closed bank, to pay the final dividend to the depositors.

          Mr. Yater’s petition to the court shows that the final payment will be the equivalent of a dividend of .016 per cent of the amount each depositor had on deposit with the bank when it closed in 1933.

          The depositors of the United States Bank & Trust Co have, during the time of its liquidation, received six other dividends which totaled about 72 per cent. - - - - -



To Pay on Notes

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 19, 1942

          Rochester merchants and business men who experienced considerable loss back in 1939 when Cole Brothers Circus went into bankruptcy received a note of Christmas cheer this week with a notice from the legal department of the present circus corporation that part payment would be made on these old and defunct accounts.

          When the old Cole Brothers corporation was wiped out by bankruptcy and it was revealed there were no assets, the local merchants marked their accounts as a total loss.  Later, Zack Terrell and Jess Adkins then formd a new corporation and after a long and difficult financial struggle placed a new Cole Brothers show on the road.  The two owners then decided that they would do what they could for their many friends here and elsewhere who had given them credit through their trying times and they voluntarily gave each creditor a note for one-tenth of the old and defunct account payable on May 10, 1944.

          The legal department has notified the note holders that there is now on hand a limited amount of money and that it will be used to satisfy the note-holdes if they desire to turn in their notes before the end of the year, rather than wait for the maturity date.  Those that do will be paid 50 per cent of the face value of their notes. - - - - -






George Krom Sr., Longest Subscriber

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 7, 1943

          George Krom Sr., farmer residing on route 2 out of this city, was in to renew his subscription to The News-Sentinel yesterday.  Mr. Krom is one of the oldest continuous subscribers on The News-Sentinel list.  He has taken the paper continuously since January of 1892; 51 years to be exact.

          When he first started taking the paper it was published weekly under the title of the Rochester Sentinel.  The printing office at that time was located on the top floor of the Dawson building, which now houses the Coplen and Shafer Drug Store.  He stated that he paid for his first subscription with a load of stove wood.

          (Until shown otherwise,) the publishers will consider Mr. George Krom Sr., as the pioneer in this line.



Closed by Halterman

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 8, 1943

          The rural grocery and general merchandising store at Richland Center is being closed as a “War and OPA restriction casualty,” according to an announcement made today by the store’s operator, Harrison Halterman.

          Halterman, who has operated the store for the past four or five years, is entering the armed service, and inasmch as the curtailment of food-stuffs and many merchandising articles has reached such a drastic stage, the closing of the store was deemed necessary.

          The Richland Center store has been in almost continuous operation for over 50 years and the farmers in that community will sorely regret the closing of the store.



Carl Hadley, Pharmacist Resigns

The News-Sentinel, Jan.15, 1943

          Carl Hadley, who for the past year has been employed as pharmacist at the Baxter Blue Drug store, this city, has resigned his position.  Mr. Hadley and family are planning to move to Indianapolis, it was stated.





Whit Gast, President

The News-Sentinel, Jan.15, 1943

          Two well-known Fulton county men were honored at the annual agricultural conference at Purdue university.  Whit Gast, of Akron, was elected as president of the Indiana Potato Growers’ Association for the coming year, and E.L. Mitchell as vice-president of the Indiana State Vegetable Growers’ Assn. For 1943.

          Both men have won state honors in potato and onion contests conducted by Purdue university in the past and Mr. Mitchell at the present time is president of the Northern Indiana Muck Crop Growers’ Assn.  Mr. Gast is chairman oif the Fulton County Selective Service Board and formerly was Fulton county treasurer and agricultural agent of Cass.  Charles Brucker, of Monterey, was named vice-president of the Indiana Potato Growers; Assn.



Now “Also Ran”

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 26, 1943

          Indianapolis, Jan. 26. (INS) - Indiana today was without a major undefeated high school basketball club.  Rochester’s mighty Zebras, last of the perfect slate defenders, fell before Central of South Bend last night, 32-31, after winning 13 consecutive tilts. - - - -

          Here’s what the last perfect record among major teams looked like before Central took a hand.  Victims of the Zebras are listed in order:   Argos, Culver, Akron, Logansport, Plymouth, Warsaw, Huntington, Mishawaka, Winamac, Greensburg, Riley of South Bend, Tipton, and Peru.



Gladys Gordon Burn

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 26, 1943

          In a letter recently received from Mrs. Gladys Gordon Burn, of Seaview, Wash., it was disclosed that the Rochester lady is already in service of the U.S.A. as an “Air Force Observer.” The intersting news from Mrs. Burn follows:

“Dear Friend:

          “Just a line to tell you I arrived in Seaview safely and am already busy in war work.  There is plenty to do out here on this peninsula.  So far for the past several weeks I have taken my four-hour


shift as an “observer.” Last Sunday we were finger-printed, photographed, etc.  We wear an armband (blue) with gold wings and ‘U.S. Army Air Force Observer.’

          “Two people work in each station at one time.  One watches with ‘glasses’ and the other reports via ‘phone to the army, the number of planes, the kind, height, very high, low or very low; direction from which they come and the direction they are going.  Then a log-book is kept with the above information, time, etc., and the name of the ‘observer.’

          “This is all volunteer work.  There are 82 volunteers here on the peninsula, with a continuous 24 hour watch.

          “One can often hear planes and can’t see them.  This is reported with our flash ‘unseen,’ but reported just the same.  It is sometimes hard to distinguish a plane’s motor from the even pounding of the surf.

          - - - - - USO took over the little canteen here and we do not work there anymore. . . . . .”



To Close Feb. 13

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 30, 1943

          The Fulton branch of the Farmers and Merchans Bank of Rochester will close at the conclusion of business on Saturday, February 13, it was announced today by oifficials of the bank.  The discontinuance of the Fulton branch is being caused by loss in operating costs, C.B. Harms, vice-president, and Howard Wertzberger, cashier, stated.

          The branch bank at Fulton was opened March 20, 1939 - - - - -



Going Out of Business

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 10, 1943

          Rodney Arnold, manager of the local Gamble Store at 715 Main street, announced today that following his sale which is to begin on Friday, February 12th, he will discontinue his present business.

          Mr. Arnold stated that he is taking this action due to the difficulty of securing the necessary stock to continue in business.

          As the Gamble Store is run on a volume basis and as the rationing of all goods may become necessary, Mr. Arnold said that it would be impossible to continue.  The manager said that his plans for the future remained indefinite.



Robert Overmyer, Cashier, Resigns

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 10, 1943

          Robert Overmyer has resigned his position as cashier of the Leiters Ford State Bank at Leiters Ford and has accepted employment with the Studebaker Corp., in South Bend.  Mr. Overmyer’s position in the bank has been taken by Charles Wyland.  Mr. Wyland was formerly employed as a postal clerk in Detroit.  Mrs. Wyland is a teacher in the Leiters Ford high school.



Purchsed by owners of Culver-Argos Bank

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 11, 1943

          Plymouth, Ind., Feb. 11. - The stockholders of The State Exchange Bank of Culver and Argos, Indiana, have contracted to purchase all of the stock of the Farmes State Bank of Lapaz, Ind., which institution will be operated under the supervision of the present officers and directors of The State Exchange Bank of Culver and Argos.  The Farmers State Bank of Lapaz, will be in charge of W.L. Johnson, the present cashier. - - - - -



Opening by Mrs. Mary Bilyew

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 22, 1943

          Mrs. Mary Bilyew announced today that she has leased the room at 110 East Eighth street in the Bernetha building in which to open a beauty shop within the next week or so.

          Mrs. Bilyew is a graduate of the Wayne university of Fort Wayne and has been a beauty operator for several years.  She will operate her parlor under the name of “Mary’s Shoppe.”

          Mrs. Bilyew’s parents are Mr. & Mrs. Earl Fry, and her husband is Pfc. Claude Bilyew who is now serving overseas.



Charter Night

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 25, 1943

          At a special meeting of the newly organized Lions Club which was held Wednesday evening it waa decided that Charter Night banquet and program would be held at the Lakeview Hotel, Lake Manitou, on Wednesday evening, March 3rd.



Now Open on Saturdays Only

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 26, 1943

          Paul Eiler, owner of the Hotpoint Electric Service, 115 East Ninth street, announced today that starting on March 15th he would open his shop on Saturdays only, for the duration,  due to his inability to obtain merchandise and labor



For Harvey Warren

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 26, 1943

          A number of farmers met at the Harvey Warren farm, northeast of this city Thursday and proceeded to husk out an entire field of corn for Mr. Warren, who has been ill for the past several weeks.  Those who worked in the field were:   Steele Ewing, LeVall Parton, Wendell Duzenbury, Dick Morris, C.B. Sausaman, J.R. Little, W.L. Drudge, Omer L. Miller, Victor Tobey, Clarence Horn, Gaston Coplen, Albert Eisert, C.W. Hoffman, Clarence Graffis, John R. Bryant, Ben Brockey, Clarence Peterson, Richard Coplen, Olin Wagoner, Jay Long, H.D. Walburn, Dee Berrier, Emil Brechtel, and Walt Safford.




The News-Sentinel, Mar. 8, 1943

          At a dinner meeting held in the Fulton Baptist church last Friday evening a Lions club was organized in that community.

          The following officers were elected:   President, Emerson E. Felder; First Vice President, Voris D Zartman; Second Vice President, James E. Kingery; Third Vice President, Roger Kent; Secretary, Gene Ditmire; Treasurer, Ernest Becker; Lion Tamer, Rev. J. Franklin Arthur; Tail Twister, Dr. J.A. Hafert; Directors, Chance E. Meyer, H.E. Burckhalter, O.V Norris, and Whit F Hemminger.

          The following Fulton men signed as charter members: Rev. J. Franklin Arthur, Ray Babcock, V.L. Barker, Ernest Becker, H.E. Burckhalter, F.J. Carithers, Elmer Clabaugh, Raymond L. Cook, Robert L. Cribb, Dr. F.C. Dielman, Gene Ditmire, E.E. Felder, Dwight Gallipo, LaMont Gilbert, Dr. J.A. Hafert, Whit F. Heminger, Roger Kent, E. Kingery, Albert E. Lattimer, Chance C. Meyer, William H. McDougle, Donald A. Norris, O.V. Norris, M.H. Racus, D.G. Rannells,

D.L. Rouch, Rev. Stacey F. Shaw, and Voris D. Zartman.  - - - - -



Win South Bend Regional

The News-Sentinel, Mar. 10, 1943

          In a blaze of glory the indomitable Rochester five captured the South Bend Regional from the strong Elkhart Blue Blazers 52-41. Elkhart led the entire game until the last quarter. - - - -



Purchased by Russell Oates

The News-Sentinel, Mar. 11, 1943

          Mr. & Mrs. Charles Overmyer of this city today announced the sale of the Overmyer Hatchery, located on East Sixth street, to Russell Oates, of Richland Center.

          Mr. Oates, who has had over 20 years experience in the hatchery and poultry feed business has already taken possession of the hatchery which is now in full operation.

          Mr. Overmyer, who has been working at the Kingsbury defense plant and in the insurance business, will continue in these fields of activity, it was stated.



Leases Building

The News-Sentinel, Mar. 15, 1943

          Dean Neff has leased the large building at 120-122 West Seventh street from Miss Belva Miller in which to operate his farm implement business.  Mr. Neff began remodeling the building which was last used for a blacksmith shop and then plans to remove his machinery and equipment from his present location, 430-1/2 Main street.  Mr. Neff is local agent for the J.I. Case company farm implements.



Robert Bennett, City Reporter

The News-Sentinel, Mar. 15, 1943

          Robert (Beezer) Bennett, of this city, has been employed as city reporter on The Rochester News-Sentinel and has already assumed his duties in this capacity.

          Robert succeeds Mrs. Rosanna (Ruh) Young who with her mother, Mrs. Edith Ruh, will leave Wednesday to make their home in Montgomery, Ala.  Mrs. Young’s husband, Robert, is in training to become aviator in the U.S. Army at Maxwell Field, near Montgomery.



Close Pierceton Store

The News-Sentinel, Mar. 16, 1943

          Calvin & Myers, of this city, today announce the closing of their harware store at Pierceton, Ind.  The entire stock of the Pierceton store is being merged with the local store and when completed, the Rochester store’s supply of stock will be practically doubled.

          Vere Calvin, who has been in charge of the Pierceton store has moved his family back to Rochester and will devote his entire time with Paul Myers in the management of the local hardware store.



Jenny Johnson, Fountain Girl

The News-Sentinel, Mar. 17, 1943

          Miss Jenny Johnson, of this city, has accepted a position as fountain girl and clerk at the Baxter Blue Drug Store.



Donnabelle Mikesell, defense job

The News-Sentinel, Mar. 17, 1943

          Miss Donnabelle Mikesell, who has been employed by the Welfare Office as clerk-stenographer, has accepted a defense job with the Hoover Munitions plant, west of Mexico.  The vacancy in the basement of the court house has not been filled.




The News-Sentinel, Mar. 20, 1943

          The Brownie Drug Store, located in the Times Theatre building has been closed, effective today, by the proprietor, Floyd Brown, of this city.  Mr. Brown has not announced his plans for the future, it was stated.



Barney Perschbacher, employee

The News-Sentinel, Mar. 20, 1943

          Barney Perschbacher, former Fulton county circuit court bailiff, has accepted a position at the Woodlawn hospital and assumed his duties yeasterday.




John McClung, Employee

The News-Sentinel, Mar. 24, 1943

          John McClung, formerly with Brownie’s Drug Store, has now accepted a position with Baxter’s Blue Drug Store.  Mr. McClung began his work there today.



Will Not Close

The News-Sentinel, Mar. 25, 1943

          It was announced today that the Farmers and Merchants Bank of Fulton will not close as previously reported.  The Fulton citizens made arrangements with the bank officials to keep it open, which it will do for at least another year.



Harriett Hogue, Stenographer

The News-Sentinel, Mar. 25, 1943

          Miss Harriett Hogue of this city has accepted the position of part-time stenographer in the Fulton County Welfare Department formerly held by Miss Donnabelle Mikesell.  Mrs. Bernice Kay, supervisor of the department, announces that there are still two positions of welfare visitors open in the department.



Mrs. Guy Barr, operator

The News-Sentinel, Mar. 29, 1943

          Mr. & Mrs. Guy Barr and Mrs. Fred Mudgett departed today for Brown county, Indiana, to make their residence for the summer.  Mrs. Barr has been given the contract to operate the Abe Martin Lodge in the Brown County State Park and Mrs. Mudgett will act as her assistant.  The hotel consisting of the lodge and 30 cabins will be opened late in April and will be operated until November.



Do As Monkeys Do

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 5, 1943

          Washington, April 5 - The War Department came up today with this advice to army airmen: “When in monkeyland, do as the monkeys do.”


          The advice is being extended to fliers who face the possibility of being forced down in tropical jungles where there may be some doubt as to what plants and fruits are safely edible.

          In a guidebook to be included in airmen’s bail-out, the War Department says:

          “Anything you see the monkeys eat, you can eat.”

          The booklet then ungratefully adds:

          “And you can eat the monkeys, too.”



Closing One Day Each Week

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 5, 1943

          William Mabie, owner of the Mabie Cafe, wishes to announce that he is joining the other six Rochester cafe owners in the closing of their place of business one day each week.  Mr. Mabie will close his restaurant located on the corner of Main and Sixth streets, every Tuesday.



In “Model Airplane News”

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 7, 1943

          A Rochester miniature model airplane enthusiast will gain nation-wide publicity through an illustrated story which appears in the May issue of “Model Airplane News.”

          The author of the article is Byron Abbott, job pressman, employed at the Barnhart-Van Trump Co., plant. - - - - -

          This particular model which brought the Rochester young man’s first honors in a field with several hundred contestants, made a sustained flight of 23 minutes, 48-1/5 seconds.  In the three tests the Abbott designed model made a total time of 29:29.



Building Purchased by L. Babcock

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 7, 1943

          Lawrence Babcock has announced that he has purchased the building which was formerly the building which was on the north shore of Lake Manitou, known as Walt’s Chili Parlor and is intending to move it to the Babcock boat landing.  The building which which was purchased from George Pollock,- - - - will be opened this summer on its new site, Mr. Babcock stated today.



Owner, Bertha Levi, Buys Bldg.

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 10, 1943

          Announcement was made today that Mrs. Bertha Levi, owner of the Levi Dry Goods Store, has purchased the two-story brick building at 814 Main street from Mrs. Nina Holman Nuenfeldt of Hobart.  Mrs. Levi has operated her dry goods store in the ground floor room of the building for over 50 years.  The building is located on the west side of the public square.

          Mrs. Levi owns the building at 812 Main street adjoining the Holman building.  Myron Berkheiser operates a grocery store in the ground floor room at 812 Main street.

          Because of restrictions due to the war Mrs. Levi stated she would not make any improvements at this time to the Holman building but that improvements are planned.



Billie Jean Adamson, Employee

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 10, 1943

          Miss Billie Jean Adamson, of this city, has accepted a part-time position at the Shore & Hart general department store, on North Main street.  Miss Adamson began her service today.



Robert Barnes, Manager

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 17, 1943

          John McFarland, who has been the manager of the Kroger store in Akron since 1933, has been transferred to North Manchester and his successor at Akron is Robert Barnes of Wabash.



Robert Utter, Manager

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 26, 1943

          Robert Utter announced today that he had accepted the managership of the Cities Service company’s bulk station in Rochester. He will assume his new duties May 1.   Mr. Utter has been engaged in the oil business in Rochester for the past two years and for the past nine months has operated a filling station at 516 Main street.  Mr. Utter is a life resident of Fulton county and for a number of years lived on a farm near Athens.



Eugene Humphrey, Employee

The News-Sentinel, Apr. 30, 1943

          Eugene Humphrey of this city has accepted a position with the Sanitary Milk Co., on East Eighth street, it was announced today by Henry Skidmore, manager.



Head of Drug Chain

The News-Sentinel, May 3, 1943

          Mr. & Mrs. A.E. Scott of Akron have learned that their son, Richard, who is well known in the county, has been appointed to the position of supervisor of nine Ohio Muir drug stores located at Wayton, Mansfield, Springfield, Lorraine, Elyria, Massilon, Findley and Columbus.

          Scott, a native of Akron, joined the Muir drug company some time ago and has been manager of the firm’s drug store at Muncie, Ind.  He plans to move his family to Mansfield in the near future.



Purchased by George Fleegle

The News-Sentinel, May 5, 1943

          Mr. & Mrs. William Mabie, operators of a restaurant at 530 Main street for the past 12 years, announced today they have sold the cafe to George Fleegle, owner of the Fleegle Market at 526 Main street.

          Fleegle has taken possession and will continue to operate the restaurant which has been in business at the same location for almost 50 years.  Fleegle will be assisted in operation of the business by his son-in-law, Jack Reyome.

          Mr. & Mrs. Mabie said they would retire from the restaurant business because of poor health.



Culver Mfg. Co.

The News-Sentinel, May 21, 1943

          Richard Burrell, former manager of the old Waring Glove Co., of this city, today announced that another glove factory will be opened in Rochester on June 1st, in the J. Walter Brubaker building, corner Main and 9th streets.


          This new industry which will employ from 18 to 20 ladies is a branch of the Culver Mfg. Co., of Bluffton, Ind., which operates several branch factories throughout central and northern Indiana and Ohio.  Mr. Burrell, former manager of the Waring Glove Co., which closed its Rochester branch on East Eighth street 15 years ago, has been associated with the Culver Mfg. Co, in managerial duties at various intervals throughout the past 12 years.

          The Culver Mfg. Co, manufactures work gloves exclusively and it is planned to open the factory with at least 15 power machines.  Mr. Burrell and his wife, an experienced forelady in the glove manufacturing business stated today they were now ready to receive applicants who are experienced in this line of work or in the operation of power sewing machines.

          The Waring Glove factory which was brought here through a subsidy provided by local business men opened a factory here in 1910 and operated continuously until 1928 when it was merged with a plant at Huntington, Ind.  From 40 to 60 girls and women were on the company’s payroll during the peak years of its existence here, it was stated.



Johnny Knopp Orchestra

The News-Sentinel, May 24, 1943

          Harry Page, managing owner of Colonial hotel and gardens at Lake Manitou, announced today that the hotel’s dancing pavilion will be open this week-end and next week-end and will open officially on Saturday, June 12.

          Page said that Johnny Knopp, and his “musically top” orchestra has been engaged to play for the week-end programs of May 28, 29 and 30, and June 5 and 6, and that Ace Brigode and his famous Virginians will open a two-week’s engagement on June 12.

          - - - - Blue Baron and his nationally-prominent band will appear on July 7.

          Page announced that Don Plank, Sr., has been engaged as hotel manager, reurning to the hotel for his third season after an absence of one year.







Building To Be Razed

The News-Sentinel, June 4, 1943

          One of Rochester’s once-thriving industries will bow to the dictates of progress next week as a crew of workmen begin razing the old gas plant building, situated just east of the Nickle Plate railroad crossing on east Eighth street.

          The tearing down of this two-story, brick building is being done through the order of the Public Service Company of Indiana, Inc., which utility now supplies the city with gas piped through from the Calumet area.  Rex and Ora Moore, of this city, have the contract for the removal of the old building and the cleaning up of the utility company;s premises at this location.

          The original gas plant was erected in Rochester in 1906 and an addition to the building was made in 1921.  The building and plant was built by Fred Freese, of Fort Wayne, who was a stockholder in the Rochester Gas & Coke Co.  Other stockholders of the plant were E.F. Michael, William Martin, president, Emmett Scott and a Mr. Warren, all of LaPorte, Ind.

          Coal gas was manufactured exclusively until 1921 when water gas was introduced.  Operation of the plant was discontinued November 1, 1929, when the high prssure tank was installed and the transmission line from the north was completed.

          The first manager of the old plant was J.M. Ott, who was succeeded a few years later by Gordon Martin, of LaPorte.  The late William P. Mitchell, of this city, succeeded Martin as manager.

          William Brown of this city was employed as bookkeeper in the early days of the plant and Albert Knicklebine, also of Rochester, was the first superintendent in charge of all operations, including both production and distribution.  Mr. Knicklebine continued in the service of successor companies until his retirement in May of 1940.

          The first gas makers or stokers were Harry Bitters and Omer Alexander and the first regularly employed service installation man was S.C. Braman.

          In 1927, the Rochester Gas & Coke Company was merged with the Northern Indiana Power Co., and in 1941, the latter company became a part of the present Public Service Company of Indiana Inc.

          Records of the old firm disclose that the original gas mains comprised a loop extending west in Eighth street to the alley between Madison and Monroe, thence south to the alldy between 9th and 10th,


west to the alley between Main and Jefferson, north to the alley between 7th and 8th, east to the alley between Monroe and Madison and then back to the main on 8th street.  The distribution system has since been extended to make the service available to nearly all residents of the city and to several homes along the transmission line leading into the city.

          The dismanteling process is expected to be completed in the course of five or six weeks, it was stated.

          Manager Herb Owen announced today that a contract has been let to McCall & Pontious to erect a 16 by 20 foot concrete block building which will supplant the frame power and pressure control apparatus building which is adjacent to the old gas plant structure.



Russell Heyde, Employee

The News-Sentinel, June 9, 1943

          Russell Heyde, son of Mr. & Mr. Forrest Heyde, has accepted a position at the Baxter drug store.  He succeeds Bob Glassley who has enlisted in the Navy and will leave Thursday for active duty.



Myron Rees, Manager

The News-Sentinel, June 10, 1943

          An article concerning Spring Mill State Park, - - - - appears this week in the Saturday Evening Post and is of interst to Rochester people because a former local resident, Myron Rees, is manager of the park hotel. - - - -

          Rees is the son of the late Milton Rees. - - - -



Robert McKelvey, Sports Writer

The News-Sentinel, June 14, 1943

          Robert McKelvey, a senior at Rochester high school has joined The News-Sentinel editorial staff as a sports writer.  “Bob” succeeds Joe Sparks, former RHS sports writer, who is now a student at Indiana University.







Sells 31 Horses

The News-Sentinel, June 14, 1943

          Thirty-one horses, formerly a part of the infantry at Culver Military Academy, were sold at auction here Saturday.  An average price of $100 was paid for the horses.

          The horses, 27 bays and four blacks, ranging from six to 14 years, were sold as the artillery unit at the academy is being mechanized.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, June 21, 1943

          The 15th annual Rochester College reunion was held Sunday, June 20th, at the Rochester City Park shelter house with an attendance of approximately 30.  A delicious community dinner was served at 1 o;clock.

          Following the dinner a program and business session was held with Mrs. Lulu Kroff, president, in charge.  Mrs. Dee Berrier led in community singing of “When You and I Were Young Maggie” and “There’s a Long Long Trail A Winding.” Roll call was answered with many memories of college days and appreciation of the good of college, its past instructors and associations, which was well expressed in a quotation given by Mrs. Amos Sanders from an old instructor.  The quotation was “That we owe service to our community for the advantages given us at Rochester College.”

          The following officers were elected for the coming year: President, Miss Flo Delp; vice-president, Mrs. Dee Berrier; and secretary-treasurer, Mrs. Bessie Richardson.  The table committee will be composed of Mrs. Amos Sanders, chairman, Mrs. Bessie Richardson and Mrs. Cora Carrithers.  Mrs. Olive Alspach will be chairman of the entertainment committee.

          Two members were present from the class of 1908.  At the first reunion held at Colonial Hotel 15 years ago 240 members were present.  The meeting closed with unison singing of “America.”

          The reunion next year will be held at the same place and the third Sunday in June.






Opening July 1

The News-Sentinel, June 30, 1943

          A new shoe repair shop, which will be known as the Quality Shoe Repair Shop, will be opened for business Thursday, July 1, in the business room located at 604 Main street, this city.

          Louis Yaints, who comes here from Elgin, Ill., is the proprietor of the new shop.  Yaints stated today he has had over 25 years experience in the cobbler business and for the past 15 years has operated a shop for the Public Shoe Repair Co. which has its main office in Chicago.

          Mr. & Mrs. Yaints and their four children have already taken up their residency here in Rochester. - - - -



Purchased by Reid Erdmann

The News-Sentinel, July 2, 1943

          Reid Erdmann of Grand Rapids, Mich., purchasd the entire stock of drugs, accessories and fixtures of the Brownie drug store of this city at a receiver’s sale, held here Friday.

          Mr. Erdmann, a registered pharmacist, who has been associated with the Muir Drug Company stores for a number of years plans to reopen and restock the drug store which is located in the Times Theatre building of this city.  The new proprietor stated he planned to have his business in operation by Tuesday or Wednesday of the coming week.

          Mr. & Mrs. Erdmann and their three children will take up permanent residency in this city as soon as a suitable house is available.  Erdmann’s family will come here from Reynolds, Ind.  The sale was conducted by Harold C. McClain of Fort Wayne, who was named receiver for the Brownie drug store several weeks ago.



John Bauers, Mgr. Elect. & Furn.

The News-Sentinel, July 7, 1943

          Milton Camblin, manager of the Boston Store, announced today that John Bauers of Peru has been placed in charge of the store’s electrical, furniture and window display department.

          Bauers has been associated with the Boston Store at Peru for the past 15 years. - - -He is married, the father of two children - - - - -





Raised $26,000 For Building

The News-Sentinel, July 9, 1943

          Almost $26,000 has been raised by members of the United Brethren church at Fulton to pay for the construction of a new church edifice which will replace the structure destroyed by fire on March 23, 1941.

          Completion of the finance drive was announced by church officials who said that final payment was made July 4.

          The Board of Directors of the church voted on July 13, 1941, to rebuild the structure.  Completed and dedicated, the building was the scene of special services July 4 as the last payment was made.

          The new structure has an appraisal value of $50,000.



William Willard, Moved

The News-Sentinel, July 14, 1943

          William Willard, assistant manager of the local Shultz Brothers Company variety store, will leave tomorrow for Boscobel, Wis., where he will become manager of the Shultz Brothers store, Ivan Boylan, local manager, announced today.

          Willard has been assistant manager of the local business for the past two and a half years.  His wife and daughter will move to Boscobel within a few weeks.



Employing Women in War Work

The News-Sentinel, July 20, 1943

          The Akron branch of the American Fork & Hoe Co., has begun the employment of women to do vital war work, it was announced today.

          Four women, under supervision of Alma Dixon, were employed recently and it is believed by the company that more will be added soon.  The company is now busy fulfilling war contracts.



Purchased by Mrs. G. Walle

The News-Sentinel, July 21, 1943

          Mrs. Gerald Walle, this city, has purchased the Lichtenwalter Variety Store, 824 Main street.


          The store will not be open for business until Saturday, according to Indiana bulk law.  However, the jewelry shop in the front of the establishment will be open as usual.



Opened by Milton Thacker

The News-Sentinel, July 24, 1943

          Milton Thacker has opened a used record shop in the recently-evacuated office of Maiben’s Cleaners, rear of Coplen & Shafer’s drug store.



Robert Taylo, Manager

The News-Sentinel, July 28, 1943

          Robert Taylo, formerly of Rensselaer, became manager of the local A & P store yesterday.  Taylo replaces Vernon Schell, who left for army service Tuesday.



Moved Next to Gilbert Drug Store

The News-Sentinel, July 30, 1943

          One of Rochester’s oldest businesses moved today to a different location after 54 years.

          The Coplen Taxi Company, currently owned by Gene Coplen, has moved into what was known as Norman’s Carmelcrisp shop, next to Gilbert’s drug store

          The concern was located in the Arlington Hotel when the hotel was first built in 1889, way back in the days of horseless carriages and divorceless marriages.  First owner of the then transfer-and-mail service was Hiram Morningstar.  Reynolds and Sisson owned the hotel then and Benjamin Harrison was President of the United States.

          The taxi’s past ran through two wars, the Spanish-American and the first World War.  The horseless carriage developed into the horsepower carriage, and the crowd rode on.

          Carter, Smith and Sangster took turns at owning the Arlington, but the Morningstar Taxi Company remained in its old spot.

          In 1915, James Coplen, Sr., bought out the Morningstar interest in the business and operated it himself until his death last year.

          Transfer of the taxi’s office was said to have been necessitated because of the increase in business with the war.



Purchased by Otto Beehler

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 2, 1943

          Mr. & Mrs. Hugh McMahan announced Saturday that they had sold the Rice Hotel, at Decatur, Ind, to Mr. & Mrs. Otto Beehler, of this city.  Mr. Beehler is well known in Rochester, having taught in the public schools here for 14 years.  The Beehler family will move to Decatur sometime this week.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 9, 1943

          The 24th annual Perschbacher reunion was held at the Rochester City Park on Sunday, August 8th.

          Mrs. Carrie Swinehart and son, John, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Perschbacher of Indianapolis, Mr. & Mrs. Miles Perschbacher and son, Steven, of Plymouth, Mrs. Effie Perschbacher and Mrs. Minnie Perschbacher of South Bend, Harold Kiler of Mishawaka, Mrs. Frank Striker and children, Miles and Corinne, of Chattanooga, Tenn., Mr. & Mrs. John Swartz of Elkhart, Mr. & Mrs. Robert Swinehart and children, Phoebe Nan and Judith Ann, Mrs. Anna Killer, Mrs. Maleta Snyder and son, George, Mr. & Mrs. Frederick Perschbacher and daughter, Marilyn, Mrs. Alma Shobe, Mrs. Harriett Bonine, Mr. & Mrs. Dow Haimbaugh and Mr. & Mrs. Mahlon Bair, all of Rochester were present.  Visitors were Mrs. Stevenson of Indianapolis, Mrs. Morse of Rochester and Mrs. Sue Deflater of Mishawaka.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 12, 1943

          The 29th annual Beehler Reunion was held at the Rochester City Park Sunday, August 1st, with 100 relatives in attendance.

          A basket dinner was served at the noon hour after which the afternoon was spent in visiting and also the election of officers for 1944.  A short program was given, with a report by the secretary and the historian.  Two cousins, Mrs. Scaifield and Mrs. Lindstadt from Hempstead, N.Y., were able to be present this year it being 17 years since they were able to come.  It was voted to hold the 1944 reunion at the Rochester City Park on the first Sunday in August, 1944.

          The program was as follows: cornet solo by Larry Beehler;


reading “My Automobile,” by Marvin Overmyer; reading “A Helper” by Myron Overmyer; reading, “What Ma Said To Pa” by Marjorie Steininger and a solo, “The Flower Song” by Barbara Beehler.

          Officers elected for the coming year were:   Earl Beehler, president; Lee Beehler, vice-president; Mrs. Ralph Overmyer, secretary and treasurer; Mrs. Frank Utter, historian; and the program committee for 1944 includes Mrs. Ruth Overmyer, Miss Bessie Beehler and Mrs. Edna Bunn.



Ray Herbeck

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 18, 1943

          Tonight for one night only Ray Herbeck and his band will be featured at the Colonial Gardens.  Herbeck is one of the outstanding name bands in the country, having made over 200 recordings.  No advance in prices will be made, Harry Page announced today.



Louise Carlyle

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 19, 1943

          Louise Carlyle and her orchestra will open tonight at the Colonial, and will play for the rest of the nightly dancing season.  The orchestra is one of the finest in the country, coming here from South Carolina.  Miss.   s Carlyle began directing the band when her brother, Russ Carlyle, left two weeks ago for Army service.



Iolene Messman, Fountain Clerk

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 23, 1943

          Miss Iolene Messman has accepted a part-time position as fountain clerk at the Baxter Blue Drug Store.  She succeeds Miss Jennie Johnson who resigned as of Saturday, Aug. 21.



Purchased by Overstreet’s Resort

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 24, 1943

          Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth R. Overstreet announced today that they have purchased the Dixie Gardens, rental cottage agency on Lake Manitou’s south shore, from Dr. E. McIndoo of Kokomo.

          The Dixie Gardens, which adjoins Mr. & Mrs. Overstreet’s


present beach and grocery property at Wolf’s Point, consists of ten cottages and a boat house.  The local residents will take possession of the property September 11.



J. Edward Beyer

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 26, 1943

          Many of the older residents of this community, through the recent passing of J. Edward Beyer will reflect and revere the achievements and interesting career of this former citizen of Rochester.

          “Ed” Beyer as he was more familiary known to his friends and business associates was a “builder” in every sense of the word.  Starting early in life, Mr. Beyer settled in Rochester, as an immigrant from Germany, where he engaged in the poultry and produce business on what now would be termed on a “shoestring basis.” He worked long hours through the day and night and his business thrived.  Thrived so much that he erected larger quarters, formed a partnership with his brothers and expanded the poultry and produce business into other fields in northern Indiana.

          As his venture succeded Ed Beyer branched out into other fields of endeavor.  He founded the city’s electric light and power plant and was later instrumental in establishing one of the city’s leading banks and was president of the city’s first commercial club.  Mr. Beyer throughout his long residency in Rochester was a motivating force for practically every worth-while movement or project for the betterment of the community.  Despite his sundry business interests, he was active in the religious welfare of the community and a most ardent worker in numerous charitable organizations.

          Upon closing his business career in Rochester, Mr. Beyer moved to Lake Winona where he was an instrumental force in establishing Winona Lake Assembly Grounds, the internationally famous Winona Chautauqua and the Bible Conference.  Few citizens of this community could have had a more useful and worthy career than the late “Ed” Beyer.









Phil Lavant

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 3, 1943

          Harry E. Page, of the Colonial Hotel and Terrace Gardens, Inc., today announced that the 1943 season at this popular resort place woold terminate on Saturday evening, Sept. 11.

          Phil Lavant and his orchestra of Chicago, have been engaged to furnish the music for this closing event, and a record crowd is anticipated.

          The hotel man, in an interview today stated that the ‘43 season has been the most successful he has ever experienced in his long tenure in hotel and amusement business at Manitou.  Mr. Page estimated that about 15 per cent of the season trade came from the Peru Naval Base and the major portion from the surrounding cities and Rochester young folk



Bastow Residence

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 13, 1943

          The John Gottschalk family reunion was held Sunday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. I.A. Bastow.  Approximately 50 members of the family were able to be present.

          A community dinner was served at the noon hour and the afternoon was spent socially with a short business meeting with the following officers for the coming year:   President, Mrs. Frances Mutchler, and Secretary, Mrs. I.A Bastow.



Purchased by Gordon Graham

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 16, 1943

          Gordon Graham, owner of the Graham Dairy, announced today that he had purchased the Rochester City Dairy, 610 Main street, of Harry Hogue.  Possession is to be given October

          Mr. Graham said that both dairies will be operated from the Main street address and under the name of the Rochester City Dairy.  Mr. Graham also said that only pasteurized milk will be sold.  A modern pasteurization system was installed in the Rochester City Dairy several months ago.  Mr. Hogue, who has been in the dairy business for 16 years, will move to Los Angeles, Calif., where he will make his home with his sister, Mrs. F.T. Brush.



Purchased by Arthur Moore

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 3, 1943

          It was announced today that Keller’s Inn and two cottages on the west shore of Lake Manitou near the Dam Landing have been purchasd by Arthur Moore, of Huntington.

          The sale was made by Howard Keller of South Bend, son of the late John Keller, as administrator of his father’s estate.  Mr. Moore is employed as an engineer on the Erie Railroad and will move with his family to Rochester within the coming ten or twelve days.

          Fred H. Moore, of this city, was the realtor.



Purchased by Clyde Wilson

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 3, 1943

          Clyde Wilson, of Alexandria, and former Rochester resident, announced today that he has bought the Walker Gardner home, on the north shore of Lake Manitou.  Mr. Wilson at one time owned and operated a movie theatre in this city, which was known as the Paramount.



Re-Purchased by Estil Carter

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 7, 1943

          After enjoying a three-weeks retirement from the restaurant business in Rochester, Estil (Count) Carter today announced that he has re-purchased The Peoples Cafe, 707 Main street, and will assume active control of the business, Thursday morning, Dec. 9.

          Carter, three weeks ago sold the Cafe to Ralph Clark, of Roachdale, Ind.  Clark experienced considerable difficulty in securing help and the resale was consummated today.  The Roachdale man has not announced his plans for the future.

          Mr. Carter and his wife have been engaged in the restaurant business in this city for approximately a score of years.









Purchased by A.R. Trippett

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 14, 1943

          Ralph Ludwig announced today that A.R. Trippett of Winamac has purchased the equipment and stock of his quality Shoe Repair Shop, 604 Main street.  The equipment has been moved to Winamac where Mr Trippett will open a shoe repair shop of his own.

          The manager of the shop, Albert A. Cochran, formerly of Logansport, will be employed by Mr. Trippett in a like capacity.  The local repair shop was opened six months ago by Mr. Ludwig.



Dies On Train

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 15, 1943

          Kansas City, Mo., Dec. 15. -(INS) - “Fats” Waller, piano playing Negro orchestra leader, died on the east-bound Sante Fe Chief.  Waller’s body was taken off the train at Kansas City union depot.

          The noted negro pianist and his orchestra appeared at Lake Manitou’s dance pavilion on two or three occasions during the past decade.



James Sullivan Retires

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 20, 1943

          It was announced today that James O. Sullivan, 315 Main street, has been retired from the Standard Oil Co. on a pension after serving with that concern for 29 years.  He was serving in the capacity of company’s agent in Rochester and was retired December 11th.

          Mr. Sullivan began work with the Standard Oil Company here in 1914 and was promoted to the position of manager one year later.   His successor is Samuel Myers, of Milford, Ind.,, who has been in the company’s employ for over 15 years. - - - - -



Purchases Luckenbill Funeral Home

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 21, 1943

          Ora Foster, of the Foster fneral home, this city, today annunces he has purchased the undertaking business and chapel from the heirs of the late Lorenzo Luckenbill, of Leiters Ford. - - - - -




Holds Open House

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 10, 1944

          Members of the Rochester Telphone Co. and manager of the office, Roscoe Pontius, journeyed to Akron Saturday morning and afternoon to attend open house held by the Akron Telephone Co.

          The occasion Saturday was the moving of the Akron exchange to a downstairs location.  For many years the exchangee had been located on the second story oif the Scott drug store in Akron.  The new location is situated in the vacant office of Dr. Hoffman.

          Attending from Rochester were Manager Pontius, Mr. Keim, Charlotte Harvey, and several operators.



Purchased by Byron Bailey

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 2, 1944

          Max Bailey Sr., announced today that he recently sold the partnership in the Bailey Hardware store, which was formerly controlled by George Black, to his brother Byron Bailey, of New Albany, Ind.

          The store, which was organized in 1911, was first owned jointly by George Black and Max Bailey, with Simon Bailey running the sporting goods part of the establishment.

          Upon the death of George Black recently, the store became the property of Max Bailey Sr., and was sold by him in January to his brother, Byron Bailey.

          Byron will arrive here tomorrow to begin his duties in the store and will continue as along previous lines, with Simon Bailey still in charge of the sporting goods department.



Erdmann Buys Shafer’s Share

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 21, 1944

          David Shafer, junior partner in the local Coplen & Shafer drug store, announced today that he has sold his interest in the concern to Reid Erdmann, Rochester pharmacist.  The new change in management is the fifth since the building was first opened by Jonathan Dawson in 1870.

          Dave Shafer entered partnersip with Gene Coplen in July, 1938 when George Dawson retired from the firm.  His exact plans for the


future are indefinite pending information on his exact military status.

          During Mr. Shafer’s five and one-half years as partner in the firm the store was completely remodeled and many new fixtures were added to the modern interior of the store.

          The new partner, Reid Erdmann, moved to Rochester from Richmond, Ind., last July to operate the drug store in the Times Theatre building, formerly owned by Floyd Brown.

          Stock from Mr. Erdmann’s drug store has been moved to his new location and he plans to sell the fixtures in the old store.

          The present pharmacy was established by Jonathan Dawson in 1870.  In 1887 his son, George Dawson, entered partnership with his father.  Jonathan Dawson retired in 1898 and a partnership between Nels Richter and the younger Dawson was formed under the name of Dawson and Richter.  In 1904 George Dawson purchased Richter’s interest in the store and in 1908 Gene Coplen began his duties there as a clerk.

          Mr. Coplen went to Colorado in 1909 to work and returned to Rochester the following year and bought part interest in the store.  The Dawson-Coplen partnership was dissolved in 1938 when Dave Shafer purchased Mr. Dawson’s interest.



In “Happy Land”

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 22, 1944

          Rochester moviegoers may catch a glimpse of a local soldier in the film “Happy Land” now playing at the Times Theatre.

          Anyone closely following the action can see Sgt. Conde Holloway of this city in several scenes from the movie, taken near where Sgt. Holloway was formerly stationed.

          Sgt. Holloway, the son of Mrs Don Holloway of 520 Ohio street, stands directly behind Don Ameche in one phase of the film.

          His quick rise to movie stardom happened while his company, the 107th cavalry division, was stationed at Santa Rosa, Calif.  The entire group was asked to dress as World War 1 soldiers and march in parts of “Happy Land.”

          The wife of Sgt. Holloway, the former Ellamae Brown, is now with her husband at Bellmont, Calif






Sold To Jack & Goldie Kofron

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 25, 1944

          Local attorney, William H. Deniston, announced today that he has sold the Rochester Taxi Line, 716 Main street, to Jack and Goldie Kofron.  Prior to his purchase of the taxi line, Mr. Kofron had been employed as a Stewart’s bakery r6ute man.

          Mr. & Mrs. Kofron will take complete possession of the company, Sunday, February 27h.

          Mr. Deniston purchased the taxi line several years ago from Russell See.

          The new owners announced that they intend to improve the service in a manner that will be described later.  The improvements will be made to patronize customers in a more efficient way in the future.



Purchased By Lichtenwalter

The News-Sentinel, March 6, 1944

          In a business transaction at noon today one of the oldest business firms in Rochester changed management as Everett R. Lichtenwalter purchased the George T. Ross Book Store at 826 Main street.

          Mr. Lichtenwalter bought George Ross’s interest in the firm and assumed control this morning although the establishment will still be run under the title of Ross Book Store.

          George Ross plans to maintain his radio repair service in the rear of the building while Mr. Lichtenwalter will assume ownership and management of the store.

          The building has housed a book store since its opening 52 years ago and George Ross had owned the book store for 38 years. - - - - -



Pioneers of Rochester

The News-Sentinel, March 15, 1944

          In a letter received from Roy Shields of Indianapolis, he informs local friends of the recent death of his aunt, May Shields Kochenderfer, which occurred March 1, at her home in Glendora, Calif.

          The former Rochester citizen not only supplies a rather replete obituary of his aunt, but also provides an insight into the earlier history of this community.   Mr. Shields states:

          “May Shields Kochenderfer was born in Rochester Feb. 21,


1857, only six years after the town of Rochester was incorporated.  My (Grand)father, Jesse Shields, came to Rochester in 1830 at the age of 10.  The Shields were among the first two or three white settlers in Fulton county.  Mrs. May Shields Kochenderfer’s mother was Margaret Robbins, a sister of the late Dr. Robbins and Cyrus H. Robbins, she died in 1868.  Aunt Mary’s brother, my father, William Jay Shields, and Uncle Meedy (both older) died more than 40 years ago.  My grandfather died in 1900 at the age of 80, he had lived in Rochester 70 years.

          “Aunt May had one son, Fred, now living in Glendora, and I’m the only other Shields relative.  My grandfather’s two sisters, Rhoda and Elizabeth, were the first white women residents of Fulton county.

Grandfather helped organize Fulton county in 1836, and built the first brick store building in Rochester - this is situated on the northeast corner of Main and 8th streets - he had his general store in that location from 1848 to 1888.  Aunt May married Charles Kochenderfer of Newark, Ohio, about 1880; lived in Newark about two score years and moved to Glendora about 40 years ago.  Her husband died many years ago.

          “Mrs. Kochenderfer was of the second generation of Shields family born in Indiana.  Her father, William, of Lynchburg, Va., and his mother, Elizabeth Logan (Shields) of North Carolina, came to Jennings county, Indiana, about 1800 from Virginia.  Jesse Shields came to Rochester with his older brother, William J., whose sons Robert and Samuel resided in Rochester many years.  Robert was a captain in the Civil war.  My grandfather married Mararet McClung in 1872 and she died at Glendora, Calif., in 1904.

          “Aunt May was a Seventh Day Adventist and spent every summer of the 80’s and 90’s at her father’s in Rochester.  The last time she visited in Rochester was in 1902, the year my father passed away.”



Opening in Kewanna

The News-Sentinel, March 17, 1944

          It was learned today that Mrs. Glen Ginn, who resides on a farm east of Kewanna, has rented the front part of the room recently used by Union Township Trustee Ralph Johnston, in Kewanna, and plans to convert the former office into a modern beauty shop.  Mrs. Ginn has had several years experience in the business.  Trustee Johnston has


moved his office equipment to the rear part of the room where he may be found during his office hours.   The room was recently rdecorated.



Russell Sweitzer, Manager

The News-Sentinel, March 18, 1944

          Russell Sweitzr of Kansas City, Kan., has been named manager of the local branch of the Consolidated Products Co., which is located in the Armour building on East Fourth street.

          Mr. Sweitzer, a native of Lafayette, succeeds R.N. (Bob) Toole, who left with his wife and two children Friday for Okolona, Miss., where they plan to make their future home.

          Mr. Toole has been the manager of the Rochester branch of the Consolidated Products Co. of Danville, Ill., for the past four years and was moved by his company from Rochester to Okolona, where he will also manage a branch plant for his company.

          Mr. Sweitzer is married and has two children.



NW Corner Jefferson & W. 7th

The News-Sentinel, March 21, 1944

          Officers of the newly-formed School Door Canteen today announced that formal opening of the canteen, which is situated in the northwest corner of Jefferson and 7th streets, will be held Sunday, April 2.

          A number of the ‘teen aged youngsters, together with parents, are busily engaged in cleaning, decorating and furnishing the downstairs rooms of the canteen.  - - - - -

          It was stated that after the club is fully organized and a sizeable membership has been built up it is hoped the organization may become nearly self-sustaining.



“Juke Box Junction”

The News-Sentinel, April 7, 1944

          “Juke Box Junction,” the name selected by Akron school students for their new ‘teen canteen, will be officially opened next Tuesday night, April 11, at 7;00 o’clock.

          The “Junction’s grand opening will be held the following Saturday on April 15, and special entertainment is being planned by


the adult committee.

          The new recreation center will be located in the former bakery room and has been completely redecorated by the owner, Frank Madeford.  Mr. Madeford has offered the room free, but the youngsters plan to make their canteen self-supporting as soon as possible.

          Adult committee members are Mrs. Clair Moore, Walt Harris and Max Kuhn.  Dwight Gallipo, Akron High School principal, is serving in an advisory capacity.

          The winning name was submitted by an Akron school student, Jerry Stout.

          “Juke Box Junction” will be open on Tusday and Thursday nights from 7:00 to 10:30 o’clock, Saturday nights from 7:00 to 11:00 o’clock, and Sunday afternoon from 2:00 to 5:00 o’clock.

          Soft drinks will be sold and a juke box will provide music.  Table tennis facilities will also be available.  Membership tickets may be purchased from Mary Lou Singpiel, Marion Gagnon, Ray Riley, Bill Shrout and Jeanne Whallon.



Formal Opening April 11

The News-Sentinel, April 10, 1944

          The formal opening of Rochester’s School Door Canteen, which is located in the old Robbins homestead, north of the Methodist church will be held Tuesday evening, April 11th, from seven to ten o’clock.. - -

          Mrs. N.O. Nelson will be in charge of the canteen on the week-day evenings and Mrs. Ted Olsen will supervise the play and activity on Sunday afternoons, it was stated.

          Included in the forms of recreation will be table tennis, various games and contests of skill, juke box dancing and soft drinks and candies will be available to the patrons.

          The student council of the canteen is comprised of Fred Mitchell, chairman, Gene Humphrey, “Bill” Myers,, Nedra Zimmerman and Jane Ann Smith.

          Officers for the canteen during the ensuing year are:   President, Mrs. A.C. Bradley; Dirctors, Bill Delaney, J.M McCarty, A.V. Purdue, Mrs. L.V. Louderback, Ed Clay, and J. Van Fassen.






A & P Store

Noble Isley, Resigns

The News-Sentinel, April 20, 1944

          Noble Isley, who has been employed as assistant manager of the local A & P store, has resigned to accept a position as assistant manager of the Peru A & P store, it was announced today.  Mr & Mrs. Isley will take up their residence in Peru as soon as a suitable home is located.



Charles E. Elmore, Manager

The News-Sentinel, April 29, 1944

          Charles E. Elmore of Brownsburg has recently been appointed manager of the Stand Elevator Co’s plant in Kewanna, it was learned today.  Mr. Elmore succeeds H.S. Button who has been assigned to one of the company’s plants at Otterbein.



Purchased by Mrs. A.M. Snaman

The News-Sentinel, May 3, 1944

          Announcement was made today of the sale of The Fulton Leader by the owners, Robert Cribb and Mrs. Ruby Cribb, to Mrs. A.M. Snaman of Rochester.  The change was made effective May 1 and today’s issue of The Leader carried a front page story of the new ownership.  It was stated that the policy of the paper will remain the same as under the guidance of Mr. Cribb.

          Mr. & Mrs. Snaman have purchased the Cripp home at Fulton and will move and make their permanent home there at once.

          Mrs. Snaman has had considerable experience in the journalistic and teaching field. She graduated from Lowell State university and studied at Boston university, New England Conservatory of Music, Indiana university extension and Chicago university extension.  She studied journalism at Boston university and taught the subject in high shool at Fort Wayne.  She taught in the Fort Wayne schools for 16 years and was principal of the Junior High school there.  She also held a position on the county welfare department several years.

          Robert Cribb purchased The Fulton Leader in 1938 and he and Mrs. Cribb have published the Republican paper since that time.  Mr. Cribb will take his physical examination for the U.S. Armed services on May 5.




Arthur Shireman, Janitor

The News-Sentinel, May 6, 1944

          Officials at the Rohester city hall today are preparing congratulations to Arthur Shireman, janitor, who will celebrate his 75th birthday Monday.  The one-time member of the Rochester city band has worked for a number of years on Fulton county farms and for many years with the Brackett Wholesale grocery.



Paul Hand 18-piece Orchestra

The News-Sentinel, May 16, 1944

          Paul Hand and his 18-piece orchestra will help toiuh of Lake Season. - - - - -



To Build Walnut Church

The News-Sentinel, May 16, 1944

          A.R. Fansler, head of the Fansler Lumber Co. of this city, today announces that his firm has been awarded the contract to build a United Brethren church at Walnut, north-east of this city.  The contract price is $31,846.00

          Work is to start just as soon as a permit is obtained from the WPB offices at South Bend.



Self-Service Market

The News-Sentinel, May 18, 1944

          Work is expected to be completed sometime this week on the Rochester A & P Food store, it was announced today by Manager Robert Taylo. - - - - -

          The other local grocery now operating on the self-serve basis is the Berkheiser I G A food store. - - - - -



Purchased by Sebastian Munive

The News-Sentinel, May 31, 1944

          Mrs. Minnie (Hawkins) Martin announced today the sale of the Hawkins Cafe, 719 Main street, to Mr. & Mrs. Sebastian Munive of Chicago, Ill. - - - - -  Mrs. Martin, for 20 years owner and operator of


the cafe, will manage the dining room of the Lakeview hotel.  The lake resort is owned by Mrs. Martin’s husband, Emil (Pop) Martin.



Goes to Indpls. Times

The News-Sentinel, June 1, 1944

          Robert Cribb of Fulton, former owner of the Fulton Leader, has accepted a position in the advertising department of the Indianapolis Times, Indianapolis, Ind., and will soon move to that city.

          Mr. & Mrs. Cribb have purchased a property in Indianapolis, and recently sold their Fulton residence to Mr. & Mrs. Ed Snaman of this city.  Mrs. Snaman is the owner and editor of the Fulton Leader.



Sold to Undisclosed Buyer

The News-Sentinel, June 2, 1944

          Managers Ray Glass and Lisle Krieghbaum, of the Rex and Times theaters respectively, today announced the sale of the Rex theater to an undisclosed firm. - - - - -(Alliance Corp)



Bookings For 3 Weeks

The News-Sentinel, June 3, 1944

          Harry E. Page, owner of the fashionable Colonial hotel and Terrace Gardens, today announced the names of three well known orhestras slated for performanes at the popular Lake Manitou resort hotel in the next three weeks

          Bob Smith and his band - - - - tonight only and Leonard Keller and his orchestra will mark the official opening of the Colonial the following Saturday night in a single evening stand. - - - - -

          Sunday June 11th, will find Fred Campbell and his band opening a two weeks’ engagement at the lake resort. - - - -



Doyne Hoover, Waiter

The News-Sentinel, June 8, 1944

          Doyne Hoover, son of Mr. & Mrs. Earl Hoover of this city, has accepted a position of waiter in the Coffee Shop here.  Hoover is attending Ball State Teachers college at Muncie.




Purchased by Farm Bureau

The News-Sentinel, June 29, 1944

          In a business transaction closed Thursday morning, Rochester’s oldest business firm, The Ross Bros. Machine Shop and Foundry became the property of the Fulton County Farm Bureau Co-Operative Assn. - - - - -

          The purchase was made from the two surviving Ross brothers, Albert and Loy, who are retiring from active business.  The Ross machine shop and foundry was founded approximately 80 years ago by their father and throughout that long tenure the business has never changed hands.

          Donald Ross, a grandson of the founder, oiccupies one portion of the large one-story brick building for his garage and machine shop and will continue in that location, it was stated.



Buys Interest Gas City Pub. Co.

The News-Sentinel, July 1, 1944

          Robert Cribb, former editor and publisher of the Fulton Leader, has purchased a half interest in the Gas City Publishing Co., Inc., and will be associated with Walter L. Leach, former owner, it was announced today.

          Complete reorganization of the Grant county firm with Leach remaining as president, Miss Virginia Weeks, vice-president; Mrs. Robert Cribb, secretary, and Mr Cribb, treasurer, was made recently in Gas City.

          The revamped publishing company publishes the Gas City Journal and Jonesboro Journal, and operates a huge job printing plant.  The company is located 10 miles south of Marion in Grant county.

          Cribb, publisher of the Fulton Leader, Fulton, for six years, recently sold the newspaper to Mrs. Alice Snaman.  Mr. & Mrs. Cribb have purchased a home in Gas City and yesterday moved their household goods to that city.









Purchased by Edward Snaman

The News-Sentinel, July 3, 1944

          W. Henry Myers, publisher and editor of The Kewanna Herald the past 20 years, has sold The Herald to Edward H. Snaman, attorney-at-law, of Rochester.

          The transaction was consumated July 1 and Mr. Snaman has taken over his new duties as publisher and editor although Mr. Myers is to remain with Mr. Snaman for the next 30 days.  There will be no change in the policy of the paper and service will go on as usual without interruption.

          Mr. Snaman has for the past two years been in the service of the State of Indiana, Department of Conservation, in Fulton county; prior thereto practiced law in Fort Wayne and Allen county for 14 years.  He will continue his practice of law in addition to operating the Herald on East 8th street, Rochester and Kewanna.



Edw. H. Snaman

The News-Sentinel, July 5, 1944

          Atty. Edw. H. Snaman of this ciy has opened his law office, 112 East 8th street, this city.  Mr. Snaman practiced law for over 14 yars in Fort Wayne and for the past two years has been employed by the Department of Conservation.  He resigned this office as of July 1.



Nancy Dawson, New Buyer

The News-Sentinel, July 5, 1944

          Miss Nancy Dawson, who was formerly employed at Wolf & Dessaur in Fort Wayne, has accepted the position of buyer at M. Wile & Sons.  She will replace Mrs. Alvan Sauer, who will leave soon to join her husband, M/Sgt Sauer, stationed at Oak Ridge, Tenn.   Miss Dawson is a former Fulton county girl.










Hold Important Positions

The News-Sentinel, July 5, 1944

          Word has been received here by Mrs. Alice Shipley, that her son, Max O., has recently purchased The Milespost, a weekly newspaper at Ames, Iowa.  Mr Shipley has already assumed the management of the weekly which is rated as one of the best in the state.

          Max received his early training in newspaper work at the old Rochester Republican and upon leaving this city he managed a large weekly at Iron River, Mich., for a number of years.

          Frank W., another son of Mrs. Shipley, who was raised here, recently was appointed foundry manager of the Caterpillar Tractor Co. of Peoria, Ill.



Relates Hartford Circus Fire

The News-Sentinel, July 10, 1944

          A vivid description of the Hartford, Conn., circus tragedy, in which 140 people lost their lives and scores were injured, was painted in a letter from Donna Rhinehart, Ringling Brothers-Barnum and Bailey performer, to her father, Charles Rhinehart, local shoe store manager.

          A scene of horror intermingled with grief was told by Donna, who was in the women’s dressing room at the time the fire broke out.

          In her letter, she stated that her attention was diverted to the “big top” when noise sounding like escaping animals was emanating.  The rest now history, was a dreadful catastrophe to Donna and all other members of the circus.

          The Talma High School graduate was named “Queen of the Circus,” and rode at the head of the parade opening the show.  Marian, her sister, is an aerialist and does a roller skating number and works elephants in the ring.

          The family moved here from Francesville two years ago when Mr. Rhinehart became manager of the Miller-Jones shoe store.










Ted Fio Rita

The News-Sentinel, July 10, 1944

          Ted Fio Rita and his popular orchestra will be at the Colonial hotel for one night only, July 20, Harry E. Page announced today.- - -

          Sharon Rogers and her all-girl orchestra opened a two weeks engagement last night at the Colonial hotel - - - -/

          The all-girl orchestra succeeds Bob Marty and his University of Wisconsin band who provided music for the past two weeks at the lake resort.



Purchased by Deniston & Atkinson

The News-Sentinel, July 11, 1944

          Attorney William Deniston and Wayne Atkinson, both of Rochester, announced today that they have purchased the “Streamliner,” local drive-in cafe at Ninth & Madison streets, from Mr. & Mrs. Robert Stoner.

          The purchaser will take immediate possession and continue in operation.

          This establishment, which was opened in 1939 by Mr. & Mrs. Stoner, features sandwiches and soft drinks Stoner is employed at the Studebaker plant in South Bend.



Proprietor of Wabash Airport

The News-Sentinel, July 11, 1944

          John Whittenberger, son of Mr. & Mrs. Milt Whittenberger, of Rochester, and is now proprietor of a newly established airport at the north edge of Wabash, it was revealed in a recent interview that he averages three out-of-town passenger trips a week. - - - - -

          Fifteen students, men and boys all beginners, are now taking flying lessons at the Whittenberger airport, and several girls are understood to be considering entering the course.









James C. Barnes, Sub-Station Operator

The News-Sentinel, July 18, 1944

          James C. Barnes, city meter reader for the local Public Service Co., for the past several years has been elevated to the position of sub-station operator at the local plant, it was announced today by Manager Herb Owens.  The order becomes effective tomorrow.



Being Served Our Army in France

The News-Sentinel, July 21, 1944

          Captain William Callahan, of this city, now in action in France, reported recently to his parents, Mr. & Mrs. George Callahan, RR 6, that the first canned rations received by the American army after the Normandy invasion contained Rochester Brand Fancy Whole Kernel Corn,

          The corn, processed in the Rochester Canning Co. Factory, was shipped to an assembly center, repacked into special containers along with a variety of canned vegetables, meat, cereals and other food rations and shipped oversas.

          The ration, known as 10 in 1, is the most popular among Anmerican armies in the field.



Buys Building at 604 Main

The News-Sentinel, July 24, 1944

          In a recent real estate tranaction, Harley McCarter of this city, purchased the business building located at 604 Main street, from the Minta Holeman heirs.  Mr. McCarter has already taken possession of the building, where he is operating his restaurant business.  He was formerly located in the Fromm building, 514 Main.



Will Burn Long Standing Notes

The News-Sentinel, July 26, 1944

          Rev. David Livengood, minister of the Rochester United Brethren church announced today that - - - - Sunday, the congregation will burn notes of a long standing debt, that were paid in the past four months. - - - -




Purchased by Goldie Hindel

The News-Sentinel, July 28, 1944

          Mrs. Goldie Hindel, experienced cafe operator from Plymouth, has purchased the Hawkins Cafe, 719 Main street, from Sebastian Munieve, it was learned today.

          Munieve bought the cafe from Mrs. Emil Martin, June 1st and sold the establishment because of the illness of his wife, who is now confined to a Chicago hospital.

          For a number of years, Mrs. Hindel owned a Plymouth restaurant and had charge of the Plymouth Country Club for several seasons.  She plans to reopen Hawkins Cafe, Sunday, July 30th.



Office Moved

The News-Sentinel, July 29, 1944

          Mrs. Charles G. Wallace, local Justice of the Peace, announced today that the office will be changed from 704-1/2 Main street, to 800-1/2 Main street, above the Coplen & Erdmann pharmacy.  The Justice of the Peace will move into her new headquarters some time this week



Barney Rapp

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 2, 1944

          Barney Rapp and his New Englanders, popular Mid-West dance band, will be featured at the Colonial hotel for one night only, Thursday, August 10, it was announced today by Harry E. Page, owner of the Lake Manitou resort. - - - -

          Sharon Roger and her orchestra returns to Colonial Sunday night for a two weeks’ engagement succeeding Bobbie Baker and band who have been playing there for the past two weeks.



Will Open Saturday

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 4, 1944

          A “Thrift Shop.” featuring everything from ‘teen age wearing apparel to furniture will open Saturday at Akron in the room now occupied by the Youth Canteen.

          The enterprise is sponsored by the Married People’s class of the Akron Methodist Church and will remain open on Saturdays only.- - -



To Open Monday

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 4, 1944

          The Fulton County Farm Bureau announces the opening of the new repair and machine shop for Monday, Aug 7.  The business is located in the one-story brick building on East 8th street which the bureau recently purchased from the Ross brothers.

          The new shop is modernly equipped for the repair of all kinds of farm machinery and equipment.  The machine shop will be operated by Vernon Strayer, who comes here from Buchanan, Mich.  Strayer has had years of experience in this kind of work and comes highly recommended.  Billy Marshall of this city will be in charge of the mechanical department.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 4, 1944

          The tenth annual Johnson Reunion was held recently at the Rochester City Park, with 38 members present.  A basket dinner was served at the noon hour and the officers for the ensuing year were elected.   They are Irvin Walters, of Plymouth, president; Ethel Johnson Nickels, of Rochester, secretary-treasurer; Ethel Walters, Perry Walters, and Ida Smith, program committee

          Refreshments were served in the afternoon and games and contests were the diversions.

          The eleventh annual reunion will be held at the same date, July 30th, in the Rochester City Park in 1945.



Now in Operation

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1944

          A garment factory manufacturing men’s sportswear is now in operation at Kewanna under the management of Mr. & Mrs. N. Harris of Winamac, owners of the Harris Manufacturing Co., there.

          The new establishment, devoted to manufacturing of jackets and filling of government contracts, was opened Thursday at Kewanna with a staff of ten.  The Harris plant in Winamac employs 30 persons.

          Several of the present employees living in Kewanna have been working in the Winamac factory and are now in the new establishment.




Purchased by Ralph Kramer

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 5, 1944

          Mr. & Mrs. Estil Carter have announced sale of the People’s Cafe to Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Kramer of Indianapolis.  Possession will be given on Wednesday, August 9.

          Mr. Kramer, Indiana Motor Bus driver, holds highest seniority rights with that company.  Mrs. Kramer is an experienced cafe operator and has been in charge of the Hook Drug Co. Cafeteria in Indianapolis for several years.  Both are well known in Rochester.

          Mr. & Mrs. Carter, operators of the People’s Cafe for the last nine years, have no immediate plans.



Corn Goes to New Guinea

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 8, 1944

          Corn packed by the Rochester Canning Co, has now reached the extremeties of the globe according to word received today.

          Carl Hedges, city, stationed on New Guinea, reports that he unpacked several cans of the Rochester corn while on kitchen police, commenting that “I knew they were good for I helped can them.”

          Another instance of Rochester packed corn reaching the battlefront, was recordd on the Normandy beachhead where Capt. William Callahan reported that he had eaten some of it in army’s favorite 10-in-1 ration. - - - - -



To House Fire Equipment

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 9, 1944

          At a continued meeting last night the Rochester City council completed the purchase of the building west of the City hall where the new fire figting truck and equipment will be housed.

          Improvements on the building will be made by the city at a later date. - - - - -









Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 9, 1944

          The 34th annual reunion of the Braman family was held August 6th, at the City Park with 55 present.

          A community dinner was served at the noon hour and a program followed in the afternoon.

          The officers for the ensuing year are as follows:   John Braman, president; Mrs. Loyd Hammond, secretary and treasurer; Miss Marjorie Braman who held that office for the past nine years, resigned.

          The 1945 reunion will be held the first Sunday in August at the City Park



Antoinette Behringer

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 15, 1944

          Mrs. Antoinette Behringer, of this city, who has conducted the Jack & Jill Kindergarten here for the past year, will go to the Indiana Soldiers Home, Knightstown, next Monday where she has been appointed assistant governess of the children’s division of the home.  Mrs. Behringer was formerly associated with the Villa Maria Academy for Girls at Frontenac, Minn.  She is the mother of Mrs. Hal Halstead of this city.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 16, 1944

          About 30 relatives were in attendance at the Perschbacher reunion held Aug. 13 at the Rochester City Park.

          A community dinner was served at the noon hour and a meeting followed in the afternoon.  Miles S. Perschbacher of Plymouth, president of 1944, was in charge of the meeting and Mrs. Perschbacer gave reports of the meeting of the previous year.

          Frederick Perschbacher is the president for the coming year and Mrs. Perschbacher the secretary-treasurer.

          Out-of-town guests were Mr. & Mrs. Henry M. Perschbacher and Miss Meacy Perschbacher of Indianapolis; Rev. and Mrs. M.L. Perschbacher of Three Oaks, Mich.; and Mrs. Carries Swinehart and Mr. & Mrs Fred Swinehart and famiily of Mishawaka.




Purchased by Eckart and Fox

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 19, 1944

          Goldies Grill, 719 Main street, was sold Friday afternoon for an undisclosed sum by the owner, Mrs. Goldie Hinkle, Plymouth, to W.W. Eckart and L. Fox, both of this city.

          Mr. Eckart and Mr. Fox, both former cafe proprietors, have not yet officialy renamed the restaurant although the title now under consideration is “Club Cafe.”   For years the restaurant was known as Hawkins Cafe after the owner Mrs. Emil (Hawkins) Martin, who operated the firm for over 10 years.

          Mrs. Hinkle plans to return to Plymouth.



Rochester City Park

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 23, 1944

          The 27th annual Holloway reunion was held at the Rochester City Park, August 20t with approximately 90 people enjoying a community dinner at the noon hour and the business meeting, conducted by Elmer Holloway, during the afternoon.

          A program was held and Patty Alspach gave a delightful reading; Donna and Patty Alspach sang a duet; Emer Walters, Elmer Hoilloway, Mrs. Charles Walters, Elvin Holloway and Mrs. Woodrow Alspach favored the group with musical selections.



Liquidation To Begin

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 25, 1944

          Liquidation of the State Bank of Akron was revealed today by Aaron S. Berger, president of the firm, to become effective September 1.  On that date the company will begin its process of liquidation.

          Reason for the sudden action was given by Mr. Bergr as inability to hire enough experienced personnel.

          The State Bank was organized 34 years ago and has been in its present location since the reign of V.J. Lidecker as president of the bank in 1919.

          Present officers and directors include:   Aaron S. Berger, president; Alvin S. Clinker, vice-president; Roy Jones, cashier; Merrill Whittenberger, E.E. Meredith, Roy Meredith and Noah Barnhisel.




James Spencer, Sports Editor

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 29, 1944

          James Spencer, sophomore of RHS, is the new sports editor for The News-Sentinel.  James supplants Bill Downs, who has entered the armed services.

          The new sports writer will cover the remaining games at the softball lot and high school sports activities which will soon get underway.  The new member of The News-Sentinel staff is the son of Mr. & Mrs. Eugene Spencer of this city.



Ray Wildermuth Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 29, 1944

          Approximately 40 people attended the Neff reunion held Sunday at the country home of Mr. & Mrs. Ray Wildermuth, southeast of this city.

          A community dinner was served at the noon hour and the program of the afternoon consisted of short talks by the guests.

          Out-of-Town guests present were Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Kramer of Warsaw; Mr. & Mrs. Russell Smith and daughter, of Wabash; and Mr. & Mrs. Floyd Neff, of Fort Wayne.



Harry Bradway, Editor

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 1, 1944

          Beginning Monday, Sept. 4, Harry Bradway will assume the responsibilities of editing the Akron News, succeeding Mrs. Claude Billings, who will take a much-needed vacation and later divide her time between Akron and Indianapolis, where Mr Billings is serving as secretary of the Republican state committee.  Bradway has been connected with the News since 1937, but resigned last April to take a baseball tryout.










Purchases Akron State Bank Bldg.

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 1, 1944

          The Akron Exchange State bank acquired the State Bank building, furniture and fixtures and some of the bank’s collateral in a deal completed today, according to a letter sent out this week by the bank to former State bank depositors.

          Several tenants, including the Akron News, will be affected by the sale.   The present State bank quarters will be occupied by Aaron S. Berger until the first of January.  Eventually, the new owners plan to make alterations and move their bank to the State bank building.



Purchased by Harold Reese

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 11, 1944

          In a deal closed last week, W.J. Russell sold the Third Street Grocery to Harold Reese.  Fred Reese, father of Harold, is managing the store.  Mr. Reese was formerly employed at the Bashore Feed store.  No changes are planned for the store.

          Mr. Russell is retiring from the grocery business due to ill health.  He had owned and operated the grocery for five months.



Charles Rhinehart, To Rensselaer

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 11, 1944

          Charles Rhinehart, manager of the Rochester Miller-Jones Shoe Store for the past 27 months, has been transferred by his company to the store at Rensselaer.  Before coming to this city, Mr. Rhinehart had been employed at the Rensselaer store.  Due to the housing shortage in Rensselaer, Mr. Rhinehart and family will move to their home in Francesville.

          The new manager will be here Tuesday, going over the stock with Mr. Rhinehart and getting acquainted with the store.  The Rhinehart’s two daughters are performers with the Ringling Bros circus.









Purchased by Will J. Delaney

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 11, 1944

          Will J. Delaney of Rochester, son-in-law of Hugh McMahan, local postmaster, has purchased a furniture store in Michigan City.  Before going to California several years ago, where he was in the furniture business, Mr. Delaney was manager of the Barrett hotel, now the Arlington hotel. - - - - -

          The store will be known as the Delaney Furniture Co.  Mr. Delaney has moved his family to (Michigan City), and they now live in Long Beach.



Patrick Clery, New Manager

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 12, 1944

          Patrick Clery of Vincennes is the new manager of the Miller-Jones Shoe store.  Mr. Clery arrived here Monday evening and today he and Charles Rhinehart are taking inventory oif the stock.  Mr. Rhinehart will finish his work here this evening.

          Mr. Clery, who received an honorable discharge from the Navy on June 29 has spent seven weeks with the Miller-Jones company in Vincennes prior to coming here.  He will reside with Mr. & Mrs. William Sowers on South Main street.  Mr. Clery stated this morning that he liked Rochester and hopes to make many friends here. - - - -



Greeted by Roosevelt

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 22, 1944

          In one of the press photos released by the U.S. Navy News Service, Bernard Clayton, Jr., is shown shaking hands with President Roosevelt.

          The photo was taken at a news conference which President Roosevelt held with press representatives during his trip to the Hawaiian Islands.  Clayton, who is correspondent for Life and Time magazines, has been stationed at Honolula for the past three years.  He is the son of Mr. & Mrs. Bernard Clayton of Zionsville Ind., former residents of this city.  Bernard Jr., who has a host of friends in Rochester, is now spending a brief vacation with his parents at Zionsville.




Sold to Wales & Burkett

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 26, 1944

          Florian Dovichi today announced the sale of his restaurant and tavern business, situated at 721 Main street, to Ora Wales and Otis Burkett, both of Fulton county.

          Mr. Wales has been engaged in farming in the Burton neighborhood and Burkett was reared near Richland Center.  The new owners stated they were applying for a license to operate a tavern and cafe.

          Pending action on their application the business will continue in operation as a restaurant and soft drink parlor.

          Mr. & Mrs Wales and family have purchasd a home on South Jefferson street where they plan to reside in the near future, and Mr. & Mrs. Burktt and family have taken up their residency on East Ninth street, this city.

          Mr. Dovichi, when interviewed concerning his plans for the future, stated he would take a much needed vacation and then perhaps announce his intentions of continuing in business.

          Dovichi opened business in this city in 1912, in the same building which he occupied by his cafe.  He started in business with a wholesale fruit store and later operated a candy and cigar store for a long number of years.



Purchased by Don Pownall

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 11, 1944

          It was announced today that the Fulton Hardware store owned by Rouch and Norris has been sold to Don Pownall, a farmer residing near Fulton.  Mr. Pownall recently sold his farm and is taking immediate possession of the hardware.



Charles Martin, Manager

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 13, 1944

          Charles Flagg today announced he has secured a manager for the Tom Thumb Cafe in order that he may enter the Veterans’ hospital at Indianapolis for treatment.

          Charles Martin, an experienced restaurant operator of South Bend, will take over active management of the cafe on Monday, Oct.



Ellsworth Hess, Agent

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 14, 1944

          Ellsworth Hess, former resident of Rochester, agent for the American Railway Express Co., has been transferred from St. John’s, Mich., to Plymouth.  Mr. & Mrs. Hess and daughers will move to Plymouth in the near future.



Purchased by W.H. Myers

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 21, 1944

          W.H. Myers, former editor of the Kewanna Herald, recently purchased The Quality Printers job shop at 115 West Washington street in Plymouth.  The Myers have already taken over the business and expect to move to Plymouth as soon as a house is available.



Get Large Contract

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 23, 1944

          Burton & Miller, plumbing and heating company of this city, have been awarded the plumbing contract for 190 housing units located in Grand Island, Neb.  This is a Federal Public Housing Authority project.  Their shop here will continue to be open.



Diesel-Drawn Freight

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 26, 1944

          An innovation in railroading was witnessed by a few local people today when one of the Erie’s new streamline Diesel power engines passed eastward though Rochester at 1:30 pm. drawing a loaded freight train which was approximately a half-mile in length.

          The speed of the train was clocked slightly in excess of 60 miles per hour as she whizzed past the local depot.

          Charles Quackenbush stated that the Erie had recently purchased 17 of these new streamlined Diesel engines which are to be used on freight runs on the eastern end of the line.   One of those giant Diesels, it is stated, will do the work of at least two steam engines and are far superior than the coal burners.





Purchases Johnson Dairy

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 31, 1944

          In a transaction made late Monday, W.M. (Mac) Thompson, owner of the Sanitary Dairy and Ice Cream Co., of this city, purchased the Johnson Dairy business and equipment, located at 110 East Seventh street, this city.  The new owner will take possession of the Johnson business as of Nov 1.

          Mr. Thompson will combine both firms and operate the dairy and dairy products business under the name of the Sunshine Dairy, of Rochester, Ind.  The new firm will employ from eight to 10 people and the plant will be located at the Seventh street address.

          Both pasteurized and homogenized milk will be available as well as all kinds of dairy products. - - - - -

          Mr. Thompson came here from Hammond, Ind, Jan. 1, at which time he purchased the Sanitary Dairy and Ice Cream Co., has had many years of experience in the dairy business.  Mr. & Mrs. Thompson and two daughters reside at the Sunshine farm at the end of West Eleventh street, which they purchased last winter.

          Ford Johnson stated today that he would occupy the building now occupied by the Sanitary Dairy Co. on East Eighth street, where he will engage in the wholesaling and retailing of ice cream and also carry a full line of dairy products for the retail trade.

          The Johnson Dairy has been in operation in Rochester for the past 12 years during which time the elder Johnson and his son Bud have built up a clientele which extends to all parts of Fulton county and surrounding counties



Purchased by Jack Kofron

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 31, 1944

          Announcement has been made of the sale of the Coplen Taxi Co., by Gene Coplen to Mr. & Mrs. Jack Kofron, owners of the Rochester Taxi Co.  The purchasers will consolidate the two taxi lines and operate them under the name of the Rochester Taxi Co., from their stand.  The sale involved two cabs.  The Coplen Taxi Co., has been in operation for 28 years and was founded by the late James Coplen, father of Gene Coplen.  Mr. & Mrs. Kofron purchased the Rochester Taxi Co. a year ago from Attorney William Deniston.




Destroyed by Fire

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 31, 1944

          The Alspach Bros. cider and sorghum mill at Leiters Ford was completely destroyed by a fire of unknown origin Monday night.  The fire was discovered at 12:30 o’clock last night and the Culver fire department was called, but the fire had gained too great a headway before they arrived.

          Ephriam and Alfred Alspach, owners of the mill, have been in business for 50 years.  The total loss has not been estimated but it is covered by insurance.



Earl Sisson, City Editor

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 6, 1944

          Two changes in The News-Sentinel’s news staff became effective today.

          Earl D. Sisson, former secretary of the Fulton county OPA and former newspaper man, has accepted the post of city editor and Mrs. Alice Miller, who has been serving in that capacity for the past few weeks, will take over the duties of society editor.

          Mrs. Martha Walton, society editor for the past year, is resigning as of Nov. 11.



Branch Office Opened

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 11, 1944

          Mrs. Alice Snaman, publisher of the Fulton Leader, reported today that she is opening up a branch office of The Leader in the law offices of her husband, Ed Snaman, which are located at 112 East Eighth street, this city.



Mrs. Harold Day, Owner

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 4, 1944

          The Frock Shop, an exclusive ladies-to-wear salon will open tomorrow, Dec. 5, according to announcement today by the owner, Mrs. Harold Day.  A line of distinctively new, modish and exclusive items - - - will be carried. - - - - The Frock Shop is located at 115 W. Eighth street, at the rear of Coplen & Erdmann drug store



Purchased by Benjamin Nutt

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 29, 1944

          Albert Brown, of Wakarusa, Ind., today announced the sale of his greenhouse on North Fulton avenue, to Benjamin Nutt of Mexico, Ind.  The new owner, who has had long experience as a horticulturist, plans to re-open the greenhouse at an early date.



Buys Own Circus

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 15, 1945

          Friends here have been advised that Clyde Beatty, former star wild animal trainer of the Cole Bros. Clyde Beatty circus of this city, has purchased the equipment and title of the Wallace Bros. Circus, and that he will appear in person with that organization again this season.

          On his staff, Beatty includes locally-known circus folks:   Jack Joyce, Jr., ringmaster; Victor Robbins, band director and R.B. Dean, general agent.  A number of past Cole Bros. performers, including Miss Jean Allen, will troupe with Beatty in 1945.

          For the past several years Beatty has operated a zoological garden near Fort Lauderdale, Fla., and has been connected during the summer seasons with various traveling organizations.  The Wallace Bros. Show winters at York, N.C.



Purchased by Wm. F. Lightfoot

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 16, 1945

          Mr. & Mrs. Chas. Martin today announced the sale of the Tom Thumb cafe to Mr. & Mrs. Wm. F. Lightfoot of this city.  The Martins came here from South Bend several months ago, having purchased the local cafe and tavern from Chas. Flagg.  They have returned to South Bend where they will reside.  Lightfoot plans several improvements in the place.  He has already taken possession.










In New Home

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 19, 1945

          A new business building, situated at 603-605 East Ninth street, this city, has been completed and is now occupied by the Rochester Farm Equipment Co., which is owned by Harry Cooper, former Newcastle township farmer and stockman.

          Mr. Cooper, who has been engaged in the farm implement business for the past seven years, is agent for the Oliver, Cletrac and Ford farm implement and tractor lines and carries a complete line of parts in stock.

          Beverage Baird of Fulton, well-known implement service man, will be in charge of the spacious repair and service room which is located in the rear of the building.

          The new one-story structure is 40x85 feet over all, built of cement block and with brick veneer facing across the front.  In the fore-front of the structure is a 20x30 ft. show room, a neatly arranged office room and a most complete small parts filling room.

          The building is equipped throughout with fluorescent lights and presents a most inviting appearance.

          This implement firm formerly occupied a smaller building located just east of the present site.



Purchased by Carl Newcomb

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 22, 1945

          In a deal consummated Saturday afternoon, Robert P. (Bob) Moore announced the sale of the Fulton County Community Sales Barn to Carl Newcomb, well-known local farmer and stockman..  Mr. Newcomb will, it is understood, take possession this week and will conduct his first sale on Saturday, Jan. 27.

          The sales barn and yards at the Erie railroad and Fulton avenue, this city, are among the best known livestock markets in northern Indiana.  They were built by Moore about 10 years ago, after he had assumed ownership from his brother, Levi P. Moore, nationally known hog man, and secretary of the Chester White Record Association with offices in Rochester.

          Bob Moore, also a breeder of Chester Whites and operator of Forest Farms, northwest of this city, will hold a dissolution sale in the near future, at which time he will dispose of all such holdings.  He plans


then, it is said, to devote full time to the sale of O.M.S. Buttermilk feed products for which he is the state agent.

          Mr. Newcomb is well-known in stock breeding and sales circles in Indiana, having been one of the larger buyers of horses, mules and other liivestock in this section of the state.



Purchased by Bessie DeLand

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 22, 1945

          A business transfer involving the Third street grocery has been announced, with Mrs. Bessie DeLand having acquired the stock of groceries and meats from Fred Reese.  The new proprietor has taken possession - - - - -.



Ora Mosher, Retires

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 24, 1945

          Ora Mosher, operator at the Erie-Nickel Plate tower, has been retired on pension after 44 years service with the Erie.  He and Mrs. Mosher left immediately for Daytona Beach, Fla., for a visit with their son, Cpl. Nelson Mosher and wife.  Mosher had served as a telegraph operator, agent and towerman at Aldine, Disko, Crown Point, Leiters Ford and Rochester.



Once Proposed

The News-Sentinel, Jan. 27, 1945

          Recently Harry O. Garman, a conulting engineer of Indianapolis, published a booklet in which he wrote a very interesting history of the canals which were constructed and used in Indiana.  These were built in the period between 1830 and 1870, and at one time they formed the backbone of commerce in the Hoosier State.  The coming of the railroad marked the end of the canals and by 1870 all of them had gone out of use. - - - - -

          Of interest to people of Rochester and Fulton county is the fact that it was once planned to build a canal connecting with Lake Michigan at Gary and coming down through Valparaiso, Knox, Rochester, and then connecting with the famous Erie Canal at Huntington.  However, this canal never got beyond the planning stage as the railroads had already begun to take over freight business. - - - -



Purchased by Claude Billings

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 1, 1945

          The Fulton Leader, for the past few months owned and published by Mrs. Ed Snaman of Rochester, was sold late Wednesday to Claude Billings, publisher of the Akron News.

          Mrs. Snaman stated the sale was made with considerable regret but that the manpower shortage as well as restrictions on newsprint left no other course of action.

          Mr. Billings, for the present time, plans to suspend the publication of The Leader and is moving the plant equipment to his plant at Akron.  It is presumed that the new owner will feature Fulton news in the Akron publication.

          The Leader was a Republican newspaper and has been published for well over 50 years.  Ed Snaman, owner of The Kewanna Herald, recently suspended publication of that county weekly for similar reasons.

          The Snamans will reside in Rochester, where Mr. Snaman is engaged as a conservation officer and also is in the law business.



At Near Capacity

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 2, 1945

          Topps Mfg. Co., of this city, at the present date is working at near capacity peak on war and commercial orders, according to a survey made today by a representative of The News-Sentinel.

          This local factory which opened its business here in December of 1938, in the two-story brick building situate on the southeast corner of Main and Fifth street, is devoting about 60 percent of its production to war orders and 40 percent to its established commercial trade. - - - - -



DePauw Women Students

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 2, 1945

          Greencastle, Ind., Feb. 2 - Establishment of the McMahan Scholarship Foundation at DePauw university was announced today by President Clyde E. Wildman.  Given to DePauw by Mr. & Mrs. Otto McMahan, Rebabelle McMahan Boswell of Rochester, and Robert O. McMahan and George T. McMahan of Fresno, Calif., the foundation will provide scholarships at DePauw for worthy women students.


          In arranging the plan, President Wildman stressed an important feature of the new scholarship arrangment - the fact that it will be an open foundation to which other DePauw alumni and friends may contribute in order to provide increasingly more scholarship aid to women students at DePauw.



Dillman & Snyder

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 5, 1945

          A recent business change has been announced whereby Jesse Dillman becomes a partner with John Snyder in the operation of the Standard Oil Filling Station at 300 Main street.  The new firm will operate under the name of Dillman & Snyder. - - - - They plan to keep the station open from 7 a.m., to 7 p.m., daily and Sunday.



E.L. Mitchell, Pres.

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 6, 1945

          The board of directors of the Fulton County REMC met Monday afternoon at he farm utility office, 513 Main street and elected the following officers to serve during the current year:   E.L. Mitchell, president; Leo C. Mow, vice-president; Edgar Runkle, secretary-treasurer, and Ralph Murray, superintendent. - - - -



Purchased by Bob Waltz

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 8, 1945

          Robert (Bob) Waltz, former salesman for Armour & Co, has purchased his father’s, Ort Waltz, Grocery on East Fourth street, this city, and has already taken possession of the business.  Mr. & Mrs. Waltz will reside in East Rochester.



Purch. by Karl Gast

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 8, 1945

          Ellis Reed, for many years owner and operator of the Reed Furniture store 619 Main street, on Wednesday announced the sale of his business to Karl Gast of Akron, who will take possession April 1.

          Gast is at present operating stores in Akron and Kewanna. - - -




Govt. Housing Contracts

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 16, 1945

          Brice Burton and Robert Miller of the local firm of Burton & Miller, left today for Lafayette where they will begin work on a series of government housing contracts on plumbing installations at Lafayette, Kokomo, South Bend and Charlestown, this state.

          They recently completed a 200-house contract in Grand Island, Nebr. and will return there to install 400 more house units following completion of 1700 houses in the Indiana district.



Buys Bldg Buttermilk.

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 20, 1945

          Bob Moore today announced the purchase of the building formerly occupied by the Rochester Equipment Co., East Ninth street, where he will open on Feb. 21, a warehouse and sales office for the distribution of O.M.S. Corp. Buttermilk Products, for which he is the state sales representative.

          These products will be marketed by Mr. Moore under the trade name of Forest Farms Buttermilk Feeds.  They are home made feeds for hogs and poultry, products of the Ohio Malt Sugar Corp., with their plant adjacent to Armour & Co. Creameries.

          Mr. Moore reveals that he expects to remodel and enlarge the building into a modern sales office and warehouse.



25th Year in Business

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 20, 1945

          Today marks the silver anniversary for one of Rochester’s most progressive business firms as Miller Bros., 315 East Ninth street, recognizes the 25th annual recurrence of “business as usual” in this city.

          It was back in 1917 that Hugh and Otto Miller came from the Kewanna neighborhood to crash the artisan gates of the county seat.  From that year forward until 1920 they were employed as mechanics at the Louderback garage on North Main street, but on Feb. 20, of that year, they leased the Charles Robbins building, on East Seventh street, one door removed from the city hall and announced a new firm name in local businesds circles - - - - -




Purchased by John W. Cox

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 22, 1945

          John W. Cox has announced the purchase from McConkey Bros., of the Phillips 66 Service Station at 916 Main street.  The new owner has taken possession. - - - -



Opened by Mrs. H. Sherbondy

The News-Sentinel, Feb. 22, 1945

          Mrs. Helen Sherbondy has opened a printing shop at 417 Main street.  The shop will go under the name of “The Fulton County Press” and is equipped to do all kinds of job printing.



Purchased by Fred McConkey

The News-Sentinel, March 3, 1945

          Mr. & Mrs. Jack Kofron have announced the sale, Friday afternoon of the Rochester Taxi Service, which they have operated for the past two years, to Fred McConkey.  Mr. Cox recently purchased the Phillips 66 Service Station of McConkey Bros.  Mr. Kofron has not as yet announced his future plans.



Day, Night Service

The News-Sentinel, March 5, 1945

          George Fleegle today announced a new departure for his cafe, Main and Sixth streets, beginning Tuesday evening, when the doors will open on a “round-the-clock” schedule.

          In preparation for the new innovation, he has secured the services of Otto Norris, an experienced specialty chef of Muncie, Ind., who will offer a wide variety of select sandwiches, including basket servings of chicken, steak, and ham, as well as Italian style spaghetti and other delicacies usually found only in larger cities. - - - - -









Purch, by M.F. Salathe

The News-Sentinel, March 8, 1945

          Mr. & Mrs. Harry Fuller have sold their variety store at Kewanna to M.F.Salathe of North Judson, who will take possession the latter part of this week

          The Fullers, who opened the store in Kewanna a little over four years ago have experienced good business during this period.  They plan to enter the business field at Lacrosse in the near future.



Purch. by Golda Hindel

The News-Sentinel, March 8, 1945

          Walter Eckart, owner of the Club (Hawkins) Cafe, 719 Main street, today announced the sale of that business to Mrs. Golda Hindel, of Plymouth.  Mrs. Hindel, a former owner of the cafe, is also the owner of the Puritan cafe, Plymouth, which she has leased.  Following new decorations and certain changes, she will open the Cafe for business, probably sometime next week.  The sale was made through the Fred Moors real estate agency of this city.  Mr. Eckart has not as yet announced his future plans.



Chester Kramer

The News-Sentinel, March 9, 1945

          Mr. & Mrs. Chester Kramer of Huntington have announced the opening of a new meat market in the room formerly operated by the Babcock market on North Main street.  Mr. Kramer, an experienced meat cutter, is a brother of Ed Kramer, owner of the Peoples’ Cafe.



Purch. by Robert R. Miller

The News-Sentinel, March 13, 1945

          Former circuit court judge of Fulton county, Robert R. Miller, has purchased the Farmers’ Coop Elevator at Monterey and tookk possession of the business yesterday.  The deal was transacted on March 10, Mr. Miller stated, at a price of $20,000.  Approximately 20 members of the farmers’ cooperative owned the property and business which serves that community.- - - -Mr. Miller is retaining Lowe Everett as manager, as well as other peronnel.



Purch. by John Baldwin

The News-Sentinel, March 13, 1945

          In a deal made yesterday, John D. Baldwin purchased the equipment and stock of the Rochester Printing Co., of Ed Snaman, former publisher of the Fulton Leader and the Kewanna Herald, both discontinued.  The shop has been operated for the past few weeks by Mrs. Helen Sherbondy.  Mr. Baldwin expects to add new stock and equipment, and will retain the location which is at present with the Rochester Office Machine Service, 417 Main street.



Purch. by Ray Coplen

The News-Sentinel, March 23, 1945

          Ray Coplen, custodian of the American Legion Home, recently purchased the Roach machine shop at Logansport, and will move the machinry, tools and stock to this city, where he plans to operate a modern machine repair business. - - - - -



At Clay & Crowell Bldgs.

The News-Sentinel, March 29, 1945

          A new business which will be known as The Superior Supply Co., is already in opeation in the Clay & Crowell buildings, 1419 Main street.  This firm has taken over the agency for the entire line of Allis-Chalmers farming implements and will maintain a most complete service for the farmers of this community. - - - - -



Buys Logan. Automatic

The News-Sentinel, March 31, 1945

          Carl Thacker, owner and operator of the Thacker Music Co. of this city, on Friday announced the purchase of the Logansport Automatic Music Co., owned by Ernie Powell of that city.  Possession is given the local concern today.  Thacker will continue operation of the Cass county routes and Mr. Powell has been retained to manage that part of the business until next Sept. 1.






Transfer Two Employees

The News-Sentinel, April 2, 1945

          Lyman Langford, local manager of the Armour & Co. Creameries today announced the transfer of two employees, William Woodcox, butter-maker, has been shifted to the Lincoln, Ill., plant in the same capacity, and Jack Fogarty, who came here a year and a half ago from Neenah, Wis., has been transferred to the Springfield, Mo., plant, as cashier.



Purchased by Emerson Downs

The News-Sentinel, April 2, 1945

          Mr. & Mrs. Emerson Downs, former local residents, but more recently of the Tippecanoe community, today announced the purchase of the Moriarty grocery store at Tippecanoe.  They took possession of the store as of April 1.



Karl Gast Takes Over

The News-Sentinel, April 2, 1945

          Karl Gast, well known Akron merchant and business man, today announced that he had taken possession of the Ellis Reed Furniture Store, 619-621 Main street, and that hereafter, the business will operate nder the name of The Rochester Home Furnishing Store. - - - - - -

          Larry Williams, a seasoned furniture man of South Bend, will have an operating interest and manage the business.  Mr. Williams has purchased the Claude Studebaker residence on West 13th street, and will move with his wife and daughter to their Rochester home in a short time.  Mr. Reed, who founded the store, has not revealed his future plans.




The News-Sentinel, April 18, 1945

          Indianapolis, April 18. - Richard A Wall has resigned, effective May 15, as supervisor of the division of state farms and penal industrial sales, a position he has held since 1941.

          A past president of the American Penal Industries Association, he now is chairman of the association’s executive committee.  He also


is a member of the board of directors of the American Prison Assn.

          He was graduated from Indiana university in 1930 and in April of that year was appointed superintendent in charge of manufacturing and sales at the Indiana State Prison.  In 1936 he was named superintendent of industries at the prison.

          In 1938 T.A. Gottschalk, administrator of the State Department of Public Welfare, appointed Mr. Wall assistant supervisor of state institutions.  He held this position until June, 1941, when Henry F. Schricker, then governor, named him supervisor of the new division created by the General Assembly, the Division of State Farms and Penal Industrial Sales.  His offices have been in Indianapolis.

          Mr. Wall is married and the father of three children.  His home is in Indianapolis.

- - - - - - - - - -

          Mr. Wall is a former resident of this city and for a few years resided at 302 West Eleventh street.  For the past several years the Walls have spent their summers at Lake Manitou where they maintained their summer home.  He is the son-in-law of Mr. & Mrs. A.L. Deniston of this city, and has a host of friends throughout the county. 



Purch. by Dr. Albert Reuter

The News-Sentinel, April 24, 1945

          Announcement was made today of the sale by John McClung of his home at 922 Main street to Dr. Albert Reuter of Peru, an optician.  Dr. Reuter plans to remodel the home to include installation of a modern office in which to follow his profession.  Mr. & Mrs. McClung and daughter, Mrs. Marjorie Hodel, will reside in their cottage on the east side of Lake Manitou for the summer.



Buys Canteen Bldg. & Lot

The News-Sentinel, April 27, 1945

          The recently -formed School Door Canteen Holding Co. Inc. Announced the purchase of the School Door Canteen building and property from Martin W. Ivey, at stockholders’ meeting held at the canteen Thursday evening.

          It was disclosed that today 351 shares, par value of $10 each, had been taken by various business firms and individuals who are


acting as sponsors for the canteen, which is located on the northwest corner of Jefferson and Seventh streets.  More shares are available to anyone who wishes to assist in this worthy project and can be obtained at either of the local banks.

          Following a meeting of the board of directors officers were elected as follows:   Mrs. A.C. Bradley, president; Orvan Van Lue, vice-president; Hubert Taylor, secretary and John Vernon, treasurer.

          The board of directors is comprised of C,E. Gilger, Fred Fraser, Orvan Van Lue, Hubert Taylor, Mrs. Ray Myers and Mrs. A.C. Bradley. - - - - -



Ed Stanton Full Owner

The News-Sentinel, May 7, 1945

          Ed Stanton, who has been a partner in the filling station business at Third and Main streets, today announced the purchase of a half interest formerly held by John Snyder, who now retires from the business.  Snyder has not as yet announced future plans.  The station handles Standard Oil proucts.  Jesse Dillman, mechanic, will be associated with Stanton.



Barney Rapp

The News-Sentinel, May 21, 1945

          Harry Page today announced the opening of the Colonial Hotel and Gardens on Saturday, May 26, with Barney Rapp and his orchestra.  The Rapp band will play also Sunday, Tuesday and Wednesday of the next week.  On June 1, Lawrence Welk and his band will be the feature attraction one night only.  The dining room will be open, Mr. Page reveals.



Sold to Ted Jontz

The News-Sentinel, May 22, 1945

          In a business transaction, Tuesday morning, Ted Jontz, of Akron, became the sole owner of the Bailey Beverage Co. of this city.  Mr. Jontz will take over the active operation of the county beer distributing business as of Thursday, May 31st.

          Mr. & Mrs. Roy Fultz, owners and operators of the beer wholesaleing business, with offices and warehouse at rear of 816 Main


street, are retiring from business at the present time inasmuch as Mr. Fultz is now in service of the U.S. Navy.  They became owners of the distributing agency following the death of Mrs. Bailey’s father, Charles H. Bailey, which occurred a little over a year ago.

           Mr. Jontz, a native of Akron and Henry township, is well known throughout the county and a few years ago was a candidate for county treasurer on the Republican ticket. - - - - For the past several years Mr. Jontz has owned and operated a garage and machine repair shop on West Rochester street in Akron.



Ray Glass, Assistant

The News-Sentinel, May 28, 1945

           Ray Glass, who recently graduated from an embalming school in Indianapolis, has accepted a position as assistant at the Ora Foster funeral home, according to an announcement made Saturday.



At U.B. Church

The News-Sentinel, May 28, 1945

           During the past week repairs have been under way on the United Brethren church to clear away the old steps to prepare the way for new ones.  Digging beneath the front line, the workmen came upon a piece of corroded metal about the size of a pie.  The metal defied analysis until it was taken to Clarence Hill by Rev. David Livengood.  The object in question proved to be a piece of bell metal consistency of which is copper and tin.

           This old type of bell was largely made in England and had a more mellow tone than modern bells, even though it broke more easily.  Interviews with some of Rochesters older citizens pointed to the fact this was undoubtedly a piece of the bell which hung at the old Rochester school house which burned to the ground in February of 1888.  On that site now stands the United Brethren church.

           William A. Howard asserts that he attended the school and Miss Della Leiter recalled how the old bell had “called the children to teaching.”   The top floor of the two-story structure was used for the high school students and the lower floor for the grades.

           A.B. Green stated that at the time the school burned, he lived ten miles in the country and could see the flames from the inferno.  Having the interest of the past further aired by these persons, Rev.


Livengood delved into the records of the Public Library.  According to these reports this school was built at the outset of the Civil War in 1861.  It was a frame building costing $3,000.00 and accommodated near 200 students.  It supplanted a log cabin structure.

          James F. Scull, then superintendent of schools, in a letter to the Mayor of Rochester, England, explained that the Lincoln school was nearly completed at the time the old school burned.  However, because all the records had been lost, it was a matter of inquiry on the part of Supt. Scull that our namesake, Rochester, England send a momento of some description to the young Rochester, Indiana for her posterity.  The result was that the town council in the Old World presented us with a beautiful leather hand-tooled album of pictures and greetings now treasured in our Public Library.  This book contains the dedication “Rochester, England to Rochester, Indiana.”

          For the remainder of that school year the high school students held classes downtown, but much to their chagrin, the grade school students had to wait until the completion of Lincoln school and then went to school all summer.

          The piece of the bell is on display in the window of The News-Sentinel.



Purch. by Jack Kofron

The News-Sentinel, May 29 1945

          A deal was reported today whereby Mr. & Mrs. Jack Kofron have purchased from William Lightfoot the stock, fixtures and good will of the Tom Thumb cafe, at 716 Main street.  Mrs. Kofron, who is experienced in restaurant business, will manage the cafe, it is stated.



Purch. by F.A. Bergman

The News-Sentinel, May 29 1945

          Ending an active and semi-active career of 45 years in the Rochester business field today, Edmund Vawter sold the Rochester Steam Launday, on North Monroe street, to Francis A. Bergman, of Plymouth.  The new proprietor will take possession of the business as of Monday, June 4th.

          In an interview with Mr. Bergman today, it was learned that he had been engaged in the tailoring, dry-cleaning and laundry business in Plymouth for over 30 years.  During the last 10 years he has operated     


the Plymouth Laundry.  The new proprietor stated he plans to make some improvements to the building and will retain the present personnel.

          Mrs. Frank (Miriam) Vawter Alexander, who has managed the local laundry for her father during the past 15 years, plans to retire and reside at their farm home northwest of this city, on Alexander lake.

          Mr. Vawter opened in business here 45 years ago, when all of the laundry and ironing work was done by hand and has seen the business grow and the plant remodeled until it has become one of the most modernly equipped laundries in northern Indiana.  The plant services Rochester and surrounding communities within a radius of at least 25 miles.  The retiring proprietor, who has been in ill health for the past several years will continue to reside at his home, adjacent to the laundry property on East Eighth street.

          Mr. & Mrs. Bergman and family will move to Rochester as soon as they are able to purchase a permanent residence within the city or at the lake.  The Bergmans have two sons and a daughter.  One of the boys has just graduated from the Plymouth H.S. and the other is a junior.  Their daughter is employed in the administration building of the Studebaker Corp. at South Bend.



Sings & Signs

The News-Sentinel, May 31, 1945

          An all too small number of Rochester people, especially the young feminine members, received the big thrill of their lives here about 11 o’clock Tuesday night when the famed crooner, none other than Bing Crosby himself, stopped here for refreshments.  It all happened this way:

          Just an average number of customers were at the Berghoiff cafe busy with their usual “big talk,” when the door opened and in walked “the groaner.” He was accompanied by two handsome Hollywood type of gentlemen and a beautiful senorita, whose name was not learned, unfortunately.  Immediately the young ladies’ hearts began to flutter and everything stopped while the party made their way to a table and placed an order for food.

          Then the action started.  Young ladies flocked to the table from all directions bearing pieces of paper, napkins and note books, asking for autographs.  Der Bingle took it all smilingly and signed away between bites on a sandwich.  His companions seemed unimpressed.   


Finally Louis Ninios, the proprietor, came to the table and apologized for the conduct of his patrons but Bing told him to “think nothing of it,” and went ahead with his sandwich and his pencil.

          Suddenly amidst all the excitement the juke box started going and to the delight of everyone the crooner sang “The Song of Old Hawaii” along with the music.  As he arose to go one attractive young lady secured the glass he had used and took it home for a souvenir to show her grandchildren.

          Meanwhile word had spread amid the bobby soxers who happened to be up that late and when the guests came out the door a crowd surrounded them and again Bing went into action signing his name with abandon.  And while the signing continued the four climbed into their automobile and departed southward.

          Bing and his companions had driven from South Bend where he had appeared on the Bob Hope radio show before a midshipmen audience at Notre Dame university.  He was on his way to Indianapolis to appear with Hope and two professionals in a golf match at the Speedway course on Memorial Day.  The newspapers reported that he arrived in Indianapolis in the wee hours of the morning weary and ready for bed.  It was learned that Bob Hope and his party also drove through the city at about the same hour but unfortunately for the fans they did not stop.



Blanket of Snow May, 1862

The News-Sentinel, June 1, 1945

          Most of our local citizens will look back upon the weather complexities of May 1945 with chilly memory.  But it happened before - in war time - and with a vengeance.  If there are any of us who remember May of 1862, we will recall that Fulton county lay under a blanket of snow as late as the 24th day of that month.  For proof, we cite an account as carrid in the old Miami County Sentinel, which is as follows:

          “Snow is an unusual sight in May when the trees are crowned with leaves and the earth matted with its green carpet, but this year the chronology of the past has had an addition to break the uneventful record of sunshiny days.

          “On Monday snow fell throughout northern Indiana and Michigan to the depth of three inches.  The storm did not reach this far south until Tuesday, May 24 (1862), when the white flakes fell rapidly


for half an hour, and were of a large size and in great profusion.

          “We are informed that the northern part of this county as well as Fulton county, had a like visitation on Monday, but will not vouch for it. - - - - -



Leased to G. Rosenbury

The News-Sentinel, June 6, 1945

          Mr. & Mrs. Lawrence (Doc) Babcock have announced that their cafe on road 14 east of the city, has been leased to Mr. & Mrs. Garland Rosenbury, who have taken possession.  The Babcocks will devote their time to their boat landing and cottage rental business.



To Open July 1

The News-Sentinel, June 8, 1945

          The new Johnson Locker Plant at 316 E. Ninth Street, which was razed by fire several months ago, will be ready for business about July 1, the owner, Claude Johnson, revealed today.

          The new plant, which has been thoroughly remodeled and modernized, will open with a battery of 370 lockers ready for occupancy.  To be added to these are another consignment of 230 compartments, which will enlarge the plant capacity to 500 - - - -         



Purch. By Ford Johnson.

The News-Sentinel, June 8, 1945

          Ford Johnson has purchased the Winona Cafe from P.V. Tullis and has taken possession.  A doorway has been cut out in the wall connecting the restaurant and ice cream parlor and both businesses will be operated as one.  Mr. Johnson also plans other remodeling and redecorating. - Akron News.



Opening at N. Manchester

The News-Sentinel, June 13, 1945

          LeRoy Crownover and Tribbett Biddinger, of the Crownover Jewelry store, this city, are opening up a new jewelry store in North Manchester next week. - - - - under management of an experienced jewelry man, S.W. Thompson, of Anderson.



Buy Bidwell Market, Akron

The News-Sentinel, June 19, 1945

          Fred Willbrook and Florence Miller of Rochester, have purchased the Bidwell Market in Akron and have taken possession.  It will now be known as the F. & F. Food Market.

          The new owners plan to move to Akron as soon as possible.  Mr. & Mrs. Joe Bidwell came to Akron 12 years ago and established a successful grocery and meat business.  Mr. Bidwell plans to devote all his time to his duties as town clerk and as field supervisor of the Intercity Credit Bureau in which capacity he has served for the past six years.



Moved to East Seventh St.

The News-Sentinel, July 3, 1945

          James Van Fassen has moved the Rochester Office Machine Service from the building at 417 Main street to the Barrett building opposite the city hall on East Seventh street.  The main street building is being razed to make way for the new C.E. Bashore building to be constructed soon by the A.R. Fansler Construction Co.



Leo Norris Home

The News-Sentinel, July 17, 1945

          The annual Bowen family reunion took place at the country home of Mr. & Mrs. Leo Norris, Sunday with 147 attending.

          A delicious community dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour followed by the regular business meeting.  The election of officers took place as follows:   Vernie Bowen, Valparaiso, president; Wesley Bowen, Gilead, vice-president, and Mrs. Walter Bowen, Rochester, secretary-treasurer.  The next reunion will be held at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Alva Tompson of Argos.  The remainder of the day was spent socially.









Again in Pictures

The News-Sentinel, July 23, 1945

          Elmo Lincoln, one of Rochester’s first hometown citizens to crash the gates of moviedom and fame is again back before the flickers and public.  This fact is attested in Dale Harrison’s column in the Chicago Sun today which reads:

     “Chesty Elmo

          “I have been asked to set down that Elmo Lincoln, who was the screen’s original Tarzan, is back in pictures, appearing in Columbia’s ‘Over 21’ as a cabbue.  I am further requested to mention that Elmo’s chest expansion is seven full inches - ‘enough,’ say informant screams in a fury of enthusiasm ‘to stagger the imagination.’

          “Yes, indeed; and break all the buttons from his vest.”

          Elmo Lincoln is more familiarly known to Rochester citizens as Otto Linkenhelt.  He played the role of Tarzan in the first series of Tarzan pictures ever turned out in Hollywood.



N.M. Alber Home

The News-Sentinel, July 24, 1945

          Mr. & Mrs. N.M. Alber and sons and Mrs. Sarah Barnhart entertained at Sunday dinner.  Those present were Mr. & Mrs. Wm. Warner and daughter of Mishawaka, Mr. & Mrs. Ray Marshall of Osceola, Mr. & Mrs. V.D. Beck and daughter, James and Morris O’Dell, Mrs. Marjorie Cauffman and son and Adison E. Alber, S 2/c, of Great Lakes, Ill.



To Have New Building

The News-Sentinel, July 25, 1945

          Announcement was made today by Paul Eiler, owner of the Hotpoint Electric Shop, that he would erect a new building at 522 Main Street, just as soon as materials are available.  Eiler purchased the lots and building on which are located the Fleegle Restaurant, the Overmyer Implement Agency, Landis Shoe Shop and Peterson Tire Shop.  The restaurant building will be kept standing while the new concrete block building with an attractive brick front will replace the adjoining frame structure.  The sale was made by Earl Holman, former resident.


          Mr. Eiler stated that he intends to erect a “dream” shop in his new building site that will have all the latest ideas in electrical display.  The retail store will contain a number of booths with each one fitted out complete as various rooms of a house, all with the latest in electrical appliances incorporated.- - - -



Purchased by Gene Kirkman

The News-Sentinel, July 26, 1945

          Fred McConkey has announced the sale of the Rochester Taxi Co., with office and waiting room at 718 Main street, to Gene Kirkman of Kokomo, formerly of this city.  Possession will be given July 30.



Purchased by Willis Cripe

The News-Sentinel, July 26, 1945

          William Minardow, owner of the Leiters Ford elevator since 1936, today announced that he has sold the elevator to Willis Cripe of Nappanee, Ind.

          Mr. Cripe will take possession of the elevator as of August 1st, it was stated.  He plans to move his family comprised of his wife and two daughters to Leiters just as soon as a suitable residence can be found.

          Mr. Minardo has no plans for the immediate future but states he and Mrs. Minardo plan to make an extended visit to California during the coming fall.



Ted Weems, Record Crowd

The News-Sentinel, July 26, 1945

          Heat and humidity could not stop the crowd of people that poured into the Colonial Gardens Tuesday night and before the evening was half over, Harry Page, proprietor, was host to some 1,500 people. - - - - coming from far and wide to hear the featured orchestra, Ted Weems. - - - -









A.E. Bibler, Manager

The News-Sentinel, July 30, 1945

          The management of the Akron Hotel, which is owned by Karl Gast, has been changed this week and on August 1, Mr. & Mrs. A.E. Bibler of Rochester will become the new managers.  Mr. & Mrs. Bibler are the parents of Mrs. Ford Johnson.

          Mrs. LaVon Bemenderfer has been the Hotel Manager for the past three years.  She is planning to devote all her time to her new Hat and Shoe Store. - - - -



Chester Williams Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 1, 1945

          Fifty persons met Sunday, July 29, at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Chester Williams, northeast of Fulton, for the annual reunion of the children and families of the late Mr. & Mrs. S.V. Gordon.  A basket dinner was served at the noon hour and it was decided to hold the affair hereafter at the Rochester City Park the last Sunday in July.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. John Gordon, Mr. & Mrs. Frank Gordon and son Lester, Mr. & Mrs. Verle Shaffer and family, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Warner and family, Mrs. Paul Gordon, Mr. & Mrs. Chester Williams and family, all of Rochester, Mr. & Mrs.  Lyman Gordon and daughter, Mr. & Mrs Walter Gordon and sons, Mrs. Donald Gordon and daughter, all of Plymouth; Mr & Mrs. Henry Kepler and children of Argos; Mr. & Mrs. Gene Gordon of Royal Center; Francis Gordon of Peru; Robert Gordon of Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs. Howard Gordon and daughter of Highland, Ind.; Mr. & Mrs. Umbaugh and children and Mrs. Vernon Cranmer and sons of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. John Cline of Rochester and Miss Phyllis Easterday of Macy were also visitors



Levi Leiter & Blanch Miller

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 14, 1945

          Levi Leiter and Mrs. Blanch Miller entertained a number of relatives at their home Sunday to observe the annual Leiter dinner.  A community dinner was served at the noon hour after which the election of officers took place with Will Leiter of Flora as president, and U.A. Leiter of Rochester as secretary-treasurer.


          The afternoon was spent socially at which time letters from distant relatives were read.

          The 1946 meeting will be held the second Sunday in August at the Leiter Homestead on the Tippeanoe river.



Wayne Kelley Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 14, 1945

          The Kelley family reunion was held Sunday, Aug. 12, on the banks of the Tippecanoe river at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Kelley and family.

          Those present were:   Mr. & Mrs. Raymond Schooley and family, Pfc & Mrs. Lewis Schooley and family, Mr. & Mrs. John Wigner and son and Mrs. Marjorie Bunger, all of Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs. Vern Schooley and family and grandson of Bristol; Mr. & Mrs. Glenn Kelley of Star City; Mr. & Mrs. Ancil Kelley and family, Miss Donnabelle Kehoe of South Bend; Mr. & Mrs. Glenn Chapin and Mrs. Edna Mae Hopper and daughter, Mrs. Levon Kelley and children, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Sult and daughter of Leiters Ford.



Declares 2-day Holiday

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 15, 1945

          The President - - - - authorized a two-day holiday for government employees in the following statement:

          “One of the hardest working groups of war workers during the past four years - and perhaps the least appreciated by the public - has been the federal employes in Washington and throughout the country.  They have carried on the day to day operations of the government which are essential to the support of our fighting men and to the carrying on of the war.

          “On behalf of the nation I formally express thanks to them.

          “As a token of this feeling, I hereby request all the heads of the departments, agencies, and bureaus throughout the government to excuse the employes thereof for tomorrow and Thursday.

          “This action is to be without charge against the annual leave of the employes.  Only skeleton forces need be maintained.

          “I hope that all of the employes of the government will enjoy this well deserved -though inadequate - holiday.”




Declares 2-Day Holiday

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 15, 1945

          INDIANAPOLIS, Aug. 15 - Today and tomorrow were declared legal holidays by Governor Ralph F. Gates in a proclamation issued last night.  He urged thanksgiving for return of peace to the world.

    The proclamation:

          “Whereas, It has been officially annunced by the President of the United States that the Imperial Japanese Government has advised the Government of its unconditional surrender to the armed forces of the Allies, and

          “Whereas, A profound spirit of thanksgiving and relief pervades the nation and our state of Indiana;

          “Now Therefore, I, Ralph F. Gates, Governor of the State of Indiana, in acknowledgement of our great victory and to enable the people of my state to pay proper homage to those both living and dead, who have given so much towards victory, do hereby proclaim Wednesday, Aug. 15, and Thursday, Aug. 16 as legal holidays.”



Surrender News Comes

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 15, 1945

          Rochester joined the nation last night in one of the wildest demonstrations on record.  Sidewalks were lined with people while cars, with horns and sirens blowing, completed a picture of thronging, milling, noisy celebration in which almost everyone joined.

          Aside from a few auto accidents, there was nothing to mar the pent-up jubilance that has laid dormant through the war-torn years since Pearl Harbor.

          At 6:01 p.m. the city fire siren announced the good news in a 15-mnute blast, while other whistles joined in and auto horns contributed to a raucous, blatant din that was to continue until long after midnight.

          In strict compliance with orders from the Indiana State Alcoholic Beverage Commission, taverns closed their doors promptly.  There were no reports of violations throughout the county.

          Reminiscent of the glorious Fourths of years ago, were scatterd groups with rockets, flares and firecrackers, while others with shot guns, pistols and rifles added their bits to the exhuberance that was      




foremost in the minds and hearts of everybody.

          It was a night of rejoicing, a night when bedlam took over, a night that will be remembered as long as any who are old enough to know that America had won the war, may live to tell it.



Mont Denney, Mgr.

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 23, 1945

          Tuesday morning a change was made at the Kroger Grocery Co. Store in Akron.  Robert T. Barnes, manager was transferred to the Plymouth store as manager.  Mont Denney of South Whitley, who has been manager of the Kroger store there for the past year and a half, was transferred to the Akron store.

          Mr. & Mrs. Barnes and two sons will move to Plymouth as soon as they can get a suitable house.  They came to Akron from Wabash two and one-half years ago.

          Mr. Denney is driving to Akron each day from South Whitley but will move to Akron with his wife and two small daughters as soon as a house becomes available.  He has been a Kroger manager for 10 years, having been at Bourbon before he went to South Whitley.



Fred Van Duyne Home

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 27, 1945

          The members of the family of the late Mrs. Indiana Fultz gathered yesterday at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Fred Van Duyne.  A community dinner was enjoyed at the noon hour and the afternoon was spent socially.

          Those present were:   Mr. Herbert Fultz and family, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Fultz and family of Fort Wayne; Mr. & Mrs Charles Culp and children of Elkhart; Mr. & Mrs Marion Fultz, Mr. & Mrs. John Fultz, Harley Fultz, Max Feece, Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Thompson, Mrs. James Van Lue, Mrs. Russell Barkman and children and Mrs. Emma Weaver, of Rochester.









Creamer Farry, Author

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 28, 1945

          Creamer Farry, route 5 is the author of an article entitled “Life In These United States” which appears in the September issue of Readers Digest.

          Mr. Farry, an invalid, lives with his mother, Mrs. Anna Ferry, near Talma.  He is a former newspaper man who graduated from Talma high school and later attended Wabash College.

          With his mother, he resides in the winter months at Mansfield, Ohio, but enjoys the summer seasons on the farm in Newcastle township.



Work Started

The News-Sentinel, Aug. 28, 1945

          Work was started Tuesday morning on the new locker plant in Akron which is located on West Rochester street in the building formerly occupied by the Alger Chevrolet Service company.  Ralph Leininger and Merle Tucker, joint owners, recently purchased the building of Durward Alger.

          There are three long sections to the building.  All the openings on the west and north will be closed and entrance will be on the east.  The locker plant will be installed in the north room.  A chill room will be through the center of the building and the slaughter room will be on the south.  This slaughter room will furnish complete service from slaughtering to the meat in packages ready for the locker.

          Mr. Tucker will have charge of the slaughtering as he has been in that business for several years and is well qualified for it.

          Mr. Leininger will be in charge of the lockers.  Additional help will be used when the business opens in December.

          There will be 539 lockers which the owners hope to have ready by early December.

          This locker service will be a great asset to Akron and the community as many people are now holding lockers in Peru, Mentone and Rochester and it will be much handier to use this service in Akron.







Purch. Fred Swosher Trustee

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 1, 1945

          Oren Hendrickson, of the H. & H. Lumber & Coal Co., 321 E. 8th street, this city, today announced the sale of this old established business concern to Fred S. Swisher, Trustee. Mr. Hendrickson and J.A. Herbster, his partner, gave immediate possession of the property to the new firm as of today.

          Mr. Herbster will remain with the new firm in the capacity of manager, it was stated.  The present personnel will be retaind and new employees may soon be added, it was stated.  In normal times the H & H employed from 8 to 12 people.

          In an interview with Mr. Hendrickson, Sr. member of the H & H, stated the sale which was completed today was somewhat of a coincidence, as it was just 36 years ago to the day that he started in the lumber business in this city with the firm of Brandenburg & Fogle.

          Brandenburg and Fogle’s yards and offices were located on the west side of Main street at the Erie RR. crossing.  On January 1st, 1925, Mr. Hendrickson and Mr. Herbster purchased the lumber yard on East 8th street from H.I. Isbell Lumber Co.  Mr. Herbster had served as manager for the Isbell yards here since 1917.

          During the partnership the H & H made several extensive improvements and additions until it has become known as one of the best equipped yards in northern Indiana.

          Mr. Hendrickson plans to retire from the lumber and coal business and take a much needed rest.  He will, however, retain the agencies for the Winkler stokers and the Original Pocaonas Automatic stokers in Rochester and surrounding territory.



Mac Thompson Home

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 4, 1945

          Mr. & Mrs. Mac Thompson and relatives celebrated their 40th reunion at the Thompson home.

          There were 61 guests and among them was Mrs. Robert Vanek, an opera star.  Mrs. Vanek has a contract of six weeks with the Boston Civic Opera.






Purch. By Franklin Robinson

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 5, 1945

          Robert Miller, former judge of Fulton county, today announced the sale of the Monterey elevator to Franklin O. Robinson of Spencerville, Ind.  The new owner, who takes possession of the property as of Sept. 15, plans to make some improvements to the property.

          Mr. Robinson is an experienced elevator man and has operated a similar business at Spencerville for the past few years.  Mr. & Mrs. Robinson and their two children will move to Monterey within a few days.

          Mr. Miller purchased the elevator about six months ago.



New Location

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 10, 1945

          Carl Thacker, of the Thacker Music Co., today announced that he had purchased the two-story brick building on the northwest corner of Madison and Eighth street from Claude (Toy) Chamberlain.

          Mr. Thacker will open a retail record and Majestic radio store in this property within the next few weeks, he stated.

          The building formerly was occupied by the Gordon H. Miller plumbing and heating shop.  Mr. Miller recently completed a large one-story building at the rear of 930 Jefferson street which will house his plumbing and heating business.



Ethel Fingerle Home

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 10, 1945

          The Fingerle family reunion was held at the home of Mrs. Ethel Fingerle and family, 490 Ferry street, on Sunday.

          A basket dinner was enjoyed by 44 members of the family.  Those attending from Rochester were Johnny Price and Mr. & Mrs. Robert Cauffman.








Building Is Sold

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 11, 1945

          George Fleegle, owner and operator of Fleegle’s Cafe, 530 Main street, today announced the sale of the building, restaurant and pie shop.

          Building and Cafe went to Paul Eiler, local electrical contractor and the pie shop, which has served the local restaurant trade for several years, was purchased by Mrs. Elsie Omler.  Possession to both lines of business was taken by the new owners at midnight Monday.

          Mr. Fleegle stated today that he plans to spend the winter in California, but expects to return in the early spring and engage in business here.  Mrs. Fleegle left this morning for Toledo, Ohio, where she will enter a sanitarium for treatment.

          Purchase of the building by Mr. Eiler gives him control of all the property from Sixth street north to the Shell filling station    He expects to raze all wooden structures and to build a modern business block on the site.

          It is reported that the restaurant will be reopened soon by Walter Bowen of the Evergreen Cafe.



To Open Soon

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 12, 1945

          Claude Johnson of the Johnson Market, East Ninth street, announced today that he will open the grocery department within a few days, and that opening of the meat department will follow.

          He announced also that on Friday of this week he will have available 25 food lockers for those who wish them.  This, Johnson says, will complete rentals on all locker space which will be available this year.



Lloyd Harris Transferred

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 12, 1945

          Mr. & Mrs. Lloyd Harris, for the past several months managers of the Miller-Jones shoe store in this city, left today for Centralia, Ill., where they will manage a larger store for the same company.






Walter Bowen

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 13, 1945

          Announcement was made of the sale of the Fleegle Cafe building, 530 Main street, to Walter Bowen, operator of the Evergreen Cafe, 625 Main street, who will move his business into the newly-acquired location about Nov. 15.

          Mr. Bowen plans extensive improvements in his new location, it was revealed today.  The cafe, which has been in continuous operation as a restaurant for about 50 years, was sold by Mr. Fleegle to Paul Eiler, local electrical contractor, who in turn resold the cafe site to Mr. Bowen.



Beatrice O’Haver, Mgr.

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 13, 1945

          Miss Beatrice O’Haver has taken over management of the Miller-Jones shoe store in this city.  Miss O’Haver who came here from Chicago, is an experienced shoe manager and fitter.



I.O.O.F. Building

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 15, 1945

          The new Kroger Super Market, soon to be opened in the I.O.O.F. Building, (NW Cor.) Ninth and Main streets, will be ultra modern in design and facilities, an official of the company said today.  While no opening date has been announced, company officials are of the opinion that the new store will be in operation early in October. - -

          The new Kroger Super Market in Rochester will be a Self- Service type of store with all merchandise displayed on the newest type streamlined shelving and floats.

          A number of checkout counters will be installed at the front of the store to permit customers to pay for all their purchases on the one pay plan as they leave the store.- - - - -









Building New Factory

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 18, 1945

          Rochester is to have a new factory:

          Preliminary construction work was started today on what is known as the Wile farm, located three and one-half miles north of Rochester on US. 31.

          The factory is the Edon Products Co., which is moving here from 7610 South State street, Chicago.  This busness firm, which is coming to Rochester without fanfare or with the aid of subsidies, will furnish employment for 50 or 60 men and women and the plant is expected to be in operation during the early months of the coming year.

          In an interview yesterday with Donald Holt, head of Edon Products Co., he stated work was already underway and contracts let for the erection of a 16,000 square foot one-story manufacturing plant.  The building will have a frontage of 160 feet and a depth of 100 feet.  The front of the structure will be of Bedford stone and pressed brick.- -      The Edon Products Co. manufactures stainless steel capped bolts which are used on auto bumpers of practically all the standard makes of cars, stainless steel bolts for airplanes, carburetors and other parts and also various kinds of kitchen utensils. - - - - -



Being Built, Third & Clay

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 21, 1945

          Workmen for Fred Newby, local contractor, have started erection of the new freight terminal being built by Estil Geier at Third and Clay streets, which is expected to be completed early in October.

          The terminal, which will serve several connecting nationwide trucking lines as a local delivery dock, will be of tile and concrete construction with a floor space of 1,450 square feet and will be fireproof.

          Site of the terminal includes sufficient space for large trucks to move to and from the dock with minimum effort.









Sold to H.C. Jacques

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 24, 1945

          Announcement was made Saturday afternoon of the sale by Mrs. Goldie Hindel of the Goldie’s Grill, 719 Main street, to Mr. & Mrs. Herbert C. Jacques of Lansing, Mich.

          Mr. & Mrs. Jacques, who are experienced cafe operators took possession at once and announce that they will maintain the same high standard of food and service that has made the cafe one of the popular eating places of the city.  The sale was made through Fred Moore agency.



Purch. By Tombaughs

The News-Sentinel, Sept. 25, 1945

          Mrs. Charles Murphy has announced the sale of Jane’s Gift Shop, in the Times Theatre building, to Jean and Wendell Tombaugh, who will take possession Friday under the name of Jean’s Gift Shop.

          S 2/c Tombaugh is a radar instructor at Brigantine, N.J., Navy Radar School.  Sgt. Charles Murphy of the Army expects a discharge at an early date and with Mrs. Murphy will establish a home in Denver, Colo.  Mrs. Tombaugh operated a gift shop in Chicago before coming to Rochester.




The News-Sentinel, Oct. 5, 1945

          Articles of Incorporation for the Fulton County Lumber & Coal Co., to succeed the H. & H. Lumber and Coal Co., have been filed at the office of the county recorder.

          Incorporators are Fred S. Swisher, Bluffton; C.O. Taylor Gas City; and Paul McGill, Ft. Wayne.  Mr Swisher will act as president manager.  Incorporation includes 300 shares of stock with a par value of $100 each.









Purch. William Deniston

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 10, 1945

          William Deniston, well-known attorney of this city, today announces that he has purchased the office equipment and library of Loder Patterson, Akron attorney, and will practice law in Akron as well as Rochester.

          The offices which are located on the second floor of the Akron State Exchange bank building will be occupied by Attorney Deniston at once.  Mr. Patterson is planning to enter business in the South in the near future, it was stated.



Move to Ocala, Fla.

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 11, 1945

          Mr. & Mrs. Loder Patterson went to Chicago today and from there will depart for Ocala, Fla., where they will make their permanent home.

          Mr. Patterson yesterday sold his law office and equipment in Akron to Attorney William (Bill) Deniston of this city.  His beautiful year-round lake home was purchased recently by Mr. & Mrs. George Baum of Akron, who plan to make their permanent home at Manitou.  Attorney Patterson stated he would announce his business plans at a later date.  The Pattersons were residents of Ocala for two years, during which time he was engaged in U.S. Air Corps training work.



Purch. By Crownover

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 11, 1945

          A contract was signed Thursday morning providing for the sale of the Sentinel building, 727 Main street and occupied by the Crownover Jewelry Store, by the Henry A. Barnhart estate to Leroy Crownover.

          The building was erected by the late William Wolf in 1894 and was purchased by Mr. Barnhart in 1916.  For many years previous and until 1924 the building was the home of The Sentinel, Democratic newspaper.  The Crownover Jewelry Store has occupied the premises for the past several years.





To Open Oct 21

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 16, 1945

          James Wilkes and Arthur Lange have announced that they will open the Rochester bowling alleys on Sunday afternoon, Oct. 21.  In the meantime, the alleys will be cleaned and decorated, and put in tip top shape for the winter playing season.  Plans are now under way to establish league play, the management said today.



Moved to Perrysburg

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 16, 1945

          Clarence Peterson, for years the owner and operator of the Peterson Tire Repair Shop at 522 Main street, has moved his business to Perrysburg where he will operate in the future.  Peterson decided to establish elsewhere when his lease here was cancelled.

          A new building will occupy the space where the tire shop building stood.



John Westfall, Mechanic

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 17, 1945

          John Westfall, well known local mechanic, has accepted a position with the Farm Equipt. Co., East Ninth street, it was announced today.  Westfall has been recently associated with the county highway department.  He is a veteran of World War 11, and following discharge served for some time as a mechanic at the local John Deere repair shop.



Purch. By Milton Thacker

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 17, 1945

          The Barnhart residence, one of the well-known homes of the city, situated 1118 Main street, today was sold to Milton Thacker, of this city, by the heirs of the Henry A. Barnhart estate

          Mr. Thacker, who is the son of Mr. & Mrs. Carl Thacker, of this city, plans to make the residence into modern equipped funeral home and will open the mortuary in May of 1946. - - - -






C.L. Rhinehart, Manager

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 19, 1945

          C.L. Rhinehart, former manager of the Miller-Jones Store here, but for several months in charge of the company’s store at Rensselaer has returned and assumed management of the local branch.  The shift was made when the former manager at Rensselaer returned from service.  The Rhineharts, now residing in Francesville, plan to move here as son as housing facilities permit.


ROOMS, 115-117 E. 9th

Purch. By Crownover

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 22, 1945

          A real estate deal wherein the two business rooms owned by the estate of the late A.H. Robbins, 115 and 117 East Ninth street, tenanted by The Berger Auto Parts store and the Hot Point Electric Shop, are reported sold to LeRoy Crownover, local jeweler.  Some improvements in the property are said to be planned by the new owner.



Opens Sales Room

The News-Sentinel, Oct. 31, 1945

          A lease signed Tuesday afternoon reveals that the Stewart Bakery of this city will open a downtown sales room, featuring a line of pastries and baked goods in the Copeland building, Main & Eighth streets, recently vacated by the Kroger grocery.

          Under the terms of the lease the local baking concern will take possession Nov. 1, and after needed remodeling and decorating will be open to the piublic.



For Kroger Store

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 1, 1945

          Merle M. Craig, manager of a cream station at 112 West Ninth street will move Monday to temporary quarters in the Barrett building at 119 East Seventh street, opposite city hall, he announced today.

          The move, Mr. Craig explains, is occasioned by plans now accepted by the local lodge of Odd Fellows to raze the building at the rear of the present Kroger Store in order to rebuild storage quarters


for the Kroger Store as well as a new and modern cream receiving station to be used by him, a building 40 by 24 feet, which is expected to be ready for occupancy by Jan. 1.



Purch. By H. Van Duyne

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 5, 1945

          Mrs. Helen Van Duyne has purchased the Bertha Ross and Frank Tippy property at 704 Madison street, and will take possession Dec. 10.  Tippy will move his radio repair shop in the near future to the building on Road 14 east of the city, formerly known as the “One Horse” Grocery.



Robert Taylor

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 10, 1945

          Robert Taylor, for several months connected with the A&P Store in this city, has purchased a grocery and market in Rensselaer and will move with his family to that city in the near future.



Earl Gocking, Supt.

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 12, 1945

          An important change in the personnel of the mechanical department of the Barnhart-Van Trump Co., became effective today when Earl Gocking, formerly of Franklin, Ind., became superintendent of the plant.

          Mr. Gocking is well qualified for this position having been employed by the Masonic Home School of Printing, at Franklin; the Benton Review Publishing Co., of Fowler, Ind., and the Knox Printing Co., of Hoopeston, Ill., in managerial capacity.

          Floyd (Pete) Van Trump will devote his time in supervisory work.

          Mr. & Mrs. Gocking, who are the parents of three children, have taken up their residency at 813 Pontiac street.  Their eldest son recently graduated from Franklin college.







Purch. By Davis & Parker

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 12, 1945

          T.D. GROGG sold the Eat Rite Cafe in Akron Thursday to Mrs. Ruth Davis and Roger Parker, who assumed charge of the business Friday.  Mrs. Davis and Mr. & Mr. Parker are veterans at the restaurant business as they formerly owned the Winona Cafe for several years.  Mr. Parker recently resigned working on the Erie Railroad.  They plan to keep the same hours and continue the excellent service the Eat Rite has given the public in the past.

          Mr. & Mrs. Grogg are going back to their farm for the present and haven’t any immediate plans for the future.



Being Organized, Akron

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 12, 1945

          A meeting of interest to the younger boys of Akron was held recently at the Youth Building.  Frances Wilcoxson, an executive of the Three Rivers Council, met with a group of boys ages 9-12 and their parents to interest them in a Cub Scout Pack for Akron. - - - -



Lee Sharpe, Mgr.

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 13, 1945

          Carl Thacker, owner of the Thacker Radio and Appliance Store,, today announces he has employed Lee Sharpe, of this city, to take over the temporary management of the store.

          Mr. Sharpe, who was formerly associated with Val Zimmerman in the furniture and undertaking business has been a resident of this city for 13 years.

          The new radio and appliance store which will be located in the Thacker building on the (NW) corner of Eighth and Madison streets, will be opened to the public in about three weeks.  Mrs. Dorothy Hagan will be the bookkeeper in this new store.  The upstairs rooms of the two story brick building will be used for radio and appliance repair work.

          In the spring, it was disclosed that Mr. Sharpe will become a partner of Milton Thacker in the mortuary business which will be established in this city.





George Brown, Mech. Dept.

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 14, 1945

          George Brown, a graduate of RHS and a former employee of New York Candy Kitchen, has accepted a position in the mechanical department of The News-Sentinel and started learning the many intricacies of the printing art today



Purch. By Langer

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 16, 1945

          Fred H. Moore today announced the sale of the Ray Babcock grocery and building at Fulton to operator of stores in Hammond for over 20 years.

          Mr.  Langer took possession of and with Mrs. Langer will reside in Fulton.  The business was operated by the late Ray Babcock for many years.



To Close - And Move

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 21, 1945

          Mr. & Mrs. Walter Bowen have announced the closing this evening of the Evergreen Cafe at 625 Main street and at the same time set Dec. 15 as the opening date for their new cafe at 530 Main street, when the building now under repairs is expected to be available.  The present site of the Evergreen will be occupied soon by Miller Bros. Garage.



Opened in Athens

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 24, 1945

          A new plumbing and heating shop with a complete line of kitchen and bathroom fixtures, piping, etc. has been opened in the Fred Rowe building at Athens, and is already in operation.

          The new firm which plans to service both Akron and Rochester clientelle will be known as the Harris & Miller plumbing and heating shop.  Bernard Harris, senior member of the firm, has been engaged in plumbing business in Illinois for over 13 years and was employed as a state inspector.  Kenneth (Tony) Miller the other partner needs no indtoduction to Rochester residents. - - - -



Owners Purch. Residence

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 27 1945

          The Fred Moore agency has announced the purchase of the Fouts property, 1213 Monroe street, by Mr. & Mrs. Edward Kramer of the People’s Cafe.  Possession was taken immediately.



Leases Ice Plant Bldg

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 28 1945

          William M. (Mac) Thompson, owner of the Sunshine Dairy of this city, has leased the two-story ice plant building in the 600 block on Madison street, of the Public Service Company of Indiana, Inc., for a period of two years from Dec. 7, 1945.

          Mr. Thompson plans removing his dairy equipment on East Seventh street immediately and to establish a modern grade A dairy plant for Rochester and community.

          A stipulation of the lease contract calls for the continuation of the artificial ice plant in Rochester for a period of at least five years and from this date on the plant will become known as The Sunshine Dairy and Ice Co., of Rochester, Inc. - - - -Russell Moore, a former employee of the Public Service Company of Indiana, Inc., of this city, has been engaged as manager of the ice department - - - -



Opens Akron Branch

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 29 1945

          Allaying rumors which have been current for several weeks it was officially announced today that Akron is soon to have a new factory.  The McLoughlin Manufacturing Co., of Peru, has definitely decided to open a branch of its garment factory in Akron, just as soon as materials for its operation are available.

          The company had asked the Akron Chamber of Commerce to secure at least 40 women for employment before they would consider the establishment of a plant in that city.  Through the medium of the Akron News 65 women have signed blanks for employment with the factory.

          William Cox, superintendent of the Peru factory and Mrs. Lucille Langer, his assistant, set up temporary offices at the Akron Chamber of Commerce quarters Wednesday, where they interviewed all of the


women who had signed for employment and made arrangements for 50 of these to start work when the plant is opened.

          Mr. Cox intimated that it would be late in February of the coming year, before the branch factory could be put in operation.  He plans to install 40 electric-powered sewing machines and the products of the manufacturing concern will be various styles of ladies blouses.  All of the cutting of the goods will be done at the Peru factory and the materials trucked to Akron for the sewing operations.  The firm hold several contracts with some of the nation’s largst mercantile concerns including J.C. Penney & Co., and.  Montgomery Ward & Co., is stated.

          The branch factory will be located on the second floor of the new refrigerator locker building which was formerly occupied by the Alger Chevrolet agency.



Purch. By Bennet Nelson

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 29 1945

          Herbert Hooks today announces the sale of his Streamliner drive-in restaurant, corner of Ninth and Madison streets, to Mr. & Mrs. Bennet Nelson of Plymouth.

          The new owners took possession of the business Wednesday and plan to maintain the same hours as were maintained by the Hooks.   In an interview with Mr. Nelson today, he stated that he planned to make some improvements to the property as well as broadening the line of service.  He will retain the same employees, it was stated.

          The Nelsons have purchased the Launer residence, 1301 Monroe street, and will move here during the coming week.  The family is composed of a daughter, “Gerry,” who is employed at South Bend; Richard, attending Plymouth high school, and Duane, who is in the Plymouth grade school.  Another son, Nenneth, in the U.S. Air Corps, was killed in action in England some time ago.

          Mr. Hooks plans to devote his entire time to contracting buildings and is already engaged in the erection of commercial buildings in and near Rochester.

          The real estate transactions were made through the Fred H. Moore realty agency of this city.






ERIE R.R. Asst. Agent

Ed Gray, to Hammond

The News-Sentinel, Nov. 29 1945

          Ed Gray, for a number of years assistant Erie Railroad agent in this city, has been transferred to the Hammond agency of the company as chief supervisor.

          Gray, native of Byhalia, Ohio, came here from Kenton, Ohio, in March of 1926.  He and Mrs. Gray will move to Hammond in the near future.  The transfer is a promotion.  Max Williams of Huntington will succeed Gray at the local station.



Remembered by President

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 4 1945

          A local man, Coxwain Francis M. Raymer, 317 Fulton avenue, son of Mrs. Florence Raymer, and recently repatriated from a Japanese prison camp where he spent three and one-half years behind barbed wire on Monday received what is perhaps one of the most highly prized epistles ever to reach him.  It is a letter written at the White House, Washington, D.C., and signed by the President.



27 Nov. 1945

Dear Francis Marion Raymer

          It gives me special pleasure to welcome you back to your native shores, and to express, on behalf of the people of the United States, the joy we feel at your deliverance from the hands of the enemy.  It is a source of profound satisfaction that our efforts to accomplish your return have been successful.

          You have fought valiantly and have suffered greatly.  As your Commander in Chief, I take pride in your past achievements and express the thanks of a grateful Nation for your services in combat and your steadfastness while a prisoner of war.

          May God grant you happiness and a successful future.

                                                Harry S. Truman


[NOTE: Francis (Frank) graduated from Rochester High School with me in the class of 1932. -W.C.T.]





Lease Building

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 6, 1945

          Miller Bros. today announced a lease on their present location at 311 East Ninth street to Voris Hoffman & Sons of Elkhart, who will establish a county agency there for Ford Ferguson implements and parts which they recently purchased from Harry Casper of the Rochester Equipment Co. - - - - Miller Bros. will move to their new location at 625 Main street. - - - -



Corculation Mgr.

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 7, 1945

          Eldon Sherbondy of this city on Monday, Dec. 10, will succeed Robert Stoner as circulation manager for the Indianapolis News and News-Sentinel.

          Mr. Stoner, who tendered his resignation the forepart of the current week has not announced his plans for the future.

          The new circulation manager was formerly associated with the Fulton County Farm Bureau and is well-known throughout Rochester and Fulton county, where for the past several years he operated one of the bureau’s gas and oil tank trucks.

          Mr. & Mrs. Sherbondy reside in their own residence at 518 Pontiac street, this city.



Robert Overmyer, Partner

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 7, 1945

          Announcement has been made of the purchase by Robert Overmyer of a half interest in the Leiters Ford garage with Dale Davis who has operated the place for some time.  The new member is the son of Mr. & Mrs. Harry Overmyer of Richland township.



Purch. By Joe Bidwell

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 7, 1945

          Joe Bidwell, former Akron grocer and a member of the Fulton County War Price & Rationing Board, has purchased the Tiosa elevator of Greshem Lough, it was announced today.

          Clarence (Pat) Overmyer, who recently returned from the     


service will manage the business for Mr. Bidwell who will take possession Dec. 10, and plans to remodel the property and to add several new lines of merchandise and supplies to the present stock.

          Overmyer, a past trustee of Richland township, is well known in the territory served by the elevator.  The deal was made through the Fred Moore agency of this city.



Stevens & Ringle

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 11, 1945

          Kenneth Stevens, returned world war veteran, who served in China-Burma and India, and Melvin Ringle, former tank wagon driver of this city, have announced the opening of a Shell Service Station at 201 Main street, with a full line of Shell gasoline, oils and other products, as well as tire, battery and repairing service.  Both men have had long experience in the automobile service business.



Olive Rynearson, Sales

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 13, 1945

          Mrs. Olive Rynearson has accepted a position as saleslady with The Trading Post and will begin her duties at the start Saturday.  Mrs. Rynearson, who has been residing at Waukegan,, Ill., is a former employee of The Trading Post.



Leased from McCall & Pontius

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 13, 1945

          McCall & Pontius have announced a lease on their filling station at Fourth & Main streets to The Phillips Petroleum Co., who will soon open another Phillips 66 station at that location.



(Bud) Wayland, Mech. Dept.

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 26, 1945

          A new employee was added to the force of the Barnhart-Van Trump company’s mechanical department today in the person of Virgil K. (Bud) Wayland, of this city. - - - - -





Purch. By Luther Keel

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 27, 1945

          Frank Justus has announced the sale of the Main Barber shop, 720 Main street, to Luther Keel, who will take possession Jan. 1.

          Mr. Keel also announced that Bruce Morrett, well-known local barber, will have charge of the tonsorial department, while Keel will manage the newspaper distribution department.

          Keel, for several years the circulation manager for the News-Sentinel and Indianapolis News in this territory, has the background and experience necessary to care adequately for the distribution of the several out-of-town publications which clear through the local agency.



Purch. By C.H. Haskett

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 28, 1945

          A real estate transfer was reported today through the Fred Moore agency in which Carlton H. Haskett, local insurance representative becomes the owner of the Moore Building, now occupied by The Chester White Record Association and The Barnhart-Van Trump Co, publishers of The News-Sentinel.

          Under the terms of the sale Haskett will take possession Jan. 1.  James R. and Levi P. Moore, and Mrs. A.B. Shore held the title to the realestate as part of the estate of the late Frank F. Moore and the Moore Bros. Co.

          The building, erected in 1876, was a part of the Centennial Block.  The first tenants were Fieder & Silberburg who came to Rochester from Cincinnati, and opened a clothing and merchant tailoring establishment, then one of the largest stores of its kind in this section of the state.  Later The Big Store was opened in the building by the late George H. Wallace & Sons.  A disastrous fire practically destroyed the store several years ago.

          Following the fire Moore Bros. Co., purchased and remodelled the property to house their Chester White Journal and the record association, with The Van Trump Co., sharing the building in the printing and publishing business.  In December, 1924, a consolidation of The Rochester Sentinel and The Daily News, brought into being the Barnhart-Van Trump Co., which, with the Record Association has since tenanted the property.  The second floor of the building is divided into three modern apartments.


          During the 1870’s, when the Centennial Block was Rochester’s pride other tenants along the block included the Shepherd & Deniston hardware, where the Kepler Motor Sales are now located; Rochester Woolen Mills Office, where the Haskett & Jones office is now located; Chess Chamberlain grocery, where the Grove Hardware is now situated; Rochester Post Office, under A.T. Bitters, postmaster, where the Thacker Music Co. now operates.

          Second floor of the block was Opera Hall, the city’s first theatre, which, following erection of the Academy of Music at (SW Cor) Main and Fifth streets, became the Armory Hall.  On the corner of Eighth & Madison was located the Kendrick Hotel.



Delores Doctor, Reporter

The News-Sentinel, Dec. 31, 1945

          Mrs. Robert Doctor, of this city, has accepted a part-time position with The News-Sentinel and will be employed on the reportorial staff.

          Mrs. Doctor, who was formerly Miss Delores Karn of this city, for several years was employed as society editor of The News-Sentinel and is well qualified for this line of work.  Her husband, Capt. Robert Doctor, is now serving in the Pacific area.  Mrs. Doctor assumd her duties today.

























A & P Store

Noble Isley, Resigns  113


Robert Taylo, Manager  100

Self-Service Market  114


In “Model Airplane News”  91


Mrs. Guy Barr, operator  90


Pioneer Business Concerns  10


Winamac, Indiana  32


Gladys Gordon Burn  84


Do As Monkeys Do  90


Claude Billings, Editor, Akron News  5


Purchases Akron State Bank Bldg  127


Purchases Akron State Bank Bldg.  127


Begins Sept. 10th  37


Purchased by C.R. Kemper  45


Karl Gast, Temporary Manager  74


A.E. Bibler, Manager  153


Work Started  157


Purchased by A.R. Fansler  44


Harry Bradway, Editor  126


Holds Open House  107


“Juke Box Junction”  111


N.M. Alber Home  151


Purchased by Gafill Oil Co.  38


Overstreet’s Landing  36, 73


Employing Women in War Work  99


Ellsworth Hess, Agent  130


Camp Wright  40


By Conde Holloway  67


Pioneer Business Concerns  11


H.C. Shapley, Transferred  49

Lyman Langford, Manager  50


Transfer Two Employees  142


Leased to G. Rosenbury  149


Purch. By Langer  169


Permanently Closed  56


Purchased by Robert Mills  44


Sold to Ted Jontz  144


Purchased by Byron Bailey  107


Culver, Indiana  31


Purch. By Milton Thacker  165


(Bud) Wayland, Mech. Dept.  174

Earl Gocking, Supt.  167


Tom L. Wright, New Barber  22


Carl Hadley, Pharmacist  45

Carl Hadley, Pharmacist Resigns  83

Iolene Messman, Fountain Clerk  102

Jenny Johnson, Fountain Girl  89

Russell Heyde, Employee  96


John McClung, Employee  90


Rochester City Park  25, 101


Purchases Barber Shop at Sweetsers  4


William D. Evans  44


Purchased by Earle Miller  17


Purchased By Lichtenwalter  109


Glen Kyger, Head Shoe Dept  34

John Bauers, Mgr. Elect. & Furn.  98


Leo Norris Home  150


To Open Oct 21  165


Rochester City Park  26, 65, 124


Opens Shop at 502 Main Street  13


Closes  89

Purchased by Reid Erdmann  98


Lawrence Edwards Home  69

Rochester City Park  73


Combined at North Manchester  13


Get Large Contract  130

Govt. Housing Contracts  138


Purchased by Wade Jarrette  41


Close Pierceton Store  89


Buys Canteen Bldg. & Lot  143


United Press Employee  35


Purchase Sale Barn  70


Ferguson, Re-elected President  49


Henry Chapman Home, Argos  33


Is Renamed Times Theatre  53

Leased to Alliance Theatre Corp.  18


Purchased New Church  39


Purchased by McMahan Const. Co.  79


Robert Utter, Manager  92


Purchase Rural Gas Routes  49


“Gill” Bowers, Manager  66


Dividend Payable Feb. 10  5


To House Fire Equipment  123


Greeted by Roosevelt  128


Buys Bakery in Chicago  54


Purch. by Golda Hindel  140


Buys Own Circus  133


Doyne Hoover, Waite  115


To Pay on Notes  82


Al Trace Orchestra  69

Barney Rapp  13, 121, 144

Bookings For 3 Weeks  115

Boyd Atkins  54

Denny Beckner’s Band  55

Dick Pierce and I.U. Orchstra  56

Earl “Father” Hines  19

Glen Gray and Orchestra  22

John Sullivan Band  23

Johnny Knopp Orchestra  94

King’s Jesters  26

Louise Carlyle  102

Paul Hand 18-piece Orchestra  114

Phil Lavant  104

Ray Herbeck  102

Ted Fio Rita  119

Ted Nering and Band  37

Ted Weems, Record Crowd  152

Woody Wilson and his Chicagoans  15

“Old Timers’ Night  30


Russell Sweitzer, Manager  111


Dan Cook Home, Near Leiters  20


Erdmann Buys Shafer’s Share  107


Moved Next to Gilbert Drug Store  100

Purchased by Jack Kofron  131


Floor to be Replaced  80


Are Now Scrap  77

Donated For War Use  75

Enroute to Mid-west Mills  76

May Soon Go To War  72


History, By Mrs. Esther E. Smith)  60


Being Constructed  77


“Sons of Freedom”  54


Buys Interest Gas City Pub. Co.  116

Goes to Indpls. Times  115


Sings & Signs  147


Opening at N. Manchester  149


Being Organized, Akron  168


Sells 31 Horses  97


Rochester City Park  70


“Mr. Deeds Goes to Town”  17


A Real Winner  64


Robert Myers, Resigns  49


Lake of the Woods  21


Purchased by Overstreet’s Resort  102


Selling Bonds  75


For Charles Haldeman  5


Sold to Wales & Burkett  129


Pioneer Business Concerns  15


Purchased by McMahan Const. Co.  79


Russell T. Wade, Manager  36

W.D. Pattison, Pharmacist  38


Purchased by Ernest Baxter  43


Changes Name  46

Court Calloway, Mechanic hired  22

Represents Ford Tractors  6


Suicide  16


Charles Newcomer Home  30


Purch. By Davis & Parker  168


Building New Factory  162


Accompanist on Broadcast  25


Blanket of Snow May, 1862  148


Purch. by Robert R. Miller  140


Again in Pictures  151

Sent to Jail in Hollywood  39


Purchased by H.F. Benson  69


H.F. Victor, New Proprietor  52

ERIE R.R. Asst. Agent

Ed Gray, to Hammond  172


Robert L. Russler  80


Diesel-Drawn Freight  130

Ora Mosher, Retires  135

Troop Train Through Rochester  15


J. Edward Beyer  103


Opening Dec. 14th  81

To Close - And Move  169

Walter Bowen  161


Robert Overmyer Home  64


To Close Feb. 13  85

Will Not Close  90


To Build Walnut Church  114


To Open Monday  122


John Westfall, Mechanic  165


Purchsed by owners of Culver-Argos Bank  86


Played “Old Desert Rat” In Movie  53


In “Louisiana Purchase”  52


Ethel Fingerle Home  159


Pioneer Business Concerns  21


Building Is Sold  160

Day, Night Service  139


Purchases Luckenbill Funeral Home  106


Ray Glass, Assistant  145


Being Built, Third & Clay  162


Mrs. Harold Day, Owner  132


Purch, by M.F. Salathe  140


Purchased by Benjamin Nutt  133


Incorporated  163


Purchased by Carl Newcomb  134


Harriett Hogue, Stenographer  90


Purchased by C.I. Bashore  74

Rochester Motors Bldg. Leased  54


Opened by Mrs. H. Sherbondy  139


Purchased by Francis Carithers  16


Purchased by Don Pownall  129

Purchased by Rouch & Norris  10


Branch Office Opened  132

Purchased by Claude Billings  136

Purchased by Mrs. A.M. Snaman  113


Buys New City Building  57


Destroyed By Fire  7


Fred Van Duyne Home  156


Going Out of Business  85


Purchased by Robert “Bob” Moore  55


Opening in Kewanna  110


Juke Box Saturday Night  81


Culver Mfg. Co.  93


Purchased by Eckart and Fox  125


Chester Williams Home  153


Waterworks Supt.  4


Return Home to Rochester  2


Bastow Residence  104

Rochester City Park  76


Declares 2-Day Holiday  155


To Remain on Closing Plan  72


Robert Taylor  167


Oliver Grove, Sole Owner  7


Purchased by John Collins  8


Purch. Fred Swosher Trustee  158


Now in Operation  122


Opened in Athens  169


Purchased by Goldie Hindel  121

Purchased by Sebastian Munive  114


Open For Business  4


Filed Voluntary Bankruptcy  4


Lease Building  173


Rochester City Park  70, 125


In “Happy Land”  108


Purchased by Charles S. Overmyer  17


Closed  5


Russell (Bud) Wade, Salesman  45


Donnabelle Mikesell, defense job  89


Pioneer Business Concerns  8


To Have New Building  151


Now Open on Saturdays Only  87


Paul Eiler Now Sole Owner  3


Clyde Lyle, Elected President  55


Whit Gast, President  84


Rochester’s newest factory  14


For Kroger Store  166


Being Remodeled  78


Antoinette Behringer  124


Purch. By Tombaughs  163


Buys A & P Building  52


To Open Soon  160


To Open July 1  149


Rochester City Park  122